Page 1

arQteurarItsesruIess–uVeo–l. VXoXl. IXXNXVo.II 2–0F1o5ur–thThQirud 7 r 1 e 0 2 m l m l IVNo. II FSau I

Public d e e r B l Al

ation

isitsrtirbiubtuitoinonInInWWaashsihnigntgotno,n,IdId D D y y t t i i n n ahaoh,o, ommmuu OOrergeogo CCom n,n,MMonotnatnaana, ,&&BBrirtitsihshCColoulm umbibaia Published Since 1988 SPOKANE, WASHINGTON USA

www.horse-previews.com


P.o. Box 427 • spokane, W a 99210-0427 • (509) 922-3456 Fall 2017 • Fourth Quarter Issue Volume 29 • Issue 4

Features finding The Right buyer for Your horse by Ann Kirk ............................................... 6

Upriver Stables Roy & Mary Forbes

On Our Front Cover

Veterinary Knowledge ~ Ageless Horsemanship Sand colic Dr. Misty Parker, DVM ............................. 12 baxter black On The Edge of Common Sense The historic Star Valley beanfield War.. 16 Should I buy land Now? by Jim Palmer Jr........................................ 22

content Advertisers Index ..................................... 30 Advertising Rates ..................................... 31 Classified Advertising............................... 29

hORSE pREVIEWS MagazINE Quarterly Schedule

jaNuaRY / WINTER - 1st Quarter Issue apRIl / SpRINg - 2nd Quarter Issue julY / SuMMER - 3rd Quarter Issue SEpTEMbER / fall - 4th Quarter Issue Deadline is always 15th of the preceding month EDITOR Helen V. Boyd-Schwartz SalES & aDMINISTRaTION Donna Eslick

HHP Belle Starr of Rivenburgh, HOF Country Pleasure Driving Mare Owned by Phil & Barb Keairns of Philbar Farms.

Upriver Stables is a premier training facility located 20 minutes east of Spokane in Liberty Lake, Washington. We take pride in our training program, specializing in miniature horses and Shetland ponies reaching their full potential and helping owners achieve their own personal goals, whether it be for pleasure driving or in the showring. We have trained and presented numerous driving miniatures and ponies to numerous championships, stake wins, all around high points and AMHR hall of fame titles as well as coached owners to their numerous wins in various driving classes.

Soundview’s Going GaGa, Multiple Hi-Point, All Around and Stakes Champion Classic Shetland mare graces the cover, proudly owned by Silvia Glover of Midnyte Shetlands & Stethmir Arabians.

Spirit Thunder’s Gianna, Multiple Champion Pleasure Driving Mare - Owned by Connie Hicks of Quail Run Miniatures.

pRODucTION: Patrick McHale, Devon McCarthy, Ashley Teel, Heath Harmon publIShER: Exchange Publishing, LLC. OffIcE lOcaTION: 304 W. Third Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201 cONTacT DETaIlS: Tel: 509-922-3456 • 1-800-326-2223 Fax: 509-455-7940 • Text: 509-998-3231 Mail: PO Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210 HorsePreviews@spokane.Exchange www.Horse-Previews.com

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 2


MiDNYTE SHETLANDS PRESENTS . . . Soundview’s Going GaGa 2011 Classic Shetland Mare

Soundview’s Cinn City x Double T Sunshine Over Miami 2015 & 2016 ASPC National All-Star Champion, Reserve Ch. & Top Ten Awards in Classic Country Pleasure Driving Multiple ASPC (Shetland) Country Pleasure Stakes Championships ASPC National All Star Top Ten Modern Pleasure Mare WSH President’s Cup High Point Driving Show Horse, B Multiple WSH & NEZ Perpetual,Year End & Show High Point Awards Photo by Debby Sims-Bousaus

Michigan’s Party Girl FMF 2009 Modern Shetland Mare Boss Man (HOF) x Dun-Haven Victory ASPC Congress Res. Champion Modern Yearling Filly ASPC Congress Res. Champion Modern Filly Over ASPC National All-Star Champion & Top Ten Awards in Modern Formal Driving, Modern Pleasure Driving and Modern Mare ASPC Grand Champion Modern Mare & Liberty winner

American Rose PPR

2003 Bay Tobiano Shetland Mare, 44'' Toy Soldier FMF (HOF/Hall of Fame) (by Spit-N-Image [HOF]) x Amber Rose PPR (by Double Stuf [HOF])

Photo by Julie Bickford

Royally bred mare with a pedigree full of Hall of Fame recipients. Natural, big trot all four corners. Sound and darling! Been in lines and would be easy to drive. Good producer including PtHA winning son by Soundview’s Cinn City who shows as a stallion and excels in harness. Available for sale with breeding to Wilk. Radioactive (Dun-Haven Revelation x Latte Bling Bing), Modern Shetland.

Midnyte Shetlands/Stethmir Arabians

Sylvia Glover  P.O. Box 157  Colbert, WA 99005  509-979-5017 SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 3


THE TRADITION CONTINUES, WHERE EVERYONE IS WELCOME!

Eastern Oregon Trade & Event Center

Let us help you sell your horse!

1705 E Airport Rd. Hermiston, Oregon

New Location, Same Great Sale!

Sat, Oct. 14 & Sun, Oct. 15 Remember, we are the people’s sale, open to all classes of horses for all classes of people. Catalog DeaDline august 23

21,000 copies of our sale catalog promoting the horses for sale will be distributed all over the great Northwest. High Selling Horse. From our May 2017 sale: Lot #48, Royal Checks, consigned by Justin and Tiffany Cherry, purchased by Ronald Corta for $7,800. Top 5 sale horses average $6,920; Top 10 sale horses averaged $6,035!

Randy: 509-778-3467 Any questions please call Mailing: PO Box 549, Prosser, WA 99350 Email: horseextravaganza1@gmail.com Website: HermistonHorseSaleExtravaganza.com

For all your ConCrete & exCavation needs! residential  CommerCial Decorative Stamp concrete • Site prep • all typeS of concrete flat work • lanD clearing BoBcat work • roaDS & DrivewayS • graDing • concrete conStruction • Demolition & more! HigH-end Custom ConCrete Flatwork all types of residential and commercial concrete flatwork applications. Decorative stamp concrete, flatwork, colored concrete, custom outdoor kitchens & firepits, garage and shop floors, driveways, concrete visualization to make your dreams & goals come true!

exCavation & dirtwork Expert at meeting special situation requirements. public & residential precision demolition, removal and clean up of existing structures, excavation and over lot grading for streets and infrastructure, underground utilities, foundations.

FREE ESTIMATES

outstanding Customer serviCe

at ltD we take immense pride in driving the industry standards forward, focusing on efficiency, quality, and safety. our word is our bond, and that applies to our deadlines as well. we’re continually finding the best new equipment and technology so your dreams may come true.

509-936-4200 www.LoveToDig.com Owner/Operator: Chuck Young • LIC# LOVEDDL831BQ

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 4


Notorious

BP

Magic Magnifique x Trevs Onyx HOMOZYGOUS BLACK**

**

Sweepstakes Nominated

CA-SCID clear

2016 AHR Black Arabian Stallion 2018 IntROdUCtORY BReedInG Fee: PUReBRed ARABIAn: $1500 PARt BReedS: $1000 Fresh Cooled Transported Semen Only

tHIS IS An AMAZInG BLOOdLIne... Notorious is ONE of only two black sons in the United States sired by the stunning black Arabian stallion “Magic Magnifique” (Sweden Arabian Stud). “Magic”, holding multiple Worldly Champion titles, is stated to be the most exotic black Arabian stallion in the world today! Notorious is extremely well bred with bloodlines including “True Colours”, Thee Desperado, Magic Mon Amour, PFC Trevallon, Magnum Psyche, The Minstril, Padrons Psyche... etc. Notorious is full of TYPE with a very exotic look with his short little dished face, long swan neck, beautiful top line and croup! Plus he is going to be big!! Visit our website and see all the photos of him, his sire and so many more horses! This stallion is exciting!!!

www.MeadowStarr-Ranch.com kwinnop@hotmail.com Kettle Falls, WA • 509-675-1223 SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 5


Ann Kirk Finding the Right Buyer for Your Horse It is now the end of summer and you may be looking to sell a horse before winter sets in. Last article, I talked about a list of things you should consider when purchasing a new horse but the same is true when you are looking for a new owner for one you wish to re-home. Though some of you may have a horse that you just want to get gone, many of us struggle with turning our equine friends over to someone else. Hopefully, these tips will help. First, let me say, I am not the best one to talk to about selling a horse. I don’t like the process and have held onto some horses way too long just because I don’t like the process. And I have sold some horses to new owners who really were not a good fit with the horse just because I did not want to take the time to wait for the right buyer. It takes time to “sift” through the people who respond to your ads but taking the time is necessary to find the right match when selling. Seldom does the right person come along right away. Before you start placing ads in the classifieds and the online sites, you will want to determine what kind of riding your horse is most comfortable with. Do you have a show horse who works just in the arena or do you have one that you can take for long, leisurely rides out in the country? Or is it both? Be very honest with yourself so as to market your horse correctly. I have found that trail horses can transition to the arena a lot easier than an arena horse can take to the trail. The

arena walls give a horse boundaries and a controlled environment whereas the open spaces of the trail can be harder for some horses to accept. Now, you have to get the word out, so you place the ads. Be sure to sit down and write out your ad including all the pertinent information and edit it down to the basics as people seldom will read a lengthy ad. You also need to decide if you are going to take a “first come, first serve” approach to selling where the first person that comes up with the cash and a trailer gets the horse, or if you are going to go in the order that people contact you. When placing the ad, I usually start with my email list and social media because they don’t cost anything. I love the local papers also but people seem to use their computers more so use what works best for you. As you start to “sift” through interested buyers, it is good to ask some questions before you set aside the time for them to come look at your horse. I like to know their level of expertise, how many horses have they owned/ridden in their lifetime,

Need More Confidence? Let Ann Kirk Guide You With Sensible Horsemanship

My goal is to connect you with your horse by teaching you sensible, hands-on exercises that will reduce frustration and make your partnership possible. You are personally invited to come and join this fun-filled, incredible journey that will make your goals a reality!

Contact: Ann Kirk www.AnnKirk.com email: info@annkirk.com (509) 292-2475

Teaching the Art of Reading the Heart - Sensible Horsemanship SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 6


Challenged with Balancing Your Horses’ Diet?

LMF Horse Feeds

Provide the Right Balance

LMF Feeds I N C O R P O R A T E D AFCO Distribution

800.344.0563 800.538.8700

www.lmffeeds.com www.afcodistributions.com

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 7


what kind of riding do they want to do with the horse, how often will they ride, are they buying the horse for themselves or for another family member, etc. I also want to know if the buyer is willing to come back 2-3 times if necessary so I can be sure they are the right match. By asking questions ahead of time, you can narrow down the hours you need to set aside to “show” your horse. And you are more likely to have the buyer show up for the appointment you have set. When I see the potential buyer for the first time, I expect to have to do most of the handling of the horse as I show what it knows and how it handles. I will have the horse in a close pen but not have it caught until the buyer gets there. I want them to see the whole process from catching to riding so I can point out any quirks and they can ask lots of questions. I am always wary of buying a horse that is already caught, saddled and sweaty and the buyer should be too. If I have a green-broke horse or one that needs as experienced rider for some reason, I may let the buyer handle the horse first after I have filled them in on the traits unique to this horse. I can see fairly quickly if the buyer is really experienced enough to be the right match. I will watch how they approach the horse to catch it, how they tie it, groom it and do the feet. I like to see them do some ground work and put on the bridle. By this time, I will have a fairly good idea how much this buyer knows and how well my horse responds to him or her. If I am comfortable with him continuing, I will then let the buyer saddle the horse. All this time, I am ready to give little

pointers as needed but no major directions unless I need to to prevent a wreck. I also encourage the buyer to bring his own saddle so I can see if it will fit the horse correctly. If I step in and stop the process, I will go ahead and continue showing the horse through the riding stage as an education to the buyer for future use. Now is the decision time. Whether I have shown the horse first and then the buyer worked with and rode it or the buyer starts with the horse, I need to decide if I think it is a good match. This is where I may want the buyer to come back again. Perhaps I started with the horse and I want to see the buyer start with the horse so I need them to come again. Or maybe I have a couple other potential buyers I would like to see before I make the sale. Sometimes, I just know it is a good fit and I sell the horse on the first try and have no regrets. Hopefully, these tips will make selling your horse more enjoyable. I know this is not an exhaustive set of guidelines but it should help you get better prepared before you place your ads. By having a good idea of what kind of buyer you are looking for and some good questions in mind to ask, it should make the process more enjoyable and help you find the right home for you horse. God Bless and be safe! Ann Kirk is available for Sensible Horsemanship Clinics or Workshops in your area. For more information and other Sensible Horsemanship articles, go to www.annkirk.com. Beginning Sensible Horsemanship is available in a DVD series. Also available - Sensible Trailer Loading.

MAMA SAID DASH

APHA Reg#910883 2007 Homozygous • Black & White Tobiano • 15.2 hands, 1150 lbs Sire: Heza Blue Tomcat • Dam: Goin to the Cash Bar “Rocket has a great disposition and great conformation that he is passing onto his foals from a variety of mares! Rocket is homozygous for the tobiano and black gene so guaranteed a colored foal and all black based! All of his foals to date have been awesome and are very versatile! His oldest offspring are 3 & 4 this year and there are some being trained for hunter/jumper, English Pleasure, Western Pleasure and barrel racing! Also check out Rocket’s excellent pedigree! Please consider breeding your mare or mares to Rocket and you will also be a very happy and proud owner of a beautiful Rocket foal!”

aka Rocket

2017 Breeding Fee: $500 • Non-Refundable Booking Fee: $150

er aka Casp

Poco Buenos Ghost

AQHA Reg#4504586 2004 Cremello • 14.3 hands, 1050 lbs • Sire: Buenos Twisted Doc • Dam: Pocos Miss Miranda “Casper has a great foundation pedigree, great disposition & conformation. He has offspring that are excelling in the roping pen, speed events, cow horse events and also great trail riding and family horses! And to add to all that he adds the great colors of either palomino, buckskin, smokey black or even smokey grullas, depending on the color of the mare!” 2017 Breeding Fee: $400 • Non-Refundable Booking Fee: $150

Young prospects available for purchase by both stallions

C&S paint and Quarter Horse Ranch

“A big thank you to everyone who has chosen to breed their mare or mares to Producing good working and using horses and adding color as a bonus one of our stallions in 2016 and over the past 10 years! Also, thank you to all of you who have purchased a horse from us! It is your support and hearing the Elk, WA 99009 • 509 220-7712 wonderful stories of the resulting foals or the progress of our home bred horses that keeps us doing what we love every year! ”— Charlene & Steve Ulrich horsedr37@aol.com Like us on Facebook!

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 8


The Only

TrAilEr

in iTs clAss

HoT sHoT

clAssic ii

ADVEnTurE MX ii Wilson HAnD rAncH

MAVEricK

ouTlAW

Full Service Shop insalling B&W hitches & Tekonsha Brake controllers

WE TAKE TRADE-INS!

509-927-1701

Servicing All Brands of Trailers complete parts Dept.

HUBER TRAILER SALES 18502 E. Broadway • Greenacres, WA 99016 • At Barker Exit Off I-90 509

892-0587

www.HuberTrailers.com

800 424-7114

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 9


CHILI FEED

2

RAFFLE

CRAZY HAT CONTEST

fall fun ride and

nd annual

Scavenger Hunt FUNDRAISER

what

Scavenger Hunt: Find items as you ride through the Equestrian area. Plus! Chili Feed, Raffle, Door Prizes, Crazy Hat Contest, Music Address does NOT appear on google maps or mapquest. See our website (www.pbchw.com) for direc�ons or email Ken (below) for specifics.

where

Riverside State Park Equestrian Area 3402 N Equestrian Lane Spokane, WA 99224 “Discover Pass Free Day”

when

Saturday, September 30, 2017 9am - 1pm *All riders MUST return to the PBCH booth by 1pm to turn in their results 1pm through the a�ernoon: chili feed, door prizes, awards for scavenger hunt/hat contest, raffle, music

cost

!

safetyrules

! one rider per horse

Equestrian camping — 20 sites Pre-Registra�on received by Reserva�ons at September 22: $20 per rider Register at event: $25 per rider NEW! www.parks.state.wa.us/223/reservations — OR — 888-226-7688 Chili Feed: $5 per person Select Riverside State Park, Bowl & Pitcher Raffle �ckets: $5 per �cket then Equestrian Area Cash or check only Overflow camping is across the road

● ride at a safe distance ● no stallions please ● no dogs please ● no running horses ● no li�ering please ● no alcoholic beverages on trail ● be courteous when passing other riders ● minors must be accompanied by Parent or Guardian ● all riders must sign a liability release

3/12/2017

The ride area is well defined over relatively level but rocky ground and varies in difficulty. Some experience is required.

Sponsored by Ponderosa Back Country Horsemen

OF WASHINGTON INC® PONDEROSA CHAPTER www.pbchw.com

Looking for more info? Contact Ken Carmichael 509-466-2225 or kcarmichael2225@gmail.com www.pbchw.com

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 10

Click to our website www.pbchw.com for a detailed fact sheet


SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 11


Sand Colic

veterinary knowledge

ag el es s horsemanship

Freya Stein, DVM, McKinlay & Peters Equine Hospital

As we head into the last stretch of summer and the pastures have turned to scrub, our grazing horses have found yet another way to get themselves into trouble: sand ingestion. Horses begin nibbling closer to the ground and picking through the silty dirt as the grass becomes brown and sparse. As they nibble, they can ingest Freya Stein DVM, very large quantities of sand. McKinlay & Peters Equine Hospital Small quantities of sand may travel through the horse’s gastrointestinal tract easily, becoming incorporated into and passing out with the manure. However, depending on the amount of sand, size of the particles, and the horse’s diet, sand accumulation can create significant gastrointestinal complications. As a veterinary community, we have not identified a specific volume of sand as a dangerous level of intake, but we do know that sand can contribute to impaction colics, colitis (inflammation of the colon), and a condition called enterolithiasis (intestinal stone formation). Clinical signs with sand

colic can vary from mild, intermittent discomfort, to severe pain. When sand accumulates in the bottom of the large colon, the effect can be similar to sand paper constantly scraping over sensitive tissue. The abrasive action can cause severe inflammation in the colon, resulting in swelling (edema) in the wall of the colon, diarrhea, and colic signs. In rare cases of severe sand-induced colitis, inflammation and potentially infection of the abdominal cavity can occur. A severe sand impaction may even necessitate colic surgery to remove the large quantity of sand. Enteroliths are literally stones that develop within the large colon. A small rock or large grains of sand usually form the nidus, and as strands of hay stick to the nidus, the calcium and phosphorus leach from the hay and form layers of mineralized rock. These stones can become quite large and heavy (in excess of 14 pounds in some cases), and multiple stones may form in a single horse. Horses may display mild, intermittent colic signs over weeks to months before the stone eventually causes an obstruction. At that point, the horse typically displays more acutely painful colic signs and surgery is required to remove the stone(s). Diagnosing sand colic can be somewhat challenging and often presumptive based on environment and clinical signs. To see if there is sand in the manure, fecal balls can be dis-

Take a STep TowardS a GreaT weldinG Career!

Welding School Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced

Basic welding to application & process specific classes Stainless & Aluminum to Steel & Exotic Metals

INDUSTRY STANDARD CERTIFICATIONS

STICK, WIRE, TIG WELDING OUT-OF-POSITION WELDING PLASMA CUTTING PIPELINE WELDING

“ We Teach You Welding” WELDING SAFETY TRAINING EQUIPMENT SETUP TRAINING Learn More at

www.Oxarc.com

4003 E. Broadway • Spokane, WA

509-535-7794

716 S. Oregon • Pasco, WA

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 12

509-547-2494


www.McKinlayPetersEquine.com Fall is in the air - which means Winter is not too far away... Are your horses ready? MPEH can help! Wellness Exams Dentals Vaccination Boosters and many more additional services are available to help prepare your horses for the upcoming colder weather.

Jed McKinlay, DVM Bob Peters, DVM Misty Parker, DVM Bob Schneider, DVM Diplomate ACVS Freya Stein, DVM Jennifer Earnest, DVM Charlotte Hemstock, DVM

FAll SPECIAl

Now through the end of October!

Physical Exam + Flu Rhino Vaccination

$85 Savings of $53!

West Nile Virus Vaccinations & Boosters Available

Welcome, k! Dr. Hemstoc

Please join us as we welcome Charlotte Hemstock, DVM as our new Intern for the coming year! Dr. Hemstock is a recent graduate of the University of Calgary. Her areas of interest include: Sports Medicine, Lameness, Dentistry and Reproduction.

Complete, Compassionate Care for the Horses in your Life Serving the Inland Northwest & North Idaho Since 1993

509-928-6734 | 509-238-4959 | 208-457-8813 (Idaho Residents) SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 13


solved in water in a glove, and the fingertips are examined for sand sedimentation after about 5 minutes of soaking. A few grains are expected, but a couple of millimeters or more of sand in each fingertip is probably too much. Radiographs can be helpful in identifying large quantities of sand that have settled in the colon at the bottom of the abdomen. Ultrasound may also reveal a “sparkly” sediment in the colon, but this can be very subjective. Treatment of the acute episode of sand colic is dependent on the findings in that horse, but psyllium husk powder dissolved in water and delivered via nasogastric tube is the mainstay of treatment. Psyllium facilitates removal of sand by forming a gel when wet, which then binds to sand in the gastrointestinal tract. Horses with colitis may also require intra-

ArAbiAn Horses For sAle

Visitors Welcome

venous fluid therapy for hydration and judicious use of antiinflammatories. Once the horse can be fed again, the psyllium powder can be added to food to continue clearing the sand from the GI tract. You can prevent sand colic in your horse with a multimodal approach. If your horse is on a sandy/silty paddock or in a sand-covered stall or turnout area, feed the average sized horse one cup of powdered psyllium husk once daily for one week of every month. The psyllium can be mixed with grain or pellets. If that combination isn’t palatable, commercial pelleted formulations containing alfalfa are available. You can also help prevent sand ingestion in paddocks by feeding hay in feeders on rubber mats, making sure to sweep away sand and dirt daily. Ponies may need to wear grazing muzzles late in the summer to prevent constant dirt nibbling.

IAHA Sweepstakes Stallion

Shalwyn Arabians Gerwyn & Diane Jones 411 Caldwell Road Walla Walla, WA 99362-9712 509-529-4067 Email: shalwyn@charter.net

Rev.19:11-16

Jed McKinlay, DVM • Bob Peters, DVM Misty Parker, DVM • Robert K. Schneider, DVM Freya Stein, DVM • Jennifer Earnest, DVM Charlotte Hemstock, DVM Intern 509-928-MPEH (6734) • Email: debbie@mpevh.com www.McKinlayPetersEquine.com

Insurance for All of Your Farm & Ranch Needs…

We Know Horses! Cattle! Crops! and Can Insure Most Related Operations! Clinics • Shows • Boarding Stables Farms • Breeding Operations • Training Riding Lessons • Mortality • Major Medical Call us for a Quote Today! Ask for Fran Jenne Office: 509/935-6256 Toll Free: 1-866/200-2230 PO Box 108 • Chewelah, WA 99109

“Bask”, Pencil by Susan Hedstrand

Fran.jenne@hubinternational.com SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 14


l a e d t s e b r u o y e k Ma ! l l a f s I H t e c n e f a on urselfers! -It-Yo We Cater to Do our Fence! Y ll a t s In s U t e or L

tEE POStS

FaRM GatES

GaME FENCING

5’6” 1.33lb

3

$

25

6’ 1.33lb

20% OFF (select gates)

40

330’ ROLL FIELD FENCE 32” ........... $77

$

19

NON-CLIMB HORSE FENCE 4x100’

39” .......... $88

Lower Prices!

4x50’

22

$

4x100’

42

$

5x50’

Lowest Prices Ever!

26

8’ Rails $ 12

6

2-hole Posts $ 03

5x100’ 6x50’

31

$

6.70

100’x7’6” $92

tREatED WOOD POStS 4-5”x8’........................ $8 5-6”x8’...................... $11 4-5”x10’.................... $12 5-6”x10’.................... $15 5-6”x12’.................... $18 4-5”x7’ Drivers ...... $7.27 5-6”x7’ Drivers .... $10.29

BaRBED WIRE

10

60

$

$

FREE Consultation!

3-hole Posts $ 52

6x100’

349.99

Deer Netting Keeps the Deer Out!

9

51

$

$

GaRDEN FENCING

165’x7’6” $210

SPLIt RaIL CEDaR

$

225.00

6x100’

19784

Premium Posts & Rails Highest Quality!

$

330’x7’6” $130

$

2x4 WELDED WIRE

6’6”x330

13561

$

47” ............. $99

140.95

10’ T Post 1.33 lb

CattLE PaNEL

50”x16’ Cattle Panel

$

8’x330’ 12” sq

3

$

6’6”x165

CommerCial

2pt $ 56.45

WHILE STOCK LASTS! ALL ITEMS & PRICES LIMITED TO STOCK ON HAND. SALE ENDS 9/30/17 2430 W Seltice Way, Post Falls, ID 83854 I 208-687-2296 I www.IdahoFence.com

2430 W. Seltice Way

Serving Washington and Idaho Since 1973

ID #001040-C4

IDAHO/WASHINGTON FENCE Open Monday-Friday: 8am-5pm I ID Lic. # 001040-C4

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 15


On The edge Of COmmOn SenSe by Baxter Black, DVM

The Historic Star Valley Beanfield War I guess it never would have happened if Raymond hadn’t sold his cows. The Star Valley Beanfield War, I mean. Cy talked him into planting a bean field. They both had time on their hands. The two of them would do the work. Cy put up twenty acres and Raymond furnished the machinery. The field was in a small plot of private property surrounded by the Tonto National Forest. I should point out that both men were three score and ten...each. May 10 they broke ground. That spring Arizona had above normal moisture and the beans came on like gangbusters! Raymond left for a week and on his return Cy was in a tizzy! The elk had invaded the beanfield! That night Raymond stood guard. He and Pat, his wife of nearly fifty years, sat in their pickup with their dogs in the back. Any approaching elk would get barked, hi-beamed and hoorahed away! Within three days they were comfortably grazing within ten feet of the pickup where the bored dogs

dozed through the night and the shouts were ignored. Cy was havin’ better luck durin’ the day. But the beans were taking a beating. As the weeks wore on these three beanfield moguls tried various methods to keep the marauding elk out of the field. They tried propane noise makers, bonfires, highway dept. flashers, FM radio and rattling feed sacks and tin plates tied in the Manzanita brush! All to no avail. They stood guard night and day for six weeks fighting a losing battle. When the beans were ready, they cut ‘em with Raymond’s hand made rig behind the tractor. Each morning at daylight the three of them would rake the beans in a pile and pitchfork them into the pickup. There they’d fork ‘em into Raymond’s rebuilt combine, an Allis Chambers model 60 with John Deere wheels and a plywood box. Any piles left in the field were scattered by the elk like leaves in the fall. But the bean farmers bowed their backs and carried on. They finally finished the harvest. Back at the ranch they cleaned and ‘winded’ them with an electric fan and wound up with 800 lbs of beans. Considering the expected twenty ton harvest, I guess you could say the elk won the Star Valley Beanfield War. But in the eyes of Raymond, Pat and Cy, they themselves won the war. They walked through the Great Depression and the 2nd World War without a net. They survived and left the world a better place. We’re runnin’ outta these folks. They have earned our admiration and respect. I hope some of their heart and backbone is hereditary. — www.baxterblack.com

CHOPPED STRAW ANIMAL BEDDING for Horses, Goats, sHeep, rabbits, DoGs, CHiCkens, alpaCas, etC! Extremely Clean, Quick & Easy to Pick Environmentally Friendly with Less Waste! Wheat Straw Save Time and Money!

QUALITY CHOPPED GRASS HAY CERTIFIED WEED-FREE

super Clean! MuCH less Waste! perfeCt for piCky eaters! Chopped Grass Hay-Mix of High Quality Timothy, Brome, Orchard Grass and Tall Fescue Don’t let the size of the bag fool you, it contains 10 cu.ft! All our products are packaged in easy to transport, weatherproof, no mess 4.0 mil bags

Available at Your Local Feed & Pet Store!

www.LazyJBedding.com 877-885-2064 lazyjbedding@air-pipe.com 208-274-4632

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 16


SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 17


UPCOMING HORSE SALE UPCOMING HORSE SALE Dates include Catalog sale and open consignment & loose horse sale. UPCOMING HORSE SALE Dates include Catalog sale and open consignment & loose horse sale. Saturday Sept. Sept. 23, 20172017 Saturday, Saturday Sept. 23,23, 2017

Dates include Catalog sale and open consignment & loose horse sale. The ORIGINAL Hermiston Horse Sale The ORIGINAL Located the Northwest Hermiston Horse Sale The at ORIGINAL Livestock Commission Sale Located at the Northwest Hermiston Horse Sale Barn Livestock Commission Sale Barn Located at the Northwest Livestock Commission Sale Barn LOWER CONSIGNMENT FEES! LOWER CONSIGNMENT FEES!

CATALOG SALE

LOWER CONSIGNMENT CATALOG SALEFEES! $100 Fee / 8% Commission

$100 Fee / 8% Commission CATALOG SALE OPEN CONSIGNMENT $100 Fee / 8% Commission OPEN CONSIGNMENT $50 Fee / 8% Commission $50 Fee / 8% Commission OPEN CONSIGNMENT $50 Fee / 8% Commission

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR SUBSCRIBE TO OUR E-NEWSLETTER! SUBSCRIBE TO OUR E-NEWSLETTER! www.HermistonHorseSale.com E-NEWSLETTER! www.HermistonHorseSale.com

Sept.for23, 2017 •Saturday 8:30-11am Check-In Catalog Horses • 11am Catalog Preview • 1:30pm Catalog Sale All open consignment and loose horses can consign the day of the

Open Consignment Loose Horse Sale Will Follow Catalog Sale of the All open consignment and loose horses canbetter consign the day sale. Submit info && pictures before for advertising! sale. Submit info & pictures before for better advertising! All open consignment and loose horses can consign the day of the Entry info forms are available online at sale. Submit & pictures before for better advertising! Entry forms are available online at

www.HermistonHorseSale.com Entry forms are available online at www.HermistonHorseSale.com www.HermistonHorseSale.com

Sold at our May Sold 2017 at ourSale May 2017 Sale Sold Sold at at our our May 2017 May 2017 Sale Sale

www.HermistonHorseSale.com

To Enhance & Secure Your Investments

Sold at our May Sold 2017 at ourSale May 2017 Sale Sold Sold at at our our May May 2017 2017 Sale Sale

Sold at our May Sold 2017 at ourSale May 2017 Sale Sold Sold at at our our Sold at our May May 2017 2017 Sale Sale May Sold 2017 at ourSale May 2017 Sale Sold Sold at at our our May May 2017 2017 Sale Sale

Or Call 541-567-6655 Or Call 541-567-6655 Or Call 541-567-6655

WindDrift Farm AQHA Horses Schipperke Dogs

Craftsmanship & Integrity Craftsmanship & Integrity • Commercial Commercial, Farm, Home• Home Standing: ANADO ACE AQHA • Landscaping • Farm Established 1983 Usually a Few Young Horses for Sale Currently Booked Through September, Landscaping 27210 W. Hallett Rd. • Medical Lake (Espanola), WA 99022 Now Scheduling for Fall! 509-276-1140 Proprietor: 509-276-1140 Austin Wells 509/299-4143 • e-mail: winddrift@earthlink.net Established 1983 Lic. #NORTH4F96004 Proprietor: Austin Wells

Indiana Harness Co.

Lic. #NORTH4F96004

“Quality Repair at Affordable Prices”

• New & used Western & English saddles • Rodeo & pack equipment • Custom belts & wallets • Custom working & show chaps • Cell phone cases • Blanket & saddle repair • Dog collars & harnesses for walking • Custom holsters & saddle scabbards Tack & Training Aides including: Custom designed halters, bridles, breast collars, etc FREE advice for the novice horse person 40+ years experience & family owned

Seeklander Training Reining and Reined Cowhorses

Located in the Walla Walla Valley Milton-Freewater, Oregon

509-535-3400

2425 N. Vista, Spokane WA (next to the “Big R” on Trent)

208-699-7264 www.Facebook.com/Seeklander-Horse-Training

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 18


Fall 10% OFF! Special

We Build Quality with mention of this ad! Fences to last! Excellent Quality I Locally Made I Custom Orders Welcome Stay Tuff Fencing –

A fixed knot fencing makes it an excellent alternative for chain-link & hinge-joint fencing – even for the smallest of animals; and costs 30%-50% less than chain-link. Useful life of the fence is 3 to 4 times that of traditional hinge-joint fencing. Can be installed with wood or steel posts and rails. Stay Tuff Fencing offers a 10 year manufacturer warranty on material.

EquiFence Power Fencing –

Designed for maximum visibility and delivers a short, sharp but safe shock to develop respect for the fence. Gallagher Equi-Fence is permanent horse control that takes less than half the time to build and can cost as much as 50% less.

Deer & Elk Fencing – Deer & Elk fence can be built

with a variety of materials and designs, from pressure treated or rough cut wood to composite materials. Wire mesh can be added to help with predator control or keeping your small animals in.

Custom Gates & Panels

Excellent quality, locally made, custom orders welcome.

Excavator available for Ground Management, Water Lines & Automatic Livestock Watering Systems • Rock Drilling ! FREE ESTIMATES

509-998-9570

Do it right the first time …Give us a call! All proposals are based on footage as quoted within the written proposal. Any increase in end-project footage will be adjusted & billed accordingly. Lic# ALLTETF903JA

Serving Spokane for Over 15 Years I www.AllTerrainFence.com SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 19


11515 E. Trent, Spokane Valley, WA 99206

From the show ring to the trail - we’ve got you covered!

Western and english tack Hours: Monday-Friday clothes, gifts & more! 9:30am-5:30pm th 30 Anniversary Sales, Saturday 9:30am-5pm All Year Long! Open late by appointment Great Selection of Equine Inspired Wines!

DD D D D D

D

509-927-5891

D D www.SpokaneTackTrunk.com D D D • sales@spokanetacktrunk.com

Road Deer Park, WA 99006 D D D D DD D

Diamond Horse Boarding D DD D Pine n affordable price! D DD D D Ranch Your

HorsemansHip Classes

309 E. Insert Rd. Deer Park, WA 99006 D (509) D D 723-8166 (425) 681-0142 D dleigh@cnw.com D D D

Teach your horse to be ultra-responsive to your lightest and quietest cues

Beginners to advanced, young to old!

r/Heated Water 309 East Insert Road Deer Park, WA 99006 Horse FULL SERVICE BOARDING dual Runs PREMIER D D D ATTENDANT D D DD D … Needs WITH RESIDENT eaning Us!

Premier Horse Boarding

◆ Outdoor shelters in 40x50 steel fenced pens, cleaned a/Orchard weekly, Grass heated Hay water Personalized care at an affordable price! on ◆ Premium alfalfa/grass hay, fed 2x daily

*

Private lessons or group clinics at our ranch or I can travel close if needed View our videos on YouTube (Gerry Cox Horse) or on Facebook

Your ◆ Supplements/ grain fed when supplied by owner Horse B 50’ x 50’ Individual Runs ◆ Heated wash rack,Needs tack B Weekly Pen Cleaning room, parking Us! B

Outside Shelter/Heated Water

*Additional services upon request

◆ Indoor lighted Premium Alfalfa/Orchard Grassarena Hay

B

On-Site Attention

B

services upon request $300 Monthly * *Additional ◆ Endless Trails

Indoor & Outdoor

80x144

◆ Outdoor arena 150x250 ◆ Turn Outs Available

Proud Distributors of: Noble & Gates MilesPanels & miles of◆ LubriSyn - Joint Supplement

groomed trail riding trails

509-685-1977

lady raven stables

B

-723-8166 or De: 425-681-0142 com ForRiding more information Arenas

Mountain House Stables Arena 775 Old Arden Highway, Colville, WA 99114

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 20

Call Ray & LeeAnn Hancock 509-993-7758 509-953-4511 509-466-6075 www.ladyravenstables.com pyroray@windwireless.net lhancock@windwireless.net


4006 N. Division • Spokane, WA

POLE BUILDINGS GARAGES SHOPS BARNS LIVING QUARTERS

STEELSA044BD

Any Size and Configuration Available

Call 800-833-9997 Today!

Or on-line: www.FindSSA.net SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 21


Real Estate Trends & Advice should i buy lAnd now? In the past 6 months land sales have come to a screeching halt because of the October 2016 Hirst Decision and the local fallout from that definitive Supreme Court decision. Soon after that decision was announced publicly, the Spokane County Building Department placed a moratorium on building permits on any property in the county that would require a well. Shortly thereafter they modified that moratorium with an emergency interim resolution, with another change following that. The result in a nutshell was that most land owners were not able to sell their property to anyone who wanted to build a home (or anything requiring a building permit) because the county would not issue one unless certain strict requirements were met concerning water availability. The budding land sales market became like an old west ghost town almost overnight! That development brought many distraught and irate landowners out of the wood work!

Under that pressure, Spokane County officials have worked diligently to find a viable solution that would work for landowners and still keep themselves out of legal jeopardy. They have purchased a large water right in northern Spokane County (and are searching for more) that will be divided up into saleable slivers. Once they sort out the rules of engagement for their new water selling enterprise, they will be able to offer packages of water rights to the public. That means that a land owner can (by the end of this year) go to the County’s Water Resource Department and purchase a package of water rights for domestic use, and once in place, that property may be issued a building permit. So, that begs the question, “Should I buy land now?” My answer to this is a definitive, “Yes!” But…you should probably take some precautions. One strategy might be to put a long closing date on the purchase so that you can tie up the property but wait until the water rights are available to close. Combined with that strategy, a buyer should consider placing feasibility contingency or more exact phraseology that says you don’t have to close the deal if the water right is not available or if you are not able to secure written assurance from the building department that you will be able to build in the time frame that you wish. Most land owners would be happy to agree to that strategy since the alternative is a standstill. Jim Palmer, Jr. 509-953-1666 JimPalmerJr.com

See my blogs at:

www.RealEstateMarketPlc.com Two Multiple Listing Services Professional Representation for Buyers & Sellers • Residential Acreage Residential Acreage Waterfront • Ranch • Farm

4.85 Acres Deer Park

MLS #201721566

$325,000 3 beds, 3 baths Single Family Home

We Are The region’S DeAler For...

10.59 Acres Deer Park

MLS #201720299

$315,000 3 beds, 2 baths, Single Family Home Britney Inglis 509-218-8062 www.RealEstateMarketplc.com/Britney-Anglis

New & Used Forklift Sales, Service, Parts, & Rentals for All Makes & Models Also Carrying

AeriAl eqUipmenT!

Call Us Today! SpokAne 509-868-5962 ForkliFT 3627 E. Olympic Spokane, WA

“The AFForDAble AlTernATive!”

www.SpokaneForklift.com

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 22


SPORTSMAN’S PARADISE! 20616 N Day Mt Spokane Rd, Mead, WA 99021

• Amazing views overlooking Green Bluff • 2 story contemporary home w/ basement • Built in 1945, complete remodel in 2010 • 3 bed, 3 bath, 3,473 sq.ft. • Open floor plan, fireplace • Gated entry, fenced yard & sprinkler system • Forced air, propane & central AC • 15 minutes to shopping & restaurants in Mead School District • Huge 4 car heated garage/ shop (22’x48’) 12’ door & ½ bath

For a virtual tour

• Well designed private horse facility surrounded by cross fence pastures! • Horse barn w/ indoor arena (60’x144’) 12+ stalls & 2 runs & ¾ bath & laundry • Fancy shop (22’x40’) heated & insulated w/ cabinetry & concrete floor • Good well

$

999,000 114 Acres

www.SuzyDix.com

SUZY DIX Lic. # 13922

(509) 994-9300

An Expert You Can Trust With Your Property Investment

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 23


EQUESTRIAN FACILITY ON 19+ ACRES • ESTACADA, OREGON

12 stall stable, covered arena, tack building, shop with heated floor, barn, storage/ garage building. Property is rolling meadow fenced, cross fenced with New Zealand fencing. 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Covered front porch to relax on, ePa approved fireplace insert to warm you on those winter evenings. Heat pump to cool those hot summer days. Stables were rented out in the past and could be again.

$

739,000

Bill Johnson 503-880-7437 Sandy • OregOn

26570 S Hillockburn Rd, Estacada, OR 97023 4 beds, 2 baths, 2,172 sq. ft. www.billjohnson.johnlscott.com RMLS #2017266153

ECHO VALLEY RANCH HORSE BOARDING

Scenic Pend Oreille

RiveR TRain

dEER PaRK, Wa

12x12 Stalls with Large Runs, 60x40 Lighted Indoor Round Pen, Two Large Outdoor Arenas 100x125 & 200x300, Heated Water, Stalls Cleaned Daily, Quality Hay Fed Twice Daily, Trails Nearby, Stress Free Environment, References Available.

2017 SeaSOn RiDe DaTeS SePt. 30 & Oct. 1 • 11am & 1pm & 3pm OctOber 7 & 8 • 11am & 1pm & 3pm OctOber 14 & 15 • 11am & 1pm & 3pm The Newport WA Priest River ID Rotary Club introduces a NEW Excursion Train Ride departing from Newport, WA traveling 12 miles along the beautiful Pend Oreille River!

509-936-2039 or see our Facebook at

Echo VallEy Ranch hoRsE BoaRding

GeT www.SportTrainRides.com • 1-877-525-5226 TickeTS! Email Questions to sporttrainrides@gmail.com Partially Paid for by City of Newport Hotel/Motel Tax Funds

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 24


SpaciouS & DeSirable 3,240sq.ft. Home on almost 10 acres located in Deer park, Wa

$

359,900

Commercial Building!

Small Apartment Above! St. Maries, ID

175,500

$

Welding/Fabricating Business is Closing it’s Doors! SHOP WIRED with 3 PHASE POWER! Great price. Great opportunity.

Updated 4 bedroom, 2 bath, partially finished basement. The majority of the home has been updated, replaced or remodeled. Wilsonart counters in kitchen, pellet stove in each family room, lower family room finished in tongue and groove cedar. R-44 insulation in ceiling, central vac system, 30x50 shop, and a 40x60x20 ft. hay barn. MLS #201723028

Bill O’Dea (509) 714-3814

SALE OF SHOP INCLUDES tools, equipment, supplies, diesel Cat dozer, fork lift, PLUS 1975 Chevy 1 ton flat bed truck w/Lincoln portable welder. Don’t miss a great opportunity to build your own business. MLS #17-6982

Bambi Burrus

208-660-0310

Windermere North Spokane, LLC

www.BillOdeaHomeSales.com

www.BambiBurrus.com

PRIVATE REAL ESTATE LOANS noW UP To $ $ 25,000 - 1,000,000! (no Personal resIDence loans)

Will also Buy or Loan on Contracts in Escrow, Annuities, Lawsuit Settlements, also Buy Equipment or Tools!

I can often fund In a week to 10 days APPLy by A SImPLE PhONE cALL!

Northwest Legal Services, Ed Anderson, Sr. Paralegal

Edward andErson • Kingston, ID

509-994-2557 • efa517@gmail.com SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 25


LUXURY EQUESTRIAN ESTATE

ON 20 ACRES IN SpIRIT LAkE, IdAhO • $1,150,000

Brand New 5 bedroom, 4 bath, 3573 sq.ft. custom built home. Rustic elegance finishes, timbers inside & out, stone fireplace, hardwood floors, custom tile, granite, Thermador appliances, knotty alder cabinets & trim, wet bar and beautiful lighting. Outside entertainment area includes built-in BBQ, firepit, easy maintenance landscaping

60x48 shop with loft & extra storage, 96x40 custom barn with Nelson waterers, tack room, wash rack, grooming area, 4 horse stalls with runs, room for 4 more. 100x80 indoor lighted and extra tall riding arena. 4 individual 150x90 paddocks, 20 acre perimeter mostly fenced with 6 ft high horse fencing. Adjoins Timberland

Cindy Perry • 208-691-2540 Cindy@CindyPerryHomes.com for more information & Photos, go to

www.CindyPerryHomes.com SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 26


spacious & light rancher on 115 acres! 141 Old Hwy 5, Plummer, IdaHO • $1,194,000

6 bedroom, 4 bath rancher with daylight basement, 5127 sq.ft. with beautiful views overlooking the rolling hills of the Palouse!

This home was designed to be highly functionable & energy efficient yet extremely comfortable with space for everyone. Features a huge Chef’s Kitchen with cherry cabintry and lots of built-in special features, great room, formal dining room with hardwood floors, living room, master suite, office, mudroom, specially designed craft room doubles as 6th bedroom, huge rec room with wet bar, ventilated root cellar (could be wine cellar), wood storage room, 2 wood stoves. Central vac, surround sound, built-in entertainment center, Intercom system, 3 car garage. Outside there is 48x36 shop with lean-to and insulated office, 3 horse corrals with shelters and a hay storage or equipment shed

Cindy Perry • 208-691-2540 Cindy@CindyPerryHomes.com for more information & Photos, go to

www.CindyPerryHomes.com SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 27


HOME WITH ACREAGE - DEER PARK

Large 4 bedroom, 4 bath home. Huge barn with indoor stalls, tack room, & hay storage. Over-sized round pen for your horse training. Choose 5 acres or 15! Large rooms abound in this 5,000 sq.ft. home with room in the basement to add more. Laundry on both floors & plumbed for wet bar in basement. Patio, sprinkler system, huge Trex deck off back. Open concept with ample sunlight. Bonus room off master bedroom large enough for exercise room or office with outside entrance to deck. 3-bay 60x40 shop with manacle and 60x40 barn with stall areas, hay, & tack room. Large garden area too!

$389,000 w/5 acres $439,500 w/15 acres

MLS #201722553 Additional parcel has a separate well!

Loretta Huss

5009 S. Swenson

Real Estate Marketplace NW Inc. Road, Deer Park, WA 509-290-2394 SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 28


CLASSIFIED

FALL 2017

APPALOOSAS

BOARDING

TRAINING / INSTRUCTION

2017 AMHR Appaloosa Colt This guy has got it all: color galore (black with big white blanket covered with black spots), pedigree full of champions, including Boones Little Andy; great conformation & disposition. He will get noticed in the show ring & would be an excellent future driving prospect or herd sire, $1500. 509/891‑7905

Northwest Trails Boarding Happy healthy horses. Excellent care, recommended by Deer Park Vet Clinic. Catering to those who really care for their horse’s well being. Large, lighted arena, three round pens, large paddocks & pastures with shelter. Endless miles of beautiful trail riding. Natural Horsemanship training & lessons available, friendly, helpful atmosphere. www.northwest‑trails.net 509/276‑6345 Deer Park

Human Equine Connection! Want To Have a better connection with your horse, mule, or donkey? Want them to have a better understanding of what you are asking? How about improving their ground manners? Or have you lost your horse handling skills & riding confidence along the way? Call Marie at Human Equine Connection 509/679‑1906. Reasonable rates, flexible hours. Covered arena, Deer Park. Taking new clients: adults, teens & children

ARABIANS 2 Beautiful Arabian Mares. Arabian horses are a versatile breed, good natured & quick to learn. Long manes & tails, very showy, $500 for both. Please call Linda for more information, 509/230‑5526 Spokane

HORSES 27 Horses Cutting, Racing Lines 1‑16 years, all levels of work, ride & train, $750‑ $10,000. North Pasco, 509/531‑5211

BOARDING Boarding! Lady Raven Stables Has New stalls for your boarding needs. Indoor/ outdoor arenas, round pen, miles of trails, wash rack, heated tack room, 8 minutes from North Division Y. www.LadyRavenStables.com Call 509/953‑4511; 509/993‑ 7758

MISCELLANEOUS Horseback Riding Companion For Retired Christian lady who likes going into the mountains. I can provide trailer, need somebody with a truck to tow it. 509/496‑6598 Deer Park Dry Shavings Very Little Dust, 32 Cubic yards per load, $250 per load, plus delivery, 208/683‑2496 or 509/999‑8765 Lucky Acres Brand Panels, Bow Gates & Shelters! All products fabricated from 1‑5/8” 15 gauge galvanized steel tubing. 12 5‑rail 56” tall panels $105. 12 5‑rail matching bow gate $205. 12x12 plywood compatible shelter (excludes plywood & roof tin, framework only) $1,095. Lucky Acres Fencing, Inc., Lewiston, ID. 208/746‑1228 www.LuckyAcres.net

EVENTS Fall Fun Ride & Scavenger Hunt Sponsored by Ponderosa Chapter Back Country Horsemen, Saturday, September 30, 9am‑1pm. Riverside State Park Equestrian Area, 3402 Equestrian Lane, Spokane (see www.pbchw.com for directions). Join us for a fun ride through Riverside State Park, chili feed, door prizes, awards for crazy hat contest, raffle & music. Pre‑registration form at www.pbchw.com Questions? Ken Carmichael, 509/466‑2225 or kcarmichael2225@gmail.com

FARRIERS TACK & TRAILERS

Echo Valley Ranch Horse Boarding 12x12 stalls with large runs, 60x40 lighted indoor. Round pen, (2) large outdoor arenas, 100x125 & 200x300, heated water, stalls cleaned daily, quality hay fed twice daily, trails nearby, stress free environment, references available. See our Facebook at Echo Valley Ranch Horse Boarding. 509/936‑2039 Deer Park

We Can Start Your Ranch Roping Horse Develop confidence in your dressage horse & train solid trail horses; common sense training with Rob Dotts & Sally Shepard, a team of trainers with more than 45 years of experience; no gimmicks used, just good horsemanship. Northwest Trails, Deer Park 509/276‑6345

Spokane Tack Trunk English & Western saddles, tack, clothes & much more. We have horse themed wines too! From the trail to the show ring, we’ve got you covered! Find us on Facebook & Instagram. 11515 E. Trent, Spokane Valley. 509/927‑5891 www.SpokaneTackTrunk.com

Balanced Barefoot Trimming Practitioner Pete Ramey School of Natural Hoof Care, $30 maintenance trim. Bud, 509/939‑5752 Barefoot Hoof Trimming 4PB‑S.A.I.D. Method, nature’s correct healthy & preferred alternative to metal shoes. J.B. Healy, third generation farrier. 509/456‑5555

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 29


ADVERTISERS STALLIONS

INDEX

FACILITY

Anado Ace WindDrift Farm ...........................18 DA Sir Dierich Nova Burke .................................30 Mama Said Dash C&S Ranch ....................................8 Notorious BP Meadow Starr Ranch .....................5 Poco Buenos Ghost C&S Ranch ....................................8

BARNS & BUILDINGS

NW Cover-All, Fabri-Steel ...........11 Steel Structures of America, Inc ...21

BREEDERS

C&S Ranch ....................................8 Shalwyn Arabians ........................14 WindDrift Farm Quarter Horses ...18

EVENTS

Hermiston Horse Sale ..................18 Hermiston Horse Sale Extravaganza ....4 Ponderosa BCH Scavenger Hunt ..10

Diamond Pine Ranch ..................20 Lady Raven Stable .......................20 Upriver Stables ..................... Front,2 Wendy Cola / Horse Boarding .....24

FEED & ACCESSORIES

Lazy J Bedding.............................16 LMF Feeds .....................................7

FENCING

All Terrain Fence ..........................19 North 40 Fence Company............18 Washington/Idaho Fence .............15

HORSES FOR SALE

Midnyte Shetlands/ Stethmir Arabians ..........................3 WindDrift Farm ...........................18 Shalwyn Arabians ........................14

MISCELLANEOUS

Chuck Young/Love To Dig ..............4 HUB International .......................14 OXARC .......................................12

REAL ESTATE

Bambi Burrus...............................25 Bill Johnson .................................24 Bill O’Dea ...................................25 Brittney Inglis ..............................22 Cindy Perry............................26, 27 Ed Anderson RE Loans .................25 Loretta Huss ................................28 Suzy Dix......................................23 Wendy Cola ................................24

SADDLES,TACK & CLOTHING

Indiana Harness Co. ....................18 Spokane Tack Trunk .....................20 Will Rogers Saddle Co. ............ Back

TRAINERS

Ann Kirk Horsemanship.................6 Gerry Cox Horsemanship ............20 Scott Seeklander ..........................18

TRAILERS & TRAILER REPAIR

Huber Trailer Sales.........................9 Washington Auto Carriage ...........17

VETERINARIAN

McKinlay & Peters Equine............13

(Blacklord Basksok x Blacmagic Matara)

2002 Homozygous Black Arabian SCID Clear 7

Shipped Cooled or Live Cover

Standing at Stud Spokane, WA

Live Foal Guarantee Multiple Mare Discount

Contact: Nova Burke at (509) 710-1712 ~ nburke51@msn.com ~ www.sir-dierich.blogspot.com SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 30


P.O. Box 427 • Spokane, W A 99210 -0427 • (509) 922-3456

P.O. Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210 • (509) 922-3456 • 1-800-326-2223

ADvErTiSing rATES Ad Size

Dimension

Ad Size

B&W Color

Dimension

B&W Color

Front Cover ............. 7.5”w x 10”h .......................... $250

Full Page ..........................7.5”w x 9.83”h ....... $135 ..... $170

Centerfold...................................................................... $295

Half Page Horizontal ........7.5”w x 4.83”h ......... $90 ..... $115

Back Cover .................. 7.5”w x 10”h .......................... $200

Half Page vertical .............3.66”w x 9.83”h ....... $90 ..... $115

Inside Back Cover ......... 7.5”w x 9.83”h ......... $147 ..... $182

Quarter Page ....................3.66”w x 4.83”h ....... $62 ....... $82

FULL PAGE

HORIZONTAL

Display Advertising

We can professionally design your ad using your graphics, photos and text. There is no additional charge for graphic design so your ad does not have to be submitted camera ready. Give us a “neat” sketch or rough draft with any specific directions, we will do the rest! Please make sure to provide the best quality photographs possible. Your ad copy, or photographs can also be accepted via e-mail.

Classified Advertising

$4.50 for 25 words or less. Mailed in ads are accepted with your check. Or telephone in your ads with your credit card, 509-922-3456 or 1-800-326-2223.

Electronic Ad Submission

We accept ads via email in .pdf format. Please ensure that all photographs are at least 160dpi and balanced for newsprint output. Please ensure color ads are CMYK. If you have any questions about .pdf files, please call us. e-mail the files to: HorsePreviews@spokane.Exchange

VERTICAL

HALF PAGE

HALF PAGE

Bus. Card–1/8th Page .......3.66”w x 2.33”h ....... $39 ....... $49

QUARTER PAGE

Distribution

Over 7500 copies of Horse Previews are distributed quarterly in Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Montana and British Columbia. Pick up your FREE copy early at your western, tack, feed, farm & horse supply stores. Distribution is the first Thursday of January, April, July and October. Please contact us if you are interested in becoming a distribution point.

Special Position

All ads are positioned run of paper (ROP) at standard rates, without preference. Ads requesting premium or specific position other than ROP will incur an additional 15% charge.

Deadline

Ads must be reserved by the 15th of the preceding month to be published in the next quarterly magazine. We are often able to accept ads a few days after the 15th, so please contact us if you require extra consideration.

BUSINESS CARD

Electronic Edition

The Horse Previews Magazine on-line edition is uploaded the first Thursday of every January, April, July & September. Our web site can be found at: www.Horse-Previews.com You can also contact us via e-mail: HorsePreviews@spokane.Exchange

Subscriptions

$ 10 per year United States; $14 per year Canada; $20 per year International. Payment in advance.

The Fine Print

Payment by your personal check or money order must accompany all mailed in advertisements. Please type or print your ad neatly. We are not responsible for accuracy from handwritten copy. Horse Previews will not be responsible for misinformation, misprints, typographical errors, etc., herein contained. We reserve the right to edit, alter, or refuse any advertising or articles for publication. Neither Horse Previews nor its advertisers intends prejudice because of age, creed, disability, origin or sex. Reproduction without permission is prohibited. All rights reserved ©2015 Horse Previews Magazine, P.O. Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210-0427. Exchange Publishing, LLC. Revised December 2016

SEPTEMBER 2017 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 31


W

s R s e a g d o d R l ec l l i

Presents N

N WiNTeR BlaNKeTs NoW iN!

o.

Weatherbeeta, ozark, Tough one, schneiders & More! Sierra on Taga (201 7 Springdale Open R odeo Queen)

We CaRRY sKidMoRe! Natural Treatment for Restoration, Conditioning & Protecting all the leather & Wood in Your life!

Check Us Out On Facebook Often for the Most Recent Deals! Family Owned & Operated

Will RogeRs saddle Co.

13011 N. Freya, Mead

509-466-0106

or Toll Free 1-877-707-2801 Open Mon. - Sat. 9am - 5pm • Closed Sunday

www.willrogerssaddle.com

Buy - Sell - Trade

Horsepreviews fall2017  
Advertisement