Page 1

NEXT WEEK MELBOURNE’S B E S T SCHO OL S INDEPENDENT

Schools Guide

2018

FEBRUARY 7-13, 2018

Choosing the right school for your child PLUS \ SCHOOL PROFILES & FEES

B AY S I D E & S O U T H E A S T

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

DELIA DELISH S H A N E ’ S L I F E O N A P L AT E

DOWNLOAD AUSTRALIA’S #1 PROPERTY APP B AY S I D E & P O R T P H I L L I P

INSIDE GIN SLING + G R E Y M AT T E R + LITTLE LUNCH + T U R N I N G JA PA N E S E +


BESPOKE

THE BAY VILLE BY SIGNATURE

Image depicts items not supplied by Metricon namely landscaping, water feature, paths and fencing.

ICONIC

ST YLE.


HAMPTONS LIVING BY SIGNATURE The Bayville is a beguiling re-telling of the world-famous Hamptons style, simply perfect for Melbourne’s most prestigious bayside locales. Relax in this statement of prestige coastal living, with ample use of cool timber and a light filled nautical-themed interior. The perfect retreat for those who demand more from life. Use our design as your starting point, and enjoy the professional journey as we help you to create your very own Signature by Metricon home. Inspired style, that’s always refreshingly affordable. And aways as unique as you.

[ CALL 13 88 80 TO ARRANGE A SIGNATURE BY METRICON CONSULTATION ]


Where luxury meets lifestyle.

Quality Design | Quality Build Individually designed homes & Dual Occupancy Solutions. Contact us today for more information or to organise an individual walk-through.

Call Amanda on 0487 048 300

SHOW HOME LOCATIONS OPEN FOR VIEWING Saturday & Sunday 1pm–4pm and Wednesday 1pm–3pm or by appointment. Mirage 53 47 Marriage Rd, Brighton East

Monet 55 295 Belmore Rd, Balwyn North

Regency 42 84 East Boundary Rd, Bentleigh East

Brighton 34 (dual occ) 5 Meek St, Brighton

Washington 51 361 Stephenson’s Rd, Mt. Waverley

London 34 (dual occ) 44 London St, Bentleigh

cartergrange.com.au


C O M PI L E D BY M I R A N DA TAY SDP MEDIA

SUPPLIED

STREETS AHEAD \ Street culture hits the runway in Ego Expo, a unique

BEACH BOYS \ Twilight polo on the beach combines fab food and wine

fashion event that lets you buy live online. Shed 14, Docklands. February 17-

with players and steeds kicking up the St Kilda sand. Kennedy Twilight

18. Adults: early bird $30, standard general door $35. ● egoexpo.com.au

Beach Polo, February 16, tickets from $99. ● twilightbeachpolo.com.au

EAT DRINK PLAY LOVE ●

KIRSTEN DICKIE

EUGENE HYLAND

Submissions email | miranda.tay@domain.com.au

VEGAN HAVEN \ Israeli-influenced greens, grains and non-meat grills

FLOWER POWER \ Magnum + Queens’ launch of its wine label, Fiorire,

star at Green Man’s Arms, a vegan and vegetarian Carlton pub. Bar menu

is a tribute in taste and illustrated visual to the cultivation of great fruity

from $6, dinner menu from $12.50. ● greenmansarms.com.au

sensations. Fiorire, $35 a bottle. ● magnumandqueenswine.com

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

5


B AY S I D E & P O R T P H I L L I P

Competitions

THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

GENERAL INQUIRIES \ 9249 5300 editorial@domain.com.au

TO ENTER \ For your chance to win any of these freebies, go to theweeklyreview.com.au/competitions

EDITOR \ EMILY POWER

and enter your details before midnight on Sunday, February 11, 2018.

DEPUTY EDITOR \ JESSICA DALE PICTURE EDITOR \ KYLIE THOMSON PROOFREADER \ NICOLE BITTAR SENIOR DESIGNER \ COLLEEN CHIN QUAN DESIGNER \ EMMA STAUGHTON EDITORIAL ASSISTANT \ KENDALL BOYD REAL ESTATE SALES DIRECTOR \ MATTHEW MAASDIJK \ 0417 307 710 \ matthew.maasdijk@domain.com.au REGIONAL SALES MANAGER \ ANDREW MAHON \ 9249 5300 \ amahon@theweeklyreview.com.au

WIN \ FOOD BABIESS LO LOVE

WIN \ NERIUM

WIN \ TWILIGHT HT POLO

PRIZE PACK, WORTH $53

INTERNATI A ONAL SKINCARE PACK, ATI WORTH $345

TICKETS, WORTH $396

PUBLISHER TWR \ TRENT CASSON TWR DISTRIBUTION \ 53,448 COPIES

domain.com.au IS YOUR MAG MISSING? DISTRIBUTION \ 1800 032 472 distribution@theweeklyreview.com.au

Win tickets to the hottest event

Best-selling author of Food Babies Love, Emily Dupuche, has created

Nerium International are giving

in Melbourne this summer — the

a range of artificial-free Food

one lucky reader a skincare pack,

Kennedy Twilight Beach Polo on

Babies Love fresh pots, available

combining the best of science and

February 16. You and three friends

at Woolworths. Here’s your chance

nature. Nerium International is a

have the chance to witness world-

to win one of six Food Babies Love

leader in scientifically based anti-

class beach polo on the sands of

OUR COVER \ Orange blossom-glazed pork cutlet with fennel and preserved orange sorrel, photographed by Eve Wilson

packs, valued at $53.75 each.

ageing skincare.

St Kilda West Beach.

● foodbabieslove.com.au

● nerium.com

● twilightbeachpolo.com.au

Published by Domain Group. A Fairfax Media business (ACN 141 396 741). All material is copyright and The Weekly Review endorses the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance’s “Code of Conduct”. Responsibility for election comment is accepted by Trent Casson, 380 City Road, Southbank, Victoria 3006. All significant errors will be corrected as quickly as possible. Distribution numbers, areas and coverage are estimates only. For our terms and conditions, please visit www.theweeklyreview.com.au

Congratulations to the following winners from December 20: Amna Mazeh, Marti Ahern, Kirsty Breen, Caitlin O’Dwyer, Erin Rennie, Sandunee Mallawa, Grace Loo, Janise Sibly, George Kots, Janette Bartlett, Tim Glennen, Stephen Fairlam, Jarrod Choong, Jill Glocer, Carol Hayes, Christine Moffat, Alistair Smith, Darren Primon, James Dean, Pat Richardson, Michelle Jaconis, Justin Cook, Michelle Welsh, William Mant, Maria Logan, Sharon Sadler, Domenica Lombardo, Margaret Bellis. Entrants must be over 18 years old and reside in Victoria. See our competition Terms & Conditions for details. All winners will be contacted directly by the prize supplier and within seven days of winners being drawn. Queries to: freebies@theweeklyreview.com.au

Come home to The Crescent Brighton Apartments from $720,000 Our refurbished one and two bedroom retirement apartments are designed with you in mind. Live in a safe, secure environment and enjoy privacy as well as social engagement. • • • •

Easy walk to Church Street shops Chef prepared meals available 24-hour on-site staffing Bistro, gym, library

Inspect Thursdays 1-4pm, or by private appointment, please call us on 1300 204 032 thecrescentbrighton.com.au

The Crescent Brighton 95 Outer Crescent, Brighton VIC 3186

6

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


The editor’s desk THEWEEKLYREVIEW.COM.AU

The view

BY DARRIAN TRAYNOR \ Melbourne

Walking through Carlton Gardens in the rain. ●

When chef Shane Delia speaks of his wife and children, he does so with as much passion as there is palate-tingling spice in his signature – and celebrated – Middle Eastern cooking. One of Delia’s culinary creations is our luscious cover this week, and he shares with journalist Sarah Marinos the ingredients that have made him a respected businessman and family man. A reminder for mums and dads: in next week’s edition is our Independent Schools Guide – an essential, in-depth handbook to choosing from the best private schools in Melbourne. ●

● 1/640 sec ● f/4 ● ISO 1000

CHECK US OUT ONLINE

+ Eat & Drink + Style & Design + Homes & Architecture +T Travel & Lifestyle + Arts & Entertainment + Education & Innovation

ARE YOU A BUDDING STREET PHOTOGRAPHER? If you have a great snap of the city, we’d love to feature it on this page.

FOLLOW US @THEWEEKLYREVIEW FAC E B O O K

I N S TAG R A M

Send your best high-resolution shot to theview@theweeklyreview.com.au FOR SOME HELPFUL TIPS, VISIT \ theweeklyreview.com.au/theview

YO U T U B E

CHRIST CHURCH GRAMMAR SCHOOL

Academic Scholarships Academic Scholarships are available for entry into Years 4 and 5 in 2019 Applications close on Wednesday 14 February, 2018 To apply, book online now www.ccgs.vic.edu.au

www.ccgs.vic.edu.au

An inner city, independent, Anglican, coeducational 3 Year Old-Year 6 school T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

7


I N T E RVI E W ● SA R A H M A RI N O S

Taste for true grit SHANE DELIA’S SPICE JOURNEY HAS TAKEN HIM FROM THE WESTERN SUBURBS TO THE FOOTHILLS OF MOUNT LEBANON

I

n The Weekly Review’s photographic studio, Shane Delia is discussing the secrets of making a perfect meringue – a clean bowl, egg whites at room temperature and slowly raining in the caster sugar … Delia lives and breathes food and flavours and it’s been that way since he was 13. He grew up in a hard-working Maltese family in the western suburbs and his teenage years were a challenge. Teachers at Keilor Downs Secondary College probably didn’t have the young Shane Delia earmarked for the success he now enjoys. “I had some learning difficulties,” he says frankly. “I was diagnosed with ADD eventually but teachers just thought I was a bad kid who didn’t want to listen. They were always kicking me out of class. I wanted to succeed but I didn’t have the tools. You keep hearing ‘you’re bad, you’re dumb’ and, when you are trying really hard and getting bad marks, you think you’re stupid.” A correct diagnosis and medication turned things around for Delia, 38, but by then he already had his heart and mind set on leaving school to start cooking. “When I was given the drugs I needed, I smashed it – suddenly I was getting A+,” he smiles. “I’d come home and go to my room to do my homework. But it was too late and anyway, I’d go insane in an office all day! I wanted to cook but it wasn’t glamorous then. People who flunked out of school or who came out of prison were cooks!” Delia’s extended family were tradies – electricians, bricklayers and mechanics – but those trades lacked the creativity he craved. “My happiest times were eating and cooking with my family. Every Sunday we had lunch with Mum’s side of the family and dinner with my paternal grandfather – 50 or 60 people,” he recalls. “I had a block-release apprenticeship at the Gordon Institute in Geelong when I was 17 and Dad and my grandfather would drive me there after the family dinner. I was boarding in a dodgy place, earning a few hundred bucks a week and my grandfather would slip me a few bucks.

8

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

“Dad came to Australia at 17 with a couple of bucks and worked in the Dunlop factory for 36 years. He began as a tyre builder, educated himself and left as a director in south-east Asia setting up new factories. He’s the most selfless person I know. Before I got my licence and I was cooking I didn’t finish work until 11.30pm and the last train home to the western suburbs was a V Line at 10.30pm. Dad picked me up every night, put on the L-plates, I drove home and he’d be up at five o’clock the next morning for work.” The structure and hierarchy he found in the kitchen suited Delia and he still seeks that structure and routine in his working day. He worked at Eden on the Park and Sofitel before becoming sous chef at Chateau Yering.

“I’m not saying I’m gifted, but I like food and I understand flavours – it’s the only thing that comes easy to me.” “I worked in pubs and pasta shops and hotels and then I realised there was another world of internationally renowned chefs who were innovators. They were highly skilled and wealthy and I wanted to be part of that,” he says. “A lot of cooks work hard and there is that pocket who work hard and they’re gifted. I’m not saying I’m gifted, but I like food and I understand flavours – it’s the only thing that comes easy to me. I see something and instantly know five things that will go with it and how I’m going to use it.” In 2008, Delia opened Maha with George Calombaris – in 2013 he became sole owner of the award-winning Middle Eastern restaurant. It’s named after Delia’s wife, whom he married in 2007 but the couple had known each other for years. “Maha worked with my sister, Sarah, as a

hairdresser. I’d see her around and would tell Sarah ‘Maha’s cute’ but Sarah would tell me to leave her alone because she had a boyfriend. Then they broke up and Sarah suggested we go out. Maha says she had to convince herself, but I was persistent. “We married in 2007 and I wouldn’t be where I am without Maha’s support. She brings it back to the simple things all the time. I find it hard to get out of bed some mornings and sometimes I find myself upset for no reason. But every time, Maha pulls me back. I would have left me five times! I


his favourite American rap artist who was shot dead in Los Angeles in 1997. He’s wearing a jacket bearing the face of the rapper that he bought in New York and couldn’t resist slipping into his suitcase. Delia discovered Biggie Smalls when he was 14 during a family trip to Detroit to see relatives. “I saw hip-hop culture for the first time and I immersed myself in this music that was so powerful but so wrong, too, then. You were a ratbag if you listened to that music,” he laughs. “But I related to the messages in the stories. I didn’t live in a ghetto but I was a kid who was under-achieving and the music gives you a voice. I heard Biggie Smalls and thought he was an amazing lyricist and many of his songs were uplifting. There’s a song called Juicy – he talks about the dreams he had of being something else and of achieving that. It’s the anthem for me.” Delia is a self-confessed perfectionist and creating Biggie Smalls became all-consuming. He spent $800,000 just on the fit-out and soon launched the Biggie Smalls Food Truck, and in September last year, another Biggie Smalls at the Windsor end of Chapel Street. “I didn’t want another kebab shop. I got excited with it and wanted it to be special. Rap has an element of bling and glamour and I wanted Biggie Smalls to feel authentic to the last detail. My favourite kebab on the menu is the Juicy kebab. It’s tasty as hell! Have it old school with hot sauce – rocket fuel!” he grins. “If I do something it has to be 100 per cent. We re-fitted Maha 12 months ago and spent a million bucks but I still wasn’t happy, so two months ago I put another $200,000 in to it.”

SUPPLIED

D

think it’s the pressure I put on myself. When I was a cook it was just me. Now I have millions of dollars of debt and 80 employees with families to think about so I have to stay focused. “I hate the term ‘celebrity chef’ with a passion. I am at the businesses all the time. I take food out to people – I’m not peeling the carrots – but I’m there and I write every dish with my team.” That focus led Delia to Biggie Smalls Kbabs – a kebab shop with a difference on Smith Street in Collingwood. Delia named the flagship venue after

elia’s Spice Journey series on SBS brought his passion for food to a national audience and he credits the show with enhancing his culinary capabilities. It took him from Iran and Morocco to the foothills of Mount Lebanon. “I am 10 times the cook I was before I did the show,” he stresses. “I landed in Lebanon in season one with a backpack and heap of notes. I never did any training and it was hard work. There was conflict in Syria and at one point we were filming in a market in Morocco and I was p****d on by a donkey. “I’ve been told by SBS there won’t be another Spice Journey, although I’d love to do something similar in southern India where the spice trade began. And I’d like to do a Spice Journey in New York – the biggest melting pot in the world.” His success and popularity have attracted some high-profile partnerships. Delia is a proud Western Bulldogs ambassador and a supporter of Melbourne City. But one of his most rewarding partnerships is with Mercedes-Benz.

For a motorsport lover, taking part in a Celebrity Grand Prix and driving a car he never dreamed he’d own is still a bit of a surprise. “When I was young I built cars with an uncle,” Delia says. “He re-built old Holdens and he and Dad loved motorsport. My first car was a $600 piece of s**t that was in my uncle’s paddock with grass growing through the floor. I spent a year working on it – a Nissan/Datsun Pulsar. My other uncle sprayed cars as a hobby and he said he’d paint it for me. I had no money so he told me to collect his halfempty tins and mix them and that’s what colour my car would be. It was pink and he put all these metallic flakes in it – so much in that my car was all glitter. But I drove it for three years. “I still don’t understand why Mercedes-Benz wanted me. Think about that boy with ADD getting expelled from school – did you ever think he’d be a brand ambassador for Mercedes-Benz? Every morning I get up and there’s a Mercedes C63 sitting in my garage. How good’s that?” Delia has swapped the Sunbury home he’d lived in since his 20s for a larger family home – but he stayed true to his roots, choosing Moonee Ponds over swankier options south of the river. “We looked in South Yarra and Toorak but they’re not my home. I have to stay true to who I am,” he says. And Delia looks forward to being his true self on Sundays when he gets to spend time with Maha, his young children, son, Jude, and daughter, Jayda. “Monday nights we have dinner at Mum’s house – my brother, sister, our kids and cousins. I work Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. On Saturday my daughter goes to Arabic school and I pick her up and we have lunch and then I go to work. “I love Sundays. I take my daughter to Vic Market early. We have a look at what to buy, have a burek, come home and I cook brunch or late lunch. Then I’m on the couch, chilling out and holding my kids.” Away from the kitchen, Delia keeps fit and focused by boxing. He trains three mornings a week, spending another two mornings lifting weights in the gym. “I box to keep fit and manage my weight and it makes you stand up straight and confident,” he says. “I’m a bit of a recluse and like being around home or going to the supermarket in my trackies and a T-shirt. “Last night I got home about five o’clock and there was nothing in the pantry so I ran down to the shop in a dodgy pair of trackies given to me for a charity cricket match last year. I don’t care.” ● BIGGIE SMALLS \ 86 Smith Street, Collingwood; 36 Chapel Street, Windsor; check the website for food truck locations. ● biggiesmalls.com.au

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

9


BY BRENDAN BALE

DRINK

ISTOCK

Spirit guide

C RYS TA L C L E A R CASA DE VINOS \ 227 Bay Street, Port Melbourne

● casadevinos.com.au

Keeping up with the latest drink trends can be downright exhausting, so I’ve asked the owner of craft liquor emporium Casa de Vinos, Jose Dymenstein, for some help. The former winemaker, who opened his Port Melbourne business six years ago, spends roughly 20 hours a week researching who is drinking what in Australia and around the globe. “The trends are set in Europe, and we follow them,” says the 17-year industry veteran. Perhaps the most interesting development he has noticed is the way Melbourne’s recent love affair with craft beer is giving way to a fascination with spirits. It’s no longer sexy to bring wine to a dinner party. Even bringing the latest craft is losing its charm – people are searching for something exotic. The Uruguay native says 2017 was the year of gin. “It’s killing it,” he says. “We have more than 100 gin distillers in Australia, so it would take you more than a year to try them all.” This year will still be strong for the spirit, Dymenstein says, but by the end of the year it will move towards Australian whisky. “It’s huge now, but it will be way bigger because stocks of Australian whisky have been building for two or three years. It’s innate for humans to constantly want to find the next fun thing to do,” he says. “I don’t see customers getting excited about wines or beers, but when you talk about gin or whisky, they are really into it.” ●

1/2

UP TO

F CUP

PRICE

Sale

SPOIL YOURSELF THIS VA L E N T I N E ’ S D AY

OV ER 2,0 0 0 S T Y L ES

SIZES A - G CUP

Lovable Shadow Stripe NOW $27.48 RRP $54.95

Bendon Body Lace 2 Tone NOW $22.48 RRP $44.95

Heidi Klum Intimates Astrid NOW $34.98 RRP $69.95

Fayreform Candid NOW $29.98 RRP $59.95

Lovable Shadow Stripe NOW $14.98 RRP $29.95

Bendon Body Lace 2 Tone NOW $11.48 RRP $22.95

Heidi Klum Intimates Astrid NOW $19.98 RRP $39.95

Fayreform Candid NOW $14.98 RRP $29.95

BRA FIT TING EXPERTS

BENDONLINGERIE.COM.AU

Offer valid from Wednesday 31st January until Tuesday 13th February 2018 in Bendon Outlet stores only. Half Price applies to the Recommended Retail Price (RRP) or marked down price of merchandise. Limited stock and sizes available across all store locations. Selected styles as marked. Offer cannot be used in conjunction with any other offer. Discount will be provided at the time of the transaction. Promotional pricing cannot be applied to any purchase that has already been completed or a purchase that is made after the promotional period ends. Discount does not apply to the purchase of Gift Vouchers or Gift Cards. The purchase of Gift Cards will be at face value only.

10

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


R E VI E W BY S O F IA L E VI N

FOOD

Merah My first thought when I walk into Merah is that I’m in the wrong place. Opened by the Nasi Lemak House duo in October, it looks more like a secret Gorman headquarters than a Malaysian restaurant – salmon archways, organic wooden tables and a colour-blocked banquette. My second thought is how “inner north” it is. Organic and biodynamic wines sit alongside traditional teh tarik and vegans are welcome, if not encouraged. Translucent tapioca parcels in chilli soy are stretched with mushroom, cabbage and bamboo stuffing and spoon-worthy plum sauce accompanies buttery curry puffs. My third thought is FOMO Thai. I miss out on jackfruit curry (unavailable) and spicy crab (pre-order only), but seafood is a stellar substitute: pipis pungent with shrimp and kaffir lime and a lightly fried barramundi fillet soaking up tamarind sauce. Nasi lemak, thick roti canai and beef rendang are there for traditionalists. My final thought at Merah is that I’m ready for dessert. But, there isn’t any. Will anyone judge me for ordering the fried chicken with sambal mayo instead. ●

WIN A WEDDING

THE GREEN SCENE

ISTOCK

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

GEORGIE VERRELLS

LIT TLE BITES KAISEKI COMES TO BOURKE ST

3 OF A KIND

SAU CY

big flavours. ●

C O M PI L E D BY S O FIA L E VI N

BEST FOR \ Eating out with vegetarian mates and not compromising on

SUPPLIED

● Merah ● 238 High St, Northcote ● 9489 3121 ● merah.com.au

JAPANESE GROCERS \ Dreaming of T Tokyo? You’ll be

Kaiseki, a form of traditional

To celebrate same-sex marriage T

Described as a “love letter

Japanese degustation, is gaining

being legalised in Australia,

to Melbourne”, Archie

saying ‘oishii’ in no time.

traction in Melbourne with

Park Street Dining is giving

Green combines food, drink,

Hinoki Japanese Pantry

the opening of new Japanese

away a $20,000 wedding. The

architecture and street art.

279 Smith Street, Fitzroy 9417 4531

restaurant, Ishizuka. From the

restaurant and local vendors

Formerly an abandoned office,

custom ceramic tableware to

are sponsoring a five-hour event

the restaurant is open breakfast

11 beautifully presented dishes,

for 70 guests with cocktails,

through late-night serving a

Tokyo Hometown Japanese

chef Tomotaka’s eponymous

canapes, dinner, photography,

Euro-Asian menu with butchery,

Supermarket

16-seat restaurant is all about

decorations and more. Open to

smoking and even canning taking

41/45 A’Beckett Street,

balance and precision. ●

all couples. ●

place on site. ●

Melbourne 9671 4548

Park Street Dining, Ishizuka, basement 139 Bourke

815 Nicholson Street,

Archie Green, 10 Katherine

Suzuran

Street, Melbourne,

Carlton North,

Place, Melbourne,

1025-1027 Burke Road,

ishizuka.com.au

psweloveweddings.com.au

archiegreen.com.au

Camberwell 9882 2349

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

11


Q&A Q& &A

I N T E RVI E W BY M Y K E B A R T L E T T

ARTS & ENTERTAINMENT

PAMEL A RAB E \ AC TOR

Hot on the heels of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Melbourne Theatre Company presents The Children, a chilling new drama set in the wake of a nuclear disaster. We spoke to star Pamela Rabe.

How would you describe the play? “The Children is a tightly packed, complex and entertaining 90 minutes in the theatre, written by a young, very hot playwright called Lucy Kirkwood. It’s about three people in their 60s who all worked for a nuclear power station. Two are married and the third comes to visit, with shattering consequences.”

Give us one reason to go see it. “You’re seeing the very best of exciting new writing.” ●

LOUISE KENNERLEY

What made you sign up? “My co-star Sarah Peirse is one of the finest actors of our generation and we’ve not worked together since 1989. There generally aren’t roles for more than one strong actress in the one vehicle. We tend to be sprinkled around. We’re going through a golden age for female actors at the moment – we have an exultation of riches. But there’s not enough existing work in the canon to put those actors on stage together.” THE CHILDREN \ Opens February 8, Southbank Theatre, from $105 ● mtc.com.au

Scholarships Scholarships for entry in 2019 Applications close 9 February 2018

School Tours

She

will shine

12

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

ELC-Year 12 Saturday 17 February 9am - Principal’s Address Register for a Tour online: www.trybooking.com/341485 For further information please contact Marie De Sousa on 9524 7413 or refer to our website

Excellent VCE Results ...

year after year

www.shelford.vic.edu.au

Shelford Girls’ Grammar Co-educational ELC (Toddlers to 4YO) Prep – Year 12 girls only 3 Hood Crescent, Caulfield

Shelford


ROCK \

RACES \

TV \

Peninsula Film Festival

Roger Waters: Us and Them

CF Orr Stakes Family Day

Altered Carbon

Rosebud and Queenscliff,

Rod Laver Arena, February 10, 11

Caulfield Race Track, February

Netflix

February 9-11

& 13, from $99

10, $15/$10 with kids under 14

netflix.com/alteredcarbon

peninsulafilmfestival.com.au

rogerwaters.com

free, mrc.racing.com

Head down the Peninsula for the

With Roger in the captain’s

While the cream of the riding

left you wanting more, check

best in new Australian film. The

chair, Pink Floyd basically

crop race in the year’s first Group

out this new dystopian thriller.

centrepiece is indie Melbourne

invented stadium rock, delivering

One, kiddies are invited to dress

Also based on a classic sci-fi noir

comedy That’s Not Me, in which

a gargantuan spectacle

as their favourite superhero and

novel, the series is set 300 years

aspiring actor Polly is mistaken

involving massive puppets and

even brush capes with a real-

into the future, when swanky tech

for her starlet twin. On Saturday,

gobsmacking light shows. He

life Batman or Wonder Woman.

allows minds to be downloaded

a free short-film program

left the band behind in the early

There are free rides aplenty,

into new bodies. Our hero is a

(Rosebud and Queenscliff) sees

’80s (they’ve since retired), but

choice burgers from Royale

former traitor, brought back from

Aussie directors compete for

his mammoth new show revisits

Brothers and even a trackside

the dead by a wealthy client to

cash prizes. ●

their greatest hits. ●

pool party to horse around in. ●

solve a murder – his own. ●

C O M PI L E D BY M Y K E B A R T L E T T

SUPPLIED

SUPPLIED

YANNI

SUPPLIED

THE HIT LIST FILM \

If last year’s Blade Runner sequel

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

13


FILM

Inhibitions set free JAMIE DORNAN NEEDED A SENSE OF HUMOUR WHILE FILMING THE FIFTY SHADES TRILOGY, WRITES KATE STANTON

NINO MUNOZ

The final movie in the Fifty Shades series is complete. How would you describe the journey? It has been a hugely enriching and rewarding experience for me. It’s nice to be a part of something that so many people like.

movie, especially when Anastasia’s old boss, Jack Hyde, comes into play and the plot turns into a thriller … and marriage is a test in itself, too.

How does Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele’s relationship continue to grow? I think their relationship grows in a more positive and relatable way. Since they do get married they become more like a regular couple.

What do you think director James Foley has brought to the second and third films? James is great and very energetic! It wasn’t easy to get on a train like this that had already left the station. Yet, he managed to elevate it all and make it his own, while also respecting what was done with Fifty Shades of Grey.

But then their relationship is put to the test? Yes, it is challenged in a major way in this third

In Fifty Shades of Grey, we saw Christian trying to enforce his control over Anastasia, only to see

MY LIFE DESIGN STORIES

Bristol Sofa, Home Hotel Console, Ipanema Armchair, design Jean-Marie Massaud.

SYDNEY

14

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

MELBOURNE

POLIFORMAUSTRALIA.COM.AU


her come back to him on her terms in Fifty Shades Darker. What is the situation regarding that balance of power in Fifty Shades Freed? They sort of meet in the middle and reach the kind of compromise that marriage often brings to a relationship, trying to make things work as a team, rather than have either of them call the shots.

had some time off to muck around on jet skis or swim while we were shooting the honeymoon scenes. Those were easy days at work …

And what can you specifically say about the way your character is behaving now? I think Christian is fair, understanding and more human in this third movie, compared to how he was when we first met him – when he was hard to understand and impenetrable.

You have great chemistry on screen with Dakota, but you also both get along very well. We are very fond of each other. Dakota (Johnson) and I had to have chemistry to make this work from the get-go, and now we will continue to be friends despite it coming to an end. We have gone through this journey together. I believe we will always have each other’s back precisely because of the impact these roles have had on our careers and our personalities. It is quite a bond that lasts forever.

A character that complex must be a great challenge for an actor. Yes, playing him has been a very satisfying challenge. I feel it was trickier in the first movie, as I had to strike that balance of being distant and cold, but at the same time somewhat likeable.

Apart from the two main characters, what other relevant players appear in Fifty Shades Freed? The main one is Jack Hyde, who was already introduced in Fifty Shades Darker Darker, but really shakes things up in this third film of the series. He is the source of much of the drama and action.

You also travelled to Europe for this shoot, right? Yes, we did that towards the end of it. After wrapping up in Vancouver, we flew to France, which was nice because the schedule wasn’t too crazy. We

The movie also has humour, right? Yes, Christian gets to provide some of it as well, which didn’t happen in Fifty Shades of Grey. It all goes back to him becoming more human in this

third movie. There are moments in Fifty Shades Freed where I am hoping he gets people to laugh. And do you and Dakota have a giggle on set, too? We have to! I remember we couldn’t stop laughing during the wedding scene when we realised that the same guy who was with us in the elevator sequence of the first movie was sitting there in the front row. Life is too short and you have to enjoy it. Dakota and I make each other laugh far too easily. You have to respect your job, but also have fun because we are actors and our mission is to entertain people. So, how are you going to do that if you are not even capable of enjoying yourself? That goes for every job. My father was a surgeon, but he never took himself too seriously and is one of the funniest people I have ever met. Who is worse at keeping a straight face, Dakota or you? Dakota, because once she really laughs you just can’t stop her – to the point where she is even crying and has to step away. ● FIFTY SHADES FREED \ in cinemas nationally from February 8.

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

15


SAM WOOD \ WELLNESS

Leisurely lunches THE STRESS-FREE GUIDE TO HEALTHY SCHOOL EATING

I

get it: life is busy. There are only so many hours in the day and finding or making time to head to the supermarket, cook dinner and then prepare your kids’ lunch for school can be quite a challenge. Add to this family fussiness and supermarkets full of unhealthy school snacks and before you know it you’re the proud owner of the entire contents of aisle four. Or if it’s not this, it’s your child insisting that every other kid orders their lunch, which we know simply isn’t true. I know it can seem easier to let the usual culprits fill your trolley – yoghurts, roll-ups, muesli bars and fruit cups and, yes, most kids do burn through energy like there’s no tomorrow. This does not mean they should be given a lunch-box jam-packed with

sugar and salt simply because it is the easy option. Kids need to be fuelled with nutritious snacks and meals throughout the day to ensure they have the energy and brain power for all that learning and, of course, playing. My motto is all about progress, not perfection. So, don’t get me wrong; a tasty snack from aisle four or a lunch order on the odd occasion is totally fine. Ensuring your kids are eating mostly healthy foods throughout the day will help to keep them alert, focused and retaining information to assist with their learning. If you’re unsure of how to pack your kids a healthy lunch, I am here to help. Here are my top tips to ensure your kids enjoy their healthy lunches.

Melbourne’s most comprehensive guide to Look out for it in your letterbox on Fe ebru uary y 14!

16

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


1. EDUCATE YOUR KIDS ON THE ADVANTAGES

3. YOUR FREEZER IS YOUR BEST FRIEND

OF HEALTHY EATING CHOICES

No one wants to spend time whipping up a new lunch from scratch every morning (or the night before). Dedicate “an hour of power” on weekends to prepare snacks and meals in batches for the freezer. Zucchini slice, bacon-and-egg muffins, veggie patties, nut-free bliss balls/muesli bars … the options are endless.

ISTOCK

Teaching your kids about the benefits of food and how certain types give them fuel for their afterschool sport, or to help them grow, will assist in establishing healthy habits early on and serve as an incentive for them to make healthier choices. Keep it quick, keep it simple and make it a game, not a lecture. If you feel like your advice is falling on deaf ears because it’s coming from mum or dad, see if their favourite teacher or sports coach can relay the same information.

4. DON’T FORGET FRUIT AND VEG

Sliced fruit and veg is an easy and healthy lunch-box filler that goes perfectly with a side of dip. Carrot, celery and capsicum with hummus is a go-to snack that is popular with kids and adults.

2. PREPARE LUNCH TOGETHER

5. MAKE HEALTHY FOOD FUN

Make lunch-box prep a family affair. Not only is this an opportunity to spend some time together in the kitchen, you’ll also be teaching them how to make lunch on their own. Before you know it they’ll be doing it all by themselves. Well, maybe not, but understanding and recognising foods is the first step to a healthier relationship with them.

Some kids are more visual eaters than others so making their food look appealing may mean their lunch-box comes home empty. Colourful fruit and veggies are naturally appealing to kids or slice their snacks/sandwiches into interesting shapes using cookie cutters. ●

35% ATARs over 90 - Top 10% in Australia 63% ATARs over 80 - Top 20% in Australia Median ATAR 84.65 DUX and Perfect Score 99.95 - Joshua Nung 11 ‘Perfect’ Study Scores

● 28bysamwood.com

We congratulate all of our students on their exceptional achievements across so many different areas of the School. Book online or contact us for more information at:

www.mentonegrammar.net 63 Venice Street Mentone T: +61 9584 4211

15.5% ATARs over 95 - Top 5% in Australia

Congratulations

to the Class of

2017

48% Grades A or A+ 21% Study Scores over 40 Ten students attained ATARs over 99 T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

17


WHERE I LIVE

‘Mummified’ for life MY SUBURB IS A PLAYGROUND OF PAMPERED LIE REILL REILLY MOTHERHOOD, WRITES NATALIE

I

was single w when hen I first moved into the suburb I now live in with my family. Back then, I couldn’t help but notice the neat little row of shops a stone’s throw from my apartment, two of them devoted to children’s designer clothing, another two displaying flowing, kaftan-esque dresses that are perfect for the lactating mother. I noticed, too, the strollers and the prams. It was to be expected, my suburb was near the beach, making it the perfect place to settle down. A decade later, what was once a couple of shops devoted to mothers has become a cottage industry. There are baby designer stores galore, and the number of designer mummy stores has doubled.

These are joined by a beautician, or medi-spa, on every corner – offering not just eyebrow treatments, but facelifts and micro needling. Five – I’m serious – five corner stores have been replaced by skin clinics. I’ve counted and there are four within a twokilometre radius of my home. Naturally, there is the usual oversupply of cafes. One at the end of every street, and all of them offering babycinos and toddler-sized green smoothies. Nuzzled in next to the cafes are hair salons, each offering a dizzying array of treatments and champagne, and at Christmas, there are the little parties. These are not marketed to men.

New!

New!

Year of the

DoG

Exciting !

New!

Celebra tions!

Exciting !

Fun!

For more information, please visit

Presented by:

MELBOURNE

DAI LOONG

www.melbournechinesenewyear.com www.me www melbo me lbourn lbo ur ech urn h m

melbournechinesenewyear.com Event and Supporting Festival Sponsors:

Major Festival Sponsors:

STANDING BY YOU

by The GPT Group

18

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


STOCKSY

Inspired design. Luxury living.

If the gentrification of a suburb involves pushing out poor people to make way for middle-class families and their wholemeal-bread tastes, then my suburb did not simply gentrify, it gentrified in a very specific way. It “mummified”. And with two children of my own now, I can’t say I’m upset. Gone is the trophy store and the humble bakery. The old knick-knack shop is but a distant memory. Everything is geared towards my demographic, which is to say, everything is geared towards upwardly mobile mothers who like their almond latte with a teeny-tiny cupcake on the side; something for Lala to nibble on before her child-led play at the local day-care centre, which will happily nurture her obvious giftedness for the medium fee of $175 a day. And then there are the schools. Ah, yes, the schools. As any helicopter parent knows, you’ve got to be in the right catchment, so your babe can go to the right educational facility. Then she can go on to the right high school, get the highest possible ATAR and go on to lead a wildly

successful life (presumably in the same suburb you raised her). Since 2010, Australia’s birthrate has been rising, especially when it comes to older parents. The City of Wyndham has the highest birth rate in metropolitan Melbourne - last year, 3748 babies were born at Werribee Mercy Hospital. In Sydney, in 2015, the suburbs where the most babies were born were mostly in the south-west, except for one little enclave in the east (near where I live). Those little ones are toddlers now and the three new day-care centres that have set themselves up in have probably flung open their doors to receive them. Meanwhile, their mothers can busy themselves on their days off by popping in for a face refresh or keratin hair treatment. I’m not upset about this; although I’m nostalgic for the days when my little suburb was just a broken-down pub, a lonely beach and a low-ceiling florist. Back then it felt like I was on the cusp of something, and now, these days, with every single shop, child-proof playground and artisanal bakery. I no longer feel edgy; I feel pegged. ●

Taking contemporary designer living to the next level. Design & build the home you want with Glenvill Homes. Visit our website to see our display locations. glenvillhomes.com.au

Enquire 9573 8393

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

19


FEATURE HOUSE BEAUMARIS S \ 14 RENNISON STREET 5

4

2

T

he new Beaumaris Secondary College has opened. Yay! Yes, this is just Phase 1, enough for Year Seven students only, but the words “trucks delivering via Balcombe Road” continue to bring an unlikely sort of joy via government updates to local households. Beaumaris house prices jumped 14.5 per cent in the year to September 2017, according to Domain’s State of the Market report. Much of the increase reflects enthusiasm for the $27 million school, for which this contemporary house is comfortably zoned. A jaunty jumble of geometric shapes, the early 2010s house looks as crisp as if locked up this morning. Pale porcelain floors, full-length glazing, mushroom-grey carpet and stone finishes ensure a timeless, breezy cool – and those are just the features you can see. Less obvious are the zoned, ducted cooling, hydronic slab and panel heating, security and Sonos sound that make this home such a soothing pleasure. The ground floor has a living room, open-plan dining and family areas and a spacious kitchen with Miele appliances. There’s also a double bedroom. Upstairs, four zoned bedrooms and a retreat ensure satisfaction for kids and parents. Set in almost a quarter-acre (981 square metres), the house has a lush, colour-blocked front garden and a double garage with internal access. At the front is the carpeted living room; it’s a salon for all seasons with a gas log fireplace and full-length windows over the front garden. The T-shaped hall leads to a laundry with a drying cupboard, and to a powder room. The ground-floor bedroom has an en suite and offers an alternative to the main bedroom upstairs. The porcelain dining and family area is bright and alluring, with sliding doors to the decked verandah. The Caesarstone kitchen has a walk-in pantry and an island bench. The dining area has a study nook. Step out to the barbecue kitchen, ideal for year-round parties; there’s also a powder room. The heated, fully-tiled pool has a spa. Just behind it is a basketball practice area next to the laneway gates. The first floor opens with a carpeted retreat. Two bedrooms have semi en suite access to the main bathroom. The main and second bedrooms have en suites and walk-in wardrobes. ● ALISON BARCLAY property@domain.com.au

FINAL WORD “THIS ARCHITECTURAL HOME OFFERS EVERY FAMILY AMENITY – EVEN THE LOCATI A ON IS FAMILY-WISE, 75 STEPS TO THE BAY, ATI AY, TWO BLOCKS TO SHOPS AND A MINUTES FROM SPORTS TRAINING IN OAK STREET.” MICHAEL COONEY – AGENT

AGENT \ Hodges 9589 6077 PRICE \ $3.2 million – $3.52 million PRIVATE SALE Scan the code From front to back the architecture stacks up

SHORTLIST YOUR FAVOURITE HOMES WITH THE DOMAIN APP 20

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


ELWOOD \ 3 GLENHUNTLY ROAD 3

2

2

It’s chic, sunbathed and a step from the Point Ormond foreshore; can Elwood have a more congenial possie than this? The contemporary townhouse is on its own title and packs a lot of glamorous living into its two storeys. Ground floor, openplan living and dining sprawl across a polished timber floor to full-length windows and multi-fold doors. A big dine-out deck sits cheerily above a landscaped garden with a north-easterly aspect. The white satin-finish kitchen has marble benchtops, stainless-steel appliances and a long island bench for your entertaining pleasure; duck under the stairs for the powder room. The three first-floor bedrooms have wardrobes, and two share a white bathroom. The main bathroom has an en suite and a balcony. There’s also a concealed laundry up here. The property has a lock-up garage with internal access, plus off-street parking. Storage is excellent, as is the heating and cooling. The kids will thank you for the short walk to Elwood primary and high schools. ● ALISON BARCLAY AGENT \ Chisholm & Gamon 9531 1245 PRICE \ $1.5 million – $1.6 million AUCTION \ February 24 at 2pm Scan the code Live it up, or down, in this two-storey townhouse located close to the beach

SANDRINGHAM \ 10 STATION STREET

CHELTENHAM \ 46 SNOWDON DRIVE

4

5

2

2

3

5

The beachside boho dream is real! It endures in this freestanding Edwardian, in the Gipsy Village near Sandy station and shops. With four bedrooms and living, dining and family areas opening west to a decked garden, the single-storey house will suit a school-aged family. There’s direct access to the beachfront reserve via the double carport. The Baltic pine bedrooms share two modern bathrooms. The living room cuts away to the dining area and stone kitchen, which has a 900-millimetre Ilve range. Designer lighting, noise- and climate-controlling e-glazing and ducted heating and cooling bring this heritage beauty into the 21st century. ● ALISON BARCLAY

Once a dowdy 1970s pile, this two-storey house is now resplendent and ready for the Cheltenham revival inspired by Southland station. With five bedrooms and sunny living, dining, family and games rooms, it will make a big family very happy. A rigorous facelift has given it crystal chandeliers, sleek stone bathrooms and a white kitchen with marble and granite finishes. The hardwood-floored living room has a gas log fireplace. Three ground-floor bedrooms are complemented on the first floor by a main suite with a spa bathroom, a fifth bedroom and a games room. ● ALISON BARCLAY

AGENT \ Buxton 9598 8222 PRICE \ $1.56 million – $1.7 million AUCTION \ February 10 at 1.30pm

AGENT \ Ray White 9584 8288 PRICE \ $1.1 million – $1.2 million AUCTION \ February 17 at 11am

Scan the code This boho Edwardian has access to the beach front

Scan the code Granted new life and ready for a family with drive

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

21


22

t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w


HOLDSWORTH

3 24 Merton Street, Albert Park Refurbished so that it creates a refined sense of retreat yet lies literally around the corner from Bridport Street´s village buzz, this elegant Victorian captures the essence of Albert Park. Two bedrooms sharing a modern bathroom complement a living/dining domain accompanied by an effective light court. The separate kitchen’s stone benches and stainless steel appliances perform perfectly and precede a courtyard where dappled light, pleasing privacy and side lane access offer pure inner city pleasure. 24mertonstreetalbertpark.com.au

2

1

Price Contact Agent Auction Sat 17th Feb at 11.30am Inspect Wed 5 - 5.30pm Sat 11 - 11.30am Sun 11.30 - 12pm Contact John Holdsworth 0417 318 271 Kaye Vipond 0408 531 399

3 108 Hambleton Street, Middle Park Exclusively located in one of Middle Park´s finest streets traditional elegance and contemporary excellence are perfectly partnered throughout this renovated Hawthorn Brick Victorian. Open-plan appeal, a Euro and marble kitchen, Jetmaster fire-place and superb sky-lighting complement living and dining dimensions that seamlessly flow through French doors to a charming formal garden. Surrounded by Albert Park at one end and the beach at the other. Land size 283sqm approx. 108hambletonstreetmiddlepark.com.au

Albert Park 8644 5500

3

1

Price Contact Agent Auction Sat 24th Feb at 1.00pm Inspect Wed 1 - 1.30pm Sat 11 - 11.30am Contact Simon Gowling 0422 234 644 Max Mercuri 0431 043 723

greghocking.com.au t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

23


HOLDSWORTH

3 123 Neville Street, Middle Park When you can walk around the corner and arrive at a range of cafes, quality shops and tram routes you know you´re enjoying an address that offers every imaginable advantage - and when you remember that the bay and the beach are also only moments away the location assumes even more allure. This outstanding three bedroom, two bathroom residence makes the most of such a setting by delivering great dual level spaces where the design and the details form an irresistible combination against a north-facing backdrop. Enjoy! 123nevillestreetmiddlepark.com.au

3

2

Price Contact Agent Auction Sat 24th Feb at 10.00am Inspect Wed 5.45 - 6.15pm Sat 10 -10.30am Contact Simon Gowling 0422 234 644 Max Mercuri 0431 043 723

3 22 McGregor Street, Middle Park Classical aesthetics and memorable modernity define this exceptional, flexible home in a highly prized position. Up to four bedrooms are offered by a design featuring a refined sitting room, two central downstairs bedrooms and a spectacular bathroom while an upstairs main bedroom features walkin robes, sky-lit ensuite and generous retreat. Natural light fills dynamic living/dining areas, with a marble and Gaggenau equipped kitchen, overlooking a landscaped backdrop that entertains in style. Off street parking. Perfection. 22mcgregorstreetmiddlepark.com.au

Albert Park 8644 5500 24

t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

3

2

1

Price Contact Agent Auction Sat 24th Feb at 11.30am Inspect Wed 12.30 - 1pm Thur 6 - 6.30pm Sat 2.15 - 2.45pm Contact Greg Hocking 0418 329 961 Peter Zervas 0405 682 173

greghocking.com.au


HOLDSWORTH

3 231A The Boulevard, Port Melbourne Its position directly opposite Sandridge Beach ensures this inviting three bedroom, two bathroom residence enjoys exceptional outlooks. Such a sought after setting clearly complements a north facing living/dining area and courtyard where sunny elegance enhances the opportunity to entertain - or escape. An upstairs lounge and its generous terrace make the utmost of the vibrant bay views. Secure garage. Certain success.

231atheboulevardportmelbourne.com.au

3

2

1

Price Contact Agent Auction Sat 17th Feb at 12.30pm Inspect Wed 5.30 - 6.00pm Sat 12.00 - 12.30pm Contact Sam Paynter 0413 531 888 Chris Pattison 0413 904 622

3 257 Moray Street, South Melbourne The sheer size is impressive, the emphasis on excellence is evident and the location surrounds itself with every South Melbourne attraction - this three bedroom, three bathroom residence represents inner city living at its most luxurious. First floor living and dining areas framed by front and rear balconies include a central kitchen featuring stone benches and elite quality appliances. Above, a roof-top deck is a refined retreat - with speakers and city sights. Three car garaging, security and storage. The ultimate. 257moraystreetsouthmelbourne.com.au

Albert Park 8644 5500

3

3.5

3

Price Contact Agent Auction Sat 17th February at 10.30am Inspect Wed 1.00 - 1.30pm Sat 11.30 - 12pm Contact Warwick Gardiner 0438 308 555 Simon Gowling 0422 234 644

greghocking.com.au t h e w e e k ly r e v i e w

25


HOLDSWORTH

MOUNT MARTHA 15-21 Leggatt Crescent 132 Cobden Street, South Melbourne The rarity of a property offering such pure potential immediately confers exceptional status upon this freestanding Victorian with side and rear lane access on 145sqm approx. Scope for renovation, STCA, enhanced by a north-facing rear courtyard right in the heart of South Melbourne.

3

1

Price Contact Agent Auction Sat 17th Feb at 1.30pm Inspect Wed 5.45 - 6.15pm Sat 1.30-2.00pm Sun 12.15-12.45pm Contact John Holdsworth 0417 318 271 Kaye Vipond 0408 531 399

Albert Park 8644 5500

greghocking.com.au

5

A 4B 3C

• Hamptons inspired oasis with high ceilings, plantation shutters plus two bed guest wing • Heated lagoon pool with waterfall, outdoor shower, lush fernery and tennis court • Garage/workshop with office, toilet, storage loft with lift cage, plus double carport

5

Price Inspect

A 3B 2C

AERIE

26

• Architect-designed luxury with spectacular panoramic views across the Port Phillip Bay

• Double garage, storeroom and internal lift, plus C-Bus, video intercom and gated entry

• Vast living boasting walls of bifolds, gourmet mcewingpartners.com kitchen with butlers’ pantry and wine fridge

• Expansive outdoor entertaining with pizza oven, swimming pool and designer gardens

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

By appointment

Marcus Gollings Dean Phillips

0422 236 990 0402 833 865

Contact Agent

MORNINGTON MT ELIZA

mcewingpartners.com

MORNINGTON 840 Esplanade

Price For Sale Inspect

03 5975 4555 03 9787 2422

Contact Agent Saturday 3:00 - 3:30pm

Dean Phillips 0402 833 865 Marcus Gollings 0422 236 990 MORNINGTON MT ELIZA

160 Main Street 7/84 Mt Eliza Way MORNINGTON mcewingpartners.com MT ELIZA

03 5975 4555 03 9787 2422 03 5975 4555 03 9787 2422


BLACK ROCK 14a Stanley Street

A

B

C

4

2.5

2

An Unforgettable Showpiece of Poolside Luxury and Bay Views An oasis of tropical opulence is found in this spectacular 4 bedroom 2.5 bathroom beachside residence. With its own private lift and a two-storey waterfall cascading into an internal plunge pool, this breathtaking home is a slice of heaven, featuring 2 entertaining zones (Jetmaster gas fireplace & cocktail bar), seamless stone kitchen (Smeg appliances & WI pantry), a hotel-style main bedroom suite, fabulous alfresco terrace, partial bay views and a solar heated pool. Spotted Gum floors, 3.3m approx. ceilings, a huge double auto garage and an impressive list of features complement the home’s grandeur. Near Black Rock Village, Royal Melbourne Golf Course and Half Moon Bay, walk to primary schools and zoned for Beaumaris & Mentone Girls’ Secondary Colleges. • Plunge pool + solar heated pool • Lovely bay views • 2 alfresco areas + 2 balconies • Private lift • Mentone Girls’ & Beaumaris Secondary College zones Auction: Saturday 24th February 1.00pm Guide: $2,100,000 - $2,200,000 Contact: Amanda Thomson 0418 266 326 Nick Jones 0421 839 425

ELWOOD 68 Milton Street

A

B

C

4

3.5

2

Edwardian Beauty in Balinese Garden Bliss Showcasing spellbinding serenity, space and architectural beauty, this evocative 4 bedroom 3.5 bathroom Edwardian delivers inviting interiors and a commanding corner position. Enjoying glorious garden views, this engaging treasure features a superb main bedroom (BIRs, gas fire & luxe ensuite), garden-style bathroom with Zen garden; granite kitchen (Smeg/Miele appliances), expansive entertaining (OFP) and bi-fold doors to a paved north facing garden. A concealed staircase leads to a huge family room with north facing balcony, 2 studies & play room. This idyllic residence retains its period detail, while providing ducted heating, air conditioning, ducted vacuum, intercom, surround sound, cellar and auto gates to parking for 2. Zoned for Elwood Primary School, stroll to Jerry’s Milk Bar, beach, parks and Acland Street. • 2 spectacular entertaining zones (OFP) • Baltic pine polished boards & pressed metal ceilings • Gorgeous north facing rear garden with alfresco patio • Auto gates to parking for 2 plus carport • Coveted corner position in a prestige beach address Auction: Saturday 24th February 3.00pm Guide: Contact Agent Contact: Sam Gamon 0425 702 574 T rsten Kasper 0428 454 181 To

Black Rock

Elwood

Mount Martha

Port Melbourne T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

27


4

28

3+

4

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


4

4+

3

1

2

2

5

2+

2

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

29


30

2

1

1

3

1

2

3

2

2

3

2

2

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


10 Farleigh Grove, Brighton

10farleighgrove-brighton.com

2 Spink Street, Brighton

2spinkstreet-brighton.com

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

31


352 St Kilda Street, Brighton

352stkildastreet-brighton.com

306/26 Warleigh Grove, Brighton

306-26warleighgrove-brighton.com 32

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


61 Milroy Street, Brighton East

61milroystreet-brightoneast.com

12 Welwyn Avenue, Brighton East

12welwynavenue-brightoneast.com

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

33


470 Glen Eira Road, Caulfield

470gleneiraroad-caulfield.com

4 Avondale Street, Hampton

4avondalestreet-hampton.com 34

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


22 May Street, Hampton

22maystreet-hampton.com

31 Mills Street, Hampton

31millsstreet-hampton.com

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

35


9 Holzer Street, Sandringham

70 Nelson Road, South Melbourne

70nelsonroad-southmelbourne.com 36

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

37


38

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

39


40

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

41


214A Esplanade Brighton

3

EXPRESSIONS OF INTEREST

VIEWING

kayburton.com.au 42

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

CONTACT

2

2


3/5 Beach Road Beaumaris 3

2.5

2

AUCTION VIEWING

CONTACT

kayburton.com.au An Amazing Option in Prime Location, on Approx 816m2 of Land!

Features include; • • • • • • • • • •

Call Gavin on 0408277114 to discuss further or enquire online. YOU DON'T WANT TO MISS OUT ON THIS ONE!

www.gandhpropertygroup.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

43


20 Bridge Street Hampton A showcase of Nick McKimm’s signature excellence, this elite architect design stars glass-wrapped living-dining, a marvellous multi-purpose room (2nd living or 4th bedrm) & a full-width masterdomain. Starring a Calacatta & Miele kitchen, egg-bath ensuite & every luxury (even Sonos-compatible wiring), there’s a double auto-garage, auto-clean pool & the bay, village & school so close. 44

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Auction Agent Agent Agent View Office Web

Sat 24 February 1.30 Melissa Grinter 0409 805 035 Stephen Wigley 0411 115 736 Sandra Michael 0414 535 982 Wednesday + Saturday 11.30-12.00 Sandringham 9598 1111 20bridgestreethampton.com

4

2.5

2


2 Point Avenue Beaumaris 3

1

2

Metres from Ricketts Point, this exceptional 1111sqm(approx.) parcel of land is a once in a lifetime opening in a location famous for its unmade road & rural setting. This peaceful corner block will accommodate the most luxurious of bespoke family homes (STCA) & offers potential for water views. In BSC zone.

1/61 Martin Street Brighton 3

1

2

Offering a big 3 bedroom plan in an increasingly rare small group, this centrally heated streetfront unit features a large air-conditioned lounge opening to a walled yard, an eat-in kitchen facing a westerly court yard, vintage bathroom & separate WC. Polish & rent...or make over & live the life between the Village, station & Golden Mile.

Auction

Sat 3 March 1.00

Agent

Michael Cooney 0418 325 052

Agent

Christine Henderson 0415 854 122

View

Wednesday & Saturday1.30-2.00

Office

Beaumaris 9589 6077

Web

2pointavenuebeaumaris.com

Auction

Sat 24 February 11.00

Agent

Julian Augustini 0418 558 408

Agent

Romana Preston 0401 066 909

View

Wednesday 10.30-11.00 + Saturday 10.30-11.00

Office

Brighton 9596 1111

Web

1-61martinstreetbrighton.com

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

45


18 Wave Street Hampton 3

1

3

High & wide with sweeping approx 24m frontage, this approx 600sqm property has broad potential & an iconic address. With sun-room/4th bedroom, a timeless timber kitchen & a secure garage, this triplefronted brick home is ready to reno.... OR start afresh & capitalise on this broad frontage & blue-chip address.

23-25 Crisp Street Hampton 2/3

2

1/2

The latest project from leading-edge architects, Ewert Leaf, Ives is a boutique development of just 16 apartments over 3 levels above basement garaging. Ready for pre-purchase now. Choose from large 2/3 bedroom garden or balcony apartments, all with Miele kitchens and 5 Star bathrooms. 46

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

Auction

Sat 24 February 11.00

Agent

Stephen Wigley 0411 115 736

Agent

Sandra Michael 0414 535 982

View

Wednesday + Saturday 11.00-11.30

Office

Sandringham 9598 1111

Web

18wavestreethampton.com

For Sale Agent

Paul Bond 0419 519 311

Agent

Angus Graham 0401 505 259

Agent

Amanda Jones 0427 643 760

Office

Sandringham 9598 1111


1-11/1 Latrobe Street Cheltenham 2

2

1

3

2

2

Take advantage of considerable stamp duty savings by procuring one of these stunning two & three bedroom townhouses directly off the plan. Close to shops, transport & the beach, these luxurious homes are located in the Beaumaris Secondary College/ Mentone Girls’ Secondary College zones & will feature vast living/dining areas, designer kitchens, 2.5 baths, generous outdoor spaces & basement parking. For Sale Agent

Andrew Plousi 0411 799 023

Agent

Jason C. Swift 0417 055 702

Office

Mentone 9584 6500

Web

1latrobestreetcheltenham.com

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

47


PRESENTS

L N N O IO O S CT SO U % R NG 0 ST CI 5 N EN CO M M

CO

D

ONLY 4 LEFT

LARGE LUXURY TERRACE HOMES — DISPLAY SUITE ON SITE OPEN SATURDAYS 12-2PM Outstanding high-quality residences over three levels with private elevator. Three double bedrooms, main with beautiful ensuiteand walk-in robe, two further full bathrooms, spacious kitchen with soaring ceiling height and stone finishes opens to adjoining dining and separate family living zone with north-facing sun filled balcony.

AND WEDNESDAYS 5-6PM

Entertainer’s rooftop terrace with expansive views of the city and beyond. Oak timber flooring, stone benchtops, custom-built cabinetry, integrated fridges, heating and cooling throughout, clever storage, private internal elevator and stairs. Single car garage plus additional carport. Architecture by Stokes Architects and interior design by Hecker Guthrie will make this an impressive inner-city home. Sizes from 261sqm to 296sqm and prices range from $2,175,000 to $2,275,000.

48

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

3

3

1-2

WHERE Corner Princes & Graham Sts Port Melbourne CONTACT Michael Szulc

0417 122 809

Jordan Gravestein 0448 250 193 cayzer.com.au


MIDDLE PARK 79 Hambleton Street

2

1

PORT MELBOURNE 504/155 Beach Street

3

2

2

1

AUCTION SATURDAY

UNIQUE OPPORTUNITY IN PRIME LOCATION Well-lit living and dining spaces onto side paved outdoor area with a separate rear family room leading to private courtyard with northerly aspect. Timber floors throughout, Gas hot water, gas heater and open fireplaces and separate laundry. • Victorian residence close to Middle Park Village, Albert Park Lake and Middle Park Beach • Six principal rooms including large main bedroom and loft-style second bedroom View Thur 12-12.30pm, Sat 30 min prior to auction Auction Saturday 10 Feb at 12pm Contact Jason De Stefano 0413 292 666 Geoff Cayzer 9690 9782

Albert Park 03 9699 5999

cayzer.com.au

SIMPLY BREATHTAKING! Fifth-level Beacon Cove apartment with light-filled open plan living room and fully equipped kitchen. Two–bedrooms with ocean views from master bedroom and ensuite plus modern bathroom. • Floor to ceiling windows that take advantage of both Port Phillip Bay and the city skyline • Entertainer’s balcony ideal for eating alfresco • Direct access to the waterfront View

Thurs 12-12.30pm Sat 11-11.30am & Tues 12-12.30pm Auction Saturday 24 February at 11am Contact Andrew Turner 0408 211 281 Geoff Cayzer 9690 9782

Port Melbourne 03 9646 0812

1C Lindsay Stre r et,t,t Brighton re A 3

B 3

C 4

Located just moments to Church Street, this new 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom luxury home from renowned Martin Friedrich Architects enjoys spacious living areas, sublime kitchen w/ w Miele appls, home office, upstairs bedrooms w ensuites (master bed w/ w/ w balcony), courtyard, lift, wine cellar, 2 storage rooms and 4 basement car spaces.

EOI

Closing Mon 26th Feb at 5pm

INSPECT

Thur 1-1:45pm & 5:45-6:15pm Sat 11-11:45am

CONTACT

Justin Follett

0405 996 822

Marcus Heron

0424 696 822

Calum Brownlie

0410 611 887

follettco.com.au T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

49


PORT MELBOURNE EXCEPTIONAL IN EVERY WAY Spacious two storey, 4 bedroom luxurious family residence situated on one of the District’s largest allotments boasting a fabulous floorplan with the potential to further extend. • Huge main bedroom (with walk-in robe & large ensuite) • 3 further double bedrooms (all with full-length BIRs) • 2 bathrooms plus powder room • Formal lounge (gas fire place) • Separate dining room • Fully appointed granite kitchen with stainless steel appliances • Sunlit family room with sliding doors to lovely north facing garden ideal for entertaining • Double remote garage A terrific family home offering a relaxed, easy maintenance lifestyle – stroll to beach, parkland, city light rail, Station Pier precinct and Bay St shopping.

௭4º 2Ê 2 AUCTION VIEW CONTACT  OFFICE

Saturday 24th February at 12:30pm Thurs1.30-2 & Sat 12.30-1 David Lack 0418 996 265 Will Jonas 0419 335 519 100 Bay Street Port Melbourne 03 8671 3777 SMS the word 142BEACH to

PORT MELBOURNE 142 BEACH STREET

0416 907 829 for detailed information

bigginscott.com.au

ID and contact details are required at all open for inspections

CHRIS WILSON REAL ESTATE Eden, South Coast NSW 3, 10 Lake Street

$795,000 2

3

2

2

Glorious brand new 3 bedroom designer home sublimely positioned directly adjoining reserve, a mere 150m from the bleached white sands and sapphire blue waters of award winning Aslings Beach. Glittering front row water views from 250m2 (incl. covered decks) of sumptuous living featuring 6 inch spotted gum hardwood floors throughout, light filled open living with slider access to covered alfresco, sleek high spec kitchen adjoining dining, master bedroom/retreat area, with 5 star ensuite, second living featuring stunning bespoke staircase out to extensively decked private landscaped yard complete with hot tub, fire pit, vegie garden and kentia palms, good sized 2nd & 3rd brs (BIRs) and double remote garage. Absolute one off package that requires no compromise. View: By appointment Agent: Chris Wilson 0427 003 406

(02) 6496 3583

chriswilson@cwree.com.au

50

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

174 Imlay St, Eden www.chriswilsonrealestateeden.com.au


T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

51


52

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


networkclassifieds.com.au

Trades & Services V

Furniture Removals

V

ALL VIC REMOVALS & STORAGE Cheap boxes 4 sale

www.cldb.com.au

Bathroom & Kitchens

& BALCONIES WITHOUT REMOVING TILES NSW t VIC t QLD t WA t ACT t SA

V

SERVICING BRIGHTON AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

Glass/Glazing

ALL BROKEN GLASS REPLACEMENTS

30% OFF

FREE THIS MONTH QUOTES

Brighton Electricians V

We NEVER

Close Lic. 23691

J.L. Hutt Electrical

24 HOUR SERVICE

1152285-PB36-14

9999-8193

w w w . S e r v i c e To d a y. c o m . a u

9998 2905

www.Ser viceToday.com.au V

SENIORS CARD

WELCOME HERE

We NEVER

Close

Lic. 104391

Employment

section of Network Classifieds.

Removalists & Storage

REMOVALIST & STORAGE

Landscaping

BAYVIEW LANDSCAPE & PAVING CONSTRUCTION

yes we can SERVICING BRIGHTON AREA FOR OVER TEN YEARS

24/7

GREG: 0414 516 050

Lighting Power Points Phone & Data Hot Water And more...

12325179-LN40-16

yes we can

Real Estate

Electricians

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

*Not available with any other voucher or coupon

Call Joe 0498 375 094 - 7 days

section of Network Classifieds.

Call Us Today For our FAST FRIENDLY SERVICE!

For our FAST

Specialist in • Lawn mowing • Edging Pruning / Hedge Trimming • Regular Maintenance • Rubbish Removals • Tree Lopping • Gutter Cleaning

megasealed.com.au

V

Call Us Today... FRIENDLY SERVICE!

Rec: 17824 • Entensions/Refurbishments • Switchboard Upgrades/Safety Switches Specialising in all Electrical Installations • House Rewires FREE QUOTES • Phone/Data/TV & CCTV No Job too big or small • Oven & Hot Plate Repairs • Hot Water Service Repairs www.jlhuttelectrical.com.au • Security Alarms • AC Installations

Plumbing

Specialists in: s0AVINGBLUESTONE SANDSTONE GRANITE

LIMESTONEBRICKPAVING s$ECKINGs4URlNGSYNTHETICNATURALTURF s2ETAININGWALLS s3PRINKLERWATERSYSTEMSs,ANDSCAPING s/UTDOORLIVINGAREAS s.ATIVE%NGLISHGARDENS

Ph Geoff 0417 550 993

   

Local & Interstate Pack/ Unpack Boxes Home & Office Small & Large Moves

Transcorp Removals & Storage

FREE QUOTE 1300 466 838 transcorpremovalsandstorage.com.au

Trades & Services

Jason 1300 644 698

section of Network Classifieds. V

Tiling

1156305-HM40-14

AARON’S TILING

0432 774 645

12378639-HM07-18

Call or visit us online! networkclassifieds.com.au

Over 30 Years Experience Specialising In: • Floor & Wall Tiles • Old & New Homes • Kitchen & Bathroom Renovation Free Measure & Quote.

Custom Vertical Gardens Call us today for a free quote

0408 553 515

www.WildseedsGarden.com.au

G6723428AA-dc29Apr

SHOWERS

Balcony/Shower Leak Repairs Anti-slip Safety Solutions Stone Repair/Sealing Over 17,000 showers repaired each year 19 Years in Business!

g All Pricin t Up-Fron

AMAZING GARDEN SERVICES

12322 12 220577-CG36-1 -16

LEAKING

1181674-18-15

STOP

Brighton Plumbers

Garden Services

1228805-HM21-16

V

9310 1070 - 0403 046 998 V

V

12353485-PB22-17

s PLANTATION SHUTTERS Ph: 9379 0123 FREE QUOTE s ALL TYPES OF BLINDS QUICKEST INSTALL SENIORS DISCOUNT s CANVAS SUNBLINDS 1177862-RC13-15

G6616651AA-dc11Feb

Packing, Pianos, Antiques and Billiard Tables, Local, Country & Interstate. No job too small. Unwanted goods, or rubbish taken to tip. All areas from $89p/h (min 2 hours), 24 hours/7 days

Designer Quality at Factory Prices!

Plumbing

12351179-CG19-17

Awnings, Blinds & Curtains

12323360-ACM38-16

V

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Place your ad in print and online

Creative designs tailored to meet your needs T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W

53


Trades & Services Trades Business Profile

VICE 24 HOUR SER!  

3).!)-%*)-!"/,%-$(!).- +!%'%-%)#%)'' !31%.$*, +#, !-"!. 21%.$ '!.,%')-.''.%*)3*/-!!1%,! 3$*)! .

 **.**%#*,-('' 30!)*.'.!!+%, /..!'!. ,%'*(/ 111&'$ ,!!+% .!,!,0% 3*. 3!/,%.2 ',(3 )-. ''.%*)-

Jason 1300 644 698

Call 1300 666 808

sing adverti “Since cal Weekly Lo in our w Bayside Revie hillip our P & Port ies have ly enquir mense sed im increa continue to e and w at results� e get gr mian - Da

From plumbers to pest con trol, carpet cleaning to building services, dry cleaning to computer rep airs, lawn mowing and more, Net work Classifieds has been connec ting local businesses with loca l community with our Trades and Services each week. Speak to our classified team and find out how easy it is to advertise.

Stage School Australia

2018

classes starting now! Join us in the spotlight! Fun, inspiring classes in musical theatre, drama and dance for young people (4-18). All skills welcome. Stage School Australia has been inspiring young people through the performing arts for over 30 years.

General Classifieds V

Dandy Belles

2SHQKRXUV Special $105 for 30 mins

Private introductions Discreet rear entrance

Manhattan Terrace 554-556 Swanston St, Melbourne

(mon-tues daytime)

17 Maxwell St, Dandenong

SWA4281be

Adult Services

Phone - 1300 Escort 1300 372 678. 24hrs/7 days. swa4281be.

Find your special occasion needs in our

Celebrations

Phone

section of Network Classifieds.

03 9347 6000 9792 0166 (2hr meter parking out front) SWA 3702BE

V

12345818-LB14-17

G6740069AA-dc2Apr

12373088-LB48-17

Employment section of Network Classifieds.

(03) 8199 8344

21 locations across Melbourne.

Red Lantern

stageschool.com.au

swa7023b

More new ladies

9793 2988 9793 2986

Employment

Real Estate

Mel 95 E3, 7days

45-47 Tope Street, South Melbourne SWA5109BE

would all be understatements!�

Bayside classes in Brighton and Cheltenham

17 Nicole Way Dandenong South

V

convinced this was a great thing for our child to do

Book your free try-out today!

Adult Services

red17.com.au

Body Rubs

9696 9199

V

V

Garage Sales

Positions Vacant

PLACE YOUR GARAGE Need New Staff? Place your vacancy online SALE AD ONLINE Anytime, Any place Get 10% Discount Use code: GSDISCOUNT

Anytime, anyplace

www.networkclassifieds.com.au

GET 10% DISCOUNT Use code: EMPDISC www.networkclassifieds.com.au

Your advert can appear in print and online!

section of Network Classifieds.

Motoring Auto Services/ Repair

V 12352061-CG20-17

&%' %URWKHO

Adult Services

12354919-JV24-17

Adult Services

“To say we were happy, thrilled, delighted and

12340946-PB09-17

1193032-LN31-15

V

Dancing

OCR

Old Cars Removed WE PAY YOU UP TO

500 CASH

$

12321588-DJ36-16

J.L. Hutt Electrical

1152285-PB36-14

Grow your business with Trades and Services

12378065-ACM06-18

V

1185482-PB22-15

V

General Classifieds

For Any Old Car TODAY

9798 3364 LMCT 10227

Place Your Classified Ads Online

1300 666 808 // sales@networkclassifieds.com.au

networkclassifieds.com.au 54

T H E W E E K LY R E V I E W


Discover

ADVERTISING FEATURE To advertise in this page call Tania on 5945 0636

AP Shutters and Blinds

J Ward Museum

Highest quality blinds and Timber Plantation Shutters at Melbourne’s best prices. Specialising in all other window furnishings including Holland Blinds, Sun Screens, Awnings, Venetians, Romans and Curtains. AP Shutters & Blinds strive to offer our clients the best products available on the market, at the most competitive prices. We understand how valuable your time is, so by providing an obligation-free, on site consultation we hope to save you both time and money. Our service is entirely in-house, from consultation and sales, to installation and servicing.

J Ward is a museum that brings to life the early history of the Ararat goldfields and later, the incarceration of the criminally insane. J Ward is a premier tourist venue in Victoria, visited by more than 10,000 people annually (greater than Ararat’s population). Relive the past by taking a guided tour, conducted by the Friends of J Ward volunteers. Our tours run every day (excluding Christmas Day). For more information, please give us a call or visit our website:

www.ap-shutters.com

www.jward.org.au

smarterBATHROOMS+

Ararat. (03) 5352 3357

1134781-HM20-14

Showroom: 77 Salmon St, Port Melbourne. 1300 662 838

1139401-PB24-14

s!WARDWINNINGDESIGNS

s"ATHROOMS +ITCHENS ,AUNDRIES

s&ULLTURN KEYRENOVATIONS

s2EGISTERED"UILDERS

s$EDICATED)NTERIOR$ESIGNER

s4RANSFORMEDOVER HOMES

s$EDICATED0ROJECT-ANAGER s&REE)N (OME#ONSULTATION www.smarterbathrooms.com.au

12377518-DJ07-18

DeckSealRevival Pty Ltd

Skin Essentials Beauty Bar

Windows 1

Melbourne’s deck care and maintenance professional’s. Residential and commercial. We do it all from deck sanding, cleaning, sealing, washing to deck maintenance and finally deck refinishing! Continually delivering a beautiful and long lasting deck surface. No job too big or small. Give us a call, email: info@deckseal.com.au or visit our website for more information.

Skin Essentials Beauty Bar is a boutique salon located in the beautiful bayside suburb of Elwood. With a cult following as Melbourne’s most sought after destination for Spray Tanning we guarantee a perfect tan every time! Our staff are continuously trained in current trends and we use only the highest grade organic spray tanning solutions on the market with both 2hr and 8hr tanning options available. Special $35 spray tans (normally $45) when you mention this ad.

We specialise in the supply and installation of replacement

www.deckseal.com.au • info@deckseal.com.au

www.skinessentialsbeautybar.com

www.windows1.net.au

Contact: (03) 9886 3350 or 0410 537 164

80 Ormond Rd, Elwood ph: 9537 7077

1171168-KC6-15

9703 1530

12378510-ACM07-18

windows and doors – timber, aluminium or PVC. Our staff are fully qualified ensuring quality work. No job too big or too small. Member of MBA and HIA. To replace your old, tired, rotting windows please call us for a free, no obligation measure and quote. 1238832.-CG33-16

GIA Bathrooms and Kitchens

smarterBATHROOMS+

Melbourne’s Luna Park

Specialist design and renovation company, providing peace

Live in the kitchen you love.

Summer Nights 2 for 1!

of mind that one company will manage all aspects of your

Transform the home you love with a complete design, build and

Any 2 guests over 4 years old get unlimited rides for $49.95.

renovation process. Complete start to finish service, with

project management service. Call Melbourne’s leading Bathroom

Thursday nights 7-11pm: 8 February – 29 March 2018

guaranteed start and finish dates. Call now to book an in home

and Kitchen renovator and your designer will make it easy for you.

Friday nights 7-11pm: 9 February – 23 March 2018

consultation or visit our website for further information.

Get started today.

Get your tickets online or at the ticket box.

819A Nepean Hwy Bentleigh 1300 442 736

www.giarenovations.com.au

12377547-LN06-18

18 Lower Esplanade St Kilda

1300 662 838. Showroom 77 Salmon Street, Port Melbourne

www.smarterbathrooms.com.au

12377512-DJ06-18

www.lunapark.com.au

12378550-RC07-18

97 Auburn Road Hawthorn, 3122 Contact: 9818 1133


Upholstered Furniture Sale On Now Johanna Side Chair & Round Table by Kett Johanna Occasional Chair by Kett Otway Modular Sofa by Kett

Exclusive to

Melbourne 03 9281 1999 Sydney 02 9317 3011 Brisbane 07 3254 0000 Perth 08 9415 2522 www.coshliving.com.au

The Weekly Review Bayside & Port Phillip  

February 7-13, 2018

The Weekly Review Bayside & Port Phillip  

February 7-13, 2018

Advertisement