Page 20

20 Northern

Freeport from page 19 to Kyle Newell. Spencer Drake was named Most Improved Player. David Vitali won the Boosters’ Pride and Character Award. Boys’ cross-country’s Golden Arrow Award went to Vinnie Zolla. Bennett Wade won the Winged Shoe Award. Griffin Day took home the Boosters’ Pride and Character Award. On the girls’ side, Gabby Tilton won the Golden Arrow Award. Lauren Easler took home the Winged Shoe Award. Brianna Roy was given the Boosters’ Pride and Character Award. Football’s Best Offensive Player Award went to Jared Knighton. The Best Defensive Player Award was given to Dan Burke. Paul Nixon took home the Booster’s Pride and Character Award.

All-stars from page 19 Dave Hart made the first team offense. On the defensive side, Yarmouth senior lineman Billy Clabby and junior linebackers Carter Dorsett and John Held were honored. Yarmouth’s Prosica was given the Taglienti Award as the Class C Player of the Year and is a semifinalist for the Fitzpatrick Trophy.

Field hockey NYA won the Class C field hockey championship for a second time in three years, while Greely reached the Western B Final and two other squads, Falmouth and Freeport, qualified for the postseason. All four teams, and Yarmouth, produced all-stars. The Division I first team included Falmouth’s Kelsey Freedman, Greely’s

The JV team’s Athletic Excellence Award winners were Ben MacMillan and Joe Nixon. Adam Brobst won the Boosters’ Pride and Character Award.

Middle School winners As always, middle school students were also honored. Athletic Excellence Awards were given to the following: 7th grade boys’ soccer Jack Davenport and Addison Vosmos 8th grade boys’ soccer Ryder Bennell and Callum Gould 7th grade girls’ soccer Chloe Hight and Nina Moore 8th grade girls’ soccer MacKenzie Ackley and Lizzy Martin 8th grade field hockey Abby Gray and Abby Smith Boys’ cross-country Erik Brobst

Jackie Andrews, CeCi Hodgkins and Meaghan Labbe and Yarmouth’s Cassidy Cleaves. The second team featured Falmouth’s Katie Cooleen and Yarmouth’s Lindsey Purpura. Freedman was chosen the Class B Player of the Year. In Division II, Freeport’s Abby Mahoney and NYA’s Kylie Dalbec, Frances Leslie and Katherine Millett made the first team. Freeport’s Katie Turner and NYA’s Megan Fortier and Renee Lamoureau were named to the second team.

Cross-country Forecaster country always has some of the finest runners to be found in the state and 2010 was no different. The WMC boys’ first team featured Falmouth’s Tim Follo and Johnny Lake, Greely’s Sam Johnston, Merriconeag’s Jack Pierce, NYA’s Cam Regan and Yarmouth’s

Single Slab and

Remnant Sale

Choose from our selection of pre-made through hearths for your new th March pellet or wood29 stoves.

February 19th

What home Whatbetter bettertime timeto toupdate update your your home with granite?Blue BlueRock�s Rock’s withaa touch touch of of granite? single andremnants remnantsare arefirst firstquality quality single slabs slabs and stone. makebeautiful beautifulfireplace fireplace stone.They They can can make surrounds, vanities,center centerislands, islands, surrounds, hearths, hearths, vanities, and up to to 60% 60% off off the the retail retail andmore more -� all all up price. includescutting cuttingand anda a3/16 price. The The sale sale includes 3/16 pencil Stop the Center pencil edge.edge. Stop by theby Stone Stone Center and 19th browse selection starting February andour browse our of sizes and colors. selection of sizes and colors. 737 Spring Street

Westbrook, Maine

December 2, 2010

Girls’ cross-country Hannah Schnyder Football Nathenial Cyr and Sam Wogan Boosters’ Pride and Character Awards were given to the following: 7th grade boys’ soccer Braydon Chapman 8th grade boys’ soccer Brendan Qualls 7th grade girls’ soccer Maddie Squib 8th grade girls’ soccer Emily Johnson 8th grade field hockey Dani Foster Cross-country Daniel Sinclair Football Branden Larkins Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at

Laura Fay and her Falmouth volleyball teammates got back to the state game this fall. Fay was named an all-star for her efforts.

File photo

Ben Nickerson. Falmouth’s Henry Briggs and Conor McGrory, Greely’s Connor Regan and Stefan Sandreuter and NYA’s Evan Kendall made the second team. On the girls’ side, Falmouth’s Maggie Parrish, Greely’s Kirstin Sandreuter and Yarmouth’s Sarah Becker were first teamers. Falmouth’s Summer Greenwood, Meg Palombo and Abby Payson, Greely’s Jordan Ouellette, Merriconeag’s Zoe Chace and Yarmouth’s Josselyn Richards-Daniels qualified for the second team. The All-Academic team included Falmouth’s Sarah Abramson, Jackson Bloch, Matthew Goldstein, Sean Lannon, Anna Locke, Jacob Merson, Adrienne Michalakis, Parrish, Madeleine Torraca Jones,

Relax... x

those sore muscles

Douglas A. Reighley, L.M.T., R.P.P. 26 School St. • Yarmouth, ME 04096 207-749-1961

Falmouth Ski Club


207-772-6770 1-800-466-2336

5PM Mon � Fri: 8AM AM PM Mon-Fri 89AM tototo 5 5PM Mon-Fri: Sat: 8 AM to noon Sat 8 AM to 4 PM Sat: 8 AM to Noon

File photo

Nate Pfeffer took home a Coaches’ Award at Freeport’s Fall Sports Awards night.

Amy Webster, Tess Wrobleski and Micah Zuckerman, Freeport’s Miles Boucher, Matt Creasy, Brina Dillon, Spencer Egan, Ben Forster, Max Jennings, Charlie Lehmer, Scott Ross and Bennett Wade, Greely’s Meaghan Crowley, Julia Isaacson and Anna Whitaker, Merriconeag’s Phineas Samuelson, NYA’s Henry Arsenault, Nicholas Kolkin, Anna Jaeger and Alison Znamierowski and Yarmouth’s Sam Kapner, Nickerson, Anne Ryan, Chloe Sarapas, Ben Woodbury and Lauren Wrobleski. The Maine Track and Cross Country Coaches All-State boys’ team included Falmouth’s Follo on the first team and Merriconeag’s Pierce as an honorable mention. The girls’ team included Greely’s Sandreuter as an honorable mention.


Several local golfers qualified for the WMC all-star team. That list included (in order of qualifying score) NYA’s Tim Millett, Falmouth’s Connor Burfeind, Will Bucklin and Matt Packard, Yarmouth’s Ian Marr, Falmouth’s Nick Franco and Yarmouth’s Red Desmith and NYA’s Jake Landry.


Greely’s seven-year reign as volleyball state champion came to an end this fall, but the Rangers remained strong, as did Falmouth, which made it back to the state final. Those teams, along with Yarmouth and NYA, had all-stars. The Western Maine Conference team featured Falmouth’s Alana Becker, Laura Fay and Kate Sparks, Greely’s Michelle Poulin and Sarah Warnock, NYA’s Jenny Sharp and Yarmouth’s Abbie Hutchinson and Mary Sansone. The Southern Maine first team included Falmouth’s Becker and Sparks, Greely’s Warnock and Yarmouth’s Hutchinson. Greely’s Poulin and NYA’s Sharp were second team selections. Sports Editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at

New & Used Equipment Alpine, X-Country & Snow Boards Great deals from: • Arlberg Ski & Sport • Auclair Cycle & Ski • Rodgers Ski & Sport

Falmouth Middle School


Sunday, Dec. 5th • 12 - 3 pm

52 Woodville Rd., Falmouth Used Equip. Drop-Off Saturday, Dec. 4th • 5-8 pm Falmouth Middle School Café

The Forecaster, Northern edition, December 2, 2010  

The Forecaster, Northern edition, December 2, 2010, 2010, a Sun Media Publication, pages 1-40

The Forecaster, Northern edition, December 2, 2010  

The Forecaster, Northern edition, December 2, 2010, 2010, a Sun Media Publication, pages 1-40