Page 1

10/22/2015

Mills College Mail ­ From The Book Art Department

Emily Mibach <emibach@mills.edu>

From The Book Art Department 1 message Nora McKinnon <nmckinnon@mills.edu> Thu, Oct 22, 2015 at 12:53 PM To: academicfeedback@mills.edu, deanofstudents@mills.edu, President's Office <president@mills.edu>, provost@mills.edu Cc: Mills First Years <mills­firstyears@mills.edu>, Mills Sophomores <mills­sophomores@mills.edu>, Mills Juniors <mills­juniors@mills.edu>, Mills Seniors <mills­seniors@mills.edu>, Mills Grad Students <mills­grad­students@mills.edu>, Mills College Transfer Students <transfers@mills.edu>, MFA Book Art Student Group <mfabacw@mills.edu>, non­resident MFA students <bookartthesisgroup@mills.edu>

October 21, 2015

To Whom It  May Concern: This letter was drafted collaboratively by both graduate and undergraduate students in the Book Art  program. After attending the “Town Hall”  meeting on Wednesday, we left feeling as unclear if not more than we did before the meeting. In addition to scheduling meetings with the Provost,  we are writing to you now with some of our unanswered questions.  Why exactly are you proposing to cut the Book Art Department in its entirety? We would like to hear specifics, and see an exact monetary breakdown of why this department must be eliminated to bear part of the brunt of the  College’s financial difficulties.  Why exactly does this program not fit with your corporate vision of Mills’ future? Have you considered expanding or making changes to the book program, rather than cutting it? Examples we came up with immediately include  creating an option for an undergraduate concentration in Book Art, under a Studio Art Major, or to expand the program to include digital publishing. When the faculty ultimately votes for this proposed curriculum, is the vote for the entire proposal, or is it broken down by proposal, or by  program?  And finally, why does the school persist in watering its lawns with such great regularity? California is experiencing a “drought.” Thank you for your time, looking forward to hearing your responses. 

https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/?ui=2&ik=2795b087ad&view=pt&search=inbox&th=150911cd1a54c51e&siml=150911cd1a54c51e

1/2

Profile for The Campanil

Letter from the Book Arts dept  

Book Art MFA candidate Nora McKinnon sent out this email to students on behalf of book arts undergraduate and graduate students.

Letter from the Book Arts dept  

Book Art MFA candidate Nora McKinnon sent out this email to students on behalf of book arts undergraduate and graduate students.