Page 1

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW A QUARTERLY LITERARY REVIEW

SUMMER 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

COVER PHOTO BY JAY V RUVOLO COPYRIGHT (C) 2017 JAY V RUVOLO

2

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

June 8, 2017

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW COPYRIGHT (C) 2017 JAY V. RUVOLO

3

SUMMER 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

June 8, 2017

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW A QUARTERLY REVIEW ESSAYS, POETRY, PHOTOGRAPHY AND/OR FICTION NEW YORK CITY 2017

PUBLISHING AND CONTRIBUTING EDITOR JAY V. RUVOLO ALL TEXT HEREIN

4

SUMMER 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

falling leaves A CHAPBOOK by Jay V. Ruvolo Copyright (c) 2017 Jay V. Ruvolo

5

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

1 The window is closed Early morning sun sits on the sill My feet fumble with my flip flops As I open my eyes wide and Fix on the shadows of the branches Of the tree on the wall Opposite the window facing east

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

2 I open the door to the stoop In front of the building Where I live I look down to see 
 On the steps at my feet Bottom to bottom Embracing Two Katydids Mating

6

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

3 A seagull gliding As a kite glides Drops a crab Onto the rocks of the jetty Splitting a wave

7

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

4 I watch pigeons surrounding A woman sitting On the park bench In the courtyard Outside below my bedroom window Not feeding them

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

5 6 Waves spread into wakes at my feet Sucked under the sands of the surf Here on the beach in Montauk, Hither Hills-I step Then stumble

No moon above me In the night 
 No night of stars In the skies 
 Cloud-covered November's crueler than April Everywhere all around me decay Not raining now The clouds breaking apart

8

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

8 7 Crickets pause As I watch the full moon Shining through the window Onto the bed

The telephone rings In my dream I answer it Nobody responds

9

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

9 Heavily the silence In my bedroom To night With you

10 A squirrel scurries Up an oak With an acorn Never to be an oak

Next to me 
 Still

10

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

11 A breeze blows through the leaves Of the tree outside my bedroom window This early morning after dawn Sunlight on the window sill Mottled by the shadows of the leaves Moving in time With the leaves on the tree Raking the breeze

12 A flock of wrens Outside my kitchen window The cacophony spreads With the sparrows Who follow One two And another Onto the cable box Below the fire-escape platform

11

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

13 Shower water runs The length of my body Down the drain

12

14 I watch thickening gray skies, See birds having found shelter From the storm Coming soon Under an air-conditioner In a window In the wall Perpendicular to the wall With my window-I look through The floor above

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

15

The tree I see In me In the window glass I leave a puddle At my feet A breeze through The hairs of my legs

16 A handful of rice At the wedding Of a friend I put in my pocket; I later throw rice at them. I must not have thrown it all. I find some months later.

13

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

18

Without the clock Tick tick tick Without you Silence deafens even my thoughts of you 17

Without gain

A hole in the bricks of the wall of my building Perpendicular to the wall with the window I look out of To see the sparrows gathering on the fire escape

A memory of a toppled bird bath bowl Flower petals frozen In the ice Still colorful

14

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

19 Larger than you

20

Your presence

Any where

So I can make it to you late— I wait for the doors of the train to close.

Your absence tonight

15

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

21 22 Muted by a train leaving— guitar strings lightly strummed— I wait for another train as I decide I am too lazy to walk over and leave a few coins in the man's guitar case laying opened on the platform I can see from my spot at least sixteen paces from him.

16

Spinning on the pole on the train over the bridge— a boy without words.

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

23 24 Ten hundred thousand thousand ripples of East River waters flowing below me to the sea, to the sea, East River waters flowing to the sea.

17

On the ground, at my feet, the absence of a leaf on a branch shakes.

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

June 8, 2017

26 The dandelions having appeared overnight Are picked by a boy Who resembles me In mind. 25 A boy and two girls run away from a boy with two boys playing.

18

SUMMER 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

27 Picked along the road, summer blue wildflowers at the foot of the back of the dunes.

28

A seagull squawks loudly for other seagulls to come to him, ocean seawater waves falling rapidly, one following another and another following the other— crescendo!


19

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

June 8, 2017

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW SUMMER 2017 PUBLISHING AND CONTRIBUTING EDITOR JAY V. RUVOlO (C) 2018 Jay V. Ruvolo

20

SUMMER 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

June 8, 2017

THE CURRENT ISSUE IS A CHAPBOOK by THE PUBLISHING AND CONTRIBUTING EDITOR JAY V. RUVOLO

Back cover: Montauk Evening, Walking West from Ditch Plains Photo by Jay V. Ruvolo (c)2016

21

SUMMER 2017


VOLUME 2 NUMBER 2

22

THE FALLING LEAF REVIEW

SUMMER 2017

June 8, 2017

The Falling Leaf Review Summer 2017  

A Quarterly Literary Review

The Falling Leaf Review Summer 2017  

A Quarterly Literary Review

Advertisement