Page 1

JANUARY 2014 • VOL 12, ISSUE 1 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

MYSTICAL, MAGICAL

NORTHWEST

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

Happy New Year!

S

Come along with Walter Pistor for a visit to fabulous Sedona, Arizona! See the story on pages 6 & 7… THIS PAGE: The amazing Grand Canyon can hardly be contained in a photograph—it’s aweinspiring during any season and on any visit. photo by walter pistor

edona

FREE!


N

ow is the time for all of us to make a new beginning by taking care of our Feathered Friends. How can we do that? We can start by making sure you have suet blocks hanging out of reach of the cats and squirrels. Birds eat suet to help keep their inner furnaces warm. Next thing we try to do is keep the birdbath clean and full. With rain coming down often it is not hard to keep fresh water in it but then we sometimes get ice on the water. If you find just a skiff of ice on the birdbath the birds themselves will break the ice but if it is a deep freeze you will have to work hard to remove the ice. We don’t mind doing that once in a while as we truly enjoy watching the birds splashing in their own bath tub and getting a drink all at the same time. Sunflower seeds are a ‘must’ to have on hand. Almost all birds that come to our feeders love them. We have found that Woodland has at least five places to buy bird seed so we don’t need to shop out of town to get a good buy; Woodland has it all. Our feeders are full in the morning but nearly empty by the end of the day. As I said before, the birds repay us with all of their activity. The number one bird at our feeders is the black-capped chickadees followed by several kinds of finches. The finch family covers a number of birds that, in their winter feathers, can be difficult to identify. In the winter the females and young are just little brownish birds with streaked breasts. The male has a light red

NEW BEGINNINGS

2014

Happy NewYear!

MUSICIANS WANTED! WELL-LOVED GUITARS LOOKING FOR NEW HOMES

25

%

REGULAR OFF PRICES

SILVERTONE SOVEREIGN PRO—IN HARD CASE

399 99 349 99 1149

Cracked Mirror $ Electric Guitar Jackson $ JDR-94 Guitar Ovation $ Magnum Guitar

99

WE ARE THE HOME OF

AND PRO

Guitars, Amps & PA

QUANTUM GUITARS

AUDIO CABLES

A house finch perches on a blackberry branch, fluffed up against the cold.

on the head and upper breast. In the Spring the male sports a bright red forehead and throat. The couples pair up early in the spring and soon we have a new family at our feeders. Recently we had at least four Purple Finches at our feeders. This beautiful bird looks as if it was dipped in raspberry juice. The male is a soft red over the head, breast, shoulders and rump plus a streaked brownish-red back. The stomach is white with no streaking. The female is heavily streaked with brown and has a whitish eye stripe. The young resemble the female. Next but not least is the Cassin’s Finch. This finch is a close relative of the Purple Finch but has a slightly lighter rose-colored breast and rump. It has a streaked brownish-pink back. The dark red of the head contrasts abruptly with the brown on the nape of the neck. To me it seems as if it has a red crest because of that difference. These finches do not come very often to our feeders. In the Spring we are inundated with the beautiful yellow goldfinches. They nest around May but leave here in October dressed in their drab winter feathers. I assumed that they all migrated South and have said so in the past but I was wrong when I said they ALL left. I was assured by a reader that she had them year around. So I checked what she said. Sure enough some goldfinches do stick around where they are assured of good food. As this is a time of new beginnings I do want to ask for your forgiveness when I 1015 Pacific Avenue • Woodland goof and make a mistake. I will try my best to check my 360 figures better in this New M-F, 7–7 • Sat, 8-5 • Sun, 9-5 Year. I am not an expert by OFFERS EXPIRE 2/28/2014 OR WHILE SUPPLIES LAST! any means but I/we do love our birds and know that you all do too. Have a WONDERFUL NEW YEAR of new beginnings.

Woodland Auto Supply

225-6529

2 • THE REVIEW • JANUARY 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


IN THIS ISSUE

WHAT’S HAPPENING

The Review — January 2014, Vol. 12, Issue 1

of Scott Brown, will hold the spotlight on Saturday eveTHE 52nd ANNUAL CLARK COLLEGE JAZZ ning at 8:30 p.m. FESTIVAL, Admission is $5 per day. Clark College students and January 30, 31, February 1, 2014 children under 12 accompanied by an adult will be admitClark College and the Director of the Clark College ted free of charge. Jazz Festival, Richard Inouye, would like to invite everyClark College is located at 1933 Fort Vancouver Way, one to three full days of exciting big band jazz at the 52nd Vancouver. Gaiser Hall is located on the northwest corner Annual Clark College Jazz Festival! This historic comof the main campus on Fort Vancouver Way, between munity event will take place Thursday, Friday, and McLoughlin Blvd. and Fourth Plain Blvd. Please enter Saturday, January 30, 31 and February 1, 2014 in Gaiser through the North or South entrance of Gaiser Hall. For Hall on the Clark College campus. additional information, please contact the Clark College Sixty middle and high school jazz ensembles are Music Department at 360-992-2662 or feel free to visit scheduled to perform in this year’s competition with troour new website: www.clark.edu/cc/jazzfestival phies presented to the top three jazz ensembles for all divisions. Individual outstanding musician awards will Volunteers Needed also be presented at the end of each day’s preliminary Woodland Mobile Meals is in need of volunteer drivcompetitions. At the end of Saturday evening, the Dale ers. Meals are picked up at the America’s Family Diner Beacock Memorial Sweepstakes Award will be presented on Lewis River Drive at 10:45 along with recipients to one outstanding band selected from the entire festival. names and addresses. Delivery usually takes a little over Preliminary competitions for the 2014 festival will run an hour. If you are interested in assisting with this outfrom 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. each day starting on Thursday with reach to seniors program please call Moze Meeker at middle schools. On Friday the A and AA high school 225-6501 or June Jones at Woodland Real Estate 225division jazz bands will compete with AAA and AAAA 8278. Substitute drivers are urgently need for October high school jazz bands taking the stage on Saturday. 3–11. Deliveries are in the Woodland, WA, metro area. Finals competitions will begin at 7 p.m. all three evenings with trophies presented at the end of the evening. TOPS #1129 Meets in Woodland The Clark College Jazz Ensemble, under the direction The TOPS #1129 Group meets at 9:00 a.m. on of Festival Director, Rich Inouye, will perform at 8:30 Tuesdays for their weigh-in and meeting at the p.m. on Thursday, noon and 8:30 p.m. on Friday, and Woodland Community Center located at 782 Park noon on Saturday. The 2013 Sweepstakes Band, Roosevelt Street. For more information contact Delores at 360High School Jazz I from Seattle, WA under the direction 606-6434.

On the Cover

Wintertime Garden Helper Ideas Seasoned traveler Walter Pistor takes us By Nora Garofoli to magical Sedona, 10 History: Arizona Towboats & Timber By Walter Pistor

2 Birds Galore: New Beginnings 2014

By Norma Brunson

3 What’s Happening Around Town

4 Over the Garden

Gate: We Made It (I think) By Cheryl Spaulding

5 Garden Insects to know and Love:

By Karen Johnson

10 Restaurant Review: Hung Far Low, Longview, WA

By Diva Gastronomique

11 Religion:

While We Still Have Breath By Lori Anderson

12 Stepping Stones By Pat Stepp

FLOORS-N-MORE

233 Davidson Ave. • Carpet • Pad • Vinyl

Locally owned and operated

Woodland, WA 98674

• Ceramic Tile • Countertops • Marble, Granite, Stone

• Installation supplies • Hardwood • Laminate Flooring

Sales & Installations (360)

225-9365

CLASSIFIEDS

Serving Woodland since 1994

LHA PROPERTIES

Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama

Please call if you have questions: Phone: (360) 225-1273; Fax: (360) 225-4838; web: www.reviewmediagroup.com; Family & Elderly/ e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com Disabled Units Physical address: 131 Davidson Ave., Pay only 30% of your Suite AA; Mailing address: PO Box adjusted gross income 244, Woodland, WA 98674 Deadlines: Please see our 360 deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com. Member, Woodland and Kalama Chambers of Commerce

225-7781

ANNOUNCEMENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS

01

PUBLISHER’S NOTICE ALL REAL ESTATE advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

PRAYER WARRIOR will pray for you. Give me a call if you have a need. 360-225-9725.

Circulation approx. 15,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Cougar, Amboy, Yale, Fargher Lake, Battle Ground, Vancouver, and Kelso/Longview). Published monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a selfaddressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in any form whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

FOR RENT

ROOMS FOR RENT Downtown Woodland, $420/mo + tax or $150/wk + tax, utilities included. Call 225-7339 or 7723518.

CHEAP EXERCISE There are many things around the house that make good exercise equipment. The easiest are right in your pantry! Use one- or two-pound cans as weights until they become too easy to lift. You’ll know they’re too easy when you can do 15 reps without a problem. Use your staircase as a stair stepper and for other exercises to build up leg muscles. Put a large towel on the floor to use as a mat for floor exercises. To build exercise into your daily routine, forget about being efficient. Be effective instead! Park your car at the far end of parking lots. You won’t miss the extra two or three minutes you use to get to the door of the store, but you’ll see the difference in no time. Go up and down the stairs at home frequently. Wash your own car. Clean your own house. Till your own garden, and shovel your own walks and driveway. All of these activities and many others around the house qualify as exercise. They really make a difference. I’ve lost and kept off over 85 pounds, going from size 16-18 to size 4, times I have had to go back and find a receipt to return an item or claim a rebate, etc. This has doing all these things. I also walk around the neighborhood and to nearby stores. I even walk saved me a bit of money over the past few years. Of course, receipts for big ticket items are kept to some of the schools where I substitute teach. in a separate place as they normally need to be kept longer. —Barbara

—Evelyn Z.

KEEPING RECEIPTS For many years, I have kept two plastic shoeboxes in my closet to hold my “everyday” receipts. Receipts for groceries, hardware items, etc. are tossed in the box. At the end of the year, I toss out the previous year’s receipts to make room for the new year. By using this system, I have two years’ worth of receipts to fall back on. It’s amazing the number of

THE SMALL PLATE DIET I found some inexpensive dinner plates at a thrift store that were smaller than our regular ones. My husband and I are eating smaller portions, which is good for the waistline and our budget. —Y.

Send your time and money saving tips to: Dollar Stretcher Tips, 6695 Cortez Road W., Bradenton FL 34210. If we use your tip we'll send you 3 free issues of our monthly newsletter. Copyright © 2013 Dollar Stretcher, Inc.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JANUARY 2014 • THE REVIEW • 3


over the

W

ow, the big freeze during December was a real humdinger but hopefully our gardens made it through without too much damage, though, of course, sometimes it’s hard to gauge how much damage there is immediately. My Silver Dollar Eucalyptus tree looks like it made it without too much cold damage but I know from past experience that the upper portion (trunk and limbs) is toast. The good news is as long as the root section didn’t freeze my Eucalyptus will return. When the threat of really cold (freezing) temperaBy Cheryl Spaulding tures arrives I make sure to cover the root base with a thick layer of mulch to prevent the ground (and the root bulb) from freezing. The rest will grow back as long as the roots are not destroyed by the cold. Take heart gardeners with Eucalyptus and other “gum” trees in your garden, Eucalyptus is a diverse form of flowering trees and shrubs of the Myrtle family. And, yes, while this genus represents a lot of the trees grown in Australia many members of the Myrtle Family grow very well in the Northwest. Of equal concern to many gardeners are the roses that reside in almost every garden. Should we cover the root sections of roses and how far up the canes, I’m often asked. Roses are known to have been grown in ancient Babylon. Paintings of roses have been discovered in Egyptian pyramid tombs from the 14th century BC.

And records exist of roses being grown in Chinese gardens and Greek gardens from at least 500 BC. Very diverse, I’d say. This very long lived member of our garden family can be a tough plant. In by-gone days roses were often planted in cemeteries along with Rhododendrons and can still be found today growing prolifically and without any assistance. However, the same may not be said for some of our modern roses. In the mid-west and on the east coast gardeners are warned to bury their roses under mounds of mulch but then they typically experience much deeper snow than we have here in southwest Washington. Roses are a hardy breed and even if your roses weren’t developed specially for very cold temperatures such as the Canadian Hardy species, and providing you haven’t already trimmed your roses back, you shouldn’t experience too much damage from our last spell of very cold weather. In average winter weather roses canes just naturally experience some die-back. If you have already trimmed your roses back to, say 18 inches or less, then I would recommend you heavily mulch the plants but still only the roots and the bud union. If by next year you begin to see the rose’s canes emerging from below the bud union then probably the upper portion of your rose has died in the cold and all that will bloom is from whatever species was used as graft base for the upper structure of the plant. Hint: often Hybrid Rugosa roses (old-style and very hardy) plants are used as a base to graft on more delicate species for hardiness and vigor. This is the case in many modern species such as hybrid tea roses, floribundas and others. In the Pacific Northwest it is recommended that only the tops of tall roses be trimmed lightly, to keep them from whipping around in the wind. More severe trimming is recommended to take place in March. On the other side of the shovel is my concern about the fate of my two-year-old Southern Magnolia and several other newer shrubs as well. And of course, I probably lost almost everything in my greenhouse (sigh). Such is life. In some cases it will be late spring, if not early summer before it will be possible to determine the extent of the damage. To future complicate the matter this is only the month of December. We are still faced with January and February when our weather is typically more severe than the month of December. Mulch, mulch, mulch, is the word for today. Even if your plants seem to already be exhibiting signs of cold damage, wilting, curling and a transparency not usually found in normal growth habits, don’t give up on the plant. Continue to take care of your plants, protect them from further encroaching cold weather and wait until late spring to decide whether the plant should be removed. In the Pacific Northwest most garden experts recommend, we wait until Mothers Day or later before deciding to replace the a plant that may died over the winter. Oh the woes of being a gardener… I know it seems Mother Nature has turned against us but while the grand old lady might be a bit capricious right now and she probably will exhibit even more bad temper later this winter. In the end flowers will bloom, trees will leaf out and the world will go around as it always has. This just a temporary setback.

We Made It (I Hope)

Garden Gate

—Happy Gardening!

ANIMAL HOSPITAL

EXP 1/31/2013

EXP 1/31/2013

Samuel Kopman, DVM • Tyler Vance, DVM • Stephanie McBride, LVT Sam

MENTION THIS AD for a

FREE OFFICE VISIT! FOR NEW PATIENTS

FREE NAIL TRIM! with paid exam

MUST HAVE PROOF OF CURRENT RABIES VACCINATION

Now Accepting New Patients! Digital Radiology • Pet Nutrition for All Stages of Life • Full Service Medical, Surgical, Dental & Comprehensive Preventative Care

360-887-1VET (1838)

109 S. 65th Ave., Ridgefield, WA • www.northcountyvets.com LOCALLY OWNED & OPERATED

4 • THE REVIEW • JANUARY 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


den Insect ar s G

P

e

t

lenty of small garden projects can be planned and even accomplished during the wet, cold days of wintertime. I am referring mainly to plans that aid the insect helpers who come, often unbeknownst, to our aid as they o vLI carry out their own agendas in ST K o OR n O ow andGL YA OF our gardens. Bumble bees, mason ND AR PHOTO S BY NORA bees and other solitary pollinators, some types of Lady beetles and even ground beetles would appreciate additional homes in our garden worlds. Areas for other solitary native pollinators would yield even more diverse groups of helpers and thus create a more stable garden environment less prone to pest insect invasion. It may take a few seasons for them to realize these new spaces are available but eventually they may accept the new accommodations and set up shop yielding multiple benefits for the gardener. Blocks of wood can be drilled for multiple types of native pollinators as well as for the more well-known mason bees. Nest boxes can be built, furnished and likely locations decided on to prepare for the early spring awakenings of bumble bee queens. Finding a spot for compacted bare soil spaces and sand pits for ground nesting types of native bees would be another interesting project that those helpers would appreciate in the coming seasons. Even the perennial beds new planting spots can be prepared. Many beneficial insects would greatly enjoy some new additions to the area. Beetle mounds could be made while those planting spaces are prepped. Beetle mounds provide a safe place for many types of ground beetles to get out of the weather, rest, hide and produce young. The mound is mostly a jumbled pile of large and small sticks and twigs heaped together with soil and other organic matter such as grass or leaves. All the nooks and crannies that exist in such a pile are highly prized by these dark, cool, moisture seeking little creatures. Adding a variety of sizes of

Wintertime Garden Helper Ideas

rocks and larger pieces of wood at the bottom of the pile only further enhances its appeal to these slug and pest hunting insects. Another possible addition to the garden area could be the traditional beehive. One could go so far as to set up the hive box and just await a wild swarm of honeybees to spot it, approve it and move into it. A wild bee swarm could add new genes to the domesticated honey bees we have now. Much research has been going on with our domesticated honey bees what with the large number of hives lost to colony collapse disorder. Some of that research seems to be showing that the bees we have are a bit too inbred and that may be one of TOP: This green and black several factors causing the troubles in the hives. larval form of the Swallow- Some of the researchers are now looking into addtail butterfly means ing new queens from wild hives to help increase beauty later on. You can the diversity of the honey bee gene pool and bring more of them into thereby increase the bees resistance to disease and your garden with extra Parsley plants. pest attacks. If a wild bee swarm moves into your CENTER: This Ground hive you could let a nearby beekeeping group Beetle loves to eat slug know or even your local county extension office eggs and young slugs. may be interested. Beetle mounds invite Making places for other wild, native, solitary these helpers to live in your garden. pollinators is also a good way to aid our honey bees. It relieves some of the pressure off their responsibilities and increases diversity again. These types of pollinators can work at cooler, wetter temperatures than honey bees and they have been found to make many more visits to many more blossoms than honey bees. This ability is a boon for us as it extends our pollinating times and levels and can ensure or increase crop production. A similar bee block that is made for mason bees can be modified for other solitary types INSECTS—cont’d on page 10

To all the individuals, businesses, corporations, and clubs who have given so generously of their time, talent, and funds to the Rotary projects during 2013… Wishing you a fantastic and successful New Year!

RIGHT:

These are some native bee blocks we made several years ago. The little solitary pollinators just keep using them. The bees are very active around them on the warmer days of mid spring.

THE ROTARY CLUB OF WOODLAND

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa

What’s in your water? Water

• Residential Softeners, • Commercial Filters & • Industrial Purifiers

• Cage-free Kennels • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted • Licensed and very affordable! • Pick up and drop off service available

Water Testing Available for Determining Filtration Needs

696-9287

360

Come let your dog run with the pack! 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama

360 www.paradisedogranch.com facebook.com/theparadisedogranch

601-3570

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

www.waterandairworks.com JANUARY 2014 • THE REVIEW • 5


MYSTICAL,

S

ed

STORY A

A

lmost in the middle of Arizona is Sedona with Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon to the north and Phoenix and Tucson to the south. Many large red rock formations in the Sedona area attract over four million visitors annually from around the world. Hiking, exploring the countless shops, dining out and playing golf are dominant activities, but there is much more to do including horseback riding and mountain biking. I will give you some travel tips in this article to help you with your planning if you want to take a sun break this winter. Sedona has many art galleries and is famous for its artisans who create sculptures, paintings, jewelry and crafts. For thrill seekers, there are Pink Jeep tours on rocky trails. For an aerial perspective, helicopters, balloons and plane rides are available from the small Sedona Airport. My wife, Hildegard, and I didn’t take an aerial ride, but we heard good comments from those who did. The expanded Sedona area has an unusual layout. You drive north from Phoenix on Hwy 17 and then turn off onto Hwy 179 to approach Sedona. The first area is Village of Oak Creek which is the southern part of greater Sedona. If you keep going, you will come to a Y. You can go north on 89A into “Uptown.” If you continue on, you will come to Oak Creek Canyon. Flagstaff is about 16 miles further. If you go west on 89A at the Y, you will go into West Sedona. Most places in Sedona are accessible within thirty minutes of driving. Many round-

6 • THE REVIEW • JANUARY 2014

abouts make driving in Sedona fast and efficient. Our best recommendations for eating out, based on our personal experiences, are as fol lows. For breakfast, the club house at the Sedona Golf Resort in the Village of Oak Creek has a 180 degree view of Castle Rock, Bell Rock, Courthouse Butte and Lee Mountain in a spacious eating area. For lunch, Rene at Tlaquepaque on Hwy 179 has wonderful soups and salads. For dinner, Dahl & Di Luca, Restorante Italiano, on Hwy 89A has a variety o good veal entrees and live piano music. The best live entertainment may be at Reds Lounge at Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa. We were lucky to hear Paolo Scardina sing a number o popular romantic songs from the thirties to the present. Paolo is an expert in classical jazz and sings and moves as he feels the rhythm. He is a terrific singer—not overbearing or too loud. We saw a list of 125 songs in his repertoire. Our Sedona friends, Dale and Irmgard Lake, took us on a drive to the Grand Canyon. We went through Flagstaff where there is winter skiing on Mt. Humphrey. In Cameron, AZ, we ate lunch at the Trading Post which has an abundance of Indian items from arrows to pottery in the gift shop. We drove along the South Rim of the Grand Canyon taking pictures a various stops. There is an excellent free movie entitled, “Grand Canyon: Journey o Wonder” at the Visitor Center. We also went into the two best Grand Canyon Village

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


, MAGICAL

edona

AND PHOTOS BY WALTER PISTOR

lk n s of e of z o

We e y at of e

OPPOSITE, TOP:

A view of the Grand Canyon from the south rim. OPPOSITE CENTER: The Verde Canyon Railroad “Wilderness Train”. CENTER: A wonderful example of the red rock formations which make up the geography of the area. THIS PAGE, LEFT: A view from inside the famous Chapel of the Holy Cross. THIS PAGE, TOP: Courthouse Butte as seen from the Chapel of the Holy Cross, framed by indigenous cacti.

hotels—the Bright Angel Lodge and El Tovar Hotel which has a beautiful dining room. Another short trip we made with our Sedona friends was to Jerome, AZ, an old copper mining town. We ate lunch at the historic Jerome Grand Hotel which Senator John McCain frequents, and also where Governor Romney has dined. On another day Hildegard and I took a four-hour round trip ride on the Verde Canyon Railroad from Clarkdale, AZ, along the Verde River into the mountains. The train has both closed and open cars which help with scenic picture taking. You can even stand in an open car while the train goes through a tunnel. I wanted to assess the trout fishing in the wild interior but learned there are only smallmouth bass and bluegills because there is no way to stock trout in the interior, and the water temperature is too high to hold native trout.

Oak Creek Canyon near Sedona does have the Rainbow Trout Farm which is worth mentioning. You can catch nice rainbows and pay for them. It is ideal for kids and inexperienced fishermen. The high quality water is so clear, you can see the trout which are remarkably good eating. The fish are raised in water from pure, artesian springs. SEDONA—cont’d on page 11

25O%FF

SUGG RETAILEPSRTED ICE!

EERY! E R F IV L E D L LOCA

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JANUARY 2014 • THE REVIEW • 7


SW WASHINGTON HISTORY

I

TOWBOATS

n the early 1880s, a young man named Asmus Brix emigrated to the U.S. from Germany. Asmus served as an advance scout for the rest of his family, checking out the Northwest for employment possibilities. Arriving near Grays River in southwest Washington, Asmus decided farming looked like a money-maker, but in order to farm, he first had to clear the land of its tremendous growth of trees. And so, inadvertently, logging became the family’s livelihood. The rest of the Brix clan soon joined Asmus, and plunged kneedeep into the woods, using their own muscles, hired hands, and ox teams to cut down the huge trees. As the years progressed, the family did, too,

and

TIMBER

The Brix Family Story BY KAREN L. JOHNSON

advancing to mechanized logging, with steam donkeys, high leads, and railroads. Shortly after the turn of the 20th Century, the Brix men decided to gain control of the other end of the logging enterprise. Why just cut the timber and sell it to a mill, if you could own the mill to boot? Thus in 1909, the family purchased a sawmill in Knappton along the Columbia River. They soon looked even farther afield and determined that they might as well haul logs to their mill and transport the finished lumber, too. And so another fledgling empire was created—this one consisting of boats and barges. Peter J. Brix, a third-generation scion of the family, has amassed a great many stories, photos and other memorabilia about his ancestors’ ventures in the Northwest. He and co-author Bryan Penttila have written The Brix Logging Story: In the Woods of Washington and Oregon, a highly detailed volume about the family’s timber operations. Brix and research assistants Beverly Warren-Leigh and Aura Lee Loveland have compiled a companion book, The Brix Maritime Story: A Century of Towboating and Barging, describing the maritime side of the family’s enterprises. Both volumes are chock-full of interesting history, vignettes on former employees, and anecdotes about pivotal or dramatic moments and connections to historic Northwest events. The books also contain complete listings of various holdings and subsidiary companies, as well as boats, barges, and other equipment. And every page has at least one photo or map, adding to the overall attractiveness and appeal. These hard-cover books are definitely high-quality publications. If you’re familiar with the lower Columbia River and southwest Washington, you’ll recognize many of the locations pictured in the books. One of the intriguing vignettes in the maritime book involves the North Bend, a lumber schooner. “Built in 1920, the fourmasted schooner was well known. In 1929, inbound from Australia, she entered the Columbia River and ran aground on a sandbar.

ABOVE, TOP:

The Brix logging book cover features a photo of a Climax engine No. 3, a locomotive owned by Grays Bay Logging Company, making a tight bend, typical of many old-time railroad operations in the Northwest woods. ABOVE, LOWER: The Brix maritime book cover features a photo of Knappton’s tug Melville assisting the ship USS Constitution (“Old Ironsides”) as it prepares to dock in Astoria on its Pacific port tour, May 5, 1933. TOP RIGHT: The passenger ferry Tourist No. 2 approaches the terminal on the Megler-to-Astoria crossing of the Columbia River. This ferry was built in 1924, and was later acquired by the Brix concern through purchase of the Wilson Brothers shipyard. photo courtesy washington state library. CENTER: Early Brix loggers would have viewed this as a typical logging scene in the Northwest woods. photo courtesy glen comstock and gordon smith.

TOWBOATS—cont’d on page 11

8 • THE REVIEW • JANUARY 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


“Thus says the LORD, “Stand by the ways and see and ask for the ancient paths, Where the good way is, and walk in it; And you will find rest for your souls. But they said, ‘We will not walk in it.’”

While We Still Have Breath

—Jeremiah 6:16, New American Standard Bible (NASB) Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1968, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation

S

While we still have breath, we should make course corrections on ourselves! While we still have breath we should change our ways and accept God’s correction! While we still have breath we should return to God and do things His way! We are a “nation that has not obeyed the Lord our God or responded to His correction. Truth has perished; it has vanished from our lips...” but we are still alive! While we still have breath we should listen to what the Lord God says,

ometimes I question the wisdom of allowing us humans our “Let not the wise boast of their wisdom or the strong boast of their own free will. History has shown that we have not been good strength or the rich boast of their riches, but let the one who boasts stewards with the gift. And yes, I admit that even though I complain about boast about this: that they have the understanding to know Me, free will, our free will is a gift. To be able to decide for ourselves what we that I am the Lord, who exercises kindness, justice and righbelieve and don’t believe, to be able to decide ourselves whether we will go teousness on earth, for in these I delight,” this way or that, do this or that… it is an amazing gift if you think about it. I —*Jeremiah 9:23,24 NASB understand why God created us this way. I know, as a parent, I do not want my “Roam to and fro through the streets…, And look now children to love and obey me because they have to. I want them to love and obey and take note. And seek in her open squares, If you can find BY LORI ANDERSON me because they want to. I see their obedience as their outward proof of their a man, If there is one who does justice, who seeks truth, Then inward love and respect for the position I hold as mother. Still, I question the wisI will pardon her.” dom of free will at times. Especially when I watch the news, read the paper, surf the —*Jeremiah 5:5, (NASB) internet, hear personal experience accounts from friends and family, and experience “accounts” in my own life. It is apparent, this freedom, this gift of free will, which can While we still have breath, we should change our ways to His ways. We should create great innovation unfortunately, can also create terrible bondage. return to God and plead “Bondage” is a word that we thought was all but eradicated, but while our nation’s the cause of the orphan, people were sleeping, bondage has become a huge blight on our society. Sexual bond- help our young prosper, age is “practiced and pushed’ in many ways—on the internet, in books, magazines, protect and provide our movies, television, and music. Human trafficking is the new slave trade. Pornography, precious ones, NOT prey gambling, and drugs are part of this addictive and destructive cocktail as well, and our upon them, defend the children are the ones being sacrificed and affected the most. These are definitely rights of the poor, value strange and stressful times. life and value our Lord Stressful times… the Old Testament book of Jeremiah was written about the people God who gives life… of a stressful time, too. Amazing how Jeremiah could be applied to us these days. Like while we still have breath, in Jeremiah’s day, terrible things are being done and we the people do not grieve, we we should turn from our refuse to receive correction, we harden our faces and “refuse to acknowledge and wicked ways and follow return to God.” Him. In Jeremiah’s day, the people were even sacrificing their children! “‘The people… *New American Standard Bible have done evil in my eyes’, declares the Lord. ‘They have set up their detestable idols (NASB), Copyright © 1960, 1962, 1963, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, 1977, in the house that bears my Name and have defiled it. They have built the high places 1968, 1995 by The Lockman Foundation of Topheth in the Valley of Ben Hinnom to burn their sons and daughters in the fire— something I did not command, nor did it enter my mind….’” (*Jeremiah 7:30,31) History is repeating itself! Aren’t we sacrificing our own children these days, too, to the bondage I spoke of earlier, but also to abortion? Isn’t it for our own selfish pursuits and purposes that we sacrifice them, neglect them, abuse and/or abandon them, leaving them to suffer from the evils of our day and causing them to repeat those evils themselves? Aren’t we the very same ones that shake our heads and tsk-tsk-tsk when we read about our youth and young adults in the paper and hear about them in the news committing the very “crimes” we glorify in our “adult entertainment”? Aren’t we the ones calling for “correction” in their lives? Well correction is coming! It’s coming to us! History has shown how people have been corrected and will be Expires corrected. Whether we want to receive correction or not, 01/31/2014 it will come. By the way, correction is for our own good. NOW Reg. $1999 When we refuse to receive it, correction becomes punishment. Punishment from God is NOT what we want. Carol Rounds &

Columbia Bank

Vice President • Branch Manager

WHAT’S HAPPENING AT VFW

B I N G O

WOODLAND BRANCH

782 Goerig St. Woodland, WA 98674 360225-9421 • Fax 360225-8146 crounds@columbiabank.com

GUARANTEED WINNERS!! Every Tuesday — PUBLIC WELCOME!

SENIOR Horse Feed $ 99

18

Remnant Farms FEED SUPPLY 360 225-5980 1501 Guild Road, Woodland Hours: M-Sat., 10–6; Closed Sundays

REMNANTFARMS.NET

Games Begin @ 6:30—COME JOIN US! BREAKFAST—2nd Saturday Each Month; 8–11 AM Gus Forbes VFW Post 1927 434 Davidson Ave., Woodland, WA (360) 225-5854

Northwood Park Funeral Home & Cemetery

Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery Cremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA 360

574-4252

Happy New Year!

Woodland Funeral Home 225-8441

Happy ! Hour Daily

Traditional Services & Cremations 360 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

JANUARY 2014 • THE REVIEW • 9


T

Dining P leasure 5 FOR YOUR

he Hung Far Low Chinese Restaurant, My dining companion is a fan of Chinese style 3061 Ocean Beach Highway, Longview barbecued pork and orders it as an appetizer Washington, has name that sounds a little bit frequently. Unfortunately it was not to his lik‘out there’ but what the active imagination ing. Hung Far Low’s version of BBQ Pork is a might make out of it in the English language little bit different and really more like roast and the reality of what it means in the pork with a sweet glaze than the more tradiChinese language couldn’t be further apart. tional BBQ’d Pork found in other Chinese While the name may sound a little bit rogurestaurants. ish in English, in Chinese it apparently Next we tried Moo Goo Gai Pan, which means “almond blossom fragrance” in the was new to us. Our waitress made the comChinese dialect of Taisan. ment that the owner was our chef for the eveBY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE ning and I must say the chef knew what she The Hung Far Low Restaurant maybe new to Longview but it is not new to the region. The was doing. Our Moo Goo Gai Pan was fresh original restaurant, once located in Portland’s and hot with the vegetables cooked just tender old Chinatown, had a long standing reputation crisp. It was all napped with just enough sauce for “regular” food and for the “stiff” drinks to glaze the meat and vegetable but not enough served in the lounge. When the long established to drown out their sweet flavor. L O N G V I E W, WA restaurant recently opened a second location in And of course, we had to try the fried rice. Longview, Washington, and with its long-standing reputation, we decided to try it. I mean, what is Chinese food without fried rice? Right? We chose the House Fried Rice and Located across from Fred Meyers, the Hung Far Low Chinese Restaurant now occupies were pleasantly surprised to find it deliciously seasoned with plenty of sliced pork, shrimp, the site of the old Bonnie and Clyde Restaurant, 3061 Ocean Beach Highway, Longview, beef, vegetables and just enough egg to hold the rice grains together while still allowing the Washington. Attempts have been made to clean up the restaurant which has suffered greatly rice to remain light and fluffy. In a word, delicious! over the years of in the hands of previous owners. New flooring, fresh paint, contemporary Finally we selected Sautéed Green Beans from the “Beef” menu. First I have to say the lighting and an all-new sign green beans were delightful, cooked just to a tender-crisp stage with lightly caramelized have gone a long way into slivered onions and a small amount of finely chopped sweet red pepper. One problem, howmaking the restaurant more ever, there was no beef included in the dish despite being included in the “beef” category on visually appealing. the menu. Hmmm? We decided against sending the dish back and enjoyed it for what it What we tried: The menu was. offers much the same items We were pleased to find the portions were large, (leaving that much more to take home) that any average Chinese and the evening we visited, our food was delivered to our table fresh and hot by a very restaurant offers; in that friendly waitress. there is nothing new. We If you are in the mood for “Chinese” and a night on the town, try Hung Far Low Chinese began with Barbequed Pork. Restaurant, (the newest member of the Asian style restaurant family in Longview Washington), 3061 Ocean Beach Highway, 360-232-8231. Open 7 days a week for dine in DOWN TO or take-out.

Hung Far Low

EARTH

Satellite TV

INTERNET 119 NE 1st, Kalama Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2 www.kalamatv.com

673-2950

Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark & Columbia Counties Since 1982.

INSECTS—cont’d from page 5

of bees. They are made the same way but with drilled holes being of different sizes. The blocks would be made of clean, preservative free wood. Pine, fir and hemlock work well for this purpose. The blocks can even be coated with a water based exterior grade polyurethane paint if added protection is wanted. It is best to keep the area where the bees will enter a darker color as this seems to be preferred by the bees. Charring the area with a small blow torch is another way to protect the wood from the weather also. The piece of wood can be up to 7 inches thick and 6 to 10 inches wide. The length CITY HALL can vary with where you 100 DAVIDSON AVENUE plan to place it when it is • Police (360) 225-6965 ready for its new inhabitants. • Fire (360) 225-7076 Holes would need to be • City Council Chambers • Meeting Rooms drilled ¾ of an inch apart with sizes ranging between ADMINISTRATIVE 3/32 and 3/8 of an inch. This ANNEX spacing keeps the little gals 230 DAVIDSON AVENUE reassured that there is not a threat from a neighboring (360) 225-8281 • Fax (360) 225-7336 bee who may be working the • Mayor’s Office • Community Center • Public Works next hole over. They seem to Information 300 E. Scott Ave. • Clerk Treasurer feel better if they have a big (360) 225-7999 • Park Information • Utilities enough area to work in. • Building • Planning • Notary Public Placing the blocks when (360) 225-7299 (360) 225-1048 • Voter Registration done is best in an area with www.ci.woodland.wa.us

10 • THE REVIEW • JANUARY 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

INSECTS—cont’d on page 11


SEDONA—cont’d from page 7

TOWBOATS—cont’d from page 8

You can cook and eat your trout right there if you want. Close by is the Briar Patch Inn which has a cute stone and wood restaurant and rustic cottages. I highly recommend the unique buffet breakfast served there. If you are interested in how original indigenous Indians lived in the area hundreds of years ago, visit Montezuma Castle National Monument. You can see the remnants of cave dwellings in the cliffs. There are remarkably big white-bark sycamore trees on the heritage site grounds. For a contrast, drive to Enchantment Resort in West Sedona, a fancy place nestled in the mountains by the Seven Canyon Golf Course. My friend, Dale Lake, and I have known each other for fifty-five years. We went through weapons controller training together at Tyndall Air Force Base by Panama City, Florida, before going to Germany where we controlled fighter interceptors, tactical fighter bombers and missiles. Dale was a fine USAF officer, and our mutual respect has remained for over half a century. When Hildegard and I were married in Minden, Germany, in 1961, Dale was one of our guests. Dale has an interesting antique gun collection, so one day we fired his AK-47, carbine and Thompson submachine gun. Dale is a good marksman. Personal highlights of our trip included a delicious Sauerbraten dinner prepared by Irmgard in their beautiful, spacious home. Hildegard enjoyed seeing the spectacular Grand Canyon again. In Sedona we both liked the huge red-rock formations and the Chapel of the Holy Cross built into the rocks. Go see for yourself the many places of interest in Sedona and around Sedona. FYI, it is a two and a half hour flight from Portland to Phoenix and a two hour drive from the Phoenix rental car facility to Sedona.

Strenuous efforts made to release her were unsuccessful. Over the next 18 months, the wind, waves and tide managed to move the vessel across two and a quarter miles of sand until she finally refloated herself in Baker Bay on the other side of the isthmus. This was such a freak event of nature, it was later recorded in Robert Ripley’s Believe It or Not. Shortly thereafter, Astoria-based Arrow Tug & Barge Company acquired the hull. “A year later, Knappton purchased it and had Brix Logging Company convert the hull to an oceangoing log barge. Compared with a log raft, the North Bend’s hull could be towed at a higher speed and without the risk of losing any product. This provided a more efficient operation, having the ability to carry upwards of 400,000 board feet of logs per trip.” A vignette in The Brix Logging Story describes how women played a part in the logging camps. Margaret Brix took care of all cooking chores at one camp in the 1880s. She carried her own wood for the cookstove, as well as water from a nearby creek. “Once a week, a full quarter of beef was slapped upon the kitchen table, requiring Margaret to dissect the meaty slab with her butcher knife and a hatchet. Steaks were served fresh and, because refrigeration was unavailable, she salted some while the rest was stored in a screen-covered box.” She also baked bread, pies and cakes, and washed all the dishes and cooking implements. She retired from cookhouse chores after she married in 1891. Brix’s books have been published in very limited editions; once they’re gone, they’re gone. Copies may be purchased at: Cowlitz County Historical Museum (360-577-3119; www.co.cowlitz.wa.us/museum/); Castle Rock Exhibit Hall (360-274-6603; crvisitorinfo@ci.castle-rock.wa.us); Columbia River Maritime Museum (503-325-2323; www. crmm.org); and Appelo Archive Center (360-484-7103; www.appeloarchives.org). If you enjoy Northwest history, logging stories, or working boats, don’t miss a chance to pick up one or both of these excellent volumes.

INSECTS—cont’d from page 10

east or southeast exposure to the morning sun and protection from most of the rain and wind. Protection can be provided by an existing roof or overhang of a building or by adding a small roof of some sort on the block of wood itself. I have also seen small sheds built and then the bee blocks are placed within that little shed for the season. Firm placement with several brackets to prevent movement of the nesting blocks is essential. Securing the block prevents dislodgement of the eggs from their food packets in each little cell. If the egg becomes displaced they cannot continue their development and all your efforts are for naught. No little pollinators for next years crops. The nest blocks can be placed from 8 inches to 8 feet or more above ground level. I have several at about eye level or so. I enjoy watching at times while I am out working in my garden. They are very focused on their work and are only mildly bothered by me probably because I am in their flight path more that anything else. Many more types of native bees make their networks of brood cells in the ground. Only a few simple requirements are needed for the queens of these other helpful insects. A bare or slightly vegetated, sun warmed, well drained patch of dirt is really all they require. These also focused, hard working, queens will excavate and prepare their own nest tunnels and brood cells. Each queen will then stock the separate cells with nectar and pollen for the egg she deposits. Hopefully the supplies she needs will be available from your wonderful garden and yard. If so she in turn will pollinate the fruits and vegetables there. A small but key contribution to the cycle of life. Bumble bee queens are usually content with an old abandoned mouse nest for their little hives, but if they happen to find a home made by human hands that meets a few humble bumble standards it would be just as nice for them and us. There are a number of suggestions for a bumble bee home that I found on several websites. Many of the sites are from the United Kingdom. The ideas ranged from a simple wooden box to an upturned flowerpot with rain protection over the drain holes. They all cautioned that only about one out of four man made nests gets used by the bees so it is best to set up plenty in hopes of a few being used

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

by these special buzz type pollinators. Protection from the weather, larger predators such as raccoons and internal moisture were suggested, so part shaded to full shade areas are favored along with heavy weights to hold the roof parts in place and ventilation and drainage arrangements. Adding some nesting materials such as cotton upholstery stuffing, short cuttings of soft cotton string, dried soft grasses or dry moss were among the items for that category. Bumble bee queens begin scouting for nest sites in early spring when the weather begins to warm. They usually fly fairly low to the ground and look very large. Even though the weather is cool they move around remarkably well as they search for a likely new home. There quite a few suggestions here and I hope I haven’t overwhelmed anyone. If I have might I suggest picking only your favorite few to work on because we all know a garden is never really finished it is only continually improved.

JANUARY 2014 • THE REVIEW • 11


H

Stepping Stones

ere it is! The long-awaited, not yet imitated, 2014 in Let me fast-forward to my recent medical appointthe Year of Our Lord. I am so pleased because I ment visit, when the nurse saw my birthdate as I stepped prefer even-numbered years. I was born in an even day, on the scales. She mentioned she was born on an even month, and year. My parents chose an even numbereddecade, pointing out something we both shared. She was first name to add to their even-numbered surname. I looking forward to 2014, too. She said: “I am glad it is BY PAT STEPP © Copyright 2013/2014 wonder if everyone feels the same about being “even” or going to be even. I don’t like the “13” in this year!” I “odd”, preferring either one or the other. smiled as I stepped off the scales, that read an even number. I may be an “odd man out” but when put to the test I Many others believe that Year 2013 is unlucky. I wonder if people old enough will find a way to “get even”. My compulsion to even to be suspicious in 1913 had the same dread. Unfortunately, I know no one to ask. things out in my life may find its roots in superstitions as old as time itself. Odd I am looking for a 105 year-old to interview to further explore the subject. numbers have always been considered lucky, especially the number seven which is My 2014 calendar is already up and beginning to fill. I have forgone the usual considered a holy number in the Bible. Thirteen, although odd, is considered list of New Year Resolutions that I traditionally struggle to write each year, They unlucky because of Judas being the 13th apostle guest at the Last Supper. Buildings were intended to help me become a better person. I have decided my only resolubuilt to this day are missing a named 13th story and “the Hostess with the Mostest” tion this year is: “I hereby resolve to have more fun in 2014”. would never seat 13 for dinner party. This is the first year since I was a teen that I have not resolved to lose weight The letters in my name changed to odd when I married. When I celebrated my on any given year. Breaking resolutions is hard on my self-confidence, so I am 50th birthday with the gift of “Joy” as a middle name, my name was even-num- trying something new. This year, I will be pursuing activities that might actubered again. I have been happier since, but that could be for variety of reasons. ally be joyful, rather than dieting. The ability to be comfortable in my own skin “The empty nest” and opportunities to fulfill the dreams of my youth come to mind has taken me decades. as I think of myself at 50. I was beginning to find out which of my long-nurtured May all my Gentle Readers have a Fun New Year. fantasies were viable and which were the intoxicating “pipedreams”.

12 • THE REVIEW • JANUARY 2014

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


The Review, January 2014, Vol 12, issue 1  

Family-safe reading about the best of Southwest Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you