__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

The fashion issue

theweeklyreview.com.au

MARCH 3-9, 2016

EAT & DRINK + MAMMOTH + TETSUJIN + PINOTS UNDER $40

LOCAL LOWDOWN + COOKIE’S COOL KAT + ANIMAL FLOW

WOW!

HOW AUSTRALIAN FASHION CAME OF AGE BY SARAH HARRIS

CITY


JAR JAR – BINGO!

RED SACRED HEART LOCKET \ 3D PRINTED NYLON, WITH A CHAIN FEATURING SHELL BEADS \ $150

Be a party hit with these tote-along espresso martinis in a jar. The Melbourne Martini – a single-serve espresso martini made with locally roasted beans – is the brainchild of Alexander Haeusler and Dylan Alexander of Windsor’s Soldier On Cafe. Sip with straws or serve in a martini glass. ●

IN A HEARTBEAT

(BRENDAN BALE)

» From Vintage Cellars, vintagecellars.com.au, $8.99 a jar or $14.99 for two

3D meets gothic in a striking incarnation of a time-worn token of love. Artist Susanna Strati’s lockets, for e.g.etal – which can be opened to house precious items – are created with computer-aided technology and traditional metalsmithing techniques. They certainly do what they’re meant to, because we’re smitten. ●

compiled by Miranda Tay, with Ben Thomas

» e.g.etal contemporary jewellery, 167 Flinders Lane, Melbourne egetal.com.au

mtay@theweeklyreview.com.au

Eat drink play love This week we’re talking about … ●

So pretty you could eat it. In a fusion of food and fashion, four award-winning patisseries have teamed with Melbourne designers to create fashion-inspired desserts in Eat My Style, a feature of the Virgin Australia Melbourne Fashion Festival’s cultural program. The sweetener? Each dessert comes with a limited-edition brochure illustrated by Megan Hess. » Until March 13. Visit vamff.com.au/ event/eat-my-style for participants

(LUCAS DAWSON)

EDIBLE STYLE

if the suit fits …

(SUPPLIED) (SUPP

Why should women have all the fun in fashion? Menswear ascendancy is on show at the VAMFF GQ Australia Menswear Runway in an ultimate style guide presented by designers including Arthur Galan AG, M.J.Bale and Dom Bagnato. Think sharp suits, impeccable tailoring and assertive styling.

All style: LIFEwithBIBELOT petit gateau, collaboration between Bibelot and LIFEwithBIRD, D, $9.50; with illustration by Megan Hess

» Melbourne Museum Precinct, March 11, 9.30pm, tickets from $75, vamff.com.au/event/gqaustralia-menswear-runway MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 3


How to contact us GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300

Competitions

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to our Facebook page at

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview or to www.theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, March 6.

GROUP CONTENT DIRECTOR \ EMILY L RAY LY RA NER erayner@theweeklyreview.com.au

WIN

EDITOR \ JANE HUTCHINSON jhutchinson@theweeklyreview.com.au

WORTH

LOCAL LIFESTYLE EDITOR \ HARI RAJ hraj@theweeklyreview.com.au

WORTH

$50

$160

A FURNEAUX ATT GROUP PICTURE EDITOR \ MATT mfurneaux@theweeklyreview.com.au REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ JOHN IOANNOU jioannou@theweeklyreview.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ ANDREW MAHON 9249 5233 \ amahon@theweeklyreview.com.au MANAGING DIRECTOR, DOMAIN VICTORIA & PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON \ tcasson@theweeklyreview.com.au TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 24,750 copies

IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 8318 6833 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

OUR COVER \ Ashlee @ Giant Management photographed by Bernard Gueit @ Crave. See cover story for full credits. CITY

YOUR R LOCAL REPORTE R R RTE

When not rifling through old vinyl at her local record store, Isabelle enjoys good coffee, quality journalism, and breezing through city traffic on her bike.

WIN

ApoteKah, a made-to-order natural skincare brand, is giving you the chance to win one of six $50 giftcards for its online store. This unique Melbourne company creates each order in-house, under carefully monitored conditions. You benefit from quality, hand-made skincare packaged with easy-to-read batch numbers and expiry dates. All ApoteKah skincare products are at their freshest and most potent when delivered to you, giving you the finest, freshest skin protection nature can provide. ● apotekah.com.au

WIN

Win one of two double passes to this year’s City of Moonee Valley Women in Business luncheon on March 18, where Ernst & Young and B Lab Australia & New Zealand consultant Nadia Woodhouse will be the keynote speaker. The event will be a celebration of organisations that have adopted social, environmental and cultural value to become profitable and more resilient businesses. The program will also feature ARIA award-winner, business founder and ABC 774 Melbourne presenter Clare Bowditch. ● mvcc.vic.gov.au/businessevents

Whole Kids is all about healthy kids and a healthy world. The company chooses only the finest-quality organic ingredients it can find to make yummy lunchbox snacks for kids − with no artificial colours, preservatives, flavours or other added nasties. Pick from the popcorn, grissini or fruit bites, available at supermarkets and in health food shops across Australia. Whole Kids is giving you the chance to win one of six hamper packs featuring goodies from its range (valued at $50 a pack). ● wholekids.com.au WORTH

$50

Congratulations to the following winners from February 17: Raewyn Smith, Thi Pham, Kath Hrobarik, Jane Healey and Katherine Varas. Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

Entrants must be over 18 years old and live in Victoria. See our competition T&Cs for details. All winners will be contacted direct by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

ilane@theweeklyreview.com.au 9249 5235

GET INVOLVED IN YOUR CITY GO-GO YOUR WAY INTO THE WEEKEND Shimmy your way over to City Square at 6pm, Friday 4 March for a free go-go lesson as part of First Friday Dance Club. No experience necessary. Enthusiasm mandatory. All welcome. melbourne.vic.gov.au/whatson

EVENT SPONSORSHIP EOI NOW OPEN

FUTURE MELBOURNE 2026 Melbourne is constantly growing and evolving, so it’s important to plan ahead to ensure we remain a prosperous, resilient and liveable city. To prepare for the next decade, we're bringing the community together to refresh the goals for Future Melbourne. This is your chance to help shape the future of our city. Visit our online engagement hub to share your ideas. melbourne.vic.gov.au/future

CULTURAL DIVERSITY WEEK

Applications are now open for our Business Event Sponsorship Program, which makes funding available to organisers of corporate events or conferences between 1 July 2016 and 30 June 2017. Apply online before 5pm, 15 March 2016.

Cultural Diversity Week is coming from

melbourne.vic.gov.au/grantsandsponsorships

12 to 20 March and will feature a huge range of vibrant events, including the free family-

DRAFT LIST OF ACTIONS RELEASED

friendly Community Cultural Fair - hosted by

Have your say on our draft list of actions for the 2016-17 Annual Plan by 20 March and help us finalise the last year of Council Plan 2013-17.

the Multicultural Hub on Saturday 19 March from 11am to 2.30pm. melbourne.vic.gov.au/whatson

participate.melbourne.vic.gov.au/annual-planand-budget

For information on programs, services, Council and committee meetings, please call 03 9658 9658, or visit melbourne.vic.gov.au Connect with the City of Melbourne at melbourne.vic.gov.au/socialmedia Melbourne City Council (from left): Cr Ken Ong, Cr Beverley Pinder-Mortimer, Cr Jackie Watts, Cr Arron Wood, Lord Mayor Robert Doyle, Cr Rohan Leppert, Deputy Lord Mayor Susan Riley, Cr Stephen Mayne, Cr Richard Foster, Cr Cathy Oke, Cr Kevin Louey.

4 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ MARCH 3, 2016


S A R A H H A R R I S M A K E S A FA S H I O N S TAT E M E N T

Join the conversation

WWW.THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/TA U/T LK/MOUTHING-OFF U/TA LK/

glasses in the front row. Not since Jenny Kee plastered a koala across the pregnant belly of Princess Diana have Australian designers been so visible on the world stage. Look, there’s Taylor Swift in Bec & Bridge, the famous Kates – Beckinsale and Middleton – in Zimmermann, Sarah Jessica Parker in Tome, Beyonce in Camilla, and Lady Gaga head to toe in Nixi Killick for a world tour. But our fashion evolution – captured in the NGV’s brilliant 200 Years of Australian Fashion – begs the question: is there an Aussie aesthetic, a distinct cooee that distinguishes us from the rest of the world? The Mother of the Mini, Prue Acton, believes we have a particular affinity for graphics and boldness of colour, while the Princess of Punk, Jenny Bannister, cites a willingness to break the rules. Joe Saba, the man who taught us how to wear black, believes our relaxed Aussie lifestyle is a factor. All these elements are part of the warp and weft of our unique fabric, but it doesn’t really explain why Australian designers are having more than a moment. Mario-Luca Carlucci, one half of the wonderful Melbourne label Strateas.Carlucci, believes the answer lies in the fact that our designers are coming into their own as individuals. “The beauty of the now is that there is not an Australian aesthetic as such.

473 Bourke Street, Melbourne

If you look at all the Australian designers making a name for themselves now, they are all so very different,” he says. “But there is definitely a connectivity between designers that I would describe as an Australian way of doing things. That might be because of our culture and the fact our way of life here is so much different from what it is like to live in Paris or New York. A lot of our designers are willing to make the jump beyond our own shores to take a risk in terms of opening up their markets and sales.” Maybe that’s the spirit of Elizabeth Thackery – still leaping eagerly ashore in foreign ports, only now at the helm of a sexy little yacht, in a Toni Maticevski gown. ● sharris@theweeklyreview.com.au

PR IN CES S D IA N A IN JE N N Y K EE

(BOOK A BIG LIFE BY JENNY KEE) EE)

H

istory does not tell us what Elizabeth Thackery – reputedly the first white woman to set foot on Australian soil – was wearing when she jumped excitedly from a longboat and ran ashore at Botany Bay. But as a convict transported with little more than the clothes she stood up in, we can pretty safely assume her garb was threadbare, shapeless and more than a little rank. The colony’s fashion story was not off to a promising start, with concern being more about a cat o’ nine tails than catwalks. For more than 170 years we would remain the Western world’s wallflower, wearing big sister’s last-season hand-me-downs – always more Little Dorrit than Dior. Not any more. As the city prepares to strut her stuff for the Virgin Australia Melbourne Fashion Festival, it’s never been clearer Australian designers have freed themselves of the tyranny of distance and the muttering of “it’s terribly derivative, dahling” from behind the dark

tell us

DUTCHESS OF CAMBRIDGE IN ZIMMERMAN

1300 558 498

(CHRIS JACKSON \ GETTY IMAGES)

MOUTHING OFF

www.facebook.com/theweeklyreview @theweeklyreview

bupadental.com.au

MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 5


SARAH HARRIS CHARTS THE RISE & RISE OF AUSTRALIAN FASHION

O

’6os

’7os

n the great timeline of world couture, Australia may be a THE MINI-DRESS FLAMINGO INGO P PARK mere flounce on the hem but, as Melbourne prepares to celebrate its 20th fashion festival, it’s clear we’ve come a long In 1965 a coltish bare-legged girl stopped the nation. Gough Whitlam had lifted the millstone of conscription way, baby. Australian designers have never been hotter, with their British supermodel JEAN SHRIMPTON’s appearance at from around the neck of a generation. It was a time of celebrity clientele topping the world’s best-dressed lists, confirming our Derby Day wearing a dress four inches (10 centimetres) optimism, creativity and the flowering of national identity. evolution from backwater to beau monde. International fashionistas are no longer sneering but cheering from above the knee was a tipping point in Australian Drawn back to their homeland from overseas, young the front rows of runway shows that have made the Virgin Australia fashion and culture, much to the mortification of designers JENNY KEE and LINDA JACKSON saw Australia Melbourne Fashion Festival a must on the calendar. conservative matrons. with fresh eyes and were inspired by the distinctive The remarkable story of Australian fashion’s coming of age is The “youthquake”, as it was dubbed by legendary colour, light, flora and fauna. Jenny opened her boutique, brought to life in the National Gallery of Victoria’s latest blockbuster Vogue editor-in-chief DIANA VREELAND, had hit the Flamingo Park Frock Shop, in 1973, stocking it with exhibition, 200 Years of Australian Fashion – the first major survey Melbourne, but there was one designer, herself then aged her own and Linda’s original clothing and designs. of dress in this country, staged as part of the festival’s cultural just 22, who was already ahead of the curve. “It wasn’t just, ‘Hang on, let’s put some wattle on a program. It features more than 120 garments from 90 designers, “In the April of 1965, I made my collection 36 inches jumper’,” says the NGV’s Paola Di Trocchio. “It was the displayed in a thematic catwalk, from the earliest surviving from centre back (of neck) and booked the tallest models psychology of ‘who are we and what do we have that’s colonial dress – an empire-line white muslin from 1805 – to I could so the skirts were way above the knees,” recalls unique?’, and making it exciting and enticing.” a specially commissioned work by contemporary wunderkind PRUE ACTON, OBE. Enough so that the biggest fashion icon of the day, Dion Lee. “By September we had taken them to 32 inches and PRINCESS DIANA, would famously sport a Jenny Kee koala Curator Paola Di Trocchio has pulled together the exhibition then The Shrimp came out and when she hit the deck it jumper to a polo match in 1982, catapulting the designer from the thousands of items in the NGV’s textiles collection, was the best thing. By the Christmas we had skirts up to international attention. charting the journey from the teeny-weeny corseted waists to “absolutely disgusting” and were selling thousands Jenny and Linda remain among our first ladies of the 1860s to the psychedelic colours of 1970s kaftans, via of units a week. The same thing happened when the of fashion and continue to influence contemporary hemlines that wax and wane from the floor up to “disgusting”. Catholic Mothers Association started to complain about designers, most evidently in the work of ROMANCE WAS The showstopper is a sumptuous 1950s blue ostrich feather our bikinis.” ● BORN design duo ANNA PLUNKETT and LUKE SALES. ● ballgown made by husband and wife team Pat and Neil

’8os

’9os

Rodgers of the Collins Street salon La Petite for jazz singer Annette Klooger. “It is a sensational dress. It hasn’t ever been displayed in public before,” says Paola. So is there such a thing as a distinctly Australian look? “Overall Australian fashions tend to have a colour palette that is quite bold. ART CLOTHES FASHION WEEKS There’s a tweak, a slightly different way of putting together accessories and garments The enduring impression is of big hair and bigger shoulder The ’90s, JOE SABA firmly believes, was Australian that defied Britain’s really strong protocols, pads but the ’80s were really the halcyon days of Australian fashion’s “coming of age”. but really, until the 1950s, Australian fashion, when Chapel Street, South Yarra was the place “There was a realisation we had to do business in a far fashion is very conscious of what is to be. “There were all these unique little stand-alone more professional way, to put together a collection for the happening elsewhere.” boutiques,” recalls Melbourne’s punk princess of style, season, whereas prior to that we went by the seat of our The “light-bulb” moment, she says, came in JENNY BANNISTER. “It was an internationally regarded strip. pants,” reflects the man who taught us how to wear black. 1973 with the launch of Flamingo Park, the People like ELTON JOHN, BOB DYLAN, MICHAEL HUTCHENCE, The young COLLETTE DINNIGAN led the strut to global design partnership of Jenny Kee and Linda HELENA CHRISTENSEN, KYLIE MINOGUE all came to Chapel markets, becoming the first Australian to be invited by Jackson. “Up until then we were travelling Street to go shopping. the prestigious Chambre Syndicale de la Haute Couture to along really looking to Europe when “There was a group of us in this little time capsule that show in Paris on the official schedule in 1995. suddenly these two go, ‘Hang on, we are made really outrageous, unusual, edgy, artistic clothes. The following year the world was invited here for the Australian and what is this place?’.” ● sharris@theweeklyreview.com.au We didn’t have to dumb it down for department stores, we first Australian Fashion Week. Among the inaugural 25 » VAMFF runs from March 7-13, vamff.com.au » 200 Years of Australian Fashion, NGV’s Ian Potter Centre from March 5 to July 31 ngv.vic.gov.au 6 THE WEEKLY REVIEW W \ MARCH 3, 2016

made exactly what our imaginations told us.” And they were often ahead of the curve. A full decade before JEAN PAUL GAULTIER designed the famous conical bra for MADONNA, Jenny Bannister created the prototype in recycled plastic in her JE SUIS MOD DELUXE. The FASHION DESIGN COUNCIL was a driving force in promoting the precocious talents of the likes of FIONA SCANLAN of SCANLAN & THEODORE and BETTINA LIANO, who in 1989 produced her first pair of tight-fitting, bootleg, exposed button-fly jeans. ●

designers were JOE SABA, ZIMMERMANN, ALEX PERRY, WAYNE COOPER and a young talent named AKIRA ISOGAWA, who was so cash-strapped he couldn’t afford shoes for his models and sent them down the runway in red socks. “It was nerve-wracking,” says Joe Saba. “It was our first ever time on the catwalk. That was the first time we all really tried to put ourselves on the global market and people started travelling from the northern hemisphere, from Selfridges, from the French department stores, from New York.” ●

Youthquake: Jean Shrimpton at Flemington races. Derby Day, October 30, 1965. Fresh eyes: Designers Linda Jackson (left) and Jenny Kee (right) accompany their model. Red-sock day: Akira Isogawa creation, 1996. (F RFAX ARCHIVES) (FAI

Kerr-pow: Miranda Kerr wearing Ellery, David Jones winter fashion parade 2013. (JACKY GHOSSEIN)


we’ve come a long way

Now At last Australian designers are free from the tyranny of distance as we take it up to the world. DION LEE is one of a growing list of global fashion wonders from Down Under, including KYM ELLERY, NIXI KILLICK, TONI MATICEVSKI, and the internationally lauded STRATEAS.CARLUCCI collaboration of PETER STRATEAS and MARIO-LUCA CARLUCCI. “With all the social-media platforms, it is definitely easier to communicate with a global audience,” says Mario-Luca. “The whole idea of the tyranny of distance – those barriers are being broken down more and more each day. “Advances in technology mean you don’t have to order thousands of metres of fabrics and the market has opened up a lot more to new and emerging designers, but the competition is a lot higher and stronger. “There are so many talented designers out there now and it is about cutting through all that and being able to say, ‘This is who we are’, and being able to shine.” ●

CREDITS

CREATIVE DIRECTION \ Dhav Naidu PHOTOGRAPHY \ Bernard Gueit @ CRAVE MODEL \ Ashlee @ Giant Management MAKE-UP \ Emma Jane for M.A.C. cosmetics HAIR \ Jonny Candy @ Xiang Hair NAILS S \ Chelsea Bagan @ Trophy Wife Nail Art ASHLEE EE WEARS \ (left) Dion Lee navy/black slash ruffle mini-dress $1390 Habbot Taper ankle boot $450 + (right) Dion Lee bias sleeve tee $420 Dion Lee bias stack skirt $1490 Habbot Taper ankle boots $450 OUR COVER \ Nevenka I Am Lover cotton Battenberg lace dress $1787 STOCKISTS \ Dion Lee dionlee.com 9663 3563 Habbot habbotstudios.com 9663 9991 Nevenka www.nevenka.com.au 9654 3506

MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 7


Ask the wine guy I love good pinot noir but am Q always disappointed by cheaper bottles. Can I really buy a good pinot for under $40?

THE VINE

A

GOT A QUESTION EMAIL \

There’s a stalky perfume to this wine that I think is a treat. Behind lie cherry, plum, raspberry and spice aromas. It’s complex, elegant and edgy, but at the same time bright and breezy with savoury cherry, raspberry and strawberry flavours. A little bit out-there, very much hip and absolutely delicious. ●

bthomas@theweeklyreview.com.au

BEN THOMAS’ HAPPY HOUR ONLINE EVERY RY FRIDAY R A AY

W H AT T O D R I N K W I T H B E N T H O M A S

Oakridge Over The Shoulder Pinot Noir 2014 (Yarra Valley) $22; 13.3%

You absolutely can. People tend to have distinct stylistic preferences with pinot. If it’s a bigger style you like, say from Central Otago where you won’t often see change from $40, an elegant bottle from a top Victorian winery might never float your boat. When it comes to the best pinot in Burgundy, the saying goes “producer, producer, producer”. It rings true in Australia, with many second or third labels from the best producers providing great value. Here’s some Yarra Valley gems selling for about $20. ●

ANOTHER DROP?

Enjoy with \ Salmon fish cakes

DCB Wine Pinot Noir 2015 (Yarra Valley) $20; 13.1% DCB, I believe, stands for Domain Chris Bendle. He is also a winemaker at Hoddles Creek Estate. Layered aromas of strawberry, pomegranate, raspberry and subtle spice smell great. It’s seductively smooth and starts with a burst of vibrant berry and cherry flavours, which become savoury and fan out along the tongue. ● Enjoy with \ Peking duck

Yering Station Little Yering Pinot Noir 2015 (Yarra Valley) $18; 13.5% The year 2015 has been touted as a vintage to watch in the Yarra Valley – conditions were mild, even and perfect for ripening grapes. This wine has complexity and texture that many producers would love to have in their wines: a smoky, dark-cherry and strawberry perfume. Great value means I’m happy to forgive its slightly limited length. ● Enjoy with \ Pork rillettes

BARGAIN BUY Hoddles Creek Estate Pinot Noir 2014 (Yarra Valley) $19.99; 13.2% As always, Hoddles Creek Estate pinot represents one of the great yearly wine bargains. Smelling like a fistful of squished berries along with earth and spice, it’s layered and complex. It is smooth and bursting with elegant flavours. There’s subtle structure and the flavours fan out. ● Enjoy with \ Grilled quail

92

92

90

95

100

100

100

100

THE SCORE

● 100-95 OUTSTA OUTST NDING

● 94-92 MUST BUY

● 91-90 MUST TRY R RY

WE S AY

What’s your favourite restaurant dish? Now’s your chance to nominate your favourite restaurant dish to put them in the running to WIN The Weekly Review Must Eat award. By nominating your favourite dish this puts you in the draw to WIN dinner with The Weekly Review’s food editor Alice in Frames at the winning restaurant. To nominate a dish, simply: • Follow us on Facebook or Instagram • Post a photo of your favourite restaurant dish and make sure you include details of the restaurant • Use the hashtag #TWRMustEat • Tag @theweeklyreview

8 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ MARCH 3, 2016

In partnership with

Look out for the excellent 2015 – released soon.


THE FEED E AT

WITH ALICE IN FRAMES WWW. EWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU/EAT WWW.TH A AT

LET’S DO DINNER Tetsujin ● 278 Lonsdale Street, Emporium Melbourne, Level 4. ● 9663 9993 THE VIBE \ Resist the urge to stop and shop as you head to this stylish new sushi and barbecue restaurant on Emporium’s fourth floor.

THIS WEEK I’M …

THE CROWD D \ The sushi bar is packed with a hip young crowd. The barbecue area is more upscale.

EATING \ Ramen. Holy moly! Where have you been all my life, ramen? Equal parts chicken soup for the soul and starving uni student’s two-minute noodles, this slurpy brew is so hot right now and popping up everywhere. I’m still on the lookout for Melbourne’s best, so I’ll keep you posted. (and if you know where it is, tag me!) ●

THE FOOD \ The sushi train chugs along at $3.30 a plate. Otherwise, head out the back for a Japanese barbecue banquet. All seafood comes fresh from Australian waters, and the chicken is free-range and chemical free. Throw your meat, veg or seafood on the barbecue plate, and dip into salt and pepper, sweet soy, or chilli.

(CARMEN ZAMMIT)

THE DECOR OR \ Mod-Asian minimalist.

DUCK BREAST BENEDICT

M A M MOTH \ AR M ADALE

T

here’s an element of spectacle at Mammoth, where the bright space and tiered seating encourage people-watching and brunch envy. Chef Emma Jeffrey (who honed her skills at Fitzroy’s Hammer & Tong) takes risks, packs dishes with flavour and texture, and provides a menu that offers something for everyone. We found ourselves on a share table the first time around, which normally means hushed conversation and tucked elbows. Instead, Skinny Latte opposite us noticed me eyeing off his green chilli chicken between bites of strawberry salad and offered me a forkful. Suddenly, the term “share table” became entirely literal. I’m so glad, because our three dishes turned into seven – which was a great way to chip away at the prolific menu. Return trips yielded the welcome discovery of new additions: twice-cooked aromatic lamb ribs via butcher Peter Bouchier, a refreshed doughnut burger (now with crunchy chicken katsu) and duck breast Benedict with wholemeal crumpets, accompanied by the most un-boring veloute-y hollandaise, crispy sage, pickled shallots and bacon … winner! You can expect to wait 20-30 minutes for a table at weekends. ●

THE DRINK \ Japanese beers on tap, wine and inventive cocktails. Try the stunning Shinto Sour.

THE VERDICT

From a bite of sushi to a no-holds-barred barbecue feast, Tetsujin doesn’t disappoint. ● ISABELLE LANE

OYSTERS

Must eats B L O G G E R S

(SUPPLIED)

● 736 Malvern Road, Armadale ● 9824 5239 ● eatmammoth.com

WE LOVE …

THE SHARE TABLE

COOKING \ Mango sorbet. I use the term “cooking” very loosely here. As tropical fruit season winds down, it’s time to stock up on squashy over-ripe mango, pineapple and kiwi fruit, freeze it down in batches and whiz it up in a powerful blender for the simplest, scrummiest sorbet you could ever ask for. ● WATCHING \ Cooked (Netflix, 2016) I properly inhaled Michael Pollan’s book of the same name when it came out in 2013, full of vivid imagery, fascinating characters and thought-provoking ideas … I couldn’t put it down. Luckily for us, Netflix lets you binge-watch to your heart’s content, with all four parts watchable and digestible. Just make sure you cook dinner first. ● GOING TO O \ The Bank of Melbourne World’s Longest Lunch. Grand prix circuit, Guy Grossi, great company. This event sold out well before the date, so consider this a heads-up for next year. ●

FRIENDLY BARISTAS

STILL H U N G R Y ? JOIN BEN THOMAS & I ON OUR R VIDEO TOUR R OF SOME OF MY Y FFA AVOURITE MELBOURNE MUST-E AVOU ST AT DISHES ST-E

I’m always on a need to know basis. Get in touch: @aliceinframes #TWREat

N A M E T H E I R F AV O U R I T E M E L B O U R N E D I S H E S

@SAR A.OTERI

@FORKSAKE

@ I E AT M E L B O U R N E

BELLE’S HOT CHICKEN \ FITZROY & RICHMOND “I’ve chosen the fried chicken (dark meat, medium, with pickles and broccoli) at Belle’s Hot Chicken as my must-eat dish. If you ever wondered why the chicken crossed the road, this is it.” ●

MUKKA \ FITZROY “It’s one of the most flavoursome curries I’ve come across. The slow-cooked goat is something new for a lot of Australian palates but it doesn’t disappoint. It isn’t complete without their fresh naan bread.” ●

ASCOT FOOD STORE \ MOONEE PONDS “Oh Maine! Best lobster burger in Melbourne. David Stewart is the chef and owner here, and his product is premium – he actually uses high-quality US Maine lobster meat in his burgers. A generous serve too.” ● MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 9


THIS WEEK MAKE SURE YOU T H E B E S T I N E N T E R TA I N M E N T W I T H M Y K E B A R T L E T T

W A T C H \ F R E N C H F I L M F E S T I VA L about it, a kind of cheekiness. Seeing a film like Godard’s Breathless for the first time was just like a cold shower. When I arrived in Australia a couple of years later and saw the film was banned here, I was gobsmacked.” Happily, he thinks Australian audiences are, these days, far more open to foreign films, even if it does mean having to read subtitles. This year’s program contains an impressive 42 new titles and a restored version of Godard’s 1963 classic Contempt. Asked for a personal highlight, David selects Taj Mahal, a drama in which a French family are caught up in a terrorist attack on a hotel. It’s a film that has gained a particular, topical resonance because of the events in Paris last year. “I think it’s a very powerful film. I hope people go and see it in the light of what it’s like being caught up in that sort of situation.” ● mbartlett@theweeklyreview.com.au » The Alliance Francaise French Film Festival, March 2-24, Palace & Kino Cinemas, www.affrenchfilmfestival.org

(SUPPLIED)

T

hese days, there’s no shortage of foreign film fests, but the Alliance Francaise French Film Festival remains the biggest and, for many, the best of the bunch. Festival patron David Stratton (pictured) suggests this enduring success is down to the fact that, unlike most Hollywood fare, French films tend to be seriously unpredictable. “I don’t think there are any boundaries,” David says. “Take a film like Truffaut’s first feature The 400 Blows. Many young men could recognise themselves in that film, because it was so personal to Truffaut, you could sense that honesty. You wouldn’t find that in a Hollywood film at all. It would be rewritten and revised to fit the parameters of Hollywood.” David says he’s had a strong connection to French films since his late teens in London. It was the arrival of the 1960s New Wave, driven by directors such as Francois Truffaut and Jean-Luc Godard, that cemented his early love of cinema. “It was so different. There was a freedom

CONTEMPT \ BRIGITTE BARDOT

GOING OUT

LATIN CLASSES AT FED SQUARE As part of the Melbourne Latin Festival, professional dancers will be showing up at Fed Square to teach salsa, bachata, zouk, samba, cha cha, Argentine tango and more. No experience or partners are necessary, so jump into this opportunity to dust off your dancing shoes and cross Latin dancing off your bucket list. Sponsored by City of Melbourne. ■ March 4 and 11, 6-7.30pm; March 12, 2-3.30pm. Federation Square. Cost: free. www.melbournelatinfestival.com.au

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

ART MELBOURNE ART ADVENTURE Ever dreamed of exploring all those boutique art galleries in the CBD? Here’s your chance! The Melbourne Art Adventure is hosted by an accomplished artist and art curator who will guide you through the city’s contemporary arts scene. The tour includes morning tea and is limited to six participants. ■ March 4-16, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday. Meet on the City Square steps, 44-86 Swanston Street, Melbourne. Cost: $110. melbournefashionadventure. weebly.com/melbourne-art-adventure

10 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ MARCH 3, 2016

MARKET

(SUPPLIED)

FOOD AND WINE FESTIVAL \ RIVER GRAZE This weekend sees a plethora of delightful free events dotted along the Yarra, including the Carnival of Yesteryear (featuring good old-fashioned sarsaparilla, Dagwood dogs, toffee apples and beer and wine tastings), Food Truck Alley, Foodie Films in Fed Square, The Urban Dairy (a tribute to all things dairy), fun-filled activities at Big M Zone (suitable for kids), and Southern American style dining at Ponyfish Island. Visit the website for the full program. ■ March 4, 5-10pm; March 5, noon-9pm and March 6, noon-6pm. Various CBD locations. www.melbournefoodandwine.com.au

LITTLE SPARROW MARKET With a focus on exciting new local wares and sustainable design, this thrice-yearly event is becoming a popular place to pick up something both ethical and unique. The market features more than 60 art and craft stalls from all over Australia, as well as gourmet food and drink.

(SUPPLIED)

DANCE

LITTLE SPARROW MARKET

Expect to see a mix of retro and innovation. March 6, 10am-4pm. Federation Square. Cost: free. www.littlesparrowmarket.com ■

TALK CARRIE BROWNSTEIN Carrie Brownstein gained fame and notoriety in the ‘90s as the frontwoman of riot grrrl pioneers Sleater-Kinney. Later, Carrie once again nailed the current cultural zeitgeist, parodying hipsters on hit comedy series Portlandia. Carrie will rest her guitar for a chat with Myf Warhurst, discussing everything from ’90s punk to her recent memoir. ■ March 8, 7.30-8.30pm. Melbourne Town Hall, 90-120 Swanston Street, Melbourne. Tickets: $20 full; $12 concession. Bookings: 9658 9658. wheelercentre.com ● COMPILED BY JANE HONE WANT YOUR EVENT LISTED?

To be considered for a listing email \ goingoutCITY@theweeklyreview.com.au Y Y@theweeklyreview.com.au


HOT TIX

OPENING NIGHT COMEDY ALLSTARS SUPERSHOW, PALAIS THEATRE, MARCH 23, FROM $58

when she ior) discovers Bea (Susan Pr THE DISTANCE Her friends So K. g. U in e th th ed in a sacr her old life r fo ne ur – until Motherhood is e bo el tiv are suppor marriage in M PLAY rina Milosevic) at th flees a broken (K wi ex nd Al hi d be an Garner) ung children Kate (Nadine joys its ave her two yo en le ay to pl s an sh pl iti e sh is new Br they discover motherland, th urne director crowds in the claimed Melbo ed ac ht by lig de ed g ct in re the dad. Hav a production di t this week in om.au Australian debu m $77. mtc.c e Maiden). th d h an Deeaatth 5 to April 9, fro s (D ch re ar ce M r, Ca ne ia m tic Su Le e ank Theatre, Th ■ MTC, Southb

GOURMET CINEMA Popcorn is so passe. FEAST Melbourne’s latest outdoor cinema takes a more adventurous approach to film fare. Classic films are paired with a specially prepared menu from one of our city’s hottest restaurants. Wes Anderson’s delightful The Grand Budapest Hotel is complemented by shared dishes of humble origins, courtesy of Epocha; the Coen brothers’ classic The Big Lebowski has a side serve of smokehouse treats from Le Bon Ton, and The European provides a suitably Continental accompaniment to Woody Allen’s Midnight In Paris. Chef and The Great Beauty will also screen, with a full range of menus available at each screening. ■ Caulfield Racecourse, March 2-6, $21.95, food options $8-$18. gourmetcinema.com.au BURN THE FLOOR Old-school dance meets cutting-edge choreography as this international ballroom troupe returns to Australia with a new show. Featuring new moves, music and flamboyant costuming by legendary Rome theatrical company D’inzillo, Fire In The Ballroom has already wowed crowds overseas. It’s the latest production from a group whose 17-year career has enjoyed

extended seasons on Broadway and London’s West End. Take note, fans of So You Think You Can Dance. ■ The Palms at Crown, March 3-19, from $69, burnthefloor.com DISNEY UNDER THE STARS Whether you prefer to wish upon KIDS a star or to just let it go, there’ll be something for you (or your offspring) in this celeb-studded concert of Disney classics. Stars including David Campbell, Lucy Durack and Ricki-Lee will perform hits from Frozen, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, The Lion King, Mary Mary Poppins and others. ■ Sidney Myer Music Bowl, March 5, from $49.90, ticketmaster.com.au

KATRINA MILOSEVIC SUSAN PRIOR & NADINE GARNER

CALEXICO Alt-country stalwarts Calexico GIG bring their sprawling, dusty brand of Americana to Hamer Hall this week. Their most recent and much-praised LP, Edge of the Sun, featured collaborations with Neko Case, Ben Bridwell (Band of Horses) and Iron & Wine. For this gig they’re joined by Melbourne’s Krista Polvere, who will also be performing at the Melbourne Grand Prix later this month. ■ Hamer Hall, March 2, 8pm, $30-$69, artscentremelbourne.com.au ●

(SUPPLIED)

WIN!

WIN A LUTHER DVD Thanks to Roadshow Entertainment we have five copies of Luther: Series 4 to be won. Go to theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions and leave a comment identifying the book reviewed in this week’s mag. Closes midnight Sunday, February 28.

Leonard By William Shatner with David Fisher » $32.99 (Pan Macmillan) panmacmillan.com.au

WATCH

(SUPPLIED)

I’ll confess to not being much of a Star Trek fan, but that didn’t stop me enjoying this affectionate memoir of Leonard Nimoy (he of the pointy ears), written by his on- and off-screen best friend (aka James T. Kirk). While much of the joy comes from the duo’s resonances and contrasts with Spock and Kirk – and the behind-the-scenes gossip, of course – the book works because its central character is fascinating, flawed and ever so enigmatic. ●

HEAR

MR ROBOT \ RAMI MALEK

Mr Robot \ Blu-Ray, DVD & Digital, March 3 (Universal Sony Home Entertainment) usanetwork.com/mrrobot

Shy and awkward Elliot (Rami Malek) works days as a coder for a cyber security company, but at night he’s a hacktivist, rooting out paedophiles and other wrongdoers from the web. He’s recruited by Mr Robot (Christian Slater) to take on monolithic corporation E-Corp, whose malign influence seems to lie behind most of society’s ills. Mr Robot is gripping, incisive and topical. ● ONLINE \ Win one of 10 copies of Mr Robot: Season One

Elizabeth Rose \ Intra (Inertia) elizabethrose.com.au

The debut from Sydney’s Elizabeth Rose is slick, R&B-infused pop that might just be too clever for commercial radio. This is world-class stuff, but it’s more FKA twigs than Taylor Swift. Standout track Playing With Fire shows off Elizabeth’s gifts for melody and a playful (if cutting) lyric. “You tried to play me like you would your Game Boy,” she sings, warning a wayward boyfriend she’s on to his tricks. ● ONLINE \ Watch Shoulda Coulda Woulda video

SEE

(SUPPLIED)

STAYING IN

DANCE

READ

VIDEOS: + BURN THE FLOOR + CALEXICO

Bridge of Spies \ Blu-Ray, DVD & Digital (Fox) bridgeofspies.com

Steven Spielberg’s take on the U-2 crisis of 1960, in which an American spy plane was shot down over Russia, feels like a classic thriller. It borrows heavily from old-school spy films, has a surprisingly gentle pace and conjures a lost world when warfare had rules. Strong performances and a script by the Coen brothers ensure this cosiness doesn’t blunt the edge. ● MB BRIDGE OF SPIES \ TOM HANKS

ONLINE \ Read Myke’s extended review MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 11


EVEN E EV V EN EN VE BETTER BEET BE TTTE TT ER ER

Central A big welcome to your new look Coles Central A big thank you to all our customers for your patience while we improved your store, we hope it was worth the wait! We’ve introduced some new features to your store so it’s now even easier to shop for your everyday favourites.

Brad

STORE MANAGER

You’ll also discover exciting new ranges, with the same great value you expect from Coles.

Supporting the community We’re committed to supporting our local community, creating jobs and sourcing from local farms and businesses. It’s the way we’ve served the Victorian community since 1914.

Great reasons to visit your new look store. Your BAKEry AND

MORE From weekday lunches to weekend BBQs, pop into our bakery for all your favourites at the best prices.

Great

DELI

For your cured and smoked hams or specialty local and international cheeses, come in and see us today.


More great reasons to visit your new look store. Showcasing Australian dairies alongside cheeses from around the world, our great value range is perfect for entertaining.

Even better customer service Come meet our team. Whether you want a taste or you’re looking for a product, they can’t wait to help you.

GRAB THE PERFECT WINE TO MATCH TONIGHT’S DINNER. IT’S ALREADY CHILLED AND READY TO GO.

Weekly Catalogue Specials

Located just next door

Our store has changed, but our prices haven’t

Melbourne Central - Lower Ground Level


LOCAL LOWDOWN

OH!

I N YO U R N E I G H B O U R H O O D

OVERHEARD…

1.30pm, Thursday @ Collins Street, city “Siesta should be an obligatory part of the day. I can’t go back to the office after this BLT, I need a nap”

K AT K E L S O Cookie has a firmly cemented place as one of Melbourne’s go-to cool bars and Kat Kelso has been along for the ride. She’ has worked at Cookie for the past seven years (two as a bartender, five as venue manager) and decided two years ago to make the move to the city centre. She was originally hesitant to live so close to work but now knows the city like the back of her hand, and the morning walk to work is a breeze. Where do you go for a great coffee? Magic Mountain. Unpretentious and friendly. For the perfect gift? Incu for something a bit classy and MonsterThreads for something fun. For an interesting bottle of wine? Embla. There’s always something new to try.

(MICHAEL RAYNE RA R)

I love Melbourne

AMPLIFIED BY

For a sneaky takeaway? Izakaya Chuji on Lonsdale Street. Always fresh and delicious and pretty cheap. For some me time? Carlton Gardens to walk my silky terrier Oscar. When friends come from out of town? Il Solito Posto for an Italian dinner and Spring Street Grocer for gelato. For some serious pampering? Miss Fox. Luxe! To brush out the cobwebs? A quick dip in the Rooftop pool at the Adelphi. For a pick-me-up when I’m feeling blue? Comedy at Boney every Monday night. ● JANE HONE

Magic Mountain Saloon 62 Little Collins Street, Melbourne. 9078 0078 ● Incu QV, Shop ACL 12, Albert Coates Lane, Melbourne. 9654 4725 ● MonsterThreads Shop 9, Centreway Arcade, 259-263 Collins Street, Melbourne. 9662 4580. ● Izakaya Chuji 165 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne. 9663 8118 ● Carlton Gardens 1-111 Carlton Street, Carlton. 9658 9658 ● Il Solito Posto Basement, 113 Collins Street, Melbourne. 9654 4466 ● Spring Street Grocer 157 Spring Street, Melbourne. 9639 0335 ● Embla 122 Russell Street, Melbourne. 9654 5923 ● Miss Fox 285 Little Collins Street, Melbourne. 1300 647 736 ● Rooftop Bar 252 Swanston Street, Melbourne. 9654 5394 ● Boney 68 Little Collins Street, Melbourne. 9663 8268.

GIVE IT A GO JANE HONE LETS OUT HER INNER BEAST

We try

The pay-off It’s pretty satisfying when you get the hang of it. There is also a delightfully childlike element to moving like an animal.

ANIM AL FLOW

The promise A 45-minute barefoot workout that uses nothing but body weight and primal movements to achieve greater strength, flexibility, stability and neuromuscular communication. A combination of yoga and Zuu.

14 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ MARCH 3, 2016

Who should do it? Anyone, really. Those who like yoga but want to try something different. Travellers, as it requires no props! The bill Virgin Active memberships start at $26.95 per week (for students) and $30.95 per week (non-students), with an activation fee between $60 and $160 (depending on how much flexibility you need).

WOULD I DO IT AGAIN?

(SUPPLIED)

The reality I decide to let my hair down for this class (literally) in keeping with the whole barefoot, animalistic vibe. We gather in a circle and our instructor Jason takes us through some stretching, slowly demonstrating the first movements we’ll be doing. There’s a lot of crouching, crabs and positions with names like “Beast”. Some of it I’m familiar with via my yoga practice and some of it gets my muscles shaking. We move on to some “travelling” poses, at times looking like we’re frog-hopping or crawling along the floor (at no point are we instructed to make primal noises, which pleases me). Then we’re shown how to flip from one position into another, and I’m pretty proud of what I believe is a seamless transition from a “crab” to a “scorpion” to a “wild thing”.

The pain factor It’s not kind on your wrists, but Jason explains this is not necessarily a bad thing. Also, I can tell by my struggle to walk down stairs straight afterwards that I’m going to hurt tomorrow.

Definitely. This was just a beginner’s class, and I would love to crawl my way to the advanced level. ● Virgin Active Health Clubs, 567 Collins Street, Melbourne, 9206 9100, and 138 Bourke Street, Melbourne, 9268 5300.


Humans of … Melbourne

three of …

WORDS & PICTURES JANE HONE

GRACE \ STUDENT

JESS \ WAITRESS

RODRIGO \ TRAVELLER

(ISTOCK)

the best local labels

WHAT DO YOU LIKE ABOUT MELBOURNE?

WHAT ARE YOU DOING?

The art on the street; the way you guys put up decorations for things like Chinese New Year. Plus it’s the most liveable city! ●

Homework. I’m studying translation. I lived in Japan for a year and would really love to translate Japanese novels into English one day. ●

WHO WOULD PLAY YOU IN A BIOPIC? Lucille Ball, I would hope. She’s funny and clever and beautiful and all the things I would like to be. Basically I just wish I was Lucille Ball! ●

1

Kuwaii Shop 7-8, Cathedral Arcade, 37 Swanston Street, Melbourne. 9639 4942 Featuring clean lines and a dreamy colour palette, Kuwaii is the creation of Kristy Barber. Designed and made locally using sustainable methods.

2

Kitsu Visit kitsu.com.au for stockists Famous for its quirky-cool squiggly earrings, Kitsu’s bright and colourful jewellery range is ethically handcrafted in Melbourne.

3

Dress Up Visit dressup.net.au for stockists Stephanie Downey’s locally made designs are simple, whimsical and feminine and have been described as clothes “for the girl who thinks”.

SOUTH MORANG AND HURSTBRIDGE LINES RAIL MAINTENANCE WORKS Sunday 6—Wednesday 9 March, from 9pm Due to rail maintenance works including signalling upgrades, electrical and track works, trains will run direct to and from Flinders Street Station, not via the City Loop

after 8.30pm. Buses will replace City Loop trains after 8.30pm from Monday — Wednesday. Please note that this may increase your journey by up to 20 minutes.

Please note: this is an example only.

Please Download the metroNotify app for live updates and visit metrotrains.com.au for weekly details.

look out for our

home edition 16 march 2016 Whether you’re building, renovating or simply daydreaming about a home makeover, we bring you the latest trends in home style, talk to the experts, and show you how to achieve picture-perfect living spaces - inside and out. To advertise in this must-read issue, please contact us on 9249 5300 or reception@theweeklyreview.com.au.

MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 15


16 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ MARCH 3, 2016


RETAIL THERAPY HOMIE \ MELBOURNE

F I N D U S AT

Ground floor, Melbourne Central. homiestreetstore.com.au facebook.com/HomelessofMelbourne

SALES PITCH

“Shops like HoMie can provide your essentials, whilst also providing essentials to people who can’t afford to shop and purchase.”

In Melbourne Central, you’ll find one store that stands out from the crowd. At HoMie, three social entrepreneurs are using fashion to create positive change. Who’s behind the counter HoMie is the brainchild of 2016 Young Australian of the Year finalist Robbie Gillies, Marcus Crook and Nick Pearce. The streetwear store had its genesis in the Homeless of Melbourne Facebook page, where the three friends took to the streets to chat with people living rough and share their stories via social media. The project took off, helping to humanise those experiencing homelessness and change public perception. Last year, HoMie, which stands for Homeless of Melbourne Incorporated Enterprise, opened in Melbourne Central, selling on-trend streetwear, while raising funds and awareness. “We love the culture of caring in Melbourne and the ‘conscious consumerism’ movement occurring in our society,” Robbie says. What’s in store: Unisex streetwear with the Homeless of Melbourne monogram. The range includes taples like long-sleeved shirts, tees, hats, beanies, hoodies, track pants and singlets. New designs for women under “the HoMie for Her range” were recently added.

Our pick This black long-sleeved HoMie shirt is a wardrobe staple and will have you covered and looking cool from summer through to winter. $50.

Home help: Marcus Crook, Nick Pearce and Robbie Gilles from HoMie. (SCOTT McNAUGHTON)

Who’s buying Everyday shoppers and people experiencing homelessness are welcome. “We wanted to create a shop where the general public could shop for quality clothing at normal retail prices [and where] we would be able to invite the homeless community to shop for free,” Robbie says. ● ISABELLE LANE

Extremely Rare Blue and Pink Natural Argyle Diamonds Pink diamonds are extremely rare. Rarer still are blue diamonds, which make up less than 0.0001 percent of the world’s diamonds. At Michael Wilson Diamond Jewellers we have always been proud to have access to an exquisite selection of diamonds. Stones that very few would ever have the opportunity of viewing. When the occasion arose to purchase this unique set of natural blue diamonds we could not pass it up. As a result we designed and created this exquisite pink and blue diamond ring set against a sea of over 90 pave set white diamonds.

This piece makes a statement that goes beyond all expectation.

$39,900

03 9439 3111 info@michaelwilson.com.au www.michaelwilson.com.au

MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 17


EXPANSIVE QUEEN ANNE EDWARDIAN

Auction

EAST MELBOURNE 54 Hotham Street

D4 E2 F2

Situated in this most commanding corner position with the desirable North facing rear aspect, the impressive and expansive four bedroom, two bathroom residence affor af ds great flexibility for lifestyle now, and vast upgrade potential in the future. Featuring broad formal entry, enormous formal sitting, and dining room with feature box-bay window, family/ sitting room and four bedrooms. The sunny rear garden includes rear lane access and a single lock-up garage. Held in the one family for 48 years, this is a significant opportunity to own and improve one of East Melbourne’s most substantial period residences.

• Vast four bedroom, two bathroom floor plan • Original ornate cornices and high ceilings • North facing rear garden • Off Of street parking for two cars • Enormous kitchen and bathrooms • 404m2 site

54hothamst-eastmelb.com

caine.com.au 18 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ MARCH 3, 2016

1 Collins Street MELBOURNE

Saturday, 19th March 2.00PM View Thursday and Saturday 2.00 - 2.30PM

Paul Caine 0407 393 900

03 8413 8000


FITZROY \ 15 KENT STREET This stunning warehouse conversion isn’t helping the colonisation of Fitzroy by Camberwell’s downsizers. Architect-designed style, quality fittings and a great location are sure to advance the march of the newly child-free, moneyed-up life-changers. A great use of vertical proportions finds four bedrooms and three bathrooms over four levels (including the rooftop terrace). Well-configured spaces surround a central courtyard void that injects light and creates a great visual connection between the spaces. The void could also house a lift for those future-proofing. The second floor, which is dedicated to living spaces, is the highlight. Polished concrete floors give way to japanned floorboards on this level and add drama to the interiors. A soaring ceiling at the front of the floor allows for a huge wall of glass. This panorama offers views over the old factory rooftops, the dome of the Royal Exhibition Building and the modern cantilever of the museum, capturing the city in a single view. Well-considered sightlines mean the kitchen also gets the view. A great use of texture through the material palette finds gloss and matt in the concrete finishes, 2pac and ceramic tiles. It mixes well with the original red-brick features of the warehouse and the industrial character of the interior. Forget the suburbs, for sure. ● EMMA HOUGHTON

POSTCODE

3065

4

3

1

WE LOVE IT VISIT \ reviewproperty.com.au

Nelson Alexander \ 9417 1956

PROPERTY ID » 2012584678

Price \ $1.9 million +

Auction \ March 5 at noon

SOHO LIVING IN THE HEART OF MELBOURNE

Auction

MELBOURNE 5a/237 Flinders Lane

D2 E1

Located in the heart of Melbourne’s coffee cof and boutique shopping district is the 1940’s landmark that is Ashdowne Apartments. Featuring eight storeys and only 14 apartments, this boutique block encapsulates the era it was built while still providing a SoHo luxury you’d expect at this address. The apartment itself faces North and overlooks the bustling Flinders Lane from the open plan living room with large windows, Juliet balconies, high ceilings and parquetry floorboards.

• Rooftop terrace • Boutique block • Sophisticated Melbourne location • Well maintained common areas • Double glazing • Gas cooktop

caine.com.au/2692809/

caine.com.au

1 Collins Street MELBOURNE

Saturday, 12th March 11.00AM View Thursdays 6.00-6.30PM and Saturdays 3.00-3.30PM

Toby Campbell 0409 965 146

Tom Bayly 0478 073 308

03 8413 8000 MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 19


Melbourne 2004/68 La Trobe STreeT

3A

Melbourne on Show

Expression of Interest - Closing 11th March Price $1,100,000 plus View Contact Agent Contact Gina Donazzan 0412 430 326 Sam Fenna 0437 309 715 Office hockingstuart Melbourne 9600 2192

This magnificent abode is a rare find in every sense of the word. The vista views are simply breathtaking. Comprising 3 well-proportioned bedrooms all overlooking your vast private terrace. Each with either built-in or walk-in robes. The fully tiled bathrooms are stand out in quality and finishes, the ensuite boasts the elusive bathtub too. Enjoy your panoramic views from every room in the house. The large open plan living & entertaining will delight with it wrap around showcase views of beautiful Melbourne City in all its glory. This building offers 24 hour concierge, manicured gardens, pool, gymnasium and even a cool room for the resident’s convenience. The cherry on top are the 3 secure car parks on title with this rare diamond. 20 The weekly review \ MARCH 3, 2016

2B

3C

HOCKINGSTUART.COM.AU


find your new home + discover your new neighbourhood

DINING

SCHOOLS

M A R K E T DATA

TRANSPORT MARCH 3, 2016 \ THE WEEKLY REVIEW 21


Trades & Services Removalists & Storage

V 1193032-LN31-15

V

General Classifieds

REMOVALIST & STORAGE transcorpremovalsandstorage.com.au

&%' %URWKHO

2SHQKRXUV

V

THE MOST EXCLUSIVE ESCORT AGENCY

Manhattan Terrace

8C Level 2, 221 Queen St, Melb, 10am-7pm. 7 days. Theraputic massage. Ph: 0421 201 133.

Body Rubs

CARLTON Chinese Massage. Natural Therapy. 63 Pelham Street. Open 7 days. 10.00am-9pm. 9939 8867.

SWA4281be

9696 9199 1175743-HM10-15

AN ULTIMATE Pleasure. BodySoul relaxation, prof sports massage, sciatica, back pain relief. European exp. Michelle 0431 442 956.

Body Treatment

554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

Transcorp Removals & Storage

Massage Therapists

03 9347 6000 (2hr meter parking out front)

Specialised equipment & Voted #1 in Melbourne

1300 466 838

Adult Services

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

 Local & Interstate  Valet Un-Packing  We Sell Boxes  Small & Large Jobs

FREE QUOTE

V

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

 AFRA Accredited  Valet Pre-Packing  Door to Door Rates  NO Depot or Card Fees

Adult Services

45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

Phone - 1300 Escort 1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

% Dinner Companions % Social Escorts % Sensual Ladies CITY CENTRE Melbourne’s exclusive entertainment service. Highly recommended for our interstate and overseas visitors.

9654 6011

SUGAR LAND

Exotic. Asian & Europe girls. $50 - 30mins. Full body. CBD. Open till late. Phone 0488 041 250.

CBD - 5 MINUTES TO YOUR DOOR 有很美丽的中国小姐! 请看网址。 1189965-EG27-15

See real pictures of our ladies at paramour.com.au

Yan 0403 664 136 RICHMOND HILL

Call or book at rsvp@paramour.com.au MELBOURNE CBD

ASIAN MALE MASSEUR

Full body relaxation massage.

PCA113E

Employment V

Bathroom & Kitchens

LEAKING

SHOWERS

& BALCONIES WITHOUT REMOVING TILES NSW t VIC t QLD t WA t ACT t SA

Balcony/Shower Leak Repairs Anti-slip Safety Solutions Stone Repair/Sealing Over 17,000 showers repaired each year 19 Years in Business!

Training And Development

Find your Local Professionals in our

Trades & Services

ALACC Health College, Australia

section of Network Classifieds.

RTO: 21872 | CRICOS: 02933E

+ NURSING + AGED CARE V

Electricians

+ DISABILITY

J.L. Hutt Electrical

22 THE WEEKLY REVIEW \ MARCH 3, 2016

+ COMMUNITY SERVICES

V

Plumbing

Return to Practice for Enrolled Nurses & Overseas Diploma Nurses 1/169 Plenty Road, Preston, VIC 3072 P: 9480 4445 M: 0404 000 993

SERVICES + MANUAL

+ FOOD SERVICES + MEDICATION

+ EARLY

Jason 1300 644 698

+ HEALTH SUPPORT

HANDLING

+ FIRST AID

• Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

1210438-CG50-15

1210220-CG49-15

1156305-HM40-14

24 HOUR SERVICE Rec: 17824

1152285-PB36-14

Electricians

Trades & Services section of Network Classifieds.

*Your eligibility will be determined by us before you enroll in a course

+ ENGLISH & EAL

megasealed.com.au

V

Government Funding available for all our courses*

CHILDHOOD

ENDORSED FOR

EDUCATION

NURSING & PCA 1216026-CG06-16

STOP

1181674-18-15

V

April 2016 Intake

E: janet@alacchealth.edu.au W: www.agedcare.net.au F: www.facebook.com/alacchealth

Open 7 Days a Week 09:00 - 17:00 hrs


Lifestyle

ADVERTISING FEATURE To advertise in this page call Tania on 5945 0636

Friday Jazz at Amora Riverwalk

Rentt-A-Boomb Re b Ca Car Reenta talss

Biryani House

Friday Jazz

Rent-A-Bomb Car Rentals is a reliable and affordable car hire

The king of festive dishes served on tables of the Nawabs. The 400 year old history of Hyderabad is never complete without its classic Biryani. An exotic blend of rare spices infused in meat and fragrant long grain basamati rice, which is a complete meal in itself. Their passion is Biryani. Biryani House also specializes in curries, Tandoori, naan bread and many more favourites. Open for lunch and Dinner 7 days a week. The royal cuisine of Hyderabad Deccan.

649 Bridge Road, Richmond. (03) 9246 1200

5 - 8pm

343 King Street Melbourne 9329 4323

company with 13 locations in 3 states. We are open 7 days a com

Happy hour includes complimentary finger food.

week and offer o airport service at selected stores, after hours

Live Music, great food and warm atmosphere.

roadside assistance. We are the largest new and used car hire roa

For more info, visit our website or contact us now on

comp com pany y in Australia and have been in business for over 35 years.

9246 1200. www.amorahotels.com

Australia-wide online or call 13 3 15 53

Receive 5 per cent discount when you mention or present this ad. 1205818-HM46-15

www.rentabomb.com.au www.ren

For your nearest branch log into www.biryanihouse.com.au 1134303-RC20-14

1172843-CG07-15 5

Almara Cabinets

Westgate Bin Hire

St Kilda Army & Navy Club – Your Community Club

Almara Cabinets is a family business established in 1995 with several years previous experience in the wardrobe industry. Almara’s core business is the manufacture and fitting of primarily wardrobes, however, they manufacture other products in the line of custom-built wall and entertainment units, desks, cabinets, laundry cupboards, shelving and garage storage. Have an experienced designer come to you, for a no obligation quote. They also deal direct with builders.

Westgate Bin Hire is a family owned and operated business.

All Welcome, great facilities including exceptional

Small skips from $130. Bobcat hire and site cleaning. Mixed and

Function Room for hire.

heavy loads accepted. Friendly and reliable service.

Winnebago Lounge each Sunday live free music

Satisfaction guaranteed. 7 days service. For more information,

upstairs 5pm start

www.almara.com.au

Westgate Bin Hire

Melbourne wide. 9793 8233

Melbourne. 0403 215 624 or (03) 9364 2149

1133128-KC19-14

88 Acland Street, St Kilda 9534 2348

please do not hesitate to contact us. 1133068-KC19-14

1219174-RC09-16

Paul Tillich - The Most Comprehensive Rubira’s

Sunday Jazz At Amora Riverwalk

Dr Francis Macnab presents a free public lecture exploring the

Join us at Amora Riverwalk for a relaxed Sunday lunch with fabulous

120 Collins Street, Melbourne. 9654 5120

psychology and theology of Paul Tillich. 2016 marks 51 years since Tillich’s death but his work still echoes in modern day psychology. Refreshments at 6pm, lectures starts 6.30pm Thursday 3 March RSVP online at: www.stmichaels.org.au

649 Bridge Road, Richmond. (03) 9246 1200

480 Victoria Street North Melbourne. 9329 1634 192 Station Street Port Melbourne. 9646 2746

SIMPLY SENSATIONAL SEAFOOD Now two venues, both offering nothing but the best fresh seafood sourced from the market daily. Oysters, Prawns, Lobster, Scampi, Mussels, Calamari, Scallops, etc , etc and up to 10 different varieties of fish, all filleted and expertly prepared on site. www.rubiras.com.au

1215922-CG05-16

info@rubiras.com.au

1176165-ACM11-15

live entertainment from the Riverwalk Trio 12pm - 3.30pm every Sunday. Traditional Sunday Roast. Full A La Carte menu available. Courtyard and private room available. For more information, visit our website or contact us now on (03) 92461200z www.melbourne.amorahotels.com

1219173-DJ09-16


LET YOUR INSTINCTS DRIVE YOU. The all new MINI Clubman has been intuitively designed down to the last detail. With distinctive split doors at the rear, top shelf finishes like sumptuous Chester Leather, the latest communications technologies and a sophisticated array of equipment, you’ll know this is the MINI for you the moment you lay eyes on it. So trust your instincts and book a test-drive at MINI Garage Melbourne today. MINI GARAGE MELBOURNE 209 Kings Way, South Melbourne. Ph (03) 8699 4888. minigaragemelbourne.com.au LMCT 8155

THE NEW MINI CLUBMAN.

Profile for The Weekly Review

The Weekly Review City  

March 3, 2016

The Weekly Review City  

March 3, 2016

Advertisement