Page 1

MARCH 2016 • VOL 14, ISSUE 3 THANKS TO OUR ADVERTISERS, IT’S STILL…

NORTHWEST

FREE!

The Fishing Crew

The Best of the Pacific Northwest!

Y

es, the eagles have landed at the mouth of the Lewis River. My friend Debby and I counted seventeen in the area between the Railroad Bridge (which crosses the North Fork of the Lewis River) and the mouth of the Lewis. They were enjoying a smelt feast which was coming up the river. We saw many flotillas of scaup, one of common mergansers and many hungry cormorants. Scaups and mergansers dive for the fish as do the cormorants. We didn’t see any kingfishers but were sure there were some around as they, too, dive for fish. With the smelt coming into the Lewis it is a smörgåsbord for fish-eating creatures. When going into Longview a few days later we saw flocks of gulls floating on the Columbia River backwaters plus lots of bald eagles in the trees looking for a fish dinner to steal. The eagles are so majestic as they perch atop the trees with the sun shining (yes, it was sunny that day) on their white heads.

We have several types of mergansers in the area with the common merganser the easiest to identify. They are quite large with stark white sides, a coalblack head, back and tail. The book says the white is tinged with a delicate peach but we couldn’t see that from a distance. The feet and saw-edged, spike-like bill are red. The tip of the bill has a tiny hook on it, the better to grab the fish with. The main diet is fish. The red-breasted merganser is quite striking as are all the males. They, too, have a spike-like red bill and red feet. The head is a dark glossy green with a definite crest. There is a white band around the neck, the back is black, the breast is a rusty color, and there is a white stripe on the side that separates the black of back with the gray at the water line. The female is a ‘plain jane’, so to speak The crested red of the head stands out, identifying it, with the body a light gray, We also have the hooded merganser but I will tell about it in a later story. The males seem to be quite beautiful and distinctive but the females not so. They have the job of keeping the eggs protected and babies taken care of so they don’t want to be spotted by predators too easily. Time to go and see what you can see in The Bottoms. BIRDS—cont’d on page 2


BIRDS—cont’d from front page

A Greater scaup male. wikipedia

A Kingfisher

photo courtesy of

A Common Merganser male. of wikipedia

photo courtesy

A Common Merganser female.

courtesy of wikipedia

A Cormorant

photo by doug schurman

photo

A red-breasted Merganser pair. courtesy of wikipedia

photo

photo by doug schurman

MINI GARDEN SHED

COMPLETE AUTO REPAIR! BRAKES • TIRES • ALIGNMENTS

Integrity, honesty & great customer service! 1944 Belmont Loop • Woodland, WA • M–F, 7:30 – 5:30 www.reeds-automotive.com

I have a nice-sized veggie garden, and I was tired of lugging my tools and gloves out each time I wanted to work in it, so I had my husband put our old mailbox on the fence to hold these items. This keeps them from getting wet or rusty. I can also put my cell phone in it while I work and don’t have to worry about dropping it in the dirt. —Beth Send your time and money saving tips to: Dollar Stretcher Tips, 6695 Cortez Road W., Bradenton FL 34210. If we use your tip we'll send you 3 free issues of our monthly newsletter. © 2016 Dollar Stretcher, Inc.

1230 ‘C’ Lewis River Road • 360-841-8699 www.luckmancoffee.com

50OFF 1 ¢

$ OFF PER POUND OF OUR FRESH

ANY COFFEE DRINK!

ROASTED COFFEE!

Must present coupon. Expires 3/31/2016. No cash value. Not valid with any other offers. Limit one per customer. Valid only at the Woodland, WA location.

Must present coupon. Expires 3/31/2016. No cash value. Not valid with any other offers. Limit one per customer. Valid only at the Woodland, WA location.

MAJOR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED • LUCKMAN GIFT CARDS AVAILABLE MONDAY–SATURDAY 5:30 A.M. — 6:30 P.M. • SUNDAY 7:00 A.M. — 3:00 P.M.

2 • the review • march 2016

www.reviewmediagroup.com


IN THIS ISSUE

The Review — March 2016, Vol. 14, issue 3

Cover: 4 birds Galore: The Fishing Crew By Norma Brunson & Doug Schurman

3 What’s Happening Around Town

4 over the Garden Gate By Cheryl Spaulding

4 stepping stones By Pat Stepp

5 insects: Tiny roommates

7 religion: imagine

By Lori Anderson

By Nora Garofoli

6 sW Washington History:

on the road with the Liberty bell

By Karen Johnson

8 For your dining Pleasure:

Myrtle’s Tea House & Herbery

By The Diva Gastronomique

WHAT’S HAPPENING Classic Rock Music with a Mission to Support Local Food Bank Parents, kids, and everyone in between love classic rock! Come enjoy a fun evening of great music in Woodland. When: Saturday, March 5th Time: 6:30 PM – 8:30 PM Where: Promise Church, 101 Hillshire Drive, Woodland, WA Cost: Free, donations appreciated (and will be matched!) If you are a rock music fan and want to support a worthy cause, we invite you and your friends and family to attend the Love Thy Neighbor benefit concert to help end hunger. The headline band, Truth Be Told, is Oregon’s only classic rock Christian parody band. They are known as one of the best cover bands in Portland and have gained recognition for their work with NW Prisons and Christian and secular Bikers. Truth Be Told will be performing with another local band, The Family Harp. Admission is free, but donations are welcome and greatly appreciated. Generous community donors will double or triple the donations collected, which is an exciting way to extend your support to the Woodland Action Center, a local food bank and community service center. The message of the music this evening extends compassion and love for those who are suffering from hunger in the local community. On a weekly basis, Woodland Action serves around 400 households in the Woodland and surrounding communities, including over 50 infants, 300 children, 460 adults, and 200 seniors. While tackling the issue of hunger may be intimidating, you can do something about it while enjoying 70’s and 80’s classic rock tunes! Truth Be Told covers everything from Journey, KISS, The Doors, Survivor, and more. Come have a rocking good time while supporting a great cause!

CLASSIFIEDS FOR RENT

GARAGE SALE

LHA PROPERTIES

Woodland, Castle Rock, and Kalama Family & elderly/ disabled units Pay only 30% of your adjusted gross income

360

225-7781

HUGE GARAGE/ ESTATE SALE

WOODLAND, WA 3/17 – 12 pm to 5 pm 3/18 – 9 am to 5 pm 3/19 – 9 am to 4 pm Woodland Community Building 782 Park Street • Woodland Tools, Art, Antiques, Vintage Jewelry, Designer clothes, and Household Items. Priced to sell.

For any questions or concerns regarding the event or to learn more about Woodland Action, please contact: hello@ woodlandaction.org, call (360) 225-9998, or visit www. woodlandaction.org. Woodland’s Easter Egg Hunt Is On! The Community Easter Egg Hunt sponsored by the Woodland Moose Lodge takes place Saturday, March 26th at 10:00 a.m. in Horseshoe Lake Park, Woodland, WA. Groups are 2 & Under, 3 to 5, 6 to 8, and 9 to 11. There will be four prize baskets per age group. If there are any questions, please contact Lota Ross at 360-903-3579. Clark College Choirs Present “Sing On” The Clark College Women’s Choral Ensemble and Clark College Chorale under the direction of April Duvic will present their 2016 Winter Concert, “Sing On!” Thursday, March 10, 7:30 p.m. in Gaiser Hall, 1933 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver, WA. Special guests, Seton Catholic Prep Concert Choir directed by Janet Reiter, opens the program. The Clark College Women’s Ensemble continues with several riveting selections about love, hope, heaven, and revelation. The men of Seton Catholic and the Clark College Chorale combine for the concert’s inspiration, Grieg’s “Brothers, Sing On” before the Chorale shares its varied program of choral classics. The concert concludes with Chorale and Seton Catholic bringing down the house with a choral arrangement of Mozart’s famous Rondo alla Turca. The concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call Shelly Williams at 360-992-2662 Community Home Health & Hospice offers free grief support Community Home Health & Hospice (Community) offers free grief support in Longviewat the James Avery Grief Center, 1000 12th Avenue and at Prestige Senior Living—Monticello Park, 605 Broadway Street. Grief support groups help those grieving the loss of a loved one take the proper steps toward recovery. In a judgement-free environment facilitated by staff and volunteer grief specialists, participants can share their loss with others who have suffered through similar grief. Avery Center support group schedule • Children(ages 5-10) and pre/early teen (ages 11-13) on the 1st & 3rd Tuesdays, 6-7:30 p.m. • Teens (ages 14-17) on the 2nd & 4th Tuesdays, 6-7:30 p.m. • Adults (ages 18+) on the1st&3rd Mondays, 1-2:30 pm and on the 2nd & 4th Mondays, 6-8 p.m. Prestige Senior Living support group schedule • Adults (ages 18+) on the 4th Thursdays, 2:30-3:30 pm For more information contact Annanissa Patterson, bereavement coordinator, at 360-703-0300 or griefsupport@chhh.org.

Rooms for Rent

Satellite TV

Downtown Woodland, $525/mo per person or $190/wk per person, utilities included. Call 360-772-3518.

ANNOUNCEMENTS ANNOUNCEMENTS

01

PUBLISHER’S NOTICE ALL REAL ESTATE advertised in this newspaper is subject to the Federal Fair Housing Act of 1978, which makes it illegal to advertise “any preference, limitation or discrimination based on race, sex, or national origin, or an intention to make any such preference, limitation or discrimination”. The Review will not knowingly accept any advertising for real estate which is in violation of the law. All dwellings advertised in this newspaper are available on an equal opportunity basis. To complain of discrimination, call HUD toll free at 1-800-424-8590.

DOWN TO EARTH

INTERNET

Circulation approx. 10,000 throughout Woodland, Kalama, Ridgefield, La Center, Vancouver, and Kelso/Longview). Published monthly on the first of the month with Special Editions each year. Owner, Publisher, Editor: Gloria Loughry; Advertising Sales: Gloria Loughry, Cheryl Spaulding; Columnists/Guest Writers/Invaluable Helpers: Lori Anderson, Norma Brunson, Nora Garofoli, Tony & Cheryl Spaulding, Pat Stepp, Matt Coffey, Karen Johnson, and Guest Contributors; Printed by: The Gresham Outlook

119 NE 1st, Kalama Mon.-Fri., 9-5 • Sat. 9-2

www.reviewmediagroup.com

AGLOW meeting coming up! Marsha Rekate will be the speaker at the Vancouver Aglow meeting on Monday, March 7th at 7:00 p.m. Meeting location: Shiloh Fellowship Church, 10709 SE 10th St., Vancouver. Time: 7:00 p.m., with fellowship at 6:00 p.m. For more information: (360) 694-6914. TOPS #1129 Meets in Woodland The TOPS #1129 Group meets at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesdays for their weigh-in and meeting at the Woodland Community Center located at 782 Park Street. For more information contact Delores at 360-606-6434. TOPS #1489 Meets in Kalama The Kalama Tops (Take Off Pounds Sensibly) group meets every Tuesday at 9 am for their weigh in and meeting at the Kalama Methodist Church at 111 N 2nd Street. It is a low cost, educational support Group. Any questions call Debbie at 360-673-5183. TOPS #1056 Meets in Vancouver TOPS WA 1056 Vancouver, meets every Wednesday at the Shiloh Fellowship Church located at 10709 SE 10th Street Vancouver, WA 98684. Weigh in begins at 8:15. The meetings are 9:30 to 10:30. Any questions, please contact Barbara Smith at 360-901-4634 or at Barbarassouthern breeze@gmail.com. TOPS #1407 Meets in Longview TOPS #1407 Longview, meets every Wednesday at the Heron Pointe Recreational Center located at 5815 Ocean Beach Hwy., Longview, WA 98632. Weigh-in begins at 9:30 am and the meetings start at 10:00 am. Any questions, please contact Ellen at 360-355-4353. SW Washington Gold Prospectors Meet! The SW Washington Gold Prospectors club meets every 2nd Sunday every month at 1:00 p.m. at the Minnehaha Grange Hall at 4905 NE St. Johns Road in Vancouver, WA. For more information contact Steve at 971-212-5996 or go to www.swwgoldprospectors.org or see their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/Swwgp. Volunteers Needed Woodland Mobile Meals is in need of volunteer drivers. Meals are picked up at the America’s Family Diner on Lewis River Drive at 10:45 along with recipients names and addresses. Delivery usually takes a little over an hour. If you are interested in assisting with this outreach to seniors program please call Moze Meeker at 225-6501 or June Jones at Woodland Real Estate 225-8278. Deliveries are in the Woodland, WA, metro area.

CLARK COUNTY FARM FORESTRY

Please call if you have questions: Phone: (360) 225-1273; web: www.reviewmediagroup.com; e-mail: info@reviewmediagroup.com Mailing address: PO Box 244, Woodland, WA 98674 Deadlines: Please see our deadlines on our website at www.reviewmediagroup.com.

Unsolicited photographs and manuscripts are welcomed, but will only be returned if accompanied by a selfaddressed, stamped envelope. The publisher does not assume and disclaims any liability to any party for any loss or damage caused by error or omission in this publication. Reproduction is not allowed without written permission from the publisher. All material herein is copyrighted and may not be republished or distributed in any form whatsoever without express permission from the Publisher.

The Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge #17 Welcomes You! The Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge meets on the 1st Tuesdays of the month with a dinner starting at 6:30 p.m. followed by the Lodge meeting at 7:30 p.m. Meeting address is 143 Davidson Ave., Woodland, WA 98674 (upstairs). For more information contact them at 360-200-1799 or check out their Facebook page by searching for “Woodland/Kalama Masonic Lodge 17”

Annual Seedling Sale Sat. March 19th 8 am to Noon

AUTHORIZED SALES AGENT www.kalamatv.com

673-2950

Albertson’s Food & Drug

Serving: Cowlitz, Lewis, Clark & Columbia Counties Since 1982.

march 2016 • the review • 3

2108 W. Main St. Battle Ground, WA

21 Species Geographically Selected $1.00 and up.


T

SW WASHINGTON HISTORY

he Liberty Bell is a centuries-old symbol of our country. hands) on the huge bell. The train took a northern route west, and Most of us, as schoolkids, learned the history of the bell eventually entered Washington near Walla Walla. and the crack it eventually developed. Originally made in On July 12, the bell encountered its first (and possibly only) England, it survived a trip across the Atlantic, and made its act of vandalism on the trip. Near Walla Walla, some boys way to Philadelphia. But did you know the bell has traveled threw rocks at the bell and hit it squarely at least once but widely since then? did no damage. The train then headed northeast to Spokane, The one-ton bell has journeyed mostly to world’s fairs dipped south again to Yakima, Ellensburg, Seattle, Tacoma, and other national expositions, including New Orleans in Olympia, and finally hit Vancouver on July 15. 1885, Chicago in 1893, Atlanta in 1895, Charleston in Originally the bell was scheduled to stop at Vancouver 1902, Boston in 1903, and St. Louis in 1904. But its lonfor only 10 minutes, but Portland graciously gave 20 minutes gest trek was across the country to the 1915 Panama-Pacific of its allotted viewing time to its northern neighbor. (As it turned exposition in San Francisco. And on that trip, it visited our neck out, the bell stayed in Vancouver for 75 minutes.) Vancouver of the woods. responded by trotting out parade troops from Vancouver Barracks When the Frisco exposition was being planned, someone sugaccompanied by the Twenty-first Infantry Band. Also on hand gested that the Liberty Bell should be displayed there. The idea were the Elks, Grand Army veterans, Spanish-American War caught on, after many misgivings about the bell’s “health” and veterans, veteran auxiliaries, and school children—all this at ability to withstand a long train journey. Not only did the bell 5:30 in the morning, when the train rolled into town. have multiple cracks, but it also suffered from a “disease of metLocal newspapers recounted poignant interactions with the als” thought to be brought on by earlier repairs and recastings of bell. BY KAREN L. JOHNSON the bell in the 18th and 19th centuries. “Fervently kissing the Liberty Bell, On April 16, 1915, Philadelphia Mayor when it was stopped in Vancouver for 75 Rudolph Blankenburg signed a resolution minutes early today, Sergeant White, a authorizing the Liberty Bell to be taken by colored soldier who has served more than special train to the Panama-Pacific expo. 30 years in the United States Army, today Slated to leave after the Fourth of July created intense enthusiasm among the celebration in the City of Brotherly Love, 3,000 early risers.‘I was born under that the bell rode on an open flat car so that bell, I have lived under, fought under it people all along the route could see it. and will die under it,’ he shouted, rising to Once the decision was made to bring the his imposing height of six feet, five inches, bell west, many western states chimed in and the crowd cheered.” with requests to have the special train “Glen N. Ranck, patriotic instructor in routed through their major cities. Seattle the city, pressed to it the battle-scarred flag Mayor Hiram C. Gill and Washington which he carried in the Spanish-American Governor Ernest Lister requested the bell War with Company G. A number of blind be brought to Seattle either on its way to or children were present and felt the bell, when returning from the exposition. their hands wandering to the crack almost Western newspaper editors lent their as quick as the eye.” support: “In sentiment, the Liberty Bell is In Portland, “The coming of the Liberty the West’s as much as it is the East’s. Its Bell meant liberty for the prisoners in the silent appeal is just as strong in San women’s section of the City Jail. There Francisco or Seattle as in Philadelphia. It were only two, both of whom were held is a national possession.” Since experts for minor offenses.” Since both women predicted that the 1915 journey might well had almost completed their terms, a municbe its last, it was therefore “doubly impor- in 1904, the Liberty bell traveled to the Louisiana Purchase exposition in st. Louis, where it ipal judge willingly released them so they was displayed for several months. photo courtesy library of congress. could see the bell. tant that it should be routed by way of Seattle BELL—cont’d on page 7 that the rising generation of school children should have an opportunity to see it.” And so the bell left Philly in early July. Its special train was composed of a baggage car, a diner, three standard sleepers, one private car and the gondola or flat car which carried the bell, as well as a caretaker and over 50 prominent people from Philadelphia. Stops of 30 minutes to several hours were planned along in La Grande, oregon, patriotic folks the way, allowing eager citizens to crowd the posed for a more formal portrait in train depots and lay eyes (and occasionally

On the Road with the Liberty Bell

front of two locomotives.

After the bell reached san Francisco, workmen built a semipermanent display for it. The short fellow seems to be in charge.

salem, oregon residents turned out to view the Liberty bell, as shown in this 1915 postcard.

Woodland Auto Supply Sale ends 3/31/16!

4 • the review • march 2016

1015 pacific avenue • woodland

225-6529

360

www.reviewmediagroup.com

m-F, 7–7 Sat, 8-5 Sun, 9-4


N

ot to alarm anyone or anything, but there are a number, quite a large number, in fact, of little six and eight legged buddies living in our homes. A recent study done by Matt Bertone, Michelle Trautwein, and Matt Shipman o sT K oFovLi at North Carolina State Univeror n ow andGL yA sity even found several new insects ro nd A PHoTo s by norA when they did a thorough gathering of these critters from fifty stand-alone homes in their area. The article they wrote about their study was recently in the news and can still be found by a search of the Web. As usual most of the insects gathered are benign or neutral characters in the cast, some are even considered to be helpful, if not sort of protective. (Certain species of spiders have been found to be able to keep the more dangerous types out of the beneficial spider’s territory.) I haven’t done a survey at my home lately, but I know with the way I am I probably have a few more little guests and so called roommates than most housekeepers would. Every so often though I will go through and take out all the old cobwebs and other debris just to help them with their housekeeping, too. In the late fall and winter there are always a few extra invaders either trying to come in for the winter or they accidentally come in with the firewood. Many of the ones in the firewood had planned on that being a safe place to rest for the winter until they would begin their final stages in the spring. The only ones I worry about coming in are the Yellow Jacket wasp queens. Once they are inside they warm up and start flying around like crazy. Most of the time I can carefully catch them at a window with a glass and a stiff piece of paper and escort them outside so they can go and along on their own to find a new hibernation spot. Other critters that I know live with me include house centipedes, cellar spiders, and, in the pest category, meal moths. House centipedes are predatory and prefer the cooler, darker areas of most homes. I sometimes find them—or their remains at least—in the bottoms of some of my canning jars. After I found a few like that I started storing my jars of their sides or upside down to prevent further problems for the little buggers. House centipedes look like feathers, to me, in several ways. They have many long delicate legs and can move quite quickly along the floor. As they move they almost seem to be floating much like a feather. I barely even know these delicate creatures are around most of the time as they are so shy and our paths rarely cross. They help control other insects in the home so I tend to not fret about them too much. Cellar spiders are another resident that prefers the cooler, darker portion of many homes and garages. I see them in the upper reaches of the basement ceilings, lesser-used rooms and in the garage. They are so delicate and light colored it is sometimes difficult to spot them. They are quite long legged with an oblong shaped abdomen. The most amazing behavior they have to me is their ability to rapidly shake or oscillate themselves and their web whenever they are alarmed or think something

Tiny Roommates

t

e

den Insect ar s G

TOP:

House Centipedes are difficult to capture alive, but this expired one is a pretty good example to get a idea of how delicate and feathery they are. LEFT: Cellar spiders such as this one seem almost ghost-like, but what can you expect when it lives with so little light? i would really like to know what all it catches in its web though. RIGHT: These quick moving little Minute Pirate bugs are often found roaming about the area near the wood stove. i have yet to read how they got their common name. i wonder if it has to do with their predatory nature? BOTTOM: surely someone with this snazzy of an outfit could spend the winter indoors as this Western Conifer seed bug hopes. He or she is just looking for a quiet, dark corner to hole up in ’til spring.

might be in their web. Sometimes these long legged, gangly spiders are also called Daddy Long Legs, but hopefully they won’t be confused with the Daddy Long Legs who prefer the great outdoors. Those are a relative but are in a different group. Both of these animals are predatory so they are tolerated and welcomed in my yard and home. Other little critters who have tried to come in, but who I usually try to exclude from the house include the Western Conifer Seed Bug, the Brown Marmorated

Stink Bug, and the Western Box Elder Bug to name a few. Western Conifer Seed Bugs would probably be okay to be in the house, but they are a bit larger than their tiny cousins the Minute Pirate Bugs. Their size alone is a bit annoying, but otherwise they aren’t really after anything except a place to winter over until spring. The Brown Marmorated Stink Bug (BMS Bug), on the other hand, is a known pest, recently imported, and spreading across the continent at a pretty good clip. They are known to feed on a number of food crops and spread diseases this way so if I find them they are dispatched pretty quickly. Their cousins the Western Box Elder Bug is mostly just an annoying bug due to their behavior of gathering together in large groups in the fall or spring to sun themselves on a south facing wall. Later they may gather inside to winter over and they can create a smell and a mess. Vacuuming them up if they are a problem is one way to dispose of them. If on an exterior wall, hosing it down with a soapy solution or, again, vacuuming would be a safer and healthier way to deal with these little bugs. They are not described as a pest insect, but more neutral as they don’t bother any important crops or ornamental plants. The Minute Pirate Bugs I mentioned are about as minute as their name implies, but I am more concerned for them being in the house due to the dry environment which will most likely be fatal for them. They are tiny but helpful predators in the garden. They usually come in with the firewood during the winter where they have been tucked into the little nooks an crannies away from the weather. The meal moths I find in my pantry are the most annoying pest insect I have in the house at this point. They can ruin many kinds of stored foodstuffs, but especially grain related items such as flour, rice, pasta, and even dry pet foods. Even if you have never had a problem with they can come into a home by way of contaminated items from a store or elsewhere. All that is needed are a few eggs that may have been laid in some product. Anything from cat food to cornmeal could be the route in for these pesky little pantry pests. The egg will hatch to become a hungry caterpillar that will chew little trails in crackers or even blocks of chocolate. As they mature and grow they leave behind a fine frass (poop) powder and silken cobwebs which cling to the container they have been inhabiting. At the proper time they cocoon themselves and develop into a small moth which will flutter about looking for a mate and new place to lay the next generation. Once these BUGS—cont’d on page 8

se Dog Ran i d a ch r Pa • Cage-free Kennels • Dog-Park atmosphere • A/C in Summer • Heated in Winter • Most breeds accepted • Licensed and very affordable! • Pick up and drop off service available

What’s in your water? Water

• Residential Softeners, • Commercial Filters & • Industrial Purifiers Water Testing Available for Determining Filtration Needs

696-9287

360

www.waterandairworks.com www.reviewmediagroup.com

march 2016 • the review • 5

Come let your dog run with the pack! 4821 Green Mtn. Rd. • Kalama

360 www.paradisedogranch.com facebook.com/theparadisedogranch

601-3570


over the

W

Stepping S Stones

t. Patrick’s Day was fast approaching and I was ready to switch out the red hearts for green shamrocks. I was thinking about all things Irish as I climbed the ladder to put up my St. Brigid’s cross. I poundBY PAT STEPP © Copyright 2016 ed it in securely with a corsage pin high above my door. My friend had given it to me as a gift, brought back from her trip to Ireland. I had learned that it is a tradition in Ireland to put the woven straw crosses inside homes to ward off evil and want. This is done every year on February 1st, St Brigid’s Day. Although I had missed the designated date, I decided my putting it up a couple of weeks late would still offer protection. I thought back about my decision to find my true ethnicity. Although I could go back a couple of centuries on one side of my family tree. I did not know the countries from which my ancestors emigrated. I have been embracing all things Irish my whole life long and had begun to wonder if it was just wishful thinking. They did seem more colorful. One day I decided to investigate my ancestry by scientific means. A test of my deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) that contains 3 billion bases and 20,000 genes in 23 pairs of chromosomes seemed a good idea. I used the swabs provided on the inside of my cheek, put them in a sterile container, and sent them off to a laboratory, to be tested. When the test results finally arrived, I found that 24% of my ancestors came from Ireland. It was good to know that my affinity for all things Irish was not just my active imagination. Hearing my grandfather’s Irish tenor voice singing “When Irish Eyes are Smiling” as we gathered around our player piano when I was a child was an early clue. My aunt once told me that her dad had been a redhead, like my mother, when he was young. Red hair alone was not much to go on, but I have always loved both Irish music and poetry. Over the years I have sung “Danny Boy” and “Be Thou My Vision” many times, often around St. Patrick’s Day. I visited a vivid memory of a chance meeting with an Irish American gentleman who transported me to “Galway Bay” as he sang that beautiful song to me as we lingered over lunch. I stopped wool gathering and focused my attention back to the cross above my door. I looked up St. Brigid in the book, Saints, by Tom Morgan. She was the patron saint of poets, blacksmiths, and midwives. She was born in 450 A.D. to a pagan father and a Christian slave mother. She was a young woman when St. Patrick died. Seeing the oppression of her mother, she spent most of her life gathering women from all over Ireland into protective monastic communities. This Saint Patrick’s Day I will honor St. Brigid as I celebrate all things Irish.

ow, how time flies. In many lower elevation gardens plants are unfurling their leaves and setting buds…. So even though it may be early by usual garden standards, it’s time to get your strawberry plants in the ground. If you already have an existing strawberry By Cheryl Spaulding bed it’s time to tend that bed so you can enjoy delicious, sweet strawberries within the next few months. Strawberries are a hallmark of early summer and are easy to grow. Even the most novice gardener can enjoy the bounty of a few strawberry plants whether in a hanging basket or raised bed. June-bearing or spring-bearing, everbearing and day-neutral are the three types of strawberries generally grown in the Pacific Northwest and can be found in your local plant nursery. June-bearing strawberries are classified into early, mid-season and late varieties and produce a crop during a two- to three-week period in the spring. • Everbearing strawberries produce three periods of flowers and fruit during the spring, summer and fall. Garden Hint: Everbearers do not produce as many runners as June Bearers. • Day-neutral strawberries will produce fruit throughout the growing season. These strawberries produce just a few runners. Everbearing and day-neutral strawberries are great for gardeners who have limited space. They can be grown in terraced or raised beds, barrels or hanging baskets. They can also be used as an edging plant or a groundcover. Fruits of day-neutral plants and everbearers are usually smaller than June-bearer’s fruit. Select your strawberry cultivars on the basis of dessert quality, preserving quality, disease resistance, and maturing season. The main everbearing crops will be in early spring and again in late summer and are about half the size of a single June-bearing crop. The berries tend to be smaller, but are very sweet. Strawberries are an acid-loving plant. Ideally, your strawberry patch should have a pH of about 5.5. Work the dirt with a spade or a cultivator to create the ideal planting soil. If you are dealing with rocky soil, it should not be a problem for your berry plants because strawberry roots are very shallow. If you are working with bare root plants you will want to plant them in the soil as soon as you get them. Bare root plants aren’t very pretty, in fact they look at lot like a chunk of dirt with a few roots cling to the bottom of the plant. But despite the bedraggled appearance of those small chunks of plant, they will grow and spread. Soak the roots in water for a few hours before you put them in the ground. Space plants about 4 feet between rows and about 18 inches between each plant in a row. Plant the strawberries deep enough to cover the roots, but the crown (the hard part), should be above the ground. Strawberries will survive cool weather and actually thrive in it. Strawberries should be planted in full sun with soil that is easily drained and will not become oversaturated with spring rains. Raised beds are perfect for strawberries, however, strawberries do just as well in containers if you do not

Garden Gate

Strawberries Equal Great Shortcake, Pie, and Jam

EASTER BRUNCH The Summit AT

Sunday, March 27th, 2016�Reserve Now! Open at 9:00 a.m. — Last Seating at 2:00 p.m. Call (only) for reservations, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Assorted Fruits, Salads, and Ambrosias • Fresh-baked rolls and pastries • Baked Ham with Raisin Sauce • omelettes • Strawberry Blintz• Rennaissance Potatoes • Beef Stroganoff • Seafood Medley… And many additional entrees! Enjoy live entertainment by Nehemiah Brown from 10 to 1!

4 Sunday Brunch!

JOIN US EVERY WEEK FOR

4

Chicks are HERE!

Hatch-to-Hen UP TO

2

$ 00 OFF

We also have Organic TWO BAGS OR MORE • ASK ABOUT SPECIAL PRICING Feeds! • EXPIRES 3/31/2016 • 50 LB. BAGS

Sundays� Call for reservations at 360-263-6623 9 a.m to 2:00 p.m. or www.summitgrovelodge.net

Summit Grove Lodge

have raised beds or garden space. A few containers should be enough for you to enjoy a high yield of strawberries. Strawberries can be covered with a layer of straw in the early spring to protect against a late frost. The straw also acts as a moisture barrier and can reduce the amount of water your plants will need. As the season progresses the straw can be moved to cover the soil and will help cut down on the need for mild weeding. It is important to note, the strawberries planted this spring will produce very little in the first year. However, next year, with careful tending, the plants will give you a healthy crop of strawberries. Cut off runners after they have formed a daughter plant that has not yet rooted. Keep strawberries well irrigated with about 1 to 1.5 inches of water a week; drip irrigation is ideal. Irrigate a bit more if soil is sandy or if the weather is hot. Hoe around the strawberries often to remove weeds and keep soil loose. Add mulch between plants to keep weeds down and retain moisture. Don’t cover the top of the crown or runners. Experts recommend planting a new strawberry crop every three to four years in a new location. Try planting June-bearers (which have Your ONLY Woodland-Area Feed Store! larger berries and often larger seasonal yields) two years before the day-neutrals are exhausted, so that you keep a Why drive 1/2 hour or more? Shop local and save! crop of strawberries coming each year. I check for berries every few days during the fruiting season and pick them as soon as they are ripe (hopefully before the birds get to them). Don’t wash the fruit until you’re ready to use it. And if you also have a healthy bird population who love to grocery shop in your garden, vinyl bird netting does the trick. But, of course, that doesn’t do anything to the slugs. For that you are on your own.

30810 NE Timmen Road • Ridgefield, WA 98642 360-263-6623 • WWW.SUMMITGROVELODGE.NET

Remnant Farms FEED & SUPPLY 360 225-5980

6 • the review • march 2016

Pick up your “Chick Arrival Schedule” in-store! 1501 Guild Road, Woodland Hours: M-Sat., 10–6; Closed Sundays

REMNANTFARMS.NET

—Happy Gardening!

Columbia Bank Joy Snead

AVP • Branch Manager WOODLAND BRANCH

782 Goerig St. Woodland, WA 98674 360225-9421 • Fax 360225-8146 jsnead@columbiabank.com

www.reviewmediagroup.com

SUMMER COOLER As a special summer treat, we store a few glasses in our freezer. When we wnat a really cool drink of water, soda, or beer, we have a frosty glass to make it that much better!. —Dana Send your time and money saving tips to: Dollar Stretcher Tips, 6695 Cortez Road W., Bradenton FL 34210. If we use your tip we'll send you 3 free issues of our monthly newsletter. © 2016 Dollar Stretcher, Inc.


“For He will be handed over to the Gentiles, and will be mocked and mistreated and spit upon, and after they have scourged Him, they will kill Him; and the third day He will rise again.” —Luke 18:32, 33 NASB

I

magine. That’s what we have to do because we were not there. We have the testimonies and the accounts of history but we were not there to see with our own eyes the horrors that birthed our hopes at Resurrection time so long ago. We did not see the masses gather to witness the spectacle. We did not hear the crowds cry out, “CRUCIFY HIM!!” We did not feel the heat of the packed parade of humanity mocking Jesus as he carried His cross. We were not moved by the heartbreak of His mourners as they watched the sinless One they loved beaten and shredded to a bloody pulp, all for no other reason but the will of the people demanded it. The will of the people. That’s a power a little easier for us to imagine, isn’t it?After all, we are the people and we, too, tend to bow wherever the wind of the majority takes us. It is easier to swim with the current than against it. So, to imagine what we would have been doing, had we been in the sea of humanity as it flowed around the condemnation and crucifixion of Christ, is not difficult to do. At least, not for me. I imagine, at best, I would have been a pitiful, heaving, mound in some corner uncontrollably sobbing and at worst, caught up with the chanting masses that believed Jesus was a bad guy deserving of this brutality (like the leaders and media told me). I wish I could say that I would have fought and stood up for Him but I know myself too well. I am not brave. My natural tendency is to preserve myself, run from the fire instead of into it. I hate that about myself, but there it is. I am not strong, either. Like Peter, I imagine I, too, would have caved, cursed, and crossed over to the ‘safe’ side. Oh, I would have felt guilty. I would have BEEN guilty, but I have no doubt I would have let Jesus, the Innocent One, continue to suffer as if guilty. Guilty. He was not guilty. He was never guilty. He did not deserve the shame and punishment and death He received. I

In His Steps … ©

Love’s Promise …

1 John 2:25

I

have a poor memory for some things. There is no getting around it. I finally came to the conclusion when, on several occasions, what someone else recalled I had said was proved to be true. To that point I fought the accusation because I couldn’t remember saying what I said! That’s the big problem with a flawed memory, you don’t know you have it. Since coming to grips with my shortcoming, I have tried to be more careful about what I say. For instance, I try hard not to make promises that I haven’t thoroughly thought out. I also use a calendar a lot and notes as well, however sometimes I forget to look at the calendar and I lose my notes. My greatest concern is with my children. I don’t want to promise them something I won’t or can’t fulfill. I would much rather disappoint an adult, who may understand my memory lapse, than one of my kids. As a child of God I am especially thankful that the Heavenly Father has a perfect memory. Can you imagine the chaos if God were to somehow forget to have the Sun rise or even allow the Moon to stray from its path for even a few moments? Thankfully, God doesn’t forget! The most important promise in the Scriptures is referred to in 1 John 2:25. “This is the promise which He Himself made to us: eternal life.” John 3:16 says that you only have to “believe” in Jesus, God’s only Son to have eternal life. Have you? Is His promise to you? He won’t forget it or you if you have trusted Him! You’ve entered the home of the Circuit ‘Riter. Come on in and sit a spell, put your feet up—make yourself at home. We’ve been waiting for you. Walk through a delightful series of homespun devotional messa ges with author, Michael Ullrich. Visit his site at http:// www.in-his-steps.com/

Imagine by Lori Anderson

am crying as I write this because I know I am guilty. I have no difficulty at all imagining standing before the highest judge unable to defend myself. I have read the law. I’m not talking about man’s law. I am talking about God’s law. I have read it and I KNOW I am guilty. We are all guilty according to God’s law! It should have been us facing the judge. Can you imagine standing before the greatest Judge of all time, totally unable to defend yourself? Imagine yourself penniless and destitute and unable to hire defense? Even if you are rich or know someone rich, it is no use trying to use bribery, because our money and riches are worthless. Blood is on our hands for all those we have hated. The stench from a thousand perfumes reeks from our pores from all we have lusted after and taken advantage of. All the lies we have told have been exposed and are also on the evidence table. All the harm we have done in our selfish pursuits have been recorded and presented for all to see. All the skeletons of those we have hurt and destroyed with our bitterness, jealousy, greed, covetousness, apathy, pettiness, gossip… are piled at our feet, piled so high, we cannot see any light from beneath their shadow. Every word that dares to proceed from our mouths only convicts us more. No defense. No rationalization, excuse, or justification. No ace up our sleeve. No loophole to exploit. Our sentence is death and there is no person to stand up for us, no hope for a reprieve, no rescue in sight in front of this all-powerful, totally honorable judge. What would the judge, in this terrifying scenario, have to say—whether he wanted to or not—what sentence would he have to give? Guilty. It is the only logical verdict. The guilty must be found guilty. The guilty must pay. Every honorable judge has no choice but to judge honorably. Now imagine this terrifyingly powerful, perfectly honorable judge also being merciful and loving. Imagine this judge looking at our diseased, disgusting, and distorted souls and saying, “My Son and I have been watching you and following you from the very beginning, and trying to get your attention, to prevent this destruction. We have been hoping and praying for you. We want you to live! We do not want you sentenced to death. You deserve death and you will receive death, but we want to offer you life! The facts are, I cannot step down from my bench and take your spot but if you are willing, I will adopt you as my own and bring you into my family and my Son will exchange places with you. The death sentence that is yours, He will take. The goodness and righteousness that is His, He will give to you. The dishonor you deserve, He will bear. The shame, the grief, the pain, He is also willing to take so you can live forever. All you have to do is believe He is my son and can do this. Then be willing to stop the evil living and live for Me. Are you willing? Do you accept?” This is exactly what God and His Son, Jesus Christ, have done for us! There is now no condemnation for those of us who accept this gift. The enemy (Satan) cannot take us from God’s hands. Death used to cause us fear because of the unknown, but it no longer holds a sting for those of us that call Jesus Lord. Oh we all will die, but not all of us will be sentenced to the second death, an eternity in hell. The willing will be pardoned and adopted into God’s family and live forever with Him in heaven! Jesus, going through that much pain and torment as a fully human being (for he took on human form as a baby, and grew to be a man, so He could take our place at judgment),

Northwood Park Funeral Home & Cemetery

Funeral Home • Mausoleum • Cemetery Cremation & Memorial Services, Traditional Funerals ls The ONLY Glass Front Niches in Clark County! 16407 NE 15th • Ridgefield, WA 360

574-4252

does cause me grief. But then I read the Bible and see that God had planned it all way in advance. Jesus knew from the beginning what He had to do to save us. He even told His disciples, “…These are My words which I spoke to you while I was still with you, that all things which are written about Me in the Law of Moses and the Prophets and the Psalms must be fulfilled.” Then He opened their minds to understand the Scriptures, and He said to them, “Thus it is written, that the Christ would suffer and rise again from the dead the third day, and that repentance for forgiveness of sins would be proclaimed in His name to all the nations, beginning from Jerusalem.”

God made a way for us to have free will and know Him and love Him and be with Him forever despite our failings. Imagine, after hearing that we can LIVE, that Jesus has paid ALL our debts and taken ALL our punishment, imagine hardening our hearts and refusing this gift! Imagine refusing the judge’s mercy because we want to continue to live the life-style of destruction we have become familiar with and accustom to. Imagine accepting His “deal”—His forgiveness for everything—and never extending that forgiveness to those that have wronged us. Imagine having all our debt wiped clean and turning around to demand all those who are in debt to us to “pay up right now”! Imagine accepting this ultimate gift, then throwing it aside, taking it for granted as we return to living our own messed up way. Not difficult to imagine really. We do THESE things, don’t we? We gravitate towards ungratefulness and apathy. We lose our resolve to follow Jesus, our “first love” as the Bible calls it. But God is still there, still there waiting for us, hoping for us, calling to us. He and His Risen Son are reaching out to help us change from our destructive ways. They are willing and able to help us overcome all our real and perceived obstacles to live forever with them in a place so glorious we can’t even begin to imagine what it will really be like! So what about it? Can you imagine what it would be like to stop running from the judgement your heart KNOWS is coming and give in to the love of our Holy God?!Just imagine and then BELIEVE! BELL—cont’d from page 4

“At the Union Depot, just before the Bell train departed, a little Japanese girl scrambled onto the Bell platform and stood for several minutes fondling the Bell and smiling with enthusiasm.” An estimated 50,000 people passed by the bell in just under four hours of viewing. After leaving Vancouver and Portland, the bell made stops at Gladstone, Salem, Eugene and Cottage Grove on its way to the exposition in San Francisco. Once the Panama-Pacific expo closed, the bell resumed its train journey and by a southerly route, returned to its home in Philadelphia. An estimated ten million people viewed the bell on its round trip. These days, the old relic is pretty much home-bound in Philly, stepping out only occasionally for a patriotic observance or a move to a new building. But at least once in its life, it saw the West Coast, and the West Coast saw it.

Holy Week & Easter Schedule Holy Thursday—March 24, 2016 St. Joseph Catholic Church 6:30 pm Mass—St. Joseph 136 S. 4TH ST. 8:00 pm Mass (Spanish)—St. Philip KALAMA, WA

Good Friday — March 25, 2016 St. Philip Catholic Church 12 noon Stations of the Cross—St. Joseph 3 pm Stations of the Cross—St. Philip 430 BOZARTH ST. WOODLAND, WA 6:30 pm Service—St. Philip 8:00 pm Service (Spanish)—St. Philip Fr. Jerry Woodman Holy Saturday—March 26, 2016 360225-8308 9 pm Easter Vigil Mass—St. Philip

Woodland Funeral Home 225-8441

Traditional Services & Cremations 360 828 Goerig St. • Woodland, WA

www.reviewmediagroup.com

—Luke 24:44– 48 NASB

March 2016 • the review • 7

Easter Sunday—March 27, 2016 8:30 am Mass—St. Philip 10:00 am Mass (Spanish)—St. Philip 12:00 noon Mass —St. Joseph


O

n a quiet residential street in the small town of Ridgefield, Washington, resides a large sparkling white house with black trim. Inside everything is pink, enchanting and whimsical. The beautiful feminineinspired interior is designed to provide a relaxing dining experience. Unfortunately our experience started off on rather a dark note. We were finally greeted by a young “maid” who insisted we didn’t have the necessary reservations, (reservations are required). However, that problem finally resolved, we were seated in the Bon Bon Room where we were greeted promptly by a Merry Myrtle Maid (waiter) and presented with menus and glasses of ice water, followed quickly by pots of fragrant teas, Earl Grey Supreme (a

Getting you back on your feet, one step at a time!

D ining P leasure 5 FOR YOUR

green teas, and continuing through white teas, herbal teas, oolong teas and finishing with the current favorite, rooibos (naturally caffeine free) teas. Quite remarkable, really. What we tried: Out of the three ‘teas” offered on the menu we selected the Miz Myrtle’s Afternoon Tea, a three course tea designed to pamper the palate. The first course delivered by our charming waiter, began with a refreshing berry sorbet to cleanse the palate. This was followed by the BY THE DIVA GASTRONOMIQUE second course comprised of a small fruit salad, a cup of lovely Tomato Bisque soup for me and a delicious broccoli mushroom cheese soup for my companion. The plate also included seven delicate tea sandwiches and one perfect crudité RIDGEFIELD, WA (crispy endive spear dotted with a small dollop of creamy blue cheese dusted with chopped walnuts). higher-grade blend of Our third course included a fresh mini white chocolate and cranberry scone, fresh black teas, delicately bal- from the oven, accompanied by a small dollop of strawberry butter, a small butter anced with oil of bergamot cookie, a yummy mini phyllo cup filled with a smooth, delicious chocolate mousse and and the addition of Ceylon a chocolate and strawberry dessert. My companion chose to add Chocolate Coconut tea Vintage silver tips), for to enjoy with her dessert course. me, and Mango (bold tropAll told, our luncheon experience, outside of its awkward beginning, was excellent ical flavors and bits of and it did give us time to peruse the quaint gift shop filled with gorgeous tea pots, tea dried mangos), for my cups and other tea accessories. The service provided by the Merry Myrtle Maids and companion. Our teas were the establishment’s owner was exceptional and the food, on point and marvelous. My refreshingly delicious but only comment about the food would be that I felt the White Chocolate Cranberry Scone unfortunately the tea pots was little bit underdone resulting in a slightly gummy crumb and the accompanying did not include a tea cozy sweetened strawberry butter unnecessary. which would have kept the The cost of Miz Myrtle’s Afternoon Tea is a little bit pricey at $20 for luncheon. But tea warm longer. while the food is prepared in small and sometimes even minuscule quantities it all The menus include an totals up to a surprisingly large amount of food and the experience is priceless. impressive four page list Myrtle’s Tea House and Herbery, 321 3rd Ave, Ridgefield, Washington, 98642, 360of teas beginning with tra- 887-9018. Open Wednesday through Saturday, 11:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Reservation are ditional English style black required. Parking is limited to on-street residential parking. teas, flavored black teas, Find out more by visiting their website at www.myrtlesteahouse.com.

Myrtle’s Tea House and Herbery

BUGS—cont’d from page 5

Therapeutic Rehabilitation • Post-Surgical Care • Respite Care • Post-Acute Hospital Care

360 60 Call us today! 36 225-9443 310 4th Street • Woodland, WA

pests are discovered the best procedure is a thorough cleaning of the area, disposing of any suspect food items. Monitor the storage areas with a safe method such as Pantry Pest traps and don’t use pesticides near any food related items. The Pantry Pests trap work by using a pheromone specific to these moths. The adults are attracted to these sticky paper-based traps and are thus prevented from continuing the cycle. These traps can be found in most grocery stores and are quite effective. They just need routine checking and replacement to work their best. Another way to help prevent possible problems with these guys is to freeze items you may be concerned about. If these small roommates cause too much concern I hope people work first on preventative measures such as ways to keep the bugs out of their homes. Screening and caulking are good methods of thwarting these little guys. Keeping shrubbery and other limbs of trees trimmed well

8 • the review • march 2016

away from your home also makes it more challenging for these little critters to enter. If pesticides end up to be the chosen method of dealing with insects do it with utmost care. Be sure to read and understand the labels on any products of this nature so you and your family are kept safe. Better yet, maybe a professional should handle the situation. Pesticides will have effects not only on these insects but can even be dangerous for pets, birds or young children. Many of the newer pesticides are still being researched and some are not working as safely as originally thought. They seem to be having ill effects on many of our most valued insect members especially our treasured honey bees. As with much of this world we live on more information and research is needed. This amazing world is still teaching us so much on just how intertwined its many systems are.

www.reviewmediagroup.com

The Review, March 2016, Vol. 14, Issue 3  

Family-safe reading about the best of Southwest Washington and the Pacific Northwest.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you