Page 1

APRIL 2016 • VOL 14, ISSUE 4 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

FREE!

NORTHWEST

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

B

Bumble Bees

lueberries and Bumblebees just go glory, raspberries, green beans and salmon colored runner beans together, but so do tomatoes, raspberjust to name a few. I really hope to keep them encouraged and ries, and other yummy and pretty plants reassured about coming to this space for food and safe living as and flowers. The first two tasty treats I really like my supply of blueberries,, raspberries and other need the buzz pollination technique wonderful fruits and vegetables they help this space produce. that bumblebees are experts at. I see Bumblebees are the key pollinators of the tomatoes and blueberbumblebees working in many of the ries especially so I really want to keep these guys happy here. various vegetables and flowers throughout my garden. They I see at least three types of bumblebees in my yard. I have yet to figure out their o vLI work all spring and summer gathering the nectar and pollen scientific names, but I sure enjoy seeing them in the flowers, buzzing away at their ST K o OR n O ow andGL YA OF they need to feed the young their Queen has laid back at the hive. work. They are so soft and cute with all the fuzz on their bodies. Two of the varieties ND AR PHOTO S BY NORA Not only are they feeding new and/or replacement workers for this are quite large, being almost ¾ of an inch in length. The others are smaller at about ½ year, but they are also helping care for next year’s Queens to carry on the species. an inch in size. These smaller bumblebees are very aware of what or who is around Early in the spring when the bumblebee Queens are just starting out they really them as they work. I often try to take pictures of them as they visit the blueberry blosappreciate finding the early blooming varieties of plants. Those plants may even soms, but they sense or see me and off they fly to the other side of the bush and coninclude the pesky dandelions that many a lawn care professional so loves to hate. Other tinue working on a new blossom. food sources that these hard working queens can use include pussy willows, Big Leaf One variety of bumblebee I have is orange, yellow and black. They are one of the Maple and other early blooming shrubs and plants. These Queens will larger types and there is also a smaller kind with the same color pattern. little bumblebees be needing lots of food in the form of nectar and pollen as they hustle These These smaller ones are the shy ones who always fly away from the really get into their work. about setting up a new hive for the season’s work coming up. camera. I also see the classic black and yellow bumblebees. They often This smaller variety is intent I have Oregon Grape as one of the early bloomers in my yard and am on nectar gathering deep in spend the night sheltered in my raspberry leaves or nestled in the petals planning on adding more shrubs in this category this year including a this annual Morning Glory of the big dahlia blossoms. dwarf variety of pussy willow. Later in the Spring and Summer they enjoy flower. INSECTS—cont’d on page 2 a large selection of plants including iris, sweet peas, annual morning

t

e

den Insect ar s G


INSECTS—cont’d from page 2

Late last Fall as I was clearing weeds out of my raspberries I accidentally disturbed one of the orange and yellow-trimmed Queen bumblebees who was beginning

her long winter’s nap. She was a bit aggravated with being disturbed so I quickly covered her back up as I profusely apologized for disturbing her. Hopefully she was able to settle back in and make it through one of our wettest winters. Even as I write this just as we begin Spring I am on the lookout for any sign of the first flights of the awakening Bumblebee Queens or even sightings of mason bees or other solitary pollinators. Even Syrphid flies, also known as Hover flies, are included on my short list of important early helpers. See who you can spot as they begin the Spring work shift in your garden. MAIN PHOTO:

Pollen dusts this large variety of black and yellow bumblebee due to how deep in the petals she must go for nectar. TOP: I have only seen this all yellow variety of bumblebee near the Tigard area near where I used to work. BOTTOM: This little bumblebee is nearly up to a full load of pollen and nectar in her baskets on her back legs. She has been very busy for sure.

2 • THE REVIEW • APRIL 2016

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


IN THIS ISSUE

The Review — April 2016, Vol. 14, Issue 4

Cover: 4 Insects: Bumble Bees

5 SW Washington History: Books on the Move

By Karen Johnson

By Nora Garofoli

3 What’s Happening Around Town

6 Over the Garden Gate By Cheryl Spaulding

By Pat Stepp

CLASSIFIEDS FOR RENT

LHA PROPERTIES

Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama Family & Elderly/ Disabled Units Pay only 30% of your adjusted gross income

360

ANNOUNCEMENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS

01

PUBLISHER’S NOTICE ALL REAL ESTATE advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

Eateration—The Latest in Food Trucks

By The Diva Gastronomique

St. Urban Grange Annual Fabric and Craft Sale St. Urban Grange will be hosting their annual Fabric and Craft Sale on Saturday April 9, 2016 from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm. The grange is located at the corner of Sargent and North Military, Winlock, WA. Do you have a textile related craft you would like to sell? This is an opportunity to clean out your stash of fabrics, yarn, notions, etc. that you no longer need, use, or want. Mark your calendar and reserve a table now. Tables are a $20 donation which benefits the Veterans Passage Quilt Project sponsored by Winlock St, Urban Grange. To reserve a table or for more information, contact Chris Schaffer at 360 785-3366 or Cindy at 360 557-6244. The Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge #17 Welcomes You! The Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge meets on the 1st Tuesdays of the month with a dinner starting at 6:30 p.m. followed by the Lodge meeting at 7:30 p.m. Meeting address is 143 Davidson Ave., Woodland, WA 98674 (upstairs). For more information contact them at 360-200-1799 or check out their Facebook page by searching for “Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge 17” AGLOW meeting coming up! Ron and Donna Brandon will be speaking at Vancouver Aglow’s meeting on April 4, 2016. As a Marine, Ron Brandon served in Vietnam, but returned with severe PTSD. After suffering many years, he found freedom in God. He now serves as a Chaplain in veterans groups and prison systems, and is V.P. of Vancouver’s Full Gospel Businessmen’s Fellowship. Meeting location: Shiloh Fellowship Church, 10709 SE 10th St., Vancouver. Time: 7:00 p.m., with fellowship at 6:00 p.m. For more information: (360) 694-6914. TOPS #1129 Meets in Woodland The TOPS #1129 Group meets at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesdays for their weigh-in and meeting at the Woodland Community Center located at 782 Park Street. For more information contact Delores at 360-606-6434. TOPS #1489 Meets in Kalama The Kalama Tops (Take Off Pounds Sensibly) group meets every Tuesday at 9 am for their weigh in and meeting at the Kalama Methodist Church at 111 N 2nd Street. It is a low cost, educational support Group. Any questions call Debbie at 360-673-5183. TOPS #1056 Meets in Vancouver TOPS WA 1056 Vancouver, meets every Wednesday at the Shiloh Fellowship Church located at 10709 SE 10th Street Vancouver, WA 98684. Weigh in begins at 8:15. The meetings are 9:30 to 10:30. Any questions, please contact Barbara Smith at 360-901-4634 or at Barbarassouthern breeze@gmail.com. TOPS #1407 Meets in Longview TOPS #1407 Longview, meets every Wednesday at the Heron Pointe Recreational Center located at 5815 Ocean Beach Hwy., Longview, WA 98632. Weigh-in begins at 9:30 am and the meetings start at 10:00 am. Any questions, please contact Ellen at 360-355-4353.

225-7781

Rooms for Rent Downtown Woodland, $525/mo per person or $190/wk per person, utilities included. Call 360-772-3518.

Please call if you have questions: Phone: (360) 225-1273; web: www.reviewmediagroup.com; e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com Mailing address: PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674 Deadlines: Please see our deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com. Circulation approx. 10,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Vancouver, and Kelso/Longview). Published monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a selfaddressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in any form whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

By Norma Brunson and Doug Schurman

7 For Your Dining Pleasure:

WHAT’S HAPPENING Cathlapotle Plankhouse—Spring Opening Celebration, lecture and Guided Hikes Where: Cathlapotle Plankhouse at the Ridgefield National Wildlife Refuge: 28908 NW Main Ave, Ridgefield, WA 98642 When: April 17, 2016 What: The Cathlapotle Plankhouse re-opens for the 2016 season on April 17th, 2016. The season will kick off with a special second Sunday event featuring the latest in Cathlapotle Village archaeology, artifacts excavated from the Cathlapotle site on display, and hikes guided highlighting spring and a family friendly hike focusing on Refuge Wildlife. The Plankhouse will be open for visitors from 12pm-4pm, and there will be kids’ activities as well. The Cathlapotle Plankhouse will now be open most weekends from12pm-4pm. Every second Sunday of the month the Plankhouse will host a special event with speakers, guided hikes, and children’s activities. For more information on the upcoming events, visit www.ridgefieldfriends. org. 12 pm: Naturalist Lead Family Hike Join a Naturalist on the trail exploring the wildlife that live at the Refuge. This hour long walk will meet at the Plankhouse, and is geared towards families. Meet in front of the Plankhouse. 1 pm: Presentation “What’s new at Cathlapotle? Lots!” Cathlapotle is one of the best preserved Chinookan Village sites along the Lower Columbia River, making it a tremendous window into the lives of Chinookan Peoples before contact with Euro-Americans in the early 1800s. Ken Ames, Professor Emeritus at Portland State University and one of the leading scholars in Lower Columbia River Archaeology will share the latest findings to come out of Cathlapotle, and connect these stories to the lands we all call home. 2 pm: Spring Ethnobotany Hike Join a Refuge Naturalist for a walk on the Oaks to Wetlands Trail discussing spring plants and their relationship with Chinookan culture. Participants should be prepared for a 2 mile hike on moderately uneven terrain. Meet at the Plankhouse. 12 pm–4 pm: Plankhouse Tours and Children’s Activities Tour the Plankhouse on your own or guided by our experienced volunteers. Children’s activities will be available as well. Cost: Refuge admission is $3 per vehicle

8 Birds Galore: Spring!

6 Stepping Stones

SW Washington Gold Prospectors Meet! The SW Washington Gold Prospectors club meets every 2nd Sunday every month at 1:00 p.m. at the Minnehaha Grange Hall at 4905 NE St. Johns Road in Vancouver, WA. For more information contact Steve at 971-212-5996 or go to www.swwgoldprospectors.org or see their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/ Swwgp.

Woodland Swimming Pool Fundraiser Nets $1.1 Mil BY CHERYL K. SPAULDING

A

n auspicious Woodland-based event was held Saturday evening, March 18th, at Holland America Bulb Farm in Woodland Washington and hosted by co-owners Benno and Klazina Dobbe and members of the Woodland Community Swimming Pool Committee. Titled “Tiptoe Through the Tulips” this fundraising event provided a fun and exciting platform for the launch of the “More Than a Pool Campaign.” The purpose was to raise community awareness of the project and to raise much-needed capital for the construction of a Woodland YMCA which is planned for 2018. This kick-off, invitation-only event which raised $1.1 million pledge dollars in support of the proposed Woodland YMCA joins the $995,000 in assets that were already on the WCSPC balance sheet from monies raised in prior years. This brings the total to more than $2 million dollars. The campaign has a goal of $12.6 million. Woodland High School Principal John Shoup was Master of Ceremonies for the evening, which featured a silent and a live auction as well as a “paddle raise.” Shoup delivered a strong message on the importance of learning to swim in a community that has so much water in and around it. The event was attended by over 125, including many notables such as Woodland residents Bill and Jeanne Firstenburg, Representatives Ann Rivers, Liz Pike and Julie Olson, as well as Woodland Mayor Will Finn and Bob Hall, President and CEO of the YMCA of the Columbia Willamette who also delivered the invocation. “This is the first of several events we plan to have in Clark and Cowlitz counties,” Benno Dobbe, co-owner with wife Klazina, of Holland America Bulb Farm and President and Chairman of the Woodland Community Swimming Pool Committee, said in a news release. “Each will have its own theme, depending on who is hosting and where. It seemed appropriate that we host the first one at our place.” Safety and community building were keynotes themes for the evening with Dobbe serving as host. He told the audience “This [the Woodland YMCA] has been a long time coming. We have been working very hard on this project, and have built the momentum necessary to get the campaign launched. “Lots of hours have been committed into this effort, but it is all worth it,” Dobbe, added. “This is so much more than a pool,” said Dobbe. “Having a pool here is very important, of course. The safety factor alone, given our community’s proximity to and love for water, makes this a critical addition. We need to ensure our children grow up as confident swimmers. Every drowning is an absolute tragedy that we could help to prevent.” “More people die from drowning in our region than die in house fires,” says Clark County Fire & Rescue Division Chief (Prevention) Tim Dawdy. According to Dawdy having a swimming pool in a community with programs and instruction does save lives. “Teaching people how to swim has many benefits,” he said. “Not only does it reduce the potential of drownings, but it also contributes to the overall health of the community. Time spent making our kids strong swimmers is well invested. Having a pool helps ensure that it happens.” But developing strong swimmers is only part of the reason for the center. Having the YMCA involved as the operator of the facility also brings a long and solid track record of promoting healthy living, developing strong character, and providing people with the skills and confidence they need to succeed in life. “We are excited to come to Woodland,” says Bob Hall, President and CEO of the YMCA of the Columbia Willamette. “This is a perfect opportunity for us to serve Woodland and its surrounding communities. And of course we will do all we can to make sure the fundraising is successful.” Dobbe thanked the Firstenburg Foundation and West Coast Training for their leadership and generosity in making grants/ pledges that inspired some truly incredible community philanthropy from the night’s attendees.

APRIL 2016 • THE REVIEW • 3


M

SW WASHIN HIST

ary Titcomb was a woman unrecognized by the vast majority of U.S. citizens, an unsung heroine who influenced the entire country’s reading public. For it was librarian Mary Titcomb who originated the idea of bookmobiles, way back in 1905. In that year, Mary put the nation’s very first bookmobile on the backroads of Washington County, Maryland, with financial assistance from the Carnegie family. This was not the bookmobile van or truck that many of us remember from our childhoods. Instead, this was, as you might guess from the time period, a wagon—driven by library janitor Joshua Thomas, and pulled by a pair of handsome horses named Dandy and Black Beauty. Mary’s first vehicle was often mistaken for a hearse, so the BY KAREN L wagon was retrofitted slightly to offset that impression. Three times a week, the wagon made 30-mile trips, distributing hundreds of library volumes to those unable to easily access a regular library. Joshua and his horses traveled their routes for five years, until a run-in with a freight train destroyed the wagon. Driver and horses survived unscathed. But the new-fangled replacement bookmobile had a motor instead of a team. From then on, bookmobiles were slowly adopted by more states. The idea really took off in 1939 under President Roosevelt’s Works Progress Administration. The WPA project provided mobile libraries in Washington State, the first covering Thurston, This year’s logo for National B Mason and Grays Harbor counties. Carrying modern bookmobile arising fr 650 volumes and staffed by three people, COURTESY AMERICAN LIBRARY ASSOC this “motorized rural library” was joined a few months later by a second vehicle serving Lincoln County. The books were jointly provided by the State Library and local library units. Around 1941, Clark County acquired a bookmobile built on a pick-up truck chassis, with swing-up side panels and drop-down shelves. Eventually Clark’s mobile units served around 270 stops.

Boo on the

TOP:

Three men braved the wet weather to check out books from the Grays Harbor County bookmobile in 1950. PHOTO COURTESY WASHINGTON STATE LIBRARY. RIGHT: Librarian Mary Titcomb originated the idea of a mobile library service in the early 1900s. PHOTO COURTESY WESTERN MARYLAND REGIONAL LIBRARY.

Getting you back on your feet, one step at a time!

Therapeutic Rehabilitation • Post-Surgical Care • Respite Care • Post-Acute Hospital Care

360 60 Call us today! 36 225-9443 310 4th Street • Woodland, WA

4 • THE REVIEW • APRIL 2016

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

In 1947, a bookmobile was being built


W NGTON TORY

You might assume that a bookmobile librarian led a fairly quiet life. But in 1945, the King County bookmobile encountered some unexpected excitement. The Seattle Times reported: “A careless hunter fired a bullet through the windshield of the bookmobile of the King County Public Library near Redmond a week ago, narrowly missing the vehicle’s two occupants,Mrs. Minnie Little,in charge of the bookmobile, said today. Mrs. Little, librarian,and Ralph L. JOHNSON Raymond,driver, were in the bookmobile when the bullet crashed through the glass. ‘We couldn’t believe anyone was taking a shot at a librarian,’ Mrs. Little laughed today. ‘But you might tell the hunters there is no bounty on us. A few more experiences like that, and we’ll qualify for the extra-hazardous-occupation group.’ ” By 1950, Mason and Thurston counties were served by two bookmobiles, making the rounds from three to five times a week. Grays Harbor County’s mobile was a purpose-built bread-truck design. Bookmobile Day features a Although bookmobiles rom the pages of a book. CIATION. are not nearly as popular as they once were (thanks to an increase in private automobiles, more branch and school libraries, not to mention the internet), today about 25 bookmobiles still travel around our state. Some offer computers, internet service, and other technology. But the premise of sharing books is still uppermost. As Mary Titcomb stated over a century ago, “No bet-

oks e Move

TOP:

In 1946, the Clark County bookmobile welcomed Fred Gilson, Carl Pederson, Oskar Takle, and John Hollis. Driver Ted Chappelle helped the men choose from a wide selection of books, including Jungle Ways, The Hollowed Tree Snowed-In Book, and Great Adventures and Explorations. PHOTO COURTESY WASHINGTON STATE LIBRARY. LEFT: Around 1905, Joshua Thomas and his horses, Dandy and Black Beauty, got the nation’s first bookmobile on the road in Washington County, Maryland. PHOTO COURTESY WESTERN MARYLAND REGIONAL LIBRARY.

ter method has ever been devised for reaching the dweller in the country. The book goes to the man, not waiting for the man to come to the book.”

Celebrate National Library Week, April 10—16, by visiting your local library and taking advantage of its many offerings. Wednesday, April 13, is National Bookmobile Day. Read!

Your ONLY Woodland-Area Feed Store! Why drive 1/2 hour or more? Shop local and save!

Fryer Ration Pellets & Crumbles UP TO

2

$ 00 OFF

for Grays Harbor County.

PHOTO COURTESY WASHINGTON STATE LIBRARY.

Remnant Farms FEED & SUPPLY 360 225-5980 WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

Wash Bucket for

%* 20 OFF On 3 or More Items You Can

GET:

#HERO2BT16

Fit Inside the Bucket!

TWO BAGS OR MORE • ASK ABOUT SPECIAL PRICING Contact us • EXPIRES 4/30/2016 • 50 LB. BAGS to learn

Chicks are HERE!

3

BUY : 5-Gal. $ 99 NAPA/IFHF

more on how you can earn a free bag of Equis Element!

NAPA will donate $1 to the Intrepid Fallen Heroes Fund for every bucket sold!

Must purchase a minimum of three items to receive the 20% discount. Some exclusions apply. Not valid on sale items, or with any other offers or coupons. See store for details. Offer good while supplies last at participating NAPA AUTO PARTS stores.

Woodland Auto Supply 1015 Pacific Avenue • Woodland 360225-6529 M-F, 7–7 • Sat, 8-5 Sun, 9-4

OFFERS EXPIRE 4/30/2016 4/30/2 0/2016 016 OR OR W WHILE HILE ILE SUPPLIES LAST!

1501 Guild Road, Woodland Hours: M-Sat., 10–6; Closed Sundays

REMNANTFARMS.NET

APRIL 2016 • THE REVIEW • 5


Stepping “B Stones

e a craftsman in speech that thou mayest be strong for the strength of one is the tongue, and speech is mightier than all fighting.” Maxims of Ptahhotep 3400 BY PAT STEPP © Copyright 2016 B.C. When I found this quotation in Familiar Quotations by John Bartlett, I was surprised at the wisdom of a man who lived five thousand years ago. The rest of the rainy afternoon was spent finding other things written by wise men in antiquity. Confucius: “He with whom neither slander that gradually soaks into the mind, nor statements that startle like a wound in the flesh, are successful may be called intelligent indeed.” 551– 479 B.C. Aesop: “The gods help them that help themselves.” 550 B.C. Plutarch: “Wait for that wisest of all counselors—Time.” 495–429 B.C. Euripides: “Waste not fresh tears over old griefs.” 485–406 B.C. Herodotus: Not snow, no, nor rain, nor heat, nor night keeps them from accomplishing their appointed courses with all speed.” 485–425 B.C. Socrates: “There is only one good, Knowledge and one evil, Ignorance.” 460–399 B.C. Plato: “The life which is unexamined is not worth living” “Man is by nature a political animal”. 428–348 B.C. Aristotle: The best political community is formed by people of the middle class.” 344–289 B.C. Mencius: “The great man is one who does not lose his child’s heart.” 372–289 B.C. Menander: “It is not white hair that engenders wisdom.”342–289 B.C. Plautus: “No guest is so welcome in a friend’s house that he will not become a nuisance in three days”. 254–184 B.C. Terence: “There nothing so easy but that it becomes difficult when you do it reluctantly.” 190–159 B.C. Julius Caesar: “Men willingly believe what they wish”. 100– 44 B.C. Catullus: “Leave off wishing to deserve any thanks from anyone, or believing anyone can become grateful.” 87–54 B.C. Virgil: “Let us go singing as far as we go! the road will be less tedious” 70–19 B.C. Horace: “Cease to ask what the morrow will bring forth, and set down as gain each day that Fortune grants”. 65 B.C.–8 A.D. Notice the lack of female input to the words of wisdom Before Christ. Also, there are several quotes that sound very familiar. Benjamin Franklin must have been reading Titus Maccius Plautus when he wrote: “Fish and visitors smell in three days.” Also, the inscription the New York Post Office quoting Herodotus reads: “Neither snow nor rain or gloom of night stays those couriers from swift completion of their appointed rounds.” It seems the Persians had mounted postal couriers during the Greek-Persian War, 500 B.C. I especially appreciate Plutarch’s view on Time being a counselor. I could use counseling today as hurry to pack my bag and get my home in order. I am busy gathering what little wisdom I have to carry with me on an adventure. It is two days and counting before I leave on a trip I have dreamed about for decades. “Hope is a waking dream”, as Aristotle wrote so long ago.

over the

Time to B

ut before you focus all your attention on your outdoor gardens remember to make sure your indoor garden is healthy first. Yes, you have been taking good care of your house plants all winter long, giving them the correct amount of water, air and light so on. Now is not the time to ignore the little dears and undo all your hard work and By Cheryl Spaulding dedication. Spring is here and, yes, even house plants need to be “spring cleaned.” Over winter, even in the cleanest home, dust settles on the foliage of houseplants just like it does on your furniture. Cleaning the foliage helps the plants look better, and stay healthier. Indoor plants collect dust or greasy films that dull their appearance, making them dingy certainly at the very least. But more importantly clean leaves are more favorable to healthy growth as well as insect control. Plants can be funny creatures. Some do best in low light but for the most part plants prefer various degrees of light. A lack of sufficient light, just as too much light can result in poor plant growth. Garden hint: Products that clean and shine leaves generally leave a waxy or oily residue which may interfere with air exchange within the leaf cells. Milk does a better job of cleaning and it also leaves a nice shine on the leaves. I know it sounds weird but it works. Just dampen a small soft cloth with a small amount of milk and wipe the plant leaves carefully. Milk does not leave a waxy residue behind so your leaves will stay clean and shiny longer. Of course an alternative to this is to place the entire plant outdoors or in the shower to rinse it off. Plants with hairy leaves should not be dusted with a wet cloth but with a soft cosmetic brush. A pressure sprayer may be used. Spring is the best time for repotting houseplants and sooner or later, repotting house plants becomes necessary. Plants should be moved into larger containers as they grow. Unless more space is provided for the plant’s roots, they can become pot-bound. That is, the roots of the plant become cramped and form a tightly packed mass which eventually will stunt the plant’s growth. Some of the most obvious signs of a plant that is root or pot-bound are when you can see roots on the surface of the soil or emerging from the drainage hole in the bottom of the pot. Another sign is when you water the plant and the water runs straight though. Chances are the plant is pot or root-bound. Or if the plant seems to have stopped growing or has slowed growth, it’s likely it’s pot-bound. So now that you have determined that you have a root-bound or pot- bound plant; what do you do about it? If it’s a small plant, turn the pot on its side and gently ease the plant out of its container. (it helps if the soil in the container is moist but not wet.) Once you have the plant out of its container take a peek at its roots. Are they coiled in the bottom of the pot and up the sides of the root ball? If so, it’s definitely time to repot. Garden hints: Offsets, also known as pups or babies, are produced by some plants and can lead to overcrowding in the pot. Gently separate the babies and repot in new container. You have just propagated a new plant for you indoor garden. But how do you choose new pot? A new pot should be no more than 2 inches wider at the rim or 2 inches deeper than the old pot. Why? A pot that’s much larger gives the roots

get those hands Garden Gate dirty!

GARDENING—cont’d on page 7

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR! BRAKES • TIRES • ALIGNMENTS

• Cage-free Kennels • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted • Licensed and very affordable! • Pick up and drop off service available

Come let your dog run with the pack! 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama

360 www.paradisedogranch.com facebook.com/theparadisedogranch

601-3570

Integrity, honesty & great customer service! 1944 Belmont Loop • Woodland, WA • M–F, 7:30 – 5:30 www.reeds-automotive.com

What’s in your water? Water

• Residential Softeners, • Commercial Filters & • Industrial Purifiers Water Testing Available for Determining Filtration Needs

696-9287

360

www.waterandairworks.com 6 • THE REVIEW • APRIL 2016

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM


D ining P leasure 5

W

FOR YOUR

hile in Longview on a sunny spring My lunch companion decided to try the day, it seemed only fitting to lunch BBQ Jalapeno Burger, 1/2 pound burger somewhere new. The Eateration Food Truck (that’s what I said, ½ pound) with Tillamook is Longview Washington’s newest food truck, Pepper Jack cheese, lettuce tomato, ketchup, located in a parking lot at 11th and Hudson mayo all on a grilled Brioche bun. $12. As she across from the Ashtown Brewery. Food said, while juice was running down her chin, trucks are rapidly becoming the alternate face “this is sooooo good!” Again this was a good of restaurants today. Not hampered by the size burger. We shared a small order of Wedge restrictions of brick and mortar restaurants, Fries or as it is known on the menu, “adder/ modern food trucks are clean and in many with meal $3”. The wedged fries were crispy cases offering upscale and sometimes exotic on the outside and pillowy soft on the inside. BY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE This small order was more than enough for food to the public. Taking a tip from the trucks motto, “Food created from the constant both of us to nibble on. pursuit of culinary perfection,” classically We also decided to split a side of their trained chef Joel Lovall provides culinary perfection Mac’n Cheese, Tillamook cheese sauce and bacon over every day out of the shiny black restaurant on wheels. bowtie noodles, $5. OMG!! This is not your grandWhat we tried: I decided to try the Mediterranean mother’s Mac’n cheese. The cheese sauce is rich with L O N G V I E W, WA Chicken Sandwich, made with marinated chicken, cheese and very creamy and the bacon flavor is smoky artichoke & sundried tomato cream cheese, arugula, but not overwhelming. tomato, red onion, Pepper Jack cheeses drizzled with Balsamic reduction and served What we plan to try next time: Next time I will try the Fish and Chips, Ashtown on grilled wheat sourdough bread, $11. First off just let me say this was one of the best Brewing beer battered tuna, served with wedge fries and pineapple lemon dipping sauce. chicken sandwiches I have ever tried. However, that being said this is not a sandwich My companion plans to have the Our burger, ½ pound sirloin, caramelized onions, to eat while you are driving. It was ooey gooey good but very messy. And as of yet Tillamook pepper jack cheese, arugula, lettuce, tomato ketchup, mustard, mayo, served Eateration is not offering outdoor seating. (That’s in the long range plan.) This is a big on a grilled Brioche bun. sandwich, the chicken lightly browned on the flat top, the bread lightly toasted and for Eateration Food Truck, 11th and Hudson (across the street from Ashtown Brewery) those of you who don’t like spicy this is just right. open Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 12p.m. to 7 p.m. and Saturday noon to 6 p.m. Check out their Facebook page for their daily special.

Eateration—The latest in Food Trucks

BIRDS—cont’d from page 7

LEFT:

Another Yellow Warbler has captured tasty dragonfly for dinner, too. RIGHT: A Yellow-Rumped Warbler perches on a convenient lilly pad while he looks for a bug to catch. PHOTOS BY DOUG SCHURMAN

streaks whereas the female either has none or faint streaks that are hard to see. They love to be around gardens or areas where there is running water. There are 114 kinds of warblers world wide but only 53 in the West. I have personally seen 19 of those. I know I will never see them all but that’s okay as I enjoyed the ones we have seen. I recently spotted another bright yellow bird in the

quince bush but will tell you about it later. They only stayed around for a few days but was happy to see them. Now we have a new bird to add to our list. Keep your eyes open to see what new bird you just might see in your area. As we are getting more sun, now is the time to drive around the dike here or go to Ridgefield Wildlife Refuge. Enjoy nature, spring and the fact that it isn’t raining all the time.

GARDENING—cont’d from page 6

too much space to grow into. The top of the plant won’t grow until its roots begin to fill the container. An overly large container will also hold too much water and can cause root rot. And while I’m on the subject it’s best to choose a container that has drainage holes to allow excess water to drain away. However, if you have a special pot that belonged to your grandmother and it doesn’t have drainage holes; just add three inches of gravel in the bottom of the pot before adding your soil. If you are reusing an old pot be sure to scrub them well between plantings to remove any diseases. You can disinfect a pot by soaking it in a solution of one part chlorine bleach to nine parts water. Rinse well with clear water. If you’re using a new terra cotta pot, soak it in water for a few hours before you plant in it. New terra cotta is so dry that it will rob moisture from the soil leaving the soil dry and the plant thirsty. Repotting house plants can be stressful to the plant and they need time to recuperate. Here are a few tips to help plants adjust. Do not expose it to direct sun right away because sun can be too harsh on plant in a weakened state. Keep the soil evenly moist, but not soggy. If you notice that the leaves are limp, the plant is not getting enough water. If the leaves turn yellow, it’s getting too much water. Never fertilize a newly repotted plant.

Columbia Bank Joy Snead

AVP • Branch Manager

DOWN TO EARTH

Satellite TV

WOODLAND BRANCH

782 Goerig St. Woodland, WA 98674 360225-9421 • Fax 360225-8146 jsnead@columbiabank.com

INTERNET Its roots have likely been cut and can suffer from fertilizer burn. Wait at least a month before fertilizing when its root system is better established. AUTHORIZED SALES AGENT For those remaining house plants which do not need repotting it’s time 119 NE 1st, Kalama to begin fertilizing again. Whether by organic or commercial fertilizer, Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2 house plants or outdoor plants, all plants need fertilizer in the spring. www.kalamatv.com Houseplant fertilizer can be found in many forms and under a multi673-2950 Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark tude of brand names at your local plant nurseries or garden stores. The & Columbia Counties Since 1982. label should indicate how much water-soluble nitrogen, phosphate or potassium is available per pound of product. Northwood Park Funeral Commercial houseplant fertilizers Home & Cemetery should be used according to instructions on Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery the package label, or even more diluted. Cremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls Frequency of fertilizer application will The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! vary, depending on the vigor of growth you 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA 360 want and the age of each plant. Some plants do best with fertilization every two weeks, while others will flower well for several Woodland Funeral Home months without needing any supplement. Traditional Services & Cremations 360225-8441 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

574-4252

—Happy Gardening!

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

APRIL 2016 • THE REVIEW • 7


T

o me, yellow daffodils mean spring is just around the corner and as I am never wrong about that, we can all count on it. We might get a little late freeze or even snow but it doesn’t stop spring from happening. The spring migration is on also. Many different birds are passing through our yard. Some will stay and others move on to their favorite nesting grounds. We always spot warblers grabbing a bite of suet, eating at our feeders or getting a drink at out bird bath. A flash of yellow tells me that just maybe one of the two kinds of yellow-rumped warblers are in the flowering quince bush. The ‘book’ says that Audubon now calls the Myrtle and the Audubon the yellow-rumped warblers. I like to call them by their original names and do just that. Yes, they each have a bright yellow spot on their rump and on the top of their heads. They

SPRING

A Yellow-Rumped Warbler snags a dragonfly as part of his daily meal.

1230 ‘C’ Lewis River Road • 360-841-8699 www.luckmancoffee.com

50OFF 1 ¢

both have white wing bars but the Myrtle has a white throat whereas the Audubon has a yellow throat. The black bib on the Myrtle is a lot smaller than the one on the Audubon. These five to six inch birds have sharp pointed beaks and are busy little birds as they flit in and around our bushes. They love suet as I said before and eat tiny spiders and bugs. They range from Alaska, Canada, Northeast, and the West. And from the U.S. all the way down to Guatemala. We have seen them in Guatemala and of course in our yard. Another warbler we have seen in spring is the Yellow Warbler and it is truly yellow all over; even the tail spots are yellow. The male has rusty-orange breast BIRDS—cont’d on page 7

$ OFF PER POUND OF OUR FRESH

ANY COFFEE DRINK!

ROASTED COFFEE!

Must present coupon. Expires 4/30/2016. No cash value. Not valid with any other offers. Limit one per customer. Valid only at the Woodland, WA location.

Must present coupon. Expires 4/30/2016. No cash value. Not valid with any other offers. Limit one per customer. Valid only at the Woodland, WA location.

MAJOR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED • LUCKMAN GIFT CARDS AVAILABLE MONDAY–SATURDAY 5:30 A.M. — 6:30 P.M. • SUNDAY 7:00 A.M. — 3:00 P.M.

8 • THE REVIEW • APRIL 2016

PHOTO BY DOUG SCHURMAN

WWW.REVIEWMEDIAGROUP.COM

The Review, April 2016, Vol 14, Issue 4  

Family-safe reading about the best of Southwest Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you