Issuu on Google+


"It is the Business of The Future To Be Dangerous" – A.N W h i t e h e a d

Welcome Fr iends, M e m b e r s, B r o t h e r s. . . The Solstice is a biannual gather ing o f a e s t h e t i c t a l e n t f r o m a r o u n d t h e w o r l d . A place where var ious ideas and im a g e s c o l l i d e t o p e r s u a d e n e w o p i n i o n s. The world has become c luttered with s h a l l o w i d e a s a n d o b j e c t s d e s i g n e d t o b e created in haste and consumed even fa s t e r. D e s i g n i s t h e l a n g u a g e w i t h w h i c h we express our hopes and dreams in co n s u m a bl e f o r m . T h e t o n e o f t h a t l a n g u a g e, more often than not, resembles a terse g r u n t ra t h e r t h a n a S h a k e s p e a r e a n s o n n e t . The role of design must shift to cre a t e l e s s o b j e c t s a t a s l o w e r ra t e, p l a c i n g emphasis on las t i n g va l u e a n d c ra f t . This is The R i s e o f F u t u r e c ra f t . We stand united to represent the op p o s i t i o n o f a l l t h a t n u m b s t h e m i n d a n d spir it. Let us move forward into the f u t u r e, i n u n i s o n , a n d w i t h g r e a t v i s i o n . Frater nitas . U n i t a s . Au c t u s TRUST T H E K D U

With Works By: Proof 7

Phil Knott

A n dy G i l m o r e

R o n W i m b e r ly

R o c h a m beau

Er ic Vogel

H e r n a n L o m b a rd o

Matt Moore MWM

R e g g i e Gilber t

Si Scott

Nasa

David Harris SON

K i n g S t ampede

TKSH

Rodrigo Lima

Chow Martin

Mishka

Diego Quintana

Fa c e l e s s

P o e t s & T h i e ve s

FUCT

Edgar Gonzalez

Ric Stultz

J o s h Va n o ve r

F ly i n g Coffin

Chr is Remey

THMD

Justin Maller

M K L a ne

Bob Par tington

Chuck Anderson

To dd A l a n B r e l a n d

P i l o t M agazine

Stefan Lucut

Boundless NY

The KDU

C o ve r I llustrations by Aerosyn-Lex Mestrov i c


Artwork by: Josh Vanover For: Serum Versus Venom www.spaceknuckle.com


Calligraphy by: Aerosyn-Lex Mestrovic www.nontype.com


Artwork by: Andy Gilmore www.kunstformen.blogspot.com


Artwork by: Si Scott www.siscottstudio.com


Artwork by: Chow Martin www.chowmartin.com


Artwork by: Justin Maller & Holly Bynoe www.superlover.com.au www.depthcore.com


Artwork by: Edgartista Gonzalez www.edgartista.com


Artwork by: Diego Quintana www.diegoquintana.com


Artwork by: MWM Graphics www.mwmgraphics.com


Artwork by: Todd Alan Breland www.toddalanbreland.com


Artwork by: Chuck Anderson www.nopattern.com


Artwork by: Ronald Wimberly D-Pi www.D-PI.com


Artwork by: Never Effect www.nevereffect.com


Artwork by: Faceless www.facelessart.com


Photography by: Phil Knott www.philknott.com


Artwork by: Poets & Thieves www.poetsandthievesinc.com


Photography by: Eric Vogel www.ericvogelphoto.com


Artwork by: nasa* www.nasaworks.com


Artwork by: Rodrigo Lima www.behance.net/rlima


Artwork by: Tech Vector www.techvector.com


Artwork by: Ric Stultz www.ricstultz.com


Artwork by: THMD www.theyhatemydesign.net


Artwork by: TKSH www.stillontherun.com


Artwork by: Stefan Lucut www.stefanlucut.com


Artwork by: Spaceknuckle For: Proof 7 www.spaceknuckle.com www.proof7.com


Fashion Design by: Micheal Venker For: Rochambeau www.proof7.com


Artwork by: Bob Partington www.bobpartington.com


Artwork by: Alexander Fielden www.alexanderfielden.com


Photography by: DAVID / SON www.somethinofnothin.com


F

I LY

N

G


Illustration by: Robin Nishio


Illustration by Daniel Dussault

Illustration by: Daniel Dussault


Designed + Curated By: The KDU www.t h e k d u . c o m www. s v s v. n e t

Fine Printing By: Proof Seven Pr inted with state of th e a r t t e c h n o l o gy p r o c e s s e s and fin e p a p e r s This book was proud ly p r i n t e d & p r o d u c e d in New Yo r k C i t y www.pro o f 7 . c o m

Creative Directors: David Gensler Aerosyn-Lex Mestrovic Executive Producers: Josh Cooper Laurence Chandler Designer: Colin Chow



Solstice MMIX