Page 1

theweeklyreview.com.au

november 3-9, 2016

local heroes CELEBRATING THE SELFLESS

the feed + BACASH + uNCLE dREw

personal space AT HomE wITH TIFFANy TRELoAR

celia pacquola wHo’S LAuGHING Now? By SARAH HARRIS

CITy

Melbourne’s Best Property Guide


Melbourne Sydney Perth

Claude Sofa Designed by Arthur Georgopoulos

arthurg.com.au sales@arthurg.com.au

Showroom 618 Church Street Richmond Victoria 3121 T+61 3 9429 6696

Showroom 1/8 Hill Street Surry Hills 2010 New South Wales T+61 2 9332 1488

Showroom 207 Stirling Hwy Claremont 6010 Western Australia T+61 8 9286 1433


OM NOM

CRUX & CO

KIT KAT \ HOSIER LANE STACK

» The Melbourne Design Market, November 6, 10am-5pm, Federation Square carpark, Melbourne, free entry » melbournedesignmarket.com.au

ONCE IN A BLUE MOON Would you like a glass of white, red or, ah, blue? Australia’s first blue wine has landed exclusively at Liquorland stores. The Blue Bird is electric in hue, sweet and fruity in taste, and picture-perfect for the #drinkdrankdrunk Insta hashtag. ●

SWEET DELIGHTS

QT

Summer. The season of sun, sand, swimming – and sugar hits to keep up our energy – is just around the corner. Shore up on these favourites. ● + KitKat Chocolatory: have a break – and grab a personalised KitKat Melbourne Central, level 1, adjacent to Sephora, kitkat.com.au + The Crux & Co Patisserie: nine crowd-pleasing éclair flavours, plus macarons and petit gateau at 25 Little Collins Street, Melbourne + Om Nom: the Let’s Twist Again from new exec pastry chef Joanne Ward is amaze-balls ($26, caramelia choc jelly, jaffa sorbet and raspberry) at 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, omnom.kitchen + The Cake Shop: where Euro-inspired pastries meet cheeky martinis, at QT Melbourne, 133 Russell Street, qtmelbourne.com

(SUPPLIED)

They come with mouse ears, antlers, horns, feelers and ‘eyes’ – and they’re all ready to invade your children’s rooms. Quirky Swiss-designed furniture brand Mobelebt is launching its first collection, Cubanimals, at the Melbourne Design Market, which showcases intelligent design from fashion to to furniture. ●

ANIMAL CRACKERS

(SUPPLIED)

Eat drink play love

This week we’re talking about …

BLIND LOVE Wynstan blinds and panels are installed with child safety devices and automation to keep your rugrats from playing with dangling cords. The new children’s range is full of fun patterns and colourful designs. What kid wouldn’t like a row of cute giraffe silhouettes peeking in at the window? ● » price on application » wynstan.com.au

(SUPPLIED)

(MATTHEW FURNEAUX)

» $10 a bottle » liquorland.com.au

compiled by Miranda Tay mtay@theweeklyreview.com.au NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY LLY REVIEW 3


How to contact us GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300

Competitions

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to our Facebook page at facebook.com/theweeklyreview or to theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, November 6.

GROUP EDITORIAL DIRECTOR \ EMILY L RAY LY RA NER erayner@theweeklyreview.com.au

WIN

EDITOR \ JANE HUTCHINSON jhutchinson@theweeklyreview.com.au

WORTH

LOCAL LIFESTYLE EDITOR \ HARI RAJ hraj@theweeklyreview.com.au

$40

ATT FURNEAUX ATT GROUP PICTURE EDITOR \ MATT mfurneaux@theweeklyreview.com.au REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ JOHN IOANNOU jioannou@theweeklyreview.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ ANDREW MAHON 9249 5233 \ amahon@theweeklyreview.com.au MANAGING DIRECTOR, DOMAIN VICTORIA & PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON \ tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 24,750 copies

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Celia Pacquola photographed by Kylie Thomson CITY

Y UR YO R LOCAL REPORT OR ER ORT

Virginia Millen can be often found at a favourite cafe. When not brunching with friends she’s wining with her husband or walking her dog. She writes sometimes too. vmillen@theweeklyreview.com.au 0431 961 415

WIN

All your favourite Disney friends have just got cuter with the Tsum Tsum Squishies collection. There are more than 50 adorable, squishy, stackable characters to collect! Zuru is giving you the chance to win one of four prize packs valued at $87. Each includes a Disney Tsum Tsum five-pack, a Mickey Mouse carry case (perfect for your Tsum Tsum family) and two large, plush Disney characters. ● zuru.com

Paramount Pictures is giving 10 readers the chance to win a double in-season pass to see Jack Reacher: Never Go Back. Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise) returns with his particular brand of justice in this highly anticipated sequel. When Major Susan Turner (Cobie Smulders) is arrested for treason, Jack stops at nothing to prove her innocence and uncover the truth behind a major government conspiracy involving soldiers who are being killed. Jack Reacher: Never Go Back is showing now. ● jackreachermovie.com.au Congratulations to the following winners from October 19: Markus Ozolins, Louise Toland, Sebastian Bellofiore, Colin Carter, Robbin Vissakodeti, Tracey Hope, Litsa Makedona Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted directly by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

WORTH

$87

WIN

Amaro Montenegro liqueur has been a tradition in Italy since 1885 and has recently seen a renaissance in Australia, providing a mysterious twist to many of your favourite cocktails. Bitter and sweet oranges, nutmeg, cloves, cinnamon, coriander seeds and “the Italian perfume” of oregano and marjoram are among the 40 botanical ingredients that make up Amaro Montenegro – ingredients that have only recently been revealed for the very first time. We have six bottles to give away to lucky readers. ● amaromontenegro.com

$50

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

NOW OPEN SOUTH WHARF DFO OPENING SPECIAL

STOREWIDE VALID 3RD – 6TH NOVEMBER SHOW ADVERT IN STORE TO REDEEM OFFER.

WWW.JOHNNYBIGG.COM.AU 4 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

WORTH


More to love

T W R ca m paign L

et’s be honest, Australia has a poor track record when it comes to home-grown situation comedy. There are, of course, notable exceptions: the delightfully wicked Mother and Son, Please Like Me and most of the Working Dog back catalogue. But for every Newsfront or Utopia, there’s more than one Kingswood Country or Hey Dad to explain. Bitter experience has taught me to approach any new local comedy with trepidation. So it was with the ABC’s new Rosehaven, starring Luke McGregor and Celia Pacquola. It turns out the show is that rarest of things – a genuinely entertaining Aussie sitcom. The premise is simple: two city types wash up in small-town Tasmania. But what makes it shine is the chemistry between the two leads – good friends in real life – and the star power of Celia, whose smile could power a small Tasmanian town – like Rosehaven. There’s no doubt that here is a star on the rise. Read our revealing interview with her inside. ●

Jane

LOCAL HEROES

U P D AT E D D A I LY \ T H E L AT E S T I N F O O D

NOMINATE & WIN! DO YOU KNOW A LOCAL HERO WORKING WITHIN YOUR COMMUNITY TO HELP OTHERS? GO ONLINE & NOMINATE THEM FOR THE WEEKLY REVIEW’S LOCAL HEROES AWARD. THEY COULD WIN A PRIZE WORTH $10,000 FOR THEIR CAUSE & YOU COULD WIN AN IPAD MINI WORTH $829 FOR NOMINATING THEM

»

DRINK

»

EVENTS

»

REVIEWS

»

VIDEOS

ESPRESSO YOURSELF

WATCH DOG Take your pooch to the movies

Australia’s best barista

AFFLECK’S NEW THRILLER Myke Bartlett reviews The Accountant (ISTOCK)

T he editor’s desk

THEWEEKLYREVIEW. REVIEW COM.AU REVIEW.

We wish

9 Chaucer Crescent, Canterbury: Grand Gothic Victorian built for all ages

GO TO THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

PROPERTY ID » 2013122871

Join the conversation FACEBOOK

TWITTER

I N STAG R A M

PINTEREST

GOOGLE+

YOUTUBE

www.facebook.com/ theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

@theweeklyreview

theweeklyreview

The Weekly Review

www.youtube.com/c/ weeklyreview

NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 5


r e t h laug

C

elia Pacquola delves into an oversized handbag and produces, in turn, a jumper, flannel shirt and two slightly scrumpled T-shirts. “Wardrobe!” she exclaims with a magician’s flourish. You can forget frocks and fuss – what you see is what you get with one of Australia’s hottest comedic talents. In that way the award-winning comic and actor is not unlike her latest character, who lands in Tasmania mid-winter with a suitcase full of sarongs after being deserted on her honeymoon. In the ABC’s new series, Rosehaven, Celia plays Emma Dawes, a thirty-something going on 17 who turns up unexpectedly on the doorstep of her best mate Daniel McCallum (Luke McGregor) after he goes home to the Apple Isle to help manage his mother’s real estate business. The heart-warming buddy comedy, jointly created by Celia (who grew up in the small Victorian town of Yarra Glen) and Luke (the son of Tasmanian real estate agents), oozes authenticity, but it’s not just because the real-life mates have embraced the adage to “write what you know”. Every detail has been considered, down to the mushroom-and-brown velveteen blazer Emma allows herself to be persuaded to buy from an op shop to replace her Bali honeymoon sarongs. “The clothes are real op shop clothes. I like the idea of someone in Tasmania watching and going, ‘Ooh, that’s my jacket!’,” says the 33-year-old with a snort of laughter. Celia and Luke had harboured the idea of writing their own show since working together on Utopia – the multiple-awardwinning Working Dog production that first went to air in 2014. Their fourth pitch – which excluded vampires, ghosts or being married to each other – was the one that was accepted, and then the hard work on Rosehaven began. “When we first started we were like, ‘This will be fun. It will just be you and me writing jokes’,” Celia recalls. “But then you realise you need a character to say the jokes and they need to have a point of view, to have a personality, to be believable, so you have to create a whole rounded person and then build a world for them. Logic is also very important to us so everything in the show is as believable as it can be. We couldn’t put anything in that we couldn’t justify in our minds. We spent a lot of time answering questions that no one watching the show would ever ask.” The pair even went and worked in Luke’s parents’ real estate agency for a bit. “We were dressed in suits and went around with them, like on work experience. This one guy recognised me when we were doing inspections and asked what I was doing there. I’m like, ‘Comedy is not working out’. He said, ‘Really?’ I said, ‘Yep, got to get a new job so I am becoming a real estate agent’.” In truth Celia is at the top of her tree and one of the most in-demand performers around. But in spite of a growing body of

6 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

CELIA & LUKE M C GREGOR IN ROSE HAV EN

acting work, beginning with a guest spot on The Librarians (2010), a lead role in the award-winning Laid (2011-12), two seasons as the long-suffering Nat in Utopia (2014-15), which won her a gong for best performance in a television comedy, a guest role in Offspring (2014), and her first “proper grown-up dramatic role” in A Beautiful Lie (2015), she thinks of herself as a comedian first.

C

elia famously got her start when her comedian boyfriend entered her in the 2006 RAW Comedy national open mic competition without telling her. Very funny! At that point she’d done no more than a few university sketch shows. One of the long-time lights of the circuit, Rachel Berger, was awards compere and recalls: “Celia stepped awkwardly on stage, grabbing attention immediately with her brilliant mimicry and fiendishly funny comic lens. She blew everyone away. I remember thinking she had a comic maturity and grace even though her stage persona was a bit of a klutz.” Celia not only went on to win the Raw Recruit Prize for best first-time entrant but the now ex-boyfriend – who had turned out to be a love rat – provided the fodder for her first solo show Am I Strange?, performed at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe and the 2009 Melbourne International Comedy Festival, where it won Best Comedy and The Age critics’ award for best Australian act. Today the boyfriend is a non-entity and Celia is magnanimous. “I actually sent him the script,” she says. “It was not very about him. It was my side of the story … my side of the story discovering his side of the story. Actually he came out quite good in it; he was painted in quite a nice light because I have no grudge against him. If it wasn’t for him I wouldn’t be in comedy.” Growing up in the Yarra Valley, Celia

(SUPPLIED)

Involuntary

“didn’t even know stand-up was a thing”. And, being the youngest of three daughters of accountant Pam and Italian-born Yarra Glen Primary School principal Joe Pacquola wasn’t especially funny. “Most of the time it was bor-ing,” she sing-songs. “You were getting told to go for a walk a lot. ‘Why don’t you go for a walk?’ Aarrgh! I’m poking things with sticks. This was before Pokemon Go and all that stuff. “We had nothing. We didn’t even have a remote for the TV and had to get up and change the channel. There was one TV. What!! But it was beautiful and I think it had a hand, in that boredom leads to creativity, you have to make your own fun. I used to make up my own stories and was very active and physical.” Although she did well academically, Celia did not enjoy her teenage years at Tintern Grammar. “I hated it, hated it, hated it! Did I say I hated it? It is a very nice school but I hated it. It was such an angsty time. You don’t know what you are doing, who you are, what is going on. At the time it felt like your whole world and you felt like you had no choice. “When I got to university I was like, ‘Oh, my goodness, this is so much better!’.” While studying drama and professional writing at Deakin University, Celia gave up on the idea of acting. “I didn’t feel I had what you needed to be an actor,” she says. “I met so many actors who were a lot more dedicated and passionate than me. I hated the idea of having to go round and go, ‘Please, I am good, trust me. I can do this.’ I just felt that acting was so much in someone else’s hands. So I thought maybe I would do theatrical writing.” Much of Celia’s reservation had to do with the anxiety she has suffered since being a teen. “It is ridiculous how many comedians have some kind of mental health thing. Perhaps it is because as a comic you are examining yourself all the time, searching your mind for your thoughts, because that is where your work comes from. You put yourself into those corners of your mind and think about all those thoughts, that maybe if you had a different job you could put aside. “I am aware that this job can cause me so much pain and fear and anxiety – why would I still do it? Because I can’t do anything else.” It was after hearing another comic talk on stage about mental health that Celia sought help. “There was a time when I was like, ‘Oh, no, I don’t want someone to iron out the kinks in my mind, in my personality, in

SARAH HARRIS meets rising comedy star celia Pacquola


my emotions, because what if the quirks are what make me funny? What if I need to be miserable to be creative?’ But I discovered it is not really like that. You can still be creative while taking care of your mental health.” After her split from her boyfriend of five years, actor Toby Truslove (How To Make A Monster, Scumbus, Laid) and before her 2014 show Let Me Know How It All Works Out, anxiety was overtaken by depression. “It was a terrible time. I was doing everything you are supposed to be doing and it was still the worst. I tried everything. I was doing acupuncture, meditation, exercising, medication, and all of that got me through it

“It’s either this or waitressing; there is no plan b” – celia pacquola

PICTURE \ KYLIE THOMSON

and has given me more tools to manage it.” Since taking part in the documentary Felicity’s Mental Mission (2014), made by her great mate and fellow comic Felicity Ward, Celia hasn’t shied away from the subject. She continues to be accessible for good causes, performing recently in the Stand Up Against Stigma charity gig for headspace – the national youth mental health foundation – and seldom knocks back work, even though this year – her “Jesus year” – has been bananas. “It’s either this or waitressing, there is no Plan B,” she says with a laugh. In fact, although she has an international reputation – underscored when she was hand-picked by British talk-show host, political commentator and actor John Oliver to support his 2015 Australian tour – the canny can still enjoy her fine observational humour for the price of a pot of beer. “I haven’t been gigging much with all that has been going on and I’m looking forward to getting back and doing new-material nights. The Crab Lab (House of Maximon in Corrs Lane) is probably one of my favourites where all sorts of people drop in and try new material because comics need to keep their hand in, but also because we enjoy it and it’s a very social thing.” On the home front she is living in a share house in Kew with fellow comedian Geraldine Hickey and she is dating again, but not a comic. “No, no, no, never again. They can be my best friends, but I will never date one again. You can print that.” And while there may be a bloke in Tasmania who still thinks Celia has become a real estate agent, she is in no immediate danger of becoming passionate about property. “I like renting. I don’t have kids, I don’t have a pet, I barely have a plant. I know that I am really stretching at what age you are supposed to be living like this but hey, it’s working for me so far.” ● sharris@theweeklyreview.com.au WATCH » Rosehaven airs on ABC on Wednesday

nights at 9pm and is also on iView

NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 7


Ask the wine guy When I drink sparkling it’s always Q champagne but I keep reading how Australian sparklings are just as good. What do you recommend?

A

When tasting sparkling wines from around the world, including champagne, a few weeks ago the standout wine was from Tasmania. I reckon the Arras EJ Carr Late Disgorged is Australia’s best wine – better than Penfolds Grange or Henschke Hill Of Grace. The 2002 Arras EJ Carr Late Disgorged is ready to be enjoyed now. The wine’s namesake is maker Ed Carr, who in 1988 set out to make world-class sparkling. ● GOT A QUESTION? EMAIL \

bthomas@theweeklyreview.com.au

THE VINE W H AT T O D R I N K W I T H B E N T H O M A S

Arras EJ Carr Late Disgorged 2002 (Tasmania) $185; 13.5%

Arras Cuvee No. 901 NV (Tasmania) $50; 12.5%

Arras Rose 2006 (Tasmania) $83; 12.5%

Australia’s flagship sparkling, this spends 10 years maturing – and gaining incredible complexity – on lees before disgorgement. Strawberry, stonefruit, citrus, almond biscuit and honey flavours are intense and fresh, building to an amazing finish. In support is a chalky mineral grip and zippy, refreshing acid. This is not a wine you’ll forget. ●

From predominantly the 2009 vintage, meaning the bulk of the wine has had seven years to mature, this is a blend of pinot noir and chardonnay. Grilled peach, nougat and spice aromas lead to a creamy mousse, complex flavours that are perfectly balanced with racy citrus and mineral acidity. ●

Seven years in tirage have given this delightful complexity – from the cherries, raspberries, Jonathan apple, brioche and nougat aromas to its creamy smooth texture. It’s right in the zone, with vibrant citrus and mineral-laced acid providing the bones for bright berry flavours to drape over. There’s a lot of flavour and finesse. Simply delicious. ●

Enjoy with \ Snapper ceviche

Enjoy with \ Freshly shucked oysters

A by Arras Premium Cuvee NV (Tasmania) $30; 12.5% This sparkling spends three years in tirage. It’s mainly pinot noir, with a chardonnay component that’s been aged in oak. It smells of green apples, spice, nougat and earthiness. Lemon and stonefruit flavours make an impact after its mousse has subsided, held together by a chalky grip. ● Enjoy with \ Ossau-Iraty cheese

97

94

95

91

100

100

100

100

THE SCORE

8 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

Enjoy with \ Gruyere gougeres

BARGAIN BUY

● 100-95 OUTSTANDING

● 94-92 MUST BUY ● 91-90 MUST TRY R RY

WE S AY

Some of Australia’s best sparkling wines.


THE FEED E AT

W I T H A L I C E Z A S L AV S K Y THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/EAT EA EAT

LET’S DO BRUNCH Uncle Drew ● 23 Groom Street, Clifton Hill ● 9489 2077 ● uncledrewcafe.com.au THE VIBE \ The laid-back, inner-north vibes are perfect if you’re seeking peace and quiet but don’t want to get too far out of town. FISH OF THE DAY \ FLOUNDER

THE DECOR \ Concrete floors with mismatched furniture and some funky, retro, industrial-style lighting. We sit outside to take in some sunshine and enjoy the pleasant lack of traffic noise.

THIS WEEK I’M …

(CARMEN ZAMMITT)

THE CROWD \ Our brunch companions are mostly inner-city 30-somethings, some with dogs and others with activewear addictions. THE FOOD \ The all-day brekkie will satisfy the latest of brunchers. There are a few lunch options, too, but I head straight for the New York-style bagels. Istra bacon, oven-baked mushrooms with halloumi and thyme, poached eggs and truffled hollandaise delightfully prepared on a soft bagel was a massive tick in my book.

B A C A S H \ S O U T H YA R R A

A

Chill out and fill up. ●

(TIM DOUTRE)

TIM DOUTRE

● 175 Domain Road, South Yarra ● 9866 3566 ● bacash.com.au

Chef’s Secrets K A T H Y T S A P L E S BRUNCH \ I love Mr Bond – the brother of Thirty Eight Chairs in Bond Street, South Yarra, a quaint restaurant that’s always been one of my favourites. Mr Bond is their more casual premises next door, with a gorgeous little courtyard out the back. On a Sunday I often treat myself to their excellent coffee and a delicious breakfast. DATE \ It would have to be Epocha, in Rathdowne Street, Carlton. I love to dress up and go there for a special night out with my

WE LOVE …

SAVVY SOMMELIER

LISTENING TO \ What’s the Tee with RuPaul and Michelle Visage has been my accompaniment on road trips lately and it feels as though they’re actually passengers alongside me, daring me to drag-race the cars next to us at the lights. ●

I’m always on a need to know basis. Get in touch: @aliceinframes #TWREat

EAT ALL THE OYSTERS

LOVES …

husband. They serve beautiful, upmarket, Cretan cuisine. A QUIET DINNER \ If I have the opportunity for a quiet dinner with family and friends, I will always try to have it at home. I like to put the time and effort into planning, shopping and creating a special dinner to share outside in our small garden if the weather permits. TO SEE & BE SEEN \ I’m not important enough to be seen out and about so you can pretty

COOKING \ Speaking  \ Speaking of pasta, I know I’ve  \ told you about the packet stuff before but I’m taking it all back! The fresh version from Per Tutti is made locally using free-range eggs and semolina flour, so the texture and flavour are what you’d expect from fancy-restaurant pasta. ● READING \ I’ve had an influx of adorable kids’ food books come across my desk lately and I’m just loving them! Animals are Delicious ($25) – with a series of “food chain” fold-outs – and Pancakes! ($20), an “interactive” book, are two recent standouts from Phaidon Press. ●

ABOUT K AT H Y much always find me at Sweet Greek! I live a very simple life – and my shop is busy, so it’s always full of people coming to see me.  A FANCY DINNER \ Neil Perry’s Rosetta at Crown is my favourite. I love the ambience and the service, and the food is delectable.  A BIG GROUP \ Thai food is my other favourite cuisine and if I have the chance to go out with a big group of friends, I try to go to either Chin Chin or Red Spice Road. ●

Relentless feeder, author of Sweet Greek and the newly Greek released Sweet Greek Life, founder of Sweet Greek. (BRYONY JACKSON)

THE VERDICT

AUTHENTIC NEW YORK-STYLE BAGELS

round here, it’s all about the three Ms,” declares our waiter, “Mercedes, mansion, minced meat.” South Yarra may not be known for pushing the culinary envelope but “simple” doesn’t have to mean boring – in fact, some of the most exciting food I’ve eaten lately has been special precisely because of what has not been done to it. At Michael Bacash’s seafood standard-bearer, the oysters (Coffin Bay tonight) are plump, freshly shucked and brimming with brine. Garfish “nori” is delightfully crunchy, with tender prawn meat through the centre – if you’re the kind of person who eats the tails off prawns, do yourself a favour and eat the gar’s head, swordy beak and all. Flounder (our choice of market fish of the day) comes off the bone like a scene out of a Rick Stein travelogue. Dessert features French favourites such as raspberry souffle and chocolate mousse, which is always welcome. Without heavy sauces or tricked-up trimmings, there’s nothing to hide behind here ; the seafood sings for itself, offering a fourth ‘M’ for our evening – magnificent. ● aliceinframes@theweeklyreview.com.au

EATING \ True tomato season is still a month or so away, but our first hints are dotting through the markets in the shape of Tiny Tim and other cherry varieties. They’re firmer and sweeter, so make for delightful bursts of flavour in salads and when thrown into pasta. ●

● @sweetgreekshop

NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 9


this week make sure you T H E B E S T I N E N T E R TA I N M E N T W I T H M Y K E B A R T L E T T

e at \ ta s t e o f melbourne

T

(SUPPLIED)

here’s no doubting Melbourne is a city obsessed with food. Taste of Melbourne will celebrate that obsession this month, taking over Albert Park’s Pelican Lawn for a four-day showcase of the best restaurants, chefs and artisans our town has to offer. Event director Kristy Austin says choosing the best of the best is a painstaking process. “We spend 10 months of the year looking at what’s going on in the city,” Kristy says. “We look at what we’ve done previously, because it’s always wonderful to bring back favourites. But we’re also looking for the hottest new dining spots in Melbourne and thinking about how we can get them on board.”

Other firsts include an exclusive dish from Mamasita’s new venture Hotel Jesus and a feast from Andrew McConnell’s Cumulus Inc. Restaurants aside, there are new events and experiences aplenty. Electrolux Chef’s Secrets gives a group of

For her first year in the director’s chair, Kristy has lined up a program sizzling with fresh talent. Star chef Scott Pickett will make his debut appearance at Taste, showcasing his celebrated Estelle Bistro, alongside new operation Pickett’s Deli and Rotisserie.

RUSSIAN RESURRECTION FILM FESTIVAL Take a thrilling journey through one of the world’s most diverse and exhilarating film cultures at the Russian Resurrection Film Festival, screening at ACMI. Watch contemporary comedies, psychological thrillers and love stories set in the picturesque mountains of Armenia or against the backdrop of the Tsar’s last days. The program includes two blockbusters, Flight Crew and Icebreaker, Icebreaker a hugely anticipated adventure film yet to be released in Russia. ■ November 10-16, various times. Australian Centre for the Moving Image, Federation Square. Cost: full $19, concession $16, members $15. acmi.net.au THEATRE ANICCA Acclaimed percussive artist Matthias Schack-Arnott returns to Arts House with a new work that explores cycles, orbits and the perception of time aurally and kinetically. Anicca – meaning “impermanence” – is inspired by the relationship between the cyclic

» tasteofmelbourne.com.au

and the transcendental in Hindu and Buddhist thought. Hypnotic and dream-like, Anicca features a variable-speed rotating instrument created with engineer Richard Allen, augmented by a rotational lighting system and multi-channel audio. ■ November 2-6, Wednesday-Friday 7.30pm, Saturday 2pm and 7.30pm, Sunday 5pm. Arts House, 521 Queensberry Street, North Melbourne. Cost: full $35, concession $30, student $25. bit.ly/2dM6RI4 DRINK ESPRESSO MARTINI FESTIVAL Coffee liqueur producer Mr Black is playing host to hundreds of coffee-and-liquor-loving Victorians. Caffeinated creations from some of Australia’s best bars, coffee shops, and food trucks will help visitors celebrate the miracle of coffee. Taste from the likes of Campos Coffee, MilkLab, Rushmore, Coast Cold Brew, Two Birds Brewing and Ketel One. ■ November 4-6, Saturday from 2pm and Sunday from 6pm. Meatmarket, 3 Blackwood Street, North Melbourne. Cost: $29.83. Search Espresso Martini Festival on Facebook. ● COMPILED BY VIRGINIA MILLEN

(SUPPLIED)

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

FILM

» Taste of Melbourne, November 10-13, Pelican Lawn, Albert Park Lake, Albert Park

ALARIIYA

GOING OUT

16 visitors a chance to work with top chefs to master one of their favourite dishes before sitting down to share it with them over a glass of wine. Discussion series Table Talks brings together leading food thinkers and creators for thought-provoking chatter, while The Producer’s Collection features wares from a dozen emerging artisans who might otherwise not get much exposure. For Kristy, the real standout of these innovations is Lume’s Looking Glass, which promises to be a dining experience out of this world. “As far as we know, it’s the first virtual reality restaurant ever,” Kristy says. “People will be given a VR headset and taken through an experience led by chef Shaun Quade, culminating in one of [Lume’s] signature dishes. It will be a little daunting for some people because it will be in the dark and playing on your senses, but it will pay off. “I did it the other day and it was the most unbelievable experience.” ● mbartlett@theweeklyreview.com.au

DAREBIN MUSIC FEAST ALARIIYA DELICIOUS AFROBEAT Afrobeat sensation Alariiya will play at Bar 303 in Northcote as part of the Darebin Music Feast. Groove to afro-funk and jazz rhythms in this unique performance. Led by Olugbade Okunade aka GP Saxy, Alariiya promises to bring the authentic Afrobeat flavour of Nigeria to awaken your spirit with uplifting sounds. ■ November 5, from 8.30pm. Bar 303, 303 High Street, Northcote. Cost: $15. musicfeast.com.au

BEN CHARNLEY & SKYROKU Soul, gospel and hip hop drummer Ben Charnley returns from New York after seven years in the US, studying at the prestigious Berklee College of Music. His band Skyroku reflects Ben’s influences as a working musician from NYC, where the next call might be for a gospel revival show in the Bronx, an Afrobeat party or a hip-hop recording session. ■ November 6, from 8pm. Open Studio, 204 High Street, Northcote. Cost: $10. musicfeast.com.au

WANT YOUR EVENT LISTED? To be considered for a listing email \ goingoutCITY@theweeklyreview.com.au 10 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016


HOT TIX PJ HARVEY, SIDNEY MYER ER MUSIC BOWL, JANUARY RY 21, $97.34 R

P L AY

WATCH \ The trailer of Indiana Jones and the Riders of the Lost Ark with the MSO is online A CONVERSATION ON MAKING A MURDERER True crime is seriously in vogue right now, off the back of international hits such as The Jinx and podcast Serial. Last year, Netflix series Making A Murderer followed the case of Steven Avery, who was wrongly imprisoned for 18 years before being exonerated by DNA evidence. Dean Strang and Jerry Buting were his defence lawyers. The pair will be talking to each other, to a moderator and with the audience about the case. ■ Hamer Hall, Arts Centre Melbourne, November 8. Cost: $69.90-$99.90. artscentremelbourne.com.au DELTA GOODREM TOURS WINGS OF THE WILD MUSIC Ahead of her return to The Voice next year, Delta Goodrem is touring her powerful new album Wings of the Wild. Featuring singles Wings and Enough, it saw the Sydney-born singer

STAYING IN READ

WIN!

THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS Scarred by the Great War, Tom (Michael Fassbender) takes shelter at a lighthouse off the coast of Western Australia. He falls in love with Isabel (Alicia Vikander) but their happiness turns sour as they prove unable to have children. Everything changes when a boat washes up carrying a dead man and a crying baby. Based on the acclaimed novel by Aussie writer on particularly M.L. Stedman and directed by Blue Valentine’s Derek feisty form, delivering Cianfrance, this is an old-fashioned weepy romance. ■ Opens November 3, Rated M pop music that was thrilling, 133 minutes, dramatic and inspiring. The record’s dreamworkspictures.com/films/the-light-betweensuccess has silenced speculation that an oceans arena tour would be a stretch for the artist, who hadn’t enjoyed a hit LP since 2012. ■ Delta Goodrem, Margaret Court WATCH \ Trailer from the movie Arena, November 3. Cost: from $91.55. online deltagoodrem.com ●

2 is now available on Blu-Ray, DVD and Digital.  WIN A DVD Outlander: Season 2 Thanks to Universal Sony Pictures Home Entertainment we have 10 Blu-Rays to be won. Go to theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and leave a comment identifying the book reviewed in this week’s mag. Closes midnight Sunday, November 6.

Book \ Try Hard by Em Rusciano (Simon and Schuster) emrusciano.com.au

As comedian Em points out at the start of her thoroughly engaging memoir, Australia is the only country where “trying hard” is seen as an unappealing personality trait. The self-declared needy overachiever rattles through her story in a breathless, conversational tone taking in topics including sexuality, Australian Idol, the “gays of her life”, quitting radio and post-natal depression. Oh, and there’s a song about porn, sung to the tune of Do-Re-Mi. ●

HEAR

(SUPPLIED)

TALK

SEE

(SUPPLIED)

INDIANA JONES & THE RAIDERS OF CONCERT THE LOST ARK IN CONCERT The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra continues a series of surprising partnerships – one that also features David Bowie, Harry Potter and Jurassic Park – with this live performance alongside a screening of Indy’s greatest adventure yet. Seeing Raiders on the big screen is a treat in itself, but you’ll never have heard it sound quite this thrilling. John Williams’ score is as memorable as it is hummable (if also quite easy to confuse with his Star Wars and Superman themes).

THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS \ ALICIA VIKANDER & MICHAEL FASSBENDER ASSBENDER

Hamer Hall, November 3-5. Cost: $60-$135. mso.com.au

STREETS OF YOUR TOWN \ KEVIN M C CLOUD & TIM ROSS

Prince Movie Collection \ Blu-Ray prince.org

With Prince leaving us so soon after Bowie, it’s hard to avoid drawing comparisons. Both had a tendency towards theatrics, were endlessly innovative and built worlds for their fans that extended far beyond their albums. Both also dabbled in cinema, with varying success. Prince’s three films look and sound fantastic, but demand not to be taken seriously. ● WATCH \ Purple Rain trailer

Streets of Your Town \ ABC, Tuesday November 8, 8.30pm abc.net.au/tv

The ABC’s current approach to doco-making is, whatever the subject, to find a comedian to host it. As such, we’ve had local comics walking us through programs on everything from sex to mental health. At least the very likeable Tim Ross (host of this two-parter on the changing architecture of Australia’s suburbs) has a genuine passion for his subject. He’s joined along the way by experts including Mary Featherston and Grand Designs host Kevin McCloud. ●

HEAR

(SUPPLIED)

POPPY SEED THEATRE FESTIVAL Last year’s inaugural Poppy FESTIVAL Seed festival, created to nurture rising theatre talent, was a great success. The 2016 program sees four new Melbourne productions launch over the next five weeks. These include LadyCake, which reimagines Mary Antoinette in a world of selfies and Snapchat, What’s Yours Is Mine, which pokes at our nation’s obsession with owning things and F., which takes a bold look at how the internet is shaping teenage ideas of sex and sexuality. ■ November 8 – December 11, various venues, poppyseedfestival.com

Sing Street \ Blu-Ray, DVD and Digital (Roadshow) singstreetmovie.com

While Stranger Things mined the 1980s via E.T. and Stephen King, Sing Street riffles through its record collection. Teenage songwriter Conor leads a band of misfits on a search for rock’n’roll glory, inspired by the likes of the Cure, Duran Duran and Spandau Ballet. They attempt to recreate cutting-edge music videos on a school lunch budget. ● MB SING STREET

WATCH \ Sing Street trailer NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 11


LOCALHEROES

T H E AWA R D \

C E L E B R AT I N G P E O P L E W H O M A K E A D I F F E R E N C E

Do you know a local hero working in your community to help others? They could win a prize worth $10,000 for their cause.

N O M I N AT E & W I N

Go to theweeklyreview.com.au and click on the Local Heroes link – you could win an iPad Mini worth $829.

S A B A A L E M AY O H The Community \ The African-Australian community ● The Cause \ Afro Hub is an arts space dedicated to fostering African-Australian talent by breaking down barriers to getting art into public spaces.

SHE’S A LOCAL HERO BECAUSE …

She understands the obstacles many in the African community can encounter and has opened a space where those obstacles can be overcome and artists’ works can speak for themselves.

12 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

(SCOTT McNAUGHTON)

S

aba Alemayoh is best known for her Fitzroy establishment Saba’s Ethiopian Restaurant, but the Sudanese-born Ethiopian is carving out a space to ensure talented African-Australian artists get the exposure they deserve. The 27-year-old launched the arts space Afro Hub on Nicholson Street in Carlton on September 17. It’s a gallery and live music venue, as well as a retail space, deli store and it offers in-house residencies for artists. “The talent that we have in Melbourne really needs a platform and a space to share it in,” Saba says. “And mainstream Australia needs a space to be exposed to and access that culture. I don’t think people in the African community have a space to show their talents. There are places that are doing things, but it’s about reducing the barrier to entry.” She says African-Australian artists often run into road blocks less likely to be encountered by mainstream artists. “I’m extremely lucky in that I don’t struggle to speak and understand English and I’m a university graduate, so I can work through the paperwork that

W A N T T O H E L P O U T ? afrohub727.com.au

can stand in your way to get a project off the ground. I don’t feel that sense of shame if I don’t understand something,” she says. “But it’s something that’s common to parts of the African community to feel that. It takes a certain level of confidence to say ‘I don’t get it’.” Afro Hub helps artists network in the arts community, helps them write grant applications and exhibits work that may not get a look-in at other Melbourne galleries. “There are multiple challenges that they come across to exhibit. One is they might have to whitewash their work, so it makes more sense in the Australian context. “We don’t put the artist through a rigorous written process to get exhibited, instead we’ll look at the work or I’ll go and see someone sing and if they’re good we’ll get you a gig at Afro Hub or organise an exhibition. Our aim is to fill out our calendar, so every night of the week you’re seeing African talent.” ● VIRGINIA MILLEN Afro Hub, 727 Nicholson Street, Carlton North


WHAT’S YOUR JOB LIKE? It has its challenges but it’s a rewarding job. You get to help people who have made a mistake but on the prosecution side of things you keep them in line. It’s a good job. It helps the community. ●

three of …

WORDS & PICTURES VIRGINIA MILLEN

the best pancakes

(ISTOCK)

RUBY \ CATERER

LOUISA \ COMMUNITY ARTS & HOSPITALITY WORKER

ZAC \ COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS OFFICER

Humans of … Northcote

WHAT’S WITH THE HAIR COLOUR?

WHAT ABOUT SUMMER ARE YOU MOST LOOKING FORWARD TO?

I was peach before this and I thought it was time for a little seasonal change; I chose lilac. I have a jumpsuit that’s a similar colour and decided to go all-out. ●

Wearing less clothing and I will make it to the beach at some stage. I can’t wait for more sunshine. ●

THE CONTACT LENS FOR YOUR EAR

1

Top Paddock 658 Church Street, Richmond 9429 4332 The generous blueberry and ricotta hotcakes are topped with maple syrup, seeds and cream and make a luxurious start to the day.

2

Barry 85 High Street, Northcote 9481 7623 The ricotta hotcakes at celebrated cafe Barry are served with maple syrup, peaches and cream.

3

Tom Phat 182 Sydney Road, Brunswick 9381 2374 Satisfy your sugar cravings at Tom Phat with roti pancakes piled high with banana, coconut jam and ice-cream.

NOW OFFERING 100% INVISIBLE HEARING AIDS 100% Invisible - Sits deep in the ear canal, completely invisible. 24/7 Wear - Wear for months at a time. Designed for all daily activities - showering, sleeping, exercising. Hassle-Free - No batteries to change, no daily insertion or removal. Natural Sound - Designed to work with your ear’s anatomy to deliver exceptional sound quality.

CALL FOR A FREE 30MIN CONSULTATION

1300 761 667 www.ear-hearing.com.au

Now Open At: 414 La Trobe Street, Melbourne CBD Kew • Camberwell • Malvern • Ashburton • Hawthorn East • Surrey Hills • Canterbury • Ivanhoe • Reservoir • Docklands • Toorak • Ashwood • Balwyn NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 13


(SUPPLIED)

GIVE IT A GO VIRGINIA MILLEN DINES TR AM-STYLE

We try

T H E C O L O N I A L T R A M C A R R E S TA U R A N T

(SUPPLIED)

The promise Take a tour of Melbourne aboard the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant, where the ever-changing view is as good as the food. The reality Opting for an early dinner, we board the Colonial Tramcar Restaurant near Crown Casino in South Melbourne at 5.45pm. The vintage tram’s interior has shades of the glamorous Orient Express with its burgundy velvet and leather booths, brocade curtains and dimmed lighting. Tables seating parties of two and four are covered in white linen and we sit down to an entree of dips, biscuits and bubbly. Soon we are on our way, trundling along Clarendon Street as the sun lowers in the sky, then taking in the view as we’re served mains en route to St Kilda. We dine on our choice of chicken breast or slow-cooked beef. Port Phillip Bay sparkles outside our window while wine is poured. We make our way back to South Melbourne as dessert lands on our table and the night finishes with coffee, chocolates, a nightcap and … a singalong.

GREENING LANEWAYS

Who should try it? The restaurant is a hit with tourists. On the night we travel, everyone on the tram ends up singing happy birthday to a Californian celebrating in Melbourne. But there’s absolutely no reason locals shouldn’t climb aboard also. The bill? $82 per person for the early dinner (three-course meal).

WOULD I DO IT AGAIN?

This would be a fun journey to share with friends from out of town. ● » tramrestaurant.com.au

The summer city marketing campaign is in market from 12 January to 28 February 2017. During this time we will promote unique summer offerings from city businesses and events. Expressions of interest to participate are now open, closing 7 November.

participate.melbourne.vic.gov.au/ greenlaneways

/cityofmelbourne

The pain factor Make sure you board the tramcar hungry. The three-course dinner (or five-course if you opt for the later service) is filling.

SUMMER MARKETING CAMPAIGN

We’re working to transform some of the city’s laneways into leafy, green space for everyone to enjoy. The Green Your Laneway project is piloting green upgrades in four laneways. You can view the ideas and provide feedback until 27 November.

Connect with us

The pay-off A cosy dinner and tour of Melbourne’s south-east. What’s not to like?

melbourne.vic.gov.au/marketingcampaigns

Contact us @cityofmelbourne

@cityofmelbourne

Sign up to our Melbourne Magazine at magazine.melbourne.vic.gov.au

Visit us at melbourne.vic.gov.au Phone us on 03 9658 9658

RESTORE Old & New Photos FASTFRAME BENTLEIGH

14 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

PRINT on Canvas & Paper

Shop 1, 277 Centre Road Bentleigh 3204 Ph: 9557 7576 www.fastframe.net.au frame@fastframe.net.au

All types of FRAMING

MMP04891-08-a6Nov@FCNVIC

g in at rs r eb ea el y C 25


RETAIL THERAPY

SALES PITCH Furniture and homewares created by local artists and makers in a studio setting.

POP & SCOTT \ NORTHCOTE

Who’s behind the counter? Poppy Lane and Scott Gibson are partners in life and business. They’re known for their artsy, decorative pots, but the couple actually began their business making furniture. “The pots were more an accidental part of our business,” says Poppy, a former florist. “I painted some pots I had got from a local Melbourne maker for the workshop. Then Lucy [Feagins] from The Design Files asked me to paint some for the Design Files Open House.” Despite Poppy’s protestations, she was eventually convinced and the business grew from there. What’s in store? Pop & Scott’s Northcote showroom isn’t your typical retail space. Attached to the business is a workshop and co-op space and you’re likely to wander past a group of artists taking a break in the sun before you make it into the store itself. Inside is a collection of painted pots, plants, textiles including bedding from Australian label In Bed, ceramics by local artists, floor rugs from Pampa, and Pop & Scott furniture, including The Dreamer couch and four bed designs.

Our pick Named after folk legend Joni Mitchell, the Joni pot in medium (40cm diameter and a height of 35cm) is $190.

Who’s buying? Poppy says she gets a lot of local people from the northern suburbs coming through the showroom’s doors. “But we also get people from the other side of town; we get lots of people from the Mornington Peninsula visit us,” she says. “I find that it’s usually the environmentally and design-conscious people who are our clientele.” ● VIRGINIA MILLEN

F I N D U S AT Going potty: Pots, furniture and textiles are local and often hand-made. (STEPHEN McKENZIE)

27a Hayes Street, Northcote 0474 548 194. popandscott.com

MEN’S & WOMEN’S

EUROPEAN DESIGNER LABELS UP TO 70%OFF

Azzaro.

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sat 10am-5pm AZZARO Australia

423 Clarendon Street, South Melbourne ph 9696 2611

azzarostyle

www.azzaro.com.au NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 15


DRIVE

DOUBLE TORQUE ROD & SHERYL EASD OWN TEST DRIVE HONDA CIVIC RS

H E S AY S

S H E S AY S

he Civic RS is something of a Jekyll and Hyde. T With light controls and modest power delivery on light pedal it seems rather sanitised; anything

he Civic has become a large car. And a safe one. T But I wonder about some of the latest safety ideas. This has a screen to show you the trailing traffic on

ROD’S VERDICT A surprisingly enjoyable package. ●

16 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

the left when you activate the left flasher. I guess it covers a blind spot and tells you if there’s a bike coming up the inside but really, what’s the left mirror for? At times I got urgent warning beeps about what I have no idea; I couldn’t see anything untoward. I love the leather seating and the interior is pleasant and nicely appointed but the instrument cluster and the centre screen both get very busy, almost a case of information overload. And given what the RS costs and its big centre screen, where’s the embedded satellite navigation? And the touchpad radio controls are clumsy, especially when moving. But it’s very pleasant to drive, the interior is generous with room for a couple of adults up back and the boot is substantial. And I liked the ability to hook my phone and all its contents into the car’s entertainment system. So you can use your phone’s navigation as long as you have coverage. ●

BY THE NUMBERS IT COSTS \

$35,434

IT HAS \

A 127-kilowatt turbocharged 1.5-litre four-cylinder with continuously variable transmission

WE GOT \

10.1 litres per 100 km in the city, 6.2 in the country. The official combined figure is 6.

C O N S E N S U S \ FUN, WITH FOIBLES MORE \ honda.com.au

(ISTOCK)

vaguely offensive has been sterilised away. But get it out on a stretch of lonely, twisting road, give it some pedal and the surprises start. The handling is great. It tracks around the bends with precision and at the end of one it doesn’t need time to settle at all, it’s ready for the next. There is a feeling of solidity here that is not in evidence around town. And the little turbocharged motor is nicely responsive and very eager. It interacts beautifully with the CVT transmission to keep the turbo bubbling. Quick off the line and quick to overtake. The cost of good handling is ride quality but, while the suspension is certainly firm, it’s seldom sharp. My only complaint with the underpinnings is that the low-profile tyres get noisy over coarse bitumen and poor surfaces – loud enough to drown the audio, which, by the way, isn’t brilliant. A good family car with bonus fun when wanted. ●

S H E R Y L’ S V E R D I C T Electronically over the top. ●


PERSONAL SPACE AT H O M E W I T H T I F FA N Y T R E L O A R

I

t was a dump!” says fashion designer Tiffany Treloar of the house in Caulfield North that she shares with her husband, food writer Richard Cornish, their daughters Ginger, 12, and Sunday, 9, a dog and a small backyard menagerie. The family had lived in the area for 20 years and love the location, but they are still working on the house they bought about eight years ago. “It’s a Victorian-era house, so it’s about 130 years old,” Tiffany says. “The floorboards were rotting, the oven door fell off when I was about to bake something and there was no back fence. That’s all fixed, but I’m currently slowly stripping off the paint in the entrance.” While still a “work in progress”, the house now has a homely, welcoming air and hosts an “eclectic” mix of objects, although most of Tiffany’s textiles and items related to design are housed at her Flinders Lane studio. ● LEEYONG SOO lsoo@theweeklyreview.com.au

M I S S O N I P L AT E S These Missoni plates apparently aren’t being produced any more so they might be collectors’ items in the future. I bought the black-and-white ones as a set and Richard bought me the coloured one. They’re specialoccasion plates and the kids aren’t allowed to touch them (laughs).

EK THONGPR ASERT NECKLACE »

MORE INSPIRATION? SEE MORE OF TIFFANY’S COLLECTION ONLINE

I bought this at Christine boutique as a treat before I opened my new store on Flinders Lane. I’d admired this Antwerp-based Thai designer for years and I fell in love with this piece so finally bit the bullet and bought it. It’s silicone, moulded in the shape of Swarovski crystals, with real crystals added.

DOG I’d always wanted a dog called Iggy Pop, that’s the reason for the name. She’s an English short-haired pointer, nearly two years old, and has a placid personality with hyperactivity thrown in. Next time we get a dog we want to call it Potus (President of the US … it’s a West Wing thing).

CUSHION

I used to compete in equestrian events at state level. I was in pony club but stopped riding when I was about 18. I wore these at the Royal Melbourne Show. I have a lot of pony club memories, such as the gymkhana fancy dress competition when I dressed my pony up as a flying saucer. I was a Martian in mum’s Melbourne Cup jacket and a helmet covered in foil. I made the pony’s costume out of a wire hoop and attached mum’s silver fabric to it to make a skirt.

Richard took this photograph a few years ago in Mexico when he was researching a cookbook. We collaborate quite a bit and I’ve used this picture in my homewares range for several years … I just love the perspective.

J A PA N E S E J E W E L L E R Y B O X I was given this box for my 21st. I’m not sure what it was originally for; it has locks on it so maybe it was used to store valuables. Now it houses the kids’ baby teeth and other knick-knacks.

(SCOTT McNAUGHTON)

RIDING BOOTS

NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 17


THE STYLIST J A N U A R Y J O N E S F I N D S I N S P I R AT I O N

INSIDE TIPS H

ow do you make a house your home? That’s the challenge interior designer Darren Palmer takes on in his new book, HomeSpace. Using real-life interior design projects, The Block judge shares his insights on how to access great design regardless of your lifestyle or budget. Darren talks us through his top five tips on how to style the warehouse conversion.

LIGHT

Make the first point of call to open up the outside and let the light in. A good way to do this is through skylights.

BOLD COLOUR

A warehouse palette is simple and is therefore the perfect space to add big punches of colour.

BALANCING ACT

Choose timber floors and fabrics such as linen and velvet to balance hard industrial features.

T H E I M P O R TA N C E O F A R T

Art brings a space to life and it’s important to find pieces with meaning.

D E C O R AT I O N

With an industrial space, furnishings are the big opportunity to soften the aesthetic. Try greenery, mohair cushions and candles. ● jjones@theweeklyreview.com.au In this warehouse conversion for a family, Darren Palmer leaves the skeleton of the beautiful building to work as a SP SPACE) natural backdrop for his interior design scheme. (FELIX FOREST \ HOMESPACE)

18 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

» HomeSpace by Darren Palmer, Murdoch Books, hardcover, $39.99


CUSHION Aura Luxury velvet cushion in pastel pink, $59.95, from Curious Grace

LOOK BOOK

T R AY S Mirror trays, $79-$199, from West Elm

COUCH Vittoria Porta three-seater sofa, $4055, from Globe West

VA S E

PRINT

Bullet large vase, $24.95, from Country Road

Flotsam, Blush Protea by Lisa Sorgini, $260 (A2 size, unframed), from Pop & Scott

THROW Tula Royal throw, $69.95, from Linen House

STOCKISTS Âť Murdoch Books murdochbooks.com.au \ Country Road countryroad.com.au \ Curious Grace curiousgrace.com.au \ Globe West globewest.com.au \ Linen House linenhouse.com.au Pop and Scott popandscott.com \ West Elm westelm.com.au

3

DO MORE WITH

.60

%

2

p.a.

Comparison Rate Basic Home Loan

Do more with flexible repayments while saving endangered species. Pay no application fee1 I Get a lower rate I For more info, visit bankaust.com.au/domorebasic

mecu Limited ABN 21 087 651 607 AFSL/Australian Credit Licence Number 238431 trading as Bank Australia. Terms, conditions, fees and charges apply. Loans subject to normal lending criteria and approval. Rates apply to applications received from 25/10/2016 however are subject to change at anytime. Check bankaust.com.au for the latest rates. Offer available to new and existing borrowers. Excludes investment loans. For existing borrowers the new loan funds must exceed $100,000. A maximum Loan to Value (LVR) ratio of 80% applies to the Basic Home Loan. 1. Bank Australia will waive the $595 establishment fee for all Basic Home Loan applications received before 31/12/2016. The fee waiver does not apply to investment loans. 2. The Comparison Rate is based on a loan of $150,000 for 25 years. Fees and charges may be applicable. WARNING: This comparison rate is true only for the examples given and may not include all fees and charges. Different terms, fees or other loan amounts might result in a different comparison rate.

NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 19


FITZROY \ 59/183 KERR ERR STREET

VISIT \ domain.com.au

PROPERTY ID » 2013121038

Situated on the top floor of one of the converted historic MacRobertson confectionary factories in central Fitzroy, this apartment offers amazing CBD views, close proximity to cafes, transport, shops and the CBD and features industrial chic throughout the building.

The art deco exterior with mock columns and large windows give the building a distinctive New York loft apartment look. Inside, the atrium’s skylights illiuminate exposed brick walls and concrete and steel walkways. A lift takes you to the second floor where an interior stair ascends to the top-floor apartment. The main living meals dining area is

2

Jellis Craig \ 8415 6100

POSTCODE

3065

1

1

dominated by glossy lacquered timber flooring and uninterrupted views across Fitzroy to the CBD through sliding glass doors. The kitchen lines one end of the living space and has industrial stainless-steel benches and appliances. A Euro laundry is discreetly tucked away next to this. At the other end of the living space is a fireplace and built-in storage drawers.

Price \ $900,000 – $990,000

Outside is a long balcony with timber decking and benches. The view is spectacular. Behind the living area sit two bedrooms with built-in wardrobes and views to the interior atrium. Both are serviced by a central bathroom. The apartment has split-system air-conditioning, blinds and one car space. ● JULIETTE ELFICK

Auction \ November 10 at 7pm

South Melbourne 95 Thomson Street 206/610 St Kilda Road Melbourne 3004

1

1

11.00am Saturday 26th November 2016 CONTACT Anthony Cimino 0400 500 903

12922_927437-001-a03NOV©MMP

20 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

2

1

1

Located for a lifestyle you’ll love The ideal investment, first home or hassle-free inner-city base, this smart one-bedroom apartment hand delivers a lifestyle of complete convenience. Inside, a modern, neutral interior features comfortable open-plan living and dining enhanced by a smart modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances, while the covered balcony and a bonus study nook are welcome extras. The bedroom has a built-in robe and neat ensuite bathroom with shower over the full bath and a space saving concealed European-style laundry. With a café on site, city trams on your doorstep and Albert Park just a block away the living is easy, while extras here include reverse-cycle airconditioning, dishwasher, secure intercom entry, single undercover car space, and gymnasium access.

3

Uncompromising Inner City Living

Private Sale

Utterly uncompromising, this exceptional town residence´s just completed renovation reveals its sophisticated sense of style through beautifully appointed sun filled spaces that include a full Miele kitchen, alfresco room with BBQ kitchen and Liebherr fridge and security system plus remote carport/ second courtyard.

Price

Contact Agent

Inspect

Thursday 6 - 6.30pm

www.95.thomsonstreetsouthmelbourne.com

Saturday 10 - 10.30am Office

Albert Park 9699 5155

Contact James Nicolaou 0438 398 254 Arthur Apostoleros 0411 515 015


MIDDLE PARK \ 287 RICHARDSON STREET The play of light appears to be a common denominator in houses designed by Matyas Architects. At this house, light not only plays but merrily dances its way through the entire renovation downstairs and the extension upstairs. Matyas used its guiding principle of “simple yet elegant with a strong contextual relationship” on the design of this heritage-listed Victorian terrace. The result is an uber-contemporary house behind a Hawthorn-brick facade accentuated by pretty metal lacework and a sturdy original door. A zen garden leads to a skylit hallway and, off it, two bedrooms with ornate roses and original fireplaces. That’s where history ends; the rest is new, in tones of black and white warmed by oak floors and soft carpet. Elegance reigns in the open living, dining and Miele kitchen with its sleek Corian benchtop and speckled marble splashback that indeed makes a splash, especially when lit by a skylight and pendant lights from Italy, and full-height doors that slide onto a north-facing garden and rear-access parking. A cantilevered (and skylit) timber stairway to “heaven” lands you in the vendor’s luxurious main suite and resort-style en suite, and a retreat that opens to a front deck with views of the tall plane trees that line the wide, tranquil street close to the beach, lake, shops and parks. ● HARBANT GILL

POSTCODE

3206

3

2

WE LOVE IT VISIT \ domain.com.au

1

Marshall White \ 9822 9999

PROPERTY ID » 2013140019

Price \ About $2.5 million

Auction \ November 19 at 11.30am

waterside wonder is one of the docklands’ best

402/86 river esplanade, docklands

unique floorplan with indoor and outdoor living overlooking picturesque marina

bed 2 | bath 2 | car 2

bright floor-to-ceiling windows, sleek designer style and superior fittings

balcony runs entire length of the property showcasing tranquil vistas of yarra river

auction saturday 12th nov at 1.30pm

immaculate kitchen splashed with stone, stainless steel features and quality appliances

generous bedrooms with built-in robes and the master boasting dual vanity ensuite

open saturday 12.00pm to 12.30pm baden lucas | 0418 888 751 9091 1400 | lucasre.com.au

NOVEMBER 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 21


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services V

LEAKING

SHOWERS

& BALCONIES WITHOUT REMOVING TILES NSW t VIC t QLD t WA t ACT t SA

Balcony/Shower Leak Repairs Anti-slip Safety Solutions Stone Repair/Sealing Over 17,000 showers repaired each year 19 Years in Business!

Mel bou rne Ele ctric ians

ng All Prici t Up-Fron

megasealed.com.au

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

Electricians

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

yes we can

1152285-PB36-14

V

V

Grow your business with Trades and Services

1181674-18-15

STOP

Trades Business Profile

AREA SERVICING MELBOURNE FOR OVER TEN YEARS

99 99 -81c93 om.au

w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y.

We NEVER

Close Lic. 23691

Call 1300 666 808

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

V

Jason 1300 644 698

se in dverti “We a eekly W l a c our lo let our to y Cit Review rs know of e custom l deals we ecia p s e nd th oing a have g oader r b e ch th Zak to rea ” unity comm

Plumbing

V

1156305-HM40-14

9999-8193 w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y. c o m . a u

We NEVER

Close Lic. 23691

Local professionals in our

Trades & Services

Further information can be obtained from Duncan Lowis on behalf of Optus, (03) 9696 4009, dlowis@kaw.net.au and at http://www.rfnsa.com.au/3205012

4.

Written submissions should be sent to: KAW Level 2, 95 Coventry Street South Melbourne VIC 3205 by Friday 18th November 2016.

For our FAST

V

9998 2905 www.Ser viceToday.com.au

V

ALL ADVERTISEMENTS booked under this classification are strictly for ancillary roles only. To comply with the law it is still an offence under the Sex Work Act 1994 to publish any statements intended or likely to induce a person to seek work as a sex worker.

1193032-LN31-15

yes we can

SERVICING MELBOURNE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

Adult Employment

SENIORS CARD

WELCOME HERE

We NEVER

Close

General Classifieds section of Network Classifieds.

Lic. 104391

Want to place an ad but not sure where to start?

Manhattan Terrace

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front) SWA4281be

Body Rubs

9696 9199 45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Your advert can appear in print and online!

1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

2SHQKRXUV

Call our helpful classified team between 8:30am-5pm Mon-Fri for FREE advice!

section of Network Classifieds.

Phone - 1300 Escort

&%' %URWKHO

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

1230353-CG23-16

Adult Services

Adult Services

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

SERVICING MELBOURNE AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

3.

V

FRIENDLY SERVICE!

12323363-LN38-16

12325190-RC40-16

yes we can

Optus regards the proposed installation as a Lowimpact Facility under the 7HOHFRPPXQLFDWLRQV /RZ LPSDFW)DFLOLWLHV 'HWHUPLQDWLRQ("The Determination") based on the description above.

General Classifieds

Call Us Today...

Call Us Today For our FAST

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

2.

Plumbing

Melbourne Electricians g All Pricin t Up-Fron

PROPOSAL TO UPGRADE A MOBILE PHONE BASE STATION AT 100 DORCAS STREET, SOUTHBANK. Optus plans to upgrade a telecommunications ations facility at (Plan CP158818) 100 Dorcas Street, Southbank VIC 3006 (RFNSA No. 3205012). 1. The proposal consists of the installation of three (3) new remote radio units (RRUs) on the existing rooftop facility; and ancillary maintenance works, including the installation of feeders and works within the existing equipment shelter.

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise.

Melbourne Plumbers

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

Public Notices and Event

V

Massage Therapists

AN ULTIMATE Pleasure. BodySoul relaxation, prof sports massage, sciatica, back pain relief. European exp. Michelle 0431 442 956. CARLTON Chinese Massage. Natural Therapy. 63 Pelham Street. Open 7 days. 10.00am-9pm. 9939 8867.

Relaxation Massage 7 days, 10am to 8pm. 204 Barkly Street, Footscray. Phone 0426 717 328.

Relaxation Massage

Open 7 days 10:00am to 8:30pm. 68C South Parade, Blackburn. Phone 0449 008 636.

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au

1233681-LN27-16

22 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ NOVEMBER 3, 2016

12328874-DJ44-16

Bathroom & Kitchens

12325928-PB41-16

V

General Notices


City Living REMOVALIST & STORAGE

Dr. Tony Stubbs Eye Surgeon

transcorpremovalsandstorage.com.au

 Local & Interstate  Valet Un-Packing  We Sell Boxes  Small & Large Jobs

MB BS BSc(Hons)B Med Sc MS FRANZCO

10 FREE BOXES

FREE QUOTE

Voted #1 in Melbourne

1300 466 838

1237211-HM31-16

Book and mention this ad to receive

Dr Tony Stubbs’ Collins St Practice Coates Building, Suite 2, Level 2 20 Collins Street, Melbourne Victoria, 3000 Tel: +613 9650 8044 Fax: +613 9650 8099

SUNDAY JAZZ 12.00pm - 3.30pm

at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

The Williamstown Eye Centre 120 Ferguson Street Williamstown 3016 Victoria, Australia Tel: +613 9397 8989 Fax: +613 9397 8984

Join us for a relaxed Sunday Lunch with fabulous live entertainment from the Riverwalk Trio. Traditional Sunday Roast Full a la carte menu available Courtyard & private room available

12324434-LN39-16

H e a lt h y A g e i n g S e m i n a r

Booking: www.stmichaels.org.au or call 9654 5120

12328756-PB44-16

11am, 25 November at 120 Collins Street, Melbourne Join Dr Francis Macnab and Julijana Chochovski and enjoy festive mince pies and music as we celebrate this final seminar for 2016 Cost: $20 (Includes tea, coffee and a light lunch)

1134563-RC20-14

Transcorp Removals & Storage

Dr. Tony Stubbs, Eye Surgeon, says that just about anyone can have their vision restored and be rid of their glasses for most of the time. And this is without the use of laser surgery. Dr Stubbs, a visiting specialist at the Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital who has worked with the Fred Hollows eye department at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Sydney, says he began his career through the inspiration of his father, Dr Maxwell Stubbs. “My father was a pioneer in cataract implant surgery from 1963! He has now passed away but some of his patients still come in for a check-up. Not only is this inspirational, it also demonstrates that good surgery outlasts the surgeon,” Dr Stubbs says. A specialist who helps people who have been advised they are unsuitable for laser surgery, Dr Stubbs is also committed to demonstrating that age, corneal distortion or astigmatism are no barriers to eliminating the need for glasses. One of my best moments was treating a 12-year-old girl who was struggling at school because of poor vision due to congenital cataracts even with the use of thick glasses. Now 10 years later, she still has 20/20 vision without glasses. That inspires me. “Seeing my patients’ bright smiles after surgery, as they stop squinting and can read without glasses, is definitely the best part of my job.” No referral is needed and no out-of-pocket expenses are incurred for an assessment to enable all options available to be considered.

1229820-LN22-16

 AFRA Accredited  Valet Pre-Packing  Door to Door Rates  NO Depot or Card Fees

Los Amates has been providing Authentic and Traditional Mexican food for over 12 years now with Classic home made cooking, being recognised in Mexico as a Top 10 Culinary Mexican Embassy by “Buena Mesa” Magazine. also known as the Restaurant that started a Mexican Revolution in Melbourne.

dgkYeYl]k[geYmÛÛÝۀÛAg`fklgfÛJlj]]lÛ=alrjgq•ÛMa[ÛÝÛG`gf]ۆ~„Û‡~


M E L B O U R N E : M O N A R D S , 0 3 9 6 5 0 9 2 8 8 – M O N A R D S C R O W N , 0 3 9 6 9 0 2 5 6 6 G O L D C OA S T: M O N A R D S , 0 3 9 6 9 0 2 5 6 6 S Y D N E Y: S H U M ’ S WAT C H E S , 0 2 9 2 8 1 2 8 6 6 – S W I S S C O N C E P T, 0 2 9 2 2 1 6 2 8 8

The Weekly Review City  

November 3-9, 2016

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you