Issuu on Google+

JUNE 2201 0133 • VOL 11, ISSUE 6 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

Lewis River Trail

ach year, spring’s warmth pushes winter’s snows out of our valleys. It’s a great time to explore. Last fall, we began a survey of the Lewis River. Our goal is tracing the river’s course from its icy headwaters high on Mt. Adams to its lazy confluence with the Columbia River. From its origins and growth, STORY AND PHOTOS through a number of stunBY MATT COFFEY ning waterfalls, we have seen our Lewis River develop from a tiny, trickling snow stream into a legitimate river. This month, we’ll look at a bit of the river that is perfectly suited for exploration on foot. This part of the Lewis provides a great opportunity to immerse ourselves into the three things that define our region: rock, water, and abundant life. This month, we’ll take a look at the Lewis River Trail. The Lewis River Trail, known as the 31 trail on Forest Service maps, is a fifteen mile path open to hikers, mountain bikers, and horse riders. The trail’s upstream terminus is a trailhead on the Forest Service 90 road very close to the confluence of Quartz Creek and the Lewis River. That upper trailhead is about 65 miles or two hours east of Woodland. Fifteen miles south west, the trail ends in a trailhead lies near Curly Creek Falls, one of many, many beautiful waterfalls within the Gifford Pinchot National Forest. In between these two trailheads is a section of iconic Pacific Northwest river impossible to totally digest within a single day hike (or a paltry article). The upper six miles of the trail services the famous Upper, Middle, and Lower Falls on the river. This part of the trail, particularly near Lower Falls campground, sees heavy use by day hikers and those camping at Lower Falls campground. The lower nine miles, between the trail’s crossing of the 90 road and its terminus at Curly Creek Falls, sees comparatively lower use, and is an ideal section of trail to experience archetypical Washington forest. Volcanic rock, thick canopied forest, lush undergrowth, elk scent, melodic bird song, and a sun-glistened river come together in a display of visual, aromatic, and auditory art that exemplifies the Northwest. Abundant life arising out of the combination of rock and water. A day’s walk through this scene, or a night spent within it, gives you a taste of summer in the Cascades. For the first two miles’ walk west from the 90 road, the Lewis River Trail meanders uphill. The river gorge itself, here, unsuitable for a hiking path. This quiet section of trail ends as you come upon the Lewis River bluffs. The bluffs are a pair of sheer cliffs which completely dominate the river far below. The trail swings quite close to the northern cliff’s edge. On a sunny day, the cliff edge provides a pleasantly warm spot for a break. A spot where you can gaze across the gorge and ponder the geological history of our region that is represented in the striated rock of the opposing cliff. Beyond the bluffs, the trail quickly descends to the river edge. Within a mile of leaving the cliff-side rest

THE

NORTHWEST

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

E

FREE!

LEWIS RIVER—cont’d on page 2


LEWIS RIVER—cont’d from page 1

stop you will find yourself enjoying a relatively flat trail. This middle section of the trail provides views alternating between river rapids and thick forest. I found myself pausing in this section to wonder just how much rain does this part of the Cascades receive? The thick trees, large ferns, and heavy moss appear akin to those in the temperate rain forests found on the western slopes of the Olympic Mountains. It reminded me of times spent in the Hoh River valley. Though I doubt the precipitation near the Lewis compares to the over 140 inches received by the Hoh, the likeness between the two river’s forests made me wonder. By mile five, the trail begins spending more time alongside the river bank, resulting in patches of deciduous trees diversifying the homogenous coniferous forest.

The thinner canopy of the riverside trees allows more sunlight to hit the trail, giving a decidedly warmer mood to the path. A little after mile six you will approach Bolt Camp. Sadly, a falling tree has destroyed the quaint shelter here. Thankfully, there are five campsites along the trail near Bolt Camp, including the camp itself. These unofficial campsites all have wide, flat tent areas, fire rings, and easy river access. The Lewis River Trail provides an excellent survey of what the river valleys in the Cascades have to offer. Short enough to accomplish in a day, complex enough to warrant spending a night, no time in the Lewis River valley is wasted. If you have a chance before the snows hit this winter, come absorb some of our Land’s beauty. It will create a memory that will call you back again and again.

ON THE COVER:

Big Creek Falls. One of a number of spectacular, lava-flow created falls in the Lewis River valley. The lush forest around the Lewis River, fueled by rain. PAGE, INSET LEFT: A pleasant break relaxing on the bank of the Lewis River. PAGE, INSET RIGHT: An animal’s view of the life giving Lewis River. PAGE, BACKGROUND PHOTO: The boulder-strewn upper Lewis River.

THIS PAGE: OPPOSITE OPPOSITE OPPOSITE

I-5 Exit 36 Kelso • 800-248-6335 • uneekrv.com

2 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JUNE 2013 • THE REVIEW • 3


F

rom the outside the Mali Thai Restaurant, 1251 Lewis River Road, Woodland, Washington, is just another door in just another small strip mall. There’s nothing much to recommend it. There are no brightly lit signs to proclaim their origin. In fact this restaurant is small and unpretentious. But don’t let that put you off. The inside of the restaurant may be sparse but its clean and the wait staff friendly. While the interior might not be anything to write home about the food is good and that makes up for the lack of exotic décor. The day we visited our waiter came over to our table to welcome us (you seat yourself) and to take our order.

Happy Birthday Charles Ferguson! Come help celebrate Charles’ 97th Birthday! Sunday, June 30th Potluck 11:30 • Cake at 12:30

Woodland Presbyterian Church 756 Park Street, Woodland, WA

CHARLES FERGUSON was born June 29, 1916 up the Lewis River valley from Woodland, Washington. He was born at home, delivered by Dr. Hoffman, a period doctor made famous through many writings on his contributions to the area. Charles’ grandparents came to the Lewis River area during the early 1880s. In 1929, the Charles moved downstream to their current home in the Woodland Bottoms. He and his brother, Byron, purchased the Bottoms farm from their parents and the area bondholders in 1943 and are still running the farm as a dairy. Charles attended Clover Valley School and graduated from Woodland High School in 1934. He attended Lower Columbia College and Washington State University, graduating in 1940. He moved to King County afterwards and worked as a milk tester. Ferguson has been active in various dairy and community organizations. He served on the Mayflower Company board of directors and was a member of the Guernsey Cattle Club of Cowlitz County. He was active in the Dairy Federation of Washington. He was also instrumental in the development of the nowfamiliar Horseshoe Lake. Charles also served on the Woodland School Board and was President of the Chamber of Commerce as well as a Port Commissioner. He served as a director of the Soil and Water Conservation District, the Cowlitz County Historical Society and as an elder with the Woodland Presbyterian Church. Charles lost his wife in 1998 just short of their 50th anniversary. Others of the family are gone, too: Parents James and Edith Ferguson, three brothers: Wayne, Albert, and Donald, and a granddaughter, Rosemary. Still living and celebrating with him are his five children: Margaret Beck, Howard, Jim, Robert, and Doug Ferguson, along with six grandkids and two great grandkids. FRIENDS AND FAMILY ARE INVITED to the celebration to be held at the Woodland Presbyterian Church. No gifts, please, just bring stories to tell his children.

D ining P leasure 6

deep-fried onions, green onions and Mali meatballs. As a side I tried their pork fried rice. My large bowl of Pho was very good. The beef flavor was mild but still enjoyable and the noodles thick just like you want homemade noodles to be. And the little bit of spice mixture in the Mali meatballs added to the overall flavor of the soup. BY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE I can’t say I am a fan of their fried rice, however. The Mali (house) fried rice arrived at our table very nicely displayed on the dish but one taste and I could tell it The menu features wasn’t for me. The rice seemed typical Thai cuivery soft, almost and the overall flaW O O D L A N D , W A vor of the dish wasmushy sine such as curbland. Mali Fried Rice is ries, Pad Thai, Pad comprised of your choice of meat, stir fried Ki Mow and many other traditional Thai dishes. with rice, onions, green onions, tomatoes, eggs, peas, What we tried: After looking over the extensive menu carrots and curry powder. $9.50. we decided to begin with Sleeping Prawns. I must admit We rounded out our meal by sharing a coconut ice I was attracted by the name of the dish. Sleeping Prawns cream served with fried bananas, chocolate sauce and are made from ground chicken, shrimp and noodles sprinkled with toasted coconut. The coconut ice cream wrapped in rice paper, fried and served with a sweet chili had a true coconut flavor but the coconut gave it a grainy sauce. The intriguing name did, indeed, fit the dish. The texture. The small pieces of bananas appeared to be rolls were very crispy but very mild in flavor. wrapped in rice paper and deep fried as well. The frying As an entrée my dining partner selected the Sea Salad process made the banana soft and creamy. $4.99 in hopes it would be similar to another Thai dish he Over all Mali Thai Restaurant has good food with enjoys. While not quite what he expected he said none reasonable prices. It appears they do a big take-out busithe less the salad tasted fine but he found the squid to be ness. The day we visited there was only one other table little too chewy. The Sea Salad is comprised of cooked occupied by a small family but several customers came squid and shrimp dressed with a fresh squeezed lime in to pick up take out food. juice-based dressing served over a bed of lettuce with Mali Thai Cuisine, 1251-B Lewis River Rd., onions, tomatoes, cilantro and mint leaves. $11.50 Woodland, Washington 98674; 360-225-9587; Open I chose the traditional Pho, a beef broth-based soup Monday thru Friday, 11 a.m. to 9 p.m., Saturday and made with homemade noodles flavored with cilantro Sunday, noon to 9 pm.; www.malithaicuisine.net.

FOR YOUR

Mali Thai

A new start for the Oak Tree Restaurant

BY CHERYL K. SPAULDING

L

arry Bowman, general manager of the newly reopened Oak Tree Restaurant says the food and the service at the Oak Tree Restaurant is going to be amazing. Almost everything is cooked from scratch, with the exception of the French fries and the liver,” he said with a twinkle in his eye, “those still come in frozen.” “We are using local produce, as fresh as possible and locally available meat as well,” Bowman said. In fact they have gone so far, he said as to select and visit the meat packing house personally to insure the quality and the freshness of the meat that will be served at The Oak Tree Restaurant. “From scratch” is the buzz word in the restaurant trade meaning cooking from recipes not from canned and pre-packed products. It means the chefs making their own sauces, their own soups, that meats are cut and grilled or baked to order in-house, that salads are made of greens chopped in the restaurant kitchen and not com-

ing pre-chopped out of a plastic bag. The previous menu has been revamped and some items removed but several of the true classics remain such as the iconic Bankruptcy Stew, now retitled Jackpot Stew. “We removed some items like the meat loaf but we plan to bring some of those entrees back as weekly specials,” he said. And Bowman says “we have finally gotten rid of the smell of old grease and cigarettes.” Bowman went on to say the new upscale menu includes other classic’s like the Oak Tree Restaurants legendary cinnamon rolls and fresh pies (with some new flavors added) remain and the world best hand cut Prime Rib is back on Friday and Saturday nights. The bar will continue to serve fine wine and spirits. Many things have changed within the much-maligned restaurant. “We have upgraded the décor with new paint, carpets, wood flooring, lighting and even new ceiling tile.” Everywhere you look there is change. The old booths in the coffee shop have been rebuilt and recovered, the windows COUPON • COUPON • COUPON sparkle and more seating has been added to the old coffee shop which is now renamed restaurant seatYour purchase ing. of $50 or The new indoor décor more! was personally selected by Expires 7/3/2013. Some exclusions and Bowman for a rustic but restrictions apply—see store for details. Knowledgeable, Friendly Service! COUPON • COUPON • COUPON modern look “It’s (the Oak Tree Restaurant) fresh, it’s comfortable and it’s clean with really good food, and serFEED CO vice. Its’ not loud and its’ not hip. It’s someplace 667-0360 • 21919 NE 72nd Ave. 887-4237 • 21605 NE 10th Ave.

www.PioneerFeed.net • Eastern Hay • Health Supplies • Pet Food • Consignments OFF • Live Poultry • Special Orders

$

5

P

RN

IONEE

E-Z ON/E-Z OFF I-5 at BG Exit! • Open 7 Days/Week

4 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

T

ORTHWES FEED

Your Dollars Corner Feed Store! Open 6 Days/Week

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

OAK TREE—cont’d on page 4


IN THIS ISSUE The Review — June 2013, Vol. 11, Issue 6

FEATURES—Family Fun Issue 1 Birds of the Beach

3 Beach Fare Great eats for your beach adventure! By Diva Gastronomique

By Norma Brunson

4 At the Beach A selection of the MANY events coming up at the beach

DEPARTMENTS 8 History

13 At the Theater

Seatco—Washington’s first penitentiary… By Karen Johnson

6 Insects to Know & Love Weevils: Just a Few By Nora Garofoli

12 Religion:

A Magical Melodrama!

14 Over the Garden Gate A Tale of Two Wisterias By Cheryl Spaulding

15 Stepping Stones By Pat Stepp

Betting on Barabbas By Lori Anderson

WHAT’S HAPPENING SECOND ANNUAL ARTS & VINES June 28, 29, and 30, 2013 Fine art and wine will be featured at eight venues in the second annual ARTS & VINES show in Castle Rock, Washington and up Highway 504 to Mt. St. Helens. Hours: Castle Rock Exhibit Hall, Friday, June 28, from 5 pm to 8 pm; Saturday and Sunday, June 29 and 30, 10 am to 6 pm. Directions: Beginning at Exit 49 off I-5, drive west into downtown Castle Rock for opening reception. Afterwards, drive east to venues along Highway 504. A map to all locations, with a complete listing of artists and wineries, is available at every venue. Each venue is marked with an “Arts & Vines” directional sign. Venues: Castle Rock Exhibit Hall; Mt. St. Helens Cellars Tasting Room; Harmony Wines; A Spirit Within Studio; Twosome Art Studio; Eco-Park Resort; Hofstadt BluffsVisitorCenter; Science and Learning Center at Coldwater. Don’t miss the Saturday evening Johnston Ridge Observatory season opener of the “Music on the Mountain” concert

Please call if you have questions: Phone: (360) 225-1273; Fax: (360) 225-4838; web: www.reviewmediagroup.com; e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com Physical address: 131 Davidson Ave., Suite AA; Mailing address: PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674 Deadlines: Please see our NEW deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com. Member, Woodland and Kalama Chambers of Commerce Circulation approx. 15,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Cougar, Amboy, Yale, Fargher Lake, Battle Ground, Vancouver, and Kelso/Longview). Published monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in any form whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

series! Admission is free to all Arts & Vines venues. For more info, visit www.visitmtsthelens.com/arts_vines.html or call 360-274-6603.

online). COST: $5.00 to cover advertising (all unused funds will be donated to the Woodland Community Service Center). For more information or an application form, please visit: www.woodlandwachamber.com.

Woodland Farmers Market Starts The Woodland Farmers Market will begin this year on Friday, June 14th and will run every Friday, 4–8 pm through the end of September. It will be held next to Horseshoe Lake and across from the fire station. Look forward to seeing a larger variety of locally and sustainably grown produce, some local talented musicians, and later hours that will extend into the “Hot Summer Nights” during the month of July!

Lilac Lovers Meet The Hulda Klager Lilac Gardens’ meeting is Tuesday, June 25, 1 pm, 115 S. Pekin Rd, Woodland, WA. Alice Richter presents “Photography and Pacific NW Plants”. Refreshments served. The HKLG society welcomes new members to help preserve the internationally recognized Historic HKLG Home and Gardens. For more information, call Catherine, 360-606-7359; www.lilacgardens.com; woodlandlilacgardens@gmail. com.

Child Screenings Available at Woodland School District Woodland Schools provide FREE screening services throughout the school year for children aged 3–5 years old who have not entered kindergarten. If you have concerns about your child in the following areas: hearing, vision, cognitive, school readiness, speech, language, and motor development, call 360-841-2720. The results are confidential and are discussed with parents after the screenings.

Mummies Of The World Exhibition Makes Northwest Debut At OMSI

Local Families Needed For Exchange Students ASSE International Student Exchange Programs (ASSE) is seeking local host families for international high school boys and girls. These students are 15 to 18 years of age, and are coming to this area for the upcoming high school year or semester. These personable and academically selected exchange students are conversant in English, bright, curious and anxious to learn about this country through living as part of a family, attending high school and sharing their own culture and language with their newly adopted host family. The exchange students arrive from their home country shortly before school begins and return at the end of the school year or semester. Each ASSE student is fully insured, brings his or her own personal spending money and expects to contribute to his or her share of household responsibilities, as well as being included in normal family activities and lifestyles. The students are well screened and qualified by ASSE. Families can choose their students from a wide variety of backgrounds, nationalities and personal interests. Those persons interested in obtaining more information about becoming a host family should call toll free: 1-800-733-2773. There are many students to choose from, so call—and begin the process of selecting your new host son or daughter today!

Largest Collection of Mummies Ever Assembled On View in Portland Beginning June 14, 2013 The nationally recognized Mummies of the World exhibition will make its Pacific Northwest debut at the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (OMSI) Friday, June 14, 2013. This collection of mummies and related artifacts includes a 6,420-year-old child mummy from Peru (“Detmold Child”) dating 3,000 years before King Tut. The exhibition, declared “magical and mythical” by the New York Times, presents a never-before seen collection of rare mummies from across the world—including WHAT’S HAPPENING—cont’d on page 6

Save the Date for a City-Wide Garage Sale Save the Date! Woodland is having a City Wide Garage Sale on Saturday, August 3, 2013, from 8 am– 4 pm. Participants hold a sale at their garage, yard, apartment, or carport. We will do the advertising, and provide a list and map of participating addresses (printed and

CLASSIFIEDS ANNOUNCEMENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS

01

FOR RENT

PUBLISHER’S NOTICE

ROOMS FOR RENT

ALL REAL ESTATE advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

Downtown Woodland, $420/mo + tax or $150/wk + tax, utilities included. Call 225-7339 or 7723518.

PRAYER WARRIOR will pray for you. Give me a call if you have a need. 360-225-9725.

GARAGE SALE GARAGE SALE—Annual Garage Sale June 7th & 8th, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., 752 2nd Street, Woodland—Rain or shine! Clean, organized… too much to list! Priced to sell! (Cash only please.)

LHA PROPERTIES Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama

MISCELLANEOUS

STORAGE AUCTION 12 UNITS FOR SALE WOODLAND, WA

6/12/13 10:30am @ PUT IT IN STORAGE 300 S. PINKERTON WOODLAND, WA 98674 360-225-8688 or Bidderschoiceauction.com for more info

HELP WANTED

ADVERTISING SALES Advertising Sales reps needed. Pay commensurate with experience. Straight commission only. Send resumes to editor@reviewmediagroup.com or by mail to Advertising Sales Position, The Review, PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674. This position should be considered part time, no benefits provided.

WRITERS WANTED Family & Elderly/ Disabled Units Pay only 30% of your adjusted gross income

360

225-7781

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

ATTENTION WRITERS! DUE TO technical issues, I did not receive submissions for several weeks. That problem has been fixed and several e-mails came through (I will be answering them as soon as I can do it). If you feel your e-mail submission may have been eaten by the technical ethernet snafu, please feel free to re-send. Writers wanted for assignment on a variety of subjects for future issues of The Review. This is part-time, intermittent

JUNE 2013 • THE REVIEW • 5

HELP WANTED

DRIVER/LABORER CLASS A CDL Lifting and carrying of up to 55 lbs, passing a background check, and drug testing are also required. Must be motivated in giving 110% and receiving in return a full time job with medical, dental, optical, 401k and being part of a company that values their employees. Wage commensurate with experience. Call or leave a voice mail @ 971237-5600

work. Interested persons can submit three to five pieces, published or not, which are representative of writing ability. Please do not send originals as submissions cannot be returned. Ability to take good-quality photographs to accompany article a plus. Submit your examples by e-mail to editor@reviewmediagroup.com (please put “writer wanted” in the regards line) or by mail to The Review, PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674. Please, no phone calls.


I

stir them up when I weed, water or harvest. They flutter away to a new spot. I find them when I am sweeping at work. The last one I found was on the brick facade of the building. I feel lucky I happened to see it as it was the right color to blend in with the bricks. Others I have found when they flutter around the lights in various rooms in the house or resting on the floor or o vLI on the walls. If I have my camera ST K o OR n O ow andGL YA OF handy I take some pictures for my ND AR PHOTO S BY NORA files. There are so many varieties and memory is fleeting. I take pictures of their different stages in hopes of becoming more familiar with their life cycles. I hope to know each stage so that I will know what the earliest stage is that I can stop them at, but I am a long way off from that I am afraid. I have much learning to do to know who is who in the moth section of the insect world. There are over 10,000 species of moths in the area of North America above Mexico alone. Some moths are pests, some are neutral, some are beneficial and some we know very little about their habits and behaviors. The moths I have pictures of range from drab to colorful. In my yard they are another wonder of the world that I am learning about. I have only had a few years where caterpillars known as cutworms have been a real problem. They will eat many of my plants down to where it stunts the plants quite badly. When these caterpillars transform into the adult form they are usually a blend of grays and browns that help them hide in the soil or leaf litter. If they are a real problem

A

Multitude of Moths

e

warm weather solutions!

g

Woodland Funeral Home 225-8441

Traditional Services & Cremations 360 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

Daycare

574-4252

Grooming

South America, Europe, Asia, Oceania and Egypt—that spans eons of time and transcends history. In addition to the Detmold Child, the rare and ancient objects presented in Mummies of the World include the Vac Mummies, a mummified family from Hungary believed to have died from tuberculosis; the Baron von Holz, a German nobleman found tucked away in the family crypt of a 14th century castle wearing his best leather boots; an ancient Peruvian woman naturally mummified in the warm desert air, with mysterious tattoos on her face and chest, and long black hair intact; and a howler monkey from Argentina, displaying a fierce expression and adorned with a feather skirt and headdress. Mummies of the World will be on dis-

Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery Cremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA 360

JUNE SALE on

References; Kaufman Field Guide to Insects of North America by Eaton and Kaufman

WHAT’S HAPPENING—cont’d from page 5

Northwood Park Funeral Home & Cemetery

Boarding

t

I just work on lowering their numbers with a few nightly hunting raids with my bubble bath container in hand. I hand pick those I see and put them in it for a good soak. When the smaller leaf roller moths I find are in their caterpillar form, they are small green guys who become small moths that can have a wide range of colors and patterns. Tortricid moths are among some of these small moths. They are about a half an inch long and a quarter inch wide. The lower edges of their wings have a gentle wave shape. They have rounded shoulders and varied diet. As their name implies they roll up leaves and secure them with silk to create a safe place to eat and grow. I am pretty sure this is the type of caterpillars that are causing problems in the flower boxes where I work. Moths range widely in size and shape. Large varieties include the Sphinx Moth group who are from three or so inches across to the tiny micro moths who can be only as long as one third of an inch or so. Some varieties of moths resemble wasps in their adult form while others resemble sticks or twigs while in their larval or caterpillar stage. These you may know as inchworms as they seemingly measure their way along as they move. These types of caterpillars are from the Geometrid family of moths. Geometrids are a large family group with over 1,400 member species. Their adult forms are quite varied, too. Like I said before, this idea of learning about the moth group will be something to study for quite some time. I am just glad it is only a hobby and I can do it in between my gardening and other hobbies I have. Variety is the spice of life, right?

Traini n

den Insect ar s G

THE

DOG ZONE

play at OMSI from June 14, 2013 through September 8, 2013. For more information, please visit omsi.edu or mummiesoftheworld.com. Vancouver’s Fifth Annual National Get Outdoors Day! Step outside and enjoy healthy, active fun during National Get Outdoors Day, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturday, June 8, at the Fort Vancouver National Historic Site, 1115 E 5th Street, Vancouver, Washington. This is a free event packed with a variety of activities and ideas for enjoying and exploring the natural world that waits outside. Here are some of the fun events throughout the day: * Take the ‘Passport Challenge’ and enter to win a complete camping package from Coleman. * Have your picture taken with Smokey Bear, Woodsy Owl, Ranger Rick or Buddy Beaver. * Learn about forest fire prevention with Smokey Bear. * Send an arrow flying with Archery World or try disc golf. * Get information about walks and hikes for local trails, state parks and national forests. * Prepare for a summer splash with water safety tips. Such a great event cannot happen without the help of dedicated volunteers. We are currently looking for volunteers to help in various capacities on the Thursday prior (June 6th) and throughout the day on the 8th. Go to www. tinyurl.com/getoutdoorsday to sign up!

602 California Way, Longview, WA

(360)

425-PAWS (7297)

Self-Wash & lots of s u l cool doggie stuff! P www.thedogzone.net

503556-1318

ricksautosales.org

Cars from $995 to $5995! FIND US ON FIND US ON at at RICKSAUTOSALESWOW twitter@ricksautosales and find us at 75936 B Rockcrest St. in Rainier, OR!

6 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

OAK TREE—cont’d from page 4

where you can come and bring your kids and be comfortable.” Bowman said. He says his wait staff is fully trained and the food has his personal seal of approval. “We want to return to the “hey-days” of the Oak Tree” And he ought to know good food. Larry Bowman and his family have run the Boppin’ Bo’s Malt Shop, family restaurant and grill in Vancouver for 11 years as well as Boppin’ Bo’s in the food court at the Clark County Fair for over forty years. Bowman said he learned his restaurant and management skills while working in his family’s restaurant. “I’ve been around food almost my entire life,” he said, “I know what good food is and I know what [good] quality is so that’s what we went for.” He said this is their opportunity to shine and to bring people back to the restaurant. It’s not the same old same old. Bowman said he couldn’t comment on the future of the casino portion of the Oak Tree Restaurant and Casino. “We are at least a couple of months away from that,” he said. The new owners for the Casino side of the restaurant complex were unavailable for comment.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


INSET PHOTO: I stirred up this little Tortricid moth while weeding in one of my rosebush beds. It is a small moth about one half inch long. BACKGROUND PHOTO: Here is the moth I spotted while I was sweeping at work. I think it may be a Northern Pine Looper. I had my co-worker take the picture for me.

photo by stephanie silver

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JUNE 2013 • THE REVIEW • 7


BY WALTER PISTOR, KALAMA, WA

VOYAGE

east coast of the Malay Peninsula, and the island of Phuket, off the west coast of the Malay Peninsula. Continuing onward, Singapore has become even more developed and sophisticated since Hildegard and I visited it seven years ago. Port Klang in Malaysia provided us access to the “garden city” of Kuala Lumpur. Colombo in Sri Lanka (formerly Ceylon) has an active Buddhist temple and learning center. Male, capital of the Maldives atolls, is surrounded by very clear water. From Cochin, on the southern tip of India, we flew north to Delhi and then rode a bus south to Agra for a twonight stay nearby to see the Taj Mahal twice. The following day we flew west from Delhi to Mumbai (formerly Bombay) to rendezvous with our ship, the MS Nautica. Subsequent ports of call included Muscat, Oman, as well as Fujairah, Abu Dhabi and Dubai in the United Arab Emirates. To accomplish this 5,575 mile voyage, we sailed in the Gulf of Thailand, South China Sea, Malacca Strait, PART I OF II Andaman Sea, Bay of Bengal, Indian Ocean, Arabian Sea, Gulf of Oman, Strait of Hormuz and the Persian Gulf.

Connoiseurs T OF THE

his interesting 25-day Oceania cruise was taken in April, 2013, from Southeast Asia to the Persian Gulf. Hildegard and I flew from Portland International to San Francisco and then across the Pacific Ocean to Hong Kong. There we caught a third flight to Bangkok, Thailand, were we began our cruise on the MS Nautica. Our return from the Middle East was a polar flight. We flew out of Dubai, UAE, over the Strait of Hormuz, over Iran, proceeding north just east of the Caspian Sea, over the Aral Sea, east of Moscow and west of Omsk, over the North Pole and finally over Western Canada landing in Seattle where we caught a connecting flight to PDX. Our ports of call in Thailand were Bangkok, a sprawling city of contrasts, as well as the island of Ko Samui, off the ABOVE:

Walter Pistor (far right) relaxes on the fantail of the M/S Nautica, an Oceaniacruise ship, with his wife Hildegard (far left) and their friends, from left to right around the table, Darlene and Bob Cusick and Dr. Jim Lally and his wife, Joann Lally. A cruise is a great way to make new friends!

Why Take A Cruise?

Oceania’s reliability, their flexible dining policies, their itineraries and Oceania’s personnel’s attentiveness and obvious desire to please their guests. For example, the Oceania Black Sea cruise we took in June of 2011 was the only cruise we could find which went around the entire Black Sea including stopping in Sochi, Russia. For the second time, Oceania proved their cruises are adventures in dining from a wide variety of fruits in the Terrace Café at breakfast to culinary delights for lunch and dinner in The Grand Dining Room as well as in the MS Nautica’s two specialty restaurants, Toscana and the Polo Grill. When you choose a

When I told some friends about the cruise we would be taking, a couple said they wouldn’t go on a cruise after seeing on TV the recent cruise-ship disaster off the coast of Italy as well as the trouble two Carnival cruise ships had earlier this year in the Caribbean. My first thought was that all cruise lines are not equal. We have been on nine cruises with six different cruise lines. This was our second Oceania cruise; the first one was on the Black Sea. We like

cruise line, understand their policies and other details. For example, on another cruise line, some years ago, we had to eat dinner at a certain seating time with the same group of ABOVE:

A Buddaha head pers out from between roots and trunks, overgrown by fig tree. (Wat Mahatat, Ayutthaya historical park, Thailand.) RIGHT: Hildegard and Walter going for a trishaw ride to the Raffles Hotel in Singapore. ABOVE, CENTER: Hildegard and Walter on board for an elephant ride.

8 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


people. On the MS Nautica, we could go to the Grand Dining Room or the Terrace Café any time during the lunch and dinner hours by ourselves or with friends; we greatly appreciated the flexibility. The music and entertainment were also to our liking. The majority of the passengers were retired; we didn’t see one child on this Oceania cruise. Disney cruises are very different. You want to choose a cruise compatible with your interests!

with the problem of catching up with the ship on your own. However, the ship is unlikely to leave a group of stranded passengers on a scheduled excursion. Sharing the new experience with other guests on your bus is fun too. I highly recommend you carefully read about the excursion choices and book them in advance of the cruise in order to get a 25% discount on the ones you want. It would be a lot more work to put together one’s own itinerary and much more cumbersome to fly from destination to destination. Being on a cruise ship is so much easier and convenient particularly because you don’t have to handle your luggage at multiple

LEFT: Thai boat in the Chao Phraya River in Bangkok, Thailand ABOVE: Some of the newest buildings in Singapore.

Also, the size of the ship and the size of your stateroom and bathroom should be considerations; I have a tendency to get lost on a huge ship. The MS Nautica is a medium-size ship with ten decks and more to our liking. On this cruise, the number of guests ranged from 657 to 674, and there were 400 crew members. The two Oceania cruises we have taken offered the itineraries we wanted, and we thought they were the best value for our money. We were fortunate to have two excellent lecturers onboard, Cmdr. Don Campbell and Peter Guttman. Adding to our understanding and education were the daily “Currents” which were daily newsletters published by Oceania Cruises telling about each port of call, schedule for the day, Grand Dining Room lunch and dinner menus, news from the USA, entertainment opportunities onboard, etc. Shore excursions, organized by the cruise line, are the way to see foreign ports of call. You sit up high on a comfortable bus so you can see better than in a taxi. I never took one picture from a taxi, but I took many from the buses. A guide narrates and explains the points of interest as the bus safely travels according to the excursion plan selected by each guest according to his or her interests. Another important factor is that the excursion bus is safer and more reliable than a taxi. If a taxi driver doesn’t get you back to the ship on time, you would be faced

and litter, mostly in the form of plastic sacks and bottles. Smog and pollution are present from many vehicles with one million new cars being added last year. Thailand is a Constitutional Monarchy with an elderly king and queen and their prince. Thai exports include sugar, rubber and rice. Of Thailand’s 64 million people, 87% are Buddhists; most of the others are Hindus. The elephant is the symbol of Thailand. There are about 3,000 elephants with 2,000 of them living in the jungle. Several places of special interest in Bangkok are the Grand Palace, the Emerald Buddha Temple and the Golden Buddha Temple. We chose an excursion through the Thai countryside to historic Ayutthaya, the Kingdom’s capital from 1350 to 1707 when it was conquered and destroyed by the Burmese. In Ayutthaya we rode an elephant for the first time. It was an TRAVELS—cont’d on page 10

airports and check into one hotel after another.

Our Impressions Of The Ports Of Call April 4 & 5: Bangkok, Thailand, was the beginning of our Asian exploration after flying from Portland to San Francisco to Hong Kong to Bangkok. One may observe that Bangkok is inland from the sea and wonder where we could board the MS Nautica. The answer is that our cruise ship with only a 19.5 foot draft was docked in the Chao Phraya River which flows through Bangkok and then 35 kilometers further into the Gulf of Thailand. Bangkok has 12 million people spread over a large area. There are tall modern skyscrapers as well as squalor

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JUNE 2013 • THE REVIEW • 9


TRAVEL—cont’d from page 9

interesting experience, but I like horseback riding better. The Bang Pa-In Palace had beautiful buildings surrounded by water and well-kept grounds. We went from place to place in a golf cart.

TOP: Skypark built atop the Marina Bay Sands hotel in Singapore. It sports a rooftop infinityedge pool is said to be “One of the top ten hotel rooftop pools.” according to the Huffington Post. CENTER: Sea dragons at Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery, the largest Chinese Buddhist temple in Singapore. BOTTOM: An exotic butterfly in the Butterfly Park, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

April 6: In Thailand, Ko Samui means the Island of Samui. It has dense tropical vegetation and some white beaches by resorts. We drove to the “Big Buddha Temple” which has a 39-foot high, gold-painted, sitting Buddha atop a wide staircase decorated with ornate dragons. Then we drove to the Wat Plai Laem Temple which had an 18-arm • Cage-free Kennels Buddha situated in a lake. What I thought was • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer interesting was how a • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted trained monkey would • Licensed and very affordable! scamper up coconut trees • Pick up and drop off service available and then twist off the coconuts which fall to the Come let your dog run with the pack! ground for collection. At 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama the end of the demonstra360 tion, the monkey got on www.paradisedogranch.com the handler’s motorcycle facebook.com/theparadisedogranch and rode off with him!

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa

601-3570

April 8 & 9: Singapore is at the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula. On an earlier business trip we had seen the exotic Jurong Bird Park with amazing numbers of colorful birds which will even land on you. The National Orchid Garden, located within the beautiful Singapore Botanical Gardens, has over 20,000 orchid plants on display. Sentosa Island can be accessed by road or cable car. I recommend the cable car for the views. On the previous trip, we enjoyed the holographic laser light show on Sentosa Island. This time we took the Singapore Island Tour which was 6.5 hours including a delicious lunch at the Orchid Country Club. We circled the island and saw the market, the Kranji War Memorial where British soldiers rest and a replica of one of the 15-inch British guns which were ineffective against Japanese troops because they fired armor-piercing rounds designed for use against ships and were pointed out to sea. The Japanese came down the Malay Peninsula from the north and cut off Singapore’s water supply. The defeat and surrender of Singapore were the worst in British history. Adding to that disaster was the loss of two capital ships on December 10, 1041. HMS Prince of Wales battleship and the HMS Repulse battle cruiser were sunk by Japanese land-based planes. I thought the Changi Chapel and Museum were interesting because World War II pictures were on display. On the second day in Singapore we again visited the Raffles Hotel, the historic British colonial building and a national monument. There we enjoyed a “Singapore Sling” in the bar. We also took a boat ride on the Singapore River and rode in a pedal-powered “trishaw” (bicycle taxi) from the pier to Raffles. Singapore is no longer perfectly clean because of foreign workers who sometimes drop litter. Now instead of “caning” first offenders, when caught, they get a warning. Second offenders get a fine, and third-time offenders get assigned to a work detail. Singapore is a very affluent financial center for various reasons. It is a key trans-shipment location where 65 million containers are off-loaded and reloaded on other ships making Singapore one of the busiest ports in the world. Tankers are also lined up in the Strait of Malacca which separates Singapore from Indonesia. Tankers off-load oil for the big oil refineries. Singapore is a global business capital; virtually every major international company in Europe, Asia and the US has an office in Singapore. April 10: The MS Nautica docked at Port Klang, but our goal was Kuala Lumpur, the dynamic capital of Malaysia, an hour’s bus ride away. The Petronas Twin Towers dominate this progressive city of 1.6 million. These tallest twin buildings in the world are 1,483 feet high and have 88 floors. Another serious landmark is the Masjid Jamek Mosque which is situated at the confluence of two rivers in Kuala Lumpur. There is a bazaar across the street where we saw natives burning symbolic gifts for their deceased relatives during a festival. Witnessing cultural differences is one of the reasons we take cruises to exotic places. The Kuala Lumpur Bird Park is the world’s largest free-flight, walk-in aviary and home to 3,000 birds. We enjoyed a big, indoor butterfly park, but it TRAVEL—cont’d on page 12

Kalama a Kids Resale sale The T h Best in Kids Resale! e!

Find us on Facebook!

facebook.com/ kalamakidsresale

10 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

Buy • Sell • Trade • Consign

Open 7 Days a Week, 10 to 6!

Exit 30 off I-5 • 299 N 1st St. • Kalama, WA • 360-673-3844

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


over the

N

o matter what the project is children always learn best when they are directly involved and a garden just for them is a great learning tool. Budding green thumbs have endless curiosity about everything. That means seeds, worms, bugs and just about anything else. Indulge that inquisitiveness by providing them with plants that mature quickly. Little minds, while endlessly interested in By Cheryl Spaulding just about everything also have short attention spans. You can help stimulate that interest and plant a take-charge attitude by including your child in every step of the garden planning and planting. Things may seem a little bit un-organized at first. But taking your child or grandchild by the hand and providing him/her with good solid information and tools is always best. Advise your child about the best place to place a garden. This is a great opportunity to share ideas about what plants need to grow, the importance of sunshine, water, healthy soil and a dedication to the job. Together, choose a site that is accessible for your child (and the water hose, of course.) Don’t make the project too overwhelming. A square yard garden plot (three feet by three feet) is a good size for a child to try out burgeoning gardening skills. But a child’s garden can take on about any shape as long as it has paths for easy access to the plants with the hose and for weeding, of course. A good garden design is the square-foot method (12 inches by 12 inches) planting pockets divided by a walkway or even a traditional “wagon wheel” design with “spokes” separating planting pockets or a simple raised bed design. Pique your child’s interest by suggesting growing vegetables they love to eat (try to stick to the ones that are easily sown by seed directly into the garden—nothing too precise is the way to go here). Remember, small hands can better handle large seeds, such as beans, cucumbers, pumpkins and zucchini. Not only are these seeds easy to plant they also sprout quickly. Radishes and lettuce, however, while quick to sprout have very small seeds. It’s best to leave those for your garden where the child can watch them grow but not be responsible for the planting. Flowers are also great for children to grow. Children are awed by the size of sunflowers which also have large fast-growing seeds and huge colorful blossoms. The “mammoth” variety of sunflower can grow as tall as 18 feet and produce heavy seed heads with edible seeds. Growing sunflowers is also a great way to introduce your child to native wildlife such as birds and bees, and the role nutrition plays in the food we grow. Add herbs to the list of easy plants for children to grow. Herbs like basil, parsley, mint, lemon verbena and scented Geraniums make a daily trip to the garden an edible adventure. And for touching, add in Lambs Ears. The soft fuzzy texture and the silvery green color look almost like a cuddly stuffed toy. However, keep in mind that Lambs Ear can be invasive. Visit your local plant nursery together and allow your child to select his or hers own plants (with your guidance, of course.) Including some seedling in the garden plan brings instant gratification and opportunities to dig in the soil while transplanting. Take the time to instruct your child about other garden-related projects while waiting for plants to grow. You can encourage your child to make a sign for the garden such as ‘Jim’s Garden’ or ‘Patsy’s Pantry’. Show them how to make a scarecrow, painted stepping stones or how to build a twig teepee. Using these ideas will broaden your child’s interest in “their garden.” Remember half the fun is also in collecting the bounty of the garden. Let your child share in the joy of the harvest.

This Year Garden Gate Try a Child’s Garden

—Happy Gardening!

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

Stepping Stones BY PAT STEPP

© Copyright 2013/2014

T

here was anticipation of romance and adventure in the air as our coach drove through the rolling hills of the Willamette Valley en route to another time and place. The driver made a turn then reconsidered and reversed his route. Finally, we saw the grove of old-growth fir on a slight hill ahead of us. We were about to enter the “Medieval Faire in the Grove”. The first person I met upon arrival was Conner the Harper who was visiting from the 11th Century. I asked him for directions to the meadow, then followed him to put down my ground covering to keep the damp earth off my costume. As I settled myself to listen to the singers in authentic garb, I thought about what the harpist had said. I wondered what year I would choose to visit if I could step into a time machine. I thought of my days spent in 1323 at a fair years ago, where I had witnessed fetes of arms between knights fighting in front of the castle gate. I loved the storytellers and bought woven ribbons from the maidens making keepsakes. The fascinating thing about this Faire, in another part of the forest, is that several centuries are represented by members of the Society of the Creative Anachronism who choose their own persona and faithfully represent the time they choose to visit with great attention to detail of dress, mannerisms, and speech. The music was soothing as I sat on my tablecloth spread out under a smallish tree that gave shelter from the sun. When the singers arrived I witnessed two children who were dressed in authentic garb being given instructions by their mother, who was a madrigal singer in the troupe who would be performing next. “I don’t care what you do as long as I can’t see you!”, she told them. I smiled at her honesty. For the next 45 minutes we alternately watched the singers and the children playing under the tree. The girl mastered climbing the tree in her long skirt . They were playing outside in nature without anything more technical than a tree branch. Watching Maypole dancers brought back memories of my dancing winding over and under at a grade school program. My new skirt had become unsnapped at the waist, and I had to hold it closed. (Between dances, my mother saved the day with a trusty safety pin.) I brushed up on my calligraphy while talking to the girl minding Scribes booth, then strolled on further to visit a tent that said “The Silk Road” . There were several maps showing the routes that camel caravans used during the Middle Ages to bring exotic wares to Europe from the Far East. I guessed at the names of the different spices held up to my nostrils that were used to preserve food for long journeys. Then it was time to leave. Reluctantly, I returned to our current century from that sunny day of long ago and far away.

CITY HALL

MINI GARDEN SHED I have a nice-sized veggie garden, and I was tired of lugging my tools and gloves out each time I wanted to work in it, so I had my husband put our old mailbox on the fence to hold these items. This keeps them from getting wet or rusty. I can also put my cell phone in it while I work and don’t have to worry about dropping it in the dirt. —BeTH Send your time and money saving tips to: Dollar Stretcher Tips, 6695 Cortez Road W., Bradenton FL 34210. If we use your tip we'll send you 3 free issues of our monthly newsletter. Copyright © 2013 Dollar Stretcher, Inc.

100 DAVIDSON AVENUE • Police (360) 225-6965 • Fire (360) 225-7076 • City Council Chambers • Meeting Rooms

ADMINISTRATIVE ANNEX 230 DAVIDSON AVENUE

(360) 225-8281 • Fax (360) 225-7336 • Mayor’s Office • Clerk Treasurer • Utilities • Notary Public • Voter Registration

JUNE 2013 • THE REVIEW • 11

• Community Center • Public Works Information 300 E. Scott Ave. (360) 225-7999 • Park Information • Building • Planning (360) 225-7299 (360) 225-1048 www.ci.woodland.wa.us


TRAVEL—cont’d from page 10

This monkey was trained to pick coconuts high in the trees (Ko Samui, Thailand). After picking coconuts, the monkey left on the handler’s motorcycle. WHAT’S HAPPENING—cont’d from page 6

Astoria Regatta Is Newest Oregon Heritage Tradition The Astoria Regatta, which has celebrated the community’s connections to the water since 1894, has been named an Oregon Heritage Tradition by the Oregon Heritage Commission. The Astoria Regatta is only the fourth event given the honor. The others include the Oregon State Fair (founded 1858), the Linn County Pioneer Picnic (1887) and the comparatively young Pendleton Roundup (1910). The Astoria Regatta traces its beginnings back to 1894 when some residents decided they wanted a way for the community to celebrate the return of Astoria fishermen from Alaska aboard boats filled with salted fish. Rapidly the annual celebration of the community blossomed into one of the premier boat contests on the West Coast. The Astoria of 1894 was a cultural hodgepodge comprised of Native Americans, Scandinavian, Chinese and the usual polyglot of American/Europeans. Early pictures of the Regatta show elaborate festivities amid the thriving downtown that was built over the river on wooden planks.

While Astoria skipped the event during the two world wars and after a 1922 fire that destroyed much of the city, the Astoria Regatta planners today make a year-long effort to create the event, which this year will be Aug. 7–11. More than 60 volunteers spend approximately 10 hours a week year-round planning and promoting the regatta. The event brings together 8,000 to 10,000 people, including people who bring their boats and drop anchors along the riverfront during the entire length of the celebration. More than 50 events take place during the Astoria Regatta. An Oregon Heritage Tradition must have been in continuous operation for more than 50 years, demonstrates a public profile and reputation that distinguishes it from more routine events, and add to the livability and identity of the state, said Commission coordinator Kyle Jansson. For more information, visit http:// www.oregon.gov/oprd/HCD/OHC/pages/oht.aspx The Oregon Heritage Commission coordinates efforts to solve statewide heritage issues through grants, education, and advocacy, and also promotes heritage tourism efforts.

was hot and muggy. We spent time in a diversified 226-acre flower park with orchids and hibiscus gardens. Independence Square represented Kuala Lumpur’s colonial history. Every time we had lunch while on an excursion, it exceeded our expectations. The lunch at the Dorsett Regency was a scrumptious buffet. We also visited the impressive “Suria KLCC” shopping center which had high-end retail outlets from prestigious companies from all over the world. Next month, part II—don’t miss it!

EASY MOSQUITO REPELLENT I have a wonderful tip to keep those pesky mosquitoes away from you when you’re outdoors. Try dryer sheets. Simply take a dryer sheet and rub over the exposed skin and clothing to keep those buggers at bay. When you go to the beach or outdoor event, pack several in a resealable bag. This makes for light packing and easy access. Plus, you’ll have a nice fresh scent about you. Give it a try. I was skeptical until I tried it. Several friends tried it last weekend. We were amazed. —Brenda

MY PASSWORD BOOK I recently received a small address book as a birthday gift from a local card store. I wasn’t sure what to do with it and was about to donate it when I had a thought. It was the perfect size to keep up with all those usernames and passwords I have so much trouble remembering. —B. Send your time and money saving tips to: Dollar Stretcher Tips, 6695 Cortez Road W., Bradenton FL 34210. If we use your tip we'll send you 3 free issues of our monthly newsletter. Copyright © 2013 Dollar Stretcher, Inc.

JUBILEE—cont’d from page 16

papers and service records. Confederate soldiers, however, were merely sent home at the end of the war, with no discharge papers verifying their service. Organizers in Olympia eventually granted some leniency to Confederate vets, and accepted affidavits from fellow soldiers attesting to the veterans’ presence at Gettysburg. Poignant requests like the following were sent to the state auditor at Olympia: “Dear Sir, as I was a member of Lees army and in the grate Battle of Gettysburg I would be very glad in deed make the trip with old Boys in Blue or any that was there. I am a native of N.C. was in the first NC regulars. Please let me hear from you in regard to the matter as I am not posted how to procede. —Yours with grate [sic] respect, C. F. Baker, East Sound Wash” Eventually, 163 Washington veterans boarded a special train and headed east to Pennsylvania. The train stopped occasionally along the way and in Havre, Montana, two vets got off the train to stretch their legs. Engrossed in telling war stories, they lost track of time and missed getting back on their railroad car. Luckily, a regular Great Northern train picked them up and took them on to the reunion. Among the old soldiers returning to the scene of battle were these from southwest Washington: C. Beltz, Jacob Heater, and John Pearson, Aberdeen; Bennet Loomis, Bucoda; N. B. Westfall, Chehalis; Orval and Perry Chandler, Doty; Martin Furnia, Montesano; Ben Parsall, Raymond; A. Fradenburg, Ridgefield; George Gordon, Seaview; George Crodle and Thomas McClelland, Tenino; George Ball, Toledo; John Wyant, Toutle; Jewett Curtis, Jacob Prutzman, and E. Rice, Vancouver; Frederick Schlittler, Winlock. Others may have gone, but the above names were listed on the official itinerary. The total number of vets from across the country who attended the jubilee varies depending on the source. Some reports put the total at over 60,000. The average age of the veterans was 72; the youngest attendee was 61, the oldest 112. Vets were sorted into state-specific encampments, and were provided with tents, cots, blankets, and other amenities on the battlefield. The Washington State encampment was said to be “nicely situated on a gentle slope with shade trees.” The organizers also provided on-site hospitals, ambulances, first aid stations, mess halls, and transportation to and from ceremonies and reenactments. The grizzled survivors of Gettysburg were treated with care and respect. At the reenactment of Pickett’s Charge at the “Bloody Angle,” a Philadelphia reporter described the scene: “And those few saw again the deadly day, shuddered as 12 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

ABOVE: An unidentified group of grizzled veterans queue up to board the train home after the Gettysburg reunion. All attending vets were issued commemorative ribbons by the GAR.

photo courtesy library of congress. LEFT:

This gravestone at the Fort Vancouver Military Cemetery marks the last resting place of Jacob Prutzman, who served in the Pennsylvania infantry, and attended the Gettysburg reunion from Vancouver.

photo courtesy find-a-grave.

the bright field before them took on the spectacle aspect of a lane of corpses, and then smiled as they realized that it was indeed but a battle dream of the past, and that they were there in a field of wild daisies and wheat, a half century later, not to live again that mortal combat, but to bury the last trace of enmity in a great universal scene of love and brotherhood.” So the blue and the gray met fifty years later in friendship. The Bellingham Herald reported “The two old veterans who went to a hardware store near the battlefield of Gettysburg the other day, jointly purchased a hatchet and buried the implement beneath the sod, showed that they were willing to carry a figurative performance to its literal conclusion.” After July 4th, the vets disbanded and boarded trains to return home. Gettysburg was once again left to its dead. WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


THE

Hall Faithful

gifts (Jesus gave us the Holy Spirit and the Bible!) and depart to “prepare a place for her” promising to come again to get her. The custom was for the bridegroom to build a lavish place at his own father’s house. (Jesus is building us a place in Heaven!)The work was to be super—Matthew 25:21 vised by the bridegroom’s father, and only when his (New International Version, ©2011) father felt it was ready would the son get permission to retrieve his bride. (Jesus is working hard on our place, “ ood job! Well done!” Who doesn’t like hearing waiting for God the Father to send Him to get us!) these words? Children love to hear these words Meanwhile, the bride was to prepare herself. She was to from their parents; workers love to hear it from their keep herself pure and lovely and “veiled” to show she was employers; players from their coaches; pastors from BY LORI ANDERSON spoken and paid for! She was to keep herself ready for their congregations; even dogs from their masters. Wives like husbands to tell them they’ve done well and husbands like to hear it from their departure because she never knew when her groom would come. She needed to have her wives. Anybody who loves anybody likes to hear these words from their loved ones. I would lamp ready and plenty of oil and her required “bride stuff” on hand, ready to go at any time. even go so far as to say, we NEED to hear these words of affirmation, especially from the No matter how long it took, she needed to be eagerly waiting, excitedly longing, and wisely preparing. one who loves us best and most, God, our Creator. When the time came, the groom along with his party (I assume HIS family and friends) God longs to tell us, and we, the created, long to hear, “Well done, good and faithful servant!”. But how can WE please God? How can we be counted among those found in would blow a trumpet type instrument announcing their arrival. This is where the ten virgins the Hall of the Faithful? Searching and studying the Bible’s parables and principles helps come in. They were specially chosen and honored as the torchbearers for the wedding procession back to the place the bridegroom had prepared. That means they were to light the make it clear. In the Parable of the Ten Virgins, found in the New Testament Gospel of Matthew, we way for the wedding procession to the wedding party! The organizer of the event (the brideare told that being excited and always prepared for Jesus’ return pleases God! Being lazy groom’s father, and in our case, God) would know the faithful chosen ones from the party and selfish and doing whatever we want does not. So, we are told to, “…keep watch, be on crashers by what they were wearing and how they were prepared. The foolish five girls did not bother to keep themselves prepared and instead decided to do what they were naturally the alert, because you do not know the day or the hour (Jesus will return).” Keeping watch means several things. We need to keep watch (study) on the scriptures to inclined to do — sleep, not prepare, not stay ready, etc. and they were locked out of the understand exactly what the parables are telling us in order to learn the signs to “keep wedding party. I guess they thought what a lot of us think — Do what you want now and watch” for—to learn what it means to “be on the alert”. Many times the scriptures give us wait till the last minute to do what you should. The problem with waiting till the last minute is… who knows when the last minute is? the explanations right after the parable/principle. Sometimes, it does not. If we study the scriptures, though, the scriptures will explain the scriptures! If we study the histories, cul- My mother died at the age of fifty-five. My grandmother died at 101. My cousin died at tures, and the original meanings of words, those studies help deepen our understanding, too. thirteen. You and I could die at any moment for any reason. Jesus will return like a thief in For example, if we do not study the culture, we will not understand the significance of the the night in the last days of earth to gather His believing church, but the Bible tells us indiParable of the Ten Virgins and how Jesus uses it to teach us about the Kingdom of Heaven viduals NOT to harden our hearts right now against Him because at any point in time Jesus can come back for us individually. Will we be like the five foolish virgins and do what we using the example of a typical Jewish wedding of the time. Knowing the Jewish wedding customs of that time helps us to understand the signifi- want now expecting to live His way later? Or will we be found faithful like the five wise cance of this parable and the many other places where Jesus refers to Himself as the virgins, and eagerly await, excitedly long for, and wisely prepare to see Jesus, the bridegroom and the believing Church as His bride. At that time the young man would Bridegroom? pay a price for his bride to compensate the parents for raising her and to show his love and affection for her. (Jesus paid the ultimate price, giving MARION F. GIFT, 86, of Irrigon Oregon, passed away May 5, 2013. He was born in Ray, His very life for us!) Then he would give his bride some Kansas, on February 10, 1927. He married Margaret Henderson in 1952. They lived most of the time in the state of Washington where he worked in the timber or as an EMT for an ambulance service in Vancouver, Washington. He is preceded in death by his son Tony Gift. He is survived by his wife Margaret Gift of Hermiston, Oregon, and two daughters: Carmelita Kerr (Stan Kerr), of Corvallis, Oregon, and Marla Bononcini (Rick Bononcini), of Burbank,Washington. He is also surCut Stainless Steel, Steel, Aluminum! vived by four grandchildren and two great grandchildren and one great grandchild on the OBITUARIES way. His memorial service was held May 10, 2013, at the Irrigon S.D.A church. “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’”

G

OF THE

PART I

Gone West

Plasma Cutting Units!

#088003 #0

HYPERTHERM

Powermax 30 0

$ ONLY

113500

NO MORE SLOW CONNECTIONS! Get the best-everr high speed internet!

R TO IT TH LL E TV

D W SAT N E

120-230 volt, 1/4-3/8” thick

ROBERT ROBERTS (“Black Bart”) passed away May 24, 2013 at home. Please join his friends & family in a celebration of life and potluck on June 8, 2013, 1:00 p.m. at the Moose Lodge, 133 Davidson Ave., Woodland, Washington. Any questions, please contact Carl at 503-740-5248 or Donna at 360-719-0934. EA

HYPERTHERM

171100

H

TUALATIN

PORTLAND

10540 TualatinSherwood Rd., Tualatin, OR Hours: M-F 8-5

3030 NW 29th • Hours: M-F 8-5 7926 NE Killingsworth, Portland • Hours: M-F 7-4 • Sat 8-12

LONGVIEW 360-575-8018 148 Oregon Way Hours: M-F 8-5

866-332-7018 • 503-221-1100

LER

$ JUST

T AU

200-240 volt, 1/2-3/4” thick hick

OR

SAVE with th our our bundled package offer! Calll for C Ca Cal for det detail details. ails. s. Rul Rules es and re restr restrictions strict iction ionss appl aapply. pply. pp yy.

TA I

Powermax 45 5

#088016

IZ E D RE

119 NE 1st, Kalama K l Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2

Godfrey’s G odfrey’s Pharmacy Pharmacy • Father’s Day & • Gifts & more! Graduation Cards • Russell Stover & • Gift Wrap Whitman Candies

673-2600

www.kalamatv.com www kalamatv com

360

673-2950

270 N 1st St•Kalama

Open Monday–Saturday 9:30 a.m.– 6:00 p.m.

Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark & Columbia Counties Since 1982.

Your dream home deserves an experienced builder— Chilton Custom Homes can do the job! • New builds… • Home Remodels and Additions WE BUILD HOMES! Your lot or ours…

360 225-0427 or online at www.chiltoncustomhomes.com

LICENSED • BONDED • INSURED – LIC. #CHILTCH35JL

WISTERIA—cont’d on page 13

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JUNE 2013 • THE REVIEW • 13


AT HOME IN PARADISE:

Read it on the Web!

Go to www.reviewmediagroup.com! g p

NORTHWEST

The Best of the Pacific Northwest! 360

225-1273

131 Davidson Ave., Ste. AA / PO Box 244 • Woodland, WA 98674 www.reviewmediagroup.com • info@reviewmediagroup.com

photo by doug schurman

The Black-Necked Stilt

T

he small passenger plane took of out of Barbados heading for a tiny island in the Caribbean. We were excited and anxious to arrive at Dominica and get busy building new houses for those that had lost their homes in a hurricane. We were a group from the Pacific Northwest, mostly from the Woodland area who love to help others in disasters. I was a little upset because I did not have a bird book for this area but found out right away that another couple had one and would share; wonderful news for me. As we approached the runway we could see that it ended right at the ocean so the pilot had to really know his stuff to touch down right at the end correctly. As we came lower we could see that both sides of the runway was lined with palm trees—paradise was waiting for us! As soon as the doors were open we were greeted with bird songs and a balmy breeze. I was ready to head out immediately to do some fun birding. I soon found out there were more pressing things to do first. Birding down around the water’s edge one day we saw several kingfishers that were smaller than the ones we have. I was greatly surprised to see a blacknecked stilt as it was a bird I had seen in our area once. Looking closer I could see the crimson colored eyes, the long slender legs that were a buff or pinkish color, the pure white stomach and head and the black wings. What was it doing here any way? In reading up on the stilts I found out that they are quite well traveled. BIRDS—cont’d on page 15

14 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


BIRDS—cont’d from page 14

photo by doug schurman

They can be found in Southern Oregon, Idaho, S. Sask., Utah, New Mexico, Golf coast of Texas, Florida, Baja Calif., Central America to Nicaragua, West Indies, Galapagos Islands to the coast of Ecuador. Well, we were in the West Indies so guess I shouldn’t have been surprised but I was. These long legged birds weigh 14 and a half pounds to 16 oz. And are 13 and a half to 15 and a half inches which includes the extremely slender, straight bill that is slightly upturned and needle-pointed. It will take long graceful strides as it swishes its bill back and forth in the shallow water to stir up food. It eats floating seeds, aquatic insects and crustaceans. When walking they almost run as they hurry first one way and another to find more goodies to eat. The stilts nest in small colonies and make a slight depression for their nests that is in the open or sometimes partly hidden by plants. There four yellow or buff eggs are deposited. These precious eggs are guarded and kept warm by both parents. After hatching it doesn’t take long for the fluffy babies to start running around and catching their own goodies to eat. We soon found several other birds that were familiar to us having seen them either in our area or Central America. We did enjoy seeing familiar birds as well as new to us, New Ones.

OPPOSITE PAGE: The outstretched wings of a black-necked stilt in flight shows off the distinctive coloring of this medium-sized bird. THIS PAGE: Black, white, and pink are the colors to look for, plus the long, pointed beak which the stilt uses to “swish” for its food in the water, silt, and sand.

What’s in your water? Water

• Residential Softeners, • Commercial Filters & • Industrial Purifiers Water Testing Available for Determining Filtration Needs photo by doug schurman

360

696-9287

www.waterandairworks.com LAWN CARE

LAWNMOWER Black & Decker Lawnhog Electric Lawn Mower $149.99 LAWNMOWER Lawn & Garden 20” Push Mower $149.99 LAWNMOWER Troy-Bilt, with bag $249.99 LAWNMOWER Murray IE22 $119.99 BICYCLES

DIAMOND BACK Voyager $299.99 SCHWINN Moab $129.99 MONGOOSE Dirt Bike $149.99 GT AVALANCHE 3.0 $249.99 NOVARA Metro Deluxe $259.99 SHIMANO Kent 21 speed Tandem Bike $279.99

BICYCLES

BICYCLES

TREK 7300 $399.99 ROCK HOPPER Mtn. Bike $699.99 SCHWINN High Timber $99.99 SCHWINN Clear Creek $119.99 HUFFY Rock Creek $59.99 JAMIS 2005 XLT 1.0 20th Anniv. $499.99 VICTORY Vegas Jackpot Bike $179.99 NOVARA Metro Deluxe $259.99 TREK 7300 Bicycle $399.99 HOFFMAN Rythmn BMX Bike $199.99 MONGOOSE XR $99.99 GT Pre Series 24 Bike $299.99 DIAMOND BACK Venom $379.99

ROCKMOUNTAIN Concord Mountain Bike $59.99 GENESIS Big E-Z Bike $139.99 MONGOOSE Avalon $59.99 COMPUTERS

LAPTOP Dell Latitude E6400 $189.99 LAPTOP Dell E6400, Vista, 2.40 GHz $189.99 LAPTOP ACER 5750Z $279.99 DESKTOP HP MS227 $249.99 LAPTOP Lenovo B570 $299.99 NOTEBOOK Eclipse 4.3 $49.99 LAPTOP ASUS EE PC 1605 HAB $159.99 LAPTOP ACER AOD255 $159.99

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JUNE 2013 • THE REVIEW • 15


SW WASHINGTON HISTORY

GETTYSBURG

“I want to get in on the trip this year. Was there in 1863, carried a Springfield Rifle with the 60th Rgt New York Vols, and we were on the right of the line during the scrap. Please let me hear from some one in charge of the trip. —Wright Havens” ne hundred years ago this month, elderly men across the nation were preparing to go to war—well, at least to relive a battle, one of the most famous in our country’s history: the Battle of Gettysburg. In 1913, though, the old veterans were headed to the battle site not in anger, not in fear, not to defend the North or South. Instead, they were attending a peace jubilee to celebrate the 50th anniversary of “the scrap.” The 50th anniversary was a landmark event to take place July 1st through 4th, and the Grand Army of the Republic organization decided to bring as many survivors as possible to the Pennsylvania battlefield, to relive those gory glory days of the Civil War. To that end, individual states gathered names of veterans, publicized the upcoming commemoration, and raised money to transport the vets to the site. The State of Washington put up $15,000 toward transportation. The Great Northern Railway won the contract to take our vets back east. The state, however, underestimated the number of Gettysburg vets living in Washington, and came up short of funds at the last minute. Luckily, a well-to-do veteran, Horace C. Henry

of Seattle, donated enough money to cover the costs of transporting all Washington vets back to the jubilee. Meanwhile, vets across the state were writing Olympia to find out how to get on the list, what arrangements to make, departure dates, and so forth. To qualify for the free trip, the vet must have actually been at the Battle of Gettysburg. Union soldiers did not have much trouble with this rule, as they all had discharge

The PeaceJubilee

O

JUBILEE—cont’d on page 12

A group of veterans from Pennsylvania gather to play some marching music at the Gettysburg jubilee. photo courtesy library of congress.

BY KAREN L. JOHNSON

16 • THE REVIEW • JUNE 2013

Alonzo Fradenburg of New York enlisted in the US Army in 1862, and saw action in many battles in addition to Gettysburg, before mustering out in 1865. He eventually married, had a dozen children, and moved to Washington in 1903. He spent his last three decades in Clark County. He is shown here as an elderly man, proudly sporting commemorative ribbons. photo courtesy rootsweb.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


The Review—June 2013, (vol 11, issue 6)