Page 1

JUNE 2014 • VOL 12, ISSUE 6 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

FREE!

RS DAY ANTE S L P

NORTHWEST

In This VI S I T Issue!

OR'S INFO & GUID

E

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

TRACING THE PATH OF THE LEWIS RIVER storY aND photos bY matt coffeY

D

eXplore more at www . lewisrivereXperieNce . com


Sapsuckers

“Norma, come quick, we saw a beautiful red-headed woodpecker.” I didn’t think it was truly a red-headed woodpecker but I was game to go see for myself what bird Flora and Marilyn were so excited about. . Red-headed woodpeckers are east of the mountains and we have seen them in Missouri before but never in Oregon where we were at the moment and not in Washington. Putting on my hiking shoes I started out and saw at once that it would be a challenge for me as they were going UP HILL. OK, I could do that if I was careful. Soon I was making my bird calls and then I heard Flora making some different sounds. She assured me that those sounds seemed to bring the bird before and sure enough at that moment one zipped by my face so close that I could actually feel the breeze of its wings. Wow! That was a close call. It was a woodpecker type of bird and looking closely as it lit on the side of a tree I could see it was a sapsucker, a red-breasted one. Sapsuckers belong to the woodpecker family in a special but slightly different way. BiRDS—cont’d on page 9

2 • the review • June 2014

www.reviewmediagroup.com


WHAT’S HAPPENING

IN THIS ISSUE The Review — June 2014, Vol. 12, Issue 6

On the Cover

The Lewis River Watershed— Exploring Swift Reservoir and its surrounds 2 Sapsuckers!

By Norma Brunson

3 What’s Happening

4

4 Stepping Stones By Pat Stepp

5 SW Washington

8

History: A picture is worth a thousand words… Restaurant Review: The Tea Cup By Diva Gastronomique

Around Town Over the Garden Gate: Gardening Can Be Bad for You

9 Religion: The

By Cheryl Spaulding

12 Garden Insects:

Prodigal’s Dad

By Lori Anderson

Flies…Order Diptera By Nora Garofoli

WHAT’S HAPPENING SW Washington Gold Prospectors Meet! The SW Washington Gold Prospectors club meets every 2nd Sunday every month at 1:00 p.m. at the Minnehaha Grange Hall at 4905 NE St. Johns Road in Vancouver, WA. All interested parties are invited to attend one of the monthly meetings where there will be opportunities to learn about prospecting laws, methods, and equipment as well as some hands-on practice. Soon there will also be outings to enjoy the pleasures of the SW Washington chapter of the Gold Prospectors Association of America. GPAA membership is not required to be a member and join the fun. For more information contact Steve at 971-212-5996 or go to www.swwgoldprospectors.org or see their Facebook page at www. facebook.com/pages/Swwgp. Volunteers Needed Woodland Mobile Meals is in need of volunteer drivers. Meals are picked up at the America’s Family Diner on Lewis River Drive at 10:45 along with recipients names

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

and addresses. Delivery usually takes a little over an hour. If you are interested in assisting with this outreach to seniors program please call Moze Meeker at 225-6501 or June Jones at Woodland Real Estate 225-8278. Substitute drivers are urgently need for October 3–11. Deliveries are in the Woodland, WA, metro area.

6:30pm. This workshop will be held at the Pacific Park Demonstration Gardens located at NE 18th St & NE 172nd Ave, Vancouver, WA 98684. During class, you will learn how to select and grow the right vegetables for salsa, harvest the veggies and learn some salsa recipes all while planting a salsa garden in the demonstration garden area. Following the workshop, participants will assist in the demonstration gardens and Master Gardeners will be on hand to answer questions. This class is free with 45 minutes of service at the demo gardens. For more information, please call 360-397-6060 ext 5738.

Sheriff’s Office To Offer Free Boat Safety Inspections The start of the boating season is fast approaching. The weather will start to get nice and the local rivers and lakes will soon be booming with sport and recreational boats. The Cowlitz County Sheriff’s Office will be offer- TOPS #1129 Meets in Woodland The TOPS #1129 Group meets at 9:00 a.m. on ing complimentary marine safety inspections for all Tuesdays for their weigh-in and meeting at the Woodland interested boat and personal watercraft owners. Community Center located at 782 Park Street. For more Inspections will be held at the Willow Grove Boat information contact Delores at 360-606-6434. launch and the Kalama Marina on Saturday, June 7th, between the hours of 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. Each vessel that passes inspection will receive a 2014 Marine Safety Seven Course Italian Dinner & Silent Auction To benefit Relay for Life, The Kalama Library and other Decal. Additional boating information will also be availworthwhile causes Saturday June 7, 2014, Kalama able. For additional information contact Deputy Jordan Community Bldg., 126 N. Elm Street, Kalama, Washington Spencer at the Cowlitz County Sheriff’s Office at 36098625. Seating begins at 5:30 p.m. dinner service begins at 577-3092 or email at spencerj@co.cowlitz.wa.us. 6:30 p.m. First course: Cheese polenta & Salsiccia, creamy Start Growing Vegetables salame crostini and roasted water chestnuts with proWould you like to grow your own vegetables, but the sciutto; Soup Course: Minestrone; First Course: Pasta thought of where to start is overwhelming? Set your with Bolognese sauce and crusty bread; Main Course: fears aside and come to the WSU Master Gardener’s Rotolo di Pollo with damiglaze, roasted asparagus, and workshop: Start Growing Vegetables! This two hour garlic mashed potatoes; Salad Course: Mixed baby greens workshop will be held on Saturday, June 7th at 1:00 p.m. with mixed toppings and Balsamic Vinaigrette; Sixth at the Three Creeks Community Library, 800 NE Tenney Course: Mixed seasonal fruit with cheese; Dessert Course: Rd, Vancouver. The first hour of the class will cover all of your basics from planning your garden to harvesting wHAt’S HAPPeNiNG—cont’d on page 8 your nutritious fruits and vegetables. The second half of the class will teach you about different vegetable varieties, what they need to prosper and how to protect them from pests and diseases. This event is free, open to the public, and no registration is required. For more information, you may call 360-397-6060 ext 5738. Planting a Salsa Garden: Would you like to walk right out your back door and pick everything you need to make a fresh, delicious salsa? Join WSU Master Gardeners as they teach you how to plant a Salsa Garden on Wednesday, June 4th at

Scotch HighLOST— Young land heifer lost May

Celebrating 98 Years Young!! June 29, 2013

Charlie Ferguson is celebrating his 98th birthday! Everyone's invited to the home of Margaret & Jim Beck at 1220 S. Scheuber Road in Centralia, Washington. Don't worry about presents—just bring your great stories to share. For more information call Margaret at 360736-8766 or Doug at 360-225-5951!

28th in the vicinity of 3900 Little Kalama River Road (end of Kalama River Road) in Woodland. The heifer is wearing a rope and a halter. If found, please contact Melinda or Ron at 360-225-3601 or 360-632-1011.

CLASSIFIEDS ANNOUNCEMENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS

01

PUBLISHER’S NOTICE

Please call if you have questions: Phone: (360) 225-1273; Fax: (360) 225-4838; web: www.reviewmediagroup.com; e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com Physical address: 131 Davidson Ave., Suite AA; Mailing address: PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674 Deadlines: Please see our deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com. Circulation approx. 15,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Cougar, Amboy, Yale, Fargher Lake, Battle Ground, Vancouver, and Kelso/Longview). Published monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook

ALL REAL ESTATE advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

PRAYER WARRIOR will pray for you. Give me a call if you have a need. 360-567-5146.

Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a selfaddressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in any form whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

www.reviewmediagroup.com

FOR RENT

ROOMS FOR RENT Downtown Woodland, $420/mo + tax or $150/wk + tax, utilities included. Call 225-7339 or 7723518.

LHA PROPERTIES

Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama Family & elderly/ disabled units Pay only 30% of your adjusted gross income

360

225-7781

June 2014 • the review • 3

Say "Welcome!" to Emma S. Roulette, born February 14, 2014 and weighing in at 5 lbs. 11 oz. Her happy parents are Jennifer and Casey Roulette of Vancouver, WA. Congratulations!


over the

—Gardening can be Bad for you!

T

here are few dangers involved with gardening. Oh, you might strain your back or forget to don your an air-breather if you use chemicals, or be gouged by a thorny rose bush but the one thing so many of us treat lightly is skin sun damage from repeated exposure to the sun. Our skin is our biggest organ. It’s not like a piece of clothing that is easily discarded and replaced. We have to protect our skin. It’s the only one we get in this lifetime. By Cheryl Spaulding Everyone has had at least one sunburn in their lifetime; in my case, a sunburn put me in the hospital. Repeated exposure to the sun without protection has not always been seen as a bad thing. In the not-so-distant-past doctors said ‘send the kids outside to play, the sun is good for them.’ And there was no talk of skin protection. Every gardener, farmer, and anyone who worked out of doors had what was called ‘a farmer’s tan.’ Remember when a tan made you look healthy and freckles were considered cute. Hmmmm? Few people know sunburn is a form of radiation burn that affects living tissue, such as skin, that results from an overexposure to ultraviolet (UV) radiation, commonly from the sun. Usually, normal symptoms in humans and animals (dogs and cats can get sunburned) consist of red or reddish skin that is hot to the touch, general fatigue, and mild dizziness. An excess of UV radiation can be life-threatening in extreme cases. Exposure of the skin to lesser amounts of UV radiation will often produce a suntan. Excessive UV radiation is the leading cause of primarily non-malignant skin tumors. The use of sunscreen is widely advised to prevent sunburn, and some types of skin cancer. Clothing, including hats, is considered the preferred skin protection method. Moderate sun tanning without burning can also prevent subsequent sunburn, as it increases the amount of melanin, a skin photo protectant pigment that is the skin’s natural defense against overexposure. Ultimately, a little sun is good for us; a complete lack of sun exposure can lead to a deficiency in vitamin D. We should all aim to absorb about 20 minutes of sun each day. After that, we need sunscreen to protect us from the potentially harmful effects of overexposure. Risk factors vary from skin type to skin type. In general, people with fair hair and/ or freckles have a greater risk of sunburn than others because of their lighter skin tone. Age also affects how skin reacts to sun: the skin of children younger than 6 and adults older than 60 is more sensitive to sunlight. So how should we as gardeners use this information? Well, the sun rays are at their

Garden Gate

strongest between 10 am and 4 pm. Even on cloudy days the risk is still there. Damaging UV light can pass right through the clouds. Even the time of the year plays a part. The position of the sun in late spring and into summer months, of course, can cause more serious sunburn than those of fall and winter months. Reflective surfaces such as water, white sand, rock, concrete, even snow and ice can and do reflect the sun rays. Higher altitudes means the earth atmosphere is thinner and therefore allows more UV rays to shine through. If you are overly sensitive to the sun schedule your working hours outside from 7 a.m. to 10 a.m. and inside from 10 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. to avoid being outside during the hours of most intense sunlight.. When working outside, wear gloves, a hat with ear and neck protection or a hat and scarf, sun glasses, long sleeves, and long pants. Button up the neck of long sleeve shirts. Light loose cotton reflects heat and is cooler for working outdoors. I know, I know. You will think you look kind of dorky but believe it’s all worth it. For skin that can’t be covered with clothing, slather on the SPF 15-50 sunscreen. SPF (sun protective factor) is a measure of effectiveness in preventing sunburn. A sun block is different from a sunscreen and may protect you against more ultraviolet rays. Look for a block containing a titanium oxide if you are very sunlight sensitive. The new “sport” sunscreens are less likely to sweat off. Otherwise, if working, sweating, or swimming reapply the sunscreen or block every hour. But keep in mind even with a sunscreen it is still possible to get burned. Reapplying the sunscreen doesn’t extend the time of protection; it only replenishes what sweats off. And don’t forget a sun block for lips. Generously apply sunscreens and your sun block 30 minutes before venturing outdoors. Sunscreen chemicals take time to bind to the skin’s surface. Wear a hat to cover your forehead. By not applying a sunscreen there, you can avoid stinging eyes from sunscreen chemicals in sweat. In addition to preventing sunburn, protection against the sun can also prevent chronic, ugly, or harmful changes in skin. Long term exposure to ultraviolet rays can cause damage first to the surface epidermis, then to deeper tissues. “Broken” or enlarged veins occur as the elasticity of blood vessels is weakened. And continued exposure to the sun keeps accelerating over the years. Listen up ladies, much of what is considered normal skin aging is really the result of life-long exposure to sunlight. “Liver spots,” “crows-feet,” rough “chicken skin,” “red necks,” “sagging skin” and easy bruising on hands and arms are all signs of exposure. GARDeNiNG—cont’d on page 5

Stepping Stones BY PAT STEPP

Bargains of the Month!

© Copyright 2013/2014

“Fly me to the moon and let me drift among the stars. Let me see what spring is like on Jupiter and Mars.”

T

hat song keeps going through my mind as I pack for an another adventure lifting off the earth to soar in an airplane above the clouds, one of my great

Godfrey’s Pharmacy Ph armacy rmacy See us for

• Father's Day

DOWN TO EARTH

Satellite TV

• Graduation Cards & Gifts

INTERNET AUTHORIZED SALES AGENT

673-2600

360

270 N 1st St•Kalama mon– Sat • 9:30–6:00

4 • the review • June 2014

119 NE 1st, Kalama Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2 www.kalamatv.com

673-2950

Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark & Columbia Counties Since 1982.

passions in life. I have been thinking about how I grew to love the “wild blue yonder”. I was told that I took my first flight at six weeks of age. I logged passenger hours in a JC Piper Cub, Stinson Station Wagon and a UC78 Twin Cessna for 16 years. My father started life out as a cowboy and turned pilot shortly before I was born. During World War II, he was a civilian flight instructor in the Army Air Corps. When I was two, my baby brother arrived while my father was stationed at a base outside Tucson, Arizona. After the war he became an airport operator. He taught flying and did some crop dusting in Eastern Washington before we settled in the Willamette Valley in Oregon. He and his partners bought an airport which my mother managed. The GI bill that paid for returning servicemen to go to flight schools was a boon to aviation in America. A new breed of men were born: the sportsman pilots. I remember hearing a radio ad on our local radio station in the late forties where a voice urged: “Time flies, why don’t you?” The Pilots Lounge at the airport had a pool table and a collection of deer, elk, and moose heads. We hung out there. I typed my first poem on the office typewriter. Cascade Airways flight school had thirteen airplanes and four instructors by the 1950s. The UC79 Twin Cessna; the Aeronca; the Ryan Navion; the J-3 Piper Cub; the Piper PA-12; the Luscombe; the Stinson Station Sedan; the Taylorcraft; and the Cessna 140; and the Aerocoupe were used for the student pilots. Many pilots used them for their solo flights to become licensed. I was always excited to fly on an adventure. I was flying with my father when I was 4, wearing my new WAC outfit my grandmother had sewn for me. (I threw up, Daddy landed in a field, and a farmer’s wife saved my suit.) 60 years later I went on a sight-seeing flight with my grown little brother at the stick, We both felt like kids again that hour. I married an experimental jet mechanic. My first airliner experience in a jet (a 727) came when we went to Alaska. StePPiNG StoNeS—cont’d on page 5

www.reviewmediagroup.com


SW WASHINGTON HISTORY

A

Thousand W Words

e’ve all heard the old adage, “One picture is worth a thousand words.” True, but for this month’s column, I’m a little under the weather, so I’ll give you far less than a thousand words on each of several interesting and historical photos. All pictures are courtesy of the wonderful collection at the Washington State Library. BY KAREN L. JOHNSON

HiStoRY—cont’d on page 10

above, right:

STATE PATROL WELCOME LODGES: Nearly every city in the state today offers a visitors’ center of some sort, usually run by chambers of commerce or local governments. In the 1930s, however, the Washington State Patrol manned visitors’ centers in Spokane and Vancouver. This photo shows the Vancouver station circa 1938: “A state trooper is seen providing information to passengers stopped at the Vancouver welcome lodge. A road sign proclaims ‘Washington Welcomes You: Stop Here For Information and Guide Book.’”

above: STEEL BRIDGE IN PORTLAND: This photo, circa 1915, was taken by photographer Grahame H. Hardy, and shows the steel bridge in Portland, Oregon. No doubt the crowds are gathered to watch the four-masted wooden sailing ship and accompanying tug go under the bridge. right: HIKERS: Taken by an unknown photographer between 1940 and 1960, this scene shows a boy with a knapsack with pre-eruption Mt. St. Helens in the background.

GARDeNiNG—cont’d from page 4

When shopping for a sunscreen a few things to know are: avoid sunscreen with Vitamin A. If it has ‘retinyl palmitate or ‘retinol’ on the label, it may speed up the possibility of cancer of skin exposed to sunlight. Avoid sunscreen containing oxybensone. This can cause allergic skin reacts and go right past sunscreens that contain insect repellants. While sunscreens should be applied often, insect repellants should not. Finally, when it’s hot, you have to be careful. Hard work and high temperatures can lead to quick dehydration. Drink before you get thirsty. If you are thirsty, you are already beginning to dehydrate. Avoid drinks with caffeine, alcohol, and large amounts of sugar (that means most lemonade, ice tea recipes and carbonated beverages). Water is still the best thirst quencher, but if you are sweating a lot then drink a sports beverage to help replenish your electrolytes and prevent heat cramps.

—Happy Gardening!

Water

• Residential Softeners, • Commercial Filters & • Industrial Purifiers Water Testing Available for Determining Filtration Needs

Research from Mother Earth News, WebMD.com, MayoClinic.com, Wikipedia.

696-9287

360

StePPiNG StoNeS—cont’d from page 4

One leg of the trip was with a colorful bush pilot whose hand was bleeding, I noticed my helpmate’s face had blanched. Clearly, he felt more comfortable flying in the big planes he help build. But, I found I loved both the little and the big planes. I still do. I am humming., “Leaving on a jet plane, don’t know when I”ll be back again.”

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa

What’s in your water?

• Cage-free Kennels • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted • Licensed and very affordable! • Pick up and drop off service available

Come let your dog run with the pack! 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama

www.waterandairworks.com

www.reviewmediagroup.com

June 2014 • the review • 5

360 www.paradisedogranch.com facebook.com/theparadisedogranch

601-3570


TRACING THE PATH OF THE LEWIS RIVER STORY AND PHOTOS BY MATT COFFEY

D

EXPLORE MORE AT WWW . LEWISRIVEREXPERIENCE . COM

T

he Swift Reservoir is one of a series of three large lakes on the North Fork of the Lewis River. These three reservoirs occupy a full 33 miles of the Lewis River’s 95 mile length. Providing both hydroelectric power and flood control, the Swift, Yale, and Merwin Reservoirs civilize the Lewis River, transforming the thundering waterfalls, meandering river course, and rushing rapids of the upper Lewis into the calm waters and protected floodplains of the fertile lower Lewis River Valley. Swift Dam, a 512 foot tall earthfill dam, built in 1958, created the 4,600 acre Swift Reservoir. The creation of Swift Lake inundated 11 miles of the ancient Lewis River watercourse. At the time it was constructed, Swift Dam was one of the tallest earthfill dams in the world. Today, Swift Dam not only produces up to 240 megawatts of electricity for use throughout the region, but it also plays a part in controlling seasonal flooding on the lower Lewis River. Swift Reservoir lies in a nine mile long valley that spans one and a quarter miles at its widest. Besides a small, scattered collection of vacation homes along its northern shore, the Swift’s human population is concentrated mainly at Northwoods, a rustic community of cabins at the valley’s eastern terminus. Each summer, the human population swells to many times it rainy season average, when a steady stream of recreational users migrate to Swift Camp, a large campground on the north bank of 6 • the review • June 2014

the lake. Just over a mile downstream from Northwoods, Swift Camp offers the only public-use boat launch on the reservoir. Northwoods and Swift Camp serve as home base for the fleet of jet skis, fishing craft, and play boats that ply the sunny, and crisply refreshing waters of the Swift each summer. Two roads link together in a loose embrace of the Swift. The Forest Service 90 road begins just east of Cougar, and traces the sharp contours of the Swift’s north bank as it moves east, passing Northwoods 16 miles, or 30 minutes, later. The 90 road, one of the only paved routes into the Mt. St. Helens and central Gifford Pinchot areas, serves as a recreational pipeline in the summer. A pleasant off-season drive for the unhurried traveler, the 90 meanders through the dense forests of the Gifford Pinchot, and sports a small viewpoint of the Swift at its 10 mile marker. Opposite the 90 lies the IP-10. An old, gravel main-line logging road, the IP-10 is gated at its east and west entrances. Akin the 90, the IP-10 traces the rugged southern bank of the Swift, allowing occasional glimpses of Cascade scenery. Due to the gates, very difficult foot access, and the relentless deconstruction by nature’s forces, the IP-10 is slowly morphing into beautiful backcountry.

Woodland Auto Supply Wo Auto–Truck Heavy Duty–Marine Farm–RV–Paint OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK! 360

225-6529

1015 Pacific Avenue • Woodland www.reviewmediagroup.com


cover:

Sunset on the Swift. The fading light both illuminates the Lewis River’s origins, Mt. Adams, and shows a dimming Swift dam. opposite page: A night view in the Cascades. Traveling stars glide past a brightly lit dam and a hiding mountain. opposite page, botom: A camp on the Swift. left: Origins to production. Swift dam harnesses the power of water flowing from mountain to valley. right: The very top of Swift Reservoir’s earthen dam. below: A water’s edge view of the Swift. bottom: Natural highlight of an unnamed stream.

As with most anything, the most effective way to experience the Swift is to jump in. A springtime paddle to the Drift Creek inlet offers the curious explorer a rewarding sample of the Swift. Drift Creek is one of a number of tributary streams that flow down the steep draws of the surrounding high country to empty into the reservoir. Beginning high in the Paradise Hills northeast of the Trapper Creek Wilderness, Drift Creek meanders south, then west, and finally north along a rapidly descending course that ends in a long valley that is now submerged as an arm of the Swift. Delivering an annual impulse of snowmelt and percolating rainwater, the Drift’s gently-rushing, briskly-cold contribution explains the pickling sensation and newborn purity of the Swift. Leave a limb to soak in the springtime Swift and you find yourself quickly reminded of the origins of all this water, snowpack. Drift Creek’s mouth lies at the southern end of a mile and a half long inlet. From inlet to the Swift Camp boat launch is two miles, resulting in a very reasonable three and a half mile paddle from boat launch to tributary. If you make the effort to arrive at the boat launch early in the day, you can look forward to the reward of paddling across the Swift with the sun rising over your left shoulder, silently emerging from behind the hills east of McClellan Mountain. Hug the southern bank after you pass through the driftwood barrier that stretches accross the lake just west of Swift Camp. As you paddle along the southern shore, you may catch a glimpse of an elk herd, eating their way through the morning. A forested island marks the entrance to Drift Creek inlet. As you approach the island, swing to the south and enter the inlet. If you arrive sufficiently early, the tree-filtered Swift Reservoir—cont’d on page 11

25O%FF

SUGG RETAILEPSRTED ICE!

www.reviewmediagroup.com

June 2014 • the review • 7


Tea for one, or two or more

Dining P leasure 5 FOR YOUR

formal British High Tea. Nonetheless the soup was delicious, filled with black beans, corn, ground meat, tomatoes and topped by chopped avocado and a corn chip. The rich broth was silky and the spice level perfect: Warming, but he Tea Cup, 51 Cowlitz St., in downtown not burning. Castle Rock, Washington, is offering a We just had time for some tea and conversaHigh Tea experience that is drawing tea lovers tion when a two-level tower of tea treats from around Southwest Washington. Tea afiarrived at our table. Our first course consisted cionados, you can revel in this oh-so-British of two slices of light, tender and delicious formal afternoon tea ritual. But don’t let the quiche, mini sandwiches of egg salad on marword ‘formal’ keep you from visiting The Tea BY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE bled rye, an elegant chicken salad on whole Cup. The mood is more Pacific Northwest wheat and thinly sliced cucumber with cream High Tea than formal British High Tea here. cheese on white. The Tea Cup has an open floor plan and the In a word—delicious! Often chicken salad atmosphere has a light airy feel about it, with and egg salad in restaurants are inedible but several large windows to let in the sunshine. these were perfectly seasoned, delectable and C ASTLE ROCK, WA Gleaming white tablecloths grace tables set very filling. Did I mention everything is scratch with lustrous, gold rimmed white china in made? preparation for guests. Teas of every description Our second tray consisted of two small squares of Chocolate Decadence and type line one wall of this delightful restaurant. And guys, cake, two small Lemon Tarts piped onto the most incredibly tea is not just for ladies, you know. Some of the teas available light and flaky pie crust, two small slices of soft, creamy at the Tea Cup are as robust as any cup of coffee. cheesecake, fresh beautiful (and huge) strawberries coated in What we tried: We decided to try a High Tea first (reserwhite and dark chocolate, and two small Blackberry Scones, vations are required). When we arrived we were invited to so tender they almost melted in the mouth. There was so select our tea from the 185 containers of tea lining the west much food we had to ask for a to-go box. wall of the restaurant.. My companion selected Blackberry To say the least the food was incredible, the service Sage Blend (a delicious blend of black tea, fragrant, sweet impeccable and the atmosphere soothing—just the place to go dried blackberries and cool, soothing white sage herbs.) I when you have had a bad day and you need something to take your choose a Rooibos Earl Grey Blend for the naturally occurring antioxidants mind off your troubles. But hey, why wait for a bad day, go now. I know we in the Rooibos tea and for the floral essence of Bergamont in the Earl Gray tea. will be returning soon to try the regular menu. We were shown to our table by one of the owner/managers who was very welcoming The Tea Cup, 51 Cowlitz St., Castle Rock, Washington, 360-751-2164, open 10 am to 5 and who explained a little bit about the history of the Tea Cup. The Tea Cup originated in pm, Monday thru Friday; Saturday by reservation only. Find them on Facebook at www. Centralia, Washington, where they had a shop in the antique district on Tower Avenue for facebook.com/The-Teacup ten years. They moved the Tea Cup to Castle Rock in 2010. Our two pots of tea arrived promptly followed by a small bowl of taco soup. Being a tea wHAt’S HAPPeNiNG—cont’d from page 3 drinker, I already knew we should allow the tea to brew for five minutes before drinking. Citrus Granita, mini cream puffs, white chocolate coffee cups and coffee ice cream; However, this advice was not offered by our waitress and I believe, should have been. Beverages are available for purchase; As for the taco soup I knew right away we were not in Victoria B.C. and this was not a Tickets are $30 each and are available at the following Kalama locations: Kalama Koffee, The Kalama Library, TLC Deli, Coffee Shop and Laundromat, Double D Hardware and Feed, Antique Deli and Mara Walton. For more information and tickets please contact Mara Walton 360-673-4016 or 360-957-0872 Fundraiser At VFW Post 1927 in Woodland. Collecting favorite recipes from the community to assemble a cookbook. Proceeds will help purchase memorial plaquesof our fallen soldiers. Send recipes to VFW @ P.O. Box 366, Woodland,WA 98674. Deadline is June 18, 2014. Questions? Call Lynda at (360) 225-3482. A Nature Adventure for the Whole Family Ever wonder how soil is made or why birds sing? Learn about the world around you through wetlands investigations, nature hikes, craft projects, and more at Family Field Trip Day. Bring the family to Columbia Springs for hands-on science and nature explorations on Saturday, June 7 from 10 a.m.–2 p.m. All ages are welcome. The cost to participate is $5 per child and free for accompanying adults. Food will be available for purchase, and picnicking areas are available on site. Register by June 1st at www.columbiasprings.org/ family-field-trip-day/or by calling 360-882-0936 ext. 230. Drop-ins also welcome. For more information, contact Kaley McLachlan at volunteer@columbiasprings.org or by calling 360-882-0936 ext. 230. Free Fishing for Family Fun Gifford Pinchot National Forest and local partners will host FREE fishing events for kids and their families on June 7 and June 14. Free fishing is an opportunity for kids and their families to connect with the outdoors so they can better understand why nature matters and how it provides for our wellbeing and enjoyment. Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife will be stocking fishing areas in preparation for these events. Fishing rods will be available for kids to use on loan, worms for bait, and volunteers to show kids how to fish. Pre-registration is not required and fish cleaning will be provided. Mount St. Helens Ranger District The Mount St. Helens Ranger District Kids Fishing Derby will be held on June 7 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Lake Merwin D ay Use Park area in Ariel, WA. Activities include a parade and storytelling inside a 40-foot long inflatable salmon, face painting, make your own volcano, aqua-aquarium, boater safety, and Gyotaku-Japanese fish printing on tee-shirts. Call 360-449-7800 for more information. Cowlitz Valley Ranger District The Cowlitz Valley Ranger District Kids Fishing Derby is also scheduled for June 7, from 9 a.m. to 12 noon at the Cowlitz Falls Day Use area on Lake Scanewa in Morton, WA. Activities include fish printing, knot tying, casting demonstration, passport question activity, a compost worm box, beading, and a visit from Smokey Bear. Call 360-497-1100 for more information. Mount Adams Ranger District The Mount Adams Ranger District Kids Fishing Derby will take place on June 14 from 9 a.m. to 12 noon at the Guler-Mt. Adams County Park in Trout Lake, Washington. Kids are encouraged to bring a white T-shirt for Gyotaku-Japanese fish printing. Other activities include a campfire, fish fry, games, and free hot dogs and soda. Call 509-395-3400 for more information.

T

The Tea Cup

8 • the review • June 2014

www.reviewmediagroup.com


“…Quickly bring out the best robe and put it on him, and put a ring on his hand and sandals on his feet; … and let us eat and celebrate; for this son of mine was dead and has come to life again; he was lost and has been found.”

THE

—Luke 15:22-24 NASB This story is adapted from the parable of The Prodigal Son and was taken from Luke 15, New American Standard Bible (NASB). Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation

A

Prodigal’s Dad BY LORI ANDERSON

man worked hard and created a good life for his two sons. The youngest son did not want to wait for his inheritance, though, so the father divided his wealth between his two sons early. Not long after receiving his inheritance, the youngest son decided to take everything his father gave him and move to another country. There, the young man squandered it all on fast living. Soon after, trouble came upon the land. Drought. Famine. Unemployment. Penniless and destitute, the wayward son had no choice but take the only work available—feeding pigs. The pay was poor and the pigs ate better than he did. Every day the starving, filthy, pitiful young man would long for the pig slop and every day he would wonder why there was no one willing and able to help him. “At home,” the young man realized, “Dad’s hired hands are treated better than this and have more to eat.” It dawned on the son that he could either die of starvation in a strange, cold, and friendless land or go back home, work for his dad, and at least have something to eat. He decided he’d go home and appeal to his father and say, “Father, I have sinned against heaven, and in your sight; I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me as one of your hired men.” The plan was simple but the execution must have been hard. The starving and destitute son had to travel all the way back home. He left his father wealthy and proud and dressed like a prince. He returned to face everyone he knew gaunt, sickly, and dressed in rags. To make his obstacles even harder, he had to humble himself and admit he was wrong. He had to admit his father’s ways were better than his own ways. He had to be willing to turn from his own ways and live his father’s way. He now knew it was and always had been best to do so but what would his dad say now? I’m sure you’d agree that the young son must have experienced a great deal of doubt. Would his dad be angry? Would his dad take him back? Would he say, “I told you so!” and turn his young son away? Would his dad be bitter and vindictive and say, “You made your bed, now lie in it”? The questions and doubts and fears must have made the journey even harder, yet the boy knew returning to his father was the only choice. And it was the right choice, for, while the young man was yet a long way off, the father saw him coming and ran to meet him, happily embracing his filthy son. “And the son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and in your sight; I am no longer worthy to be called your son.” Surprisingly, the father responded by instructing his workers, “…Quickly bring out the best robe and put it on him, and put a ring on his hand and sandals on his feet; … and let us eat and celebrate; for this son of mine was dead and has come to life again; he was lost and has been found.” Now, big brother was working in the field. When he got within earshot of the house, he heard the celebrating so he asked the hired hands what was going on. “Your brother has come,” they informed him, “and your father has killed the fattened calf because he has received him back safe and sound.” This made the older brother angry and he refused to join the party, greet his wayward younger brother, and celebrate his return. Their father came out and pleaded with his oldest son to join the festivities but the older brother wasn’t having it. With bitterness he recounted all the years he stayed with his dad, all the years he was loyal, all the hard work he had done for his father, how careful he was with his inheritance, and how his dad never threw him a party, saying “but when this son of yours came, who has devoured your wealth with prostitutes, you killed the fattened calf * for him.” And the father said, “Son, you have always been with me, and all that is mine is yours. But we had to celebrate and rejoice, for this brother of yours was dead and has begun to live, and was lost and has been found.”

So what does this Parable mean? Why did Jesus tell it? How does it apply to us today? I am no theologian but when I read this, along with the other parables, I began to get a glimpse of what God is like with us and what we should and should not be like with each other. God is the kind and merciful father. The young, Prodigal Son represents each and every one of us that recklessly go our own way, lusting after more, and more. Being wastefully extravagant with our resources, and never being satisfied with what we have until we wake up one day and it is all gone, all for nothing, never fulfilling. The Prodigal Son also represents us when we finally realize this life will NEVER satisfy, when we finally realize it is best to return to God and say, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and in your sight; I am no longer worthy to be called your son.” That’s when God the Father is quick to forgive and celebrate our new change of heart and our new and transformed life, revealing to us His mercy, kindness, and deep love! Notice how Jesus revealed even more of His Father’s (and our) character in this Parable about the Prodigal, too. The Prodigal’s Dad was watching for his wayward son. He was waiting and hoping, not forcefully hunting him down and MAKING the young son do the right thing, but waiting and hoping he’d do the right thing. No doubt the young man was taught well. So this is also a good example of how we as parents can only do what we can only do. Our children will have to eventually make their own decisions and reap the consequences of their own actions, just like the Prodigal Son. And there’s more! Notice how filthy and destitute the Prodigal Son got without his father. Notice how he had to overcome his worries and fears and pride to return to his father. Yet, notice how the father loved him, embraced him, dressed him in finery, and welcomed him with open arms. That pictures what we are before The Holy God and how The Holy God ignores it all when our hearts are broken-hearted over the way we have been living. He does this all because of His deep love for us. Compare this response to the one the older brother had to the Prodigal. Again, I am no theologian (I’m sure Theologians have delineated just exactly who everyone represents), but I see some similarities here, too. I hate to say it but to me this older brother also sounds like us. Once we have received God’s love, once we’ve received our inheritance, we, too, can become angry, prideful, jealous, and selfish. We, too, can become irritated that all the years of toil and difficulties and hard work as a child of God (and there is toil and difficulties and hard work) ought to have netted us a fattenedcalf party or two! When someone who was so far away from God and living so recklessly finally returns to God, we, too, can be a little bitter about all the hubbub and attention they receive. Yet notice how the Prodigal’s dad deals with the Prodigal’s brother! It’s the very same mercy, kindness, and deep love. It is amazing how gentle God is with us. AMAZING! We do NOT deserve anything but God’s wrath and anger for our obnoxiousness and stubbornness, but look what we get—amazing. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all be more and more like the Prodigal’s dad and less and less like the Prodigal and his brother? It’s a great goal for fathers and mothers and sisters and brothers everywhere. We have all the help and training we could ever want and need, too, with all the instructions God has left for us in His Word. Read it and return to the One who loves you the deepest, waits for you, longs for you, and hopes for you, too— The Prodigal’s Dad. Your dream home deserves an experienced builder— *There was no refrigeration in those days. Fattening calves was done for speChilton Custom Homes cial guests, feasts, and parties and other significant occasions. can do the job! • New builds… • Home Remodels and Additions

WE BUILD HOMES!

BiRDS—cont’d from page 2

Some people do not like sapsuckers because they drill holes in trees in order to get to the sap that comes into their many holes. In fact they will girdle a tree with many rows of holes. As you might know orchard owners do not like this bird. Fruit trees are among the favorite of the sapsuckers. They will stay by a favorite tree for a week at a time gleaning the sap and other insects that come to the sap. Occasionally the sap will ferment in hot weather and the birds can get a little tipsy at this time. Sapsuckers also like to eat fruit and will fly out to catch a bug on the wing like flycatchers do. The sapsucker that we identified was a red-breasted one. Its head and chest was a deep darker red than the redheaded woodpecker. We saw the large white wing patches, the yellow mark at the base of the bill, the black back spot-

ted with white dots and white rump. If we could have seen its belly we would have seen the very light yellow tinge. In reading up on these birds I found out why Flora could call it in and not me. Its vocabulary is quite varied and ranges in clicks, whines, mews and loud squeals. I was just whistling and it wasn’t working. A cavity cut out by the birds in a dead tree makes a good place to lay their six or seven white eggs. They usually lay only one clutch per year. Both parents share the duty of keeping the eggs warm and feeding the baby birds. Even though the sapsuckers are not ‘loved’ by some people we like them. Now I know that if I want to call up a woodpecker I will first call Flora up and ask her to go with me. Remember June is a time of baby birds so if you see any on the ground leave them where you find them as mama or papa bird will be back shortly with food. (Enjoy the summer.)

www.reviewmediagroup.com

360 225-0427

Your lot or ours… www.chiltoncustomhomes.com LICENSED • BONDED • INSURED – LIC. #CHILTCH35JL

Northwood Park Funeral Home & Cemetery

Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery Cremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA 360

574-4252

Woodland Funeral Home 225-8441

Traditional Services & Cremations 360 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

June 2014 • the review • 9


HiStoRY—cont’d from page 5 right:

TIN PANTS: This photo, taken circa 1930 by an unknown photographer, shows “several park visitors being prepared for tin pants sledding, a process of applying paraffin to the seat of the pants and sliding down a snow field. In the foreground, a motion picture camera is filming the scene.” “Tin pants” is a term invented, or at least first heavily used by, early loggers, who waterproofed their pants by waxing them, thus keeping them more or less dry in the damp Northwest woods. below: FRESNEL LENS: Another photo by Werner Lenggenhager, this one taken in 1962, shows the Fresnel lens used in lighthouses on the Pacific coast. Now part ofa display at the Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center, the “first order” lens was built in France and brought around Cape Horn. Composed of over 1,000 prisms, the lens weighed about six tons and stood eight feet high. It was installed at the Cape Disappointment lighthouse from 1856 to 1898, and was then moved to the North Head lighthouse where it remained until the 1930s. below, left: BOYLE HOUSE: In Ocosta (Grays Harbor County), this lovely house was photographed in 1968 by Werner Lenggenhager. The house was built by early resident Robert Boyle in 1892, the same year the town was established. At the time of the photo, the house was owned by a John Grossman. ceNter: WAR DRUM: Circa 1955, this scene of a salmon feast at Celilo along the Columbia River. Native Americans are playing a large war drum during the festivities. Celilo means “floating sand cloud,” used to describe the sand storms which swept the Columbia Gorge.

below: LONE TREE: This tree, located at Damons Point at the north entrance to Grays Harbor, was a “child” of the first “Lone Tree,” supposedly used by Captain Robert Gray to sight his way into the harbor in 1792; Gray originally named the bay “Bullfinch’s Harbor.” From that original tree, cones were harvested, and the tree pictured here grew from one of the seeds.

Columbia Bank Joy Snead

AVP • Branch Manager WOODLAND BRANCH

782 Goerig St. Woodland, WA 98674 360225-9421 • Fax 360225-8146 jsnead@columbiabank.com

10 • the review • June 2014

www.reviewmediagroup.com


GARDeN iNSeCtS—cont’d from page 12

between the abdominal segments. The egg then develops into a larva that grows by feeding off of the bee until time to become an adult. At that time the bee will end up dying after the larva pupates and emerges as an adult. Another mimic in this group are the robber flies. They can sound quite intimidating. They have a loud buzz. They are usually very hairy and some are large. They also have very large eyes and fly strongly for short distances and hover well. They tend to lie in wait, ready to ambush unsuspecting insects who happen to come close to the robber fly hideout. Low bushes, shrubs and sturdy grasses are their favored hideout areas. They are highly predatory and can capture prey larger than you would think. When they capture their meal they inject it with a mixture of neurotoxic venom and digestive juices, then they wait the appropriate amount of time and then they suck up the liquefied bug smoothie. Some types of robber flies are large and some are smaller and less aggressive looking. Generally they like to live on the edges of forests or mountainous areas. I have encountered them in the drier climes of eastern Oregon and in my garden here in the city. Their heads are quite weird looking on the skinnier specimens due to the large eyes and thin neck these bugs have. Their antennae are quite short as is the case with most flies. The type of robber flies I see in my yard are mainly the fatter bumble bee mimics. Their buzzing noise is a bit different to me from the sound a real bumble bee

makes. It seems more insistent or demanding and aggressive. They even make me look twice when I hear them just to see who it actually is. Perhaps my most favorite flies are the syrphid flies for a number of reasons. As adults they do a lot of helpful pollinating and they seem to be a more gentle-natured creature, especially as they hover near a flower and seem to stop and study me if I am nearby. These little garden helpers also come in a very wide variety of packages depending on their species. As youngsters, in their maggot-like form, they are voracious hunters of aphids, protecting my roses and other plants in the garden. These are only a few examples of other members of the fly or Diptera group. I hate to mention mosquitoes again, but, yes, they are really another type of fly. One other very important set of members of this group are the tachinid flies. Many of these little flies are parasites of several pest insects. Just studying flies alone would give one a lifetime of material with which to keep busy. Oh my, we live in an amazing world!

Upper right: Even though this little crane fly is quite dead it makes great study material. Even in this condition there is much to learn especially if one has a dissecting microscope to study the wing veins or any other part that may be of particular interest. Often the patterns of the veins aid entomologists in knowing of which specific family or species this specimen might be a member. This crane fly is from Wasco county in Oregon. top: This is a fly who is mimicking a bee, but what I was most taken with were the pretty golden stripes on the abdomen. They almost look like real gold to me. right: I got my main clue, here, that this may be a member of the fly group from the little antennae this fellow had. From there I finally decided that it was probably a type of soldier fly.

Swift ReSeRvoiR—cont’d from page 7

morning sun becomes an unassuming chartreuse accent that blankets and highlights the eastern bank of the inlet. The gentle morning backlighting reveals details usually lost to the macro views that dominate the later day. A silent bustle of insect flight is punctuated by the flash of fish feeding on bugs foolish enough to alight on the water’s surface. A small convoy of ducks pushes forward, creating miniature bow waves in the dust and pollen which slowly spin in the countless micro currents of the inlet’s nearly imperceptible flow. A handful of unofficial campsites spread out on either bank of the inlet. Most have a hand built table for dining convenience, and small landings useful for small craft. While the sites on the western bank sit closer to the water and make easy access points for a picnic lunch, the eastern sites, closer to the inlet mouth, include views of Mt. St. Helens’ crater rim peeking out over Marble Mountain’s timbered top. Drift Creek itself spills out in a rushing narrow stream at the eastern corner of the inlet’s terminus. Bubbling and pushing, the creek pours over boulders and logs, eager to add its meltwater to the Swift. Wind protected and warm in the sun, Drift Creek inlet offers an idyllic immersion experience for a paddler exploring the Swift. Swift Reservoir marks the full transition of the Lewis River. After thirty-six miles of maturing, from

www.reviewmediagroup.com

trickling alpine rivulet into a rushing, waterfall-infused mountain river, the Swift marks the Lewis’ productive phase. Though only a byproduct of the need to produce electrical power for the region, the Swift dam also provides a calm, protected venue to experience the rich, wet life of the Pacific Northwest.

June 2014 • the review • 11


A

Flies

s much as we humans deplore the translucent color. They live in soil at this stage of their life and typical flies there are types of flies eat decaying leaves and other debris gaining size until they are other than just the annoying ones that about one inch or so long, depending on the variety. The larva seem to always attend our picnics ( O R D E R D I P T E R A ) will spend as much as two years in this moist environment and other food-related activities. before they pupate and become adults. Some types live in Some types of flies in the fly category, formally known as debris along creeks and riverbanks, others live in soil just under the grass where they Diptera, look a bit different than the critter we usually think feed on the roots of grasses, fungus or other detritus aiding in the constant recycling of of as a fly. While all flies have certain characteristics it is the supplies so common in our world. Here they may also, in turn, be recycled as a food o vLI variations that make them look so difsource for many a long-billed ST K o OR n FO ow andGL YA ferent from each other within this spebird, including starlings. RO ND A PHOTO S BY NORA cific classification. A quick check of a list Mainly these types of flies of specific requirements lets us know if they are indeed memare considered only a nuibers of this group. They will have only one pair of wings. sance and not really a seriThey will also have a pair of halteres near the wings. These ous pest. little knob-like appendages are believed to help maintain balOther flies in this group ance while the fly is in flight. Flies will have a set of antennae, that throw me off sometimes but they are short and generally ‘v’ shaped and placed between are the many mimics. There their rather large eyes. Flies are the best at hovering, too. are quite a few flies who Mouth parts can vary a bit, but are primarily of the sponging, make themselves look like piercing or sucking variety, nothing in the biting or chewing other dangerous insects such style. Those are the main things that are all the same with as the wasps and bees. The flies. fly who looks like a wasp Take for example crane flies who as adults can’t even bite who has a nasty sting makes as they have no biting mouth parts. You may be more familiar even us avoid them. Among with them as the giant mosquitoes that sometimes scare people the many flies who use these when they find these large, long legged beasts in the house. tricky tactics are the many One of their common names is mosquito hawk, but thank varieties of hover flies, bee goodness they are not a flies and robber flies. mosquito. I can’t imagThick-headed flies seem ine the bite or the to be mimicking wasps of amount of blood a some sort with their long female of that size thin waisted abdomens. This top: I am pretty sure this fly is mimicking a would take if she were kind of fly is named not for a bumble bee of some sort although I have yet to to actually bite me. stubborn or stupid type of persee a bumble bee in this color range. This fly Some varieties of crane sonality trait, but really for their does have almost as much fuzz as a bumble flies are thought to sip wide head. Their head does seem though. nectar, but their main quite wide compared to the rest bottom: I was really puzzled when I first saw this plan is to live long of their body. This little fellow strange little fellow in the garden. I literally had to break out my books to try to figure out that this is enough to take care of was a new character in my a fine example of a thick headed fly who looks reproductive responsilibrary only in the last few years. much like a wasp. bilities and ensure the I have found out more about next generation and then them since I first happened to see one one year and again the next year. Luckily I they die. As adults they happened to working in my garden as one of these flies had emerged from a pupal are quite fragile, losing stage to the adult stage. I was able to witness it go through the process of readying whole or parts of legs if it’s new body and wings for the new adult stage. It sat in one spot for almost six stressed or handled even hours as it gradually filled the wing veins and other body parts by slowly lifting its a little roughly. They front legs one at a time. It would have been very vulnerable to any number of only live a few days to a predators during this time as it is not able to walk or fly till the new exoskeleton few weeks depending hardens and all parts are ready for their first flight. As adults these flies are paraon what type of crane sitic of solitary bees and some types of wasps. They do this by grabbing the victim fly they are. As larva, on the other hand, these immature flies are sometimes called while in flight and then forcing them to the ground where they then insert an egg in leatherjackets. Their skin looks a bit wrinkled and is a medium to dark, somewhat GARDeN iNSeCtS—cont’d on page 11

t

e

den Insect ar s G

12 • the review • June 2014

www.reviewmediagroup.com

The Review, June 2014, vol 12, issue 6  

Family-safe reading about the best of Southwest Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you