Page 1

theweeklyreview.com.au

DECEMBER 1-7, 2016

THE FEED + BISTRO GOEMON + MAMMOTH

FROM THE ASHES THE STOKEHOUSE RETURNS

ANGE POSTECOGLOU

A HEAD OF

THE GAME BY SARAH MARINOS

CITY

Melbourne’s Best Property Guide


A U S T R A L I A’ S G R E AT E S T R A N G E O F H A N D C R A F T E D CONCRETE AND RECLAIMED FURNITURE FOR INSIDE AND OUT

V I S I T O U R 2 M A S S I V E S H O W R O O M S B U R S T I N G W I T H T H E G R E AT E S T R A N G E S AT T H E B E S T P R I C E S !

Offer ends 27th November 2016, unless otherwise extended. Visit www.schots.com.au for full terms and conditions.


More to love HAVE YOUR SAY & WIN

ay what you will about our obsession with Sovertly sport. Yes, Aussie sports culture can be blokey and it’s fair to question why we

celebrate sports stars over and above those who excel in, say, science or the arts. But there’s no denying sport is the social glue that binds many communities together. Just as many a lifelong friendship has been forged on the suburban cricket pitch or in the clubrooms after a match, sport clubs have given countless immigrants to this country a vital entre to their new community, as well as a link to their heritage. So it was for Jim Postecoglou, who arrived from Greece in the early 1970s with his young family. At the South Melbourne Hellas soccer club Jim found both new friendships and the comfort of a familiar sporting code. Those good times also sparked a lifelong passion for the world game in his young son, Angelos. Four decades on, Ange has lost none of that passion as coach of our national soccer team. Read his story inside. ●

Jane

»

DRINK

»

EVENTS

REVIEWS

»

VIDEOS

win an ipad mini com plete our r e ader surve y What do we do well? ● What could we do better? Go to: www.theweeklyreview.com.au/survey2016 to be in the running to win a 128GB iPad Mini 4, valued at $879. We have three to give away.

3

CULTURED KIDS to be won

Myke Bartlett shines a spotlight on ways to get your children into everything from ballet to the opera this summer.

We wish

31 Canterbury Road, Camberwell: a landmark house in a blue-chip area. PROPERTY ID » 2013194444

Join the conversation

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

I N STAG R A M

www.facebook.com/ theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

PINTEREST theweeklyreview

FREE EVENT

GOOGLE+ The Weekly Review

YOUTUBE www.youtube.com/c/ weeklyreview

Major Sponsor

DenisWalter

Melbourne Gospel Choir

Sally Cooper

Vika & Linda

Michael Cristiano

Bethany Fisher

The Kazoos

Julie Walter

Humphrey

Carols @ Flemington Friday 9th December 2016 Flemington Racecourse Concert 7.45pm – 9.30pm

TM

BIG SCREEN proudly brought to you by

4 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016

»

(ISTOCK)

T he editor’s desk

U P D AT E D D A I LY \ T H E L AT E S T I N F O O D

THEWEEKLYREVIEW. REVIEW COM.AU REVIEW.


How to contact us GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300

Competitions

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to our Facebook page at

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview or to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, December 4.

GROUP EDITORIAL DIRECTOR \ EMILY L RAYN LY RA ER erayner@theweeklyreview.com.au EDITOR \ JANE HUTCHINSON jhutchinson@theweeklyreview.com.au DEPUTY EDITOR \ HARI RAJ hraj@theweeklyreview.com.au PICTURE DESK K \ KYLIE THOMSON kthomson@theweeklyreview.com.au REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ JOHN IOANNOU jioannou@theweeklyreview.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ ANDREW MAHON 9249 5233 \ amahon@theweeklyreview.com.au MANAGING DIRECTOR, DOMAIN VICTORIA & PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON \ tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 24,750 copies

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Ange Postecoglou photographed by Matthew Furneaux CITY

YOUR R LOCAL REPORT R ER RT

Virginia Millen can be often found at a favourite cafe. When not brunching with friends she’s wining with her husband or walking her dog. She writes sometimes too. vmillen@theweeklyreview.com.au 0431 961 415

WIN

StudioCanal is giving you the chance to win one of 10 in-season family passes (two adults and two children) to see Ballerina,, a beautifully animated tale about following your dreams. Felicie is a young orphan from rural Brittany who dreams of becoming a ballerina at the Paris Opera. With her best friend Victor, who wants to become a great inventor, they devise a madcap plan to escape the orphanage for Paris. Ballerina dances into cinemas on January 12. ● ballerinamovie.com.au

WORTH

WORTH

$72

WORTH

$140

WIN

Santa Claus, Mrs Claus, Rudolph and friends are once again making the trip Down Under; returning to Caulfield Racecourse this November and December. Bringing all the wonder and joy of the festive season, Santa’s Magical Kingdom promises a Christmas wonderland full of activities that will capture the imagination of the whole family. We are giving away three family passes, valued at $140 each, for Wednesday, December 14. ● santasmagicalkingdom.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from November 16: Jan Crawford, Peter Goad, Sandra Borg, Dino Cecala, Yiu Chan, Daniel Karrasch and Robert Moso. Entrants must be over 18 years old and live in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

THE CONTACT LENS FOR YOUR EAR

$203

WIN

The producers of the world’s biggest magic show, The Illusionists, have teamed up with the award-winning puppeteers from War Horse to present a thrilling turn-of-the-century circus spectacular. CIRCUS 1903 – The Golden Age of Circus boasts a huge cast of the most unusual, amazing and dangerous circus acts from all four corners of the world – from strongmen to contortionists, acrobats to musicians, knife throwers and much more! We are giving away two double passes for January 3. ● circus1903.com

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

NOW OFFERING 100% INVISIBLE HEARING AIDS 100% Invisible - Sits deep in the ear canal, completely invisible. 24/7 Wear - Wear for months at a time. Designed for all daily activities - showering, sleeping, exercising. Hassle-Free - No batteries to change, no daily insertion or removal. Natural Sound - Designed to work with your ear’s anatomy to deliver exceptional sound quality.

CALL FOR A FREE 30MIN CONSULTATION

1300 761 667 www.ear-hearing.com.au

Now Open At: 414 La Trobe Street, Melbourne CBD Kew • Camberwell • Malvern • Ashburton • Hawthorn East • Surrey Hills • Canterbury • Ivanhoe • Reservoir • Docklands • Toorak • Ashwood • Balwyn DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 5


Sarah Marinos meets soccer supremo Ange Postecoglou

6 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016

O

n October 23, 2013, he was given the country’s most high-profile football role when he became head coach of the Socceroos. Ange was quick to get stuck into the job, taking the team to the 2014 FIFA World Cup, the 2015 Asian Cup and now working through the process of qualifying for the 2018 World Cup. “My own ambitions are beyond just qualifying – that’s not satisfying enough. I want us to go to a World Cup and make an impact,” he says. “I’ve stated my ambition is to win a World Cup. It’s a challenge but when you say that is your goal I think you are more likely to be appreciated for your efforts.” Ange is also determined to raise the profile of soccer in a country steeped in Australian football, cricket and rugby. “Without sounding arrogant, we are good at the game, we’ve matured as a nation, we are great at every other sport and there is no reason why we can’t be great at this one. We just need to state that ambition and not hide in the shadows,” he says. “To say you love this game in this country is not always the easiest thing to do and maybe that’s contributed to the steeliness in my character. You’re almost preparing yourself for a fight,” he says laughing. But he says a bottleneck in the game means Australia is losing the potential talent fostered at grassroots clubs across the country. “We’re giving kids the opportunity

PICTURE \ MATTHEW FURNEAUX

you see progress in certain areas and understand you’ve put the pillars in place to get there and that gives you self-belief. The players and staff know I really believe in the way I coach and lead teams. They understand I am not going to walk away and that gives them the courage to go down that road with me.” The strategic thinking that is an essential part of the game has fascinated Ange since he was a young kid waiting outside the local newsagency for the latest delivery of British soccer magazines such as Shoot. He’d spend months poring over the pages and he still has those yellowing magazines at home. From the start, he has been an unflinching coach ready to speak his mind. He describes himself as someone who likes to shake things up, rather than coach with an eye on holding on to his job. “It’s liberating when you can do your job without worrying if it will end tomorrow. I’ve never worried about contracts or if my job was in jeopardy,” he says. “Probably the one time in my career where I veered away from that is the only time I’ve left feeling unsatisfied and unsuccessful.” Ange is referring to his departure from coaching the national youth team in 2007. He won the role in 2000 after moving from his position as South Melbourne coach. But he was replaced after Australia failed to qualify for the 2007 FIFA U-20 World Cup. It still irks him. “I started doing what I thought people wanted me to do and trying to fit in with the overall agenda. That doesn’t mean I would have been any more successful but I probably wouldn’t have left with the regrets I did,” he says ruefully. Ange then worked with Fox Sports as a commentator and with Football Federation Victoria before spending most of 2008 in Greece coaching then-third division club Panachaiki. The following year he returned to Australia to coach Brisbane Roar, where he became the first coach to win back-to-back A-League championships. His stint included a 36-match unbeaten run, which remains a record across all codes of football in Australia. In April 2012, he returned home to Melbourne to coach Melbourne Victory.

A Head Of The Game

A

nge Postecoglou owes a lot to the world game. It brought him the tight-knit circle of friends he’s had since he coached and captained the year 7 soccer team at Prahran High School. Soccer gave him the confidence to resign from a humdrum nine-to-five banking job, and it’s also how he met his wife, Georgia, in 2000. He was coaching South Melbourne and Georgia was the club’s newly appointed marketing manager. But the game’s influence on Ange’s life and identity doesn’t end there. Since he migrated to Melbourne from Athens as a five year old, soccer has been a glue that has held him close to his parents, particularly his father. Soccer clubs and match days were social hubs for migrants craving a taste of the homeland they’d left behind. It was no different for Ange’s father, Jim. After a hard week working as a carpenter and cabinetmaker, Jim went to South Melbourne Hellas, where he met new friends and could pretend, for a moment, he was back in Greece. Sharing those moments, Ange revelled in his father’s company. “Dad introduced me to soccer and I wanted to be close to him. It was the only time I saw him relax,” Ange says. “I started to play footy and got into cricket, but my father wanted to make sure his son didn’t lose the values of the past. We were in an unknown country and he didn’t want me to go into an unknown sport that he didn’t understand. So I became obsessed with football because it gave me a connection to my father.” That connection is still a major driver for Ange as he has progressed from high school coach to playing senior soccer and then to coaching at national and international level. “We always talk about migrants coming here for a better life but I’m sure my parents did not have a better life. Things would have been hard for them in Greece but at least they would have been surrounded by family and friends. They came here to give my sister and me the opportunity of a better life,” he says. “That’s a torch I still carry. I want to make sure I achieve what mum and dad fought for, so hopefully they get some satisfaction out of that. Dad is old school. He didn’t hug me and tell me he loved me every night and he’s still a hard taskmaster today.” Ange laughs when he recalls returning home to Melbourne from Sydney after leading the Socceroos to victory in the 2015 Asian Cup. The final was a hard-fought contest between South Korea and Australia with the home side winning its first Asian Cup in extra time. “I came home and showed dad the medal and cup and he said, ‘Well done son – but if you’d made a substitution you would have done it in full time’. It annoys the sh-t out of me,” Ange says. “Mind you, mum says when I’m not around he watches tapes of my games and says how proud he is, but I’ve always felt I was never good enough. That drives me – to have dad one day say, ‘You’ve done OK’. But I almost think I don’t want him to say it so I can maintain that drive to prove myself to him.” Ange’s playing career ran to 193 senior games for South Melbourne between 1984 and 1993. But it is as a coach that he is most comfortable and confident. “Playing was always a bit of a struggle. I was aware of my limitations and that allows fear to creep in on the field. I was captain at quite a young age, and I was confident talking about the game, but I had a nervousness about my ability. I never really believed I was a top-class player,” he says frankly. “I’ve never had that lack of confidence as a coach – it’s not arrogance but just a natural belief in what I do, plus


to play and we’re selling dreams about becoming a professional footballer but we only have 10 professional teams in our competition. If you grow up in Europe or South America, there are multiple avenues to get to the top. Here those avenues are very narrow and some great kids are walking away from the sport.”

A

nge’s commitment to the game that helped him ease into life beyond Athens is clear and he’s made plenty of sacrifices. Time away from Georgia and his three sons, James, 17, Max, two, and seven-month-old Alexi, are the biggest personal wrench. “My wife and I love going to the movies for our switch-off time and we love travelling back to Greece when we can. I also enjoy watching a game without being a coach. I can watch Liverpool play a game on TV and get as frustrated as any other supporter. “I missed a huge chunk of James’ growing up and I’m missing chunks of the two young ones growing up – I think that’s harder for me than for the boys. My father was working all the time and there weren’t many hugs and I overcompensate that with my kids. I worry that I am bringing them up too soft,” he says with a smile. James has taken up the game but Ange is careful to keep a low profile when his son plays – he usually hides in a remote corner of the field. “I’ve taken James into the dressing rooms at games when I am working and he understands what I do. He sees it’s a great job, but he sees the pressures.” Ange copes with those pressures and making the hard decisions that come with the national head coach role by keeping players at a respectful distance. While he’s empathetic, he maintains a professional remoteness. “People know that’s my personality so at any time if I say, ‘Let’s go for a coffee’ to a player or staff member they say ‘What’s going on, Ange?’. But I make tough decisions on a daily basis, so I need that barrier,” he says. That barrier means he’s not the greatest travel companion. He’s hears the stories of his players and staff trying to switch boarding passes when they realise they’ve drawn the seat next to the head coach. “Nobody wants to sit next to me because I don’t speak. A couple of times I’ve chuckled when young players are oblivious to how I am and start chatting to me and I shut that down pretty quickly. Eventually they realise it’s not personal. But I’m not that serious at home. I’m softer when I’m “I’ve always felt relaxed, like my father. I wasn’t good When he was with his friends and family, he enough. That was the life of the party, and that’s me. drives me – I enjoy being around to have Dad say, people who are close to me, telling the stories and ‘You’ve done OK’. cracking the jokes. If the players saw me then, they’d do a double take.” The focus now is on Russia and the 2018 World Cup, but what does the game hold for Ange beyond that? He’s never been one to plan too far ahead but says his next role will be overseas. “I want to coach abroad as an Australian. If I can go to Europe and have some success then people will say, ‘Well, hold on, maybe the Aussies do know something about the game’. That’s the next step for me.” ● smarinos@theweeklyreview.com.au

Changing the Game by Ange Postecoglou is out now, Michael Joseph, $35. DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 7


WATCH THIS FACE

MEET

DY L A N YO U N G \ R AC I N G C A R DR I V E R

Look out for …

(SCOTT MCNAUGHTON)

Growing up next door to the Albert Park grand prix circuit gave Dylan Young quite some drive. Now racing against the likes of Michael Schumacher’s son Mick in formula three, the 27-year-old from Hawthorn is revved to move up the grid.

Challenge Formula 2000 Championship, it made people take notice. After constantly battling budget issues that have never been a problem for the European frontrunners, Dylan showed he could mix it with the world’s best given proper support. He has funded his ambitions by selling shares in his future, gathering a team of investors who own a share of his earnings for the duration of his career.

What’s the buzz? Dylan is one of only a handful of Australian racing car drivers competing internationally on Where to now? the established pathway to formula one. Dylan has had offers from several teams Earlier this year he signed with Stride to compete in the 2017 GP3 Series – the he was Sports Management as the agency’s only springboard for many F1 drivers. instantly motor sport talent in a field of cricketing, football, netball and Olympic stars. He The best part of success? hooked has been described as “going places” by Knowing how hard I’ve had to slog it out leading sports commentators. behind the scenes just so I can fire up the engine. It’s really a team effort though. In the beginning … Dylan was six when he perched on dad Greg’s If I could do it all again … shoulders to watch his first grand prix. The noise I would have developed an investment structure gave him an earache, but he was instantly hooked sooner for individuals to buy into my future on racing, starting out with go karts, then moving earnings. It can accelerate the journey to F1. ● SARAH HARRIS into open wheel racing in 2010. sharris@theweeklyreview.com.au The big break … » dylanyoungracing.com When he finished seventh in the 2013-14 MRF

Dylan on the international motor sport scene in round two of the formula three MRF Challenge at the Dubai International circuit on December 8.

HISTORIC AUCTION

SANDRINGHAM LINE RAIL MAINTENANCE WORKS

CONTENTS OF ONE OF VICTORIA’S MOST IMPRESSIVE HERITAGE LISTED PROPERTIES

“Stokeaveley” (Circa 1889)

Sunday 4 – Wednesday 7 December from 8.15pm each night Due to rail infrastructure and project works, buses will replace trains between South Yarra and Sandringham stations. Please note that this may increase your journey by up to 25 minutes. Please download the metroNotify app for live updates and visit metrotrains.com.au for weekly updates.

109 -111 Park Road, Cheltenham, VIC 3192 AUCTION: Sunday 4th December 11.00am VIEW: Fri 2nd December & Sat 3rd December 10:00am - 6.00pm

Phillip Caldwell Auctioneers

Enquiries : 0411 529 414 or 9543 2767

See online : www.fineauctions.biz 13151_10047172-02-a30NOV©MMP

8 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016


FROM THE ASHES

PETER WILMOTH takes a sneak peek at the new incarnation of one of Melbourne’s favourite restaurants

S

t Kilda has its beloved and iconic restaurant back. Stokehouse 2.0 – or the Stokehouse Precinct, as owner Frank Van Haandel is calling it – is set to fully open next week and Frank says he is “jumping out of my skin”. “Bring back the good times,” he says, as builders around him saw, grind and put the finishing touches on this amazing new structure. “We’ve been waiting for this for three years.” In January 2014, a fire destroyed the original Stokehouse restaurant, a historic timber structure that, faced with engulfing flames, never stood a chance. “I got a phone about 11 o’clock that Friday night and I could hear the tremor in our manager’s voice when he told me, ‘Frank, there’s a fire at the Stokehouse’,” he recalls. “The old Stokehouse was predominantly built out of 80-100-year-old timbers and I knew a substantial fire would be very hard to stop.” Faced with rebuilding, Frank at no stage considered a re-make of what had been lost. Instead he asked for submissions from six architects known for their coastal-friendly buildings, choosing Robert Simeoni Architects’ design. “I wasn’t keen to do a replica,” Frank says. “I have to say my ego might have played a part in wanting to do something new because I have four sons. I’d like the Van Haandel name to continue.” After two years of planning and approval, building began a year ago and will finish just in time for the main restaurant’s opening on December 9. Within 24 hours of the reservation line opening last week, the restaurant had been booked out until April. Earlier this month, Frank gave us a tour of the almost finished building: four different identities within one five-green-star-graded structure, built at a cost of $13.5 million.

“My ego might have played a part in wanting to do something new” – Frank Van Haandel

Let the good times roll: Robert Simeoni’s design (main). Above: Frank Van Haandel (centre) with son Hugh (left) and new head chef Ollie Hansford outside the new restaurant. (MICHAEL RAYNER)

It’s a dramatic entrance. From a circular driveway, guests walk under a “sand-dune” to enter the building. There’s the option of taking an elevator to the Stokehouse Restaurant, the classic diner that will focus on seafood. Echoes of the old Stokehouse remain: the famous balcony overlooking the bay is now an “internal”, weatherproof terrace: a window can be opened or closed within two minutes to create an outdoor space. For hip younger diners there’s the ground-level Pontoon, which Frank calls “a fast, young, vibrant space”. It has craft beers on tap and shared food prepared on a four-metre grill, custom-designed in the US. Also on the ground floor, Paper Fish is an affordable and healthier version of a takeaway

fish and chip shop, while The Stoke Bar incorporates a station with freshly shucked oysters and sliced sashimi-grade fish. “It has something for everyone’s budget, backpackers right up to corporate diners,” Frank says. The new building’s credentials for sustainability are impeccable. Geothermal technology includes 3.5 kilometres of copper piping installed 80 metres below the building. A 300,000-litre rainwater-harvesting tank under the driveway services all water needs. The timber on the outside of the building will not require painting for 40 years, and no petroleum-based paints, glues or plastic have been used. Most of the timbers for the entry, the stairs, walls and floor were recovered from

Gippsland, where the State Government was cutting firebreaks. “I nearly teared up when I saw a poster one day from the geothermal company that said, ‘Stokehouse, powered by the Earth’,” Frank says. “There are three kitchens and one bar with high water and energy usage. To achieve five-star design is quite extraordinary.” Reaction to the new building has been overwhelmingly positive. Frank says there’s been an avalanche of people who love it. “A couple of knockers have said the footprint has grown. It’s because the old weatherboard beach shack never had a lift or disabled toilets or staff facilities with showers.” The Stokehouse’s dramatic renaissance has also provided the opportunity for a new guard to take the reins. Frank’s son Hugh, 28, is the restaurant’s manager. Head chef Ollie Hansford, previously with the Stokehouse in Queensland and in the city, is also 28. Frank knows it’s a young person’s game. “Restaurants, like the fashion industry, change fairly rapidly so to keep abreast of it you need youth and a changing of the guard.” Given its coveted beachside site and the affection with which the Stokehouse is held by so many, there was naturally pressure to achieve a brilliant solution. “Everyone feels a sense of ownership with the Stokehouse,” Frank says. “Everyone had stories. I believe what’s been achieved – with the restaurant appearing to float above the sand dune – in my opinion, is on a global level.” Frank is excited about the new era. “We’re not going to be talking about the past ever again, we’re just going to be talking about the future,” he says. “We’re bringing back the good times.” ● pwilmoth@theweeklyreview.com.au » stokehouse.com.au/melbourne DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 9


THE VINE

Ask the wine guy there rules about what grapes Q Are can be blended? There are no rules when it comes to A blending wines in Australia – unlike in France, where strict laws govern what

can go into regional wines. Australian winemakers are making the most of this freedom, producing amazing wines from grape combinations that might be considered, well, unusual. A blend of gewurtztraminer, riesling, sauvignon blanc and chardonnay? Or orange bitters blended in a sparkling – from Chandon, no less? Boundaries are being pushed and the results are tremendous. � GOT A QUESTION EMAIL \

bthomas@theweeklyreview.com.au

W H AT T O D R I N K W I T H B E N T H O M A S

Rob Dolan four + one 2014 (Yarra Valley) $27.50; 13%

Blue Pyrenees Estate 2013 (Pyrenees) $42; 14.5%

Chandon S NV (Victoria) $29; 12.8%

A blend of five grapes – grenache, sangiovese, tempranillo, barbera and shiraz – that smells invitingly of cherries, spice and earth. It’s seamless and savoury, with flavour hitting every corner of the mouth. With terrific structure and balance, as you’d expect with a blend, it’s bright, juicy and will take a light chill on a warm day. �

A 73/19/4/4 blend of cab sav, merlot, malbec and shiraz, this is a super wine that got better the longer the bottle was open. There’s a minty, cedar character plus rich blue and black fruits on the nose. It’s smooth and rich in the mouth, with blackberry, spice and earth, balance and glossy, dense tannins. Delicious now, but wait a few years if you can. �

The crew at Chandon in the Yarra Valley made their own orange-based bitters and added a dash to the sparkling. This is the result. It’s designed to be drunk over ice and there’s a heady set of aromas, including orange marmalade. It’s creamy smooth, slightly sweet without ice and full of complex citrus and stonefruit flavours. It’s the perfect drink for a hot night. �

Enjoy with \ Pinchitos morunos

Enjoy with \ Marinated butterflied lamb

AVAILABLE

Gewurtztraminer, viognier, sauvignon blanc and chardonnay are fermented separately on their skins before being blended and sent to oak barrels to mingle. It’s a floral, perfumed beast, with heady citrus, apricot and spice aromas. The skin contact has given it a wonderful slippery texture. � Enjoy with \ Chicken yakitori

92

94

93

92

100

100

100

â—? 100-95 OUTSTANDING

SHELTA LYNDEN 2.8M SQUARE CANTILEVER UMBRELLA

SHELTA CENTREPOST AND CANTILEVER UMBRELLAS

Airlie Bank Blanc III 2016 (Yarra Valley) $22; 12%

100

THE SCORE

sČŠ/LEFINČŠ#ANOPYČŠWITHČŠ50&ČŠ ČŠČŠČŠČŠ3HADEČŠ&ACTOR sČŠ4ILTČŠ6ARIABLEČŠTOČŠÂş sČŠșȊ2OTATEČŠWITHČŠ&OOTČŠ,OCK

WIDE RANGE OF

Enjoy with \ Prawn cocktail

BARGAIN BUY

â—? 94-92 MUST BUY â—? 91-90 MUST TRY R RY

WE S AY

“Embrace these exciting, unusual blends.�

699

$

!VAILABLEČŠ#OLOURS

"ASESČŠAREČŠOPTIONALČŠANDČŠ AREČŠSOLDČŠSEPARATELY

SHELTA FAIRLIGHT 2.7M OCTAGONAL UMBRELLA sČŠ/LEFINČŠ#ANOPYČŠWITHČŠ50&ČŠ ČŠ3HADEČŠ&ACTOR sČŠ#OLLARČŠTILTČŠÂŽ sČŠ3ILVERČŠANODISEDČŠALUMINIUMČŠFRAME

299

$

!VAILABLEČŠ#OLOURS

SHELTA REGIS CANTILEVER UMBRELLA MČŠ/CTAGONALČŠORČŠMČŠ3QUARE !VAILABLEČŠ#OLOURS

MČŠSIZEČŠALSOČŠAVAILABLEČŠFORČŠ $349

1095

$

02%-)5-ČŠ/54$//2ČŠ&52.)452%ČŠ3%44).'3ČŠ!,3/ČŠ!6!),!",% WEBER DEMONSTRATORS

In-Store Saturday 11am-3pm 10 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016

BBQ’S | FURNITURE | UMBRELLAS | HEATING | FRIDGES

635 Bridge Road, Richmond Ph: 9429 6888 www.heatgrill.com.au


THE FEED E AT

W I T H A L I C E Z A S L AV S K Y WWW.THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/EAT EA EAT

L E T ’ S D O B R E A K FA S T Mammoth ● 736 Malvern Road, Armadale ● 9824 5239 THE VIBE \ Sleek and clean with a nod to a ’50s milkbar, this corner cafe is the perfect combo of retro and new. THE DECOR \ A low counter extends to a bench surrounded by stools covered in navy leather, contrasting nicely with white-painted brick walls. Blond timber features in the furnishings.

THIS WEEK I’M … ADDING \ sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds to every salad and stir-fry at the moment. I love the rich nuttiness that it adds to the equation, giving complexity and roundness to everything ●

THE FOOD \ Fresh and creative breakfast dishes, including a panna cotta made with Greek yoghurt and honey that’s accompanied by seasonal fruits and granola clusters. Or try the corn and zucchini fritters with avocado and salted ricotta.

SASHIMI

I

THE VERDICT

● 281 Glen Huntly Road, Elsternwick ● 9523 9900 ● bistrogoemon.com.au

WE LOVE …

WATCHING CHING \ if you are a fan of Japanese food and culture, you must check out Jiro Dreams of Sushi (below) on Netflix. It’s a marvellous exploration of one man’s endless pursuit for excellence and another’s endless wait to get off rice. ● FROZEN UMESHU

I’m always on a need to know basis. Get in touch: @aliceinframes #TWREat

QUIRKY SOUNDTRACK

BONELLO LOVES …

BRUNCH \ Ascot Food Store in Ascot Vale. It’s my local and the menu is great. Eggs benedict with the pork belly is a winner. If you feel like something sweet, they do great doughnuts, too.

ABOUT CHRIS TO SEE AND BE SEEN \ Oter is the perfect place for a great dinner or even a quick business lunch – French food as we don’t know it. Make sure you keep some room for dessert; those beautiful daily baked tarts are not to be missed.

A FANCY DINNER \ Amaru in Armadale. I love Clinton [McIver’s] food. It’s the perfect example of contemporary Australian cuisine. It’s fine dining but with a casual approach and not intimidating.

A DATE \ Bistro Vue The setting and the food is always consistent. David Wilson [restaurant manager] makes you feel special.

A QUIET DINNER \ La Tortilleria in Flemington. It’s close to my home and the outside tables are perfect on a nice Melbourne day. It’s authentic, tasty Mexican food and they always have great Mexican cocktails to choose from.

A BIG GROUP \ Mister Jennings The mezzanine level upstairs is perfect for a big group. The atmosphere of a private dining room makes any occasion feel special. You’re sure to be blown away by Ryan [Flaherty’s] food creation.

(F IRFAX MEDIA VIA GETTY IMAGES) (FA

Chef’s Secrets C H R I S

(JEMIMAH CLEGG)

Fresh and fun – the perfect way to start the day. ● JEMIMAH CLEGG

magine a warm, savoury custard, floating beneath a layer of thick, mushroomy broth – wobbly, but still firm enough to put a spoon through so you can watch it yield satisfyingly to your whim, revealing unexpected seafood delights floating beneath. Chawanmushi feels like an entirely appropriate dish to begin with at this unassuming Japanese bistro. Especially when theirs is some of the best I’ve had – not only in depth of flavour and texture, but also in its generous portion size, packed with scallop, prawn and shiitake. I can’t decide whether this or the agedashi tofu – deep fried silken tofu served in a silky broth with crab – is my favourite, so I order both. Also on your list should be the tororo-isobeage, which might read like an easy way of using up all your vowels in Scrabble, but is actually a kooky yam-filled nori-wrapped dumpling – kinda crunchy and briny, but also slightly sweet. Sashimi fans will love the slick knife-work and artful array of fresh fish, including some chubby scallops that almost started a chopstick war. Don’t be surprised by the smaller portions – just order more than you’d think. Bring family, bring friends, bring your sumo pants. ● aliceinframes@theweeklyreview.com.au

COOKING \ prawns are great right now, especially those coming out of Skull Island in the Northern T Territory. For perfectly poached prawns at home, simply cover with boiling water and leave to cool. ● READING \ I’ve loved getting to know Rick Stein better while in Margaret River this month and his book Under a Mackerel Sky (Penguin Books) is back in my handbag – so insightful and honest, just like the man himself. ●

BISTRO GOEMON \ ELSTERNWICK

THE DRINK \ Hot drinks include a range of lattes from matcha to golden, as well as a salted caramel hot chocolate. You can also get your latte iced or a cold brew coffee.

PANNA COTTA

(CARMEN ZAMMIT)

THE CROWD \ Young families and retirees enjoy some breakfast while local professionals grab a coffee and a treat, either to go or to stay.

Chef at MPD Steak Kitchen, fan of gardening and aromatherapy.

STILL HUNGRY ? Check out Chris’ Duck Egg + Steak Tatar recipe online. T DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY LLY REVIEW 11


this week make sure you T H E B E S T I N E N T E R TA I N M E N T W I T H M Y K E B A R T L E T T

invited to the theatre before, and they came, all over Australia.” And not just all over Australia. The show was a huge hit at this year’s Edinburgh Fringe Festival and at fringe fests in Dublin and Adelaide. “We have so much beautiful talent that is just not getting an opportunity to be seen,” Kim says. “We’ve worked with so many Honeys around Australia, from amazing drag queens to B-girls to amazing circus performers. We decided to write ourselves and these people onto the stage.” These so-called Honeys include beatboxers, storytellers, singers, circus performers and dancers from Tongan, Indonesian, Samoan, Maori, South African and Kamilaroi backgrounds. Together they’ve created a genre-bending production that Kim describes as a cross between a night at the theatre and a Beyonce concert. “The arts have the capacity to change culture and we’re in a culture that needs changing,” Kim says. “Laughter is the best way of breaking preconceptions. We laugh a lot and the audience gets to laugh a lot.” ● mbartlett@theweeklyreview.com.au

HOT BROWN HONEY

wat c h \ hot brown honey

(DYLAN EVANS)

F

ighting the good fight was never this sweet. Or this much fun. The cheekily named Hot Brown Honey comes storming in from the fringes this week and Australian theatre might never look the same again. The group’s act is a furious mix of everything from cabaret to hip hop, designed to show Australian audiences exactly what we’ve been missing. MC Kim “Busty Beatz” Bowers says their success has proved there’s an appetite for adventurous and diverse theatre. “There was a statistical thing done in Australia that showed if you put a woman of colour on a poster, people won’t go to your show,” Kim says. “We just went, this is how we look, this our show, here we are. We found our people, people who had maybe never been

» December 6-11 Arts Centre Melbourne, $50-$55 hotbrownhoney.com

GOING OUT

MOVIES \ QV OUTDOOR CINEMA QV Melbourne’s outdoor cinema returns with another program full of the best Melbourne has to offer, including live entertainment, free cocktails, special food, charity screenings and a film festival. Melbourne’s only silent cinema is located on the open-air Astroturf square in the heart of the precinct. One of the city’s most affordable outdoor cinemas, QV Outdoor Cinema’s $12 ticket includes deckchair seating and high-quality headphones for every audience member. ■ Thursday to Sunday nights from November 30. Level 2, QV Square, QV Melbourne, Lonsdale and Swanston streets, Melbourne. Cost: $12. qvcinema.com.au

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

FED SQUARE LIVE As part of Fed Square Live, singer/songwriter Maya and five-piece trip-hop/electronica outfit Kalacoma will perform a free show. It’s just one highlight of a free, open-air concert series by some of Australia’s most interesting and exciting independent and emerging acts on fortnightly at Fed Square on Thursdays until mid-February. ■ December 1, 5.30-7.30pm. The Square at Federation Square, corner of Swanston and Flinders streets, Melbourne. Entry is free. fedsquare.com/live PERFORMANCE ACROSS THE WATER Oral History Victoria brings a special collaboration between cellist Stephanie Arnold and composer Dr Robert Davidson to Brunswick. Using interviews between Stephanie and Melbourne-based asylum seekers, the performance recounts the interviewees’ journeys to Australia. Following the premiere performance of

this important and moving composition, Stephanie will be joined by author and Open City Stories project co-ordinator Rajith Savanadasa for an open forum discussion of the nature of the interview as well as the role of music, literature and oral history. ■ December 9, 6.30-9pm. The Good Room, 390a Lygon L Street, Brunswick East. Cost: $10.50, general; $8, members and concession. @thegoodroombrunswickeast MARKET THE REBETIKO ENSEMBLE AT THE COBURG NIGHT MARKET With a tantalising selection of street food, work by some of the city’s finest artisans and performances by local music acts, you’d be mad to miss the Coburg Night Market this summer. In early December take a trip to El Salvador, with Mariachi Los Romanticos, followed by a visit to Greece with the folks from Rebetiko Ensemble. ■ December 2, from 5.45pm. Bridges Reserve, Coburg. Entry is free. coburgnightmarket.com.au

(VIRGINIA MILLEN)

MUSIC

DEBATE ON AIR: TRIPLE R DEBATE Is anything authentic anymore? Is authenticity lost as time passes? These questions and more will be thrashed out by Triple R presenters at the Counterfeit Culture debate. The night event will be held at the State Library of Victoria. Tony Biggs (On The Blower), Geraldine Hickey

(Breakfasters) and Pauly P (Livewire) will argue that there’s nothing new under the sun, while Jeff Sparrow (Breakfasters), Elizabeth McCarthy (Multi-Storied 3RRR), Casey Bennetto (Superfluity) will debate for the negative. ■ December 8, 7-8pm. The State Library of Victoria, 328 Swanston Street, Melbourne. Cost: free (RSVP to attend). rrr.org.au ● COMPILED BY VIRGINIA MILLEN

WANT YOUR EVENT LISTED? To be considered for a listing email \ goingoutCITY@theweeklyreview.com.au 12 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016


HOT TIX QU EEN OF KATW E

SUGAR R MOUNTAIN JAN 21 \ VCA A \ $109

WWW.MOSHTIX.COM.AU

two decades). Actually, this golden anniversary show features only two of the original rock apes – Micky Dolenz and Peter Tork. The celebratory, fan-pleasing affair features clips from their cultish TV series and performances of all their best-known hits. ■ Palais Theatre, December 7, $89.90-$249.90, monkees.com

DANCE, DANCE! THE WIGGLES BIG SHOW! KIDS Perennial kids’ favourites (and purveyors of near-fatal earworms for adults), The Wiggles are marking 25 years in the business with a national stadium tour. Even a ONLINE \ Watch the trailer change of cast hasn’t dented their appeal for young ’uns. If anything, the addition THE MONKEES of Emma Wiggle has won That other the group an army of new GIG fab four fans (and added a certain are still soap opera frisson, via monkeying her recent wedding to around. Even a daydream her purple peer). They’re believer wouldn’t have performing three shows this THE MONKEES expected, some 50 years on, Saturday, with a little help to see the Monkees embark on from their friends. ■ Rod Laver Arena, December 3, an Australian tour with a brand new $35.55, thewiggles.com.au album under their belt (their first for

STAYING IN

Reg Mombassa has left an indelible mark on Australian pop culture. Leaving aside his countless chart hits with band Mental As Anything, his design work for Mambo still characterises ’80s Australian pop art – coming second only to Ken Done. And let’s face it, Reg’s stuff looks better on a T-shirt. This enchanting collection of his landscapes is packed with art displaying a uniquely Aussie blend of irreverence, warm-heartedness, surrealism and earthy simplicity. Your coffee table will thank you. ●

HEAR

WATCH

ONLINE \ Hear Signals

The Hollow Crown \ SBS December 4 & 7, 8.30pm. sbs.com.au

This star-studded sequence of Shakespearean plays looks back to when being monarch was a far bloodier affair than it is these days. The cast list is a veritable Who’s Who of British acting aristocracy. The monarchical Richards and Henrys are played by Tom Hiddleston, Ben Whishaw, Benedict Cumberbatch and Jeremy Irons. This is stunning, classy telly. I’ll take Plantagenets and Lancasters over Windsors any day. ● ONLINE \ Watch the trailer

Nicole Millar \ Communication EP nicolemillar.com.au

Sydney’s Nicole Millar is best known for singing on other people’s songs. Most famously, she co-wrote Peking Duk’s High, which came close to topping triple j’s Hottest 100 last year. Her new EP is driven by a similar, summery fusion of pop and electronica. Single Signals is a jittery kind of anthem, as spooky as it is seductive. ●

PHILIPPE PARRENO: THENABOUTS For almost 30 years, French artist and filmmaker Philippe Parreno has toyed with the line between art that moves and art that doesn’t. His first Australian solo exhibition arrives at ACMI following a triumphant installation at London’s prestigious Tate Gallery. Thenabouts is a retrospective of his filmic works. As with many of his previous exhibitions, it changes with every visit. A gallery technician controls the display of images and sounds to create an immersive, interactive experience. ■ ACMI, Opens December 6, Free, acmi.net.au EXHIBIT

WIN A BLU-RAY The BFG is now available on Blu-Ray, DVD and Digital. Thanks to Disney Home Entertainment, we have 10 Blu-Rays to be won. Leave a comment identifying the book reviewed in this week’s mag. Closes midnight Sunday, November 20.

THE HOLLOW CROWN \ BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH

The Landscapes of Reg Mombassa » $75 (Hardie Grant) hardiegrant.com.au

BURNING DOORS What happens when making art makes you an enemy of the state? Belarus Free Theatre is the only theatre company in Europe to have been outlawed by its government. Not that the company has let that stop it standing up for human rights across the globe. For this fierce work of performance art, it teams up with the equally controversial Maria Alyokhina (of Pussy Riot fame) to share real life stories of artists who refuse to be silenced. ■ Arts Centre, November 29-December 3, $30-$69, artscentremelbourne.com.au THEATRE

(SUPPLIED)

READ

WIN!

SEE

(SUPPLIED)

P L AY

(SUPPLIED SUPPLIED))

QUEEN OF KATWE We all love an underdog. This FILM feel-good flick from Disney follows the unlikely (if true) rise of chess champion Phiona Mutesi, played by newcomer Madina Nalwanga. Phiona hails from the poverty-stricken slum of Katwe in Uganda, where there are few options for self-improvement, let alone escape. Missionary Robert (David Oyelowo) invites her to join his chess club, where she soon proves to be a prodigious player. The world championships beckon. ■ Opens December 1, rated PG, 124 minutes, queenofkatwe.com

The BFG DVD, Blu-Ray and Digital, movies.disney.com.au/the-bfg

Steven Spielberg’s adaptation of Roald Dahl’s classic treads softly on the memories of generations. While it’s a bit too sentimental and reverent to capture Dahl’s wickedness, powerful performances from the two leads bring it to life. Mark Rylance (Wolf Hall, Bridge of Spies Spies) oozes charm, while newcomer Ruby Barnhill is brainy and bold as orphan Sophie. ● MB THE BFG

ONLINE \ Watch the trailer DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 13


GIVE IT A GO VIRGINIA MILLEN TRIES STRESS-FREE SHOPPING

FA I R F I E L D V I L L A G E ’ S C O N C I E R G E S E R V I C E

The promise The dreaded Christmas shopping is a breeze in Fairfield Village, with two concierges on hand to help. They’ll be there every second Saturday until Christmas. The reality You know what’s it like. Traipsing around on a hot day (or during a downpour; it is Melbourne, after all), feet hurting, arms laden with bags, in a mad panic to complete the Christmas shopping before it’s too late. But in Fairfield Village it’s a different story, with concierges Alyssa and Brittany on hand every second Saturday between 10am and 2pm. They’ll direct you to the shops selling exactly what you’re looking for, carry your shopping to your car or to the station, and give you the lowdown on where you stop off for a latte (Alyssa’s hot tip is Blooming Baristas). With a base near Fairfield station and dressed in uniforms so they’re easy to spot, the two concierges are armed with loads of local information and umbrellas, too. If you get stuck at a shop with too much to carry,

most of the retailers on Station Street have the pair’s phone numbers and can call them to come and help you. The pay-off Low-stress shopping and someone to help me lug my shopping to the car. What more could you ask for? The pain factor Totally taken away, thanks to Alyssa and Brittany. Who should try it This is perfect for anyone with special needs, the elderly, pregnant women, harried mums, people unfamiliar with the shops on Station Street, Fairfield, or anyone who needs a bit of support during the silly season.

WOULD I DO IT AGAIN

With pleasure, but my Christmas shopping’s all done. Like Fairfield Village’s Facebook page for concierge updates. ●

(SUPPLIED)

We try

CONCIERGE BRITTANY HELPS A CUSTOMER

CHRISTMAS FESTIVAL IN THE CITY

CARING FOR PETS DURING FIREWORKS AND STORMS

Take a free photo with Santa, explore the Christmas forest and join in story time in Christmas Square. Make sure you pick up your free copy of the Christmas Festival Gift and Event Guide and see this year’s projections at Melbourne Town Hall and Federation Square.

Remember that cats and dogs are often frightened by the loud noises from fireworks and thunderstorms. Be proactive by making sure they’re registered and micro-chipped, and bring them inside and create a calm environment.

melbourne.vic.gov.au/christmas Melbourne City Council (from left): Cr Jackie Watts, Cr Cathy Oke, Deputy Lord Mayor Arron Wood, Lord Mayor Robert Doyle, Cr Nicholas Reece (at rear), Cr Tessa Sullivan, Cr Rohan Leppert (at rear), Cr Kevin Louey, Cr Philip Le Liu, Cr Michael Caiafa.

melbourne.vic.gov.au/pets

Connect with us /cityofmelbourne

@cityofmelbourne

@cityofmelbourne

Sign up to our Melbourne Magazine at magazine.melbourne.vic.gov.au

FACTORY DIRECT MATTRESS CLEARANCE SALE

50%-70% OFF RRP STOREWIDE AUSTRALIAN MADE

Over stocked mattresses, floor models, factory prototyes, all at clearance prices Queen inner spring mattress $179! Queen size mattress with 2 inch pillowtop only $379

While Stocks Last

More clearance mattresses in store OPEN 7 DAYS

Factory 8, 111 Lewis Road, Wantirna South 9801 0688 www.mcbedding.com.au

*Prices are for Mattress Only

12283_10039961-01-a15June©MMP

DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 15


T R AV E L

ROAD TRIP

I

t was a bit like the Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon movie The Trip: two old friends driving (in our case in a new Porsche 718 Boxster) from winery to restaurant, riffing about life, food and wine – three topics with a lot of range. My friend Matthew knows a lot about wine (he makes it) and food (he loves eating it), and life (he is generous sharing his thoughts on it). So that was handy. Oh, and there were impersonations, too (bad ones – don’t ask me to do Michael Caine) and phone calls home, just like the movie. To the journey … What a car I found myself in hitting the highway towards the peninsula’s fabled wineries. I was road-ready in seconds. I touched a button and the roof came down (it takes just a few moments). And with just a touch of the accelerator came the sound of the car’s throaty growl. Where have you been all my life? ● pwilmoth@theweeklyreview.com.au

IN THE BOXSTER SEAT

Peter Wilmoth visited the Mornington Peninsula as a guest of Visit Victoria. Porsche Boxster courtesy of Porsche Centre Brighton, part of PM Automotive Group.

Australian handcrafted fine jewellery 260 Collins Street St Collins Lane Centre (03) 9671 3285

cerrone.com.au

16 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016


Tour We headed to OCEAN EIGHT WINERY and, at its delightful cellar door, tasted their pinot noir, chardonnay and rose. Exceptional. We took home a bottle of the 2016 rose, which was perfect summer drinking. ● 271 Tucks Road, Shoreham ● oceaneight.com.au

Stay

Eat

PORT PHILLIP ESTATE offers six exquisitely appointed suites featuring black sofas and reindeer pelt sofa throws, artworks by Bill Henson and sumptuous bedrooms. There’s a private terrace looking out over the vineyard towards Westernport Bay, perfect for a glass of wine or coffee, or in our case a breakfast in the sunshine of toast from a fresh loaf, muesli with yoghurt and fruit, and several coffees from the DeLonghi machine. Perfect digs to de-brief on our wine tour. The Dining Room offers a delicious menu: think Queensland spanner crab with nero pasta, puffed rice and crustacean crumble and charred John Dory with confit lemon, octopus and macadamia. And what a view to enjoy it with – the vineyards rolling out in front of us and Westernport beyond. ●

The next day we headed the Boxster towards TEN MINUTES BY TRACTOR winery/restaurant, where we had lunch after an excellent at-table wine tasting from a highly knowledgeable sommelier. We settled in to taste the Estate Chardonnay 2014 and the McCutcheon Pinot Noir 2013. Outstanding. The winery restaurant’s casual country-house setting belies its serious ambition as a fine diner in the country (with an Age Good Food Guide hat). You will be guided to wines matching the food or mood. We tried the Tasmanian rabbit ballotine, the roasted breast of Great Ocean Road duck, and finished with slow-roasted blueberries and a blueberry mousse with lemon aspen ice cream and marscapone snow. Large wow factor. ●

We dropped in on the MAIN RIDGE DAIRY, a secluded haven producing handcrafted goat cheeses (delicious and we’re told excellent for cholesterol management). It’s a great place to bring youngsters to see the cute goats and gamboling kids (they are gamboling responsibly). ● 295 Main Creek Road ● mainridgedairy.com.au Over in Flinders (via Point Leo to check the surf), we visited GEORGIE BASS, a cafe and cooking school with good food and a great vibe. ● 30 Cook Street ● georgiebass.com.au Meanwhile, over in nearby Dromana, CRITTENDEN ESTATE is always a great option for wine tastings. ● 25 Harrison’s Road, Dromana ● crittendenwines.com.au

I N PA R T N E R S H I P WITH

THE WHEELS

PORSCHE 718 BOXSTER STARTING FROM \ $112,800 plus on-road costs. Our model $143,301 driveaway. COMBINED FUEL CONSUMPTION \ 7.4/100km, 6.91/100 km (with PDK). ENGINE \ 2.0 litre, four-cylinder, turbocharged horizontally opposed aluminium alloy engine. MAX POWER \ 220k (300 hp) @ 6.500 rpm. MAX TORQUE \ 380 Nm @ 1950-4500 rpm.

T H E W R A P \ It’s been a great escape, and the Boxster is a treat. The windy and undulating roads of the Westernport side of the peninsula are perfect to test it out and, in terms of control, manoeuvrability and sheer open-roof fun it felt magnificent. I’m only sad I have to give it back.

TRANSMISSION \ 6-speed manual or optional 7-speed double clutch gearbox.

End of Season Sale now on. Limited Time Only

Icon Grand XL Bio-Ethanol Firebox.

Escea DX1500DS Ducted Gas Heater

Regency GF900 Gas Log Fire

376 Swan Street, Richmond. 94262900.

Sale ends 3/12/16 unless extended.

Heat&Glo 550TRSI

Open Mon to Fri 9.00am-5.00pm Sat 9.00am-4.30pm DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 17


DRIVE

DOUBLE TORQUE ROD & SHERYL EASDOWN TEST DRIVE THE NISSAN GTR

H E S AY S

S H E S AY S

ruly exciting. Give the GTR some gas mid-corner T and the rear simply digs in for prodigious grip. The more pedal you give it, the harder it digs in and

t would be easy to be intimidated by a car like this, Idown yet driving it turns out to be easy, even just popping to the shops. The power is phenomenal and delivered with such disarming smoothness it’s easy to go into deep illegality without realising. Overtaking is ridiculously simple, you’re out and back in a flash even on half pedal. Don’t give this car full pedal until you’re completely prepared for what happens. The acceleration presses you back in your seat so hard you’ll hang onto the wheel more as an anchor than a control. Suburban housewife gets to 100km/h in 4.5 seconds, experiences jubilation. The GTR is beautifully finished and appointed, even the base (non-leather) edition, but forget the back seat, even for children. The gap between it and the front seat is something you’d post a letter through. The boot is good for a weekend away with a couple of soft bags and maybe a case of wine. I’m surprised I liked this car so much. Just note that you will need to keep your cute little hatchback for any task other than sheer indulgence. ●

BY THE NUMBERS IT COSTS \

$195,000

IT HAS \

A 419-kilowatt 3.8-litre twin turbocharged V6 with a six-speed twin clutch auto.

WE GOT \

16.8 litres per 10km in the city, 11.9 in the country. The official combined figure is 11.7

ROD’S VERDICT

C O N S E N S U S \ A STIRRING EXPERIENCE

Breathtaking, inspiring, exultant. ●

MORE \ nissan.com.au

(ISTOCK)

the faster it goes around. There has to be a limit to this and I’m truly relieved I didn’t reach it. Yet the ride quality, while certainly firm, isn’t sharp. Excellent seating helps to make the GTR surprisingly comfortable over long distances. There’s a cacophony of mechanical noises – tyres, transmission, driveline and glorious engine burble as the big V6 rockets to 7500rpm. For an enthusiast this is a symphony, pure and simple. The price is filling up with only the most expensive 98 RON fuel, and the GTR takes heaps of it. It is a true supercar and it need make no excuses to anything that costs under half a mil. As such, it’s bargain basement, but it still has a hard row to hoe. Lots of GTRs, only some of them genuine, have been privately imported and they’re a lead weight on resale value. And the price falls comfortably in Maserati territory. ●

S H E R Y L’ S V E R D I C T Joyously addictive. ●

ORDER NOW FOR GUARANTEED PRE CHRISTMAS DELIVERY

18 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016


A

swatch of fabric spied through the window of an antique shop in Rouen, France, on one of Catriona Rowntree’s many journeys was the starting point for her lovely conservatory. “There it was, my dream fabric, and I kind of matched everything from there,” says the much-loved presenter of the Nine Network’s Getaway program, plumping a cushion covered in a Pierre Frey Aloha print. The result is a room that is at once lush and light, and the undisputed centrepiece of the home Catriona shares with farmer husband James Pettit and their “two rambunctious sons” Andrew, 7, and five-year-old Charles. The 1870s bluestone house – the former manager’s cottage of a still thriving sheep and grain farm on the western plains outside Geelong – was somewhat dilapidated when the then-newlyweds took it on. “When you live in a property like this you are custodians, and we wanted to revel in the history of it, but apart from that we disagreed on just about everything,” Catriona laughs. “The result is a combination of my husband and me trying to come together with the pretty meeting the practical.” ● SARAH HARRIS sharris@theweeklyreview.com.au

» Join Catriona for the Getaway summer series at 7.30pm Thursdays on Channel Nine

MORE INSPIRATION? SEE MORE OF CATRIONA’S COLLECTIONS

(MICHAEL RAYNER)

» Catch Catriona’s weekly podcasts at journeystocome.com

GARDEN

▲ G R E E N S O FA

I kept killing everything and my mother-in-law gave me one of Paul Bangay’s books and said, ‘H He lives nearby, if he can grow it so can you’. Paul and I are best of friends now, so that also helps. This is my favourite rose, the Double Delight, which came from my friend Ruth’s garden. It has the most amazing perfume.

I was forever looking for fabric the colour of grass because, for me, living here is about appreciating the outdoors. Adelaide Bragg (of Adelaide Bragg & Associates) sourced this Pierre Frey Shanghai fabric (a blend of cotton, linen, viscose and silk). The colour is Prairie. It’s perfect and won’t show Vegemite.

PERSONAL SPACE AT H O M E W I T H C AT R I O N A R O W N T R E E

AR AUCANA CHOOKS

▼ V I N TA G E J A G U A R

▼LALIQUE GLASS

My father inherited this from his uncle, who drove it straight out of the showroom in 1965. When my father (Stephen) was very sick with cancer, we did it up as a project. He did not live to see the finished result, but every time I’m in that car I feel like I am getting a big hug from my dad.

It began with a couple of pieces, but then I went to an auction at Rene Rivkin’s home and a friend said, “Why don’t you put a bid on all the Lalique?”, and I accidentally got everything. Now I love to source pieces from auctions. I like the thrill of the chase.

These chooks are the ultimate example of the pretty meeting the practical. They lay the most beautiful palest blue eggs that are brilliant for baking. My dear friend Kate, my country woman role model, gave me my first chooks when my son was born.

TILES I was in the most romantic village in Portugal called Obidos, where they make beautiful ceramics. I don’t have a credit card, so I bought as many tiles as my last per diem (daily travel allowance) would allow and that I could physically put into the overhead locker. DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 19


EAST MELBOURNE \ 10/131 HOTHAM STREET

AGENT Kay & Burton 9820 1111 PRICE $3.3 million + EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST Closes December 13, 5pm OFI December1, 6-6.30pm; December 3, 10-10.30am SCHOOL ZONES + Richmond West Primary see more domain.com.au

PROPERTY ID 2013210199

2.8km from Bourke Street

Set in a striking church conversion with sweeping views of the Melbourne skyline, this 10th floor apartment will surely appeal to those with a flair for the dramatic. The apartment is one of 11 in this modern adaptation of Gothic Cairns Memorial church that has been a landmark on this corner since the 1880s. Step inside to find a main bedroom with builtin wardrobe, spa en suite and a private balcony. A room next door could be anything from bedroom or

3002

3

2

nursery to dressing room or home office, and the third bedroom has access to the east-facing balcony. Living spaces comprise a sweeping open-plan kitchen, dining and lounge area with balconies on its north and east and plenty of large windows affording lots of natural light and glorious cityscape views. Mirrored columns act as room dividers and light enhancers. In fact, only the laundry and main bathroom are deprived of views in this apartment. Some of the best vistas are from the kitchen, which looks across the

rooftops of East Melbourne. Fortunately, practicality is a feature, too, with stainless-steel Bosch appliances and a generous amount of cupboard space. Sports fans are sure to enjoy the building’s proximity to the MCG, while culture vultures might like to indulge their habits at theatres that are little more than a stroll away. When it comes to a day at the office, then at least the walk will be a pleasant one because the city is just on the other side of Fitzroy and Treasury Gardens. ● FELICITY MARSHALL

1

Trusted for over 43 years,

to produce a great outcome, not just a low price. Registered R Regi ister t ed dB Building uildi uild ilding ing Prac P Practitioner ractiti titioner i ioner DB DBDB-L L 41495 41495

WINNER 2014 & 2015 HIA VICTORIAN HOUSING KITCHEN & BATHROOM DESIGN AWARDS Visit the showroom at 194 Canterbury Rd, Canterbury | Phone: 9888 5100 | www.letstalkkitchens.com.au 20 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016


EAST MELBOURNE \ 110 VALE STREET The MCG is little more than a drop punt from this stately terrace house. Perched on the edge of the CBD, it looks across Yarra Park to the light towers of the G and the city skyline. The exterior is all Victorian glamour, with columns, arches and decorative plasterwork. But step inside the front door and all is sleek and modern. Entry is into the traditional long hallway. To the right are connected formal living and dining rooms. The lounge area has an ornate open fireplace, and there are high ceilings and the arched windows characteristic of the era. Modern pendant lighting, charcoal-coloured carpet and a crisp, white colour scheme make a contemporary contrast. At the rear of this level, there is a modern, open-plan family, kitchen and dining area. The kitchen has marble benchtops, Gaggenau appliances, an integrated Liebherr fridge and plentiful storage. A downstairs powder room and storage area round out the floor plan. Upstairs, the main bedroom gets pride of place at the front of the house. It has a dressing room, en suite and colonnaded balcony from which to enjoy a cool drink and soak up the sounds of the MCG crowd. The second bedroom is at the rear. There’s also a bathroom and the laundry. The latter leads out to a terrace. The property also has a courtyard space for off-street parking. In a pretty palm tree-lined street, the house sits among other immaculate-looking period houses of a similar ilk. ● FELICITY MARSHALL

3002

AGENT Caine Real Estate 8413 8000 PRICE $3.5million – $4 million AUCTION December 3 at 1pm OFI December 1, 1-1.30pm December 3, 12.30-1pm SCHOOL ZONES + Richmond West Primary see more domain.com.au

PROPERTY ID 2013201047

2.8km from Bourke Street

2

3

2

1

DO MORE WITH

.60

%

2

p.a.

Comparison Rate Basic Home Loan

Do more with flexible repayments on your Basic Home Loan, while keeping jobs in Australia. Pay no application fee1 I Get a lower rate I For more info, visit bankaust.com.au/domorebasic

mecu Limited ABN 21 087 651 607 AFSL/Australian Credit Licence Number 238431 trading as Bank Australia. Terms, conditions, fees and charges apply. Loans subject to normal lending criteria and approval. Rates apply to applications received from 25/10/2016 however are subject to change at anytime. Check bankaust.com.au for the latest rates. Offer available to new and existing borrowers. Excludes investment loans. For existing borrowers the new loan funds must exceed $100,000. A maximum Loan to Value (LVR) ratio of 80% applies to the Basic Home Loan. 1. Bank Australia will waive the $595 establishment fee for all Basic Home Loan applications received before 31/12/2016. The fee waiver does not apply to investment loans. 2. The Comparison Rate is based on a loan of $150,000 for 25 years. Fees and charges may be applicable. WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the examples given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate.

DECEMBER 1, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 21


networkclassifieds.com.au

General Classifieds

Trades & Services Bathroom & Kitchens

V

WITHOUT REMOVING TILES NSW t VIC t QLD t WA t ACT t SA

Ararat. (03) 5352 3357

Electricians

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

12325190-RC40-16

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

Call Us Today For our FAST

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

9999-8193

V

We NEVER

Close

Call Us Today...

For our FAST

FRIENDLY SERVICE!

Telstra intends making a final decision on this proposal by: 17th January 2017 To assist us in making a final decision, we invite your comments on this proposal. Please send us your comments in writing to Telstra Payphone Siting Manager Locked Bag 4850 Melbourne Vic 3001 or by calling us on 1800 011 433 selection Option 2 Or by email to Payphone.Solutions@team.telstra.com For more information on payphone services (including, any applicable payphone consultation document), see www.telstra.com.au/payphoneservices/index.htm

12323363-LN38-16

yes we can

SERVICING MELBOURNE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

9998 2905

www.Ser viceToday.com.au

SENIORS CARD

WELCOME HERE

We NEVER

Close

Lic. 104391

Adult Employment

ALL ADVERTISEMENTS booked under this classification are strictly for ancillary roles only. To comply with the law it is still an offence under the Sex Work Act 1994 to publish any statements intended or likely to induce a person to seek work as a sex worker.

1230353-CG23-16

Trades & Services section of Network Classifieds. 22 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ DECEMBER 1, 2016

1193032-LN31-15

V

Adult Services

&%'

V

V

CARLTON Chinese Massage. Natural Therapy. 63 Pelham Street. Open 7 days. 10.00am-9pm. 9939 8867. GRAND OPENING New Thai Day Spa. 10am-10pm, 7 days. 218 Johnston Street, Fitzroy. Phone 9417 6619.

Relaxation Massage 7 days, 10am to 8pm. 204 Barkly Street, Footscray. Phone 0426 717 328.

QUALIFY AS A NURSE. STUDY AT HSA. i>À˜vÀœ“Ài>˜ÕÀÃiÃUi݈LiÃÌÕ`ÞU >̈œ˜>Þ>VVÀi`ˆÌi`

Adult Services

Body Rubs

9696 9199 45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Phone - 1300 Escort

healthskills.com.au

1800 895 187

Register for Info Session - 6 December

Health Skills Australia Pty Ltd. RTO: 21646 ABN: 53 123 479 201.

V

V

Massage Therapists

Relaxation Massage

Open 7 days 10:00am to 8:30pm. 68C South Parade, Blackburn. Phone 0449 008 636.

1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

7461-1116

Place Your Classified Ads Online

Positions Vacant

PLACE YOUR JOB VACANCY www.networkclassifieds.com.au

SWA4281be

section of Network Classifieds.

IN 18 MONTHS YOU COULD BE... SAVING A LIFE IN THE EMERGENCY ROOM

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

General

Education & Tuition

Manhattan Terrace

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

Find it in the

Employment

At your convenience - Anytime, Any place

%URWKHO 2SHQKRXUV

Massage Therapists

AN ULTIMATE Pleasure. BodySoul relaxation, prof sports massage, sciatica, back pain relief. European exp. Michelle 0431 442 956.

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

General Classifieds V

V

Anytime, Any place Get 10% Discount Use code: GSDISCOUNT

It is proposed that a card and coin payphone be removed from: Outside 67 Franklin Street near Swanston Street, Melbourne, VIC 3000 (Payphone ID: 03966322X2) The next nearest card and coin payphone is located at 401 Swanston Street, Melbourne VIC 3000 Reference No: 29793

Melbourne Plumbers

Garage Sales

PLACE YOUR GARAGE SALE AD

Public Notices and Event

TELSTRA IS PLANNING TO REMOVE A PAYPHONE

Lic. 23691

Plumbing

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

V

General Notices V

w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y. c o m . a u

12333226-EPJ48-16

Jason 1300 644 698

yes we can SERVICING MELBOURNE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

website: www.jward.org.au

12332807-HM48-16

Melbourne Electricians

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

V

1152285-PB36-14

megasealed.com.au

J Ward is a museum that brings to life the early history of the Ararat goldfields and later, the incarceration of the criminally insane. J Ward is a premier tourist venue in Victoria, visited by more than 10,000 people annually (greater than Ararat’s population). Relive the past by taking a guided tour, conducted by the Friends of J Ward volunteers. Our tours run every day (excluding Christmas Day). For more information, please give us a call or visit our

12330331-CG48-16

& BALCONIES

Balcony/Shower Leak Repairs Anti-slip Safety Solutions Stone Repair/Sealing Over 17,000 showers repaired each year 19 Years in Business!

12331389-RC46-16

SHOWERS

J Ward Museum 1156305-HM40-14

LEAKING

Venues

1181674-18-15

STOP

V

Electricians

123 12 322 22883 883-LB -LB3 -LB 37-1 7-16 6

V

Anytime…anywhere 1300 666 808 sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au


City Living REMOVALIST & STORAGE

Jetset Training College

transcorpremovalsandstorage.com.au

Certificate IV Tourism

 Local & Interstate  Valet Un-Packing  We Sell Boxes  Small & Large Jobs

TRAIN FOR A CAREER IN THE TRAVEL INDUSTRY

Transcorp Removals & Storage 10 FREE BOXES

FREE QUOTE

Voted #1 in Melbourne

1300 466 838

1237211-HM31-16

Book and mention this ad to receive

Full Time Courses commencing February 2017 Part Time Evening Courses commencing February 2017

APPLY NOW

12327293-DJ42-16

 AFRA Accredited  Valet Pre-Packing  Door to Door Rates  NO Depot or Card Fees

Join our highly successful job placement program

Ask us about government funding arrangements for Certificate Courses

Christmas at St Michael’s 120 Collins Street, Melbourne Celebrate the festive season at St Michael’s on Collins this Christmas. Enjoy cheerful carols and inspirational verses during a special Christmas service 9am Sunday the 25th of December. More information at www.stmichaels.org.au or call 9654 5120

Level 6, 461 Bourke Street Melbourne Tel 9600 1811 www.jetsettraining.com.au

FUNCTIONS

12331110-HM47-16

12332915-DJ48-16

*This Training is delivered with Victorian and Commonwealth Government Funding and is available subject to eligibility

Looking for an intimate function space for your Christmas break up? New Bay Hotel for all your function needs. Enquiries Ph: (03) 9596 4949 Mention this advertisement and we will waive room hire.

New Bay Hotel 329 New street Brighton 3186 | Phone: 9596 4949 Email: manager@newbayhotel.com | www.newbayhotel.com


BMW Melbourne

Sales Finance Service Parts

BMW MELBOURNE’S BIGGEST ANNUAL SALE EVENT. ONE WEEKEND. TWO LOCATIONS. THURSDAY 1– SUNDAY 4 DECEMBER.

At BMW Melbourne, we are celebrating 100 exceptional years of BMW with a demonstrator clearance like we’ve never held before, with unprecedented savings on all BMW models. For four days only, we have an extensive number of new and demonstrator BMW models in a variety of colours, trims and engine variants all priced for immediate delivery.* Visit BMW Melbourne Kings Way and Southbank to take advantage of this exclusive opportunity this weekend. Contact BMW Melbourne today to arrange an appointment.

BMW Melbourne, Southbank 118 City Rd, Southbank. Ph (03) 9268 2222 bmwmelbourne.com.au LMCT 8155

BMW Melbourne, Kings Way 209 Kings Way, South Melbourne. Ph (03) 8699 2888 bmwmelbourne.com.au LMCT 8155

*Applies to vehicles purchased from BMW Melbourne between 01.12.16 and 04.12.16 and delivered before 30.12.16 while stocks last. Cannot be combined with any other offer. Excludes fleet, government and rental buyers. Consult BMW Melbourne for further details.

The Weekly Review City  

December 1-7, 2016

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you