Page 1


Evening Echo


EE - V1

Soccer: Young

Fermoy stars are honoured: P38-39

Athletics: Belle

Road Race a big hit: P46-47

Delight for Rockies as they bag Minor title

Blackrock’s Nicky O’Mullane breaks from Inniscarra’s David Barry during their Minor Hurling Non Exam League final at Church Road last night. See P51 for match report. Picture: Jim Coughlan

JBM to make changes for Banner clash THE Cork team to play Clare in next Sunday’s Munster SHC semi-final at the Gaelic Grounds is likely to feature one if not two newcomers to intercounty championship hurling. Rob O’Shea from Carrigaline and Seamus Harnedy from St Ita’s are believed to be in very serious contention to figure in the first 15 that will be finalised tonight. O’Shea is a strong contender for one of the midfield positions and could get the nod to partner Daniel Kearney in that sector while Harnedy is under serious consideration for the last place in the attack. That attack will definitely feature Conor Lehane, Cian McCarthy, Luke O’Farrell and Patrick Horgan with Stephen Moylan the favourite for one of the two remaining positions. The final position will rest between a number of players including Jamie Coughlan, Harnedy,

O’Shea and Harnedy are in the frame for Sunday HURLING

By JOHN HORGAN Michael Cussen and Cathal Naughton. The Cork defence will be along expected lines with Anthony Nash being fronted by Shane O’Neill, Brian Murphy and Conor O’Sullivan. Chris Joyce and William Egan are definites in the half-back line, Joyce in the centre and Egan on the left with Tom Kenny likely to make up the final triumvirate on the right. Alternatively, the vastly experienced Kenny could be named at midfield with Stephen McDonnell coming into the equation in the half-back sector.

Paudie Palmer:

Phoney war concludes as Kerry looms: P50

No room in the Lions squad for Munster pair Zebo and Murray THERE was disappointment for Munster rugby fans after Conor Murray and Simon Zebo failed to make the Lions Test matchday squad to face Australia next Saturday in Brisbane in the first Test of three. It was thought that both had done enough to play their way on to the bench but England’s Ben Youngs was preferred to Murray and Kiwi-born Sean Maitland was preferred to Zebo in two huge calls for coach Warren Gatland. Murray can feel particularly hard-done by after Youngs’ display against the ACT Brumbies last Tuesday in the Lions first defeat of the tour. As expected Paul O’Connell (below) makes the starting line-up alongside Wales’ Alun Wynn Jones in the second row and Brian O’Driscoll starts at outside centre. There were a few eyebrows raised with the selection of the Test number eight with Jamie Heaslip


By SEÁN McCARTHY being preferred to Toby Felatau, who failed to make the matchday squad also. Heaslip has been in superb form on the tour and Ireland coach Joe Schmidt will be taking note of how well the Leinster number eight has been playing since been shorn of captaincy duties. Meanwhile Australian coach Robbie Deans has handed three players their Test debuts with former Australian Rules and Rugby League star Isreal Falou joining Ben Mowen and Christian Leali’ifano for their first game for the Wallabies in a huge test for the trio. LIONS: L Halfpenny, A Cuthbert, B O’Driscoll, J Davies, A North, J Sexton, M Phillips, A Corbisiero, T Youngs, A Jones, P O’Connell, A Wyn Jones, T Croft, S Warburton (c), J Heaslip. Subs: R Hibbard, M Vunipola, D Cole, G Parling, D Lydiate, B Youngs, O Farrell, S Maitland. AUSTRALIA: B Barnes, I Folau, A Ashley-Cooper, C Leali’ifano, D Ioane, J O’Connor, W Genia, B Robinson, S Moore, B Alexander, K Douglas, J Horwill (c), B Mowen, M Hooper, W Palu. Subs: S Fainga’a, J Slipper, S Kepu, R Simmons, L Gill, N Phipps, P McCabe, K Beale.


����� ��� ���� ���� ���� ���� ����� �� �� ���������� ���� ��� ���� ����� �����

����� �������� �� � ������� ������ ���� ��� ����� ���������� �� ��� ���� ������ �� ������ �� ��� ��������� �� �� ����������� �� ��� ���� ����������� ��������� �� ���� �������� ��������� ��������������� �� ��� ���������

Rob O’Shea and Seamus Harnedy. The team trained on Tuesday night with the management sitting down afterwards to select the bulk of the team They will fill the one or two remaining vacancies tonight before the team and the rest of the squad wind up their preparations at the last training session before the big game. The starting team might look like this: A Nash; S O’Neill, B Murphy, C O’Sullivan; T Kenny, C Joyce, W Egan; R O’Shea, D Kearney; C Lehane, C McCarthy, S Harnedy; S Moylan, L O’Farrell, P Horgan. ● See P51-53.

��������� ��� ������� ������

���������� ���� ��� ��� ���� ��� � ���� ������� ���� ���� ��� ��� ���� � � � � � � � �� � � �� � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � � �

56ee2013 06 20e0  
56ee2013 06 20e0