Issuu on Google+

Volume 3 Issue 1

COLLEGIATE|Review October 2009

October 2009

For The Students, By The Students

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

1


2

COLLEGIATE|Review

College of Southern Nevada

October 2009


campus life A Message from the ASCSN Student Body President ...................page 6 A Message from the ASCSN Student Body Vice President.............page 7 Helpful Techniques For College Students ............................................page 8

features Ratemyprofessors.com: Pass/Fail............................................................... page 11

news College of Southern Nevada Coyotes get ready.....................page 14

opinions A Day in the Life of…....................................................................page 17 Speaking of Speaking.......................................................................page 19 18 the new 21?.......................................................................................page 20

fashion/beauty Fall Skin Care..................................................................................................... page 21 ON-THE-GO MAKEUP.................................................................................. page 22

arts/entertainment “Tell Your Children!”....................................................................................... page 23

October 2009

“This Is A Public Service Announcement…............................................. page 25

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

3

Happy B-Day Mr. Guinness............................................................................ page 26


4

COLLEGIATE|Review

College of Southern Nevada

Photos By: Maya Arellano

October 2009


October 2009

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

5


A Message from the ASCSN Student Body President

W

elcome back to another exciting year here at the College of Southern Nevada. Last year was certainly an interesting year, but with your help we pushed back against 36% budget reductions that would have certainly damaged higher education and CSN beyond repair. Unfortunately, we still had a 12% reduction placed upon us, and beginning Spring 2010, we will see a 5% fee increase every semester until 2011. Your student government and administration remains steadfast in fighting against any unreasonable mid-term budget cuts or fee increases. As your Student Body President, I have the honor of representing not only you, but all Community College students in the Nevada System of Higher Education as the NSHE Fee and Tuition Committee sets not only rates for the 2011-2013 term but also

6

COLLEGIATE|Review

policy that relates to how and what you and those who come after you will pay to go to school at all NSHE institutions. 2009-2010 is a year of accessibility with Student Government. I and the rest of your representatives are committed to ensuring your view is heard and encourage you to participate in the many programs and events we have coming up. Student Government has established 5 core concepts we hope will bring student government closer to you. 1. Fair, Inclusive and Transparent (F.I.T) Government 2. Student Government Efficiency 3. One Campus Initiative 4. Increased Accessibility 5. External Partnerships To break these down, being F.I.T means we want to involve you in our processes, give everyone a fair shot and opportunity to help improve our school. Efficiency in Student Government is geared toward “going green” as well as enacting policies that make what we do quicker and

College of Southern Nevada

easier for you. One Campus, is a mindset we want to adopt to show, as student government, we represent all campuses and as such will hold events and programs at every campus so that everyone has the opportunity to participate and get whatever enjoyment or information is available. Increased accessibility, as the name suggests is an effort to be more accessible to you. We have created Facebook and MySpace pages as well increased communication options on www.csn.edu/ascsn. We have also created a new way to get in touch with us: student. government@csn.edu. These are great resources to use to get a hold of your elected representatives. Finally, building external partnerships with the community and other college departments to better your college experience and remain the community’s college. As the Associated Students of the College of Southern Nevada approaches its 35th year we will continue to be there for you to serve you and to help you in any way we can and keep the tradition alive by continuing to represent you to the best of our ability. Thank you, and have a great semester. Sincerely, Nathaniel Waugh ASCSN Student Body President

October 2009


CAMPUS LIFE

A Message from the ASCSN Student Body Vice President

D

ear Fellow CSN Students,

Thank you for voting in the Spring 2009 ASCSN Student Government election. Your voices,

concerns, and ideas are very important to us as an organization. CSN has many opportunities for students to get involved in the community and the school. Currently, I serve on the CSN Hispanic Heritage Month Committee, which meets every summer to plan events that celebrate and positively influence the Hispanic culture. The Office of Diversity and Inclusion is always looking for students who would like to make a difference and take an active role in what programs are held at our institution. Also, there are several advisory boards that meet to discuss scholarships and to solve issues related to various ethnic groups. As Student Government Vice President, I vowed to improve the club atmosphere at CSN and to help clubs be more accessible to all of you. I recently held a Club Mixer, and was pleased to see that many of you came to the event, joined several of our organizations, and offered to share your

experience at the event with me. I have an open door policy, and always welcome your suggestions. I encourage all of you to join groups such as Student Government, The Collegiate Review student newspaper, or other committees that will allow you to improve the quality of student life at CSN; to change the Las Vegas community for the better, and to leave a legacy for the students that will follow us. Thank you for supporting the ASCSN Student Government, The Collegiate Review, and other CSN groups. I look forward to a very productive and exciting year! Have a wonderful Fall 2009 semester and I hope to see all of you at ASCSN Student Government events. Sincerely, Abriana Foster ASCSN Student Government Vice President

Words Are Louder Than Actions “My Words Fly Up, My Thoughts Remain Below: Words Without Thoughts, Never To Heaven Go.� -William Shakespeare, Hamlet. Act III. Sc. 3

Join or Submit Your Opinions to The Collegiate Review For More Information Call 702-651-4339 October 2009

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

7


CAMPUS LIFE

Helpful Techniques For College Students by Mary-Anne Colt Staff Writer

W

elcome to college life! This is a big change in a positive direction to advancing one’s self for the rest of their life. Educationally, emotionally, and eventually financially, an individual will benefit and grow from this choice and change. A student will need to rely on different skills to meet the demands of the new college lifestyle. A student needs to set goals, think about career choices, manage money, build self esteem, find college resources, learn motivation skills, increase studying techniques, learn and develop test taking skills, learn to read at a higher level, and practice critical thinking skills. All of these techniques will be discussed in this article. So enjoy, and try to put an effort into practicing this helpful advice. That’s all it will take to increase your ability to become a productive student. All the best on your new venture! • Setting goals is easy when a technique is acquired that will work. First, a student must think about what they want for themselves, then, a visual aid must be devised to show the goals in a concrete form. A visual aid could be written words on paper or on a computer, and could be a poster with photographs cut out of a newspaper/magazine outlining one’s goals. A painting or drawing detailing goals is also good to help visualize what you wish to achieve. • Next, a practical step to achieving

8

COLLEGIATE|Review

College of Southern Nevada

October 2009


goals must be formulated…a plan. Add this to the visual aid to help remember the steps, and to keep your mind focused on the goal(s). Place the visual aid somewhere you’ll easily be able to see, as to help in difficult times when one needs to stay focused. Also, remember Rome was not built in a day, but it was destroyed in one. Time is required to achieve the goals one sets for them self. Patience, diligence, sacrifices, and hard work are required to be successful in attaining the goals one has set. However, a student will find the goals are worth achieving, and meet all necessary requirements in order to accomplish them. • Money management is very important while a student is in college. Funds will be stretched to the maximum capacity, and learning to use a budget will help not only while attending school, but also for the rest of a person’s life. Creating a budget a person can live with is key, and successfully carrying out the budget plan is important. A list of bills is needed for the first step in creating a budget. Balance the list with outgoing versus incoming money. The wisest way to handle money left over in my opinion is to save it. Money management can also help in building self-esteem. And remember when budgeting, try to donate to charity. • Positive talk reinforces good thoughts about one’s self. Positive talk creates positive outlooks in dificult situations, and gets an individual through tough times easier; creating a positive ending to a chapter in life that can be bothersome at the moment. Positive talk helps one overcome unhappiness in life, and in this practice, positive talk is exercised by replacing negative thoughts in that moment with positive thoughts. Practicing this every day will take time and consideration, but after a while, the positive thoughts will flow naturally, and won’t be much of an issue.

numerous benefits. Through exercise, the brain gets more oxygen and therefore can think more efficiently…the brain functions more optimistically due to the chemicals released during exertion. Good looks are an additional by product of exercise. It helps a student feel positive, and fosters good self-esteem. • Motivation is another important factor in one’s college life. Students might need help being motivated from time to time, and a positive outlook helps to keep a student motivated. Friends with goals can help to keep one motivated, so talk to a fellow student. Looking at the visual aid will help to keep a student motivated. Remembering the goals achieved, and good grades help to keep one’s motivation high. Watch a video, or attend a motivational speech to help keep up your spirits. • Students need good study skills in order to attain the goals set for themselves, and to acquire a good education. Learning your personality type and learning style can help one plan a realistic way of reaching their goals. Studying in a group setting will help some students learn better than when alone, especially if the student is a verbal learner, or a naturalistic/hands on learner. A student can start a study group if one is not available for the course already. • Critical thinking is another skill important to success; it’s an innovative thinking style…thinking without emotion. Thinking with objectivity, and with out prejudging the material presented. Critical thinking will help not only with writing papers, but with problem solving (by thinking of many different ways to solve a problem or view a situation). For more help with college success take ASL 101. Good luck in achieving your goals!

Collegiate Review For The Students, By The Students Managing Editor F.A. Pridgon

Copy Editor T.J. Ropelato

Fashion & Beauty Editor Olga Vizcarra

Editorial Dept. Ashton Hall Mary-Anne Colt

Graphics Team Yomaira Sotelo Juan Candelaria Danial Adair

Webmaster

Darin McKinney

Photographer Maya Arellano

Advertising

Priscilla Edison

Faculty Advisor A.B.

Comments or Questions: Please Call 651-4339

Visit us at:

www.thecollegiatereview.com

ASSOCIATED COLLEGIATE PRESS

• Exercise is another self-help tool with

October 2009

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

9


Are you seeking to become a writer, journalist, photographer, advertising executive, or layout artist?

Join the Collegiate Review Newspaper and Journalism Activities Class: GRC 198B For more information, Call: 651-4521

10

COLLEGIATE|Review

College of Southern Nevada

October 2009


Ratemyprofessors.com: Pass/Fail by F. A. PRIDGON Managing Editor

W

hen college students look through class schedules, trying to decide which course to take (or rather which professor), a number of us turn to the opinions of our fellow undergrads. We scroll the pages of ratemyprofessors. com (RMP) searching for an idea; looking for a hint into our unknown. For 10 years, students have used this web site to evaluate their professors, and ‘warn’ others of the impending dangers. Increasingly, we are turning to RMP, with the question of accuracy in the writings of former students becoming suspect in the eyes of some. A number of professors criticize the opinionated reviews listed on ratemyprofessors.com, while others find it not as harsh to take. I imagine there’s a

October 2009

correlation within this struggle of acceptance: professors with unflattering comments lean toward the side of disapproval, and those with fairly good comments find minimal fault with the site. But then again, I can’t say with certainty. Even I, who does not base my decisions solely on the opinions of rating contributors, have an interest in what’s posted for the RMP audience. I initially heard of the web site about a year ago, when my political science professor talked of his first hearing of it from a former student. I recently asked his take on ratemyprofessors.com. “Like so many things in academia, the responses to this web site are either, ‘He walks on water,’ or ‘He’s the antichrist,” said Professor Royse Smith, of CSN’s department of Social Sciences. “I think those [comments] associated with my teaching are fairly accurate. If you want to learn, I’m your man, but if you want an easy grade you need to be in another section.” Littered through some of the professors’ profiles are the “easy A” seal of approval, and finding this highly regarded quality is considered a plus. Within the written reviews, students are able to score professors in the areas of average easiness, average helpfulness, average clarity, overall quality, and hotCollege of Southern Nevada

ness (you know, just for fun). Professor Linda Foreman, of CSN’s department of Human Behavior, views ratemyprofessors.com as beneficial. “I think [ratemyprofessors.com] is a good way to hear from other students. This can be helpful when selecting classes.” Foreman said she has read comments written about herself and CSN faculty, and believes it’s fair for students to grade them. “Sometimes they are accurate, and sometimes I think they are not. We do not use this for official evaluation, but it does provide insight on how I might improve.” said Foreman. First year CSN student Shana Watts feels grading professors is fair. “We all deserve a voice. I haven’t really seen many unreasable ratings.” There’s no definitive way of determining the accuracy of students’ postings (though I’m sure the average student isn’t being untruthful in their statements), but I guess this is only relevant in the case of the less than perfect rates some professors receive. I doubt anyone would be upset with the “great professor” comments, though the professor rebuttal is available in case a professor wants to refute students’ claims. Donabel Hingpit, a first year student at CSN, says she thinks ratemyprofessors. com isn’t fair. “I actually picked a professor that has a low rating, but in class he was really good.” CONTINUES PAGE 12

COLLEGIATE|Review

11


CONTINUED FROM PAGE 11

Sophomore Liz Batres has a similar view. “Some students put down negative comments if they don’t like a professor for personal reasons.” Students post comments with the intent of helping others steer away from professors with which they found fault. Posts like ‘stay away’ and ‘avoid at all costs’ are examples of the warnings (as if a life depended on it). Some students wouldn’t think of registering without checking out what others have had to say about a professor. It’s like students are dependant on the site; class schedules come out and it’s off to ratemyprofessors.com; our electronic version of word of mouth. “I use ratemyprofessors.com for every class I sign up for.” said David Garrard, a 1st year student at CSN. I have even found myself looking through class schedules, seeing staff listed next to quite a few sections, and thinking...staff ? I can’t look up staff! Some students don’t have the luxury of picking their most desired professor, as many of them have schedules that

12

COLLEGIATE|Review

don’t allow for it. “I guess I do try to look at the professors’ ratings, but they don’t influence who I take,” said Brissa Leon, a sophomore at CSN. “I usually need a class and just take what’s available.” There seem to be spikes in the times of ratings; the last day of class, and around the time everyone begins to get their grades. A number of students write of the A they received, to which they usually give fairly good comments. Students that get grades on the other end of the scale tend to voice their frustration with a professor’s decision (though I’ve noticed some instances where a student has done well, and gave a rating of disapproval). It’s as if grades will determine how a student will rate a professor, and patterns tend to accompany a professor’s profile. Leon stated, “I think that when everyone’s opinion is the same, then it must be accurate.” There’s a section of RMP called Site Guidelines, that include the do’s and do not’s of rating, (though I’m not sure how often it’s frequented, as it has a relatively small link at the bottom of the homepage). This provides a pretty detailed list of what is encouraged, and what’s grounds for prosecution. CSN English Professor Adrian Havas says he’s largely a fan of ratemyprofessors.com. “I think it serves a worthy propose, and it’s fair for students to grade us, whether we be instructors or professors. Students are, after all, paying for the

College of Southern Nevada

privilege of attending college.” When asked if he’d ever read comments written about himself he said he had. “I have read the students’ entries for my courses. In general I agree with them. It’s rare to see a ‘cheap shot.’ But sometimes they do appear.” “I know some professors who hate the site and think it’s just a place where disgruntled former students can ‘get back’ at them. Maybe there is a grain of truth in it. But also, I think it’s a case of the truth hurts, not just sometimes, but often. There are some poor professors out there.” said Havas. The posts can have a substantial impact on a student’s decision to take a class. As Armano Burke, a second year student studying political science stated, “I actually dropped a class because of a rating that represented a professor as irrelevant, and focused on too much of their personal life.” There seems to be a consensus regarding the usefulness of ratemyprofessors.com; for the most part students, (and a good amount of professors) believe RMP is fair, and students sharing their opinions isn’t a big deal. Students have their perceptions of what a ‘good’ and ‘bad’ professor is, and as students register for classes, others opinions can take hold of their decision. But, should a professor be avoided on account of the opinions of a disgruntled few? I’m not so sure. Ratemyprofessors.com has made its mark on the college and university set...a growing phenomenon, to which has varied opinions. Ratemyprofessors.com is in the process of releasing an app for Apple’s iPhone, which will allow students to read and post comments, and rate from their cell phones. In the next few months, students will also be able to rate their college dorms, libraries and campus social life (among other things).

October 2009


October 2009

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

13


College of Southern Nevada Coyotes get ready for upcoming season by F. A. PRIDGON Managing Editor

Photos By: Maya Arellano

C

ollege of Southern Nevada’s baseball team has been gaining recognition since its start 10 years ago, and is in preparation for one of the most highly anticipated seasons yet. Under the direction of Tim Chambers, the Coyotes’ baseball team is the longest running athletic program at CSN. And since it’s inception in the summer of 1999, has won a multitude of championships and honors. The team, who was at a conference in Salt Lake City, Utah when I spoke with Coach Chambers, has an impressive line

14

COLLEGIATE|Review

of players that make up the 2009-2010 roster. “They’re all recruited athletes.” said Chambers. “Last year we had a pretty good year... finished second in the conference. We had twenty freshman and we started 6 and 7 at times, and they’re all back, so it’s a veteran team.” The CSN baseball players hail from high schools across Nevada, Utah, Hawaii, Arizona, Montana, California, and Canada, and have also transferred from other colleges.

College of Southern Nevada

“We added some really good players with our recruiting class, and then we had some guys come back from big time division 1 schools. Pitchers from Cal State Northridge, University of Arizona, and the Air Force, all transferred back home to play for us.” said Chambers. Chambers, who has 400+ wins to his name, says their baseball practices are relatively challenging. “It’s pretty tough,” said Chambers. “We do weights at 6 in the morning three days a week, and practice Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, 2:30-5:30, and then either inter squad scrimmage Friday and Saturday or games against competition.” Marvin Campbell, an outfielder with the team, is in his second year with the Coyotes. “There’s a lot going on, but our coaches are really strict on us to make sure we’re going to class, and getting our work done.” says Campbell. “This year Chambers implemented

October 2009


NEWS ferring to another college after finishing national high school player of the year this new system where we have to give by Baseball America, which no underall our teachers little cards that say we’re an Associate of Arts. classman has ever won that award, not “I’ll probably go to school and then student athletes, and that we’re going to even a junior.” continue with baseball.” do good in their classes.” This past summer, Harper was feaThis fall Bryce Harper, a 16 year old Scott Dysinger, a sophomore and tured on the June 8th cover of Sports pitcher from Las Vegas High School, 2nd baseman on the team, says balancIllustrated, and next to his picture were ing school with practice isn’t completely enrolled at CSN and signed a letter of the words ‘Baseball’s Chosen One.’ intent to play for the Coyotes’ baseball hectic. Harper is said to be the top major team, but to some criticism. “After practice, I’ve got to go right Chambers, who’s known Harper since league draft pick in the next round. back to my school work and pay atten“I’ve know Bryce since he was 5 years he was five years old, says the opinions tion in class. And we have tutors.” said old, and I’ve know Ben for a long time. of those opposed to his decision to play Dysinger. for CSN isn’t a factor to him. Trevor Kirk, a second year student Had it not been us, he wouldn’t have playing right and outfield for the Coy“They don’t know him,” said Chamleft high school. It was a great move for otes, thinks school him.” said Chambers. and practice isn’t “We have a lot of talent out there this year, and out There’s no doubt the too chaotic as well. Coyotes are going to give it of all the teams that come “I got most of all they’ve got. They have imthrough here, I think this is the one that could win pressive championships and my main classes done last semester, honors to their name, which that next national championship.”
-Campbell and last year, so include National Junior this semester is College Athletic Association pretty easy for me.” bers. “I don’t value their opinion at (NJCAA) regular season champions in Kirk says playing for CSN was a all.” 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, and 2008. good option for him. For the most part, Chambers says The team members, all of whom have “They have a great program and great others think it was a great choice. been playing for years (some since coaches,” said Kirk, who plans on trans“In high school, [Harper] was named childhood), say they’re looking forward CONTINUES PAGE 16

October 2009

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

15


CONTINUED FROM PAGE 15

to next season. “I’m just excited to get on the field in the season,” says Joe Robinson, a pitcher with the Coyotes. “We’ve got a, a really good team and hopefully we can go all the way.” College of Southern Nevada’s baseball team currently stands at #2 on the Scenic West Athletic Conference (SWAC), just below Western Nevada College. CSN is in NJCAA region 18, along with schools College of Eastern Utah, College of Southern Idaho, Colorado Northwestern Community College, Salt Lake Community College, and Western Nevada College. CSN Coyotes’ baseball staff is a major force behind this team of talented players, and their ability to get them ready for games is key for next season and beyond. The baseball staff consists of Head Coach Chambers, Pitching Coach Glen Evans, four assistant coaches Jay Guest, Marc Morse, Steve Chatham, and Cooper Fouts, Volunteer Coach Robert

16

COLLEGIATE|Review

Cox, Athletic Trainer Steve Jacobucci, Operations Coordinator Charleta Byrd, and Dan Cabrera of sports information. The staff has known each other for quite some time, and hang out and work together often. “We’re all kind of a close family. It’s really important to have guys work for you that you trust, and to have their loyalty.” says Chambers. The players say one reason they chose CSN as home was because of the coaching staff, and their ability to get them ready for competition. “The coaching staff, and the program is great. Chambers always produced great teams, and it’s a winning tradition to play on to the next level.” said Campbell. “We have a lot of talent out there this year, and out of all the teams that come through here, I think this is the one that could win that next national championship.” said Campbell. Chambers encourages people to come

College of Southern Nevada

out and see the team. “It’s our deepest, and probably most talented team we’ve ever had.” said Chambers. The CSN Coyote Classic took place September 25-27, and other games are scheduled throughout the fall scrimmage, until the regular season kicks off January 29, 2010. Games are held at Morse Stadium behind College of Southern Nevada’s Henderson Campus. The schedule can be found at csn.edu on the athletic homepage.

You can follow College of Southern Nevada Athletics at

twitter.com/CSNCoyotes.

October 2009


A Day in the Life of… by ASHTON HALL Staff Writer

N

ewspapers are full of important ideas, opinions, and of course news (and sometimes a good story). That is exactly what she intended to give…a good story. The sun rose right before she did that morning. It was just coming over the mountain and was shimmering a bright red. She felt giddy and excited, because the possibilities for her life all lay waiting in this day. It was a first. It could have been any first, but the feeling was the same; the first day of junior high, the first day on a new job, or a first date. That vague feeling of apprehension, creeping up, seemed something akin to butterflies in her stomach, but most times she felt indifferent. Excited and overwhelmed, those feelings had been coming and going in waves. “You’ll be great Rory,” her mother assured her. “Jesus, what am I five years old again? Stop worrying.” She thought to herself. As she made the quick drive to school, her giddiness turned to a sharp pain, and by the time she approached the doors it turned to nausea. Did she drink too much coffee? Did she have a Red Bull too? Maybe she over did it. She still had some time to kill before class. Maybe just one more cup wouldn’t hurt. After paying the barista for the deli-

October 2009

cious smelling, hot coffee, she thought it might do her good to walk around a bit and relax. All of a sudden a deafening noise was coming from somewhere deep inside her black hole of a purse. “Shit!” Of course her hands were full and her cell continued to belt out the loudest version of Elton John’s ‘Tiny Dancer’ she had ever heard. “Peeerfect”. She started to make a bee line for a table she could set her things on, College of Southern Nevada

but fate or her oversized flip flops had something else in mind as she plowed right into a scrawny boy and his rolling backpack. As her limbs all flailed out in different directions and her scorching hot coffee flew through the air, she wondered silently why it seemed to be taking so long to come back down. As time sped up again, she managed to tuck and roll. The boy screamed. My coffee had

CONTINUES PAGE 18

COLLEGIATE|Review

17


CONTINUED FROM PAGE 17

landed. “I-I-I’m so sorry!”. She tried to help him up, but he was flailing about like a fish out of water, or a turtle stuck on its back. From the look on his face she gathered that her heart felt apology must not have sounded so heart felt. She gathered her things from the floor and slowly stood up, making a mental note to never wear those flip flops again. She silently cursed her usual graceful way, and started wandering the halls. After all this excitement she still had some spare time on her hands. It felt like everyone was staring. She figured she had something ridiculous stamped on her forehead. Now, she was lost, bored and nervous. She found a seat and prayed for a quick death. After people watching for what seemed like hours but turned out to be two minutes and forty-five seconds her phone began to ring. Thank god! Something to concentrate on. It was Clodagh. She was here, her best friend, a familiar face. “Where are you? You’re going to die when I tell you what I just did! Okay, okay I’ll meet you by the bookstore, bye!” She carefully maneuvered her over sized flip flops down the stairs. Visions of another grand and more painful entrance flashed through her head. ‘Oh well,’ she thought to herself, ‘what’s a normal day without some unplanned, public acrobatics.’ She sat down with her friend and explained her mornings adventure to Clodagh, who wouldn’t stop laughing. Clodagh found this not only extremely hilarious but she also said that it would make a great audition tape for SNL. “Oh! Clodagh, I gotta go, I’m going to be late for my first class, call me later!” Rory’s search for her classroom was rigorous; she’d been walking up and down the same hallway for five min-

18

COLLEGIATE|Review

utes, “Are you lost dear?” Rory turned to find a kind looking elderly woman staring at her. “Oh uh-yes, I’m looking for 2401?” “Oh right there sweetie” Pointing to the door Rory had just walked past about ten times, she felt herself turning red. “Thank you” she said sheepishly. Opening the door with hesitance, she slowly walked in, looking around she spotted a few other people scattered around the room. It was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. “So this is what Psychology’s going to be like”, she mumbled to herself. After some time had passed more people started arriving. The teacher was the last. He introduced himself, and began to tell them what the course would entail. She knew the room was cold but she could feel herself sweating. Gross, is it even normal to sweat this much? Probably questions for another occasion. Ten minutes before class was over, the teacher “suggested” they read chapters 1-3 that night. Great, homework already. She started feeling more and more nostalgic as the day grew longer, class finally came to an end, and relief washed over her. College is what she wants, and it was all she could seem to talk about over the summer, so what was her problem now? She was just letting everything get the best her. “Class is going to be fun”, she silently re-assured herself. “It will be fine; relax, go find more coffee.” Actually coffee sounded great right now, especially since her first cup was wasted on mobile back pack boy, she didn’t even think to ask him his name, but considering the circumstances, it was probably best that she didn’t. She got in line behind a few people and patiently waited for the coffee she was craving, “Hmm, back again for more are we?” the woman at the register asked, “Yes, I

College of Southern Nevada

only like coffee with my oxygen” she proudly stated. She once again had her coffee in hand and was determined to make it to a table accident free. She sat and sipped on her coffee, watching all the people pass her by; wondering if any had noticed her from the incident earlier that morning. It did wreak quite a bit of havoc. It was probably time for her next class, she made her way back up the stairs and this time found her room with less difficulty than the last time. This isn’t going to be so bad after all, she thought. As she entered the room the professor turned to greet her. Rory noticed a large brown stain covering most of his white button down shirt, thinking this couldn’t possibly be happening she then noticed his roller back pack, sitting in the corner of the room with coffee stains all over it also. Apparently the “scrawny, boy” she bumped into wasn’t so much of a boy, in fact he was her professor. Looking down at her over his glasses that had slid to the very end of his nose, she could’ve sworn she heard the words “You again…” being muttered under his breath. Rory found the first seat she saw, behind some kid with an enormous head, and even bigger curly hair. Well at least she’d be hidden. She was contemplating if anyone would notice if she made a move for the door, on her way out she’d yell “never mind” over her shoulder. Then came that sudden deafening again; “Who could it possibly be this time?” She couldn’t find her phone, everyone was staring now. “Rory…Rory!” Was that her mother calling her name? Her alarm clock was blaring; it was 5:45 am; the first day of college.

October 2009


Speaking of Speaking

OPINIONS

by CASSANDRA TOSCANO Contributing Writer

W

hat causes us to be so reluctant to speak in front of large crowds? All of us have experienced the intimidating effects in our communication courses, with our voices shaking and our bodies fidgeting, while attempting to deliver a speech. But why is it so scary? Is it the fact that unfamiliar faces intimidate us? Perhaps concern with a large group of unfamiliar faces disagreeing and disapproving of us, as opposed to just one or two persons dominates our apprehension. Do two unfamiliar faces create a less stressful atmosphere as opposed to twenty, thirty, or forty? We make it seem as if human beings don’t like or need the attention. Walking out of the door, we beg for the attention! From the way we dress, to the way we talk, walk, and even chew our gum; strangers’ eyes consume us, and we hardly notice it. Why should speaking make a difference? True, intimidation does arise when speaking before a dozen faces staring back at us, often without expression. If you think about it, it is what we do on a daily basis. Engaging in speech with a large group should not

October 2009

exhibit a challenge, when conversing with one, two, or even three strangers is our natural behavior. Speaking in front of large groups of strangers occurs daily. Retrieving our morning brew from Starbucks, we speak in front of a dozen people, and it transpires organically. After inquiring on our current status of being, we tend to provide the Starbucks employee with more than just a “Good” or “Not bad” response. Oftentimes, we describe the events of our day, or complain of our fatigue and the reasons contributing to the fatigue. Many people listen, formulate opinions, and judge our choice of dress, body language, speech, and our appearance. Possibly seven or eight other people standing behind us, including the shop’s employees listen to our personal stories or the specifications of our mocha latte, yet most people still fear public speaking. Where does the differentiation lie between speaking in front of a vast audience or even in front of our fellow students in our classes? Fear may arise based on the amount of people watching us and listening to College of Southern Nevada

what we say. If this is the case, how does it explain the many social networking systems such as Facebook and MySpace, which enable us to post our lifestyles for all to see? Does intimidation disappear considering the countless individuals that can simultaneously learn about our lifestyles and opinions, when we cannot see them or they see us? If so, then it reverts back to the initial idea that the difficulty lies in speaking in the presence of others. Why? Are we afraid of how we may appear to them? Will they judge us on our appearance, our choice of dress, speech, thoughts, and enunciation of particular words? Why is this so important? Do the opinions formulated about us by others make considerable significance? Do their opinions mentally prevent us from saying what we desire? If intimidation results in speech aversion, how much knowledge do we obtain? How much darkness casts its shadow if one person’s fear of public speaking impedes their overall efforts? In the words of Mary Shelley’s famous novel Frankenstein, “…yet how many things are we upon the brink of becoming acquainted, if cowardice or carelessness did not restrain our enquiries…” Perhaps the provided examples cease to explain our reluctance. Suppose society sets the basis of fear for us, by allowing us to think it is something we should fear, when it is really something that should come naturally. If all members of society discover themselves born into the stage life, would they find public speaking so challenging? No, they would see it as a natural process of life, lecturing on politics and explaining their theories on the stage and in costumes.

COLLEGIATE|Review

19


OPINIONS

18 the new 21?

by F. A. PRIDGON Managing Editor

T

he judgment of college students has been an issue of controversy, and in the debate over lowering the legal drinking age, the division between stances is quite clear. On one side of this argument are those who are adamant in their position, holding their opinions as the way to curb reckless drinking. And within this idea of reducing the age to eighteen, lies rather valid deductions as to why it should be implemented (though to stiff criticism). In the mid-1980’s, the drinking age was raised from eighteen to twenty-one with the intention of reducing alcohol related fatalities, and subsequently it did. But with that, the acts of underage drinking went further underground. Students are just more precautious when it comes to breaking the law, with

20

COLLEGIATE|Review

restraints of the current leading them to be secluded in their alcohol related activities. Eighteen, being the approximate age most go to college, and when many begin taking alcohol consumption to excess, is why an alternative is being sought out. Students fall victim to the consequences of binging that all too often surround college social life, and it’s thought that if individuals were allowed to drink at eighteen, they’d be less likely to go to extremes; leaving minimal chance for injury and/or death. Our high school years tend to be a precursor to the reckless drinking behaviors that spiral out of control. As a student at Palo Verde, it wasn’t too uncommon for me to hear students talk of their illegal doings (which at

College of Southern Nevada

times included more than alcohol consumption). They hid, and this has intensified the illegal doers’ stupid actions. There are some at this age who are capable of handling drinking, but the others who fall elsewhere in areas of reasoning make it difficult for others to grasp this position. My own experience with underage drinking consists of a sip of red wine at eleven years old (if you even regard that as an experience). It wasn’t detrimental to my well-being, and didn’t lead me down a path of destruction. One premise -that eighteen is considered legal in most other respects- is another that keeps this debate alive. Once eighteen, you can go to war and vote, so why not allow people at that age to drink; they are, after all, able to handle fighting in wars, and voting in political elections. Even those who are of drinking age aren’t always rational in thought; people don’t become sane as soon as the clock hits midnight on their 21st birthday. The rationale of individuals determines if they are actually capable of handling drinking, not just chronological age. The incidences of minors drinking alcohol isn’t going anywhere, and it would be impossible to have a solution that is free of flaws. But it would also be impossible to know which would be the lesser of two evils...the existing, or desired law.

October 2009


Fall Skin Care

Blueprints to weather the cold against your skin. by OLGA VIZCARRA Fashion & Beauty Editor

CLEANSE: •FACE Switch to a soap-free, creamy c leanser–any thing that produces lather can be too harsh on the skin. Women with acne should read through the packaging for formulas such as beta-hydroxy acird or benzoyl peroxide. Rinse face with warm water.

S

ome things in life are certain: speeding tickets, recessions, celebrities in rehab, and dry, itchy skin that comes along when temperatures drop. Skin’s uppermost layer is supposed to keep water in, and irritants out- hence, it becomes a problem during the winter months. Humidity levels during the winter drop both in, and outdoors, and when moisture evaporates, our skin can’t do its job as a protective shield. The solution is not a splurge on expensive cosmetic products or complicated instructions; it’s actually quite inexpensive and simple.

October 2009

•BODY Gently massage moisturizing body wash with your hands or a washcloth. Do limit your time in the shower and bath to 15 minutes –water removes the skin’s shielding oils- and make sure to keep the temperature of the water warm, not hot.

•BODY Every two to three days –or whenever skin looks dull or ashy- shed away dead cells with a natural fiber loofah. It’s important to pat dry with a towel, leaving skin slightly moist. HYDRATE: •FACE Instead of lotion, try a buttercream (unless you’re naturally oily) with hydrating ingredients like glycerin. Wait about a minute to apply makeup as usual (if you use primer make sure it has glycerin or apply your lotion first, followed by the primer). •BODY Apply a generous amount of lotion over your body, mainly on dry or cracked areas like hands, heels, neck, and elbows. Repeat before heading to bed.

EXFOLIATE: •FACE Twice a week, mix baking soda, sugar, and one egg. Gently apply your homemade exfoliation scrub to your cheeks and your T-Zone (that in beauty terms means- forehead, chin, and the bridge of your nose). This will scrape off your dead skin cells. Those with sensitive skin may prefer a face peel. College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

21


FASHION/BEAUTY

ON-THE-GO MAKEUP

Coming home from school at 3:00 pm, studying until 7:00 pm, and then heading to work at 8:00pm –that can leave someone burnt out. by OLGA VIZCARRA Fashion & Beauty Editor

S

taying up late, and waking up too early can cause unpleasant and unwanted defects. Dark circles start to form, and getting rid of them is a mission. While some may know how to attack this kind of beauty problem with such a busy schedule, 6 minutes to spare is just asking for too much. Fortunately, for the busy gals out there, an effortless way to hide those imperfections is only a paragraph away.

Quick Tip 2: The rim around your foundation bottle has left over dry foundation base. With your middle finger, take off the excess foundation and apply it directly on your dark circles. While looking up make sure to tap on the foundation. Rubbing can irritate the skin and cause redness. Looking down while applying any type of cover up can cause fine lines to appear.

DARK CIRCLES:

Quick Tip 3: If you’re a really on-the-go kind of gal, a cover up stick is a great tool. You can throw it in your bag and apply it on your way to work or school.

Quick Tip 1: If you’re going on a quick trip to the grocery store in the morning, throw on a pair of sunglasses and add a pop color to your lips. All the attention will focus in on your luscious lips.

22

COLLEGIATE|Review

College of Southern Nevada

October 2009


by T. ROPELATO Copy Editor

“Tell Your Children!”

Photos By: Maya Arellano

I

walk into a dark, small cloudy theater, reminiscent of an underground China-Town opium den. The crowd is packed full of drug addled freaks much better suited for the Industrial underpass than the theater. I can already sense trouble in the air; these potsmoking folks are an unsavory bunch. As I walk through the crowd they eye me like savage beasts, their jowls salivating

October 2009

as if they haven’t eaten in weeks. I hurriedly dashed for my seat stepping over the drug-induced threesome on the floor. As I sink into my seat, I can feel the THC seeping into my brain, locking with the cannibinoid receptors and releasing a flood of endorphins into the body. Suddenly, all hell breaks loose. The couple in front of me suddenly starts savagely clawing each other’s faces College of Southern Nevada

off. Across the room someone sacrifices a puppy to the Canaanite god Moloch, and the entire theater is thrown into a murderous, cannibalistic blood orgy. Quickly, I realize my sin and plunge head first through a 30-story window, praying to Uncle Sam, apple pie, and Edgar Hoover for forgiveness en-route to my untimely demise. Splat. Dead. Another vibrant young life, ruined by CONTINUES PAGE 24

COLLEGIATE|Review

23


CONTINUED FROM PAGE 23

the devil weed…“Marijuhana.” Ok, maybe it wasn’t exactly like that, but that’s what Mr. Anslinger and his propaganda pushing buddies would like you to believe. For those of you not familiar with the original “Reefer Madness,” it was a 1930’s propaganda film warning parents of the demonic possession of their children by weed. The film shows (in all seriousness) how smoking herb will lead to promiscuity, murder, suicide and eventually (Gasp!) jazz music. I may not know theater, but I know what I like…when I’m blazed…and

24

COLLEGIATE|Review

I was pretty blazed. The play won me over immediately with the opening dancing Stoner-Zombie number and it just got better from there. The cast seemed to work really well with each other and delivered the jokes in a way even someone as high as me could get it…15 minutes later. I was mesmerized by the beautiful, half naked girls dancing and singing during the “Orgy” scene. The intermission brought much needed water and munchies, the shining box of home-baked goodies was like an oasis for my blood-shot eyes. After rushing

College of Southern Nevada

back from a, uh, smoke break, I was starving and during the brownie song, gobbled the munchies with joy. The second act brings about all the needless destruction and death from a life of dealing with Mary Jane in a great tragic fashion that Sophocles would giggle at (after eating a delicious brownie). Overall, the pot was great...I mean the play was great, special thanks to the Atlas Theatre Ensemble and the CSN Performing Arts Center for bringing such a fun show to our school. If you haven’t seen it yet, go. Legalize it!

October 2009


ARTS/ENTERTAINMENT

“This Is A Public Service Announcement…With Guitar!” by T. ROPELATO - The Clash Copy Editor

I

t has been said that music has the power to tame the most savage of beasts, in some cases music has even held the power to overcome death. Orpheus was the Greek patron of musical power, his music was said to be so beautiful it could move both men and gods to tears. Orpheus was so skilled with his lyre that he was able to travel through the underworld and convince the fiendish Hades to release his love from the clutches of death. Granted, his own human nature eventually screwed

October 2009

him over and he lost her again, but the stories of his music, still sung today, have in a way immortalized him and his love for eternity. In the great Orphic tradition, I propose to dig up and replant the magic of music in today’s modern world. Today music seems to be more about money, cash, and hoes than the mystical incantations of the past. Mainstream artists today are bought, sold and traded like monopoly hotels among the evil corporate conglomerates that pretend to run the world. What they fail to defeat though is the ever-growing underground, the musicians who still believe in the power of song to teach and invoke. In this whitewashed world of Brittney Spears, Justin Timberlake and other Disney manufactured pop stars, there is still hope and color in the underground. With that said, lets cover a few ground rules or “c o m m a n d m e n t s ” if you will, for the music to be covered in this particular column.

great musicians of the past. III. Thou shall search high and low for music with meaning and not just accept the crap given to thee by radio and MTV. IV. Thou shall ridicule and scoff at “artists” that don’t even write their own music. V. Thou shall listen to Bob Marley. VI. Thou shall support as many local shows and garage bands as humanly possible. VII. Thou shall never refer to Hot Topic as “Punk Rock.” VIII. Thou shall enjoy all genres of music, as long as said music is good, shit can come in all flavors. IX. Thou shall heed the words of the great adventures of Bill and Ted and “Be excellent to each other.” and remember the “Wyld Stallyns Rule!”

I. Thou shall not promote music that is made to dumbdown the masses. II. Thou shall honor and remember the

If you have any musical suggestions, a band, love, hate or just want to bullshit drop me a line Trevor@ thecollegiatereview.com. One Love.

College of Southern Nevada

With these guidelines we can start our own journey through the sounds and siren songs of the world. Absorbing the magic and learning from the feelings that music can release into our lives. For humans, music has always been a sort of magic spell, an incantation of both sound and verse. Music has great power to divide as well as unite, with infinite potential; music paints a beautiful microcosmic image of the soul itself. Remember the immortal words of Willy Wonka; “We are the music makers…and we are the dreamers of the dreams.”

COLLEGIATE|Review

25


ARTS/ENTERTAINMENT

Happy B-Day Mr. Guinness

by T. ROPELATO Copy Editor

Photos By: T. Ropelato was indeed a beautiful night for the Irish; the band led us in a sloppy drunken chorus of happy birthday to the patron of drunks, Arthur Guinness. It was touching. A shirtless red-

T

he mosh-pit is a bewitching cultural phenomenon, appealing to the inner, war thirsty beast of the human psyche. Of course, it’s always in good fun.The battle-like atmosphere is never so apparent than at a Flogging Molly show. Multi-colored kilts and Mohawks slam through a turbulent sea of fists, feet, and elbows. The smell of sweat, booze and pain mix to make a scent reminiscent of chaos itself. I imagine being a warrior in some great Celtic battle. The orgiastic energies

26

COLLEGIATE|Review

consume everyone into frenzied circles of dancedisorder. Luckily, the songs were timed perfectly. So right as I felt my heart trying to burst out of my chest and through my Guinness shirt, a slow song came on and gave us a much-needed rest. Flogging Molly’s mixture of traditional Irish music and punk invoke a great feeling of camaraderie. This causes the damp 300lb guy at your right to grab you by the neck in a swaying sing-a-long, and you don’t even mind. It

College of Southern Nevada

Mohawked tornado named Danthe-Man, stomped through the crowd proudly claiming this to be his 40th Flogging Molly concert, from the look in his eye and the scotch on his breath, I believed this statement to be true. From dancing with a random beautiful girl to being stuck in Dan-the-man’s armpit, it was truly a magical night. Special thanks and praise to my friends, The Palms crew, legendary ska-sters Hepcat, and Flogging Molly for helping me celebrate Mr. Guinness’ day with style. If you like Flogging Molly check out these other bands; Dropkick Murphys; The Pogues; The Dubliners; Finnegan’s Wake; The Skids; and The Real McKenzies.

October 2009


October 2009

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

27


28

COLLEGIATE|Review

College of Southern Nevada

October 2009


October 2009

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

29


September 2009 Incident Reports Date Campus

Person

Type

9/1/09 Chey 9/1/09 Chey 9/1/09 Char

Citation - Warning Citation - Warning Arrest/Referral Drug Violation Citation Citation Citation Citation / Drug Violation Theft - Personal Property Citation Citation Citation Medical - Aided

Other Other Other

9/10/09 Char

Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Student An automotive student reported he cut his right index finger on 9/3/09. The student declined medical transport and went to the doctor on his own; first aid was administered at the scene. An instructor reported she is concerned with a student in her class and request the Other - Information Staff CSN PD frequent the area of her class. Report Criminal Mischief/ Student A student reported that her vehicle was vandalized while it was parked in the South Parking Lot. Someone keyed the driver’s side front and rear doors. Vandalism - Vehicle Damage Citation Other CSN PD issued a citation to an individual who was driving in a careless manner. Accident Other An individual reported that he was involved in an accident as he was pulling into a parking space and another vehicle was backing out of a space. No injuries were reported, both parties exchanged insurance information. Accident Other CSN PD responded a report of a vehicle colliding into Building B. Emergency medical was called; however, there were no signs of injury. Accident Other CSN PD responded to an accident that occurred when a vehicle was backing out of a parking space hit another vehicle traveling through the parking lot. No injuries were reported, both parties exchanged insurance information. Other - Information Other CSN PD responded to a call of a vehicle that was on fire. CC Fire Department was called and extinguished the fire. No injuries occurred. Report Citation Other CSN PD issued a citation to an individual for an expired license plate and no insurance. Emergency medical was called for a student who was feeling light headed and havMedical - Aided Student ing stomach pain. The student was transported to a hospital. CSN PD responded to an accident where a vehicle was rear ended while waitAccident Other ing to turn left onto Community College Drive. No injured reported, both parties exchanged insurance information. CSN PD issued a citation to an individual for driving with an expired license plate. Citation Other CSN PD responded to a call for two students who were involved in a verbal altercaAltercation Student tion. A student reported his vehicle [1994 Nissan Sentra] stolen from the South Parking Theft - Vehicle Student Lot. CSN PD issued a citation to an individual for driving on a suspended and Citation Other no driver’s license.

9/11/09 Char

Altercation

Student CSN PD responded to a verbal altercation between two individuals over parking.

9/1/09 9/2/09 9/2/09 9/2/09

Char Char Char Char

9/2/09 Chey 9/2/09 9/3/09 9/3/09 9/4/09

Char Char Char Chey

9/4/09 Char 9/4/09 Hend 9/4/09 Chey 9/8/09 Hend 9/8/09 Char 9/8/09 Char 9/8/09 Chey 9/8/09 Char 9/9/09 Char 9/9/09 Char 9/9/09 Char 9/10/09 Char 9/10/09 Chey

30

COLLEGIATE|Review

Synopsis

Public Safety issued warning parking citation in the West Parking Lot. CSN PD issued warning parking citation in the West Parking Lot west of Culinary. CSN PD cited an individual for marijuana under 1 oz and possession of drug paraphernalia. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for parking in a Red Zone. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for marijuana under 1 oz and possession of drug paraphernalia. Student An individual reported her I-pod stolen from a counter in the computer lab.

College of Southern Nevada

October 2009


September 2009 Incident Reports Date Campus 9/11/09 9/11/09 9/11/09 9/11/09

Char Char Char Chey

9/12/09 Hend 9/14/09 Chey 9/14/09 Char 9/14/09 Hend 9/15/09 Hend

Person Medical - Aided Medical - Aided Medical - Aided Criminal Mischief/ Vandalism - Vehicle Damage Other - Information Report Medical - Aided Citation Other - Found Item Citation

9/15/09 Hend

Trespass

9/15/09 Char 9/15/09 Chey 9/15/09 Char 9/16/09 Char 9/16/09 Hend 9/16/09 Chey

Theft - Personal Property Citation - Warning Citation Citation

9/16/09 Sahara West 9/17/09 Chey

Trespass

9/17/09 Hend

Arson

9/17/09 Char

Accident

9/17/09 Char 9/17/09 Char 9/17/09 Char 9/17/09 Char 9/18/09 Chey

Citation Citation Citation Citation Medical - Aided

9/18/09 Char

Other - Information Report Other - Information Report Medical - Aided

9/18/09 Char 9/18/09 Chey

Accident

Accident

October 2009

Synopsis

Type Staff Student Student Other

An employee reported she fell on the stairway in back of Building D. A student reported she fell in a hole in the flowerbed area and hurt her ankle. A student reported he cut his right middle finger on a locker in Building A. An employee reported her vehicle was hit and damaged while it was parked in the West Parking Lot.

Other

Public Safety reported that a vehicle reported stolen was found on CSN property. The owner of the vehicle was contacted by HPD. Other Public safety reported an individual who was feeling sick fainted in front of the office. The individual refused the offer to call for emergency medical assistance. Other CSN PD cited an individual for parking in a Red Zone. Other Public safety officers found a glass pipe and small bag of marijuana. The items were turned into the CSN PD where it was booked into evidence. Other CSN PD cited a juvenile male for marijuana less than 1 oz. The contents were booked into evidence. Other CSN PD issued a Trespass to two Foothill HS students who were observed smoking marijuana. Student CSN PD assisted a student in retrieving his text book he reported stolen. Other Public Safety issued warning parking citation in the South Parking Lot. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for driving without a license. Other CSN PD issued a citation to a Foothill HS student for possession of drug paraphernalia. The student was observed earlier smoking from the pipe. Other CSN PD responded to an accident report by an individual who observed a vehicle rear end an unoccupied vehicle. Other CSN PD issued a Trespass from the campus to an individual who was reported for harassing the maintenance staff. Other An individual reported her vehicle was damaged while it was parked in the East Parking Lot. Other CSN PD responded to a call where two juveniles were observed starting a small fire along the right field green fencing of the Henderson baseball field. Student CSN PD responded to a vehicle accident that occurred in the northeast parking lot of Building A. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Other CSN PD cited an individual for unlawful parking in a handicapped space. Student Emergency medical was called for a culinary student who cut her finger. She was treated at the scene and was told she needed stitches. Student A student reported she believes another student removed a lug nut from her vehicle due to an altercation they had earlier that day. Other LV Fire Department was called for a public safety officer who was trapped in an elevator in Building G. A custodial worker reported she fell while cleaning. She declined the offer to call Staff emergency medical and went to the doctor on her own.

College of Southern Nevada

COLLEGIATE|Review

31


Phi Theta Kappa Presents:

Magic School House Festival Friday, October 30th

Charleston Campus - Building B Lobby 6375 W. Charleston Ave 5:00 - 9:00 p.m.

The event is free and open to the public! Please come dressed in your costume to win the top prize! Come out to a SAFE Halloween Festival for all ages!

Open to kid s of a

ll ages

Cotton Candy Carnival Games Pirate Ship Jumper Lots of great prizes! Raffle

Family Fun

Win a bicycle!

Facepainting

Dunk Tank with proceeds going to Olive Crest Southern Nevada! 32

COLLEGIATE|Review

College of Southern Nevada

October 2009


October 2009 Collegiate Review