Page 1

NEXT WEEK MELBOURNE’S B E S T SCHO OL S INDEPENDENT

Schools Guide

2018

FEBRUARY 7-13, 2018

Choosing the right school for your child PLUS \ SCHOOL PROFILES & FEES

E A S T E R N , I VA N H O E & VA L L E Y

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

DELIA DELISH S H A N E ’ S L I F E O N A P L AT E

DOWNLOAD AUSTRALIA’S #1 PROPERTY APP EASTERN

INSIDE GIN SLING + LOVE NEST + MUM’S THE WORD + T U R N I N G JA PA N E S E +


618 Church Street Richmond 9429 6696 1 Stafford Street Huntingdale 9543 4633 arthurg.com.au

Up to 30% off floorstock

AU ST RA LI A N D E SIG N ED A N D MA NU FACTU RE D ESTABLISHED 1979

Up to 20% off new orders


C O M PI L E D BY M I R A N DA TAY SDP MEDIA

SUPPLIED

STREETS AHEAD \ Street culture hits the runway in Ego Expo, a unique

BEACH BOYS \ Twilight polo on the beach combines fab food and wine

fashion event that lets you buy live online. Shed 14, Docklands. February 17-

with players and steeds kicking up the St Kilda sand. Kennedy Twilight

18. Adults: early bird $30, standard general door $35. ● egoexpo.com.au

Beach Polo, February 16, tickets from $99. ● twilightbeachpolo.com.au

EAT DRINK PLAY LOVE ●

KIRSTEN DICKIE

EUGENE HYLAND

Submissions email | miranda.tay@domain.com.au

VEGAN HAVEN \ Israeli-influenced greens, grains and non-meat grills

FLOWER POWER \ Magnum + Queens’ launch of its wine label, Fiorire,

star at Green Man’s Arms, a vegan and vegetarian Carlton pub. Bar menu

is a tribute in taste and illustrated visual to the cultivation of great fruity

from $6, dinner menu from $12.50. ● greenmansarms.com.au

sensations. Fiorire, $35 a bottle. ● magnumandqueenswine.com

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3


EASTERN

Competitions

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300 editorial@domain.com.au

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

EDITOR \ EMILY POWER

and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, February 11, 2018.

DEPUTY EDITOR \ JESSICA DALE PICTURE EDITOR \ KYLIE THOMSON PROOFREADER \ NICOLE BITTAR SENIOR DESIGNER \ COLLEEN CHIN QUAN DESIGNER \ EMMA STAUGHTON EDITORIAL ASSISTANT \ KENDALL BOYD REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ REBECCA WARNER \ 0448 317 687 \ rebeccawarner@domain.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ GEORGIE McLEOD \ 9249 5286 \ gmcleod@theweeklyreview.com.au

WIN \ FOOD BABIESS LO LOVE

WIN \ NERIUM

WIN \ TWILIGHT HT POLO

PRIZE PACK, WORTH $53

INTERNATI A ONAL SKINCARE PACK, ATI WORTH $345

TICKETS, WORTH $396

PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 76,168 COPIES

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

Win tickets to the hottest event

Best-selling author of Food Babies Love, Emily Dupuche, has created

Nerium International are giving

in Melbourne this summer — the

a range of artificial-free Food

one lucky reader a skincare pack,

Kennedy Twilight Beach Polo on

Babies Love fresh pots, available

combining the best of science and

February 16. You and three friends

at Woolworths. Here’s your chance

nature. Nerium International is a

have the chance to witness world-

to win one of six Food Babies Love

leader in scientifically based anti-

class beach polo on the sands of

OUR COVER \ Orange blossom-glazed pork cutlet with fennel and preserved orange sorrel, photographed by Eve Wilson

packs, valued at $53.75 each.

ageing skincare.

St Kilda West Beach.

â—? foodbabieslove.com.au

â—? nerium.com

â—? twilightbeachpolo.com.au

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct�. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from December 20: Amna Mazeh, Marti Ahern, Kirsty Breen, Caitlin O’Dwyer, Erin Rennie, Sandunee Mallawa, Grace Loo, Janise Sibly, George Kots, Janette Bartlett, Tim Glennen, Stephen Fairlam, Jarrod Choong, Jill Glocer, Carol Hayes, Christine Moffat, Alistair Smith, Darren Primon, James Dean, Pat Richardson, Michelle Jaconis, Justin Cook, Michelle Welsh, William Mant, Maria Logan, Sharon Sadler, Domenica Lombardo, Margaret Bellis. Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition Terms & Conditions for details. All winners will be contacted directly by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

Great teachers. Great education. Great opportunities.

Come and explore our world.

OPEN MORNING SATURDAY 17 FEBRUARY s%ARLY,EARNING#ENTRE s*UNIOR3CHOOL s-IDDLEAND3ENIOR3CHOOL 4OURSDEPARTAM AM ANDAM "//+).'3%33%.4)!, YVGVICEDUAU

!#/ %$5#!4)/.!,3#(//,).4(%!.',)#!.42!$)4)/.n%!2,9,%!2.).'4/9%!2 9ARRA6ALLEY'RAMMAR+ALINDA2OAD2INGWOOD6ICTORIA4%ADMISSIONS@YVGVICEDUAUWWWYVGVICEDUAU CRICOS NO. 00356E

4

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


The editor’s desk THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

The view

BY DARRIAN TRAYNOR \ Melbourne

Walking through Carlton Gardens in the rain. ●

When chef Shane Delia speaks of his wife and children, he does so with as much passion as there is palate-tingling spice in his signature – and celebrated – Middle Eastern cooking. One of Delia’s culinary creations is our luscious cover this week, and he shares with journalist Sarah Marinos the ingredients that have made him a respected businessman and family man. A reminder for mums and dads: in next week’s edition is our Independent Schools Guide – an essential, in-depth handbook to choosing from the best private schools in Melbourne. ●

● 1/640 sec ● f/4 ● ISO 1000

CHECK US OUT ONLINE

+ Eat & Drink + Style & Design + Homes & Architecture +T Travel & Lifestyle + Arts & Entertainment + Education & Innovation

ARE YOU A BUDDING STREET PHOTOGRAPHER? If you have a great snap of the city, we’d love to feature it on this page.

FOLLOW US @THEWEEKLYREVIEW FAC E B O O K

I N S TAG R A M

Send your best high-resolution shot to theview@theweeklyreview.com.au FOR SOME HELPFUL TIPS, VISIT \ theweeklyreview.com.au/theview

YO U T U B E

INFINITI CENTRE DONCASTER

CHINESE NEW YEAR GOOD FORTUNE SALES EVENT This Chinese New Year Infiniti Centre Doncaster is offering $6,688 saving on all vehicles in stock.* Call Infinit Infiniti Centre Doncaster to take advantage of this offer fferr today. ffe today. today

INFINITI CENTRE DONCASTER 563 DONCASTER RD, DONCASTER. PHONE (03) 9848 7777 *Offer valid on RRP pricing only. Not available in conjunction with any other offer. Offer ends 28/02/2018. Only available at Infiniti Centre Doncaster. LMCT11617

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5


I N T E RVI E W ● SA R A H M A RI N O S

Taste for true grit SHANE DELIA’S SPICE JOURNEY HAS TAKEN HIM FROM THE WESTERN SUBURBS TO THE FOOTHILLS OF MOUNT LEBANON

I

n The Weekly Review’s photographic studio, Shane Delia is discussing the secrets of making a perfect meringue – a clean bowl, egg whites at room temperature and slowly raining in the caster sugar … Delia lives and breathes food and flavours and it’s been that way since he was 13. He grew up in a hard-working Maltese family in the western suburbs and his teenage years were a challenge. Teachers at Keilor Downs Secondary College probably didn’t have the young Shane Delia earmarked for the success he now enjoys. “I had some learning difficulties,” he says frankly. “I was diagnosed with ADD eventually but teachers just thought I was a bad kid who didn’t want to listen. They were always kicking me out of class. I wanted to succeed but I didn’t have the tools. You keep hearing ‘you’re bad, you’re dumb’ and, when you are trying really hard and getting bad marks, you think you’re stupid.” A correct diagnosis and medication turned things around for Delia, 38, but by then he already had his heart and mind set on leaving school to start cooking. “When I was given the drugs I needed, I smashed it – suddenly I was getting A+,” he smiles. “I’d come home and go to my room to do my homework. But it was too late and anyway, I’d go insane in an office all day! I wanted to cook but it wasn’t glamorous then. People who flunked out of school or who came out of prison were cooks!” Delia’s extended family were tradies – electricians, bricklayers and mechanics – but those trades lacked the creativity he craved. “My happiest times were eating and cooking with my family. Every Sunday we had lunch with Mum’s side of the family and dinner with my paternal grandfather – 50 or 60 people,” he recalls. “I had a block-release apprenticeship at the Gordon Institute in Geelong when I was 17 and Dad and my grandfather would drive me there after the family dinner. I was boarding in a dodgy place, earning a few hundred bucks a week and my grandfather would slip me a few bucks.

6

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

“Dad came to Australia at 17 with a couple of bucks and worked in the Dunlop factory for 36 years. He began as a tyre builder, educated himself and left as a director in south-east Asia setting up new factories. He’s the most selfless person I know. Before I got my licence and I was cooking I didn’t finish work until 11.30pm and the last train home to the western suburbs was a V Line at 10.30pm. Dad picked me up every night, put on the L-plates, I drove home and he’d be up at five o’clock the next morning for work.” The structure and hierarchy he found in the kitchen suited Delia and he still seeks that structure and routine in his working day. He worked at Eden on the Park and Sofitel before becoming sous chef at Chateau Yering.

“I’m not saying I’m gifted, but I like food and I understand flavours – it’s the only thing that comes easy to me.” “I worked in pubs and pasta shops and hotels and then I realised there was another world of internationally renowned chefs who were innovators. They were highly skilled and wealthy and I wanted to be part of that,” he says. “A lot of cooks work hard and there is that pocket who work hard and they’re gifted. I’m not saying I’m gifted, but I like food and I understand flavours – it’s the only thing that comes easy to me. I see something and instantly know five things that will go with it and how I’m going to use it.” In 2008, Delia opened Maha with George Calombaris – in 2013 he became sole owner of the award-winning Middle Eastern restaurant. It’s named after Delia’s wife, whom he married in 2007 but the couple had known each other for years. “Maha worked with my sister, Sarah, as a

hairdresser. I’d see her around and would tell Sarah ‘Maha’s cute’ but Sarah would tell me to leave her alone because she had a boyfriend. Then they broke up and Sarah suggested we go out. Maha says she had to convince herself, but I was persistent. “We married in 2007 and I wouldn’t be where I am without Maha’s support. She brings it back to the simple things all the time. I find it hard to get out of bed some mornings and sometimes I find myself upset for no reason. But every time, Maha pulls me back. I would have left me five times! I


his favourite American rap artist who was shot dead in Los Angeles in 1997. He’s wearing a jacket bearing the face of the rapper that he bought in New York and couldn’t resist slipping into his suitcase. Delia discovered Biggie Smalls when he was 14 during a family trip to Detroit to see relatives. “I saw hip-hop culture for the first time and I immersed myself in this music that was so powerful but so wrong, too, then. You were a ratbag if you listened to that music,” he laughs. “But I related to the messages in the stories. I didn’t live in a ghetto but I was a kid who was under-achieving and the music gives you a voice. I heard Biggie Smalls and thought he was an amazing lyricist and many of his songs were uplifting. There’s a song called Juicy – he talks about the dreams he had of being something else and of achieving that. It’s the anthem for me.” Delia is a self-confessed perfectionist and creating Biggie Smalls became all-consuming. He spent $800,000 just on the fit-out and soon launched the Biggie Smalls Food Truck, and in September last year, another Biggie Smalls at the Windsor end of Chapel Street. “I didn’t want another kebab shop. I got excited with it and wanted it to be special. Rap has an element of bling and glamour and I wanted Biggie Smalls to feel authentic to the last detail. My favourite kebab on the menu is the Juicy kebab. It’s tasty as hell! Have it old school with hot sauce – rocket fuel!” he grins. “If I do something it has to be 100 per cent. We re-fitted Maha 12 months ago and spent a million bucks but I still wasn’t happy, so two months ago I put another $200,000 in to it.”

SUPPLIED

D

think it’s the pressure I put on myself. When I was a cook it was just me. Now I have millions of dollars of debt and 80 employees with families to think about so I have to stay focused. “I hate the term ‘celebrity chef’ with a passion. I am at the businesses all the time. I take food out to people – I’m not peeling the carrots – but I’m there and I write every dish with my team.” That focus led Delia to Biggie Smalls Kbabs – a kebab shop with a difference on Smith Street in Collingwood. Delia named the flagship venue after

elia’s Spice Journey series on SBS brought his passion for food to a national audience and he credits the show with enhancing his culinary capabilities. It took him from Iran and Morocco to the foothills of Mount Lebanon. “I am 10 times the cook I was before I did the show,” he stresses. “I landed in Lebanon in season one with a backpack and heap of notes. I never did any training and it was hard work. There was conflict in Syria and at one point we were filming in a market in Morocco and I was p****d on by a donkey. “I’ve been told by SBS there won’t be another Spice Journey, although I’d love to do something similar in southern India where the spice trade began. And I’d like to do a Spice Journey in New York – the biggest melting pot in the world.” His success and popularity have attracted some high-profile partnerships. Delia is a proud Western Bulldogs ambassador and a supporter of Melbourne City. But one of his most rewarding partnerships is with Mercedes-Benz.

For a motorsport lover, taking part in a Celebrity Grand Prix and driving a car he never dreamed he’d own is still a bit of a surprise. “When I was young I built cars with an uncle,” Delia says. “He re-built old Holdens and he and Dad loved motorsport. My first car was a $600 piece of s**t that was in my uncle’s paddock with grass growing through the floor. I spent a year working on it – a Nissan/Datsun Pulsar. My other uncle sprayed cars as a hobby and he said he’d paint it for me. I had no money so he told me to collect his halfempty tins and mix them and that’s what colour my car would be. It was pink and he put all these metallic flakes in it – so much in that my car was all glitter. But I drove it for three years. “I still don’t understand why Mercedes-Benz wanted me. Think about that boy with ADD getting expelled from school – did you ever think he’d be a brand ambassador for Mercedes-Benz? Every morning I get up and there’s a Mercedes C63 sitting in my garage. How good’s that?” Delia has swapped the Sunbury home he’d lived in since his 20s for a larger family home – but he stayed true to his roots, choosing Moonee Ponds over swankier options south of the river. “We looked in South Yarra and Toorak but they’re not my home. I have to stay true to who I am,” he says. And Delia looks forward to being his true self on Sundays when he gets to spend time with Maha, his young children, son, Jude, and daughter, Jayda. “Monday nights we have dinner at Mum’s house – my brother, sister, our kids and cousins. I work Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. On Saturday my daughter goes to Arabic school and I pick her up and we have lunch and then I go to work. “I love Sundays. I take my daughter to Vic Market early. We have a look at what to buy, have a burek, come home and I cook brunch or late lunch. Then I’m on the couch, chilling out and holding my kids.” Away from the kitchen, Delia keeps fit and focused by boxing. He trains three mornings a week, spending another two mornings lifting weights in the gym. “I box to keep fit and manage my weight and it makes you stand up straight and confident,” he says. “I’m a bit of a recluse and like being around home or going to the supermarket in my trackies and a T-shirt. “Last night I got home about five o’clock and there was nothing in the pantry so I ran down to the shop in a dodgy pair of trackies given to me for a charity cricket match last year. I don’t care.” ● BIGGIE SMALLS \ 86 Smith Street, Collingwood; 36 Chapel Street, Windsor; check the website for food truck locations. ● biggiesmalls.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

7


BY BRENDAN BALE

DRINK

ISTOCK

Spirit guide

C RYS TA L C L E A R CASA DE VINOS \ 227 Bay Street, Port Melbourne

● casadevinos.com.au

Inspired design. Luxury living. 8

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Keeping up with the latest drink trends can be downright exhausting, so I’ve asked the owner of craft liquor emporium Casa de Vinos, Jose Dymenstein, for some help. The former winemaker, who opened his Port Melbourne business six years ago, spends roughly 20 hours a week researching who is drinking what in Australia and around the globe. “The trends are set in Europe, and we follow them,” says the 17-year industry veteran. Perhaps the most interesting development he has noticed is the way Melbourne’s recent love affair with craft beer is giving way to a fascination with spirits. It’s no longer sexy to bring wine to a dinner party. Even bringing the latest craft is losing its charm – people are searching for something exotic. The Uruguay native says 2017 was the year of gin. “It’s killing it,” he says. “We have more than 100 gin distillers in Australia, so it would take you more than a year to try them all.” This year will still be strong for the spirit, Dymenstein says, but by the end of the year it will move towards Australian whisky. “It’s huge now, but it will be way bigger because stocks of Australian whisky have been building for two or three years. It’s innate for humans to constantly want to find the next fun thing to do,” he says. “I don’t see customers getting excited about wines or beers, but when you talk about gin or whisky, they are really into it.” ●

Taking contemporary designer living to the next level. Design & build the home you want with Glenvill Homes. Visit our website to see our display locations. glenvillhomes.com.au

Enquire 9573 8393


R E VI E W BY S O F IA L E VI N

FOOD

Merah My first thought when I walk into Merah is that I’m in the wrong place. Opened by the Nasi Lemak House duo in October, it looks more like a secret Gorman headquarters than a Malaysian restaurant – salmon archways, organic wooden tables and a colour-blocked banquette. My second thought is how “inner north” it is. Organic and biodynamic wines sit alongside traditional teh tarik and vegans are welcome, if not encouraged. Translucent tapioca parcels in chilli soy are stretched with mushroom, cabbage and bamboo stuffing and spoon-worthy plum sauce accompanies buttery curry puffs. My third thought is FOMO Thai. I miss out on jackfruit curry (unavailable) and spicy crab (pre-order only), but seafood is a stellar substitute: pipis pungent with shrimp and kaffir lime and a lightly fried barramundi fillet soaking up tamarind sauce. Nasi lemak, thick roti canai and beef rendang are there for traditionalists. My final thought at Merah is that I’m ready for dessert. But, there isn’t any. Will anyone judge me for ordering the fried chicken with sambal mayo instead. ●

WIN A WEDDING

THE GREEN SCENE

ISTOCK

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

GEORGIE VERRELLS

LIT TLE BITES KAISEKI COMES TO BOURKE ST

3 OF A KIND

SAU CY

big flavours. ●

C O M PI L E D BY S O FIA L E VI N

BEST FOR \ Eating out with vegetarian mates and not compromising on

SUPPLIED

● Merah ● 238 High St, Northcote ● 9489 3121 ● merah.com.au

JAPANESE GROCERS \ Dreaming of T Tokyo? You’ll be

Kaiseki, a form of traditional

To celebrate same-sex marriage T

Described as a “love letter

Japanese degustation, is gaining

being legalised in Australia,

to Melbourne”, Archie

saying ‘oishii’ in no time.

traction in Melbourne with

Park Street Dining is giving

Green combines food, drink,

Hinoki Japanese Pantry

the opening of new Japanese

away a $20,000 wedding. The

architecture and street art.

279 Smith Street, Fitzroy 9417 4531

restaurant, Ishizuka. From the

restaurant and local vendors

Formerly an abandoned office,

custom ceramic tableware to

are sponsoring a five-hour event

the restaurant is open breakfast

11 beautifully presented dishes,

for 70 guests with cocktails,

through late-night serving a

Tokyo Hometown Japanese

chef Tomotaka’s eponymous

canapes, dinner, photography,

Euro-Asian menu with butchery,

Supermarket

16-seat restaurant is all about

decorations and more. Open to

smoking and even canning taking

41/45 A’Beckett Street,

balance and precision. ●

all couples. ●

place on site. ●

Melbourne 9671 4548

Park Street Dining, Ishizuka, basement 139 Bourke

815 Nicholson Street,

Archie Green, 10 Katherine

Suzuran

Street, Melbourne,

Carlton North,

Place, Melbourne,

1025-1027 Burke Road,

ishizuka.com.au

psweloveweddings.com.au

archiegreen.com.au

Camberwell 9882 2349

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

9


Q&A Q& &A

I N T E RVI E W BY M Y K E B A R T L E T T

ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

PAMEL A RAB E \ AC TOR

Hot on the heels of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Melbourne Theatre Company presents The Children, a chilling new drama set in the wake of a nuclear disaster. We spoke to star Pamela Rabe.

How would you describe the play? “The Children is a tightly packed, complex and entertaining 90 minutes in the theatre, written by a young, very hot playwright called Lucy Kirkwood. It’s about three people in their 60s who all worked for a nuclear power station. Two are married and the third comes to visit, with shattering consequences.”

Give us one reason to go see it. “You’re seeing the very best of exciting new writing.” ●

LOUISE KENNERLEY

What made you sign up? “My co-star Sarah Peirse is one of the finest actors of our generation and we’ve not worked together since 1989. There generally aren’t roles for more than one strong actress in the one vehicle. We tend to be sprinkled around. We’re going through a golden age for female actors at the moment – we have an exultation of riches. But there’s not enough existing work in the canon to put those actors on stage together.” THE CHILDREN \ Opens February 8, Southbank Theatre, from $105 ● mtc.com.au

Open Day Saturday S atu 17 March 9.30am - 2.00pm 9 .30

Att ELTHAM A ELT TH College we strive to get the most out of o ur tim m with your child by introducing them to a our time b road rrange of experiences, while focussing on the broad s kills ls and a skills attributes that make each of them unique. J oin in us us at our Open Day to discover what an Join e ex xce cep pt exceptional education looks like. Reg giste online at elthamcollege.vic.edu.au/open-day Register

Growing hearts and minds Early Learning to VCE | 1660 Ma Main Road Research Ph 9437 1421 | elthamcollege.vic.edu.au | registrar@elthamcollege.vic.edu.au

10

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


ROCK \

RACES \

TV \

Peninsula Film Festival

Roger Waters: Us and Them

CF Orr Stakes Family Day

Altered Carbon

Rosebud and Queenscliff,

Rod Laver Arena, February 10, 11

Caulfield Race Track, February

Netflix

February 9-11

& 13, from $99

10, $15/$10 with kids under 14

netflix.com/alteredcarbon

peninsulafilmfestival.com.au

rogerwaters.com

free, mrc.racing.com

Head down the Peninsula for the

With Roger in the captain’s

While the cream of the riding

left you wanting more, check

best in new Australian film. The

chair, Pink Floyd basically

crop race in the year’s first Group

out this new dystopian thriller.

centrepiece is indie Melbourne

invented stadium rock, delivering

One, kiddies are invited to dress

Also based on a classic sci-fi noir

comedy That’s Not Me, in which

a gargantuan spectacle

as their favourite superhero and

novel, the series is set 300 years

aspiring actor Polly is mistaken

involving massive puppets and

even brush capes with a real-

into the future, when swanky tech

for her starlet twin. On Saturday,

gobsmacking light shows. He

life Batman or Wonder Woman.

allows minds to be downloaded

a free short-film program

left the band behind in the early

There are free rides aplenty,

into new bodies. Our hero is a

(Rosebud and Queenscliff) sees

’80s (they’ve since retired), but

choice burgers from Royale

former traitor, brought back from

Aussie directors compete for

his mammoth new show revisits

Brothers and even a trackside

the dead by a wealthy client to

cash prizes. ●

their greatest hits. ●

pool party to horse around in. ●

solve a murder – his own. ●

C O M PI L E D BY M Y K E B A R T L E T T

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

YANNI

SUPPLIED

THE HIT LIST FILM \

If last year’s Blade Runner sequel

Trusted for over 43 years,

to produce a great outcome, not just a low price. Registered R Regi ister t ed dB Building uildi uild ilding ing Prac P Practitioner ractiti titioner i ioner DB DBDB-L L 41495 41495

WINNER 2014 & 2015 HIA VICTORIAN HOUSING KITCHEN & BATHROOM DESIGN AWARDS Visit the showroom at 194 Canterbury Rd, Canterbury | Phone: 9888 5100 | www.letstalkkitchens.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

11


FILM

Inhibitions set free JAMIE DORNAN NEEDED A SENSE OF HUMOUR WHILE FILMING THE FIFTY SHADES TRILOGY, WRITES KATE STANTON

NINO MUNOZ

The final movie in the Fifty Shades series is complete. How would you describe the journey? It has been a hugely enriching and rewarding experience for me. It’s nice to be a part of something that so many people like. How does Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele’s relationship continue to grow? I think their relationship grows in a more positive and relatable way. Since they do get married they become more like a regular couple.

What do you think director James Foley has brought to the second and third films? James is great and very energetic! It wasn’t easy to get on a train like this that had already left the station. Yet, he managed to elevate it all and make it his own, while also respecting what was done with Fifty Shades of Grey.

But then their relationship is put to the test? Yes, it is challenged in a major way in this third

In Fifty Shades of Grey, we saw Christian trying to enforce his control over Anastasia, only to see

Melbourne’s most comprehensive guide to Look out for it in your letterbox on Fe ebru uary y 14!

12

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

movie, especially when Anastasia’s old boss, Jack Hyde, comes into play and the plot turns into a thriller … and marriage is a test in itself, too.


her come back to him on her terms in Fifty Shades Darker. What is the situation regarding that balance of power in Fifty Shades Freed? They sort of meet in the middle and reach the kind of compromise that marriage often brings to a relationship, trying to make things work as a team, rather than have either of them call the shots.

third movie. There are moments in Fifty Shades Freed where I am hoping he gets people to laugh.

had some time off to muck around on jet skis or swim while we were shooting the honeymoon scenes. Those were easy days at work …

And what can you specifically say about the way your character is behaving now? I think Christian is fair, understanding and more human in this third movie, compared to how he was when we first met him – when he was hard to understand and impenetrable.

You have great chemistry on screen with Dakota, but you also both get along very well. We are very fond of each other. Dakota (Johnson) and I had to have chemistry to make this work from the get-go, and now we will continue to be friends despite it coming to an end. We have gone through this journey together. I believe we will always have each other’s back precisely because of the impact these roles have had on our careers and our personalities. It is quite a bond that lasts forever.

A character that complex must be a great challenge for an actor. Yes, playing him has been a very satisfying challenge. I feel it was trickier in the first movie, as I had to strike that balance of being distant and cold, but at the same time somewhat likeable.

Apart from the two main characters, what other relevant players appear in Fifty Shades Freed? The main one is Jack Hyde, who was already introduced in Fifty Shades Darker Darker, but really shakes things up in this third film of the series. He is the source of much of the drama and action.

You also travelled to Europe for this shoot, right? Yes, we did that towards the end of it. After wrapping up in Vancouver, we flew to France, which was nice because the schedule wasn’t too crazy. We

The movie also has humour, right? Yes, Christian gets to provide some of it as well, which didn’t happen in Fifty Shades of Grey. It all goes back to him becoming more human in this

Kingswood College Scholarships 2019

And do you and Dakota have a giggle on set, too? We have to! I remember we couldn’t stop laughing during the wedding scene when we realised that the same guy who was with us in the elevator sequence of the first movie was sitting there in the front row. Life is too short and you have to enjoy it. Dakota and I make each other laugh far too easily. You have to respect your job, but also have fun because we are actors and our mission is to entertain people. So, how are you going to do that if you are not even capable of enjoying yourself? That goes for every job. My father was a surgeon, but he never took himself too seriously and is one of the funniest people I have ever met. Who is worse at keeping a straight face, Dakota or you? Dakota, because once she really laughs you just can’t stop her – to the point where she is even crying and has to step away. ● FIFTY SHADES FREED \ in cinemas nationally from February 8.

Education is a gift that lasts a lifetime...

ns Applicatio , pm close 5.00 Friday ry 16 Februa 2018

c i m e Acad xcellence E l a r Gene al and Visu ming Arts r o f r e P Come and enjoy some jazz at our Open Evening Thursday 22 March 2018 5.00pm – 7.45pm

Kingswood College is offering you the chance to share in our education experience by providing Scholarships to students from Years 3 to 11 in 2019. Scholarships are available in the following areas: • Academic • General Excellence • Visual Arts • Performing Arts Applicants for all types of Scholarships are required to apply via our website and to complete the Edutest examination to be held on Saturday 24 February 2018.

www.kingswoodcollege.vic.edu.au

CRICOS Provider No 00150G T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

13


SAM WOOD \ WELLNESS

Leisurely lunches THE STRESS-FREE GUIDE TO HEALTHY SCHOOL EATING

I

get it: life is busy. There are only so many hours in the day and finding or making time to head to the supermarket, cook dinner and then prepare your kids’ lunch for school can be quite a challenge. Add to this family fussiness and supermarkets full of unhealthy school snacks and before you know it you’re the proud owner of the entire contents of aisle four. Or if it’s not this, it’s your child insisting that every other kid orders their lunch, which we know simply isn’t true. I know it can seem easier to let the usual culprits fill your trolley – yoghurts, roll-ups, muesli bars and fruit cups and, yes, most kids do burn through energy like there’s no tomorrow. This does not mean they should be given a lunch-box jam-packed with

sugar and salt simply because it is the easy option. Kids need to be fuelled with nutritious snacks and meals throughout the day to ensure they have the energy and brain power for all that learning and, of course, playing. My motto is all about progress, not perfection. So, don’t get me wrong; a tasty snack from aisle four or a lunch order on the odd occasion is totally fine. Ensuring your kids are eating mostly healthy foods throughout the day will help to keep them alert, focused and retaining information to assist with their learning. If you’re unsure of how to pack your kids a healthy lunch, I am here to help. Here are my top tips to ensure your kids enjoy their healthy lunches.

EXPLORE MLC

Friday, 16 and Saturday, 17 February, 9.15 am – 11.30 am Register at mlc.vic.edu.au/visitus

Amber

Discovered her passion for robotics in Year 7.

14

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

At MLC no dream is too big, whether it is technological, sporting, musical, creative or academic. We’re proud to offer one of the broadest curricula of any Australian independent school.


1. EDUCATE YOUR KIDS ON THE ADVANTAGES

3. YOUR FREEZER IS YOUR BEST FRIEND

OF HEALTHY EATING CHOICES

No one wants to spend time whipping up a new lunch from scratch every morning (or the night before). Dedicate “an hour of power” on weekends to prepare snacks and meals in batches for the freezer. Zucchini slice, bacon-and-egg muffins, veggie patties, nut-free bliss balls/muesli bars … the options are endless.

ISTOCK

Teaching your kids about the benefits of food and how certain types give them fuel for their afterschool sport, or to help them grow, will assist in establishing healthy habits early on and serve as an incentive for them to make healthier choices. Keep it quick, keep it simple and make it a game, not a lecture. If you feel like your advice is falling on deaf ears because it’s coming from mum or dad, see if their favourite teacher or sports coach can relay the same information.

4. DON’T FORGET FRUIT AND VEG

Sliced fruit and veg is an easy and healthy lunch-box filler that goes perfectly with a side of dip. Carrot, celery and capsicum with hummus is a go-to snack that is popular with kids and adults.

2. PREPARE LUNCH TOGETHER

5. MAKE HEALTHY FOOD FUN

Make lunch-box prep a family affair. Not only is this an opportunity to spend some time together in the kitchen, you’ll also be teaching them how to make lunch on their own. Before you know it they’ll be doing it all by themselves. Well, maybe not, but understanding and recognising foods is the first step to a healthier relationship with them.

Some kids are more visual eaters than others so making their food look appealing may mean their lunch-box comes home empty. Colourful fruit and veggies are naturally appealing to kids or slice their snacks/sandwiches into interesting shapes using cookie cutters. ● ● 28bysamwood.com

Lunar New Year SAT 17 FEBRUARY 11AM - 5PM

Join us in welcoming the Year of the Dog at Eastland with a day of traditional activities and entertainment.

For more details visit eastland.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

15


FINANCE

Key to dual purchase THERE’S A LOT AT STAKE WHEN COMMITTED PARTNERS BUY THEIR FIRST HOME, WRITES DANIEL BUTKOVICH

W

ith more Australians delaying marriage until later in life, and four out of five married couples living together before tying the knot, buying a home with your partner can seem like a great way to get on the property ladder. Although the average age of first-home buyers has remained constant at 32 years old for two decades, the median age of marriage in 2015 was 31.8 for men and 29.8 for women, compared with 29.5 for men and 27.6 for women in 2005, according to data from the Australian Bureau of Statistics. If you are already living with your partner, your finances will likely have already merged to some degree, and buying property together may have

crossed your mind. After all, it’s easier to secure and service a loan with two incomes rather than one. But considering that buying a home is one of the largest purchases you will ever make, there is much more at stake financially than signing a lease on a rental property, especially if the relationship comes to an end. While you may think that marriage would make it easier to secure a loan, or offer you more security in the event of a break-up, the reality is that the banks and the courts treat de facto couples the same as married couples. Mortgage broker and owner of Simply Finance, Fabio De Castro, says an increasing number of his

Save 50% off all SleepMaker Cocoon mattresses Offer ends 28 February 2018

MATTRESS REMOVAL SERVICE 16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

FREE DELIVERY

100 NIGHT COMFORT GUARANTEE

Westfield Doncaster L1, Store 1133, (next to T2)


STOCKSY

More bench More storage More style More features More finishes

More choice More experience More kitchen Less $$$$$ Free Quote

clients, about 40 per cent, aren’t married when they secure a home loan. “These days, a lot of people are very comfortable in de facto relationships and living together,” he says. According to De Castro, unmarried couples with healthy finances aren’t less likely to be able to secure finance for a joint purchase than a married couple. “If you have been living together for three months, banks will class you as de facto,” he says. For many couples, financial contributions from parents can be a big help when it comes to purchasing a home, with 29 per cent of first-home buyers relying on parents to help fund a purchase, through cash gifts, rent-free accommodation or guarantor loans. But according to De Castro, when parents’ finances become involved, it can be complicated if the relationship comes to an end. “We had a de facto couple who were looking to buy a place together. They didn’t have enough for a deposit, so her mother went guarantor,” he says. “They bought an apartment, but six months later ended up separating. Without her mother

supporting them, we needed to find a way to refinance him to be able to buy her out.” When it comes to guarantor loans, there are ways that parents can minimise their risk, according to Bounce Financial director Cara Brett. “It’s important for parents to understand whether they are guaranteeing the whole loan or just a small part of it,” she says. “Sometimes they only need to guarantee a portion of the loan.” Although it can be an awkward and less-thanromantic conversation, it’s smarter to discuss beforehand how the property will be divided if the relationship ends. It’s worth having a frank and open talk about potential scenarios, such as whether you would need to sell the home to pay off the loan or if one partner could buy the other out. If contributions made to the deposit or repayments are unequal, you should discuss how the sale proceeds in the event of a split. If a de facto couple can’t agree on how assets should be divided after a break-up, disputes can be handled in the Family Court, but it’s often costly and stressful. ●

Showrooms open 7 Days 9-5

n e i ia d Ma ctor Vi

* Oakleigh Rowville

1430 Dandenong Rd 889 Wellington Rd

9530 4777 9755 4888

Member of HIA, NKBA & CMA, RPB (Registered building practioners) www.smithandsmith.com.au

Custom made kitchens made direct from own workshop

Beautiful bespoke Kitchens at friendly prices

Lifetime Warranty

Australia’s biggest kitchen showroom* © Copyright Smith & Smith Cabinet Makers Pty. Ltd. 2009 Reproduction in any form is prohibited, all rights reserved

G4866443AF-dp18Apr

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

17


DESIGN

Outside the square DOING WHAT COMES NATURALLY IS THE BEST INTERIOR TREND. CARLENE DUFFY REPORTS

C

oco Chanel’s famous quote, “Fashion changes, but style endures”, may be something the fashion world lives by, but it’s just as applicable to the world of interiors. While trend forecasting dominates magazine covers, many leading interior designers maintain they don’t adhere to trends. It’s confusing, right? Why do interiors brands spend so much money forecasting trends and applying these predications to their product offerings? Why do lifestyle publications print stories about the latest trends in tiles, kitchens, flooring? The problem lies not with changing trends, this should keep our interiors looking fresh and

revitalised, but how we apply the trends. This is precisely why our homes are appearing, dare I say it, generic. Part of the issue may be our increasing accessibility to beloved image resources such as Pinterest and Instagram. I love these apps and I refer to them a lot, but I think we are drawn to what we know, and what we know is what we see on repeat. It is often too easy for us to throw together spaces that are carbon copies of homewares catalogues, rather than thinking creatively. Then there is the fact that products are becoming more accessible thanks to mass production and

FENTON & FENTON

New!

New!

Year of the

DoG

Exciting !

New!

Meet the Principal

Celebra tions!

Exciting !

Fun!

For more information, please visit

www.melbournechinesenewyear.com www.me www melbo me lbourn lbo ur ech urn h m

Join us for a College Tour and Presentation Friday 23 February 9 - 10.30am

Presented by:

MELBOURNE

DAI LOONG

melbournechinesenewyear.com Event and Supporting Festival Sponsors:

Major Festival Sponsors:

STANDING BY YOU

To register for a tour please visit whitefriars.vic.edu.au 156 Park Road Donvale Vic 3111 18

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Be l on g. Be li eve. Bec ome.

by The GPT Group


‘I think we are drawn to what we know, and what we know is what we see on repeat.’ distribution; because we can pick up a new $25 bar stool from a chain retailer means we need not think twice before changing things up. We can do it with little consideration and even less financial outlay. It’s almost too easy. So how do you break the mould?

ARMELLE HABIB

STYLE YOUR HOME OVER TIME

Feeling pressured to deck out your newly built or renovated property all in one hit takes the enjoyment out of the process and is usually reflected in the end result. Allow time to contemplate purchases by shopping while travelling, scrolling through Gumtree or visiting flea markets on a Sunday morning. There’s so much delight to be had by nabbing an obscure vintage mirror for the bathroom or old rattan rocking chair for your sitting room. RECYCLE, RE-PURPOSE, REUSE

Scour markets and second-hand stores and find a

place in your home for the old and pre-loved. We recently renovated our house and mixed our new purchases in with some pre-loved treasures. The two vintage blue velvet dining chairs that I bought years ago from the RSPCA now act as bedside tables for our children. I also created a gallery wall of art pieces, new and old, that I’ve had for years, and I’ve positioned an antique daybed at the foot of our main bed. EXPAND YOUR HORIZONS

Pinterest and Instagram are brilliant design resources, but unless you’re seeking inspiration from a diverse range of design influencers/designers/ retailers, your feed will become stale. Think global and seek out what is happening in design blogs and magazines from overseas (try Paris, Morocco, London and New York). Australia has a rich design community, but we are only one little corner of the world and there is so much more to see. ●

17 Greenaway St BULLEEN VIC 3105 Ph: 9850 1629

Stainless steel bench

High pressure LP gas burner

• Fast & Hot • High heat

At Marcellin we aim to create spaces that awaken, challenge and motivate our young men to aspire to simply be more.

capacity

Wok Burner

1 ring 51 Mj/hr $193 1 ring 55 Mj/h with auto ignition $214.50 2 ring 80 Mj/h $369

High pressure stockpot burner

1 ring $449 55Mj/hr

$199

Commercial stainless steel stockpot burner Support up to 500kg Large pots, up to 200 litres Auto ignition Sturdy trivet 18 jet 73 mj/hr heat capacity

2 ring $649 80Mj/hr Shop online:

$1,350

28 jet 104mj/hr heat capacity $1,945

160 Bulleen Road Bulleen VIC 3105 Australia T +61 3 9851 1589 W marcellin.vic.edu.au

https://www.youtube.com/user/auscrown T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

19


WHERE I LIVE

‘Mummified’ for life MY SUBURB IS A PLAYGROUND OF PAMPERED LIE REILL REILLY MOTHERHOOD, WRITES NATALIE

I

was single w when hen I first moved into the suburb I now live in with my family. Back then, I couldn’t help but notice the neat little row of shops a stone’s throw from my apartment, two of them devoted to children’s designer clothing, another two displaying flowing, kaftan-esque dresses that are perfect for the lactating mother. I noticed, too, the strollers and the prams. It was to be expected, my suburb was near the beach, making it the perfect place to settle down. A decade later, what was once a couple of shops devoted to mothers has become a cottage industry. There are baby designer stores galore, and the number of designer mummy stores has doubled.

These are joined by a beautician, or medi-spa, on every corner – offering not just eyebrow treatments, but facelifts and micro needling. Five – I’m serious – five corner stores have been replaced by skin clinics. I’ve counted and there are four within a twokilometre radius of my home. Naturally, there is the usual oversupply of cafes. One at the end of every street, and all of them offering babycinos and toddler-sized green smoothies. Nuzzled in next to the cafes are hair salons, each offering a dizzying array of treatments and champagne, and at Christmas, there are the little parties. These are not marketed to men.

Keep the bugs and burglars out, let the SPRING breeze in!

BUY DIRECT FROM THE MANUFACTURER AND SAVE

• SECURITY DOORS • FENCES • ENCLOSURES Measured made and installed, over 50 standard designs or your own customised ideas. See the diffe f rence at our factory/showroom ffe at 3 Monomeeth Dve Mitcham, visit us online at www.shieldguard.com.au or phone 98740770 today.

SHIELDGUARD 20

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


STOCKSY

If the gentrification of a suburb involves pushing out poor people to make way for middle-class families and their wholemeal-bread tastes, then my suburb did not simply gentrify, it gentrified in a very specific way. It “mummified�. And with two children of my own now, I can’t say I’m upset. Gone is the trophy store and the humble bakery. The old knick-knack shop is but a distant memory. Everything is geared towards my demographic, which is to say, everything is geared towards upwardly mobile mothers who like their almond latte with a teeny-tiny cupcake on the side; something for Lala to nibble on before her child-led play at the local day-care centre, which will happily nurture her obvious giftedness for the medium fee of $175 a day. And then there are the schools. Ah, yes, the schools. As any helicopter parent knows, you’ve got to be in the right catchment, so your babe can go to the right educational facility. Then she can go on to the right high school, get the highest possible ATAR and go on to lead a wildly

successful life (presumably in the same suburb you raised her). Since 2010, Australia’s birthrate has been rising, especially when it comes to older parents. The City of Wyndham has the highest birth rate in metropolitan Melbourne - last year, 3748 babies were born at Werribee Mercy Hospital. In Sydney, in 2015, the suburbs where the most babies were born were mostly in the south-west, except for one little enclave in the east (near where I live). Those little ones are toddlers now and the three new day-care centres that have set themselves up in have probably flung open their doors to receive them. Meanwhile, their mothers can busy themselves on their days off by popping in for a face refresh or keratin hair treatment. I’m not upset about this; although I’m nostalgic for the days when my little suburb was just a broken-down pub, a lonely beach and a low-ceiling florist. Back then it felt like I was on the cusp of something, and now, these days, with every single shop, child-proof playground and artisanal bakery. I no longer feel edgy; I feel pegged. �

+$33<9$/(17,1(6 NEW SHOWROOM NOW OPEN

After 13 years Interior Living Blackburn relocated and has a brand new name. Still offering our Complimentry Measure & Quote for all quality Window Furnishings with our experienced Interior Decorators.

*2/'&/$66029,(7LFNHWV ,QFOXGLQJ'LQQHU)RU7ZR *RUJHRXV)ORZHUV 'HOLFLRXV&KRFRODWHV %HDXWLIXO&KDPSDJQH :LQQHUGUDZQRQ:HGQHVGD\)HEUXDU\WK (QWULHV([FOXGH&ROHV

     134 Camberwell Rd Hawthorn. Phone 9894 7244 mostwantedinteriors.com.au insta: @mostwanted_interiors

)RUPRUHLQIRUPDWLRQSOHDVHYLVLWZZZEXOOHHQSOD]DFRPDX 3KRQH  0DQQLQJKDP5RDG%XOOHHQ T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

21


EDUCATION

FINTO

CATHERINE HAINSTOCK

SPECIAL PROMOTION

School’s out

F

intona Girls’ School librarian Catherine Hainstock is a curious educator who fell in love with books before she learnt to read. In her role, Catherine guides students through the literary world.

Principa

WHERE DID YOU GO TO SCHOOL?

I grew up in Canada so attended the local high school in my hometown. After graduation, I attended the University of Alberta to obtain my Bachelor of Education. After that, I moved to Australia so earned my Masters of Education through Charles Sturt University.

About Fintona Girls’ Schoo

WHAT WERE YOU LIKE AS A STUDENT?

According to my school report cards, I talked a lot and asked a lot of questions. I was (and still am) curious to learn about all kinds of things. I think it’s important to encourage my students to honour their curiosity and ask questions, too. YOUR FAV A OURITE SUBJECTS? AV

History, English, biology and psychology. Later at university I became interested in information and communication technology. HOW LONG HAV HA E YOU WORKED WITH FINTONA?

This is my first year at Fintona, but I feel right at home.

My mother was a teacher although she was no longer working by the time I came along (I was child number four). She read to us every night and helped all of us with our homework. I also had some wonderful teachers in primary school who knew how to nurture a love of learning in their students. WHAT ARE YOU TEACHING AT THE MOMENT?

Research skills and guided inquiry discussions. Both of these areas encourage students to critically examine what they are reading and to look for evidence in the literature to strengthen their arguments. WHAT MADE YOU FALL IN LOVE WITH BOOKS?

I loved books even before I learnt to read. Back then it was the magic of the pictures, then discovering

Student wellbeing

how words worked. Now, it’s getting to know the characters and joining them on their journeys. WHAT’S THE BEST PART P ABOUT BEING A LIBRARIAN AT FINTONA?

Working with the students. They are enthusiastic and hard working. It’s a pleasure to work with them as they explore the world of fiction. Equally, it’s a privilege to assist them as they learn how to find quality information, then make use of it to tackle

FINTONA GIRLS’ SCHOOL \ 79 Balwyn Road, Balwyn. ● 9380 1388 ● www.fintona.vic.edu.au

22

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Our School Counsellor, a registered psychologist, plays an important role in our programs by providing confidential assignments, the world and their futures. support to students and parents. She has WHAT WOULD YOUR DREAM implemented JOB BE? programs relating to mindfulness, I think I may be in it. peer pressure and the management of stress to students to develop AFTER HOURS WHAT DO YOUassist LIKE DOING? their resilience.

Writing! I’m on the second draft of a novel for young adults. I’m hoping to have it finished this year. ●

MELISSA HEAGNEY

STEPHEN McKENZIE

YOUR INSPIRATION TO BECOME A TEACHER?

CO-CUR

We offer en activities tha to a balanc Students ca part in musi drama, pub debating, H Guides, and as cooking, maths and c also offer a of outdoor e programs in of Edinburg


EDUCATION

JACINTA RAQUEL

GEORGIA GRIFFITH

FLEUR GROSE

CLASS OF 2011

CLASS OF 2014

CLASS OF 1991

FASHION DESIGNER

CV

ATHLETE

CV

SUPPLIED

CV

INVESTMENT ANALYST

Jacinta, who was deputy school captain, says the

Georgia was the sports captain in her final year

Fleur enjoyed maths and science at school and was

small class sizes and close-knit school community

at Fintona and was also selected to represent

school captain in year 12. She studied engineering

allowed her to thrive. In year 12, Jacinta received

Australia at the World U20 Championships in the

and science at the University of Melbourne, and

the prestigious Caltex Best All Rounder Award.

United States, where she came fourth in the

worked for a few years as an engineer, before

Jacinta then graduated with first-class honours in fashion design at RMIT University. She has

800 metres. She is studying a double-degree in

shown collections from her label, Jacinta Raquel, at

communication design and business at Monash

Melbourne Spring Fashion Week, London Fashion

University.

Week and Shanghai Fashion Week. “Fintona

Georgia competed in the World Championships

SPECIAL PROMOTION

FINTONA GIRL S’ SCHOOL

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

The Ex-Files

returning to university and completing an MBA. This allowed a career change and Fleur became a mining equities analyst for an investment bank. “At Fintona, I enjoyed being involved in almost every activity on offer, which is the benefit of a

provided a solid foundation that instilled a sense

in London in 2017 in the 800 and 1500 metres and

small school. My favourite was sport, which has

of empowerment within so that one could blossom

hopes to be selected for a place at this year’s

become a lifelong passion, but I also enjoyed music

into whoever they dreamed to be.” ●

Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast. ●

and art.” ●

Some of the best careers start right here Fintona is an optimal place for girls to succeed. With many opportunities and dedicated teachers to extend students’ learning, a Fintona girl is motivated to achieve her goals.

TWILI TOUGRHT Thur JOIN US

 ­€‚ƒ„……€†‚ inspire your daughter to aim high, join us on our next tour or call the Registrar on 9830 1388.

ON O UR

sday 1 March

18

www.fintona.vic.edu.au

ELC – Y Ye a r s e a r 4 5 . 4 5-6 5 –12 6.30- .30pm VISIT 8.30p OUR WEBS m IT E TO

BOOK

THE AVERA R GE CLA L SS SIZE

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

23


ISTOCK

TECHNOLOGY

It’s not me, it’s you BREAKING UP WITH YOUR SMART DEVICES MIGHT BE THE RIGHT CALL, WRITES MYKE BARTLETT

W

e’ve all made new year’s resolutions about eating better or exercising more – most of which don’t last beyond January 3. But a new resolution is shooting to the top of the selfimprovement charts. Author Catherine Price says almost everyone she talks to is resolved to spending less time on their smartphone. Her book, How To Break Up With Your Phone, is designed to make this split as painless as possible, offering a step-by-step guide to unplugging your life in a tidy 30 days. While Price doesn’t think any of us should bin our smartphones (they’re incredibly useful tools, after all), she hopes the book will help people question whether all that screen-time is really making them happy. “It’s starting to be acknowledged that they’re bad for us,” she says. “There was a time when people didn’t acknowledge smoking was bad for you and a lot more people were hooked. I don’t think you have to get off Facebook, but I think you should get the app off your phone and make sure you’re using it because you want to, not on reflex.” She points out that most Silicon Valley tech

24

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

designers keep their own children far away from devices, aware of their addictive powers. The late Steve Jobs, for one, wouldn’t let his brood handle an iPad. Even if you think you’ve got your phone under your thumb, you’ll likely be surprised by the addiction survey Price includes in the opening chapter. For her, it was becoming a parent that made her realise she had a problem. “The motivation for me in writing the book was that we’d just had a baby and at some point I was feeding her and looking at my phone. I saw her looking at me while I was looking at my phone and had one of those out-of-body moments. I thought, ‘Oh my god, I don’t want that to be my daughter’s experience of what her mother is’.” Although Price has no interest in being that judgmental parent, she does reveal that her research revealed a spike in playground injuries when 3G service was made available to parents. Wounded kids aside, she’s found taking control of her phone has made a real and positive difference to her life. She’s used the free time to finally begin guitar lessons, finding a new “real-life” community of friends she now sees once a week.

Breaking up is never easy, but the book helps the reader create new habits to resist the phone-check reflex. In addition, Price has built a website offering helpful downloads, an amusing video “intervention” for phone-addicted friends and a 30-day email support program. Her experience is that addicts will notice a positive difference straight away. “I think the moment you start thinking about it, you will notice a change. Just reading this article is going to change people’s attitude to their phone. Just reading the title of the book. If you have that tiny Emperor’s New Clothes moment, I think the change will be pretty profound.” ●

HOW TO BREAK UP WITH YOUR PHONE \ By Catherine Price Hatchett, $27.99 ● phonebreakup.com


● The Choke by Sofie Laguna, Allen and Unwin, $32.99

MICHAEL RAY A NER AY

Miles Franklin Award-winning writer Sofie Laguna – her book, The Choke, was released last year – is bringing up her young two sons, Sonny and Milo, with her husband, Marc McBride, an illustrator of children’s books, on a big block in a rural suburb near Eltham. The couple both work from their home. “It will all eventually be shmick and dreamy, but it’s a big ’80s brick home that we’re slowly changing,” Laguna says. “We had a second child soon after we moved in, which slowed things down considerably as far as renovating plans went. It’s hard for me to get my house looking posh, like other people.” The style of her house, she says, is “eccentric, folky and earthy”, heavily influenced by her upbringing. “I like character and warmth, but I have a strong aesthetic and it’s hard living in a house that needs a lot of work.” Laguna is not a passionate cook. “Things that I cook taste good, but I’m not an explorer. My passion does not lie there. A girl cannot be all things in this world, can she?” ●

I N T E RVI E W BY PE T E R WI L M O T H

PERSONAL SPACE

Sofie Laguna

AUTHOR

COWBOY HAT FROM AUSTIN, TEXAS, SIGNED BY WILLIE NELSON \ I’ve loved country music since I was a child. Instead of rebelling against my parents’ musical tastes I seem to have taken it up with a passion. I’ve loved Willie Nelson all my life. He was at Tamworth country music festival in 2007 and my best friend and I went and saw him. We had white hats from Austin from a

IN MY HOME

road trip we took to Texas. We made eyes at him and he signed our hats. ●

PERSIAN RUG

FRAMED BARK PAINTINGS BY INDIGENOUS ARTIST

I grew up in a house full of Persian

DAVID MALANGI

rugs. Anyone who’s passionate about Persian rugs will understand

David Malangi was a well-known

it’s like living with a really expressive

indigenous artist. These were my

piece of art on your floor. From

parents and Mum couldn’t take

exciting parts of the world, they

care of them any more. Twenty

are tough and hardy and alive

years ago Mum said, ‘Sofie, try to

underneath your feet. I bought this

sell them at Sotheby’s’.

from a big rug shop in Abbotsford. ●

So I trekked off there but we weren’t so happy with the price.

CHAIR

Instead I went to a good framing shop and had them beautifully

It’s made in India, inlaid with

framed and fell passionately in

oxbone. The back of the chair is two

love with them. ●

CLARICE CLIFF VASE My mother-in-law gave me this.

rams heads curling over, it’s really

It was made in the 1930s by

whimsical. It appealed to the Aries in

well-known English potter

me. It’s a thing of great beauty and

Clarice Cliff. It’s really quirky,

personality. ●

idiosyncratic, and has this beautiful balance of colour. She

ANTIQUE CHINESE CUPBOARD

was going through a deceased estate and knew nothing of

It’s red, its painted and it’s got that

Cliff, but she looked at that vase

same folky, earthy, warm feel. It’s

and thought, ‘That is Sofie’. My

full of character and that appeals to

mother, who is a ceramicist,

me. ●

looked at the vase and said ‘Sofie, that’s a Clarice Cliff!’ ●

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

25


FEATURE HOUSE BLACKBURN \ 6 THE RIDGE 3

2

2

C

ity meets country in this large family home located on a leafy street among Blackburn’s abundant parklands. A carefully considered floorplan separates the living, parents’ and children’s sections of the home, allowing for relaxation and entertainment under the one roof. The living space is contemporary and spacious, encompassing a casual space and more formal sitting room, both lined with wooden floors. These rooms are partially separated by an open fireplace in the centre and a sunken level. The adjacent kitchen and meals area (connected by an archway to the living area) retains a more ’80s decor feel, aided by the wooden cabinetry, island bench and ceiling. This space is large and comfortable, offering plenty of room for a family dining table on the slate floor. Off the kitchen to the front of the property is the main bedroom, which has an en suite and walk-in-wardrobe. This bedroom also features a small, private balcony overlooking the front of the property. At the middle of the home off the rear hallway is the laundry and main bathroom (with shower and claw foot tub) that connects to the children’s rooms and retreat at the property’s rear. Alternatively, the retreat (currently without wardrobes) could be converted into a fourth bedroom. Also off this rear hallway is the entrance to the bricklined courtyard, which provides plenty of space for outdoor dining and entertaining. Quality materials and decorative features can be seen throughout this solid brick home, including polished hardwood floors, ceiling cornices, open fireplaces and jarrah cabinetry in the kitchen and bathrooms. Additional features of this property include a garden shed, kitchen wine storage, air-conditioning units and a carport for two cars behind a gated entrance. A short walk or drive from the property is Blackburn Lake Sanctuary with its animal life, walking tracks, bushland and native flora; there are multiple other nearby reserves. Several bus routes ply the neighbouring streets including route 703 on Canterbury Road and 765 on Blackburn Road. Forest Hill Chase shopping centre is also within a 12-minute walk. ● AMELIA BARNES property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “ENJOY FAMILY IL LIVING, WALKING TRACKS AND LIFESTYLE WITH A ILY LARGE FAMILY ILY HOME IN THE BLACKBURN LAKE DISTRICT. IT DOESN’T IL GET MUCH BETTER.” DANIEL BULLEN – AGENT

AGENT \ Jellis Craig 9908 5700 PRICE \ $1.35 million – $1.39 million AUCTION \ February 10 at 2pm Scan the code Classic easy living in the leafy eastern suburbs

SHORTLIST YOUR FAVOURITE HOMES WITH THE DOMAIN APP 26

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


BURWOOD \ 22 BURN NAR LOOK DRIVE 3

2

1

In a suburb with a median three-bedroom house price of $1.25 million, a property quoted at under $900,000 is sure to attract interest. This townhouse is part of a recent architect-designed development tucked away from Burwood Highway. While compact in appearance, the two-storey floorplan includes all the features families and downsizers seek. The ground floor is the living domain, comprising an openplan lounge, kitchen and dining area plus laundry and powder room. Included in the kitchen is a stone-top island bench and appliances by Smeg and Omega. Full-length glass door off the kitchen open to the property’s entertaining deck. Upstairs is the sleeping quarters of the home, containing all three bedrooms (main with walk-in-wardrobe) plus a retreat. Both the main bedroom en suite and family bathroom have double vanities, and the latter also has a bath next to the doorless shower. Gas ducted heating and split-system air-conditioners are fitted throughout. Nearby amenities include Gardiners Creek Reserve and Deakin University. ● AMELIA BARNES AGENT \ Fletchers 9836 2222 PRICE \ $780,000 – $850,000 AUCTION \ February 10 at 11am Scan the code Top-quality indoor-outdoor lifestyle in the latest designs

DONCASTER \ 1/738 ELGAR ROAD

TEMPLESTOWE \ 276 CHURCH ROAD

3

4

2

2

2

2

This two-year-old, three-bedroom townhouse offers great prospects for families or busy professionals. Beyond the double-brick facade of this split-level residence is a sunny ground-floor living room, casual meals area, and modern kitchen with stainless-steel Bosch appliances and Caesarstone benchtops. The main bedroom features en-suite with double vanities, spacious walkin-wardrobe, and opens on to a private balcony. Other highlights include a second balcony, solar panels, ducted heating and cooling, remote-controlled double garage, and an appealing location close to Westfield Doncaster, schools, buses, and the Eastern Freeway. ● ISABELLE LANE

This elevated four-bedroom residence is a nature lover’s delight offering treetop vistas and a short stroll to tranquil Ruffey Lake Park. Occupying 650 square metres, the property provides plenty of room for families with multiple generously apportioned living areas including a formal lounge, dining room, family room, plus downstairs rumpus room. Other highlights include ducted heating and evaporative cooling, a timber kitchen with stainless-steel appliances, walk-in pantry and breakfast bar, and main bedroom with remodelled luxury en suite. Outside you’ll find a covered deck for al fresco dining, and an expansive gazebo. ● ISABELLE LANE

AGENT \ RT Edgar 9807 6686 PRICE \  $850,000 – $930,000 PRIVATE SALE

AGENT \ Fletchers 9841 5788 PRICE \  $1.15 million – $1.2 million PRIVATE SALE

Scan the code A sunny outlook close to the Westfield crossroads

Scan the code High and mighty in outlook and proportions

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

27


Selling or leasing in 2018? ...trust Australia’s number 1 real estate team to get you the best result.

Recently, our team were awarded the highest honour of Australian Residential Agency of the Year at the annual Realestate.com.au Excellence Awards (AREAs). We were recognised for our innovation, service levels, marketing excellence and community involvement. In 2018, we’re excited to continue offering superior service and award-winning real estate expertise to our local community.

You’re in safe hands with real estate’s most awarded and experienced team.

Call us today for a professional, complimentary market appraisal.

Manningham 9842 8888

Whitehorse 9878 0222

Eltham 9431 1243

Start with Excellence.


Templestowe 59 O'Briens Lane

Just Listed.

4

3

A private tree-scape amongst the elite of Templestowe.

AUCTION Sat, 24th Feb at 2:00pm

Indulge in the relaxing scenic views. Bask in the sweet serenity. And revel in a fantastic 37sq (approx.) home tailor-made for the growing family thanks to its four large living areas, modern comfort and sprawling yet easy-to-maintain acre (approx.) grounds.

INSPECT Thu 11.30-12pm & Sat 10.30-11am

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

1

4

CONTACT George Pangalos 0430 060 123

Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

29


Bulleen 34 Vera Street

30

4

Outstanding quality in a coveted location.

AUCTION Sat, 17th Feb at 3:00pm

Instantly appealing with its own street frontage and no common land, the positive impressions continue inside this glamorous town residence, stylishly presented with rich timber floors, two living areas, sensational outdoor entertaining, gourmet kitchen with a Butlerâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s panty, luxurious bathrooms and outstanding quality throughout.

INSPECT Thu 3.30-4pm & Sat 12.30-1pm

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

3

2 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Matt Sealey 0430 569 655 Manningham 03 9842 8888


Doncaster East 74 Landscape Drive

Just Listed.

4

2

A grand entertainer in the coveted Milgate Estate.

AUCTION Sat, 24th Feb at 2:00pm

If youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re driven to provide your children with the best childhood possible, itâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s hard to ignore the lure of this fabulous family residence, which offers an unbeatable family lifestyle in the sought-after Milgate Estate that stands within the coveted East Doncaster Secondary College catchment area.

INSPECT Thu & Sat 2-2.30pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

1

2

CONTACT Jack Stack 0400 434 030 Terry Burgoyne 0404 842 771 Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

31


Templestowe 12 Niland Rise

Rise to a new beginning. Set in a private cul de sac stands this excellent north-facing family home of grand proportions, which delights with its zoned accommodation, formal and communal living areas, all-seasons alfresco, in-ground swimming pool and walking distance access to parks, buses and Templestowe Park Primary School.

32

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Just Listed.

4

3

AUCTION Sat, 24th Feb at 4:00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu 12.30-1pm & Sat 1.30-2pm

1

2

CONTACT Orlando Petruccelli 0439 994 809 Jim Kapsalis 0488 837 653 Manningham 03 9842 8888


Templestowe Lower 18 Ranleigh Rise

Auction this Sat.

5

Entertainerâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s delight in prime location.

AUCTION Sat, 10th Feb at 3:00pm

Spacious home on 876sqm (approx.) with pool, spa, Bali hut and alfresco deck. Two living areas, open fireplace, timber floors, kitchen with quality appliances plus updated bathroom and en suite. Includes four bedrooms, three bathrooms and home office near Westfield Doncaster, schools and Eastern Freeway.

INSPECT Thu 11.30-12pm & Sat 2.30-3pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

3

2 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Matt Sealey 0430 569 655 Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

33


Blackburn North 72 Kett Street

34

Just Listed.

4

3

Grand space for your growing family.

AUCTION Sat, 24th Feb at 1:00pm

This magnificent two-storey home, set on an excellent 605sqm (approx.) northfacing block with a wide 16.5m (approx.) frontage, is destined to be a family favourite. And if youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re motivated to make your mark, thereâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s also scope for a modern touch or possibly even development (STCA)!

INSPECT Thu 4-4.30pm & Sat 11-11.30am

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

1

2

CONTACT Morena Vallese 0497 682 185

Whitehorse 03 9878 0222


Templestowe Lower 2/223 High Street

Just Listed.

3

3

European elegance in a premier Manningham location.

AUCTION Sat, 24th Feb at 11:00am

Wonderfully scaled and proportioned on a secure gated block of only two, experience an instant lifestyle upgrade in both class and convenience with this refined three-bedroom town residence footsteps away from bus services, Macedon Square shops and cafes and Manningham Medical Centre.

INSPECT Thu 2.30-3pm & Sat 3.30-4pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

1

5

CONTACT Jason Stepanow 0405 159 650 Oliver Hu 0450 097 376 Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

35


Forest Hill 3/11 Morloc Street

A statement of style. Spectacular style hits the senses when stepping into this ‘Hampton’s Style’ fourbedroom townhouse, which offers a dream executive lifestyle close to Blackburn Lake, Blackburn train station, Blackburn Station Village shops and cafes, schools and the Eastern Freeway/Eastlink.

36

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Just Listed.

4

2

AUCTION Sat, 10th Feb at 12:00pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price INSPECT Thu 5-5.30-pm & Sat 10-10.30am & 3-3.30pm

2 CONTACT Morena Vallese 0497 682 185

Whitehorse 03 9878 0222


Doncaster East 3/28 Roger Street

3

Executive style with convenience at every turn.

AUCTION Sat, 17th Feb at 11:00am

Are you looking to take your first steps on the property ladder as a homebuyer or investor? Then put away your search list — this three-bedroom executive townhouse inside the coveted East Doncaster Secondary College catchment area is the gem you’ve been waiting for!

INSPECT Thu 10.30-11am & Sat 11.30-12pm

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

2

2 CONTACT Michael Steenhuis 0400 499 601 Matt Sealey 0430 569 655 Manningham 03 9842 8888

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

37


Doncaster 86 Ayr Street

38

3

Invest or live with an Ayr of confidence.

AUCTION Sat, 24th Feb at 2:00pm

Well hidden behind tall fences is where youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ll find this smart investment, excellent first home or fashionable downsizing option thatâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s high in style, low in maintenance and only minutes away from Macedon Square, schools, parks, the Eastern Freeway and the Park + Ride!

INSPECT Thu 1.30-2pm & Sat 4.30-5pm

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

PRICE Contact Agent for Price

1

1 CONTACT Mitchell Etherington 0423 932 899 Theo Politis 0415 030 088 Manningham 03 9842 8888


Vermont 123 Purches Street

Move in or rent it out.

Just Listed.

3

1

SALE BY SET DATE® Tuesday 20th February at 5pm PRICE Contact Agent for Price

Perfect as a solid investment – even better to live in. No shortage of options available for the astute buyer of this appealing three-bedroom residence inside the coveted Vermont Secondary College catchment area.

INSPECT Wed 5-5.30pm, Sat 12-12.30pm & Sun 12-12.30pm

2 CONTACT Terry Burgoyne 0404 842 771

Whitehorse 03 9878 0222

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

39


Just Listed.

Ringwood North 28 Terrigal Close

Expect to fall in love. With an unmistakable welcoming ambiance, discover the fireside living room enhanced by expansive windows that take in serene tree-top views, brand new kitchen with softclosing cabinetry, 900mm oven and dishwasher, peaceful parentâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s retreat that includes a study nook, contemporary ensuite, fully-landscaped gardens, 6-seater hydrotherapy spa, covered wrap-around deck, study and large family dining area. Well-positioned just a short walk to Ringwood North Village and Ringwood North Primary School.

4

3

PRIVATE SALE

INSPECT Thursday 6:30-7pm Saturday 11-11:30am

4

2

CONTACT Reuben Nadarajah 0434 642 164 Jay Carroll 0433 266 162 Ringwood 03 9870 5555

Now available for lease. Balwyn North 9/60 Sweyn St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $625 PW

Doncaster East 1 Orion Pl 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Feb 8 $365 PW

Box Hill North 3/936 Station St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $630 PW

Donvale 9 Kevin Ct 4 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $525 PW

Bulleen 2/83 Willow Bnd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Feb 17 $440 PW

Heathmont 5/37 Cuthbert St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Feb 14 $495 PW

Bulleen 2/63-65 Manningham Rd 2 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $350 PW

Lower Plenty 8 Roseburn Ct 6 BR, 8 Bath, 8 Car Avail Mar 1 $2000 PW

Bulleen 1/102-106 Thompsons Rd 3BR, 1 Bath Avail Now $470 PW

Nunawading 6/6 East India Ave 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Feb 9 $350 PW

Doncaster 2/788 Elgar Rd 3 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $540 PW

Ringwood North 1/156 Warrandyte Rd 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $380 PW

Doncaster 1/12 Park Ave 2 BR, 1 Bath Avail Feb 19 $360 PW

Templestowe 1/281 Williamsons Rd 2 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $380 PW

Doncaster East 59 Morello Cir 4 BR, 3 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $680 PW

Templestowe 1/60 Parker St 3 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail Feb 7 $480 PW

Doncaster East 3 Damala St 3 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $530 PW

Templestowe 14 Springvalley Dr 4 BR, 2 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $680 PW

Doncaster East 4/13 Churchill St 2 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $500 PW

Templestowe 2/106 Wood St 2 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $490 PW

Doncaster East 3/12 Hamilton Cr 2 BR, 1 Bath, 2 Car Avail Now $415 PW

Templestowe Lwr 79 Rose Ave 4 BR, 4 Bath, 2 Car Avail Feb 25 $1500 PW

Doncaster East 4/54 Rosella St 2 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Feb 8 $400 PW

Templestowe Lwr 50 Marcus Rd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $420 PW

Doncaster East 78 Saxonwood Dr 3 BR, 2 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $550 PW

Templestowe Lwr 114 Templestowe Rd 3 BR, 1 Bath, 1 Car Avail Now $450 PW

Barry Plant Manningham 9842 8888

40

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Barry Plant Whitehorse 9878 0222

Start with Excellence.


28 Olwen Street. Nunawading

10A Alexander Street. Mitcham

4A

3A

1B

0C

600m2 approx.

1B

2C

658m2 approx.

A bigger home with bigger potential mins to Eastlink, shopping, retail precinct, schools, Nunawading train stn, bike & running trail. Open plan living areas, tiled dining, mod kit, 4brms, fam bth/2 WCs & rear entertain deck on 600m2, scope to extend family home.

Characterful BV family home on, treed allot 658m2 offers opportunity to refurbish/ extend or build your dream home only mins walk to Mitcham shops & train station. Comp living with OFP, kit/meals, 3brms, bthrm, WC plus sgle carport & gge.

Private Sale

Auction Sat 17th Feb 11.00am

Inspect Sat 10th Feb 2.00-2.30pm

Contact Brad Ellis 0418 394 062 Anna Tran 0413 439 438

Inspect 11.00 - 11.30am 1.00 - 1.30pm

Contact Brad Ellis 0418 394 062 Anna Tran 0413 439 438

hockingstuart.com.au

hockingstuart.com.au

20/20 Florence Road. Surrey Hills 3A

1B

2C

This immaculately presented unit boasts own street frontage directly opp parkland. Comp living/dining, mod kit/meals, 3brms with BIRs, renovated bth/2 WCs, DLUG wth internal access, rumpus, storage, workshop wth paved & private garden area. Ideal 1st â&#x20AC;&#x2DC;homeâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;, retirmnt ppy or invstmnt mins to Surrey Gardens, train, shopping & restaurants. Auction Sat 10th Febuary 11.00am

Inspect Thurs 12.00 - 12.30pm Sat 10.30 - 11.00am

Contact Brad Ellis 0418 394 062 Troy Rendle 0438 305 520

hockingstuart.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

41


42

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

43


44

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

45


46

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

47


48

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

49


50

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

51


52

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

53


MANNINGHAM

TEMPLESTOWE 14 CLIVEDEN COURT

• RELAXED LIFESTYLE AND MODERN COMFORT Savouring a dress circle location & ideal environment to raise a family backing onto scenic parkland, this superior five bedroom three bathroom residence offers an idyllic lifestyle yet is in excellent proximity to schools & shops. Glorious landscaped gardens enhance the vast proportions with expansive formal & informal living/dining zones, gourmet kitchen & lavish bathrooms. Features include an insulated, heated/cooled workshop with toilet, shower & laundry facilities on a 4142 sqm block approx.

ID and contact details are required at all open for inspections 54

t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

௭5 º3 Ê3 FOR SALE VIEW CONTACT OFFICE

Thur 4:30-5:00pm Sat 3:30-4:00pm Wayne Rees 0499 355 105 Steven Chen 0411 763 956 1/1004 Doncaster Road Doncaster East 03 9841 9000

bigginscott.com.au


• GREAT LOCATION, FABULOUS DEVELOPMENT OPTIONS • Approved plans for 2 x 3 bedroom townhouses • Walk to East Doncaster Secondary College and Doncaster Garden Primary School • Great option for developers or renovators • Currently houses comfortable 3 bedroom home • Superbly located to schools, shops, transport • Fantastic lifestyle in highly desirable location Situated in walking distance to East Doncaster Secondary College and shops, this exceptional prospect offers exciting scope for developers seeking the ideal site with approved plans to erect two double-storey townhouses of three bedrooms each. Currently housing an original three bedroom abode on a block of 654m2 approximately, that is entirely habitable allowing the perfect renovation or rental option.

௭ 3  º 1  Ê 2

DONCASTER EAST 24 WORTHING AVENUE

AUCTION VIEW CONTACT OFFICE

Saturday 24th February at 11:30am Thu 3:30-4:00 Sat 11:00-11:30 Cassie Wang 0433 219 205 1/1004 Doncaster Road Doncaster East 03 9841 9000

CONTEMPORARY LIVING AT ITS FINEST Perfectly positioned and set beyond the large front lawn and elegantly landscaped gardens, this 3 bedroom home would suit those looking for contemporary living in a prime location. The sizes of the modern and spacious formal lounge room and dining area are magnified even more by the reflections from the polished timber floor. With air conditioning for both areas, guests will always be comfortable. The kitchen is a showpiece of design offering so much to the most avid of chefs. With features including 900mm stainless steel oven, cooktop and range hood, dishwasher, stone bench tops, breakfast bar, large pantry, ceramic tiles and views across the most beautiful rear garden, it has the lot. All three bedrooms are spacious and offer numerous built in robes with the main enjoying the full length mirror robes. Stylish and contemporary describe the modern family bathroom with freestanding bath, His and Hers Caesarstone vanity and beautiful feature tiles.

MITCHAM 21 DUNFIELD AVENUE

The private, north facing rear garden has plenty of space & includes a covered cabana with built in barbeque so the weather will never be a problem. A double carport and lock up garage, gas ducted heating throughout and air-conditioning are just some more of the many features offered.

௭3 º1 Ê3 AUCTION VIEW CONTACT

OFFICE

ID and contact details are required at all open for inspections

Saturday 17th February at 1:00pm Thursday 5:30-6pm & Saturday 12:30-1pm Thuy Nguyen 0435 315 368 Tim Siatos 0438 425 069 Tong Wu 0430 009 158 544 Whitehorse Road Mitcham 03 9873 1888

bigginscott.com.au t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

55


Brand New Display Homes Open Now!

Clydevale, Highgrove & Berwick Waters Display Village Open Sat, Sun, Mon, Tues & Wed from 12-5pm

From $184,153

On Display at Clydevale Estate

Cottesloe Modern 25.78 sq

Easy Living

Offering versatility and incredible value for money, The Cottesloe offers everything a modern family could want in a single storey home. Featuring excellent size living areas with an ideal degree of separation for the growing family. The open plan living area provides a great viewpoint to the outdoor entertaining area and the rear yard, great for socializing and keeping an eye on the kids. The Large kitchen has all the mod cons for the home chef with 3 separate surfaces to work on and an abundance of storage cupboards, including a walk-in pantry.

BERWICK WATERS

CLYDEVALE

HIGHGROVE

TIMBERTOP

Littleshore Crescent CLYDE NORTH Melway 131 A9

Welsh Crescent CLYDE NORTH Melway 134 K2

Callow Avenue CLYDE NORTH Melway 134 K6

Clovelly Way OFFICER Melway 214 E2

Contact: 1300 773 643 www.premierbuilders.com.au

56

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services

V

Deadline

V

Placing your classified advert is so easy...

1177862-RC13-15

www.cldb.com.au

VISA/MASTERCARD/EFTPOS

V

Electricians

Blackburn North Electricians

Ask about our discounted ongoing advertising rates and how choosing more newspapers gives your advertising more impact and saves you money...

ALL VIC REMOVALS & STORAGE Cheap boxes 4 sale

9310 1070 - 0403 046 998 Garden Services

Call Joe 0498 375 094 - 7 days V

SERVICING BLACKBURN NORTH AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

Glass/Glazing

ALL BROKEN GLASS 12378161-HM06-18

REPLACEMENTS

30% OFF

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

Trades & Services section of Network Classifieds.

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

V

Pest Control

TERMITE CONTROL SPECIALIST

Free termite quotes - Family owned business ● Termites ● Ants ● Rats ● Mice ● Spiders ● Cockroaches ● Bees & Wasps 2064941v5

● Pre purchase inspections ● Council Certificates

Qualified & Insured

Your advert can appear in print and online!

Trades & Services

section of Network Classifieds.

rangerpestcontrol.com.au

Find local work with an advert in the

G6616651AA-dc11Feb

Packing, Pianos, Antiques and Billiard Tables, Local, Country & Interstate. No job too small. Unwanted goods, or rubbish taken to tip. All areas from $89p/h (min 2 hours), 24 hours/7 days

V

Blackburn North Plumbers

Specialist in • Lawn mowing • Edging Pruning / Hedge Trimming • Regular Maintenance • Rubbish Removals • Tree Lopping • Gutter Cleaning

section of Network Classifieds.

(1.5% credit card processing fee applies. Cheques and money orders can be posted in or hand delivered to our local office)

Furniture Removals

AMAZING GARDEN SERVICES

Employment

We accept payment by:

*Not available with any other voucher or coupon

V

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 FREE QUOTE s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS QUICKEST INSTALL SENIORS DISCOUNT s CANVAS SUNBLINDS

(include your name, address and phone number)

All Classifieds: 1.30pm Friday

Awnings, Blinds & Curtains

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

Online: networkclassifieds.com.au (24/7) Phone: 1300 666 808 (Open 8.30-5pm Mon-Fri) Fax: 03 5945 0667 Email: sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

DEADLINES

Jason 1300 644 698

0488 097 005

V

Tiling

AARON’S TILING

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

Call 1300 666 808

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

12330352-CG45-16

www.cldb.com.au

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

Plumbing

1156305-HM40-14

NT

1177862-RC13-15

J.L. Hutt Electrical

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise.

1129931-RC16-14

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS FREE QUOTE QUICKEST INSTALL s CANVAS SUNBLINDS SENIORS DISCOU

e in advertis oose to to let “We ch w ie v e ekly R ow The We unity kn l comm a c lo e vings th a s e iv s ur mas ño about o Burgue - Robert r.” e ff o on

12330353-ACM46-16

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

V

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

Grow your business with Trades and Services

Electricians

12351179-CG19-17

V

1152285-PB36-14

Trades Business Profile

12341309-CG10-17

V

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Place your ad in print and online

0432 774 645

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

57


Trades & Services V

General Classifieds

Tree Lopping/Surgery

V

HIGH TREE

Adult Phone Talk

V

Adult Services

V

Childcare

ALL FETISH! Anything goes! from 99c/min 1300 700 904 1902 226 323 Chat now! $5.45/min pay/mob extra

TREE SERVICE

THIS MONTH ONLY

FREE QUOTE

SN1090434-PJ37-13 1136373-RC22-14

V

rakruyt@aol.com

Rick or Daniel Kruyt 1193032-LN31-15

V

Adult Services

&%' %URWKHO

2SHQKRXUV

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

QUALIFIED ARBORISTS

Manhattan Terrace

Safe Tree and Stump Removal UĂ&#x160; Ă?ÂŤiĂ&#x20AC;Ă&#x152;Ă&#x160;*Ă&#x20AC;Ă&#x2022;Â&#x2DC;Â&#x2C6;Â&#x2DC;}Ă&#x160;UĂ&#x160;Ă&#x20AC;iiĂ&#x160;+Ă&#x2022;Â&#x153;Ă&#x152;iĂ&#x192;

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

12366233-LB39-17

Ă&#x153;Ă&#x153;Ă&#x153;°Ă&#x152;Ă&#x20AC;iivĂ?°VÂ&#x153;Â&#x201C;°>Ă&#x2022; 100% Satisfaction Guarantee

PH: 1300 TREEFX (873339) Find your Local Specialist in our

Maryâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Little Lambs

1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

0409 14 15 19

Check out our customer reviews @

Phone - 1300 Escort

SWA4281be

EARLY LEARNING CENTRE

Garden/ Outdoor

5 STAR HEDGES n GARDENS

Modern purpose built facility 27 Medway Street, Box Hill North

Massage Therapists

TAKING ENROLMENTS NOW

Hedge Specialist Call Pete 0434 570 623

V

We offer quality care from 2 months to 6 years old. &ULLY'OVERNMENT!CCREDITEDsYEAROLD+INDERPROGRAM

Relaxation Massage

Open 7 days 10:00am to 8:30pm. 68C South Parade, Blackburn. Phone 0449 008 636.

Monday â&#x20AC;&#x201C; Friday 7.00am â&#x20AC;&#x201C; 6.30pm

Need cash?

Phone 

Sell it local V

section of Network Classifieds.

V

Garage Sales

WINDOWS 1 1216352-LB06-16

9703 1530

www.windows1.net.au

Anytime, Any place Get 10% Discount Use code: GSDISCOUNT

Anytime, anyplace

12340946-PB09-17

Windows

Member HIA and MBA

Auto Services/ Repair

Positions Vacant

PLACE YOUR GARAGE Need New Staff? Place your vacancy online SALE AD ONLINE Window Replacement Service Timber or Aluminium Free Measure and quote

Motoring

Employment V

Professional Services

V

WWWMLLCOMAU

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

GET 10% DISCOUNT Use code: EMPDISC www.networkclassifieds.com.au

OCR

Old Cars Removed WE PAY YOU UP TO

500 CASH

$

For Any Old Car TODAY

9798 3364 LMCT 10227

General Notices

section of Network Classifieds.

Sell your item for FREE in print and online www.networkclassifieds.com.au * Private party only * Items must be under $100 * 4 weeks in print and online 12376255-HM03-18

58

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

12378704-DJ07-18

OFF

12321588-DJ36-16

25%

Pruning & Removal of Trees & Shrubs Stump Removal Hedges Mulching & Mulch Sales Full Insurance Cover

12352061-CG20-17

Summer Special

12373227-HM49-17

ABN 20 410 687 524


DeckSealRevival Pty Ltd

27 Macedon Road Templestowe Lower www.macedonsquarechicken.com.au

Welcome to the Pat Miller School of Dance. Vacancies available for 2018.

12378655-ACM06-18

Our chicken is a Bannockburn top brand, processed with no chemicals and a very tasty free range chicken cooked without stuffing, gluten free. Come in and check out our delicious gourmet salads, eat in or take away. We also have chicken souvlaki, chicken fillet burgers, chicken snitzel, fried rice, scalloped potatoes, roast veggies, chicken and salad rolls, foccacias, hot chicken rolls and quality hot chips.

12378667-HM07-18

Give us a call, email: info@deckseal.com.au or visit our website for more information. www.deckseal.com.au Â&#x2C6;Â&#x2DC;vÂ&#x153;J`iVÂ&#x17D;Ă&#x192;i>Â?°VÂ&#x153;Â&#x201C;°>Ă&#x2022;Ă&#x160;UĂ&#x160; Â&#x153;Â&#x2DC;Ă&#x152;>VĂ&#x152;\Ă&#x160;­äĂ&#x17D;ÂŽĂ&#x160;Â&#x2122;nnĂ&#x2C6;Ă&#x160;Ă&#x17D;Ă&#x17D;xäĂ&#x160;Â&#x153;Ă&#x20AC;Ă&#x160;ä{£äĂ&#x160;xĂ&#x17D;Ă&#x2021;Ă&#x160;ÂŁĂ&#x2C6;{

12355781-EPJ25-17

Melbourneâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s deck care and maintenance professionalâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s. Residential and commercial. We do it all from deck sanding, cleaning, sealing, washing to deck maintenance and finally deck refinishing! Continually delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. No job too big or small.

Macedon Square Chicken and Salad Bar (03) 852 4545

JAZZ, TAP, BALLROOM, LATIN, BALLET, CRYSTALS M & M DANCE SUPPLIES FOR ALL YOUR DANCING NEEDS

Our school offers a complete program for the young dancer. Our excellent teachers offer classes in Jazz, Classical, Tap and Hip Hop. Classes are conducted in a friendly and caring atmosphere where every student is valued and encouraged. From tiny tots (pre-school age) through to advanced levels. Opportunities for performance include annual concerts at the professional Karralyka Theatre as well as "Star" solo performances for 8 year olds and above.

CONTACT DETAILS

(03) 9850 6533 sales@mmdancesupplies.com.au STORE LOCATION

31A Macedon Road, Lower Templestowe Social Networking

WWWPATMILLERDANCINGCOMAUs0Hs-OB 0RINCIPAL0AT-ILLER

Mention this advert in store.

12378621-EPJ07-18

12378637-CG07-18

Strength and agility training. Fitness, stamina and flexibility through hip hop, tap and jazz.

Book your free trial-class today! Located in Brighton, Brunswick, Hawthorn and now Ringwood.

Australian Boys Dance Academy provides a boys-only zone for young men (6-18) to learn to dance. Each week consists of three separate classes in jazz, tap and hip hop.

(03) 8199 8346 boysdance.com.au

12378666-CG07-18

No tutus. No tights. We Dance in Pants!


C H INE S E NE W Y E A R G OOD FO RTU N E SA L E S E V E N T ������������������������������������������������������������� $6,688 saving on all vehicles in stock.* ���������������������������������������������������������������������� DONCASTER JAGUAR LAND ROVER ����������������������������������������� ����������������������� �������������������������� �����������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������������

The Weekly Review Eastern  

February 7-13, 2018

The Weekly Review Eastern  

February 7-13, 2018

Advertisement