26th Annual Candlelight Tour of Homes Jefferson County,Texas
or years now, the Historic Jefferson Foundation put on an event for all to revel in during the Holidays. The 26th Annual Candlelight Tour of Homes is a holiday tradtion and one that travelers shouldn’t miss!
Victorian Castle was built in the 1890s by William E. Singleton Jr. for his wife, Victoria. It was named for her and for its architectural style. The house features 11-foot ceilings, an ornate stairway, original wood floors and an upstairs with unique turret and balcony bedrooms. It has two fireplaces that have been restored to their original splendor with a portrait of the original owner above the library fireplace. The Singletons had six children, all of whom were said to be musically inclined and the parlor is host to the original piano where the family often entertained guests. Owned by Karen and Richard Penner and located at 301 Clarksville Street, Victorian Castle has carried on the tradition of providing a wonderful home from one family to the next.
61 Dallas St.
No. 61 Dallas Street is a commercial brick structure built in 1860 by John B. Ligor. Before, during and after the War Between the States, the structure served a variety of commercial interests, including a livery stable, a Confederate hat factory and a saloon. Known locally as the “Old Masonic Building,� it was one of the few structures remaining from the mid-1850s Jefferson steamboat wharf district along Dallas Street. When it was purchased by the Jefferson Junior Historical Society in 1974, it was the first youth restoration preservation project in Texas. The current owners, Christine and PhilWelch, purchased the structure in 2003, and they recently completed the restoration into a historic saloon and townhouse.
Sagamore House, built in 1852, is a beautiful example of
a vernacular Texas house with Greek Revival influence. It originally was the home of Henry Scott, a partner in the first commercial ice plant in Texas. Several notable families have worked to restore and maintain the historic home. It is currently owned by Gary Slade and Tom Clift, and is located at 201 East Dixon Street in Jefferson�s historic district. The home has been completely restored and furnished with country primitive antiques appropriate to the period. It features a large living/formal dining room with 13-foot ceilings featuring rich crown moulding, original brick wood-burning fireplaces and original heart-of-pine floors. The back yard is shaded by 150-year-old pecan trees.
The modest, Craftsman-style bungalow at 601 East Jefferson Street was built in 1921 by Henry and Lou Moseley Davis, and they lived there more than 50 years. It was a Sears catalog house in a kit that included all the materials needed for construction. Some of the homes features are short, tapered porch columns on brick pedestals, original Art Deco porch light fixtures and exposed rafter tails. The original wood floors, French doors, and numerous large windows with heavily molded cross trim contribute to the charm and quaintness of the cottage. The house has the distinction of being one of the town�s first bed and breakfasts and was known as the Gingerbread House. Diane and Dale Vaughan purchased the house in 2005 and have completely restored the cottage to its original charming condition for their private residence. Schedule and Pricing Thursdays, Dec. 4 & Dec. 11, 3-8 p.m. Fri. & Sat., Dec. 5 & Dec. 6, 5-9 p.m. Fri. & Sat., Dec. 12 & 13, 5-9 p.m. Tickets: Adults- $15, Children (under 10) - $2 For more information, call (903) 665-7064 or visit them online at www.historicjeffersonfoundation.com.
Published on Jan 23, 2009
Check out our latest edition of The Hotel Guide. We have great features on top-notch hotels, incredible destinations and much more.