Page 1

MARCH 2014 • VOL 12, ISSUE 3 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

FREE!

NORTHWEST

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

SW WASHINGTON HISTORY

This imposing residence belonged to Mrs. A. E. Wintler; she and her husband were involved in the ownership of the land which today comprises Wintler Park on the Columbia.

ABOVE: This three-story courthouse was built in 1883 at 11th and Franklin. The public school was built about the same time. RIGHT GROUPING: Harvey H. Gridley was a prominent merchant in Vancouver; he was born in New York (bottom image). Charles W. Slocum was also a well-known Vancouver merchant. After Slocum and his wife died in the early 1900s, his home was used as a business office for a paper mill; the house was eventually moved to Esther Short Park, where it served as a theater and has now become a home to a microbrewery (top image in group).

Vancouver’s Destiny SEE THE STORY ON PAGE 6


den Insect ar s G

Habitat For Helpers

D

e

t

eveloping habitat for tiny garden helpers involves leaving some messy piles, wild wood areas, bare dirt, damp clay, wet, partially-submerged rocks and persistent perennio vLI als. They like natural chaos that provides places to hide, ST K o OR n O ow andGL YA OF ND AR places for other bugs, places to raise young, places to rest safely, PHOTO S BY NORA places to say, “Now this is a spot where I can live.” Critters like rove beetles, ground beetles and others in the beetle group like mounds that will remain undisturbed for long periods of time. The mounds don’t have to be big, but of course if there is room for a bigger pile it will likely be welcomed by these small, hard-shelled workers. A nice mound made of stones, sticks, some turf and other organic debris such as leaves, smaller sticks and other such detritus is great. As all this percolates over time, it provides hiding places, nesting places and even food from many sources since many forms of life in the garden find this kind I accidentally disturbed this lovely bumble bee queen early one February. I hope she was able to snuggle back of pile on their list of good down into the heavy mulch she had been hiding in on spots to live. this flower bed. Persistent perennials with mulched or messy feet is another space these and other garden helpers appreciate. It can be quite remarkable how much life is harbored in what appears to be plain old mulch. Mulch serves many purposes. It protects the soil from extreme temperature changes, allows soil organisms protection from the elements as well as predators and provides places to hide for the upper crust groups of critters. Bundles of small hollow sticks placed in spaces all around the garden provides nesting spots for many of the solitary pollinators such as mason bees, polyester bees, leaf cutter bees and others. Leaving areas of vegetation-free, unimproved soil provides the mason bees with supplies they will need to make the little dividers between each egg they will lay in the tube like sticks or bee blocks that may have been provided by a thoughtful gardener. Some types of solitary pollinators live in the soil and like a slightly south-facing span of nearly bare, slightly packed soil to build their special nesting tunnels in. Even providing safe places to access fresh water for these help- Pollen heavily cloaks this hard working little solitary ers is encouraging to them. pollinator. Pollen is rich in protein, an important building block included in the little food packet she Placing porous blocks of rock or will l ay her egg on in a tunnel like nest, maybe in a aged concrete in shallow con- stick bundle a kind gardener has made for just such INSECTS—cont’d on page 10

a helper.

2 • THE REVIEW • MARCH 2014

PAYING IT FORWARD: Jason Holdahl BY CHERYL K SPAULDING

E

x-chiropractor Jason Holdahl of Woodland Washington is a good man, caught in the throes of a very bad situation and he needs your help. Ray Vandervalk of Red Leaf Coffee is organizing a fund raiser to help finish a much needed remodeling project at the Holdahl home in Woodland Washington. “If you only have two dollars for a coffee or if you have more, come on by and help Jason Holdahl out,” said Ray. “He and his family need help right now finishing the remodeling of his house.” 100% proceeds of all beverage sales at Red Leaf Coffee Woodland location only, 1519 Pacific Ave, Woodland, (360225-6271) on Monday, March 10th and Tuesday, March 11th from 5:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. will be donated to a special fund set up for the renovation project of the Holdahl home, begun over a year ago by another friend but never completed. All beverage sales will be on a donation basis for the two days of the fund raiser. Holdahl says he needs $20,000 to finish the project and the money raised by Red Leaf Coffee will help them get moving in the right direction again.. Currently Jason Holdahl, his wife Joelle and their four teenage children occupy a very small house originally built in the early 1900s (with only one tiny bathroom, I might add.) At first glance, Holdahl doesn’t look like a man who a quadriplegic with special care needs. He’s able to lift his arms, work on his computer and, even though his hands are partially paralyzed, offer a gentle handshake. He drives a modified car to do grocery shopping, trips around town and to deliver his children to Lacrosse and basketball practice. He also coaches basketball and Lacrosse, all from his wheelchair by the way. Holdahl says the renovations, which includes an accessible and larger bedroom complete with a special needs features (designed for a paralyzed person) and a laundry room, another bedroom for his growing family, a larger kitchen, cost of labor and the necessary building materials, when completed will enable him to become more independent. He says he would also like to install a small garden in his backyard where he can grow fresh vegetables. In July 2008, Holdahl was camping and enjoying a day with his family at Sauvie Island near Portland. He dove off his boat into what he thought was six feet of water, not realizing a low tide and drought conditions had cut the depth to about three feet. Holdahl’s head struck a hidden sand bar, and shattered his neck. A bystander pulled him from the water before he was swept away by the river The devastating accident left Holdahl with $900,000 in medical expenses. At the time of the accident he had no health insurance. He sold his practice in 2008. Unfortunately for Holdhal the new owner later went bankrupt leaving WHAT’S HAPPENING—cont’d from page 3 Street. For more information contact Delores at 360Holdahl without that expect606-6434. ed stream of income. He says becoming more Cowlitz County Mosquito independent will help him Control Meetings Scheduled to start looking at what his Notice is hereby given that the regular meetings of options are for the future. Cowlitz County Mosquito Control District for calendar year 2014 shall be as follows: Tuesday, April 29 at 6 p.m., Holdahl says he has a pasTuesday, June 17 at 6:30, Tuesday, September 16 at 6:30, sion for serving people and Tuesday, October 14, at 6:30 would like to get back to The April 29 meeting will be held at 2563 Cascade Way, that some day. Longview, Washington. All other meetings will be held at 1319 South 13th, Kelso, Washington.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


WHAT’S HAPPENING

IN THIS ISSUE The Review — March 2014, Vol. 12, Issue 3

On the Cover

SW Washington History: Vancouver’s Destiny! By Karen Johnson

2 Garden Insects:

Habitats for Helpers By Nora Garofoli

3 What’s Happening

4

Around Town Over the Garden Gate: Succulents!

By Cheryl Spaulding

5 Stepping Stones By Pat Stepp

6 History: Vancouver’s Destiny!

By Karen Johnson

8 Travels with Walter: Florida!

By Walter Pistor

10 Religion: Annointed! By Lori Anderson

11 Birds Galore: 2013— A Big Year for Birds

Guest Columnist & Photographer Doug Schurman

12 Restaurant Review:

Rutherglen Mansion, Longview, WA By Diva Gastronomique

WHAT’S HAPPENING Spring Craft and Garden Sale at St. Timothy’s in Chehalis Come join us Saturday, April 26th, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. for our annual Spring Craft and Garden Sale at St. Timothy Episcopal Church located at 1826 SW Snively in Chehalis. Friendly Neighbors Garden Club will offer expertly grown vegetables, herbs, perennials, shrubs, trees, and unusual plants. Baked goods and pie by the slice will be available for purchase. Talented local craftsmen will have their art for sale. Our annual event, Spring in Bloom, provides all proceeds raised by the church to go to those in need through donations to various local community programs. For more information, contact Nancy Simms at 360-748-6510 or k_ nsimms@msn.com. 13th Annual Spring Show and Sale of Fine Arts and Crafts Battle Ground Art Alliance is hosting a fine art and craft show Saturday, March 22, 2014, 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Sunday, March 23, 2014, 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. This juried show and sale is thelargest of its kind in Southwest Washington and features many art mediums, including paintings, jewelry, photography, woodwork, fabric, ceramics and more. The show will be held at the Battle Ground Community Center, 912 East Main Street, Battle Ground, WA. This is event is free to the public and family friendly. Please come view the art, vote your favorite piece of art for the people’s Choice award, participate in the silent auction, and listen to and watch the musicians and have an enjoyable fun time. This year an additional themed exhibit will feature interpretations on the theme “CELEBRATE THE RAIN”. The silent auction will be held on Saturday between 10:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. and features artworks donated by Battle Ground Art Alliance artists. A meet-the-artist public reception will be held between 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. with

Battle Ground Mayor Shane Bowman presenting awards at 6:30 p.m. Local performing artists will be providing continuous musical entertainment. Monetary donations will be gratefully accepted by musicians who are donating their time and talents for this art event. Battle Ground Art Alliance is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization whose mission is to support and encourage art in our community and to increase public awareness of the arts through exhibitions and community outreach. This annual Spring Show and Sale is the major fundraiser for the alliance and supports our mission. Donations of canned goods for the North County Community Food Bank will be gratefully accepted. For further information, contact Beth Johnson-Burger, President, Battle Ground Art Alliance, (360) 901-3823, bjbart2012@gmail.com or www.bgartalliance.com

Calling Local Artists!! Holland America Bulb Farms is looking for local artists to participate in our first Wine and Art Show at the Tulip Farm! There will be all sorts of mediums, including pottery, paintings, photography, jewelry, quilts, etc. Schedule your juried appointment today. Volunteers Needed Deadline is March 21st, contact Stacey@habf.net or Woodland Mobile Meals is in need of volunteer drivcall 360-225-4512. ers. Meals are picked up at the America’s Family Diner on Lewis River Drive at 10:45 along with recipients Library Launches 2014 Summer Reading names and addresses. Delivery usually takes a little over Bookmark Contest an hour. If you are interested in assisting with this outFort Vancouver Regional Library District will launch reach to seniors program please call Moze Meeker at its 2014 Summer Reading Bookmark Contest on 225-6501 or June Jones at Woodland Real Estate 225Saturday, Feb. 15. The popular annual contest is open to 8278. Substitute drivers are urgently need for October children in kindergarten through twelfth grades. 3–11. Deliveries are in the Woodland, WA, metro area. Entry forms for the contest are available in English, Spanish and Russian at any FVRLD library or bookmo- TOPS #1129 Meets in Woodland The TOPS #1129 Group meets at 9:00 a.m. on bile, or on the district’s Web site, www.fvrl.org. Printed Tuesdays for their weigh-in and meeting at the forms also are being distributed to school districts. Woodland Community Center located at 782 Park The deadline to turn in completed entries to any FVRLD library or bookmobile is Monday, March 31. WHAT’S HAPPENING—cont’d on page 2 Contest categories are: 1) Kindergarten and first grade; 2) second and third grades; 3) fourth and fifth grades; 4) sixth, seventh and eighth grades; and 5) ninth LARK OUNTY ARM ORESTRY through twelfth grades.

C

WHAT’S HAPPENING AT VFW

GUARANTEED WINNERS!! Every Tuesday — PUBLIC WELCOME! Games Begin @ 6:30—COME JOIN US! BREAKFAST—2nd Saturday Each Month; 8–11 AM

Circulation approx. 15,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Cougar, Amboy, Yale, Fargher Lake, Battle Ground, Vancouver, and Kelso/Longview). Published monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook

Albertson’s Food & Drug 2108 W. Main St. Battle Ground, WA

ALL REAL ESTATE advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

PRAYER WARRIOR will pray for you. Give me a call if you have a need. 360-567-5146.

Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a selfaddressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in any form whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

360 225-5980 1501 Guild Road, Woodland Hours: M-Sat., 10–6; Closed Sundays

CHICKS WILL BE HERE MARCH 14!

ROOMS FOR RENT Downtown Woodland, $420/mo + tax or $150/wk + tax, utilities included. Call 225-7339 or 7723518.

WWW.REMNANTFARMS.NET

Northwood Park Funeral Home & Cemetery

LHA PROPERTIES

Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama

360

225-7781

22 Species Geographically Selected $1.00 and up.

FEED & SUPPLY

FOR RENT

Family & Elderly/ Disabled Units Pay only 30% of your adjusted gross income

F

Remnant Farms

CLASSIFIEDS 01

F

Sat. March 16th 8 am to noon

Gus Forbes VFW Post 1927 434 Davidson Ave., Woodland, WA (360) 225-5854

PUBLISHER’S NOTICE

C

Annual Seedling Sale

B I N G O

ANNOUNCEMENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS Please call if you have questions: Phone: (360) 225-1273; Fax: (360) 225-4838; web: www.reviewmediagroup.com; e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com Physical address: 131 Davidson Ave., Suite AA; Mailing address: PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674 Deadlines: Please see our deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com.

Finalists for each grade grouping will be chosen at individual libraries. One district-wide, grand-prize winner will be selected from among local finalists for each grade grouping. Grand-prize winning bookmark designs will be printed and distributed in conjunction with the district’s Summer Reading program, which runs June 1 through Aug. 31. Grand-prize winners will also receive framed copies of their bookmarks and will be honored at local celebration events. “Our 2013 contest attracted 4,650 entries,” said Amy Scott, program services coordinator for the district. Questions about the contest may be directed to your local library, to (360) 906-5106 or toll-free 888-5462707 from area code 509, or via the email form at http:// contact.fvrl.org. Major sponsors for the contest are International House of Pancakes, Medallion Art School, Pacific Office Automation, iQ Credit Union, Panda Express, The Old Spaghetti Factory, and Fort Vancouver Regional Library Foundation.

Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery Cremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA 360

574-4252

Woodland Funeral Home 225-8441

Traditional Services & Cremations 360 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

MARCH 2014 • THE REVIEW • 3


over the

S

ome are some are thin, some are colorful and some are not. But one thing they all have in common is they are beautiful and nearly indestructible. I’m talking about succulents. Succulents include some of the most wellknown plants (aloe and agave) and include a wide variety of genus and species and therefore come in a variety of colors, shapes, and textures. Cacti are also in the succulent family. Succulents, sometimes known as fat plants, are plants that are abnormally normally thickened or fleshy, usually By Cheryl Spaulding to retain water in arid climates or soil conditions. Sometimes it’s the roots but more often the stems or leaves are thicken to store water. Succulents are the perfect plant for the beginning gardener and for a child’s garden because they are usually simple and very easy to grow. They have adapted to survive drier-than-normal conditions throughout the world. This adaptation has resulted in an incredible variety of leaf forms and plant shapes, including paddle leaves, tight rosettes, and bushy or trailing columns of teardrop leaves.

Succulents Booming in Popularity

Garden Gate

SAVE THE DATE… Coming in April! The Holland America Bulb Farm’s

TULIP FESTIVAL! Here’s a little of what you can look forward to: April 5th from 4 to 8 p.m.

HOLLAND AMERICA GIFT SHOP

Wine and Art Festival

April 6th — 9 a.m. April 12–13, 19–20

1066 N. Pekin Road Woodland, WA 98674

5 K tulip trot

225-4512

360

Tulip Festival

PAYING IT FORWARD

100

%

MONEY LOCAL

OF THE

MARCH Join our 10TH &11TH FUNDRAISER to Help ONLY Support WOODLAND LOCATION ONLY

Grown inside or out in the garden; succulents prefer bright light, such as found in a south-facing window. Watch the leaves for indications that the light level is correct. Some species will scorch if suddenly exposed to direct sunlight. On the other side of the leaf, a succulent that does not receive light will begin to stretch, resulting in an elongated stem and widely spaced leaves. Many kinds of succulents will thrive outdoors in the summer, some year round. More good news! Just because some succulents evolved in the deserts of Africa doesn’t mean they cannot survive the cold. As in the desert, where there is often a marked contrast between night and day, succulents thrive in colder nights. While many succulents prefer warm temperatures and are not able to withstand freezing, some are able to take those lower temperatures for a short period. Sedums may surprise you. If grown in pots, place sedums in fast draining soil mixture, sedums grown outside in the garden have a little more leeway. Sedums do great in rock gardens and on berms, if you have heavy soil. As well as in-between stepping stones, just use your imagination. The Pacific Northwest has several native sedums which live and thrive nicely, thank you. The Broad-leaved stonecrop (Sedum spathulifolium) is one of those succulents that grow only on the West Coast from British Columbia to California. It can be found at low elevations in coastal areas up to middle elevations and in habitats such as rocky outcrops, forest openings, cliffs and bluffs. However, you won’t find it in wet or overly shady places such as forests, woodlands or wetlands. Broad Leaf Stone Crop also has a history of medical use by Native Americans. “Halq’emeylem used it as a styptic poultice while Songish women used it at the end of their pregnancy to ease labor. Popular lore has it that girls would pick two pieces on Mid-summers Eve, one to represent themselves and one to represent their lover. The pieces were measured for how long they lasted before turning brown and whether ‘his’ turned toward ‘hers’ to determine fidelity. Because of this sedums are dubbed ‘livelong’ and ‘long long’. Succulents should be watered in the summer but always let the soil dry out between watering. While they do need water to survive, succulents can endure extended periods of drought, relying on the stored water and nutrients in their leaves. However, if their roots are sitting in water for too long they will start to rot and die. Extremes in temperature as well as lack of water or sunlight can often result in a color change for succulents. Succulents tend to “blush” or turn a different color when given a shock, such as more sunlight than they are used to. Generally when succulents are lacking in sunlight they will be dull or green. When fully blushing they range in color from pinks, oranges, and purples to dark blacks and reds. One of the amazing qualities of succulents is their ability to propagate easily. While some species propagate more easily than others, many can grow new plants from a leaf that has fallen off the plant. Some put out new ‘pups’ as they get larger. For those of you who are intrigued by going ‘green’, a growing popularity, in drier climates, is the green roof covered with green roof plants, usually sedums. This is a really old take on the sod houses used on the prairies by settlers in the 1800s for insulating the roof to keep the heat out. Also Boardleafed Stone Crop growing on roofs was believed to protect houses from lightning. If you are interested in this trend consult with a licensed contractor. These roofs can become very heavy.

The COST of a DRINK or YOUR GENEROUS DONATION— 100% OF THE MONEY WILL GO TO JASON!

Jason Holdahl!

Bargains of the Month!

—Happy Gardening! 1519 PACIFIC AVE • WOODLAND

360-225-6271

4 • THE REVIEW • MARCH 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


Stepping Stones

“You are not yet used to our custom, I tell you. But your opinion is surely going to change when you attend our ceremonial gathering and you witness the immense crowds BY PAT STEPP © Copyright 2013/2014 flocking to the Games, the amphitheater’s packed with thousands of spectatos, the athletes applauded and the victor honored as an equal of the gods.”

T

he words above are from a letter written by Solon to the Scythian Anarcharsis in the 6th century BCE (Before Christian Era) when Solon was doing some public relations about the ancient Olympian Games in Greece. Our Olympic Games offer life lessons that I often forget with the extinguishing of the giant flame. It is beautiful to see all the athletes fill the stadium and mingle together in what passes for friendship as they savor their individual experiences of the Games. The many human interest stories that feature the hardships and self-denial involved in representing their countries makes me feel that weare alike in many ways. Although, by nature, I always support the home team, I often get caught up in the drama of their individual struggles. As I write this I am watching the women iceskaters do their final free performances. Each skater is hoping for a Gold Medal, thus

to be an “equal of the gods”. Watching the “Kiss and Cry”sement while each skater waits for the number of points to appear on a screen, they must be reviewing what went wrong on their turn on the ice. Their anxious bright eyes reflect their conflicted emotions as they await their fate. Proceeding through life “by the seat of my pants” is something with which I can identify. I have a mouse pad that reads “Leap and the net will appear”. On my great days, I leap ahead. Other days I sit frozen, dreading what comes next. The pratfall comes from sitting not from leaping! One of the commentators, a former Olympic skater himself, summed up a skater’s performance with: It is not her best performance today but she will still be “in the hunt”. His prediction gave me hop for my favorite skier. Being of hunter-gathering ancestry, I like the phrase “in the hunt”. Althought I cannot be in the ice-skating hunt, having never ice-skated, I can still identify with the skaters. I have had the sensation of “skating on thin ice”. Another sport might be a better choice. Curling might be a possibility. The curlers slike on the ice in their shoes. My favorite skater ‘medaled’. She was going for the ‘gold’ and she got ‘bronze’. Although it isn’t as shiny, it is still jewelry. She will not get endorsements that the ‘gold’ skater got but her dream was finally realized on the world stage. She looks happy, really happy. Forgive me, I have come down with Olympic Fever.

FLORIDA—cont’d from page 9

One day we spent time at Flamingo Gardens in Ft. Lauderdale. It was fairly interesting because it had a variety of birds and animals like a Florida panther, a bobcat and a big black bear and of course flamingos. They also have a variety of trees and plants and a bird show. We tried to shop at the huge Saw Grass Mills, the largest outlet shopping destination in the U.S. with more than 350 stores near Weston, but we couldn’t find parking or figure out exactly where certain stores were located. We did enjoy shopping at the Galleria Mall in Ft. Lauderdale. We met Ginger and Doug at the dock and took a short boat ride to Cap’s Place Island Restaurant and Bar at Lighthouse Point, adjacent to Ft. Lauderdale. It has been famous for seafood since the 1920s. Many actors and actresses have dined there, but also President Clinton, etc. P.M. Churchill and President Roosevelt had a secret meeting there in 1942. If you like old, rustic, historic places, you could try their jumbo shrimp crab cakes. We found Naples to be the most charming city in Florida. We love the architecture of the buildings with balustrades in pastel colors in this small city of about 22,000 on Florida’s Paradise Coast. Our friends, Dr. and Mrs. Lally, from the Black Sea cruise, invited us to stay with them in their beautiful condominium in a gated golf community. We had a lot of fun with Jim and Joann as they showed us around. We even enjoyed an episode from “House of Cards” each night. Dr. Lally showed us his specialized cooking skills. We went together to the Edison House and Museum in Ft. Myers. I knew Edison was a great inventor, but I didn’t realize before our visit that Edison was the greatest inventor in the history of the world having filed over A short-billed Dowitcher wades in the surf at Naples 1,000 patents. I would highly Beach, Florida. recommend seeing the Edison and Ford houses. Give yourself enough time to watch several informative films about Edison’s life. We had fun with the Lallys on a boat ride in Naples Bay where we saw many beautiful waterfront homes. We also saw a huge pod of at least 24 pilot whales in the mouth of Gordon Pass. They were confused, disoriented and perhaps sick. The authorities in boats with flashing lights were doing everything possible to encourage the whales to return to the Gulf. Unfortunately, some beached themselves and died. The next day the four of us had lunch at the Citrus restaurant in Naples where I ate tripletail, a salt-water fish I was looking for. We walked out on the long Naples pier where many fishermen were trying their luck. The best results I saw were some sea trout which I remember from my days as a young lieutenant at Tyndall Air Force Base near Panama City, Florida. The famous Turtle Club is located at Vanderbilt Beach Resort. It was voted the number one most romantic spot on Florida’s Paradise Coast. Joann had reserved a table in the sand, so we had a clear view of the ocean waves and one of the prettiest sunsets I ever have seen. Nice company, a splendid spot and the best oysters on the half shell (Blue Points from Connecticut) I ever have eaten—what more could one want? On the way back to Orlando, I ate those Blue Points again at Barnacle Bill’s in Sarasota. It is a decent place for lunch and much less expense than the Turtle Club, but there is a time and a place for special treats. One place we found worth some time was shopping in “Old Town.” They had cheap prices for agates and geodes. There is also a WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

Chocolate Factory tour if you want to learn more about the history and the making of chocolate. I want to particularly recommend the Bonefish Grill which has six restaurants in the Orlando-Kissimmee area. The food is good, reasonably priced, and the service is the best. Nearby Lake Tokopekaliga, off Hwy 192, is famous for big black bass. We didn’t fish it because they had a bass tournament going on, but Mark Detweiler (1-888-3474356) at the Marina Shop helped us with a good referral. Hildegard and I fished more beautiful lakes called the Butler Chain of Lakes which surround the historic little town of Windermere, established in 1889. It is one of Florida’s most sought-after areas of lake-front property. For example, Tiger Woods has a three-story house on Lake Isleworth, one of the pristine lakes which are connected by scenic canals with moss hanging from cypress trees. With the help of our capable guide, Captain Skip Campbell (407-414-2273), Hildegard and I caught a number of largemouth back bass on live shiners using no weight. These were some of the fattest, prettiest bass I ever have seen ranging from over a pound to six pounds. High water quality makes a definite difference in the taste of any fish. These lakes are deeper, cooler and cleaner than most lakes, so we decided to keep four bass for fillets which were delicious baked with herbs. Hildegard also caught and released two Pickerel. My biggest surprise was when I cast out a big shiner, and an osprey immediately snatched it off the surface of the water and flew off with my bait. A pleasant surprise was finding the town of Celebration, also in Orange County. Old houses, shops, restaurants and the Bohemian Hotel are on two sides of a pretty lake; walking trails are on the other two sides. The Columbia restaurant there serves pompano, my favorite Florida fish. Also, enchanting Cuban music is played inside and outside of the restaurant. If you go to Florida, do some research in advance and have ideas as to what you want to see and do. Hopefully, some of the places I have mentioned in this report are new to you.

MARCH 2014 • THE REVIEW • 5


I

SW WASHINGT

n August of 1883, Vancouver, Washington Territory was an up-and-coming metropolis. Or so claimed the editor of The West Shore, that journalistic paragon of Northwest promotionalism. Subtitled “The Oldest Town in Washington Territory; Surrounded by a Great Extent of Agricultural and Timber Land; Homes on Government Land for Thousands,” the illustrated article lauded Vancouver’s accomplishments and possibilities. Although the then-population of the city was only 1,500, promoters saw great things in store for the town and the surrounding area. Herewith, some excerpts from that 1883 article: “….Vancouver itself has a population of BY KAREN L some 1,500, exclusive of the garrison. There are many stores, several of which are metropolitan in appearance and carry large stocks of goods. Their trade extends throughout all the country tributary to the town, and with a railroad as spoken of hereafter could be increased indefinitely over its present proportions. The water supply is excellent in the extreme. Cold, pure spring water is brought in pipes a distance of five miles to reservoirs near town, from which it is distributed by a system of mains and supply pipes, the elevation being sufficient to give strong pressure at the point of delivery. The quantity of water that can be utilized in this way is abundant for a city of 20,000 inhabitants. The company has just expended $8,000 in laying additional and larger pipes, and now has ten miles of pipe in use. It is very liberal in its dealings with patrons, allowing them the privilege of watering their premises without extra charge. “In the matter of its public buildings it surpasses any town of its size on the coast. A two story and basement brick court house has just been completed at a cost of $35,000, and is handsome in general appearance and in its interior is attractive and conveniently arranged. A splendid frame school house, two stories high, with a basement beneath, and containing eight large school rooms, is now ready for occupation. It is arranged with all the modern conveniences for heating and ventilating, and cost $20,000. The Sisters of Charity of the House of Providence have been in Vancouver since the pioneer missionary days, and have done a noble work. They have a very large three-story brick building in which they keep a school and convent. Another frame building is used for a hospital. The town contains many fine residences, some of LEFT: The Sohns and Schuele mercantile building (middle building, center image) has which are very handsome and recently served as the Frontier Restaurant. G. elegant, and a large park adds Hubert Daniels, originally from Ohio, much to its beauty. The miliapprenticed as a tinsmith and eventually operated his own business (center image, left tary reserve is very attractive, building). David Wall, born in Ireland, opened and the whole town site, slophis drugstore at the corner of Fourth and Main ing gently back from the river (bottom left image).

Vanc Des

25O%FF

SUGG RETAILEPSRTED ICE!

6 • THE REVIEW • MARCH 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


TON HISTORY

and offering a splendid view of the Columbia gorge and the great snowy crest of Mount Hood, is exceedingly beautiful. The Vancouver Independent is a weekly paper devoted to the interests of Clarke county, neat in appearance and ably conducted. The Clarke County Register also presents an attractive appearance and is full of news of local interest. The support of two such excellent papers is an evidence of the intelligence of the community. The First National Bank of Vancouver, a much needed institution, has just been organized by the business men, with a capital stock of $50,000. “The manufacturing industries consist of L. JOHNSON a good flouring mill, a large planing mill and sash factory, a saw mill and a brewery in the town, and half a dozen saw mills and one flouring mill at other points in the county. The bottom lands, hills and mountains back from the river are densely covered with fir, cedar, oak, vine maple, cottonwood and alder, timber enough for large saw mills to work upon for many years. The Lucia mills just being erected on the river bank in the lower edge of the town, are owned by Eugene Semple, of Portland. They are constructed on the most approved modern principles and have a daily capacity of 20,000 feet of lumber, 20,000 laths and 20,000 shingles. The building is of good proportions and has more than the usual amount of outside finish, thus being an ornament instead of an eye sore to the city. Occasional cargoes will be sent to other markets, and to facilitate loading a commodious dock has been constructed. “Clarke county contains many thousand acres of fine agricultural land, some of which has been successfully cultivated for years. A heavy growth of timber overspreads it all, but when cleared the soil is found to be rich and productive. Grain yields bountifully on the hills and in the river bottoms. Fruit, such as apples, cherries, pears, plums, etc. yield in abundance and are of excellent flavor. The bottom lands are especially adapted to dairy farming. Grass grows luxuriantly the whole year round. Snow and ice never keep the stock from grass and water, and the expense of maintaining fine dairy cattle is extremely light. Facilities for reaching the market are good, and the demand for dairy products is great. Vegetables, also, can be raise for the city markets at a good profit. Of the land desirable for settlement there are yet thousands of acres belonging to the government, and that settlers are rapidly taking TOP, RIGHT: The Sisters of Providence homesteads here the population academy and orphanage was constructed statistics amply show. This has from 1871 to 1873, and was known as the of Providence. Although the not been the result of a “boom” House academy closed in 1966, it is now listed on of any kind nor of town lot the National Register of Historic Places. speculation, but is the actual BOTTOM, RIGHT: These cone-shaped structures settlement of families upon the served as early reservoirs for the drinking vacant lands of the county for water supply for Vancouver. the purpose of clearing them of timber and making homes. There is yet room for hundreds of families in this border county of the Columbia river, on land which is, to say the least, not inferior to any in Western Washington.” How many of these predictions have been met, or in fact have been surpassed?

couver’s stiny

Ride Into SPRING! Giant Boulder, Jr. $179.99

Specialized $299.99

Giant Yukon $179.50

! s e k Bi

Dasani

$79.99

Schwinn SX $199.99

$329.99

$399.99

$599.99

Specialized Hardrock $149.99

Red Line 5X Supa Suteki Track 10 $299.99

$129.99

$299.99

Gary Fisher Wahoo Series 61 Bike

Specialized Trek 3 Series 3700 Hard Rock 29

Schwinn Aluminum Comp

Specialized Stump Jumper

$179.99

PETS PAWNS & INSTRUMENTS 360

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

578-1557

14 3 8 C O M M E R C E AV E L O N G V I E W, WA

MARCH 2014 • THE REVIEW • 7


Florida

TRAVELS WITH WALTER

to make fast decisions, and you won’t have time to study the maps for alternative choices. We were grateful not to have an accident as we estimate we saw ten over the course of our travels there. There is a myriad of public information relating to things to do in Florida, but how do you pick and choose one activity over another? My goal in this article is to call to your attention unusual, pleasurable things to do from the east BY WALTER PISTOR coast to the west coast of Central and South Florida. I will objectively tell you both riving 3,000 miles in three weeks was the good and the bad. an effortful endeavor, but there were rewards from visiting five destinations in Central and South Florida. I will share with you some travel tips and disclose interesting places and fun things for you to do which you may not have heard of before. On this latest trip, we flew in and out of Orlando International Airport. My wife, Hildegard, and I took a four-hour flight from Portland to Dallas/Ft. Worth and then a second four-hour flight to Orlando. The most important thing I can tell you is to rent a Garmin GPS if you do any extensive driving in Florida. A big map of Florida and local maps of places you want to visit are helpful for orientation, but for details, you need a GPS because the traffic is often fast and heavy. Under intense driving conditions, like on the Miami freeways, you have

D

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa • Cage-free Kennels • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted • Licensed and very affordable! • Pick up and drop off service available

Come let your dog run with the pack! 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama

360 www.paradisedogranch.com facebook.com/theparadisedogranch

601-3570

8 • THE REVIEW • MARCH 2014

Our first destination from Orlando was Ormond Beach, near Daytona Beach, where our accommodations included an ocean view which Hildegard particularly enjoyed. We recommend the Peach Valley Café for a delicious, unusual breakfast and the Stonewood Grill for dinner. Their Chilean sea bass and Caesar salad with anchovies were excellent. We didn’t swim once in the ocean in January due to the unexpected cold wind even though we had sunshiny days. We did enjoy water aerobics in an aqua fitness class in an indoor pool at the Spinnaker Resort. We drove to St. Augustine, the oldest city in the United States, and found the old town enchanting. There were two replicas of famous Spanish sailing ships open for tours, but sadly we did not have time to take them. This is a town worth visiting, and we did drive back to see more of it another day. We took the trolley around to various historical sites. We recommend the Government House Museum to get a historical picture of St. Augustine. I would recommend the charming Casa Monica Hotel as a place to stay. We didn’t visit Disney World because it is oriented to kids, and we had seen it before as well as Disney Land in California on other trips. However, we did visit Epcot again which has a variety of films and exhibits which often are accessed by riding “people movers.” One of the best was “Project Tomorrow” by Siemens. A number of countries have exhibits and specialized food from each country. Hildegard really liked “The American Adventure” at the U.S. pavilion. There is always a big fireworks show over the lake before Epcot closes for the night. You should try to be at the Kennedy Space Center when it opens at 9:00 a.m. in order to take in the IMAX film and the Air Force Museum as well as the many other informative films. There is quite a display of rockets used in our space program. Launch sites can be seen via an included bus ride. Dixie Crossroads is a famous rock shrimp restaurant in Titusville which is close by Cape Canaveral.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


One annoyance was paying four tolls going and coming each way. A disappointment for us was the absence of classical music on the radio. I suggest taking one or two of your favorite CDs so you can have some good music to listen to while driving. We had hoped to have more ocean views as we traveled down A1A, the road closest to the east coast, but our views were blocked by houses, sand dunes and dense vegetation. It is not like the glorious views along the Oregon coast. Another shock for us was the unending line of commercial establishments on both sides of roads in the OrlandoKissimmee area, like Hwy 192. In addition to being commercialized, Florida is very flat with much impenetrable, dense, rough foliage. One positive is that there is much less litter than we see in Washington State. Our primary reason for traveling to Florida was to visit my nephew, Douglas Simmons, and his beautiful wife, Molly, and their baby girl, Abby. Douglas is a brilliant Fidelity portfolio manager, and Molly is a former “Miss Texas.” They live in a spectacular high-rise condo overlooking South Miami Beach. They took us to dinner at one of the most famous restaurants, “Joe’s Stone Crabs.” It was packed, but Douglas knew the maître d’ and got us a table while others waited for hours. I chose yellow-tail snapper which I think is better than ordinary red snapper. Douglas showed us hot spots on South Miami Beach. On the boat dock there was a band playing Cuban music. We took one of the Island Queen Cruises. It was a ninety-minute narrated sight-seeing cruise along scenic Biscayne Bay. It was interesting because we saw many multi-million dollar waterfront houses. The foreign and domestic wealth in Florida is staggering. The Miami skyline is surely one of the most impressive ones in the world, surpassing even Vancouver, B.C. We stayed at a resort in Weston, but we drove to Ft. Lauderdale to have dinner with Jeff and Cheryl Saut at the Sea Watch. Jeff is Chief Market Strategist for Raymond James and the smartest man I know on the

stock market. It was a great pleasure to see them again! The next morning we went to the Miami Seaquarium where we saw great dolphin and killer whale shows. Through glass windows we could see divers feed an assortment of fish in a big tank. Then we drove beyond the aquarium to the Village of Key Biscayne and to the end of the road in Bill Baggs Cape Florida State Park which has nice beaches. I think this end point would be a good place to fish by casting out a float with a live shrimp below it. It is deep, clear water which surely contains some nice fish—maybe even a snook which is a delicious-eating sport fish. Just remember, Miami is life in the fast lane; be careful getting there. Not far from Miami is the historic and elegant Coral Gables Resort called the Biltmore Hotel from 1926. During World War II, it was a huge hospital called the Army Air Forces Regional Hospital. In 1983, the City of Coral Gables restored the Biltmore to its former glory as a grand hotel. It has a fancy French restaurant and a courtyard restaurant, called the Fontana, with a big Spanish fountain. The Biltmore’s outdoor swimming pool is the largest hotel swimming pool in the continental United States. One of our interesting excursions was an “Everglades Day Safari” which included an airboat ride across the “River of Grass” where we looked for wildlife. It was fun. We drove west in a van just north of the Everglades National Park where we saw numerous alligators. We went for a nature walk along a wooden boardwalk. We also took a boat trip out of Everglade City, south of Naples. We went into the shallow water of the Gulf of Mexico and saw various wildlife including a huge flock of white pelicans resting on a sandbar. The next morning, near Weston, Florida, we tried our luck fishing for largemouth black bass in a canal in the Everglades. Hildegard out-fished me by catching 25 black bass on a Gambler garlic plastic worm. We released all but two, about 14 inches long, which we gave to Abby’s nanny, Morey, from Columbia. My sister and brother-in-law, Ginger and Doug Simmons, flew in from Dallas to spend some time with us. Their son, Douglas, kindly took us all to dinner at the Sea Watch. It is on the Atlantic Ocean, but we saw the beach and waves only for a little while before it got dark, so I would recommend you go for lunch there and reserve a table by a window. I want to especially recommend Il Mulino, an Italian restaurant in Ft. Lauderdale because the quality of the food was excellent, and their prices were very reasonable. We were lucky to find it.

OPPOSTIE PAGE, TOP: (Left to right) Dr. James Lally, Joann Lally, Hildegard Pistor and Walter Pistor before dinner at The Turtle Club on Vanderbilt Beach in Naples, Florida. ABOVE, THIS PAGE: Florida alligators resting in the wild after feeding on a school of fish. OPPOSITE PAGE AND THIS PAGE, CENTER: A fast, modern yacht in Miami and another moored in downtown. OPPOSITE PAGE, TOP: Flagler College in historic St. Augustine, Florida.

360 225-0427 Your lot or ours… www.chiltoncustomhomes.com

FLORIDA—cont’d on page 5

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

WE BUILD HOMES!

Your dream home deserves an experienced builder— Chilton Custom Homes can do the job! • New builds… • Home Remodels and Additions

MARCH 2014 • THE REVIEW • 9

LICENSED • BONDED • INSURED – LIC. #CHILTCH35JL


Anoint ed

“The Lord will repay each man for his righteousness and his faithfulness; for the Lord delivered you into my hand today, but I refused to stretch out my hand against the Lord’s anointed. Now behold, as your life was highly valued in my sight this day, BY LORI ANDERSON so may my life be highly valued in the sight of the Lord, and may He deliver me from all distress.”

—1 Samuel 26:23,24; New American Standard Bible (NASB), Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation

I

was reading the histories of King David and King Saul in the Old Testament book of 1 Samuel. It’s the overlapping history of two men from long ago, two men who were “anointed” by God to be King over Israel. Saul was anointed (chosen) first and before he was even done with his reign, David was also chosen. David and Saul were actually anointed to be king during the same time? How confusing. Who were you supposed to follow, David or Saul? Who was really the king? King Saul was, according to David. How amazing to me! You would have thought that David would have been the one people were supposed to follow. After all, God basically took the kingdom away from Saul and gave it to David. As I read the account it was apparent, Saul had gone rogue. At first it appears Saul followed God. It appears as though he was humble and obedient, but somewhere along the way, Saul went nuts. Crazy with power, crazy with prestige, Saul decided he could do things his own way. He no longer felt the need to “wait on God”. This did not sit well with God, apparently, because we are told this is why the kingdom was taken away from Saul and given to David. Indeed, David grew more and more in favor and Saul fell more and more out of favor, with God and man. David was brave in his belief that God was real, and God was watching, and God was the most powerful force in existence. David was more than confident in the relationship he had with God and relied upon it to accomplish whatever task were set before him. David endeared himself more and more to God and man with each act of obedience and faith. Saul noticed and Saul didn’t like it. He actually went crazier with suspicion and jealousy and started a long and futile attempt at eradicating his chosen successor. Time and time again, Saul tried to destroy David. This was ironic since David, and his beautiful music, were frequently called upon to soothe Saul during his bouts of “depression”. At first King Saul would just throw spears at the supernaturally protected David while he played his music. Later, King Saul took his entire army after David. So why didn’t David, who had plenty of opportunities to do so, TAKE his anointed position and KILL his relentless attacker, King Saul? David didn’t kill Saul because David chose to love Saul. Why did David love Saul? Apparently because God chose Saul to be King and because David chose to love and trust God, this was David’s act of love and obedience to God. David would not allow anyone to rise up against Saul. David had sworn allegiance to Saul and to his family and David took his vows very seriously. In 1 Samuel 24:6,7, when Saul is delivered into David’s hands, David says to his mighty men (his own amazing Special Forces Team), “Far be it from me because of the Lord that I should do this thing to my lord, the Lord’s anointed, to stretch out my hand against him, since he is the Lord’s anointed.” David persuaded his men with these words and did not allow them to rise up against Saul. Further in the account, we get a glimpse of David’s innermost thoughts— his belief that God would sort out the matter and take care of things Himself—in His own way and

in His own timing. Because of this amazing faith in, and love for God, David steadfastly refused to take matters into his own hands. He consistently refused to speak poorly of King Saul. He consistently protected King Saul and tried to honor him, even from afar, even while under attack. David even swore to protect King Saul’s descendants (something David did and something unheard of in the ancient world where the human custom of that time was to annihilate every living descendant from the old regime). David consistently acted out his belief that, “who can stretch out his hand against the Lord’s anointed and be without guilt?” David wasn’t perfect and later he failed miserably in his own kingdom, but God never removed him like He did King Saul. We are told it is because David would repent and submit. When David did something wrong, he would be horrified at the thought of hurting and disobeying God. He would fall to his knees and ask for forgiveness for his sins. He would take responsibility, accept consequences, and change his wicked ways, and get back on track. I can see why the Bible describes King David as a man after God’s own heart. I want to be thought of this way! I want to stop “lifting my hand” (my thoughts/ words/actions) against God’s anointed ones in my life! How about you? Are you upset at the parents you have? The family you are in? The person you married? Your boss? Your Mayor? Governor? Senator? Representative? President? Are you upset at God? God has placed us in the position we are in, and in the time we are in, for a reason. He desires to strengthen us and equip us. Our refusal to go against, to smear, to disrespect, to in any way hurt God’s anointed ones in our lives, our refusal to take matters into our own hands, our passionate trust and faith in, and love for God, will make us like David in God’s eyes. It will make us people after God’s own heart and it will give us the practice we need to truly honor God, our Anointed King!

*New American Standard Bible (NASB) Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation

INSECTS—cont’d from page 2

tainers of water with only a small portion left above the water is a safe way to do that. They could also get drinks safely by using trays of water with large sized gravel partially submerged in them. Just make it so that if they fall in they have something to grab onto to climb back out of the water and sit in the sun to dry off. Plantings of early blooming, pollen-rich vegetation is very helpful for newlyemerged bumble bee queens and newly-emerged mason bees. Even many of the females of the wasp group need this food source as they work to build their new headquarters for all the new workers they will lay and nurture for their new summer crew. So much is going on in the spring and yet so much is ready to happen over the seemingly quiet winter months, too. All that potential is hiding just under the messy mounds and seemingly useless piles of debris and quiet blankets of mulch. This handsome little rove beetle was hiding in a pile of debris I just had to move. I hope he found a new hideout nearby. He is great at hunting slugs and other little garden critters.

DOWN TO EARTH

Satellite TV

Columbia Bank Carol Rounds

Vice President • Branch Manager

INTERNET 119 NE 1st, Kalama Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2

WOODLAND BRANCH

782 Goerig St. Woodland, WA 98674 225-9421 • Fax 360225-8146 crounds@columbiabank.com

360

www.kalamatv.com

673-2950

Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark & Columbia Counties Since 1982.

FLOORS-N-MORE

233 Davidson Ave. • Carpet • Pad • Vinyl

Locally owned and operated

10 • THE REVIEW • MARCH 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

Woodland, WA 98674

• Ceramic Tile • Countertops • Marble, Granite, Stone

• Installation supplies • Hardwood • Laminate Flooring

Sales & Installations (360)

225-9365

Serving Woodland since 1994


S

ome of you may have heard about the movie “A Big Year.” A big year is when someone decides to see (or hear) as many different bird species as they can in one geographical area. In the movie the area is the part of North America that is North of Mexico (48 states plus Alaska and Canada). I did my Big Year in the state of Washington. Typically in one year in Washington about 390 or so species of birds are seen. No one can see them all but with a lot of effort a person can see a lot of them. My goal at the beginning of the year was to see 300. I knew it would be a challenge because the most I had seen previously in one year was about 220. In order to see that many birds, I would need to visit a lot of areas of the state. Some, I had never been to, including boat trips that go 35 miles out from the coastline. Many folks that see the most birds are retired and have a lot of free time. This was not the case for me. In the beginning of the year I was finishing up a class with the Seattle Audubon Society (SAS). The class offered several field trips that helped me see a bunch of birds. In addition, I did a crazy 24-hour bird-a-thon to raise money for the SAS. Our path took us on a journey of 700 miles around the state from midnight to midnight. It was exhausting, but we saw 127 species that day and raised over $1,800. By September I was just reaching my goal of 300 species. That motivated me to see how many more I could see. The year ended with a flurry of activity. On December 29th I saw a Yellow-billed Loon for #338 near Sequim; on December 30th I saw a couple of Tricolored Blackbirds for #339 near Walla Walla and finally on December 31st I saw a flock of Gray Partridges for species #340 near Davenport. The last push of the year left me exhausted but it was quite the experience. At the beginning of the year I could have never imagined all of the places I would experience, the people I would meet and the number of species of birds I would get to enjoy. Some species I only saw in the local area and nowhere else were Mute Swan near Washougal, White-breasted Nuthatch at Ridgefield, Ross’s Goose near Vancouver Lake and Red-shouldered Hawk near Longview.

2013: A Big Year for Birds

BIRDS—cont’d on page 12 THIS PAGE:

A Great Grey Owl sat long enough for this great photo by guest columnist and photographer Doug Schurman to get a wonderful image to share with the readers.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

MARCH 2014 • THE REVIEW • 11


Dining P leasure 5

T

FOR YOUR

o all appearances the Rutherglen Mansion temperature. The “baby reds”, which can be rests pristine in its mountain aerie, west of very delicious, were not. However, the cardowntown Longview, Washington, a nostalrots were scrumptious. gic remnant of that bygone era of the 1920s The desert list comprised of two items, and ’30s. chocolate cheese cake and vanilla ice cream. The Rutherglen Mansion still retains much My dining companion selected the ice cream; of its former glamour despite the fact that, I selected the chocolate cheese cake. Nothing over the years, this English Colonial-style more can be said. house has seen a wide variety of occupants. Rutherglen Mansion has a full service bar Inside, the restaurant occupies the main floor and a small lounge but, our waiter explained, of what was once the home of one of while they do have a few odd bottles of red BY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE and white wine to select from they do not Longview’s co-founders: J. D. Tennat and his family. According to their facebook page, have a formal wine list. Rutherglen Mansion features casually elegant Although our waiter was very friendly and dining, a bed and breakfast, accommodations attentive she appeared inexperienced and for weddings, receptions, banquets, as well a service was very slow the evening we were Sunday brunch. there. Unfortunately the dining room was L O N G V I E W, WA What we tried: We decided to start with an cavernous and very chilly. Our waiter apoloappetizer and selected stuffed mushrooms. They arrived piping hot and delicious fol- gized for the chill and offered to bring in a small space heater saying the fireplace was in lowed by a nice side salad. Unfortunately the Raspberry Vinaigrette we both ordered, on a state of disrepair. the side, to accompany the salad was like syrup—sweet and gloppy. My dining companAt best I can say the food is average and a little costly. It appears as though the owner ion selected the Thursday night special: prime rib, baked potato and steamed carrots. Who of Rutherglen Mansion is struggling to hold it all together. It’s hard to visit an old friend can resist prime rib, right? While the portion was generous, he said he was very disap- who is sliding downward into possible oblivion. Pray that the Rutherglen Mansion can pointed in the flavor and the baked potato appeared to have come straight from the micro- somehow return to its heydays. wave oven. Not exactly a Rutherglen Mansion, 420 Rutherglen Dr, Longview, WA 98632 (360) 425-5816. Call good beginning. for hours of operation. I decided to try the old standby, Chicken Cordon BIRDS—cont’d from page 11 Bleu with risotto (I’m a big I also saw all thirteen species of woodpeckers that were seen in Washington in risotto fan) and steamed 2013 as well as 33 of the 34 Raptors (eagles, hawks, falcon and owls) that can be seen carrots. Our waiter apolo- in the state. gized saying they were out One of the most special sightings of the year was a Great Gray Owl. They can of risotto. I settled for small stand over 30 inches from their head to the tip of their tail feathers. They are primarbaby red potatoes instead. My Chicken Cordon Bleu ily an Arctic bird but a few make their way down to Washington. I had been looking came napped with a white for the bird on a few different days after someone told me about it. I got lucky enough wine sauce which partially to see it one morning just after sunrise. The bird was perched on a fence and it looked disguised the fact that the like it had just eaten some prey. I spent about 45 minutes photographing it and taking Cordon Bleu was over- some videos. At the end of the time I had the to leave and the bird was still there. It cooked and barely at room was a magical moment to be with such an amazing creature. courtesy of rutherglenmansion.com

Rutherglen Mansion

Woodland Auto Supply 1015 Pacific Avenue • Woodland

225-6529

360

M-F, 7–7 • Sat, 8-5 • Sun, 9-5 OFFERS EXPIRE 3/31/2014 OR WHILE SUPPLIES LAST!

12 • THE REVIEW • MARCH 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

The Review, March 2014, Vol 12 issue 3  

Family-safe reading about the best of Southwest Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you