Page 17

news HIGH COMMISSIONER OF AUSTRALIA TO THE UNITED KINGDOM VISITS THE ROCK Last Month Gibraltar welcomed the High Commissioner of Australia to the United Kingdom, His Excellency the Hon Alexander Downer, to the Rock on a fact-finding visit. The Deputy Chief Minister, Dr Joseph Garcia, had previously met with Mr Downer when in London in September. The High Commissioner’s visit to Gibraltar included a number of briefings and working meetings on a wide range of subjects, including Brexit, future trade and the economy. On Monday night the Deputy Chief Minister addressed His Excellency at an official dinner, where other guests included the Chief Justice, Ministers, Opposition Members and representatives of the Financial Services and Online Gaming sectors. The Australian expat community in Gibraltar was also invited. Dr Garcia’s speech covered the themes of Gibraltar’s history and strategic military importance

face on the podium, was the runner up, beating Louis Calvente on handicap, with a score of 34 points. The winner was Roger Griffiths with 35 points. Category 2 (handicaps 13 to 22): Andrew Lewis beat several players on handicap to be runner up with a score of 32 points. The winner was Paul Miles, the sponsor of the day, with 34 points. Category 3 (handicap 23 and above): Ian Collinson was the winner with 34 points and the runner up was Tommy Pearson with a score of 32 points.   Nearest the pin winners were: Russell Blessett, Paul Miles, Tim Mitchell, Dan Banister and Linda Fletcher. Duncan Hamilton won nearest the pin in 2 on a par 4 and Norman Savitz was winner of nearest the pin in 3 on a par 5.  Prizes were presented by Paul Miles on behalf of the sponsor. Paul also presented the card draw prizes as


from the Battle of Trafalgar to today, Australia’s support for Gibraltar at the United Nations throughout the 1960s and for the first sovereignty Referendum of 1967, and Gibraltar’s economy, in particular the importance of Gibraltar’s respected and growing financial services centre and expertise in online gaming. Gibraltar is gearing up for a post-Brexit future, and it is only natural that we want to do business with those countries that share our core values. Australia, a respected fellow member of the Commonwealth shares our commitment to fairness, democracy, human rights, to standing up for the underdog, to freedom and justice, and to self-determination, said Dr Garcia. Visits such as this one are invaluable for building relationships, identifying mutual interests and exploring ways to work more closely together in the future.

follows: one litre bottle of Johnnie Walker red label whisky was won by Andrew Lewis and golf caps were won by Pete Yeoman and Dawn Milton. Anders Østgergaard presented the Jyske Bank Draw prize of a presentation pack of special Danish beer.   A very good time was seen to be had by all. John Hunter, Med Golf Director, thanked the sponsor and the players for supporting the event and wished everyone the compliments of the season on behalf of the Med Golf Team.

BILL TO AMEND THE GIBRALTAR ELECTRICITY AUTHORITY ACT The Government has published a Bill to amend the Gibraltar Electricity Authority Act that will, for the first time ever allow individual customers of the GEA to feed-in electricity generated at home from renewable sources. The change in the law, following approval by the Board of the Gibraltar Electricity Authority, is aimed at encouraging renewable energy micro-generation in the home. Customers who install such equipment will be able to enter into a feed-in agreement with the GEA whereby all the units of electricity fed into the network will be credited to the customer’s electricity bill. The Minister responsible for the Environment and Energy, John Cortes commented, “Our fast improving electricity network can now take energy fed in by customers, and this amendment to the law, once taken through Parliament, will allow individual consumers to be producers as well, and to get electricity credits for any power that they feed in. This will result in savings to the consumer and also in reducing the emissions and carbon footprint of Gibraltar. How far we have come in six short years.”

For more details on our full schedule and the benefits of joining Med Golf please visit our website:

The Jyske Bank Order of Merit Only the top 10 will qualify for next summers Med Golf Masters. Here are the current top 20 Matt Charlesworth, Louis Calvente, Richard Atkinson, Roy Azopardi, Mike Cowburn, Chris Purkiss, Daniel Lomax, Joe Sanchez, Kevin Jones, Paul Nash, Matthew Warner, Nick Farr, Nicky Sanchez, Ian McNee, Tim Mitchell, Douglas Cascairo, Peter Gruetter, Matthew Robinson, John Hunter, Jon Bowden


The Gibraltar Magazine January 2018  

New year, new issue. We're back, and we have some inspiring articles in store for you. On the cover this month is Colonel Blashford-Snell,...

The Gibraltar Magazine January 2018  

New year, new issue. We're back, and we have some inspiring articles in store for you. On the cover this month is Colonel Blashford-Snell,...