Page 1

MAY 2016 • VOL 14, ISSUE 5 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

FREE!

SW WASHINGTON HISTORY

NORTHWEST

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

From the Sound to the Columbia BY KAREN L. JOHNSON

BY KAREN JOHNSON

July 23, 1870, the Olympia Transcript pub[onlished the following article written by an uniden-

tified correspondent. The story (transcribed with original spellings) details a stagecoach journey from olympia to Monticello (near today’s Longview), followed by a steamship trek down the Cowlitz to the Columbia, and thence to Portland.] “Two o’clock and the stage, sir,” said our obliging landlord in Olympia, Friday morning, upon which all hands were quick out of bed and preparing for the journey overland from Puget Sound to the Columbia river. Not wishing to either eat or drink at that hour of the night, although it was twenty-eight miles to breakfast, we climbed into the stage, after a delay of nearly an hour, chilly and drowsy, almost wishing that we hadn’t come. Daylight appearing in this northern latitude by half-past two, together with a full moon, afford us ample light to travel comfortable, and as the roads were good, we soon left the

Main phOTO:

Taken just a few years after the accompanying story, this photo shows houses on Main Street (now Capital Way) in Olympia. The stagecoach passengers would have seen much this same view. photo courtesy washington state library. large inSeT phOTO: Nicholson pavement consisted of squares of wood cut to even thicknesses and laid down in a block pattern to form a street surface. Sometimes the wood was creosoted to lengthen its useful life. photo courtesy z22, wikimedia commons. SMall inSeT phOTO: Harry Darby Huntington ran a hotel in the old town of Monticello. photo courtesy www.findagrave.com.

Northwood Park Funeral Home & Cemetery

Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery Cremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA 360

574-4252

Woodland Funeral Home Traditional Services & Cremations 360225-8441 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

Columbia Bank Joy Snead

AVP • Branch Manager WOODLAND BRANCH

782 Goerig St. Woodland, WA 98674 360225-9421 • Fax 360225-8146 jsnead@columbiabank.com

vicinity of the Sound at Tumwater and were speeding across the country at the reasonable gait of six miles an hour. “A new broom sweeps clean,” remarked some of our fellow passengers, speaking of the new line of stages just established by Mr. Henry Winsor, to whom the contract has recently been awarded for carrying a daily mail from Olympia to Monticello. In fact, it is an old broom not worn out just again brought into service. Mr. Winsor was the first contractor on this line in 1853, carrying the mail first on horse back, afterwards by mud wagons, and still later by stages, as the wants of the country increased, for thirteen years, and claims that he has never missed a mail or injured a passenger. Messrs. Davis & Coggan still have their stock on the route and although the travel is great, it is seldom necessary for a traveler to wait for conveyance. A party just ahead of us complained of the danger attending the trip, having been used to rich parlor floors, and smooth histORY—cont’d on page 2


Theat er AT THE

L

ove Street Playhouse continues its 2016 Season with Phillip King’s farce, See How They Run, from May 6th through May 22nd at Love Street Playhouse, 126 Loves Ave in Woodland, WA. See How They Run is a whirlwind comedy set after World War II, in the living room of a vicarage in the fictitious village of Mertoncum-Middlewick, as a young vicar’s wife tries to fit into a small, tightly knit english village. Prepare to be out of breath from laughter as mistaken identities and ludicrous situations run wild in this irrepressible english farce. David Roberts of Vancouver directs the cast of veteran actors at Love Street Playhouse. The cast stars Glendyne Reinmiller (Penelope Toop), Henry Lorch (The Rev. Lionel Toop), Becky Skinner (Ida), Michele Glover (Miss Skillon), Damon Apelt (Corporal Clive Winton), Ryan Gaylor (The Spy), Don Smith (The Bishop of Lax), Christopher Cleveland (The Rev. Arthur Humphrey), and Glenn Russell (Sergeant Towers). The artistic team includes owner and artistic director Melinda Leuthold (producer and costumes), David Roberts (director), Lou Pallotta (set design) and Robert Pallotta (lighting design). “This year we wanted to bring fun to our audiences and we thought that See How They Run would be a great fit for our season line up,” says Who is the real Reverend Toop? Find out Melinda Leuthold. “The humor, crazy in the hilarious farce See How They Run antics, and mistaken identities as actors run at Love Street Playhouse this May in and out of doors will keep everyone in 6th–22nd. photo credits: darcie elliott photography stitches throughout the performance.” Performances of See How They Run will take place at Love Street Playhouse located at 126 Loves Ave, Woodland, from May 6th through the 22nd. Performances are Fridays and Saturdays at 7:30pm, Thursdays (5/12 & 5/19) at 7:30pm, and Sundays at 2:00pm. Tickets are $15-$18 in advance when you choose your seats online by visiting the theatre’s website at www.lovestreetplayhouse.com or by calling (360)907-9996.

See How They Run

what’s happening—cont’d from page 3

copied from the Society’s vast holdings, including images of Portland and other locales in the Pacific Northwest. The oHS Museum Store will also be selling a wide selection of surplus books! For questions about the sale, please leave a voicemail for the Research Library staff at 503.306.5240, or e-mail libreference@oHS.org. Please note: All of the books for sale from the oHS Research Library duplicate existing oHS holdings or are outside the oHS collecting scope. Nothing from the Society’s permanent collections is being sold. For more information on the oHS Library collection, visit http://ohs.org/research-and-library/our-collections. Cowlitz puD Launches Live Osprey Cam osprey love to nest on high structures near good fishing grounds, therefore tall power poles can look like a great place to build a nest. Their nests can cause power outages and fires when sticks interfere with electrical equipment. This was the case in April 2000 when an osprey pair attempted to build a nest on Cowlitz PUD’s distribution pole. our line crews deemed this a safety risk for the public and for the osprey, so we designed and built an alternate higher nesting platform, near the same pole where they originally tried to build a nest. The ospreys accepted the alternate nesting platform and for 15 years, a pair has been returning to their summer home in Cowlitz County. We look forward to observing these wild birds in their natural environment and are excited to launch a live video feed in partnership with Cascade Networks. The osprey returned from their winter migration on March 25th, 2016 and mating and nest preparation is currently underway. We anticipate eggs to be laid soon. NeWS FLASH! The pair have laid three eggs in the nest and are setting up housekeeping in anticipation of the brood! Cowlitz PUD is excited to share our successful efforts in environmental sustainably and our proactive approach to protect migratory birds. Check out our live feed at: https://www.cowlitzpud.org/ospreycam.php Like us on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/cowlitzpudospreycam/ And you can help name the chicks! Help Cowlitz PUD & Cascade Networks name the stars of our live ospreyCam: Go to https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/cowlitzpudospreynames and tell us which name you think it should be! the Lelooska Foundation spring evening Living history performances Set in the fire-lit replica of a Kwa’kwaka’wakw ceremonial house, the living history program consists of dramatic narration and dance presentations of traditional Northwest Coast ceremonial masks. Chief Tsungani and the Lelooska Family dancers bring each mask to life with song, dance, story and regalia that illustrate the particular cultural aspect of the mask. Modeled after a traditional Winter Ceremonial, the program is designed to give the audience an understanding of Northwest Coast First Nations culture, as well as a feeling of intimate participation in this living history. The program begins at 7:00 p.m. in the Lelooska Family ceremonial house and continues for approximately two hours. Grounds open at 5:30 p.m. (including the Lelooska Museum). Shows take place on May 21st & June 11th, 2016, Seating is limited, advance reservations are necessary. Tickets: $12.00 adults, $8.00 children 12 and under. what’s happening—cont’d on page 7

histORY—cont’d from page 1

carriage ways in New York city, were ready to exclaim that for their been anxiously but vainly inquiring for all along across the country. fortunes, ample as it was, would they attempt this drive again. I had gloried and exulted over the trials of my poor friend in his not Recollecting that probably as many as fifty thousand passengers being able to obtain his “strong drink” at any point from the Sound had periled their lives over this route, and not one of them injured to the Columbia, as it was the boast of this community, but I ceased in any way, if we except the natural wear and tear upon such parts my overbearing congratulation, way worn and sad, long before of the body as a person must per force of necessity rest upon, while reaching Monticello, after undertaking to swallow that harmless retaining an erect position, our little party resigned themselves comfluid here called “coffee,” but more popularly known as water. I placently into the hands of the driver and feared not. At 8 o’clock will get some one to write a book on the mysteries of coffee making, breakfast, at 1 dinner, and at 5 rest—the most welcome of all. and have them distributed next time ahead of the pilgrimage. The At this point (Pumphrey’s), we met the stage coming from tables are generally well supplied, the people courteous and accomMonticello, the passengers from East, from Oregon and from modating, and the charges moderate. everywhere except Washington Territory. Among the notables en The little steamer Wenat, Capt. W. H. Smith, with steam up, is route for the Sound was our long looked for, much needed, U.S. ready to leave Monticello the moment that breakfast is dispatched Marshal, E. S. Kearney, going over to the Sound to pay off court and the passengers are on board, still time is given to get a good expense. He will meet with a warm reception among the ex-jurysquare meal. Not waiting to examine the town we were soon on our men, deputy marshals, etc. Dr. —, ex-delegate from British way down the Cowlitz, calling at Ranier, opposite the mouth of the Columbia to Canada, from whence he was returning to give an river and on the Oregon side, on the left branch of the Columbia, account of his stewardship, and anxiously inquiring about the thence up this river, for a time close along the rocky shore, after“surveyors on the Skaget,” fearing least, as we suppose, that wards by the low bottoms intervening, to the ancient city of St. those private gentlemen on that exploration might affect the des- The Oregonian newspaper advertised Helens. This place, just below the lower mouth of the Willamette, or steamer Wenat’s route from tinies of the colonies by the developments made. Four stages meet the the Willamette slough as it is called, looks much the same as in Portland to Pumphrey’s Landing (at at this point every evening to start with their passengers each the confluence of Olequa Creek and 1852–3, not a city yet, still holding on. Taking the slough channel, morning at two o’clock. calling any place that a passenger beckons and making frequent the Cowlitz River, north of today’s At precisely two we were called, and “all aboard” the cry, until Castle Rock). stoppages, we arrived at Portland by 6 P.M. the crowded little hotel was fairly deserted, but the proprietor was smiling all over, From the river view this city looks like the back yard was in front, or the old womrecollecting that night would bring just another such a crowd and so on from day to an’s washing day when things wasn’t “rid up.” Not having visited the city for several day. years a great change was look for upon arrival, but the river front looks if possible Monticello looks improved, and fairly out of her trials of former years. Here we more shabby that it did seven years ago. Not so after getting once fairly on shore, obtained an excellent breakfast at Father Huntington’s, after a twenty mile ride over where the Nicholson pavement has taken the place of the mud of the former years, and the Cowlitz mountain and down the river bank. Our friend, the soldier who had lost his long rows of brick buildings that of the temporary wooden structures of olden times. leg in the wars, was able to obtain his “nip” on board the steamer, a something he had But of all this we shall write more anon. 2 • the review • may 2016

www.reviewmediagroup.com


in this issue

The Review — May 2016, Vol. 14, Issue 5

4 B  irds Galore: New Birds Are Coming!

Cover: 4 S  W Washington History: From the Sound to the Columbia By Karen Johnson

3 W  hat’s Happening Around Town

By Norma Brunson and Doug Schurman

5 Garden Insects: Why is a Beetle a Beetle?

By Nora Garofoli

8 For Your Dining Pleasure:

6 Stepping Stones

Mary’s Bar & Grill

By Pat Stepp

By The Diva Gastronomique

6 Over the Garden Gate: Passionate for Petunias!

By Cheryl Spaulding

what’s happening Woodland Moose Lodge Fishing Derby—Fish On! The great Woodland Moose Lodge Fishing Derby will take place Saturday, May 14, 2016 at Horseshoe Lake Park in Woodland, WA. Registration is from 8:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Fishing: 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Registration Cost: $3.00 each. (Ages: 3–14 yrs.) For safety reasons 3–5 yearold children must be accompanies by an adult. There will be games & prizes for the kids and a concession stand will be on site. Come, fish, get your catch weighed, get your picture taken with your fish. Bragging rights for the whole year. AND Parents! Don’t worry! “WE CLEAN THEM!!!!” First, Second, Third, and Fourth place winners in each age group wins a bicycle. If you have any questions, please contact Lota Ross at 360-903-3579. Woodland High School Horticulture Students Hold Annual Plant Sale—Open To The Public! Students in Mary Ellen Vetter’s Horticulture Science classes at Woodland High School learn how to organically grow plants in mass quantities culminating in this year’s 28th Annual Plant Sale scheduled for Friday, May 6 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday, May 7 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. This year’s 28th Annual Plant Sale will be held on Friday, May 6 from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday, May 7 from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Woodland High School located at 1500 Dike Access Road, Woodland, WA 98674 and is open to all members of the community. Funds raised from the sale support the FFA program, and are also used to pay for the next year’s plant sale and activities. The sale features more than 30 varieties of tomatoes, more than 1,300 in total; 15 varieties of peppers; and a wide selection of vegetables and flowers including squash, zucchini, pumpkins, broccoli, kale, petunias, marigolds, and many more. This year’s sale will also include plants grown by Woodland Middle School Hands-On Science Classes taught by Sharlene Brown who worked in coordination with Vetter. “Each year, the students select the plants they grow throughout the class,” said Vetter. “Our students are incredibly proud of their work, and we hope the community will come to the plant sale to learn or continue to enjoy gardening as much as we do.”

classifieds for rent

LHA PROPERTIES

Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama Family & Elderly/ Disabled Units Pay only 30% of your adjusted gross income

360

225-7781

Rooms for Rent Downtown Woodland, $525/mo per person or $190/wk per person, utilities included. Call 360-772-3518.



announcements Announcements

01

PUBLISHER’s NOTICE All Real Estate advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

VanRidge Garden Club Plant Sale! Get your garden ready! Friday, May 6 and Saturday, May 7th are the sale days. Plants will be available at the Church of the Nazarene, 801 NE 194th St. (at 10th Street), in Ridgefield, WA. This is the annual sale of organic vegetable plants, perennials and annuals grown by garden club members. A percentage of profits fund horticulture scholarship at Washington State University. There will be lots of great prices! Questions? Call Pat Hogan at 360-887-2336 for more info.

get inspiration for their yards and exchange ideas with other gardeners. All county residents who use environmentally friendly gardening techniques are encouraged to sign up. To register to be a host for the Natural Garden Tour, contact Sally Fisher at Clark County Environmental Services at (360) 397-2121 ext. 4939 or sally.fisher@clark.wa.gov.

Images of America: Kalama By Cheryl K Spaulding

I

n Images of America: Kalama, author C. Louise Thomas chronicles a comprehensive study focusing on the early days of Kalama, Washington. Thomas has created a historical and pictorial tapestry depicting the pleasures and the difficulties of life in a small town from 1847 through the early 1940s. Emerging author Thomas provides an insightful take on the challenges of breaking ground and establishing a new town on the frontier despite environmental and political turmoil. Thomas, who has spent16 years as the Librarian for the City of Kalama, said she spent months digging through historical archives and pictures and putting “feet on the ground” talking to residents about the history of Kalama. She said she found people were very cooperative. Thomas writes with verve and energy. “I really tried to get out there and do the research,” she said. “There is a ton of new information out there and I learned a lot.” She said she hopes people enjoy this book and she purposefully left the door open to do a couple more books [about Kalama]. C. Louise Thomas will be presenting her book during Amalak’s Plant, Treasure, and Book Sale, benefitting the library, to be held on Friday, May 6th from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Saturday, May 7th from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m. at Haydu Park, 253 Kalama River Road in Kalama. For more information, contact Shirley Lowman at 360-673-4071. Woodland Historical Museum Society to hold Annual Mother’s Day Plant & Garage Sale Friday, May 6th and Saturday, May 7th from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. will mark the time to stock up on great plants for your garden AND a time to look for treasures at their garage sale, too! Check it out at 417 Park Street, in Woodland, WA (behind the Moose Lodge). For more information, contact the museum society at 360-225-9888 (John “JJ” Burke).

Clark County seeks home hosts for annual Natural Garden Tour The Clark County Green Neighbors program is seeking hosts for its Natural Garden Tour on Sunday, July 17. Interested people should practice environmentally Please call if you have questions: friendly gardening techniques Phone: (360) 225-1273; web: www.reviewmediagroup.com; e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com and be willing to offer public Mailing address: PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674 tours of their yards and gardens. Deadlines: Please see our deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com. Circulation approx. 10,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Vancouver, and This annual event is a fun Kelso/Longview). Published ­monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. way to show off your yard Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl and the Earth-conscious Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen methods you use to make it Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook blossom. The event is a Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a selfchance for residents to learn addressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written about gardening techniques, permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in

Surplus Sale Of Vintage Books & Photographs At The Oregon Historical Society It’s spring cleaning in the Oregon Historical Society Research Library! Next Saturday, May 7, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., all are welcome to this epic biannual shopping experience in the OHS Pavilion (1200 SW Park Avenue, Portland). Admission to the sale and to the museum is free all day. The books for sale will include thousands of titles, many relating to Oregon and the American West, most priced between $1 and $5! There will also be some rare and hard to find editions available for higher prices, some dating back to the early nineteenth century! The sale will also include duplicate photographic prints what’s happening—cont’d on page 2

DOWN TO EARTH

Satellite TV

Floral Effects

INTERNET AUTHORIZED SALES AGENT 119 NE 1st, Kalama Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2 www.kalamatv.com

360 673-3552

673-2950

124 N. 1ST ST. • KALAMA,WA 98625 FLORALEFFECTSKALAMA.COM

Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark & Columbia Counties Since 1982.

Your ONLY Woodland-Area Feed Store! Why drive 1/2 hour or more? Shop local and save!

Layer Pellets & Layer Crumbles

UP TO

2

$ 00 C OFF hic

TWO BAGS OR MORE • ASK ABOUT SPECIAL PRICINGG • EXPIRES 3/31/2016 • 25 & 50 LB. BAGS

Remnant Farms FEED & SUPPLY 360 225-5980

any form ­whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

www.reviewmediagroup.com

Celebrating YOU on Mother’s Day!

may 2016 • the review • 3

ks are IN!

1501 Guild Road, Woodland Hours: M-Sat., 10–6; Closed Sundays

REMNANTFARMS.NET

Godfrey’s G odfrey’s P Pharmacy harmacy • Mother’s Day Cards • Russell Stover • Gift Wrap & Whitman • Gifts & more! Candies

673-2600

360

270 N 1st St•Kalama

Open Monday–Saturday 9:30 a.m.– 6:00 p.m.


A

bright yellow bird caught our attention in mid March. At first I thought it was an American Goldfinch but that was impossible. The American Goldfinch usually shows up in our yard about the first of May so I took a closer look with my binoculars. No, it was too small to be ‘our’ American Goldfinch. The first thing I noticed was that this bird had black on the entire top of it’s head and it extended to the nape of the neck. The back was a greenish black as was the tail The American Goldfinch has a perky black cap that seems to have slipped forward to sit right on the beak. The nape of the neck, the back and stomach of the American Goldfinch are a bright yellow. The wings are black with a few white marks. The other bright yellow bird’s black covered the eye and cheek. This bird was only about three to four inches and the American Goldfinch is around five inches. In checking my trusty bird book I saw that it was a Lesser Goldfinch. The female was gray on the entire front of the body and had black and white on the wings. So now I have a new bird for my list. This beautiful bird only stayed around for three to four days. I guess they

New Birds Are Coming

BiRds—cont’d on page 6 lOWer leFT:

American Goldfinch; upper righT: Male Lesser Goldfinch. by matt knoth, courtesy of wikimedia.org; Middle righT: Female Lesser Goldfinch. by alan d. wilson courtesy of wikimedia.org; lOWer righT: Female Lesser Goldfinch. by doug schurman

Woodland Auto Supply 1015 Pacific Avenue • Woodland

225-6529

360

M-F, 7–7 • Sat, 8-5 • Sun, 9-4 OFFERS EXPIRE 5/14/2016 OR WHILE SUPPLIES LAST!

4 • the review • may 2016

www.reviewmediagroup.com


R

Why Is A Beetle a Beetle?

ecently someone posed this question to me as I gathered up an errant six legged visitor in the workroom. That question made me stop and think; how would a person new to the entomological world begin to know these little bits of information that help us make sense of the many little creatures out there? I have been o vLI wondering ST K o OR n L O ow andGAROF YA ND PHOTO about and S BY NORA working with bugs so long now that their differences have become very familiar for me.

I don’t go into detail as far as some who study six and eight legged critters. Getting to the point of knowing their exact species often takes some microscopic study and time. I am more interested in just the generalities and mainly what some of their habits are. I am just hoping for a quick idea while in the field of knowing if this bug I see is helpful, neutral or possibly a pest. Just knowing what family that particular bug is in is usually enough. If I want more information I go to my books to get other details. There are just so many critters out there to get to know. I tend to go with the insects and spiders that strike my fancy for further research. Simple guides are a great help in learning the basics about the insects and their leFT phOTO: This large orders. other studious peowasp look alike is ple have spent many years actually a member of the fly group or Order managing to make order out Diptera. What I find of the multitudes of insects amazing is that the crab spider can hold on to this big bug. Now that’s some out in the world. The books physics there! The clues that this insect mimic is a fly include the wings— there are only one pair and the tiny little knobs near the base of the wings I have found most helpful (just visible on the right side of the syrphid fly)—are called halteres and are are the Golden Nature believed to be remnants of wings that have changed with evolution. The short antennae and big eyes are other quick clues. Guides. one is Spiders and Their Kin ad the other is Insects: A SeCOnd phOTO FrOM leFT: This is another type of fly mimicking a bee or wasp, but Guide To Familiar American Insects. I find myself frequently refercheck the antennae, eyes and wings. As shapes become more familiar you ring to another newer book called The Kaufman Field Guide to may notice that there is no “waist” or narrow point between the thorax and abdomen like a real wasp or bee would have. Insects of North America. It is full of great pictures and tidbits Third phOTO FrOM leFT: This yellow jacket queen is a member of the wasp, bee and ant order; Order Hymenoptera. These insects usually about many of the insects featured inside. I have other books that have two pairs of wings and a narrow area between the thorax (where the wings attach) and the abdomen (the lower portion of their body). are more technical, but these are great for starters. Far righT: This copycat of the wasp family is actually a clearwing moth known as a Riley’s Clearwing Moth. Amazing copywork. Even its

t

e

den Insect ar s G

wings are modified quite a bit from the usual moth expectations. They have even lost the scales on their wings that most moths and butterflies have, yet they retain the other things needed to be sorted into the Lepidotera Order.

inseCts—cont’d on page 6

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa

What’s in your water? Water

• Residential Softeners, • Commercial Filters & • Industrial Purifiers

• Cage-free Kennels • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted • Licensed and very affordable! • Pick up and drop off service available

Water Testing Available for Determining Filtration Needs

696-9287

360

Come let your dog run with the pack! 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama

360 www.paradisedogranch.com facebook.com/theparadisedogranch

www.waterandairworks.com

Make Mom Feel

Special!

Our selection will remind her why she loves you! Come see our captivating fresh flowers!

Lillies, Freesias, Peonies, Roses and more!

1066 South Pekin Rd • Woodland

360-225-4512 • 877-7-TULIPS Open M–F, 9 to 5:30; Sat./Sun 10 to 4

GROWN IN THE U.S.A

www.reviewmediagroup.com

may 2016 • the review • 5

601-3570


Stepping Stones

“Leaving on a jet plane, don’t know when I will be home again” ended in “home again, home again, jiggery jog”

M

y long awaited trip to Australia, the first trip on my “bucket list”, came to fruition. I was gone for three and a half weeks. I fell back to welcome Fall Down Under while there. I was on an airplane traveling 29 hours and I hung out at four airports for 22 hours. I went through customs in all four countries. I felt like Dorothy when I was dropped in oZ (an Australian term for Australia). And, gentle readers, I had an amazing adventure. But, as Dorothy so wisely discovered, “there is no place like home.” I am now recovered from sleep deprivation and jet lag and I have jumped back into my volunteer schedule. In Canberra, an Aboriginal gentleman named Frank greeted me outside the “Aboriginal embassy”, a small building. It is in a park directly across from the Canberra New South Wales old Capitol building. After 46 years, the Aborigines are still squatting there and pushing for a treaty that recognizes them as First People. (My host, Tony, remembers bringing food with his girlfriend to the encampment in support of their cause in 1970). Meeting Frank and learning of his belief in the Lord was a highlight. Landing in Sydney, I took the Airport Train to my Bed and Breakfast in erskineville. I was helped up the steps at the station and the stairs to my 1857 attic apartment by friendly young men I met along the way. I then pulled my 32 pound bag at the third flight of stairs a step at a time to reach my destination. I had left America on the Ides of March and I arrived in Sidney two days later on St. Patrick’s Day. I went out to find an Irish bar to celebrate the holiday, but ended up at the local hotel drinking a can of Guiness. I discovered that St. Paddy’s Day is not celebrated in Australia (or Ireland, for that matter). I was alone in the apartment the first four days of my stay. I bird watched and greeted the sunrises and sunsets from the balcony deck which also had a great view of the Sidney skyline. My guide arrived from Canberra and we took the train to Sidney and walked through Hyde Park and past the Sidney opera House to catch a ferry to Manly Beach, my first Australian beach. We ate shark fish and chips, fed chips to the sea gull, and listened to the Scottish Regimental Band. They wore kilts and played their bagpipes, tin whistles, and drums. We started the next morning to drive the 3½ hours to Canberra, which would be my headquarters for the next fifteen days. I had not seen my host since 2007, when he visited my helpmate and for the third time since we met in 1977. I will continue this saga in my next column…Happy earth Day! BY PAT STEPP

© Copyright 2016

BiRds—cont’d from page 4

were just stopping by to fuel up for the rest of its trip. The book says they breed from the western U.S. to Peru but not here. Both the American Goldfinches and Lesser Goldfinches love to sing, with the Lesser having more phrases than the American. When the Americans come to our yard the trees seem to be alive with song. We have had thirty-plus bright yellow Americans here during the mating season. People that go on their daily walks on our street will sometimes just stop by to listen and then smile as they continue on their walks. The American Goldfinch is our state bird and we do love having it here in the Lewis River area. They love to feed on dandelion seeds, weed seeds and thistles. My book says they feed at our feeders in the winter but they also like the feeders in spring and summer. Another new bird for me is in the woodpecker family. I will tell you about it next time. inseCts—cont’d from page 5

Sometimes it is antennae length that gives me a clue to the group an insect belongs to, sometimes it is other specific characteristics. True bugs for example just about always have a triangle shape on their back in their adult form and even in some of their later stages before adulthood. Beetles have their specialized hard wing covers known as elytra and flies will have only one pair of wings while bees and wasps have two pairs of wings. Admittedly one may get fooled by similar coloring, but with enough time and practice or with a good picture or two the clues needed to identify a subject can be sorted out. often other things can provide hints for how to research out who you are playing host to. Size is sometimes helpful. Shapes become more familiar as you spend time looking at individuals. Habitat and surroundings can also be helpful, even their behavior can help with your research. one example for shapes is the group of beetles who are known for wood boring. They are all quite torpedo shaped and have tough appearing body armor. They are often metallic colored and fairly large for beetles, running right near the one inch mark in length. of course there are always those insects who like to make it a bit of a game by mimicking insects from other groups. It is a great idea for helping them survive and kind of keeps us on our toes when it gets down to figuring out who is who. I find out something new about my little visitors quite often or sometimes it is just someone new out in my garden. The variety can be enough to take in without even doing much research. I hope you take just a few minutes just to see what is out there. Maybe, just maybe, it will get you to wondering enough to crack open one of those books I mentioned or some other great guide to satisfy your curiosity.

6 • the review • may 2016

over the

Passionate I

love petunias!! Very few flowers can compare with petunias when it comes to providing color and impact in the landscape. They can definitely liven up even the plain garden. Petunias are some of the easiest annuals to grow whether in baskets, tumbling over rock walls or in raised or traditional flower beds. It’s no wonder petunias continue to rank among the most popular flowering annuals. They provide colorful By Cheryl Spaulding blooms from spring until frost, and some varieties even scent the air with a lovely fragrance. Petunias are close relatives of the tobacco, Cape gooseberry, tomatoes, potato, deadly nightshade and chili pepper plants. Quite a bunch of relatives there, I’d say. Proper care of these lovelies is simple and easy. These small funnel-shaped flowers come in a variety of colors—reds, pinks, purples, whites, and even some surprising new hybrid varieties. Garden hint: The low-growing types are ideal for the front of a flower border, in planters near doorways and pools, or on patios. Because they tend to attract lovely moths after dark, many homeowners plant the ‘Wave’ petunias as groundcovers near landscape lighting. Petunias can be grown from seeds, but I usually use transplants. For busy gardeners like me, transplants are so much easier and faster to grow. Transplants are usually hardy enough to go right into the garden. Place petunia transplants into well-drained soil in full sun and protected from wind, if possible. Place about a foot apart. Petunias can grow in partial shade, but they will have fewer flowers. on the other hand, if you plan to grow petunias from seeds, start them indoors or in a greenhouse 10 to 12 weeks before you plan to set them outside. Petunia seeds are very small and needs lots of light in order to germinate. Remember to water them. When the plants have three leaves I transfer new plants to small pots. once the plants have reached three to four inches in height I transfer them to hanging baskets or pots filled with a quality soil mix and some time-release fertilizer or into flowers beds. While garden soil quality isn’t terribly important to grow good petunias, well-drained soil is. Petunias do not like wet feet. I always work well-composted horse manure into the soil first before planting. (My compost of choice, of course.) It’s always useful to improve garden soil by conditioning it with some form of organic matter, such as baled peat moss (if you have sandy soil), well-rotted leaf compost or manure. Another important requirement for growing petunias successfully is a location with plenty of light. Petunias need at least five or six hours of good sunlight; they’ll perform even better when located in full sun all day. The more shade they receive, the fewer flowers they’ll produce. Impatiens are a better choice as blooming annuals in semi-shady or shady places. The only other thing a petunia plant needs to thrive outside of six hours of good sunlight, well-drained soil is a good drink once a week. Petunias are tolerant of heat so a thorough watering once a week should be sufficient. The spreading types and those in containers require more frequent watering however. Spreading or ground cover petunias are pickiest about water. Weekly waterings should be included in the care of all petunias, especially those in direct sun. If we are having a very hot summer I will sometimes water those petunias in hanging baskets daily depending upon their need. (Drip irrigation works well in these situations.) Garden Hint: A simple means of testing your soil is to stick your index finger into the soil up to the first knuckle. If the soil feels dry your plants need water Fertilize your plants monthly with a quality water-soluble all-purpose plant food to ensure good growth. Double-flowered cultivars like a biweekly dose of fertilizer. Finally, I try to deadhead my blooming annuals once a week. Deadheading not only helps prolong blooming, it also keeps plants looking fresh, healthy and well-groomed. Although it may not be practical to deadhead masses of petunias in the garden, it’s a must for flowering annuals in containers. In My Opinion: In the spring I always try to attend as many yard, garden and home fairs/shows as I can. They are a great source of landscaping ideas, the latest in tools and materials as well as showcasing many of the new plants to be found in the local nurseries. These shows are just plain fun. I like talking with the experts and attending the lectures but… when it comes to buying new plants I make notes and buy from my local nursery. We have a lot of well-run plant nurseries in SW Washington and they deserve our support.

for Petunias

Garden Gate

—Happy Gardening! diva—cont’d from page 8

of fire grilled steak, cut into bite-sized pieces and served with cottage cheese, tomato slices, horseradish and au jus. ($9.50) While the steak was melt-in-your-mouth tender, the horseradish was quite bland and the au jus much too salty. Mary’s also offers a wide variety of breakfast items, appetizers, burgers, gourmet hot dogs, sandwiches, a huge selection of beer, and wine, and for the very bold… Rocky Mountain oysters, $7.50. you do know what they are, right? (Chuckle!) What we plan to try next time: Mary’s Bar & Grill is offering a three piece halibut fish and chips plate, yum!! ($13.99). And my lunch companion has already decided she will have the new Crab cocktail. ($12.99) We can hardly wait!!! Mary’s Bar & Grill, 4503 ocean Beach Highway, (Mt. Solo Plaza), Longview, WA. 360-425-1637. open daily 6 a.m. to 12 a.m. Find them on the ’net at www.marysbarandgrill.com (you can order online!) or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/marysbarandgrill. www.reviewmediagroup.com


what’s happening—cont’d from page 2

To reserve tickets call (360) 225-9522 or visit www. lelooska.org. The ceremonial house is located just 45 minutes Northeast of Portland, OR and just 10 minutes east of I-5 from the Woodland exit. Visit their website for more information and directions. AMALAK Book Sale Come to the Plant, Treasure and Book Sale! Friday, May 6, 9 am to 4 pm and Saturday, May 7, 9 am to 2 pm at Haydu Park, 253 Kalama River Rd. in Kalama, Washington. For more information contact Shirley Lowman, 360 6734071. Vaccinations? The Childhood Vaccination Controversy, a talk by Dr. Harley Youngblood takes place May 10, 2016 at 7 p.m. there is no cost to attend. It’s spring! Time again to consider the facts about vaccinations. Dr. Youngblood presents the latest information to help you be informed. To attend, go to the Family Chiropractic Center at Salmon Creek, Inc., 11815 NE Hwy 99 Suite A, Vancouver, WA 98686. For more information contact them at 360-696-4405 or go to: www.salmoncreekchiro.com Clark County Sheriff’s Office To No Longer Respond To Non-Injury, Non-Blocking Traffic Collisions Annual seasonal service demands coupled with operational personnel shortages require a restructuring in patrol response priorities for the Clark County Sheriff’s Office. As a result, sheriff’s deputies will no longer respond to noninjury, non-blocking vehicular crashes. Drivers are encouraged to safely move damaged vehicles off the roadway and exchange driver’s license and vehicle information including automobile insurance coverage. Exceptions may be made if one or more of the following conditions exist: • Involved vehicle driver may be under the influence of alcohol or drugs. • The public roadway remains partially blocked by a vehicle or debris from the crash. • The drivers or other parties are engaged in a disturbance • A publicly owned vehicle or public property is damaged. • An involved driver does not possess a valid driver’s license or has had their driving privileges suspended or revoked. Sheriff’s deputies will continue to respond to crashes on county roadways if the roadway is blocked or drivers/occupants require immediate emergency medical care. Drivers are also reminded to complete a Washington State Accident report form when required. Washington State Law requires any driver, pedestrian, pedal cycle or property owner involved in a collision within the state— with $1000 or more damage to any one unit and/or injury to any person—must complete a Motor Vehicle Collision Report. However, if a police officer is present and indicates he/she will submit a collision report, then you are not required to submit one. Collision reports may be filed online at: http://www.wsp.wa.gov/publications/collision.htm Free Air Conditioners For MS Patients In Oregon & Sw Washington Candyce Hayes, Multiple Sclerosis Society of Portland (MSSP) Executive Director, said “We began our program called “Summer Comfort” on April 7, 2016. The program, which began in 1994, provides Multiple Sclerosis (MS) clients living in Oregon & SW Washington a new, portable 5000 BTU window air conditioner. The program usually starts in mid-May but due to ever increasing temperatures, it was started earlier. In 2015 MSSP gave 103 units. We hope to send 125 units this year but need cash donations vs.

used air conditioners. Those interested should contact our office at 503-297-9544 or e-mail us at programs@msoregon.org. All applications must include verification of a MS diagnosis.” According to Dr. Dennis Bourdette, Professor of Neurology at OHSU, “People with MS cannot tolerate heat. Unfortunately, medical insurance does not cover the cost of providing air conditioning units for people with MS, despite the well-recognized deleterious effects of heat on MS. Many people with MS are disabled and must live on a very limited income, often making it impossible for them to afford purchasing an air conditioning unit. By providing air conditioning units to people with MS who could not otherwise afford them, the MS Society of Portland’s Summer Comfort Program is a unique service.” The Multiple Sclerosis Society of Portland, Inc. (MSSP) is an independent private, non-profit organization that was founded in 1949 by the Columbia Lions Club to meet the day-to-day needs of those individuals suffering from MS. For more information about MS or the MSSP, please visit our website www.msoregon.org or contact Candyce Hayes.

TOPS #1056 Meets in Vancouver TOPS WA 1056 Vancouver, meets every Wednesday at the Shiloh Fellowship Church located at 10709 SE 10th Street Vancouver, WA 98684. Weigh in begins at 8:15. The meetings are 9:30 to 10:30. Any questions, please contact Barbara Smith at 360-901-4634 or at Barbarassouthern breeze@gmail.com.

Free prescription ­discount cards offer savings for county residents Clark County residents can save money on prescription drugs by using the county’s free prescription discount drug program, Public Health officials said Tuesday. The National Association of Counties sponsors the prescription drug discount card program. The cards are free and may be used by all county residents regardless of age, income or existing health coverage. They are accepted at most pharmacies. A Spanish language version of the card is available. Cards are available at city halls, libraries, participating pharmacies and C-Tran transit centers throughout the county. They also are available at these Clark County facilities: • Center for Community Health, 1601 E. Fourth Plain Blvd. • Public Service Center, 1300 Franklin St. • Auto Licensing, 1408 Franklin St. Residents can use the card any time insurance does not cover a prescription. There are no enrollment forms, restrictions or limits on how many times the card can be used. For assistance with the program or to check medication prices online, call 1-877-321-2652 toll free or visit https:// www.caremark.com/wps/myportal/FRAMED_CHECK_ DRUG_COST.

Volunteers Needed Woodland Mobile Meals is in need of volunteer drivers. Meals are picked up at the America’s Family Diner on Lewis River Drive at 10:45 along with recipients names and addresses. Delivery usually takes a little over an hour. If you are interested in assisting with this outreach to seniors program please call Moze Meeker at 225-6501 or June Jones at Woodland Real Estate 225-8278. Deliveries are in the Woodland, WA, metro area.

The Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge #17 Welcomes You! The Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge meets on the 1st Tuesdays of the month with a dinner starting at 6:30 p.m. followed by the Lodge meeting at 7:30 p.m. Meeting address is 143 Davidson Ave., Woodland, WA 98674 (upstairs). For more information contact them at 360-200-1799 or check out their Facebook page by searching for “Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge 17”

Mall Adoption Events for the Humane Society of Cowlitz County. We are at the Three Rivers Mall in the former Fibre Credit Union space on Friday and Saturday, the 3rd weekend of every month. We will have cats and dogs for adoption. All are microchipped and current on shots; all cats, and many of our dogs are already spayed/neutered. For a complete list of all adoptable animals at the Humane Society please direct individuals to www.cowlitzhumane.com or www.petfinder.com.

AGLOW meeting coming up! Meeting location: Shiloh Fellowship Church, 10709 SE 10th St., Vancouver. Time: 7:00 p.m., with fellowship at 6:00 p.m. For more information: (360) 694-6914. TOPS #1129 Meets in Woodland The TOPS #1129 Group meets at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesdays for their weigh-in and meeting at the Woodland Com­mun­ity Center located at 782 Park Street. For more information contact Delores at 360-606-6434. Tops #1489 Meets in Kalama The Kalama Tops (Take Off Pounds Sensibly) group meets every Tuesday at 9 am for their weigh in and meeting at the Kalama Methodist Church at 111 N 2nd Street. It is a low cost, educational support Group. Any questions call Debbie at 360-673-5183.

TOPS #1407 Meets in Longview TOPS #1407 Longview, meets every Wednesday at the Heron Pointe Recreational Center located at 5815 Ocean Beach Hwy., Longview, WA 98632. Weigh-in begins at 9:30 am and the meetings start at 10:00 am. Any questions, please contact Ellen at 360-355-4353. SW Wash­ing­ton Gold Prospectors Meet! The SW Washington Gold Prospectors club meets every 2nd Sunday every month at 1:00 p.m. at the Minnehaha Grange Hall at 4905 NE St. Johns Road in Vancouver, WA. For more information contact Steve at 971-212-5996 or go to www.swwgoldprospectors.org or see their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/Swwgp.

Host an Exchange Student? ASSE International Student Exchange Pro­grams (ASSE) is seeking local host families for international high school boys and girls. These students are 15 to 18 years of age, and are coming to this area for the upcoming high school year or semester. These personable and academically selected ex­change students are conversant in English, bright, curious and anxious to learn about this country through living as part of a family, attending high school and sharing their own culture and language with their newly adopted host family. Those persons interested in obtaining more information about becoming a host family should call toll free: 1-800733-2773 or go to host.asse.com. There are many students to choose from, so call or go online—and begin the process of selecting your new host son or daughter today!

Community Home Health & Hospice offers free grief support Community Home Health & Hospice (Community) offers free grief support in Longview at the James Avery Grief Center, 1000 12th Avenue and at Prestige Senior Living—Monticello Park, 605 Broadway Street. Grief support groups help those grieving the loss of a loved one take the proper steps toward recovery. In a judgement-free environment facilitated by staff and volunteer grief specialists, participants can share their loss with others who have suffered through similar grief. For more information contact Annanissa Patterson, bereavement coordinator, at 360-703-0300 or griefsupport@chhh.org.

diva—cont’d from page 6

Addendum: Eaterations Food Cart (April 2016 issue) We heard from the fellows at the Eaterations Food Cart in Longview. Here’s what John Skreen, owner of eaterations had to say: To whom it concerns, I would like to thank you for the write-up in your paper on eaterations food cart in Longview. We appreciate your kind words. We take pride in providing food of the highest quality, prepared fresh daily and cooked to order. Our burgers are all 100% top sirloin, and our chicken, bread, vegetables and condiments are all of the highest quality, so it is gratifying when people notice that we don’t cut corners with our food purchases. As you can tell by Chris’s

response below, he was a little frustrated that someone else received credit for his talents as a chef. Joel hasn’t been with eaterations for almost a year, so our success can be attributed to Chris and our team’s hard work and dedication. I don’t know how it could be remedied, but I know a correction would be greatly appreciated by Chris. Regardless, thank you again for a very positive article. Sincerely, Jon Skreen, Owner, eaterations food cart and from Chef Chris: Hello I would first like to say thank you for the nice write up about the food cart...just thought you should know that there’s one mistake… the chef, Joel Lovell, that you

www.reviewmediagroup.com

mentioned in the article hasn’t been a part of eaterations for about seven months and nothing on the menu [are] any of his creations… I just thought you should know because I put a huge amount of time and effort into what I create… thanks again for the article…. Chris Grasseth, Chef of eaterations Kudos to the Chefs at eaterations! We try hard to be accurate when writing up the restaurant reviews—but errors can happen. So visit the guys at eaterations and check out their menu for yourselves! They’re passionate about their creations, so you’re sure to be a happy eaterations diner yourself!

may 2016 • the review • 7


D ining P leasure 5 FOR YOUR

I

f soul food in the south is fried chicken and collard greens,what is the soul food of the north? It has to be hamburgers. on almost every menu in almost any restaurant you will find hamburger served in one form or another. In fact, these days, the lowly hamburger has been raised to an edible art form. Now I’m not talking about fast food restaurants where the hamburger is an merely an edible napkin that comes with its accoutrements, but more the small individual restaurants like Mary’s Bar & Grill at 4530 ocean Beach Highway in Longview, Washington.

This eatery is one of the best in the Longview/Kelso area for classic hamburgers or, if you are feeling adventurous, a hamburger on the wild and crazy side. Mary’s Bar & Grill, located in a small strip mall off ocean Beach highway, has all the vibe of a man cave but girls, don’t let that put you off from going here. The food is that good. What we tried: I’m a classic burger person. Not for me all the cheese, avocado, bacon, etc. I like to taste the meat and fortuBY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE nately I can say the hamburger meat that made up a goodly portion of my classic burger had a rich smoky meaty flavor. Delish!! ($7.50) All the burgers at Mary’s Bar and Grill are made from certified beef and cut with brisket for added flavor and are served with house fries and a refillable soda. G V I E W, WA My lunch companion, however, decided to go a bit bolder and chose the Bacon and Blue Burger. Topped with their house spread, bacon, blue cheese, sautéed mushrooms, onions, lettuce, tomatoes and pickles, she said this one was a COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR! BRAKES • TIRES • ALIGNMENTS scrumptious mouthful… literally! ($10.95) Integrity, honesty & We also decided to split great customer service! an order of Steak Bites— 1944 Belmont Loop • Woodland, WA • M–F, 7:30 – 5:30 eight scrumptious ounces

Mary’s Bar & Grill LON

www.reeds-automotive.com

diva—cont’d on page 6

1230 ‘C’ Lewis River Road • 360-841-8699 www.luckmancoffee.com

50OFF 1 ¢

$ OFF PER POUND OF OUR FRESH

ANY COFFEE DRINK!

ROASTED COFFEE!

Must present coupon. Expires 4/30/2016. No cash value. Not valid with any other offers. Limit one per customer. Valid only at the Woodland, WA location.

Must present coupon. Expires 4/30/2016. No cash value. Not valid with any other offers. Limit one per customer. Valid only at the Woodland, WA location.

MAJOR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED • LUCKMAN GIFT CARDS AVAILABLE MONDAY–SATURDAY 5:30 A.M. — 6:30 P.M. • SUNDAY 7:00 A.M. — 3:00 P.M.

8 • the review • may 2016

www.reviewmediagroup.com

The Review, May 2016, Vol 12 Issue 5  

Family-safe reading about the best of Southwest Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you