__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

r – Fourth Quarte Issue – Vol. XXV No. 3 1 0 2 l IV Fa l

blicatio u P d e All Bre

n

Distribution In Washington, Ida y t i n u ho, O Comm regon, a Montana, & British Columbi Published Since 1988 SPOKANE, WASHINGTON USA

Zollinger Quarter Horse Ranch, Oakley, Idaho

www.Horse-Previews.com


P.O. Box 427 U Spokane, W A 99210-0427 U (509) 922-3456 6ÂœÂ?ՓiĂŠĂ“xĂŠUĂŠĂƒĂƒĂ•iĂŠ{ >Â?Â?ÊÓä£ÎÊUĂŠÂœĂ•Ă€ĂŒÂ…ĂŠ+Ă•>Ă€ĂŒiÀÊĂƒĂƒĂ•i

FEATURES Veterinary Knowledge Ageless Horsemanship: Equine Dental Care, A Rapidly Advancing Science ............. 4 Ann Kirk Regaining Your Confidence ................. 8 Baxter Black On The Edge of Common Sense The Battle of the Abandoned Horse .. 16 Prepare for Winter Now.................... 26

CONTENT Advertisers Index ..................................... 37 Advertising Rates ..................................... 38 Classified Advertising............................... 34 Clubs & Organizations ............................ 32

Horse Previews Magazine Quarterly Schedule All Breeds Always Included! WINTER - First Quarter Issue SPRING - Second Quarter Issue SUMMER - Third Quarter Issue FALL - Fourth Quarter Issue EDITOR Helen V. Boyd-Schwartz ASSISTANT EDITOR Ashley Lewan SALES & ADMINISTRATION Donna Eslick PRODUCTION: Kenyon Haskins Patrick McHale Deborah Simpson PUBLISHER: Exchange Publishing OFFICE LOCATION: 304 W. Third Avenue, Spokane, WA 99201 CONTACT DETAILS: 4EL   s    Fax: 509-455-7940 Mail: PO Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210 horsepreviews@exchangepublishing.com www.Horse-Previews.com

Zollinger Quarter Horse Ranch 25th Annual Production Sale Oakley, Idaho Almost 50 years ago Wade bought his first Quarter Horse mare. She came from Hamilton, Montana in the back of a chicken hauling bus. Later, he bought a beautiful bay son of Prince Bar by Three Bars TB. He ran them on the chariot and also rode them. Later, more horses came along including a little bay mare named Bay Ida Mae by Cowboy II by Joe Moore out of Baldys Ida by Baldy Joe by Joe Hancock. She was little, 15 hands, and could really run. She went on to produce a track record holder by Lad Leo and seven other AAA/AA colts including one by the great Azure Te. In 1971 Wade bought Lad Leo, the last own son of the great Leo. Lad became the cornerstone of the Zollinger breeding program. Like his father, Lad Leo stamped his offspring with correct conformation, good bone, large feet, excellent muscling, intelligence, and, of course, a willing disposition. Lad put Wade in business, and his son JX Leo Sun Up and the Lad Leo daughters and granddaughters keep him in business. After many years working in the Quarter Horse Industry, Wade has accomplished some of the highest honors there are in the Horse World. The ranch has been featured in the Quarter Horse Journal, The American Quarter Horse, and several other books and magazines across the world. The Western Horseman in Germany did a five page article about the ranch and its accomplishments. In 2010, Western Horseman named Zollinger Ranch as one of the Premier Breeders of Performance Horses in the nation. We are proud of our program and what we’ve accomplished in the Quarter Horse industry. Our goal is and has always been to breed and raise quality horses with

good minds, great dispositions, correct conformation, and athletic ability. You can do anything on horses we raise. This year Zollinger Quarter Horse Ranch will hold our 25th Annual Production Sale on September 14, 2013 here at the ranch in Oakley, Idaho. We will offer an outstanding selection of bloodline, conformation, color, and quality. Our Lad Leo broodmares are the foundation of our breeding program; crossing them to some of the best bloodlines in the country. Our stallions include Double L Boon by Peptoboonsmal, JX Leo Sun Up by Lad Leo, CR Bodees R Blue by Bodee Boonsmal, WZ Poco Hollywood, a grandson of Poco Bueno and Bailey Joe, Poco Blakburn Smoke, Dry Speck A Pepper, Moneys Illusion by Dash for Cash, Mr Silver Pistol by Playgun, Dynamo Dunit by Hollywood Dunit, and Pecos Little Peppy by Peppy San Badger. Wade always loves to “talk horses�, so call or come by the ranch anytime. Zollinger Quarter Horse Ranch /AKLEY )DAHO    s    Many thanks to photographer, Robert Dawson of Joseph, Oregon for our cover picture. www.DawsonPhotography.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 2


Zollinger Quarter Horse Ranch Where the Leo Legacy Continues …

25th Annual Production Sale Saturday, September 14, 2013 Preview 9:30 am – Sale 11:00 am

Offering 60 head of quality weanlings and started horses. Leo and Poco Tivio bred mares crossed with sons of Shining Spark, High Brow Cat, Peptoboonsmal, Dash For Cash, Playgun , Peppy San Badger, and Hollywood Dun It. Always breeding for Conformation, Disposition, and Performance. For Information and Catalogs call Wade at: Ph (208) 862-3402 Cell (208) 670-0458 or Jerry at (208) 670-3833 Email: zollingerquarterhorses @ yahoo.com www.zollingerquarterhorseranch.com View the Sale Lots and Online Catalog on the website.

Can’t make the sale?? View, Bid, & Buy at DVAuctions.com SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 3


VETERINARY KNOWLEDGE

AGEL E S S HORSEMANSHIP

EQUINE DENTAL CARE A Rapidly Advancing Science Dr. Bob Peters, McKinlay Peters Equine Hospital

Wow, fall is here! I am happy because this is my favorite time of year. Problem is I don’t remember having much of a summer. It seems like we skipped from February to September. I just wish it would do that from November to May! Those 5 months seem to take forever. In any case, there is a point to all this talk about the seasons. The fall is one of our Dr. Bob Peters, busiest times for doing dentals, especially McKinlay Peters on older horses. We want to make sure Equine Hospital our horses’ teeth are in “tip top� shape so they can maintain their weight through the long cold winter. In my opinion, the biggest advancements in equine veterinary care over the past 15 years, has been in the field of equine dentistry. From the 1700’s to about 1995 there was almost no change in how we took care of a horse’s mouth. In the last 15 years there have been major advancements in our knowledge base, procedures, and instrumentation related to dentistry. Last week we hosted a dental school for veterinarians only at our hospital. Dr. Travis Henry, one of the premier equine veterinary dentists in the world, flew in to instruct. We had 15 doctors come in for the course from all over the northwest and even Canada. It is very exciting for me to see the level of interest in this area grow. I have been very interested in dentistry for my entire career. It kind of started by accident, but has surely grown on me. In vet school I did not have one lecture, let alone an entire class on dentistry. My senior year I got to float one horse. I graduated on a Friday and started work the following Monday. The first thing my new boss told me was that I would be doing all the floats because he didn’t like it. I immediately began taking short courses, reading articles and going to every lecture I could on dentistry. And that has continued over the past 17 years. We, as equine veterinary dentists, have come a long way. It is not just “floating� anymore. It is now called “dental equilibration�. This reflects the change from just filing down sharp

To Enhance & Secure Your Investments

Craftsmanship & Integrity Craftsmanship & Integrity Commercial, Farm, Home Commercial, Farm, Home Established 1983 Established 1983 Landscaping Landscaping Proprietor: Austin Wells Lic. #NORTH4F96004

Proprietor: Austin Wells Lic. Lic. #NORTH4F96004 #NORTH4F96004

points, to balancing the entire mouth. We now use sophisticated digital radiography to help us find, diagnose and treat problems much like your dentist does with you. Ninety nine percent of extraction cases we can now do intraorally while standing, as opposed to driving the tooth out with a mallet and punch under general anesthesia. The newest field is endodontics. There are tooth sparing procedures such as cavity filling when possible. All these advancements are, in the end for “The Love of the Horse.� We are proud to be a part of making your horse happier, healthier and living longer through proper dental care.

*ED-C+INLAY $6-s"OB0ETERS $6-ISTY0ARKER $6-s2OBERT+3CHNEIDER $6  -0%( s%MAILDIANE MPEVHCOM www.McKinlayPetersEquine.com

L^cY9g^[i;Vgb 6F=6=dghZh™=dgcZY8ViiaZ HX]^eeZg`Z9d\h Standing: ANADO ACE AQHA

509-276-1140

Usually a Few Young Horses for Sale 27210 W. Hallett Rd. • Medical Lake (Espinola), WA 99022

509-276-1140 509/299-4143 • e-mail: winddrift@earthlink.net SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 4


ONLINE CATALOG AVAILABLE NOW! Early Consignments Include Sons, Daughters & Mares Bred To:

SMART CHIC OLENA SMART LITLLE LENA SMART LITTLE MATE HOLLYWOOD DUN IT GREAT RED PINE DOC’S OAK A LITTLE SHADY JAC NITRO DUAL DOC TARI PISTOL STEADY TRADITION WEST COAST WHIZ HAIDAS LITTLE PEP FRENCHMANS GUY NU CHEX TO CASH A NIGHT TRAIN THE DUALLER STORMIN NORMIN COOL WHIMP DUAL R SMOKIN WIMPY’S LITTLE STEP PROFESSOR SMART WIMPY’S MELODY STEP HF MOBSTER LAKOTA CHIC

BLACK ROCK HORSES

RANCH SALE SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 14, 2013 THIS IS A PERFORMANCE SALE!

Most will have training. Several finished in Cutting, Reining, Cow Penning, Sorting or Barrels. Several Exceptional Roping Horses. ALL RANCH HORSES WILL BE AVAILABLE! NOTHING HELD BACK!

s Horses will be shown on cattle

We have several really good rope & reining horses!

s High School Horses, Trained in Cutting and Roping s We will have Cow Sorting or Penning Horses for beginners to Pros s Rope Horses Heading, Heeling and Breakaway

Preview Horses NOW! s Cutting and Reining Horses that are Money Earners -Call For Detailswww.blackrockhorses.com s Geldings for the Ranch, Feed Lot or Trail Riding

BLACK ROCK HORSES

ǝǝǽǞǿ4"Ä&#x;Ä•Ä–ÄŁÄ¤Ä Ä&#x;-ĒĜĖ3Ä•t)ĒģģĚĤĠÄ&#x; *%Č ÇźČ ÇźÇź Andy Osmundson 208-755-0755

www.blackrockhorses.com

Frank Dillon

208-750-6500 208-743-8366 dillonhorses@msn.com

Neil Braverman 239-821-5454

blackrockhorses@gmail.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 5


Jed McKinlay, DVM U Bob Peters, DVM U Misty Parker, DVM Robert Schneider, DVM, MS, Board Certified Equine Surgeon 509-928-6734 U www.mckinlaypetersequine.com U 208-457-8813

Many Thanks to our Clients & Friends for a Wonderful 2013 Breeding Season! MARE OWNERS Cyndie Albert Craig & Robyn Anderson Twyla & Christopher Armstrong Mary Balsack Karen Blake Andia & Kevin Blenz Sherri Boito Kellie Bretthauer Yvette Croteau Ed & Teresa DeNike Jackie Easterling Steve Flaherty

Wicked Felina Velvet and Scotch Angel GG This Chics Gettin It Diamante Elysha SF Goldie Locks Bubbles A Silver Dash Okie Dry Chex Boomin Dun It Juanita Chic Olena Sayos Shining Whiz Lisa Gramyk Rubinesque Stephanie Grubb A Winning Edge Bar Steel Sugar Cuddle Up With Cash Miss Barlinks Illusion OSR Hancock Lena Doc Peppy’s Blue Alibi Velvets Top Drift Young Pistol Prom Phillip Haney & Margaret Rogers Elusives Feona Donna Heinen CP Hoot Ta Boot Audry Henning One Chic Tuck Danielle Hollenberg La Donna Rebecca Jacoby Angie

Bobby Johnson Donna & Lou Kelleher Mary & Lloyd Knopp Ron Knutson

Deanna & Doug Leigh Billie & Christopher Malcolm Susan Marchant Bob & Nancy McGahan Hannah McKinney Kim McLaughlin Tom & Patty McLellan Karen Mitchell Robin Nachtigal Marion O’Connor

Clues Classic Kid Casey’s Echo Peppy’s Lil Diva Jbar Fancy Boon Little Royal Blue Maisies Fancy Cat Ms Smarty Rey Rey Cee Sue Stylee Gypsy SF Mai Konfession Deal Ima Darkelly Gal Jamie Hero’s E-motion Stonecraft First Lady KD Easy Dashanda Decimal Micro Punch Hochkarat RAO Safari White Romance All Aquiver Flicka Rosalina Welkene Bella Bahilla Noraahs Ebony Rose Wafiyah

for the Love of Horses…

Gretchen & Karsten Olsen Gwen Oman Katrina O’Neal Alvena Owen Leslie Payne

25 Embryo Transfers * 52 Mares Bred w/ Cooled Semen 25 Mares Bred w/Frozen Semen & 25 Mares Bred w/Fresh Semen find us on Facebook SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 6


Jed McKinlay, DVM U Bob Peters, DVM U Misty Parker, DVM Robert Schneider, DVM, MS, Board Certified Equine Surgeon 509-928-6734 U www.mckinlaypetersequine.com U 208-457-8813

Many Thanks to our Clients & Friends for a Wonderful 2013 Breeding Season! MARE OWNERS Cont’d

Noretta Stritzke

Diane Perry Darlene Pessein Nick & Brandy Popelier Norm & Sharon Poser Pete & Carol Rasmussen

Wellissimia Public Market Molly Cylips E Loop Trifirett

Lacey & Bret Reedy

JNJ Rita Checks Miss Bogi Katz OSR Fair Lady Bar One Hot Cocoa Shes Purely Pleasure Concerto In D EM Ramona A Tru Aprils Storm Champagne N Promises Champagne Porsche Diaman H Risks McBear QT’s Cover Girl RS Rebel War Drum Watch This Spot Star’s Pearlie Girl Tarapine Silkh First Dawn Glitter Stormy Pearl Lane Ora Shine On Baybie Silver Sage Music Mae

Joy Richards Charlotte Roseburg Nickole Schutte

Ray Seeger Pete & Kate Seiler Candi & Tye Shanholtzer Beth Sheeran Sandra & Mike Sicilia Jaime Smith Tracy & Angie Squires

Leila & Tom Styer John & Holly Turney Claretta Walker Terry Wetzler Susan Wilson

Luna Pearl Quadra Moon RH Decide On Me Kings Jo Chex Catch The Buzz Montana Temptation Isle Cindy’s Profit

STALLION OWNERS

Gina Loper Dun Goin Steady Standing at McKinlay & Peters Tina Beamer Kevin Christianson & Krista Lambert Larry Davis Mike & Cathy Frank Stephanie Grubb Sonya Hagen Keith & Kim Harmon Karla Lane

Dunaway Sunny Black N Style Everybodys Callin Nu Steps To Cash The Southern Playboy

Lisa Manning

Finnigan

Virginia McGovern Kim McLaughlin Leslie Payne Jill Smith Noretta Stritzke Charlene Ulrich

GoJoe Ranger Better Scotch Sareei Promise Sambasco Momma Said Dash

for the Love of Horses…

Playboys Cascade Gold Dashbulldashus

25 Embryo Transfers * 52 Mares Bred w/ Cooled Semen 25 Mares Bred w/Frozen Semen & 25 Mares Bred w/Fresh Semen find us on Facebook SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 7


Ann Kirk Regaining Your Confidence What a great season thus far! I do pray you have had a good summer also. As I sit down to write, I am looking for a subject that is key to almost every horse person I know. One of the sessions I did at Ride the West, was a lecture on Lost Confidence; how it happens and how to regain it. The lecture area was packed. It was clear to me that this is a topic of interest to many horse people. I, myself, have felt the grip of fear following a fall or accident. This loss of confidence is crippling in my line of work. So this month, I will share some things that have helped me to regain my confidence while working with horses. I have been training horses for 35 plus years. I was practically born on a horse and have never been without one. When I was 6 years old, a horse spooked and ran. I fell off, he steppped on me and broke my arm. Was I scared of getting back on? No way! I was riding again before the cast came off. I rode bareback and raced all over the mountains with my sisters. We rode blindfolded, backwards, bridleless, (and our horses weren’t taught controls without a bridle), and standing up. It really didn’t matter if I fell off. I just picked myself up, rubbed the sore spots and jumped right back on. There wasn’t a horse anywhere that really intimidated me and the bruises gave me bragging rights. I was invincible. But, as I got older and the horses got “quicker”, and the ground got harder, and the injuries hurt longer, it became

much tougher to make myself “just get back on”. That’s when it became important to find a safer way to train. I began to follow the John Lyons methods and this solved a huge amount of issues. It was my first real introduction to ground work lessons that focused on emotional training for the horse. Well, I thought I had found the Golden Rule for horse training and I would never get hurt again. But, that was not so. Too often, I would skip steps or get too frustrated and cause the horse to revert. Or I would just misjudge the horse’s reaction to a stimulus and I would be nursing more bumps and bruises as I tried to figure out what went wrong and if I could prevent it next time. And, every so often, the cause of injury would be some “freak” incident that defied preparation. These are, by far, the most unsettling for how can you fix what you didn’t know could happen?

My goal is to connect

you with your horse by teaching you sensible,

hands-on exercises that will reduce frustration and make your

partnership possible.

AUTUMN COLORS 3 DAY RIDING CLINIC

Book a Clinic in Your Area and Attend for Free!

SEPT 20-21-22

You are personally

invited to come and join

this fun-filled, incredible journey that will make your goals a reality!

Contact: Ann Kirk www.AnnKirk.com email: info@annkirk.com (509 292-2475

Need More Confidence? Let Ann Kirk Guide You With Sensible Horsemanship

Teaching the Art of Reading the Heart - Sensible Horsemanship SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 8


JUST PURE PLATINUM aka Einstein AQHA Reg#5291042

2010 Double Homozygous Grullo Sire: Blue Isle Blackburn Dam: Show Bueno Breeze 15.2 hands, 1150 lbs “Einstein’s first foals are due spring 2014 and should be awesome! He is homozygous for both the dun and black genes! His pedigree is outstanding! Excellent conformation and his disposition is awesome! Will be standing to a limited number of mares Do not miss out on breeding your mare to this up and coming outstanding stallion!�

2014 Stud Fee: $500 Non-Refundable Booking Fee: $150

MAMA SAID DASH aka Rocket APHA Reg#910883

2007 Homozygous Black & White Tobiano 15.2 hands, 1150 lbs Sire: Heza Blue Tomcat Dam: Goin to the Cash Bar

Rocket is homozygous for both the tobiano and black gene! Guaranteed color and will never produce a red foal! Rocket has an excellent disposition and great conformation! Rocket’s pedigree includes Nevada War Drum, The Aztec Eagle, QT Poco Streke, Dash for Cash and Beduino just to name a few! His sire, Heza Blue Tomcat, one of the very few true blue roan tobianos, stands at stud in Australia. Rocket’s foals have great conformation, excellent dispositions and beautiful color! If you are looking for an excellent bred, color guaranteed stallion to breed your mare or mares to in 2014, please consider Rocket as you will not be disappointed!

2014 Stud Fee: $500

Non-Refundable Booking Fee: $150

POCO BUENOS GHOST aka Casper AQHA Reg#4504586

2004 Cremello Sire: Buenos Twisted Doc Dam: Pocos Miss Miranda 14.3 hands, 1050 lbs

MULTIPLE MARE DISCOUNT!

“Casper has a great foundation pedigree, great disposition and conformation. He is siring foals that are very easy to train, athletic and the bonus is the color of either buckskin, palomino or the rare smokey black!�

2014 Stud Fee: $400 Non-Refundable Booking Fee: $150

C&S Paint and Quarter Horse Ranch

Producing good working and using horses and adding color as a bonus!

Elk, WA 99009s509 292-1810 (home) 509 220-7712 (cell)

HORSEDR AOLCOMsWWWCSPAINTQUARTERHORSESCOM

“Thank you to everyone who bred their mare or mares to one of our stallions in 2013 and looking forward to the new foals in 2014! Also thank you to everyone that purchased horses from us this year!� — Charlene & Steve Ulrich

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 9


One example was a young Tennessee Walker gelding I had in training. He had started nice and I had been riding him on the trails for a couple weeks when our neighbors hauled in cattle for pasture. Back then, I would let a horse approach to the distance it felt comfortable and let it stop when it wanted, then proceed slowly until past the perceived threat. We were riding on a road with a field to the left and the cow pasture to the right. This colt was bold and approached fairly close before stopping to look. When he realized that they didn’t smell right, I knew that he was going to whirl which didn’t really concern me. But what I didn’t take into account (and neither did he) was the 2 foot rise into the field to the left so when he spun, the bank swept his feet out from under him and we went down hard. As I rolled up onto my knees, I saw 2 colts running off through the field. I was sure that wasn’t good. Luckily his round pen training took hold and he came back to me. I mounted up, rode him home, untacked him and took the rest of the day off (and a couple more). Now that was something I could have prevented but it still was so unexpected, I would never have thought to prepare for it differently. There are many examples, some as recent as a couple years ago when I had a filly fall with me in an arena because she bolted when the sprinkler system came on unexpectedly and I overreacted. I sustained a concussion and a cracked rib. Or 2 ½ weeks later when a yearling unexpectedly exploded as I began to cinch a saddle on and kicked me in the ribs resulting in 4 broken ribs and the end to my work for the year. Suffice it to say, I have had my share of incidents that can and have

Diamond Pine Ranch

led to a loss of confidence and the quest to regain it or be paralyzed in my ability to continue doing what I love. So, how do you regain confidence once something has happened? Confidence has to do with trust; trust in yourself and your abilities and trust in the methods you use for training your horse. If you purchase a horse or if you already own one, one of the first things you doubt is if the horse has enough of the right training to be safe for you to handle and ride. It looked okay when you purchased it but it is acting differently now that it’s at your house. You are not very confident that you will be able to control the horse if something scares it once you’re on. So now what? DON’T JUST CLIMB ABOARD AND HOPE FOR THE BEST!!! There are certain “tests” that your horse must pass before you should get astride. You do not have to take the horse at its current level of training and just hope to survive it. You can teach your horse to respond the way you want it to so you can have “confidence” in what it knows. You must teach it what you want it to know. So few people have a non-negotiable set of exercises their horse must know before they climb aboard. But you must have a plan. Don’t count on just doing damage control all the time. Be prepared to teach and guide your horse so you are the leader and he is the follower. When you know what lessons to work on and have practiced them enough to be confident that your horse will respond safely and you will know how to control him, it takes away a lot of the apprehension of working with your horse. When the fears and doubts start to rise up, you will know

309 E. Insert Rd. Deer Park, WA 99006

(509) 723-8166 (425) 681-0142 dleigh@cnw.com

Premier Full Service Boarding With Resident Attendant U

Outdoor shelters in 40x50 steel fenced pens, cleaned weekly, heated water

U

Premium alfalfa/grass hay, fed 2x daily

U

Supplements/ grain fed when supplied by owner

U

Heated wash rack, tack room, parking

U

Indoor lighted arena 80x144

U

Outdoor arena 150x250

U

References

The Very Finest for You & Your Horse! Western ~ English NOW WITH MORE SADDLES, MORE GIFTS & MORE BLING THAN EVER BEFORE!

We Now Have More Brands & More Styles! We carry Ariat, Bobby’s Bridles, Big D, Cashel, Charlie 1 Horse, Circle Y, Crates, Dale Chavez, Fleck, Heritage, Herm Springer, Hobby Horse, Kathy’s, Kerrits, Mayatex, Mountain Horse, Myler, Passier, Pessoa, Professional Choice, Rambo, Reinsman, Resistol, RJ Classic, SSG, Stubben, Tipperary, Toklat, Tory, Troxel, Wintec & more.

11515 E. Trent

Spokane Valley, WA 99206

Proud Distributors of:

Noble Panels & Gates U LubriSyn - Joint Supplement Oxy-Equine Performance Horse Supplement

509-927-5891

www.spokanetacktrunk.com find us on Facebook

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 10


CUSTOM BARNS N.W. The Strength of Steel and the Beauty of Wood 1-800-853-2276

(208-773-7700

Quality Equestrian Products for Personal or Professional Use

Now Offering Pole Buildings

LOAFING SHEDS

NNIVERSARY SPECIAL A R A E Y S 20

STALL FRONT

Proudly In Business In The Pacific Northwest For 20 Years!

DUTCH BACK DOOR

SHED ROW BARNS

DIVIDERS

Stall fronts, dividers & backdoors can be custom made to fit your existing barn! Barn stall interiors can be ordered with or without powder coating.

STANDARD FEATURES

(BMWBOJ[FE4UFFM5VCF'SBNFt#SFF[FXBZ8JUI4MJEJOH%PPST (BVHF4UFFM3PPmOHt4XJOH0VU'FFE%PPST 1SF&OHJOFFSFE1MBOTt*OTUBMMBUJPO

www.custombarns.com

CUSTOM BARNS ALSO OFFERS GREENHOUSES Call Mike or Cathy for Appointment

800-853-BARN (2276) Mikes@custombarns.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 11


Eddie MacMurdo Memorial Horse Show Saturday & Sunday September 14 & 15 Walla Walla Fairgrounds Indoor Arena 15 High Point Awards USEF Judges:

Kathy Callahan-Smith Lewis McKim Approvals:

WSH – SCZ – Zone 1 PAC (APHA) – OEIP (AHA) Sponsored By:

Walla Walla Valley Horsemen Association www.wallawallavalleyhorsemen.org Information:

Erica Lackey – 509/526-3487 Diane Jones – 509/529-4067

where to focus your mind and how to focus your horse’s mind as well. And I’m not talking about super hard lessons that require youth and athletic abilities to perform. Almost anyone can do bridle work from the ground, directional control exercises, round pen work, etc. Far too many horses that people are riding are not really broke and when the control is needed, it’s just not there. It’s like being in a car, pushing on the brakes and they don’t slow or stop the car. It doesn’t give you much confidence. You must be an active rider if you are going to be truly safe with your horse. This is just the tip of the iceberg concerning this issue of confidence. I would be happy to answer questions in more detail if you would write to me at info@annkirk.com. Working with horses is great but it can be scary. But, like my Dad always said, the only way not to face the possibility of being hurt by a horse is to not have a horse. But then you might be hurt by your dog! So if you are willing to take the time it takes, contact me and I can give you more info. Also, I will be doing an Autumn Colors Riding Clinic, September 20-22 for those of you who want to learn more confident ways of dealing with your horses. This will include lessons from Basic to Advanced; for young horses and old. Until later, God bless you and keep you safe…….Ann For more information on Ann Kirk and her Sensible Horsemanship Programs, go to www.annkirk.com and check out the Sensible Horsemanship DVDs now available! Be watching for the Sensible Basics and Sensible Advancement Clinics coming up in 2014!

Insurance for All of Your &ARM2ANCH.EEDSx

We Know Horses! Cattle! Crops! and Can Insure Most Related Operations! #LINICSs3HOWSs"OARDING3TABLES &ARMSs"REEDING/PERATIONSs4RAINING 2IDING,ESSONSs-ORTALITYs-AJOR-EDICAL Call us for a Quote Today! Ask for Fran Jenne Office: 509/935-6256 Toll Free: 1-866/200-2230 0/"OXs#HEWELAH 7!

“Bask”, Pencil by Susan Hedstrand

Fran.jenne@hubinternational.com SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 12


SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 13


SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 14

Next Sale Date:

or visit he

NEW SCHEDULE: Saturday Noon: Catalog Sale begins Sunday 8 a.m. - Loose Horses followed by Open Consignment Horses at 9 a.m.

(trail, cutting, reining, team roping, barrels)

Saturday 8 a.m. - Previews

ADVANTAGES FOR CONSIGNORS:

ADVANTAGES FOR BUYERS:

s You’ll have a pen assigned to you. s Catalog fee will be reduced to $75 with no extra fee for photos.

s You’ll get a chance to see the catalog horses sell first.

s You’ll have advertisement in the catalog, equine magazines and papers throughout the Northwest, and on the web. s You’ll know the age and story prior to the horse going into the ring.

s A way to find the horses that are grade, because they will be assigned a pen.

You can catalog all breeds, registered, grade, ponies & mules!

THE CATALOG!

We are OPENING

— PLUS —

Loose Horse and Open Consignment Sales

SUNDAY

Catalogued Horse Sale

SATURDAY

NEW FOR OCTOBER: We are changing days!

October 19-20, 2013

2013 ED WITH TH ULL PICTUR atFEBRUARY gaSnIN orER P SE MLL TO ler D RANDY H atN ETy ll AN TH ca F N n, O io TO E US rm O O H WAS O fo For morWeHin BUCKAROO

509-830-2320 rmistonhorsesale.com

ER O RSES. LE OWN DAUGHT D REINING HO OF CUTTING OF CUTTING AN TS RE LO SI E, G IN AR M AD LE 04 PRETTY 20 A HERE. IS YW ER AN O AY LITTLE PL T READY TO G D AN D E SERGEAN UN RS SO O TRAINING, IER GOOD H

BER 19, 2013! O T C O R O F T N E M E EARLY CONSIGN F SMART LITTLE LENA, ALL TIMNA ’S

rmisto

Let us help you sell your horse!


We Will BEAT Any Written Estimate!

CALL 1-855-SHOPSNW TO TALK TO ONE OF OUR DESIGN SPECIALISTS!

Any Size! Any Style! Any Option! Anywhere!

STRONGEST POLE BUILDINGS AROUND ASK WHY OUR LAMINATED SYSTEM IS THE STRONGEST AG BUILDINGS HAY COVERS BARNS GARAGES SHOPS RV STORAGE RIDING ARENAS LOFT APARTMENTS

www.SolidStructuresNW.com

Q   3(/03.7 Q   s&AX   Q solidstructuresoffice@yahoo.com

WA #SOLIDSL890JN

ID#RCE-30127

LIFETIME WARRANTY

“We Believe in the Strength of our Buildings!”

The BEST Crews In The Industry The BEST Materials from Local Suppliers

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 15


ON THE EDGE OF COMMON SENSE by Baxter Black, DVM

THE BATTLE OF THE ABANDONED HORSE Real Cowboys & Indians vs. Hollywood and Urban America The furor of lawsuit threats, animal rights terrorists, gesticulating celebrity actors and ex-politicians traveling the countryside like Barnum and Bailey is finally bringing out those who really have something at stake in the Wild Horse/Domestic Horse slaughter issue. It is easy for a movie star or politician or animal rights advocate to fall under the trance that horses live forever and eventually go to horse heaven, because that is about as deep as they think. Their weak solutions to the abandoned horse problem that they have helped create are like ducks peeing on a forest fire. I don’t wish to ridicule them. I appreciate their compassion, their concern of animals being mistreated, and their wish that horses wouldn’t die. But they live in a dream world. Buster, a life-long cowboy and horse trainer takes it personally when he

OAK SURRY WAGON WITH FRINGE TOP

sees pictures of starving, skeletal abandoned horses. He says, “There are a lot more humane ways for a horse to die than starvation.” The Wild Horse Wreck we have created by not allowing the BLM to cull the herds of wild horses and burros is as big a fiasco as the Forest Service’s misguided policy of banning timber and grazing in national and state forests. Oh, how we have to learn the hard way. The American Indians have always held the horse in high esteem ever since Coronado crossed the border in 1535 and introduced them to us. The horse is revered, valued and used by them as chattel. But the Indians also take the responsibility of caring for the herd and the land. They are now trying to talk to people who live behind a desk about “nature’s balance.” The Navajo Nation in New Mexico, the biggest tribe in the United States, has now joined the National Congress of Indians and other tribes, in support of horse slaughter in the U.S., “We… can no longer support the estimated 75,000 feral horses that are drinking wells dry and causing ecological damage to the drought-stricken range,” they say. They aren’t kiddin’ and they know what they’re talking about. Studies of cost to feed and maintain one horse for a year in a rescue, feedlot, summer pasture, or refuge can be as low as $2,400 to $3,650. Using the lowest estimate, $200/mo. = $2,400/yr x 75,000 horses = $1,800,000.00. Three of the entities actively involved in preventing the horse slaughter plant in New Mexico are ex-governor Bill Richardson, movie star Robert Redford, and the Humane Society of the U.S. I have listened to their speeches and read their quotes. I do not doubt they are sincere. I don’t question their emotional motives. However, I have yet to hear a viable solution for, not just New Mexico’s impending crisis, but for our whole country’s equine catastrophe that was the result of cessation of horse slaughter plants. I would suggest that they put their money where their mouth is. Governor Richardson has had some legal problems due to shady politics, but I would guess he could come up with $250,000. Mr. Redford has an estimated net worth of $170 million, and the recent budgets of the HSUS spending runs about $250 million a year. They ante up together and make the first donation, $420 million. That will take care of the Navajos for 2 years. Well, we all know they don’t intend to spend their own money, they don’t care that much. But the train is comin’ down the track and they are standin’ right between the rails and they better turn around and see it before it’s too late. www.baxterblack.com

LADY RAVEN STABLES Custom built wagon, seats 8-10, rear entry provides easy access for passengers. Very nice condition. Requires work harness…we have several sets of complete work harness available. Health forces sale. Warren and Sylvia Riddle • Spokane, WA

509-464-4490

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 16

Call Ray & LeeAnn Hancock 509-993-7758 509-953-4511 509-466-6075 www.ladyravenstables.com pyroray@windwireless.net lhancock@windwireless.net


SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 17


Sier ra

® ®

TrailsWest

Sierra

Cla ssi c

® ®

e r u t n e v d A

® ®

®

Classic

® ®

WE TAKE TRADE-INS!

'6--4&37*$&4)01 *IN<GGDIB#8)DO>C@N 5@FJINC<#M<F@$JIOMJGG@MN

4@MQD>DIB"GG#M<I?NJA5M<DG@MN $JHKG@O@1<MON%@KO

HUBER TRAILER SALES &#SPBEXBZt(SFFOBDSFT 8BtAt Barker Exit Off I-90 509

892-0587

www.HuberTrailers.com

800 424-7114

SEPTEMBER 2013 â&#x20AC;¢ HORSE PREVIEWS â&#x20AC;¢ PAGE 18


SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 19


Upriver Stables Limited stalls available â&#x2013; Trained stock for sale â&#x2013;  12x12 matted box stalls (Some paddocks) â&#x2013;  Daily turn-out may be included â&#x2013;  65â&#x20AC;&#x2122;x144â&#x20AC;&#x2122; covered arena â&#x2013;  55â&#x20AC;&#x2122; round pen with solid walls â&#x2013; 

3001 N. Idaho Rd

Home of Upriver Morgans

Convenient wash rack/ heated water â&#x2013; 3 tack rooms & some cross tie areas â&#x2013;  Safe fencing throughout â&#x2013;  Harness training & instruction â&#x2013; 

â&#x20AC;&#x201D; Appointments Please â&#x20AC;&#x201D;

Liberty Lake, WA 99019

509-926-0028

Easy access: 1 mile from I-90, Exit 299 - Liberty Lake, WA

ARABIANS

TTEAM/ Ttouch Clinics & Hands-On Workshops

Available from Yearling to Finished

Harmonize your human/horse relationship with Positive NO FORCE Tellington Methods t4UBSUJOH)PSTFT t&OIBODF"MM#SFFET%JTDJQMJOFT t*NQSPWJOH1FSGPSNBODF t&EVDBUJPO$POTVMUBUJPO'PS)PSTF)VNBO

Show, Trail or Pleasure

Standing homozygous black DA Valentino son, OFW Validate

KAIROSA ARABIANS 208.267.3729

JULIE JENĂ&#x2030;

/)BSWBSE3Et0UJT0SDIBSET8" Horses Trained with People in Mind People Trained with Horses in Mind

GYY_`UbXYfHfU]b]b[

Openings available for Training, Reining & Cowhorses, as well as lessons

HORSES FOR SALE â&#x2013;

â&#x2013;

â&#x2013;

6 YEAR OLD GELDING by SR Roosters Kid. Reining very well! Has been on cows. Very responsive and light. Fun to ride! 3 YEAR OLD FILLY by Big Enuf Starlight. Will be shown in Reining Futurities this fall! Very cute. Easy to get along with. Very plussy maneuvers. Will be great non-pro horse. 4 YEAR OLD MARE by Dunits Lucky Charm. She won the 2012 Washington Reining Futurity! She is being shown reined cowhorse. A very nice mare, she is not afraid to work a rope as well!



www.horseandpeopletraining.com

â&#x20AC;&#x153;Congratulations to 12 year old Caitlin Lyons and her horse, Lenaâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Chexy Badger (â&#x20AC;&#x153;Slydâ&#x20AC;?), at the AQHYA World Show, taking 4th in the world in â&#x20AC;&#x2DC;Cowhorse Boxingâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;, 2nd in the â&#x20AC;&#x2DC;Intermediateâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;, and â&#x20AC;&#x2DC;Thirteen and underâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; divisions as well!â&#x20AC;?

These quality horses and more for sale at reasonable prices!

For more information: www.seeklandertraining.com Scott 208-699-7264

SEPTEMBER 2013 â&#x20AC;˘ HORSE PREVIEWS â&#x20AC;˘ PAGE 20


Over $10,000 added in cash plus class awards! 6GRVVJVJ

Futurity/Maturity Stallion Stakes Futurity

$1000 added Open Futurity level 4 $1000 added Non Pro Futurity level 4 $500 added Open and Non Pro Futurity level 1 $1200 added Stallion Stakes $800 added Non Pro Stallion stakes

$1250 added Open and Non Pro Maturity Level 4 $1000 added NRHA Open and NRHA Non Pro

Moses Lake, Wa RHANW.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 â&#x20AC;˘ HORSE PREVIEWS â&#x20AC;˘ PAGE 21


Give us your truck for two days this fall SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 22


Mr Bo Button The Cash Button x Sonnys Tru Amigo

2009 APHA Black Homozygous Tobiano Stallion APHA Halter Color Class Winner 2014 Service Fee: $800 Multiple Mare Discounts Excellent Transported Fresh Cooled Semen

2013 Homozygous Tobiano Colt Sired by “Mr Bo Button” out of an own daughter of “MK’s Black Pepper”...bred by Meadow Starr Ranch. This guy has a body deluxe! Photos at 2 days old.

2013 APHA Black & White Paint Colt Sired by “Mr Bo Button” Congratulations to Stephanie of British Columbia, on the purchase of this BIG, mellow colt! He is just awesome!! Photo at 2 1/2 months old. This mare is back in foal to “Bo” for 2014 !!

We have moved! We are expecting a BIG foal crop in 2014, with foals arriving as far away as Florida next year. Plus, we had foals already arriving in Maine and Louisiana this year! We would like to say THANK YOU to all of our clients for the wonderful year that we have had.

Meadow Starr Ranch

Karie Winnop & Rich Heberling 785 Greenwood Loop Rd, Kettle Falls, WA 509-738-2253

www.meadowstarr-ranch.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 23


Indiana Harness Co. “Quality Repair at Affordable Prices”

t/FXVTFE8FTUFSO&OHMJTITBEEMFT t3PEFPQBDLFRVJQNFOU t$VTUPNCFMUTXBMMFUT t$VTUPNXPSLJOHTIPXDIBQT t$FMMQIPOFDBTFT t#MBOLFUTBEEMFSFQBJS t%PHDPMMBSTIBSOFTTFTGPSXBMLJOH t$VTUPNIPMTUFSTTBEEMFTDBCCBSET Tack & Training Aides including: Custom designed halters, bridles, breast collars, etc FREE advice for the novice horse person 40+ years experience & family owned

509-535-3400

2425 N. Vista, Spokane WA (next to the “Big R” on Trent)

Single Horse Cart

1000

$

Motorcycle Wheels & Underseat Storage

1890-1910 Single Horse Buggy

dF!’F˜3!dd˜Q«n`nnT`QsG–˜2˜zpc!mF:˜

GRASS FED BEEF

Registered Tennessee Walking Horses

Angus & Angus Cross Fed On Grass & Clover Pastures

Coco & Aaron Spurway 19312 N. Madison Road Mead, WA 99021

 NO ANTIBIOTICS   NO HORMONES 

Home of

LOCAL GRASS FED BEEF IS THE BEST FOR YOU & YOUR FAMILY

GEN’S TRUE GRIT

Whole, Halves & Quarters Available

509/238-1225

509-464-4490 MEAD, WA 

800

$

Hard Top, Very Rebuildable

1996 TWHBEA Chestnut Stallion Flaxen Tail & Mane

6ISITORS!LWAYS7ELCOMEs"OARDINGAVAILABLE e-mail: steinwayranch@hotmail.com

www.TeddyBearFarm.biz

LEARN HOW TO CHANGE YOUR HORSEMANSHIP AND ACHIEVE YOUR DREAMS. JOIN US IN HUNTERS, WA (JUST 1HR N. OF SPOKANE) -

DEVELOP SAFE, CONFIDENT, AND WILLING HORSES CREATE A TRUSTING AND RESPECTFUL RELATIONSHIP OVERCOME YOUR FEARS ACCOMPLISH YOUR HORSEMANSHIP GOALS

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 24


,OWª#ARBª)TSª)Nª4HEª"AG ª7Eª'UARANTEEª)T

LMF Low Non-Structural Carbohydrate

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 25


Prepare for Winter Now By Michelle K. Binder-Zolezzi, Relational Riding Academy

S

eems very early to think about winter when it is just August at the time of this writing. Still the Boy Scout motto “Be prepared” is applicable to a variety of situations. Winter will come, and with it, snow, rain and cold. This is the time to think about what your livestock will need and how you can best care for them and your property. Many of us remember the winter of 2009 when at least 11 equestrian facilities collapsed and numerous others were damaged by the above average snow loads experienced that winter. Every type of indoor arena I know of, whether it was a Cover-All fabric and steel structure, an all steel construction, or a pole building, experienced structural failures all over Spokane. Now is the time to inspect your buildings and repair any damage from any cause, before our temperatures plummet and the snow starts flying and piling! Step one: Inspect your buildings, better yet, have them inspected by a professional. Pay particular attention to four areas: roof, trusses, Roof issues

posts, drainage. If you stand in the building and can see patches of blue sky, yes, you have a leak! Get up there and patch it before it rains. There are many ways to patch: from paint on sealants, to replacing sheeting Rotted post or roofing panels, to replacing worn fasteners and rubber washers. Obvious leaks are not the only ways that moisture can come inside. Cracks, wicking and poor installation of roofing materials can all contribute. A roofing professional can help you decide what is the best fix for the situation. While you are standing there gazing upward to see if you see daylight, move directly under each of your trusses and check out what they look like. Now, LOOK AGAIN! You need to notice more than that they are there. Are the press plates securely fastened to the lumber at every joint or do they appear to be popped out or unattached? If these press plates are failing, do you see cracks or breaks in the lumber? Are the purlins securely attached and straight or are there gaps at important attachment sites? Are the truss uprights straight or have they warped due to

Store Hours:

9-5:30 CROWN FOODS Mon-Fri Saturday 9-1

Mini Farm In The Making!

1402 Northwest Blvd.

326-1111

“Local Grown Beef”

www.crownfoodsspokane.com

STOCK UP NOW FOR WINTER! t*2'#FSSJFT Quest Cards Accepted t$VTUPN$VUUJOH8SBQQJOH t'SP[FO'PPE-PDLFST FREE LOCKER SPACE t,OJGF4IBSQFOJOH (6 months maximum) t4DJTTPS4IBSQFOJOH with Purchase of 1 Side of Beef t8JME(BNF1SPDFTTJOH 140 lb. USDA Select Steer Hindquarter (Approx. Cuts)

140 lb. USDA Select Steer Frontquarter (Approx. Cuts)

60-70 Steaks: T-Bone, Sirloin Tip, Cube, Sirloin, Round & Flank 3-5 Roasts: Sirloin Tip, Rump & Bottom Round 12-25 lbs: Pure Ground Beef

10-20 Steaks: Rib, Swiss, plus Chuck Steaks if desired 8-12 Roasts: Prime Rib, Chuck & Cross Rib 8-12 lbs: Miscellaneous Cuts 20-30 lbs: Pure Ground Beef

49980

$

41720

$

3

$ 57 lb

Prices subject to change

10 acres. 3 bed, 2 bath manufactured home. 30x20 shop with power and opener. 1/3 treed and 2/3 tillable pasture hay ground. Just minutes north of Deer Park. MLS# 201321002 ........................................................$149,900 Jim Palmer, Jr. Owner/ Broker Real Estate Marketplace 509-953-1666 www.JimPalmerJr.com

Hot shoeing for a perfect fit

2

$ 98 lb

Prices subject to change

Combination of both the above: 280 lb Full Side USDA Select Steer

*Each individually cut and wrapped to your specifications *Enjoy the convenience of a well stocked freezer

82320

ONLY $

2

$ 94 lb

Prices Subject to change

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 26

Farrier Service Reliable, Professional Horseshoeing Since 1980

Lovell Fink 509-276-0450


)+)!.%%

<ehc[hboj^[Ă&#x2021;HeYaYh[[a CWdehĂ&#x2C6;8[Z8h[Wa\Wij ,&&D$'ijIjh[[j"HeYa\ehZ"M7

â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘ â&#x20AC;˘

20 minutes to Spokane Valley, Freeman School District 5 Bed, 3 Bath, 3702 sq.ft. on 9 acres Gorgeous hardwood floors, numerous built-ins Gourmet commercial kitchen, stainless steel appliances Master suite includes French doors & walk-in closets Elegant master bath with Jacuzzi Finished daylight walk-out basement includes wet bar, 2 bedrooms, full bath, pellet stove & wine room Electric forced air, air conditioning Year round in-ground pool & huge pool house 3 stall barn/shop with nearly 5 acres cross fenced Vineyard, lavender, herbs, self misting greenhouse Beautifully landscaped grounds with terrific views

=h[Wjfhef[hjoje^Wl[^ehi[i For a Vitual Tour go to www.sheritilton.com

(..!%%%

<WXkbeki>ehi[Fhef[hjo AdXViZYWZilZZcBi#Hed`VcZEVg`9g#9VnBi#Hed`VcZGY# â&#x20AC;˘ Privacy, 5 (MOL) acres, park like setting for horses â&#x20AC;˘ 4 bedroom, 3 bath, 4 level, 2,498 sq.ft. â&#x20AC;˘ Updated throughout, new roof, granite countertops â&#x20AC;˘ New master bath with tiled walk-in shower â&#x20AC;˘ Huge decks off kitchen & master bedroom â&#x20AC;˘ 36x36 4-stall barn with room for a tack room & wash stall â&#x20AC;˘ 24x24 metal shop with power & concrete ďŹ&#x201A;oor â&#x20AC;˘ Beautiful park-like landscaping, full sprinkler system â&#x20AC;˘ Backyard fully fenced for children & pets â&#x20AC;˘ Conveniently central to Mead District schools

)*&%:E^cZ\aZcAcÂ&#x2122;BZVY!L6

Sheri Tilton â&#x20AC;&#x201C; Call for a showing today! 8Zaa/*%.'-%"(%%% :bV^a/h]Zg^5H]Zg^I^aidc#Xdb

mmm$i^[h_j_bjed$Yec

H;%C7N>Wbbe\<Wc[ 9:F;"9HI"H99"9D>I"IH;I (&)aIf[Y_Wb_ij

SEPTEMBER 2013 â&#x20AC;˘ HORSE PREVIEWS â&#x20AC;˘ PAGE 27

of Spokane


Now let’s go outside and talk about mud being overloaded over time? Are the tops management. Mud management strategies vary of the trusses still perfectly lined up with and information is available through the WSU the chords at the bottom, is there deviation Extension Service regarding the importance of in one direction or more, or are the trusses protecting our ground water supply as well twisted? These symptoms may be indicators as the overall health of the watershed in your of a phenomenon known as “lateral torsional area. Besides water, two main things contribute buckling”, telltale signs of building stress and to the creation of mud… traffic and organic potential loss of strength. If you see issues, material like manure. If you have livestock, get your building checked out by a qualified you have manure and sometimes, rotten professional. feedstuffs that have been trampled into the Check out the posts that hold up those dirt. Organic matter combined with disruption trusses. Are the trusses securely attached or from animal hooves turns wet ground into has drying and twisting caused the posts, mud. Your number one defense against mud trusses and wall supports to come away from is to clean areas adequately year round and each other at any point? Look down, better drain high traffic areas like feeder areas and Truss problems yet, dig down a little and check the condition paddocks with ditches and drainage material. of the posts at ground level. If the posts are Standard fixes include dumping boatloads of gravel or hog noticeably rotted, it may indicate that dry rot may have fuel into problem areas, only to have “erosive evacuation” damaged the building at ground level or drainage issues (cleaning) remove your expensive fills so you must replace are present that need to be addressed. Outside, does the them year after year. ground slope adequately away from the building so water There are more and more new products on the market does not pool around those posts causing problems? Proper grading of the ground around a building or the installation designed to stabilize your soil and prevent mud from of curtain or French drains can control drainage and reduce developing. Two such products are “Eco-grid” (www. water damage over time. Again, if you notice these issues, terrafirmenterprises.com) available under several trade consult a qualified professional who can help determine names, and a product called “Lightfoot Paddock Base the structural soundness of the building and ways in which Panels” (http://lightfootequinesurfaces.com). Both work on the principle of a “cellular confinement system” that holds repairs may be made to extend the life of the structure. the paddock footing in place while allowing drainage and

Country Living at its Finest! Beautifully remodeled farmhouse, 4 beds, 2 baths. Large barn and 10 acres. Multiple fruit trees with large garden space and sprinkler system. Deer Park. MLS# 201314569 ........................................................$259,000 Jim Palmer, Jr. Owner/ Broker Real Estate Marketplace 509-953-1666 www.JimPalmerJr.com

Custom Spacious Estate! 4 bedroom, 3 bath home on 11.25 acres with horse set-up. Wood stove, covered deck, hardwood floors. Barn and shop, 3 car garage. MLS# 201316176 ..........................................................$525,000 Jim Palmer, Jr. Owner/ Broker Real Estate Marketplace 509-953-1666 www.JimPalmerJr.com

Cape Cod Home on 5 Acres! 4 bed, 2 bath stylish home. Barn and horse facilities. Flower and vegetable gardens. Thick woods with cleared trails. Shop space. Full length covered deck. Deer Park. MLS# 201319346

......................................................... $289,000

Jim Palmer, Jr. Owner/ Broker Real Estate Marketplace 509-953-1666 www.JimPalmerJr.com

Secluded Private Heaven! Large 5 bed, 2 bath home with year round creek on 40 acres. 2 separate 20 acre parcels feature timber and meadows, pasture and hay ground. Huge shop with lean-to’s, drive through doors and bathroom. Barns and outbuildings. MLS# 201321477 ...........................................................................$349,000 Jim Palmer, Jr. Owner/ Broker Real Estate Marketplace 509-953-1666 www.JimPalmerJr.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 28


Restored 1902 Farmhouse

Close-in Serenity! 5 acres MOL, Spokane, WA 4711 W Hallett Rd

on 11+ acres, Otis Orchards, WA

Charming English Country 2004 farmhouse only 10 minutes to downtown. 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, extensive hardwood floors, lots of pretty wood trim, quality throughout. Lovely setting complete with picturesque red barn. Perfect for a couple or small family. Windsor Elementary School close by. Useful land, great for horses or small farm. Paved road. $

Gated tree lined entry to this Norman Rockwell setting! Exquisite 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, 3400 sq.ft. home renovated down to the studs! Original hardwood floors, forced air gas heat, central A/C. Only 20 minutes to downtown Spokane. Beautiful setting with fruit trees, swimming pool, garage with shop for you, extensive fencing, pasture, barn with box stalls, runs and tack room for your horses! $

259,750

599,000

Can be purchased with up to 48+ additional acres for $825,000

Great Potential Horse Property 20 acres, E Paradise Rd, Valleyford, WA

The Palouse at its best! Level useful pasture land with stunning views of Mica Peak and the rolling farm lands. Freeman schools - 10 minutes to South Hill, $ Spokane. Rural but not isolated. Great easy building site. 145,000

(509) 994-9300

suzydix@windermere.com www.SuzyDix.com Windermere Manito

An Expert You Can Trust With Your Property Investment

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 29


are many different types of tank heaters eliminating the plunger effect of the on the market, some that work better horses hooves which causes deep mud than others. There are small ones and to form. Both claim to be easy to install large ones, some that float and some and cost efficient over time. They can that vibrate. Floating tank heaters have be used in large or small areas like gate caused problems when used in plastic openings, paddocks, round pens and tanks as there is no cage to keep the even outdoor arenas. These systems are heating element away from the edge of worth looking into especially if your the tank. Ours melted a ring all the way problem areas are relatively small in around the tank and the top was cut off size. at the water level! The biggest problem Feed and water are crucial to livestock with all of them is that they require survival. Clean feed in the winter can electricity. I do not know why there are be assured by utilizing covered slow no solar powered stock tank heaters feeders and interior spaces that are readily and economically available. clean and dry. Once horses trample hay Take great care using extension cords into the mud, they will not eat it, nor Box feeder and to make sure that electrical outlets should they. If you have muddy outdoor are kept clean and dry, and that the power requirements of areas where you feed on the ground, the 2-3 flakes of hay the unit are compatible with the power supply and breaker you throw quickly become only one edible flake and the system. In any case, if no power source is near the water rest bedding. It is easy to see how horses lose weight in source, please do your best to break ice as often as is the winter and why the hay bill goes up! If you rely on possible. Winter temperatures can dehydrate an animal as big bales put out, the risk of the horses having nothing quickly as summer heat and when dry feedstuffs are fed in but wet, spoiled, muddy hay to eat is too great for many cold conditions with inadequate hydration, the danger of horse owners. Try box feeders or covered big bale feeders impaction colic in horses is great. designed for horses. It will save you time, effort, energy and Winter is on the way. Start thinking about what needs to money in the long run. Finally, make sure your stock has access to clean, be done to prepare for it, take the actions necessary and drinkable water. A full water trough with an inch of ice rest easier knowing you are ready for whatever Mother on top does not count as an available water source. There Nature sends.

PRICE REDUCED!

What a great single level home with horse set-up! Springdale, WA Fruit trees and more! Nature at its best, views throughout the property. Enjoy the wildlife from your front porch. Located on almost 8 acres. RV hook-up. Priced at ...... $235,500

Country living at its best! RATHDRUM, IDAHO 17055 N Wrangler Rd

Updated rancher sitting on 4.82 acres of trees and pasture, with 2 stall barn with tack and feed rooms. 30x50 shop with RV doors on a paved driveway. Home has 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fireplace and large deck. 3,076 sq.ft. ......................................................$349,900

Jan Leaf

Coldwell Banker Schneidmiller Realty 1924 Northwest Blvd, Coeur d’Alene, ID 83814

208 964-3447 cell 208 446-0741 fax

sold@janleaf.com www.janleaf.com

Deer Park, WA With horse & farm animals set up. Power & water at the barn. Panoramic views of Mt. Spokane. Attached garage is oversized. Barn is 30’ x 40’. 4 bedrooms, 3 baths with custom cherry cabinets in kitchen. Bamboo floors, lots of great shade trees. 10 acres. Priced at .................... $295,000

Gwen Arrand, Broker

Real Estate Marketplace NW, Inc. 509-496-4363 gwenarrand@q.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 30


GEN’S TRUE GRIT

{

Plan for a Walking Horse in your future. Every ride is one to remember.

GEN’S TRUE GRIT

TWHBEA #961127

Pride’s Generator

Surely Royal

$500 Stud Fee Live Foal Guarantee Boarding & Mare Care Available

STEINWAY RANCH 9GH"%--$

TENNESSEE WALKING HORSES

Ho me

rit of Gen’s True G

509-238-1225

Horse Training, Lessons & Clinics All breeds, most disciplines

Reserve Your Training Spot ASAP!

Sept 21 – Trail Clinic Oct 12 – Jumping Clinic

Arabian Stallion Service

WHETZEL HORSE TRAINING

208-301-1170 Pullman, WA

www.whetzelhorsetraining.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 31


HORSE CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS

Let’s Get Acquainted! Mail or call us with your organization’s name, meeting place, contact person & telephone number for publication. This is a FREE service to Horse Organizations in Eastern / Central Washington, North Idaho, Northeastern Oregon, Western Montana & Kelowna, British Columbia. www.horse-previews.com/clubs.html CLUB

MEETINGS

P.O.C.

49ers Saddle Club American Mustang & Burro Association Appleatchee Riders Association Arabian Horse Club of Central Washington Backcountry Horsemen of WA, I.E. Chapter Backcountry Horsemen of WA, NE Chapter Backcountry Horsemen of ID, Panhandle Chap. Backcountry Horsemen of WA, Ferry County Chapter BC Draft Under Saddle Club Big Sky Morgan Horse Assocation Big Sky Fox Trotter’s Association BitterRoot Back Country Horsemen Blackjack Saddle Club Blue Mountain Dressage & Combined Training Assn. Blue Mountain Morgan Horse Club Cabinet Back Country Horsemen Cayuse Kid’s Saddle Club Cleveland Bay Association of North America Coeur du Cheval Pony Club Columbia Paint Horse Club Country Kids 4-H Crab Creek Riders Backcountry Horsemen Dash of Class Mounted Ladies Drill Team Drover’s Jr. Rodeo Club Eastern Montana Appaloosa Horse Club Eastern Oregon Arabian Breeders Eastern Washington Jr. Rodeo Association Eastern Washington Quarter Horse Assn. Free Rein Therapeutic Riding Gentlemen on Horseback Gold ‘n’ Grouse Horse 4-H Club Grant County Horse Association Heron Saddle Club Horse Wyse Instruction I.E. Arabian Horse Club I.E. Barrel Racing Assoc. I.E. Miniature Horse Club I.E. Morgan Horse Club I.E. Mustang Horse Club I.E. National Showhorse Club I.E. Quarter Horse Association I.E. Tennessee Walking Horse Club Inland Northwest Dressage Association Inland Northwest Driving Society Inland Northwest Paint Horse Club Inland Northwest Pinto Horse Club John Wayne Pioneer Wagons & Riders Justin Time Morgan Youth Club Kootenai County Saddle Club Lewis Clark Saddle Club Melody Riders Saddle Club Mid-Columbia River Arabian Horse Club Mid-Valley Saddle Club Missoula Back Country Horsemen Montana Paint Horse Club Morgan Single-Footing Horse Assn. (MSHA) Mounted Mischief 4-H Club National Barrel Horse Assn. WA District 03 National Barrel Horse Assn. WA District 04

Monthly, Lewiston, ID, www.49ersaddleclub.org Monthly, Richland, Washington 3rd Wednesday monthly, Appleatchee Clubhouse, Wenatchee, WA 1st Wednesday monthly; Club: 3rd Thursday, C’s Pizza, Union Gap Wildlife Council Building, 6116 N Market, Spokane, WA 4th Tuesday www.nebchw.com - 3rd Saturday monthly www.pbch.org - connie@pbch.org Norther Inn, Republic, WA 1st Wednesday monthly at 6pm Check website for meeting: www.bcdraftundersaddleclub.com Alternate month - see website for dates Call for information on meeting dates 3rd Thursday monthly, bchmt.org E.O. Wednesday, Blackjack Saddle Club Arena, Thompson Falls, MT See www.freewebs.com/bmdcta Call for meeting place & time, Hermiston, OR 2nd Tuesday monthly, 7pm 1st Sunday montly, Princeton, ID info@clevelandbay.org 1st Monday monthly, Legacy Farms, Loon Lake,WA 2nd Tuesday monthly, Kennewick, WA Deary, ID Meets 1st Monday monthly, Moses Lake, WA 1st Monday monthly Call for information 1st Monday monthly, evenings, Billings, MT Call for meeting times Call for information on meeting dates 3rd Wednesday monthly, any breed welcome Call for Volunteer Training Information Gentlemen on Horseback Yearly week long ride since 1948 Every Wednesday. Location TBA Third Monday monthly, Moses Lake Municipal Airport 2nd Tuesday monthly, Heron Community Center, Heron, MT Clinics throughout the Inland Northwest Check our website for current info & meeting schedule For info on Open & Novice Barrel Races: Monthly Meetings Meetings TBA Last Thursday of month 6pm, Denny’s, Sprague & Pines, Spokane, WA 3rd Wednesday monthly Monthly Meetings - time and place vary 3rd Sunday, every other month, 3pm, Timber Creek Cafe Call for meeting & activity dates 1st Tuesday monthly, November through March Monthly meetings, contact us for location, Spokane, WA Meetings - call or e-mail for information 1st Tuesday monthly (except Jan, June, July & Aug), JWPWR.org Monthly, Thunderhead Farm, Moscow, ID Go to website for info: www.kcsaddleclub.com 1st Tuesday monthly, Clarkston, ID 1st Thursday monthly, 7pm, Chewelah WA 2nd Wednesday monthly 1st Wednesday monthly, 6pm, Applebees Restaurant, Lebanon, OR 3rd Wednesday monthly, 7pm, Opportunity Resource, Missoula, MT Check website for events www.montanaphc.com Bruce Olso, 45 S. 1100 E, American Fork, UT 84003 Meets 2nd & 4th Thursdays, Federal Way, WA Call for meetings and race dates For more information and race dates, see our website

Ken Smith 509/780-9614 Barbara Rehfield 509/588-5130 509/663-3175 www.appleatcheeriders.com Kay Coe, Chairman 509/457-8626 Ken Carmichael 509/466-2225 www.iebch.com Jim Hudkins 509/954-7446 jchudkins1@netzero.net Connie Glass 208/687-3608 Lloyd Odell (Pres.) 509/779-4244 info@bcdraftundersaddleclub.com Monica Cassidy www.bsmha.org Mark Goss 406/360-6355 Brad Pollman 406/546-6492 bpollman20@aol.com Scooter 406/827-4523 Trish Prince pprince@bmi.net Nancy Eidam 541/561-6644 P.O. Box 949, Libby,MT 59923 www.bchmt.org Brad Minden 208/858-2026 Tracie Traver 865/300-7133 Laura 509/499-4975 LaNay 509/627-4641 Alexcia Livingstone 208/877-1636 Bill Bailey 509/750-8196 Fran Jacobson 360/825-3525 JP Melton 208/691-1003 Brenda Robison robison.brenda@yahoo.com Julie Errend 541/922-2704 Benny Beck 509/750-6497 dpaulaj@aol.com Erva Hatfield 509/925-9172 Sandy Jones 509/979-1468 Scott Wiggins 509/868-1641 Janice Schoonover 208/263-9066 Cecil Newkirk 509/989-9586 anewkirk@nctv.com Leanne 406/847-2363 www.horsewyse.com 406/266-3311 Kari 509/939-0151 Heather 509/981-0455 or www.iebra.net Sue 509/291-5765 Meri 509/226-2448 mberberet@comcast.net Lea Williams 509/994-9829 Janet Gorman 509/276-2605 Judy Malby 509/447-4663 or 509/991-2894 Chris Hutchinson 208/676-1633 Joy Terry 509/995-6327 Cynthia Wahl 509/466-0109 Debbie Kruger, 208/687-9404 Shannon 509/951-8053 shannon@gozags.com Kathy Cowan 360/886-1729 Lisa 208/882-0832 Tami 208/591-4783 Becky Wright 208/791-1819 Oly Burnett 509/935-4006 Debra 541/567-3134, Linda 541/567-0041 Kim Winburn 541/990-5134 Mike Moore 406/370-7549 Gail Morris 406/866-3434 Gary 801/885-4714 253/740-1665 or www.mountedmischief4-h.org Amber Gray 208/882-3304 Casie Monge 509/939-4175 www.nbhawa04.com

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 32


HORSE CLUBS & ORGANIZATIONS

Let’s Get Acquainted! Mail or call us with your organization’s name, meeting place, contact person & telephone number for publication. This is a FREE service to Horse Organizations in Eastern / Central Washington, North Idaho, Northeastern Oregon, Western Montana & Kelowna, British Columbia. www.horse-previews.com/clubs.html CLUB

MEETINGS

P.O.C.

NW Intermountain Team Penning Association North Country Riders North Idaho Appaloosa Horse Club North Central Idaho Backcountry Horsemen North Idaho Draft Horse & Mule Association Northeast Zone Western Games Division/ WSH Northwest Mounted Shooters Northwest Pattern Racing Association Northwest Saddlebred Association Northwest Stallion Service Auction Northwest Friesian Horse Club Northwest Quarter Horse Association Okanogan Valley Cutters Oregon Foundation Quarter Horse Club Oregon Quarter Horse Association Oregon Trail Appaloosa Club Pacific Northwest Fjord Promotional Group Palouse Dressage & Eventing Palouse Empire Appaloosa Club Panhandle Backcountry Horsemen Parelli Natural Horsemanship Pierce County Chapter Backcountry Horsemen Puget Sound Buckskin Horse Club Puget Sound Hunter/Jumper Association Reining Horse Association of the Northwest Ride and Tie Association Rockin’ H Arena Rocky Mountain Breeders Association Sanders County Rocky Ridge Saddle Club Sapphire Arabian Horse Club S.C.O.P.E. Sheriff Mounted Patrol Selkirk Driving Association Selkirk Valley Backcountry Horsemen South Central Zone of W.S.H. Southwest Washington Paint Horse Club Spirit Lake Horse Rescue & Youth Ranch Spokane Area Small Horse Association Spokane County Mounted Search & Rescue Spokane Morgan Club Spots of Fun Appaloosa Association St. John Saddle Club St. Maries Saddle Club Tekoa Community Fair Assocation Tennessee Walking Horse Breeders & Exhibitor Assoc.. of WA Trail Markers Trails & More Treasure Valley Back Country Horsemen Treasure Valley Paint Horse Club UpRiver Saddle Club Valley Renegades Vigilante Appaloosa Club Washington Bred Paint Registry Washington Cavalry Association Washington Foundation Quarter Horse Assn. Washington Ponies Of the Americas Washington Reining Horse Association Washington State Horse Park Western Montana Quarter Horse Association W.S.H. NE Zone Games Division Yeehaw Riders

Call for information on meeting dates, www.NITPA.net Ride To Succeed - 7910 W. Burroughs, Deer Park, WA

Sonni Gilbert 509/990-0268 Melissa Stockman 509/276-9862 Maureen Leen 208/265-7286 Sally Wilson 208/937-1074 Mike Nagle 208/875-0024 Audre 509/496-4028 Rachel Peters 208/661-7971 Marie 509/244-2985 Courtney starryasb@aol.com Ken Bridges 253/472-8001 Will Bron 509/830-3362 Rosemary Hoff 509/525-8308 Heidi Wittig 509/683-1030 Rebecca Rust-Krell 503/805-9174 Keri Croft 503/537-9845 www.otahc.org Karl Froelich kj@froelichfamily.net Becky Paull 208/798-9594 Kathy Hodl 509/291-3971 Karen Kimball 208/772-2434 Dan & Gretchen Thompson 406/862-1331 Jack Gillette 253/847-1626 Lynn Travis, PO Box 1730, Silverdale, WA 98383 Ame Seelow 360/678-7470 Norm Poser 509/924-8625 Melanie Weir Melanie.weir11@gmail.com 509/998-5039 rockin-h-arena@hotmail.com Gail Morris 406/866-3434 Shannon 406/827-3399 Miriam Henn 513/403-6371 Michelle LeVar 509/951-9225 smountedpatrol@spokanesheriff.com Louise Casey 509/226-0582 Merle Olsen 208/267-2272 www.svbch.org Netta Goodin 509/547-0923 www.swwphc.org swwphc@aol.com 208/791-6130 www.spiritlakehorserescue.org Kristen Florez 509/220-0335 Phoebe Duke phoebed@yahoo.com www.spokanemorganclub.org 509/796-2140 Cheryl/Dam Moriarty 509/299/4191 Holli Bafus 509/648-3815 Diane Farrell 208/245-3388 www.TekoaWA.com/newsletters.html Kirk Peters 253/639-3392 Michelle 509/951-9225 Joanne Richey 208-880-7483 Bonnie Freeman 208/880-4776 Anne Gahley 208/286-7050 Debra Zimnicki 208/245-6868 Terri 509/993-4662 Anita Wilson 406/235-4266 Shelley Bridges 253/472-8001 Bob Davisson bob@14thvirginiacavalry.org Ginny Howard 509/588-3614 Linda 360/736-9150 Jeanine Kern jeanine@ebs-northwest.com www.washingtonstatehorsepark.org Debby Cress 406/777-1802 Melissa Stockmen 509/276-9862 Laura 509/499-4975

Call for details 2nd Saturday of the month 2nd Th., Apex Physical Therapy, Airway Heights, WA Email for information Call for information Monthly Meetings Omak Stampede Grounds, Omak, WA Call for information 1st Tuesday monthly, call for details, PO Box 537, Newburg, OR Monthly meetings in Central Oregon, Check website Meets twice yearly Meets every other month Members only meetings 3rd Saturday monthly, 7pm 2nd & 4th Sunday monthly Every 4th Wednesday, 7pm, Elk Plain Grange, East Spanaway 2nd Thursday monthly, Silver Spurs Club House, Silverdale, WA North of Seattle Monthly meetings www.rideandtie.org 4015 N. Christensen Rd., Medical Lake, WA 99022 www.montanarmba.org Monthly meeetings 1st Tuesday, Noxon, MT 1st Thursday monthly, www.sapphireAHC.org Monthly meetings, Group Patrol Spokane County Bi-monthly meetings Monthly meetings, call for location 3rd Thursday monthly, Pasco McDonalds, 7:30pm 3rd Tuesday monthly, Jollies Restaurant, Ridgefield, WA TBD 1st Monday monthly, 6:30pm, Deer Park Pizza Factory 2nd Thursdays monthly, 6:30pm, Busy Bee, Airway Heights Monthly Events & Meetings Call for meeting times St. John, WA 3rd Wednesday monthly, Federal Building 2nd Wednesday monthly at C&D’s Monthly Meetings, call for times & locations 2nd Tuesday (except July, Aug, Dec), 7pm, Pasadena Park Elem. Priest River, ID. trailsnmore.weebly.com trailsnmore@gmail.com 4th Tuesday monthly, 7:30pm Schooling Show last Friday in March, Albert Arena 2nd Tuesday monthly, URSC Arena Clubhouse 3rd Tuesday monthly, The Grubstake, Helena, MT www.WABredPaints.com Meets Saturdays 2nd Saturday monthly, Noon, Buzz In Steak House, Ellensburg, WA Call for more information Open April-October annually, Cle Elum, WA 1st Fri monthly, S. 7th St., Missoula, MT Monthly meetings & summer events Call for meeting info

Please contact us with your current club information 509-922-3456 or 1-800-326-2223 or e-mail horsepreviews@exchangepublishing.com. This is a FREE service!

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 33


CLASSIFIED

FALL 2013

APPALOOSAS

HORSES

PAINTS

2006 29.75” Reg. AMHA Golden palomino Appy mare, top quality, priced under market value. Also, 2010 28” registered AMHA silver chestnut snowcap Appy stud. Both have molted skin, striped hooves, perfect bites and correct conformation. Registration along with DNA available with photos. 406/827-0104

Doctor Says Downsize. 6 Full Size Appys; large herd of Minis; 2 llamas; carts, wagons, carriages, sleigh; tack & harness. All reasonable offers considered. Percentage of all sales donated to churches or charity. Please clip ad & save/ share. 509/686-7122 Brewster

Fancy 2008 Haflinger Percheron Paint cross, chestnut Pinto mare, 14.2h, halter broke only. $1000 or best offer. 406/883-1602

ARABIANS Reg. Arabian Mare, 27 Years, 4-H experience, loads well, good teeth, good with kids, $400 or best offer. 208/819-3708

HALF-ARABIANS Loving Horse Wants An Equally Loving human to share her life. Reg. 1/2 Arab mare, 8 years old, Chestnut. 509/276-2605

HANOVERIAN Large Selection Of Warmbloods (Hanoverian, Rhinelanders, Oldenburgs) for sale at realistic prices. Stallion service, lessons program & premier boarding facility. www.cocolallacreeksporthorses.com or 208/683-3255

HORSES 3 Horses: 9 Year Old Gelding Quarter Horse, trail broke, $1800; 11 year old Thoroughbred mare, trail broke, $900; 8 year old Reg. Paint Bay mare, halter broke, started bridle & saddle, $900. 509/238-5176 Chattaroy AQHA Chestnut Colt 2012, Really showy; brown 2011 filly, both King Fritz Doc O Lena breeding. Chestnut 1997 mare, had 30 days professional training, Dash for Cash breeding, also Native Dancer; Chestnut 2007 mare, Driftwood breeding; $750 each. All registered & beautiful. Doc O Lena bloodlines. Others available. Must sell! After 6pm, 509/765-0843 Moses Lake

12 Year Icelandic Mare, & Yearling Colt (grandson of Hugur), both gentle & sweet tempered, sadly no time for them, $1400. 509/293-0835 Cashmere

MORGANS Inland Empire Morgan Horse Club’s open schooling show will be on Sunday, October 6, 2013 at Mission Park Arena. Registration is at 8am, show starts promptly at 9am, costs $7/ class or $35/ all day. IEMHC members $5/ class or $30/ all day. Show day entries will have a $5 late fee added. Pre-registration is advised. Food & drinks will be available for purchase. Contact Nan Robison 509/924-8654 or n_robison@yahoo.com for entry forms & more information Reg. Morgans, 3 Year & 1 Year Colts, 9 & 7 year mares. 509/922-2434 Otis Orchards Spokane Morgan Club, Get A Free Membership! See stallions at stud & quality horses for sale, event photos & memberships online. www.spokanemorganclub.org or 509/796-2140 Reg. Morgan Mare, Morgan Draft Cross mare, spotted draft gelding, Arab/ Quarter cross, all prices negotiable, to good homes only. Call 208/686-7024 leave message if no answer. Plummer

MULES 6 Year Old Molly Mule, Well Started, very intelligent, willing, athletic, possible show mule, 15h, $2600 (in Spokane). Lisa 1406/533-8836

QUARTER HORSES Super Quiet AQHA 10 Year Old Gelding, 16.1h, chestnut, shown extensively in halter, youth, amateur & open classes, champion winner, champion bloodlines, he has 5 months of professional training under saddle, super sweet, moving out of state unable to take him. Must Sell! Well below value $4500. 509/951-3620 Colbert Excellent Quality Reg. AQHA & APHA horses for sale. 2013 foals have arrived, and they are awesome! Also have some yearlings & older horses for sale. Please see our website for details, www.CSPaintQuarterHorses.com or call 509/2207712 Elk Come See The Excellent New Babies At Lee’s Quarter Horses since 1978; breeding, sales, training. Standing AQHA black stallion, Peppys Montana Lena; also AQHA red roan stallion, Wimpys Little Cody. 208/699-8261 Plummer Free To Good/ Approved Home, AQHA 27 year old mare, 14.2hh, sorrel. I’m moving out of state & she would not make the trip. She is current on all vaccines, worming & trims. She clips, baths & loads. She has never colicked, been sick or had any injuries. She would make a great companion horse or light riding by small children. She is in great shape for her age. I have owned her since she was 18 months old. I don’t want to have to put her down. Can deliver locally. Please contact me at 509/951-3620 Colbert Beautiful 2002 Quarter/ Saddlebred cross gelding, 16.1hh, dark chestnut, affectionate, very smooth gaits. English or Western, trails, some dressage training, lots of energy, needs experienced rider, $1000 or best offer. 509/714-1049 Spokane

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 34


CLASSIFIED

FALL 2013

QUARTER HORSES

MISCELLANEOUS

MISCELLANEOUS

2008 Red Roan AQHA Mare. This Mare is ready to go in any direction after a great start with professional training & continued training on trails. She will go through brush, water, over blow downs, etc. She is correct with good bone, an outstanding walk, a willing attitude, a great disposition & a super pedigree. She gives her hindquarters & crosses over in front with a soft touch, is 100% sound & has never been ill or injured, $3000. 208/835-8535

Lucky Acres Fencing Inc. Galvanized panel & bow gate sale: 12’, 1-5/8”, 15 gauge 5 rail panel, $105; 12’, 1-5/8”, 15 gauge 5 rail 6x6’ bow gate with horseshoe latch, $195; 12’, 1-3/8”, 15 gauge 5 rail panel, $95; 12’, 1-3/8” 15 gauge 5 rail 6x6’ bow gate with horseshoe latch, $165; maintenance free, quality products built to last a lifetime. At Lucky Acres Fencing, we specialize in manufacturing all of the essentials for horse/ livestock setups. All products are made of galvanize, heavy gauge steel tubing. Delivery available, pickup available in Lewiston or Fruitland ID. www.LuckyAcres.net or 208/746-1228 for more information

World Class Andalusian/PRE Horses. All horses registered in Spanish Stud book. Breeding, all disciplines. All Nat. championship stock. Web page is www.jackassmtranch.com Facebook Jackass Mountain Ranch Crown J Horses. 509/266-4226

TENNESSEE WALKERS Tennessee Walker Weanling Colt & yearling filly. Beautiful colors, Pride’s Generator bloodlines. See Sire & Dam at www.TennesseeWalkers.com Call for price & more details, 406/698-9523 we’re local, we just moved! Mead area

BOARDING Northwest Trails Boarding Happy healthy horses. Excellent care, recommended by Deer Park Vet Clinic. Catering to those who really care for their horse’s well being. Large, lighted arena, three round pens, large paddocks & pastures with shelter. Endless miles of beautiful trail riding. Natural Horsemanship training & lessons available, friendly, helpful atmosphere. www.northwest-trails.com 509/2766345 Deer Park Horse Boarding At Three Knights Stables across the street from Farragut State Park in Athol, Idaho. Indoor riding arena. Please call or e-mail to inquire about prices and availability. 208/683-0372 or threeknightsstables@gmail.com

MISCELLANEOUS We Remove Deceased Large Animals Including horses, cattle, sheep, goats, etc. Fast service; caring, compassionate, courteous & respectful. Call 509/953-8284 Spokane

List Your Horse For Sale With www.CentralOregonHorse.com for honest, experienced, reasonable & reliable service plus excellent results. Call 541/388-2268 or email carol@centraloregonhorse.com Leading Equine Hospital Is Seeking An individual for our fast paced facility. The applicant must have very strong people skills, and a wide range of horsemanship skills. Veterinary technician experience an advantage but not necessary. The applicant must be physically fit and technology savvy! We are looking for a person to join our team full time & long term. Please only respond with an attached resume to Bob@mpevh.com Please do not contact our clinic during business hours regarding this opportunity Are You Ready To Take Your Health &/ or the health of your 4 legged companion to another level? If so, I would love to help you accomplish this goal. I have over 12 years experience in assisting people & animals achieve new & renewed states of being. The last 6 years I worked with the show Cavalia, helping both performers & horses reach their maximum potential. I am now residing in the Spokane area & I’m ready to support & guide you on this wonderful journey. Contact me today & let’s make it happen! www.DrDaveDannels.com 703/727-9311 dddannels@mail.com

TACK & TRAILERS 2007 Thoroughbilt 3 Horse Slant, Tack room, padded dividers, full floor mats, electric brakes, side access door, tandem axle, 2 spare tires, interior lights, removable partitions, to haul livestock, furniture, hay or whatever. 20’ overall length, bumper pull, excellent shape, $4000 or best offer. 253/797-9382 Deer Park Horse Trailer Need Repairs Or A Safety inspection? From axles to reflooring to fabrication & welding to minor engine work. We do it all & we do it right. Bring it to us or we can come to you! Emergency parts & service 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our ASE Certified Technicians. Have your truck serviced & inspected at the same time. Call today to schedule your appointment. Washington Auto Carriage, 5301 E Broadway, Spokane, 509/535-0363, 800/456-0363 www.WACNW.com Will Rogers Saddle Co. Stop In Today For your best deal on a saddle! It’s Fair Season, get ready for the fair! Lots of show tack & equipment on sale. All bling jewelry 25% off, belts 25% off. We have some new saddles in stock: Martin Reiner, Dale Chavez reiner and a new Bob’s! We have several used pony saddles in now! Also, English saddles & tack, new & used. Get ready for hunting season, we have a packing room with all sorts of packing tack & gear. We offer discounts for high school equestrian teams & 4H members, so come in and see us! All major credit cards accepted, and we offer a convenient layaway program. Buy, sell, trade. Become our friend on Facebook for daily deals! www.WillRogersSaddle.com 509/466-0106 Mead

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 35


CLASSIFIED

FALL 2013

TACK & TRAILERS

REAL ESTATE

TRAINING / INSTRUCTION

Country Mirage All Purpose English Jumping & Dressage saddle, similar to the Drespri. This model is almost impossible to find. Two tone dark brown, all leather, 171/2â&#x20AC;&#x2122;â&#x20AC;&#x2122; seat, long billets, 3 flap positions which make it the ultimate all purpose saddle, #3 fit Spring tree & tight billets, pad & girth included. Minimal normal wear from use. Asking $1200. Evenings 509/570-3045 Fairfield

Escape To The Country! 10.3 Acres, treed/ fenced pasture, horse setup, completely updated, paved road, 3 bed, 2 bath home, Cheney schools, $139,900; 9.43 acres, 3 Bedroom, 2 bath, 1624 sq.ft. 2 car shop, property backs up to Blue Heron Pond, great well, treed level property, central air, Cheney, $139,000; 19 acres, 3 bed, 3 bath, built in 2010, private country retreat, treed, $139,000; 13.53 acres, 3 bedrooms plus den, 2 baths, 30x30 shop, fenced/ cross fenced, great mix of pasture & trees, wood laminate floors & brand new carpet & paint, 2 miles to Long Lake Park & boat launch, Tum Tum, $159,900; 11 acre horse setup, 3 bedroom, 3 bath, Spokane, 3000 sq.ft., $243,900. Call Farrah 509/280-9591 Wild West Realty www.wild-west-realty.com

Training, Lessons, Clinics. Call Gerry Cox, Mountain House Stables, 509/6851977. www.MountainHouseStables.com or www.youtube.com/gcoxalaska

Featherlite 8541 3 Horse Slant Load, looks like new, beautiful aluminum, front dressing/ tack room, saddle rack, lots of slider windows with screens, roof vents, rubber floor mat & walls, running boards, tandem axles 5200k each, 16â&#x20AC;? tires, spare with cover, plus more, $14,950, financing OAC. Cobalt Trailer Sales, Spokane, 509/535-2154 www.CobaltTrailerSales.com Wanted: Used 2 Horse Classic Trailer, extra tall, excellent condition, reasonable price. 509/276-2605

REAL ESTATE Sunny NE Oregon- Horseback To National Forest from Elgin, 4.4 acres, home, creeks, pond, truck shop/ barn, excellent well water, near I-84, LaGrande, $169,000 trade for west Oregon property. Letâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s talk! Sandra Moilanen 541/437-0436 Horse Ready For Her, Shop ready for him, 5 or 10 acres, 5336 sq.ft. home, 40x60 barn & additional barns, fences. 5 miles south of Spokane. Mary 509/869-4319 www.1224westtaylor.vpweb. com 11 Acres With Complete Horse Setup, fenced with round pen, barn, stalls & hay storage. Sweeping views include rolling hills & tree line in the distance. This stately home features 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, cathedral ceilings, a large great room with natural wood beams & rustic charm. Wild West Realty- Jonel- 509/220-3546

TRAINING / INSTRUCTION We Can Start Your Ranch Roping Horse, develop confidence in your dressage horse & train solid trail horses; Common sense training with Rob Dotts & Sally Shepard, a team of trainers with more than 45 years of experience; no gimmicks used, just good horsemanship. Northwest Trails, Deer Park 509/276-6345 Jason Schaper Colt Company. Breeding, Sales, Train ing. 509/751-1268, Clarkston. www.schapercuttinghorses.com Horse Training At Three Knight Stables in Athol, ID. Creating a calm, confident horse under saddle. Contact Abby, 208/683-0372 Western Dressage Group Lesson, Every Monday evening, 7pm-8:30pm. ARIA certified instructor, NAWD Clinician, Cowboy Dressage instructor. $25 per horse & rider combination. Relational Riding Academy, 11724 N. Forker Road, Spokane Valley. Call to register, 509/290-4301

EVENTS Hauser Lions Horseback Trail Ride & steak, September 14, Mathesonâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Ranch, Hauser Lake. $15 pre-registered by September 9, $20 day of the ride. Wiley, 208/6513266

FARRIERS Dale Stoller Horseshoeing, 701/260-2213. Trims starting at $35 for minis & saddle horses, shoes starting at $80 for full set of shoes for saddle horses. Serving the eastern Washington & northern Idaho area, but willing to travel to extended areas, able to work with lameness issues, 5 years experience on various disciplines of horses. Graduate of MSU Farrier program Barefoot Hoof Trimming- 4PB-S.A.I.D. Method, natureâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s correct healthy & preferred alternative to metal shoes. J.B. Healy, third generation farrier. 509/4565555 Horseshoeing, Over 30 Years Of Experience! Call Chad Gundlach. 509/3256549 12 Year Icelandic Mare, & yearling colt (grandson of Hugur), both gentle & sweet tempered, sadly no time for them, $1400. 509/ 293-0835 Cashmere

0/-*/& 1-"$&:063"% N>JH QD@R R R RCJMN@KM@ CK<?AJMHCOHG

SEPTEMBER 2013 â&#x20AC;˘ HORSE PREVIEWS â&#x20AC;˘ PAGE 36


ADVERTISERS

INDEX

STALLIONS

EVENTS

REAL ESTATE

Alijo Fallon Mustang Ranch .................13 Anado Ace WindDrift Farm .............................4 Gen’s True Grit Steinway Ranch ......................24,31 Just Pure Platinum C & S Ranch ..................................9 Mama Said Dash C & S Ranch ..................................9 Mr. Bo Button Meadow Starr Ranch ...................23 OFW Validate Kairosa Arabians ..........................20 Odin Fallon Mustang Ranch .................13 Poco Buenos Ghost C & S Ranch ..................................9

Black Rock Horses Ranch Sale.......5 Eddy MacMurdo Memorial Show 12 Hermiston Horse Sale ..................14 Reining Horse Assn. of the NW ...21 Zollinger Ranch Production Sale ................ Cover,2,3

Arrand, Gwen..............................30 Dix, Suzy.....................................29 Leaf, Jan ......................................30 Palmer, Jim Jr ..........................26,28 Tilton, Sheri .................................27

BARNS & BUILDINGS

HORSES FOR SALE

TRAILERS & TRAILER REPAIR

Custom Barns N.W. .....................11 Northwest Cover-All ....................17 Solid Structures............................15 Steel Structures of America, Inc ...39

Fallon Mustang Ranch .................13 Kairosa Arabians ..........................20 Meadow Starr Ranch ...................23 Steinway Ranch ......................24,31

VETERINARIANS

BREEDERS

MISCELLANEOUS

C & S Ranch ..................................9 Steinway Ranch ......................24,31 Sun Dun Ranch ...........................19 WindDrift Farm Quarter Horses .....4

FACILITY Diamond Pine Ranch ..................10 Lady Raven Stables ......................16 Steinway Ranch ......................24,31 Upriver Stables ............................20

FARRIER Lovell Fink ...................................26

FEED & ACCESSORIES LMF Feeds ...................................25

FENCING North 40 Fence Company..............4

SADDLES, TACK & CLOTHING Indiana Harness Co. ...................24 Spokane Tack Trunk .....................10 Will Rogers Saddle Company .. Back

TRAINERS Ann Kirk Sensible Horsemanship ...8 Julie Jené .....................................20 Scott Seeklander ..........................20 Steve Rother Horsemanship .........24 Sun Dun Ranch ...........................19 Whetzel Horse Training ...............31

Huber Trailer Sales.......................18 Washington Auto Carriage ...........22 McKinlay & Peters ...................4,6,7 Springwater Veterinary Services .......

Crown Foods ...............................26 HUB International .......................12 Strasser, Frank ..............................24 Teddy Bear Fjords ...................16,24

Introducing Our Newest Publication! Country Living In

The Inland Northwest

Next Issue On Stands September 19! Inside The Weekly Exchange Paper Check It Out At www.BountifulLifeMagazine.com Call or email us if you’d like a free email subscription 800-326-2223 or email: BountifulLife@ExchangePublishing.com SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 37


P.O. Box 427 U Spokane, W A 99210 -0427 U (509) 922-3456

*°"°Ê œÝÊ{ÓÇ]Ê-«œŽ>˜i]Ê7ʙ™Ó£äÊUÊ­x䙮ʙÓӇÎ{xÈÊUÊ£‡nää‡ÎÓȇÓÓÓÎ ADVERTISING RATES (Professional Ad Design Included) B&W Color

FRONT COVER .................... 7.5”w x 10”h ....................... $235 (includes half page inside, color & internet)

Centerfold.......................................................................... $280 Back Cover (includes color) 7.5”w x 10”h ....................... $200 Inside Back Cover ................ 7.5”w x 9.83”h ....... $147.... $182 Horse For Sale ..................................................................... $37 Weanling/ Yearling Showcase .............................................. $37

HALF PAGE FULL PAGE

HORIZONTAL

Display Advertising

We can professionally design your ad using your graphics, photos and text. There is no additional charge for typesetting so your ad does not have to be submitted “camera ready.” Give us a “neat” sketch or rough draft with any specific directions, we will do the rest! Please make sure to provide the best quality photographs possible. Your ad copy, or photographs can also be accepted electronically on CD or via e-mail.

Ad Size

Dimension

Half Page Horizontal ............ 7.5”w x 4.83”h ......... $85.... $110 Half Page Vertical ................. 3.66”w x 9.83”h ....... $85.... $110 Quarter Page ........................ 3.66”w x 4.83”h ....... $58...... $78 Business Card–1/8th Page ... 3.66”w x 2.33”h ....... $37...... $47 Web Banner Ads................................................................... $12 (Display advertising on our website per month)

QUARTER PAGE

On-Line Ads/ Banner Ads

We now offer on-line banner ads on our very popular website, www.horse-previews.com. We receive thousands of unique visitors each month. We can design and upload a banner ad using information from your print ad.

Distribution

$4.50 for 25 words or less. Mailed in ads are accepted with your good check. Or telephone in your ads with your credit card, 509-922-3456 or 1-800-326-2223.

Over 7500 copies of Horse Previews are distributed quarterly in Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Montana and British Columbia. Pick up your FREE copy early at your western, tack, feed, farm & horse supply stores. Distribution is the first Thursday of January, April, July and October. Please contact us if you are interested in becoming a distribution point.

Electronic Ad Submission

Special Position

Classified Advertising

We accept ads electronically in .pdf format. Please ensure that all photographs are 160dpi and balanced for newsprint output. Please ensure color ads are CMYK. If you have any questions about electronic files, please call us. e-mail the files to: horsepreviews@exchangepublishing.com

All ads are positioned run of paper (ROP) at standard rates, without preference. Ads requesting premium or specific position other than ROP will incur an additional 15% charge.

Deadline

B&W Color

Full Page .............................. 7.5”w x 9.83”h ....... $125.... $160

VERTICAL

Dimension

HALF PAGE

Ad Size

Ads must be reserved by the 15th of the preceding month to be published in the next quarterly

BUSINESS CARD

magazine. We are often able to accept ads a few days after the 15th, so please contact us if you require extra consideration.

Electronic Edition

Portions of Horse Previews Magazine are distributed electronically on the internet the first Thursday of every January, April, July & October. Our web site can be found at: www.horse-previews.com You can also contact us via e-mail: horsepreviews@exchangepublishing.com

Subscriptions

$ 10 per year United States; $14 per year Canada; $20 per year International. Payment in advance.

Payment by your personal check or money order must accompany all mailed in advertisements. Please type or print your ad neatly. We are not responsible for accuracy from handwritten copy. Horse Previews will not be responsible for misinformation, misprints, typographical errors, etc., herein contained. We reserve the right to edit, alter, or refuse any advertising or articles for publication. Neither Horse Previews nor its advertisers intends prejudice because of age, creed, disability, origin or sex. Reproduction without permission is prohibited. All rights reserved ©2010 Horse Previews Magazine, P.O. Box 427, Spokane, WA 99210-0427. Revised Sept. 2013

SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 38


JFFLdDZŒ‰…„©i†…w„{BmW

POLE BUILDINGS GARAGES SHOPS BARNS LIVING QUARTERS

ij[[biWFJJXZ

Any Size and Configuration Available

Call 800-833-9997 Today!

Or on-line: www.FindSSA.net SEPTEMBER 2013 • HORSE PREVIEWS • PAGE 39


E LL , T R A S , Y Family Owned & Operated DE U B

RIDE! RIDE! RIDE!

Great Sales . Thank you for buying Local! . Like us on Facebook

WILL ROGERS SADDLE CO.

13011 N. Freya, Mead

509-466-0106

or Toll Free 1-877-707-2801 Open Mon. - Sat. 9am - 5pm â&#x20AC;˘ Closed Sunday

www.willrogerssaddle.com

BUY - SELL - TRADE

Profile for Exchange Publishing

090113 horsepreviews  

090113 horsepreviews  

Advertisement