Issuu on Google+

JULY 2201 0133 • VOL 11, ISSUE 7 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

FREE!

NORTHWEST

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

Come along with Walter Pistor on the second leg of a multi-country trip. See the story on pages 6 & 7… THIS PAGE: Ornately decorated columns topped by golden faux palms are just part of the breathtaking beauty seen inside the huge Sheik Zayed Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi, UAE. photo by walter pistor


den Insect ar s G

L

e

t

ong before they are even beginning to awaken from their aw w winter slumbers I w anxiously wona der d when I will begin to hear b their low dronth h o vLI in ingg buzz. When I ST K o OR n O ow andGL YA OF do d hhear e them I feel ND AR PHOTO S BY NORA myself my m ysseelff rrelax. I may even let out a sigh of relief along with a quiet exclamation, ‘Oh good! They are back!’. The Bumblebee Queens, that is. They are just one of the groups of the many pollinating helpers in our varied environment, but they tend to be a favorite of the bunch. They buzz along low to the ground in late winter or early spring, depending on the weather and temperatures. As they search for a new site to make their new hive they will also forage for nectar to keep their energy up. The Queen has quite a lot to do. Soon the she will be able to remain in the nest she built while the workers she has been nurturing take over the duties of caring for the next group of workers. She will continue to lay more eggs and later those eggs will become next season’s Queens and Drones.

Four types of Bumble bees work in my yard. The classic large black and yellow ones, a large black, yellow, and orange-banded one, another smaller similarly colored type, and recently I am seeing a mainly yellow with small black bands, medium-sized Bumble bee who is busily helping right along with the other furry humble Bumble friends. I especially enjoy the little orange-banded fellows. They move about quickly and warily. I find it difficult to take pictures of them as they appear very aware of me. If I come near them they move to the opposite side of the big blueberry bush just far enough out of range of my camera. They work very fast. They are very focused on their work of visiting and gathering nectar at each little bell shaped blueberry blossom. The larger Bumble bees seem less concerned about me and my camera. They continue with each blossom in the area they are interested in as if there is no threat. I like that because I am no threat and they are so much fun to watch as they climb in and out of the pea flowers or the snapdragons, the iris or the foxgloves. I am actually like BUMBLES—cont’d on page 8

ABOVE: Mint blossoms are very popular with the many varieties of bees who visit my yard. This is one of the big black and yellow Bumble bees who are often gathering nectar in the mint in late summer and early fall. BACKGROUND PHOTO: One of the larger orange-banded Bumble bees I see around my yard enjoying some lavender here.

2 • THE REVIEW • JULY 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


ners at 9 a.m. All proceeds from the $20 participant fee will go directly to Clark County Food Bank. To register for this event go to: signmeup.com/92805. Additional information regarding this event can be found at http://www.facebook. com/raceagainsthungerwoodland or by emailing raceagainsthungerwoodland@gmail.com

IN THIS ISSUE The Review — July 2013, Vol. 11, Issue 7

FEATURES— 6 Travels with Walter:

DEPARTMENTS Humble Bumbles By Nora Garofoli

4 History: In Search of LAND in Washington Territory By Karen Johnson

9 Over the Garden Gate: History in the Garden By Cheryl Spaulding

10 Religion: Hall of the Faithful By Lori Anderson

11 Summit Grove Lodge For a delicious Sunday Brunch… By Diva Gastronomique

12 Birds Galore: Bird Sanctuary By Norma Brunson

WHAT’S HAPPENING It’s a City-Wide Garage Sale in Woodland! Woodland’s City-Wide Garage Sale will be held on Saturday, August 3rd, from 8 AM– 4 PM. You hold the sale—we do the advertising, and provide a list and map of participating addresses (printed and online). COST: $5.00 to cover advertising (all unused funds will be donated to the Woodland Community Service Center). Deadline to register is July 15th. More information or an application form can be found at www.woodlandwachamber.com and several local businesses.

2013 Credit Union Ride & Rock What: A motorcycle ride (including lunch) and poker run that ends with a Patrick Lamb concert. The concert includes a gourmet dinner and exclusive seating. You can attend either or both events. When: Sunday, August 11. Registration is at 11:00am, last rider out at 12:30, concert is 6–8 p.m. Who: Co-sponsored by Fibre Federal Credit Union and iQ Credit Union. Where: The ride starts in Vancouver, stops at Doernbecher to deliver stuffed teddybears, winds through Oregon a bit, then ends in Ridgefield, WA at Bethany Vineyards for the concert. Why: All proceeds benefit Doernbecher Children’s Hospital. How: To stay up to date on the event, “like” Ride & Rock on Facebook: facebook.com/curideandrock. To get more information, check prices and purchase tickets for

PLEASE READ: To those who are putting out poison in whatever form: • Poison peanutbutter draws birds/squirrels etc. • Poison meats kill cats, dogs, squirrels and some birds. • Poison KILLS the creatures we love to watch. Several squirrels have been found dead around homes on C.C. street in Woodland. One fell out of a tree in front of a homeowner and died in agony. Is that what you want for your pet? Think before using toxic materials and poisons no matter what the reason—you could kill someone’s beloved pet or harm a helpless creature. —Norma Brunson, Birds Galore GONE WEST—cont’d from page 11

TINA BELL KITCHEN age 97, passed away at her Adult Family Home in Bothell, WA. on May, 25. 2013. Born Tina Belle McDaniel on August 18, 1915 in Tipton, Oklahoma, she moved to Longview as a young girl. She lived in Longview, Woodland, and Kirkland, WA, before settling in Bothell, WA. She and her husband Ted Kitchen owned and operated Baker’s Corner Store in Longview, WA, for 28 years. After retiring, Ted and Tina settled in Woodland, WA, where they lived on the Lewis River golf course in the summers and Yuma, AZ, in the winters. Tina learned to play golf. She and Ted were very active golfers and played almost every day. Tina and Ted were members of the Eagles and the BPOE in Longview and enjoyed many friends and events over the years. She will especially be remembered for her loving to have fun and her smile every day. Survivors include her daughter Janice Hinson of Kirkland, WA, and son Ron Kitchen of Reno, NV, three grandchildren, seven greatgrandchildren, and WHAT’S HAPPENING AT VFW two great-greatgrandchildren. She was preceded in death by her son GUARANTEED WINNERS!! Kenneth Kitchen Every Tuesday, Starting September 10, 2013 and her husband Ted. Games Begin @ 6:30—Doors Open @ 5:00 PM There were serBREAKFAST—2nd Saturday Each Month; 8–11 AM vices held; the family gathered for a Gus Forbes VFW Post 1927 434 Davidson Ave., Woodland, WA private spreading of (360)225-5854 her ashes.

TOPS #1129 Meets in Woodland The TOPS #1129 Group meets at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesdays for their weigh-in and meeting at the Woodland Community Center located at 782 Park Street. For more information contact Delores at 360-606-6434. Race Against Hunger! “Race Against Hunger Woodland” is a 5k walk/run that will take place at Woodland’s locally-owned Holland America Bulb Farms: 1066 South Pekin Road, Please call if you have questions: Woodland, WA. Phone: (360) 225-1273; Fax: (360) 225-4838; web: The race will take www.reviewmediagroup.com; place on Saturday e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com 07/27/2013. Physical address: 131 Davidson Ave., Check-in begins at Suite AA; Mailing address: PO Box 8 a.m., walkers at 244, Woodland, WA 98674 8:45 a.m., and runDeadlines: Please see our

B I N G O

deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com. Member, Woodland and Kalama Chambers of Commerce Circulation approx. 15,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Cougar, Amboy, Yale, Fargher Lake, Battle Ground, Vancouver, and Kelso/Longview). Published monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in any form whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

DANGER

Relay For Life Fundraiser The Fat Moose Bar and Grill in Woodland will be holding a fundraiser for the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life on Thursday, July 11th from 4–8:00 p.m. 10% of all food sales during this time will be donated to the Relay. Pulled Pork will be the featured menu item for the night at $4.99, with purchase of a beverage. Children are welcome. The Fat Moose is located at 1382 Lewis River Road in Woodland, WA. Barb Boswell will be speaking at a Relay for Life fundraiser at 7:00 p.m. on July 16th at Exodus Christian Fellowship, 2746 Ocean Beach Highway, Longview. The theme for the evening will be “The Gift of Encouragement.” A love offering will be taken with all proceeds to the Relay for Life.

Part 2 of 2 parts of a 25-country trip… By Walter Pistor

2 Insects to Know & Love:

either the concert, the poker run, or both, visit www. curideandrock.org.

CLASSIFIEDS ANNOUNCEMENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS

01

FOR RENT

PUBLISHER’S NOTICE

ROOMS FOR RENT

ALL REAL ESTATE advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

Downtown Woodland, $420/mo + tax or $150/wk + tax, utilities included. Call 225-7339 or 7723518.

PRAYER WARRIOR will pray for you. Give me a call if you have a need. 360-225-9725.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

FOR RENT

HELP WANTED

LHA PROPERTIES

ADVERTISING SALES

Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama

Advertising Sales reps needed. Pay commensurate with experience. Straight commission only. Send resumes to editor@reviewmediagroup.com or by mail to Advertising Sales Position, The Review, PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674. This position should be considered part time, no benefits provided.

Family & Elderly/ Disabled Units Pay only 30% of your adjusted gross income

360

225-7781

JULY 2013 • THE REVIEW • 3

HELP WANTED

DRIVER/LABORER CLASS A CDL Lifting and carrying of up to 55 lbs, passing a background check, and drug testing are also required. Must be motivated in giving 110% and receiving in return a full time job with medical, dental, optical, 401k and being part of a company that values their employees. Wage commensurate with experience. Call or leave a voice mail @ 971237-5600


SW WASHINGTON HISTORY

LOOKING FOR

S

LAND!

ometime in 1856, the Newakum. The territorial Reverend James Roberts road from Olympia to of Middleboro, Massachusetts Cathalamet passes by wrote to a Presbyterian minand crosses the Chehalis ister in Washington Territory. right by the house, a road Roberts’ objective was to on which there is now a purchase a half-section of great deal of travel, & BY KAREN L. JOHNSON land south of Puget Sound; he asked Rev. Jotham Weeks Goodell Sr. which when completed to Cathalamet, will be one of the great of Grand Mound to act as his agent in locating and obtaining a suitable parcel. thoroughfares of the country. The military road from Steilacoom to Vancouver Goodell, his wife and several of their children had come west in 1850–51 from passes within a mile of it—it is situated in one of the best neighborhoods, in the Vermilion, Ohio, and had taken up a land claim in what would become southern territory —mostly New England, & many of them Massachusetts people. We have Thurston County. Shortly afterward, Goodell’s daughter and son-in-law, Phoebe and a church organized there. A saw mill has just been completed & is now in operation Holden Judson, joined her parents in Washington Territory, and took up a land claim one mile from it, & a flouring mill is to of their own near present-day Adna in Lewis County, a few miles west of Chehalis. be erected there in the spring. Your To Learn More… (The Judsons later moved north and founded the city of Lynden. Phoebe eventually son inquired why it was that land You can view old land maps at the U.S. Bureau wrote a book titled A Pioneer’s Search for the Ideal Home, available at many libraries, claims were held so high when so of Land Management website. Go to www. and worth a read.) much of the country is yet unsettled. I blmgov/or/landrecords/survey/ySrv1.php, At least one letter from the correspondence between Goodell and Roberts still suranswer it is only peculiar claims that then type in the township and range number you’re interested in. A table of maps and notes vives. It describes a piece of land located near the Judsons’ homestead. Goodell wrote are thus high. In the 1st place the right will appear; for maps, click on one of the two glowingly of the land and the opportunities it afforded. of soil is of considerable importance. or three listed. The selection generally includes For example I have a donation of 640 a topographic (land features) map as well as Grand Mound Thurston Co Rev James Austin Roberts acres of land—this cuts me off from an ownership map. Wash. Ter. Jany 1, 1857 getting any more from the governStart your own collection of antique letters. Dear sir: ment… Online auctions are a great way to acquire In the 2nd place, although there is an interesting hand-written documents. For I rec’d your note enclosed in a letter off abundance of good land in abun u example, eBay offers a “Collectibles” category. your sons, requesting me to purchase the counOnce there, find the “Paper” subcategory, then for you the 320 acres land claim I try, there filter by desired date (such as 1800-1899). had previously described to your Although some letters with historic signifiis not a son. It would have afford me great cance can sell for hundreds of dollars, others g r e a t pleasure to have complyed with can be purchased for just a few dollars. amount of yyour request, & had nearly comCareful, though—some of the sale items are superior pleted a bargain for it, but on further pl envelopes only, and contain no letters. Read prairie the item descriptions carefully to be sure what consideration thought best to defer The Reverend land, adjayou’re bidding on. That said, envelopes and Jotham Weeks the matter till you come and see cent to the postmarks are collectible on their own. Goodell Sr. for yourself. great thorphoto courtesy of It is a very valuable tract of www.vermilionohio.org. oughfares. The richest prairie lands, in the vicinity of any settlement, land—a conthat I am acquainted with, lie in the neighborhood above siderable portion of it mentioned. And there is no land superior to them in the world. The soil is of prairie of the richest great depth, easy tilled— & yields great crops. My son in law who owns a farm immesoil—lies on the Chehalis diately adjoining the one I proposed to buy for you, has never raised less than 30 river two miles above bushels of wheat to the acre, & frequently raises as high as 40 bushels—and that by the mouth of the only over ploughing the land.

IN WASHINGTON TERRITORY

Bargains of the Month!

Your dream home deserves an experienced builder— Chilton Custom Homes can do the job! • New builds… • Home Remodels and Additions WE BUILD HOMES! Your lot or ours…

360 225-0427 or online at www.chiltoncustomhomes.com

LICENSED • BONDED • INSURED – LIC. #CHILTCH35JL

CENTER IMAGE: The letter shown here was sent from Washington Territory to Massachusetts, and was signed by Goodell, who was postmaster at Grand Mound from 1855 to 1859. Prior to the Civil War, letters were not mailed in envelopes. Instead, one page of the letter was left blank. The finished letter was then folded into its own little packet, with the blank portion forming a space for the address. Postage stamps were seldom used; rather, the postmaster would sign the “envelope” or apply an inked postmark, signifying that the correct postage had been paid.

Columbia Bank Carol Rounds

Vice President • Branch Manager WOODLAND BRANCH

782 Goerig St. Woodland, WA 98674 360225-9421 • Fax 360225-8146 crounds@columbiabank.com

4 • THE REVIEW • JULY 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


ABOVE:

This map from 1863 shows ownership of land parcels at that time. Although we’re not entirely sure which parcel Goodell and Roberts discussed, it is likely the one marked “Thomas Ford,” immediately west of land claimed by Holden Judson, Goodell’s son-in-law.

It is also superior land for raising hogs. My son in law I suppose has from one to two hundred hogs which he has never fed a mouthful, many of them very good pork. Thousands of dollars worth of pork is killed in this country that never cost the owners a dime to feed. The principle root on which the hog feeds & fattens is the Camus—which aside from fish is the principle food of the Indians…. Jany 2nd—The States’ mail has just arrived bringing a note from your son requesting me not to purchase the land. I am thankful now that matters turned out as they did. I made a firm bargain for it over and the writings were to have been drawn the next day, but he backed off thinking I would give him more, but this I did not intend to do. Hoping I shall have the pleasure of seeing you in the spring, should our lives be spared. I remain yours truly J W Goodell

ABOVE: This map from 1858 shows the general topography in the north part of Township 13 North Range 3 West. The land in question is likely near or inclusive of the parcel marked “L. I. Tower.” Notice the road running from west to east labeled “Road from Oak Point to Olympia”—this was the “Olympia to Cathalamet” road Goodell wrote about. The “Territorial Road” is at the far right. The Chehalis River meanders from west to east.

Even though the land deal fell through, Goodell might have found a new career as a real estate agent, as he certainly knew how to talk up a piece of land. Unfortunately, he died in 1859, but left a large family to carry on his name.

Woodland Auto Supply Wo Auto–Truck Heavy Duty–Marine Farm–RV–Paint OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK!

225-6529

360

1015 Pacific Avenue • Woodland

GET 10% MORE! Bring in this coupon for 10% more on your loan! Expires 7/31/2013 • Cannot be combined with any other offer. • See store for details.

Move into Woodland Assisted Living Community and feel confident that professional help is right at your hand when you need it. You’ve been caring for others all your life… it’s time for you to relax and enjoy all the personalized attention you so richly deserve!

Life’s too short… Enjoy every moment to your fullest!

“I was so afraid I would never regain the strength to return home but my new friends at Woodland Care Center got me back on my feet in no time. They supported my goals every step of the way.” —Horace “Red” Mayfield 360

225-9443 • www.woodlandcarecenter.com

310 4th Street • Woodland, WA

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JULY 2013 • THE REVIEW • 5

Privately owned and operated.


which gained its independence from Britain in 1948. Sri Lanka has a long colonial history. The Portuguese first established a colony there, but the Dutch replaced them and the British replaced the Dutch. The country used to be called Ceylon, and it was always famous for its teas. We drove around and saw various government buildings as well as the Gangaramaya Buddhist Temple and learning center. We enjoyed a cultural dance show at the luxurious Taj Samudra hotel overlooking the Indian Ocean. Colombo was the only place on our trip that we saw cobras in their baskets swaying back and forth in concert with the movement and flute playing of their charmers or handlers. April 17: The Maldives is an island nation in the Indian Ocean consisting of a double chain of twenty-six atolls. This archipelago is on top of a submerged mountain range south of India. Male is the capital and only populous city in the Maldives. The contrasts on this cruise were particularly interesting. The surrounding ocean water was beautiful. The highlight of our excursion was going down to 93 feet in a comfortable pressurized submarine where we saw through windows a variety of fish and several big Morey Eels. We walked around some of the town and went inside the pretty, local mosque and small National Museum. When I saw the fish market, I thought how smart our ship’s executive chef, Alban Gjoka, was to shop early and buy fresh red snapper directly from the local fishermen.

VOYAGE

Connoisseurs OF THE

April 12: Phuket, Thailand, is the largest of forty Thai islands and located in the Andaman Sea. It is 70% Buddhist, 25% Islamist and 5% Christian. It has some nice beaches. We visited the Wat Chalong Buddhist Temple and Monastery. We did not buy any jewelry at the huge Wang Talang jewelry store, but we did buy a beautiful hand bag there. A highlight of our tour was the Thai cultural show with the dancers and drummers all dressed up in Thai costumes.

April 19–21: En route to the Taj Mahal. Hildegard and I disembarked at Cochin (Kochi), South India, drove through the city to the airport and flew north to Delhi. I had two immediate impressions. The negative was the amount of litter, and the positive was the beauty of the colorful saris the Indian women wear. I wish I had been able to get a picture of pretty Indian women in their saris of many colors standing alongside of a train track with litter everywhere. From Delhi, we took a 3½ hour bus ride to the city of Agra and checked into the Radisson Blu Hotel for two nights. The next morning we saw the spectacular Taj Mahal built out of gleaming white marble. We went back that evening to see it again. Agra was the capital of the Mughal Empire from 1526 to 1571. The Mughal emperors were Muslims and direct descendants of Genghis Khan. Their empire covered more than India and lasted until 1857. They would be shocked if the could see how most Indians in Agra live in squalor today. The Taj Mahal is a blend of Persian and Islamic architecture and is one of the most visited wonders of the ancient world. Some people mistakenly think the Taj Mahal is a mosque because of the minarets, but it is not; it is a mausoleum built by Mughal Emperor Sha Jahan in memory of his beloved third wife. Both her marble casket and his are inside of the Taj Mahal. They can be seen but not photographed. You can see them on the Internet. This magnificent structure and its surroundings took thousands of artisans and craftsmen over twenty years to build it from 1632 to 1653. The Agra Fort is also impressive. It is a huge red stone structure and definitely worth seeing. We rode the bus back to Delhi and caught a plane to Mumbai where we rendezvoused with our cruise ship, the MS Nautica.

April 15: Colombo, Sri Lanka, has friendly people, but the port looked dirty, disorganized and poor. We were told by a guide that there are wild bears, leopards and elephants in the parks of Sri Lanka

April 21 & 22: Mumbai, formerly known as Bombay, with over 20 million, is the most populous city in India and the fourth most populous in the world. It has a long colonial past with many British

ABOVE:

The Grand Mosque in Oman has the largest chandelier in the world with 600,000 crystal trimmings and 1,122 halogen lamps; it is eight meters in diameter. There are also 34 smaller chandeliers of the same design in the main prayer room.

PART II OF II PHOTOS AND STORY BY WALTER PISTOR, KALAMA, WA

W

ith this issue, we continue the story of a 25-day Oceania cruise was taken in April, 2013, from Southeast Asia to the Persian Gulf, including Hong Kong, Bangkok, Thailand, the Middle East (Dubai, UAE, the Strait of Hormuz, Iran) and more…

MIDDLE

herita ABOVE: charm

6 • THE REVIEW • JULY 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


buildings left intact. The main museum was formerly the “Prince of Wales Museum.” It has incredible artifacts. Mumbai is located on the west coast of India on the Arabian Sea and is India’s commercial and financial capital. There are some billionaires there but millions of very poor people. I would suggest you visit the Gandhi Museum, if you want to know more about his life and concept of non-violence. Called “Mani Bhavan,” it is the former residence of Mahatma Gandhi. We enjoyed riding around and seeing the sights. We visited the temple of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness. Krishna is one of the thousands of gods Hindus worship. We saw big houses on Malabar Hill en route to the Hanging Gardens. In contrast was Dhobi Ghat which is an outdoor laundry where all kinds of clothing is hand washed, sun dried and ironed by dhobi wallahs (laundry men and women). The former British influence gives Mumbai a special flavor. I am thinking of iconic structures like the “Gateway of India” and the “Victoria Terminus,” the multistory, ornate railway station completed in 1888 but still in use today. Trains are the most used method of transportation in India. Some Indians even ride on top of the railway cars. After returning from the excursion and eating lunch on the ship, we took a taxi to the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel, built in 1903. It has been restored since the 2008 terrorist attack which was world news.

April 25: Muscat, Oman, ABOVE:The world was cleaner than Singapore! famous Taj Mahal. The Sultanate of Oman is situated on the southeastern part of the Arabian Peninsula. Oman has a partially contiguous border with the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Yemen. The Gulf of Oman and the Arabian Sea are on Oman’s eastern side. The southern coast of the Strait of Hormuz, separating the Gulf of Oman from the Persian Gulf, also belongs to Oman. Sultan Qaboos Bin Said is now age 72, and he enjoys a good reputation for being progressive and fair. His family has been ruling Oman since the 1700s. After driving by the white buildings of Muscat with mountains of jagged brown rocks in the background, we were totally impressed with the gorgeous Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque which can accommodate 6,500 worshippers in the men’s prayer room, the prettiest inside of any building we saw on our trip. It was fun to shop in the Muttrah Souk (market) which is said to be the most interesting souq in the Arab Gulf States and to see the Omani women in their black burkas, but they were not to be photographed. The Bait al Zubair museum had an interesting collection of clothing, daggers, etc., but inside photography was not allowed. We walked around the outside of the Al Alam Palace which is now used as the sultan’s guest house; it, too, was impressive. Oman may be similar in size to Italy, but 80% of the land is desert, so Oman has about 2 million people plus 816,000 expatriates, many of whom are work$ ers from India. $ Oman’s national revenues come predominantly from oil and natural gas exports. April 26: Fujairah, United Arab Emirates, is one of the seven emirates comprising the UAE; an emirate is like a E: Thai dancers at the cultural state. Fujairah is the ge center in Phuket, Thailand. only emirate that A cobra handler or “snake has a coast line on mer” in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

the Gulf of Oman but not one on the Persian Gulf. Fujairah is almost totally mountainous and lightly populated with only about 130,000 inhabitants. Fujairah gets financial grants from Abu Dhabi, the capital of the UAE. There is now a 380 km oil pipeline from Abu Dhabi to the port of Fujairah which eliminates the necessity for oil to be transported through the Strait of Hormuz which Iran occasionally threatens to close. The forecast is that Fujairah will become the third largest oil port in the world. The new Sheikh Khalifa Highway links Dubai to Fujairah. We took a scenic drive along the East Coast of the UAE and through the rugged Hagjar Mountain Range. We saw the restored Al Bithnah Fort which TRAVELS—cont’d on page 8

Get 10 your Service of 100 or more! Ask us how!

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

WORLD CLASS — LOCAL WINES

TASTING ROOM: 2411 NE 244TH STREET • RIDGEFIELD, WA 98642

10%

FRIDAYS: 1 P.M. TO 6 P.M.; SATURDAYS: 12 P.M. TO 6 P.M.; SUNDAYS: 12 P.M. TO 5 P.M.

www.threebrotherswinery.com

JULY 2013 • THE REVIEW • 7

W I T H M OFF O F T H IEN T ION S AD !


TRAVELS—cont’d from page 7

is like an old mud castle 13 kilometers west of the city of hundreds of new skyscrapers; the first one was built only 33 Fujairah and situated in a green oasis between mountain years ago. Dubai is a clean city with flowers and palm trees. ranges on both sides of the Haam Valley. We also saw the Of the UAE’s eight million inhabitants, only one million are 300-year-old Fujairah Fort which is being renovated to be a native Emiratis; seven million are workers who are expatrimuseum. ates from other countries like India. Dubai has two million April 27: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, has the largpeople; about 400,000 are Emiratis. Dubai hosts the tallest est land mass of the seven emirates. With a population of building in the world which is the Burj Khalifa Tower which almost one million, Abu Dhabi is the second largest city in is 828 meters high. You can pay to go up to the observation the UAE as well as the capital of the UAE. Abu Dhabi has a deck. Another tourist attraction is the Burj Al Arab, a ritzy cosmopolitan metropolis with many new skyscrapers. hotel in the shape of a billowing sail where you can have High The Sheik Zayed Grand Mosque may be the most opuTea. You can take a ride on a dhow which is an old Arab boat lent mosque in the world. Inside are millions of colored on Dubai Creek which is really an inlet of the Persian Gulf Swarovski crystals in the seven large chandeliers. It is the forming a natural harbor. You can see the most extensive largest mosque I have seen, covering an area the size of assortment of spices in the spice market as well as glittery many football fields. It can accommodate more than gold jewelry in the Gold Souq (market). To learn more about 40,000 worshippers at one time, and the main prayer room the history of Dubai, I recommend visiting the Dubai Museum is designed for 7,000. The carpet in the mosque is the largwhich is located in the 200-year-old Fort Fahidi. It has a numest carpet in the world. Each of the four minarets is more ber of historical and cultural displays. To see some exotic than 100 meters high. works of art which are available for purchase, I suggest the Executive Chef Alban Gjoka serving fresh tuna purchased in the Primarily because of its oil and natural gas exports, Abu Maldives to guests on the MS Nautica. Miraj Islamic Art Center. There were some beautiful pieces Dhabi accounts for more than half of the UAE’s GDP. Abu including a large, bronze Pegasus, the mythical flying horse. Dhabi has more than 2,000 parks and gardens and 16,000 date palm trees. I liked it the best of the Dubai is prosperous because of its oil, and because of that, there are no taxes, but there are fees. emirates we saw. There are hundreds of nice hotels in Abu Dhabi, but the Emirates Palace Hotel That is an important reason why there are more than 600 multi-national companies in Dubai. may be the most impressive. You can enjoy High Tea there. We walked up to the old Al Hisan Fort Overall the Oceania “Voyage of the Connoisseurs” was an exciting cultural adventure. It was which at one time was the Sheikh’s residence; it is now a museum. There is a Heritage Village for interesting to see the economic and religious contrasts. We enjoyed being treated so attentively by a historical perspective. There are many modern malls for shopping. Electricity is generated from the Nautica personnel. Dining on the MS Nautica was a sophisticated culinary adventure. We parnatural gas, but mainly solar energy is Abu Dhabi’s progressive goal. ticularly liked Tony Payne’s piano playing and singing on the Nautica. I personally liked hearing April 28 & 29: Dubai is the most populous emirate and the biggest city in the UAE. Over the Sally Jones sing French songs. We bought a variety of souvenirs for friends. It was a many-faceted, last thirty years Dubai has become one of the most modern, cosmopolitan cities in the world with educational and fun trip of a lifetime. BUMBLES—cont’d from page 2

a cheerleader for them. They are helping me with my crops. They are insurance toward a bountiful crop. They take care of a number of things in my garden from raspberries to tomatoes, peas to zucchini. Bumble bees are vital to many greenhouse crops as they are used primarily to pollinate the foods we enjoy, often out of their ordinary season. This is especially true for tomatoes. Bumble bees are experts at a type of pollinating known as buzz pollinating. When the bumble is visiting a tomato flower it will buzz while gathering the nectar it needs. This vibrates the flower and is the only way to dislodge the pollen from the tomato flower. The pollen is then insured transport to the next flower and a tomato will then be produced. The fur on a Bumble bee is helpful for keeping them warm, thereby allowing them

to be able to work in cooler weather. They are able to carry on the important work of pollinating when some of the other pollinators are unable to due to the cold. Here is another example of why diversity is so important in the pollinator group. The world needs this variety to ensure that all of the many crops and plants continue to be able to flourish and provide us all with food and beauty. Encouraging the humble Bumbles to live and work in your area is as easy as most any work with wildlife. First, respect it. Refusing to use pesticides and herbicides is the best way to start. Planting a wide variety of nectar- and pollen-rich food sources is another step in the process and possibly one of the most important aspects of encouraging insects. These little guys have to be assured that your yard is a good reliable, safe place to visit and use on a continuing basis. Providing secure food, water and shelter is also key. Planting food sources that bloom over several seasons really encourages a wider range for these tiny inhabitants. Having a few scrubby or at least undisturbed shrubs, dirt, mulch or low plants BUMBLES—cont’d on page 9

8 • THE REVIEW • JULY 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


over the

T

he trend towards using heirloom plants in the garden has grown in popularity of the last few years. In almost any garden catalogue and plant nursery you can find heirloom transplants and seeds cheek-by-jowl with the modern hybrids. An heirloom plant, heirloom variety, heritage fruit or heirloom vegetable is typically an old cultivar that is “still maintained by gardeners and farmers particularly in isolated or ethnic communities.” These may have By Cheryl Spaulding been commonly grown during earlier periods in human history, but are not used in modern, large-scale agriculture. Heirloom vegetables typically have kept their traits through open pollination, while fruit varieties have been propagated over the centuries through grafts and cuttings. The benefits of using heirloom plantings are many. Heirloom plants, whether vegetable or ornamental, characteristically are stronger—more resistant to disease and the changing environment. Personally, I prefer to grow heirloom plants. First there is the fun of rediscovering history and all of its diversifications. Secondly I think the taste of heirloom vegetables far outweigh the taste of almost any hybrid variety to date. One my personal favorites is the Cherokee purple heirloom tomato. Known for its unusual deep purple/red color, it is one of the first of the “black” color group of tomatoes introduced to the market. The flavor is rich, sweet and just what you want in a homemade tomato sandwich on a warm summer afternoon. Spread a little Miracle Whip (wait, did I say that?) on white bread and pile on slices of freshly picked tomatoes and you have backyard nirvana. Cherokee Purple tomatoes are beefsteak in style, with green “shoulders” across the top. They are also noted for having a dense, juicy texture, with small seeds. The comparatively dark interior color is enhanced by the tendency of the seeds to be surrounded by green gel. Over other pumpkins varieties I selected to grow I really prefer the visually stunning scarlet Rouge Vif d’Etampes. For you Disney fans out there, this is the pumpkin used as a model for Cinderella’s coach in the movie Cinderella. Rouge Vif d’Etampes was introduced to America in 1883, but it had long been popular in France. These pumpkins are slightly flattened, heavily ribbed and make wonderful autumn displays. Your kids will have fun growing the Crystal Apple cucumber. This pretty New Zealand heirloom with pale greenish fruits resembles Granny Smith apples and was introduced in 1934. To experience the smooth, tender and cream-tasting fruits at their peak, enjoy them when they’re young.

Historically people have used up to 7000 various plant species for producing food. Research is showing Agribusiness does a great job of feeding the world, but with alarmingly few varieties of plants. Marc Cool, seed director for Seeds of Change in Santa Fe, N.M. is quoted as saying “Today 20 [plant] species provide 90 percent of our diet.” The wake-up call for agriculture came in the mid-1970s when farmers in the United States, relying almost entirely on one variety of corn, saw a near-total crop failure due to a blight disease. By preserving the genetic diversity of plants grown for food and herbal uses we can continue to enjoy a diversity of plants from our home gardens as well as benefit from commercial growers as well. Thousands of seed varieties now in the inventories of seed saving organizations around the world are available to gardeners like us. These seeds come from home gardeners (like yourselves) and subsistence farmers who took seeds from their crops in late summer and early fall, stored them over the winter and started them the next spring. It is really easy to let some of your carrots, onions or lettuce go to seed, or to harvest some tomatoes for their seed, or to keep a few dried beans out of the stew pot for spring sowing. Most of us do this accidentally anyway. Unlike commercial hybrids, heirloom varieties grow true to type. Passed from one generation to the next, the saved seeds have become known as heirloom varieties and include some of the best-known plants in the garden: the wonderful Cherokee tomato, the striped Chioggia beet, and the beautiful Rouge Vif d’Etampes red pumpkin. If you grow an heirloom crop successively over many years, you may improve the variety by saving seed from individuals that perform above average. In time, you might be able to produce a new variety or strain that may be regionally unique and superior. “Whether they’re thinking about it or not, gardeners always save seeds from the nicest plants,” said Aaron Whaley of Seed Savers Exchange. By growing some heirloom varieties this year, you can preserve them in the precious vitality of your own vegetable plot. (Don’t forget there are also heirloom ornamental available also.)

Let History Repeat Itself in Your Garden

Garden Gate

—Happy Gardening! DIVA—cont’d from page 11

In 1923, Hitching rails for horses were replaced with the first gasoline pumps and parking spaces were added for cars. Additions to the café came in 1926 when a country-style lodge building and eight log cabins was constructed, including a Shell Station, a tavern and a 15-acre park. Famous guests at the Lodge have included President Roosevelt, Ulysses S. Grant, Cornelius Vanderbilt, Shirley Temple, Jack Benny, Stan Laurel and Oliver Hardy, John Dillinger, Clark Gable and others. The Shell gas station and the outside cabins are gone now. The Summit Grove Lodge has undergone a miraculous transformation over the last several years, going from a decrepit hulk to the elegant establishment seen today. Summit Grove Lodge, 30810 NE Timmens Road, Ridgefield, Washington. Brunch is available on Sundays only. Call for hours and availability, 360-263-6623, or visit their website at www.sum503 mitgrovelodge.net.

BUMBLES—cont’d from page 8

FIND US ON FIND US ON at at RICKSAUTOSALESWOW twitter@ricksautosales and find us at 75936 B Rockcrest St. in Rainier, OR!

g

DOG ZONE 602 California Way, Longview, WA

P lus

Cars from $995 to $5995!

with Balder Technology! gy

THE

(360)

556-1318

ricksautosales.org

Jackson Welding Helmets

Traini n

Boarding

Daycare

Grooming

can go a long way toward making them feel safe and comfortable in the space you are hoping to share. These areas provide shelter from would be predators and the weather. Most worker Bumble bees spend the nights out away from the nest and only return there during the daytime with their many loads of nectar and pollen for their growing siblings. Often just before a rainstorm I have spotted the Bumble bees beginning to hunker down and cling to the undersides of big raspberry leaves as they prepare to wait out the coming rain. I hope this information will help begin a new appreciation and welcoming attitude toward the little humble Bumbles in your area of the world.

425-PAWS (7297)

Self-Wash & lots of cool doggie stuff! www.thedogzone.net

JACKSON

WH70 BH3 with Balder Technology! Reg. $

410 55

$

JUST

31055

CITY HALL 100 DAVIDSON AVENUE

AFTER

– $100

• Police (360) 225-6965 • Fire (360) 225-7076 • City Council Chambers • Meeting Rooms

Mfg. Rebate

JJACKSON WH40 NEMESIS

Polarized Sunglasses Smoke or Brown Lenses

$

2395

JUST

SSmarTIGer

ADMINISTRATIVE ANNEX

with Balder Technology!

$

11050

Reg. $

160 50 JUST

TUALATIN

PORTLAND

10540 TualatinSherwood Rd., Tualatin, OR Hours: M–F 8–5

3030 NW 29th • Hours: M–F 8–5 7926 NE Killingsworth, Portland • Hours: M–F 7–4 • Sat 8–12

– $50

(360) 225-8281 • Fax (360) 225-7336

Mfg. Rebate

LONGVIEW 360-575-8018 148 Oregon Way Hours: M–F 8–5

866-332-7018 • 503-221-1100

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

230 DAVIDSON AVENUE

AFTER

• Mayor’s Office • Clerk Treasurer • Utilities • Notary Public • Voter Registration

JULY 2013 • THE REVIEW • 9

• Community Center • Public Works Information 300 E. Scott Ave. (360) 225-7999 • Park Information • Building • Planning (360) 225-7299 (360) 225-1048 www.ci.woodland.wa.us


L

ast month we talked about how we can please God; how we can be counted among those found faithful by searching and studying the Bible’s parables and principles to find out how God wants us to live. I used the Parable of the Ten Virgins as an example to us of how to study the parables for God’s principles. This month, let’s learn about how much God’s principles can help us know how to be faithful. “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the men of old gained approval.”

THE

Hall Faithful OF THE

PART II

America’s God and Country, Encyclopedia of Quotations, by William J. Federer** sits on my coffee table. It highlights our noble heritage and shares quotes from Founding Fathers, Presidents, Statesmen, Scientists, Constitutions, Court decisions and more, illustrating that a deep belief and trust in Almighty God did exist in our country at one time. In this amazing reference book there are 710 pages of examples like:

• President George Washington said in his 1789 Inaugural Address, “The propitious smiles of Heaven can never be expected on a nation that —Hebrews 11: 1&2 NASB* disregards the eternal rules of order and right BY LORI ANDERSON roken down to its simplest form, the Bible consists which Heaven itself has ordained.” of histories that teach us principles teaching us how to live and how not to live, and • Thomas Jefferson, in his 1781 Notes on the state of Virginia said, “I tremble for histories where Jesus, or prophets, or disciples, teach us principles teaching us how to live my country when I reflect that God is just; that His justice cannot sleep forever.” and how not to live, and histories of Jesus telling us parables illustrating principles that • And President Abraham Lincoln, in his 1863 Proclamation of National Fast said, teach us how to live and how not to live. Confused? Don’t be! The bottom line is the Bible “It behooves us then to humble ourselves before the offended Power, to confess is full of principles. These principles are important enough that God felt the need to repeat our national sins and to pray for clemency and forgiveness….” Himself over and over and over in multiple ways. Or maybe He knew we would be so Our American history… ALL of history is full of people who have believed and stinking stubborn and thick-headed we’d need the repetition. Whatever the case, God uses lived for Christ, people that will be, no doubt, alongside the greats in the Hebrews 11 principles to show us the principles He wants us to use! For example, Hebrews 11:1– 4 outlines the basics of faith, gives us examples of Hall of Faith. Friends, we can be found there, too, if we believe and follow Christ! faith, and lists out people who will be found in the Hall of the Faithful. It is packed “Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also with hard hitting principles. Right off the bat, we learn that trusting that our hopes (in lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us God/Christ) will come true (even though we may never see the evidence that they will run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the come true) gains us approval from God. We learn that the worlds were prepared by the author and perfecter of faith.” Word of God and that He made what we see out of things we cannot see and by believ—Hebrews 12:1&2 NASB* ing that without seeing that, we gain approval from God. We also learn that the loving, American Standard Bible (NASB) Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The cheerful, willing obedience of someone, who cares to study the likes and dislikes of * New Lockman Foundation God, is more pleasing than the rote observances of a person who could care less what ** America’s God and Country, Encyclopedia of Quotations, © 1994 by William J. Federer. All rights reserved. Published 1994. Printed in the United States of America. FAME Publishing, Inc. God likes and dislikes. All this is packed into the first four verses of the eleventh chapter of Hebrews, just one of the sixty-six books of the Bible! MYRTLE The whole Bible makes one chief principle quite clear: Without faith “it is imposLOUISE GAY sible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a YII—“Mumsie” rewarder of those who seek Him.” This sounds confusing but what it is saying is, it November 29, takes faith to have faith. We will not recognize God unless we BELIEVE He exists and 1928–May 25, BELIEVE He will reward us like the Bible says He will (which means we need to 2013 BELIEVE and FOLLOW the Bible to please God and be inducted into the Hall of the Faithful). orn in North It’s amazing! When we do believe, a whole new world opens up to us in the scripAdams, MA to OBITUARIES tures and in history. We are surrounded by people, who, by faith, believed and followed Raymond and God and were rewarded for it. There are so many amazDorothy Hopkins DOWN TO ing examples of faith, buried in the scriptures. They are Gay, Myrtle Louise was the wife of Roland Yii like veins of gold, just waiting to be uncovered. All (1919–2000) and mother of Jane Carolyn (1956), EARTH throughout history people have done just that: BELIEVED Anne (1958–2007) and Allison Louise Satellite TV the Word of God and studied it and lived it, uncovering Karen (1961) and sister to Raymond and Carlton Gay. the gold that lies within. So many people in fact, that we Myrtle met her recently immigrated, Chinese husband-to-be at a spaghetti supper are surrounded by amazing examples of faithful people sponsored by her church. They married and had three girls, to Myrtle’s delight. She all throughout history! was a beautician at the time. She became a fantastic stay-at-home mom and her “girls” became a Beautician/Musician, a Nurse and a Graphic Art Designer, to her great pride. “Now these were more noble-minded… for they received Roland kept her life interesting and full of surprises, as he was totally dedicated to the word with great eagerness, examining the Scriptures Myrt and their daughters. daily to see whether these things were so. Therefore Myrtle was a happy child and a happy adult... ever stopping to smell the flowers, she many of them believed…” was a joy to be around and a delight to know. Myrt would always take time to say some—Acts 17:11 & 12 NASB* thing nice to someone else, her heart singing! She taught her daughters, “You can’t be 119 NE 1st, Kalama Since it is our nation’s birthday this July, let’s use happy unless you are doing something nice for someone else”, and they listened and Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2 America’s history as an example! Many of our Founding learned to be like her. She loved open doors and spring breezes, wrapping and giving nice www.kalamatv.com Fathers and subsequent generations, had uncovered the gifts to her friends, lemon flavored anything, having her hair “done”, traveling, shopping 673-2950 Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark truths in scripture, believed them, and followed them. and just going “out” for fun, in general. She was gregarious and generous to a fault. She & Columbia Counties Since 1982. loved Christmas so much the tree came out in November and stayed up until Easter some years! A nurse once said, “When I’m having a bad day, I just come see her and I feel better!” A fellow resident said, “What an inspiration she is...No matter what, she has a smile...regardless of her own situation!” Another friend said: “They broke the mold when they made her. She was one of a kind...they Northwood Park Funeral don’t make ’em like that Home & Cemetery anymore. I really enjoyed Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery her.” Her daughters conCremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls tinue to adore her. We are The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! all better for being able to 360 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA know her lively, purehearted spirit. Her love and laughter was contagious. Woodland Funeral Home Myrtle was preceded in 360 Traditional Services & Cremations 225-8441 death by her husband Roland, 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

B

Gone West

B

574-4252

GONE WEST—cont’d on page 11

10 • THE REVIEW • JULY 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


Dining P leasure 6

H

istory is repeating itself just outside of ing rules simply do not apply.) I had to pass LaCenter, Washington. What was old is on dessert even though there were several new again. And the presence of Peter George marvelous desserts available. (long the much-loved host at The Oak Tree The food all looked so good and everyin years past) along with his devoted staff thing we tried was excellent but sadly there has added yet another dimension of sophistiwas much of this tasty buffet that we were cation to the recently reopened Summit unable to try. Oh well, it gives an excuse to Grove Lodge. come back again! Since Summit Grove Lodge is now offering a weekly Sunday Brunch, orchestrated to For the history buffs out there the Summit perfection by George, my dining companion Grove Lodge is a site steeped in history and BY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE tradition. As they used to say in the old and I decided give it a try. The Great Room, at the heart of the western movies, “let us return to yesteryear” iconic building, is very similar in size to the when the Summit Grove Lodge was one of original, boasting approximately 2,300 square the very first eating houses in the state of feet of rustic open space. French doors open to Washington in 1840. Headley’s Camp, as the patio and the sounds of neighbors’ chickthe property was then known, was a popular ens cackling can be heard in the distance. The original rest stop for travelers before crossing the Lewis River by RIDGEFIELD, WA cedar-log walls are still there along with a rough-cut barge. stone fireplace; the original cedar floors are refinished Benedict with fresh fruit and selection of sweet breads. A range of services were provided to travelers as the and the exposed cedar roof beams support a 20-foot After an appropriate waiting period (I didn’t want to road evolved into the Pacific Highway or Highway 99. seem too greedy) I returned to the buffet for a slice of Initially livestock feed and wagon repair were offered to vaulted ceiling. Hint: Ask for patio seating, if available. The Summit delicious multi-grain bread with cream cheese and lox, a the horse and wagon travelers that came through the Grove Lodge is surrounded by lush, old growth forest, nice chunk of alder smoked salmon, pickled herring and area, but what travelers in those days appreciated most fragrant cedars, firs, rhododendrons, and nature trails. a generous slice of rare Baron of Beef. (Insert lip smack- was the “eat house”, a welcome stop to rest and catch up And as a nod to its past, two restored Shell Gasoline ing goodness here.) on the news of the day, My dining companion selected scrambled eggs with pumps still stand outside the main entrance to the In the early 1900s, the much of the property was purbacon and sausage, boiled shrimp with cocktail sauce for chased by the Curtis family. They opened an eight chair lodge. What we tried: We arrived early on a sunny Sunday to dipping and a cheese blintz. (I know, that’s a strange café called the “Fountain and Barbecue.” find the great room at Summit Grove Lodge already fill- combination but that is the fun of a buffet! Routine din- DIVA—cont’d on page 9 ing up. Faced with a food- BIRDS—cont’d from page 12 laden buffet it was difficult We do have quite a bird sanctuary at our house. Every time the redThese pigeons are usually found in wooded or mountain areas. Bird to know where to start. I began with a selection feeders are not where they usually come. Favorite foods are wild grapes hot poker plants come up the birds pop in to help themselves to a special of tiny sweet breads, fresh and the seed of the maple tree that we sometimes call ‘whirleygigs’. Our treat. The waxwings, Western Tanagers, grosbeaks, finches, and chickafruit, and a delicious tea first encounter with these birds was up the river on Cedar Creek. They dees love to eat the sweet yellow parts of the plant. The hummingbirds flavored subtly with were eating wild grapes. This rainy day started out with the black-headed grosbeaks coming drink the sweet nectar from deep inside of the yellow flowerlets. Moroccan Mint. My dinSo, my advice to any of my readers is that if you want to draw a variety to the sunflower seed feeder before good daylight. Next came the eveing companion began his of birds to your area, plant red-hot poker plants. Come by our house and ning grosbeaks followed by goldfinches, house finches, purple finches selection with something a little bit heartier: Eggs and many cedar waxwings plus scavenging squirrels to pick up any- see what I am talking thing missed by the birds. about. The topper was the ‘talking’ of geese outside. I ran to the back door just GONE WEST—cont’d from page 10 in time to see a string of swans heading north—about 50 of them. They Water her parents and brothers, and • Residential Softeners, were all visiting and talking about… well, who knows what swans ‘talk’ her middle daughter, Karen. • Commercial Filters & about. It was an awesome sound and one I could listen to all day. She is survived by her two • Industrial Purifiers daughters, Jane and Allison, and assorted nieces and Water Testing Available for nephews and a flock of good Determining Filtration Needs friends. Her youngest daugh360 ter, Allison, was her loving caretaker and Guardian Angel during her final years and days. Now she is our Angel. We love you Mom! “Bye for now…”

FOR YOUR

Summit Grove Lodge

What’s in your water?

696-9287

www.waterandairworks.com

GONE WEST—cont’d on page 3

Kalama la a Kids Resale sale The T h Best in Kids Resale! e!

Find us on Facebook!

facebook.com/ kalamakidsresale

Buy • Sell • Trade • Consign

Open 7 Days a Week, 10 to 6!

Exit 30 off I-5 • 299 N 1st St. • Kalama, WA • 360-673-3844

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JULY 2013 • THE REVIEW • 11


N

orma, Come quick!” called Bruce from the living room. I was busy in the kitchen but his voice sounded so excited that I hurried in. “Look out the window!” he exclaimed. The ground was full of the huge band-tailed pigeons—about twelve in all. Wow! These birds are 14 to 15½ inches and the ringnecked turtle dove that we see more and more the past few years are only 12 inches.

Bird

Sanctuary

The band-tail pigeons are heavily built, a bit more so than the regular rock doves (feral pigeons). They have a yellow beak tipped with black, yellow feet, and a body that is dark with a white crescent on back of the neck. There is a broad, pale band on tip of tail. When they swoop in to land on the feeder everything starts to bounce as they are so heavy.

ABOVE: The handsome cedar waxwing is a beautiful bird, definitely worth spotting. LEFT: A black-headed Grosbeak waits patiently for his turn at the feeders. BELOW: A Band-Tailed Pigeon perches for a rest while looking for goodies to eat. photos by doug schurman

BIRDS—cont’d on page 11

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa • Cage-free Kennels • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted • Licensed and very affordable! • Pick up and drop off service available

Come let your dog run with the pack! 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama

360 www.paradisedogranch.com facebook.com/theparadisedogranch

601-3570

I-5 Exit 36 Kelso • 800-248-6335 • uneekrv.com

12 • THE REVIEW • JULY 2013

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


The Review—July 2013, Vol 11, Issue 7