Page 6

6 State program will give students more computer science opportunities A new state program will give for Kentucky students greater opportunities to study computer science. The program aims to fill the thousands computing jobs in the U.S. and to spur math, science, and technical education teachers to earn computer science certifications. Each year for the next three years, 50 Kentucky teachers will receive assistance that will let them help more students learn about computers. High school students will get to enroll in the AP Computer Science Principles. Middle school students can take the Computer Science Discoveries course, with elementary students taking the Computer Science Fundamentals course. The AP course teaches students fundamental computer science concepts. It can count as an elective, a fourth math course or a science requirement for high school graduation. It can also count toward a career and technical education computer science pathway. students who takes the course exam may earn college credit depending on their test score. State Sen. David Givens of Greensburg, the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE), the College Board, AdvanceKentucky and worked together to create the program. The College Board provides AP course. AdvanceKentucky works to expand high school students’ access to college-level work. seeks to expand student access to computer science. KDE will take applications from more districts in spring 2018 and spring 2019.

2017–2018 participants are: Anderson County Barbourville Barren County Bowling Green Boyd County Breathitt County Bullitt County Burgin Christian County Clay County Clinton County Erlanger-Elsmere Fayette County Fleming County Floyd County Franklin County Glasgow Grant County Harrison County Jefferson County (Brandeis Elementary) Lincoln County Madison County

Magoffin County Marshall County Mason County Model Laboratory School Murray Owsley County Pike County Scott County Taylor County Union County Wayne County Area technology centers Campbell County Clinton County Hughes JonesHarrodsburg Marion County Martin County Russell Warren County

YKCC September 2017