Page 6

Newsletter 2017-18 2014 – 2015

New MSc in Computer Science In 2017, the School launched a new one year MSc in Computer Science with specialisation offered in one of four strands: Data Science, Future Networked Systems, Augmented and Virtual Reality and Intelligent Systems. The number of quality students applying from all over the world has been exceptional. The School provides a dedicated new stateof-the-art learning space at South Leinster Street which facilitates next-gen teaching and learning opportunities to students on the course and within the individual strands.

specialisations" he said. "Our goal is to attract really high quality applicants from across the globe and deliver top-class graduates who are well versed in the latest technologies and have the capacity to be leaders in their chosen fields. The projects are really diverse and that speaks to the breadth of the course. There is a huge appetite in Irish and in global industry for highly skilled graduates like these.” Students complete their own detailed research-led dissertation and also choose a

range of taught modules that focus on topics of relevance for today’s developing industries, such as artificial intelligence, data mining and analytics, interactive 3D graphics and vision technologies for AR/VR, the Internet of Things, and Blockchain applications. The course is closely linked with the worldleading SFI funded ADAPT and CONNECT research centres, the Trinity Centre for Smart and Sustainable Cities, and the Trinity Centre for Creative Technologies.

Speaking at the opening of this new dedicated learning space, the Provost, Dr Patrick Prendergast paid tribute to Professor John G Byrne “The new MSc builds on the great achievement of Professor John Byrne, who in 1963 established the country’s first Master's in Computer Applications. He was a visionary and a pioneer; we owe much to him and this School is his legacy". Prof. Donal O'Mahony, Course Director, has high expectations. "We know that there is a huge demand for graduates with these

The new learning space in South Leinster Street

Special student awards Congratulations to: • Yana Kulizhskaya who won the Professor John G Byrne prize. Yana is currently working as a Software Engineer at Google Zurich • Kumar Pranav, Jabez Sam John Samuel, Jude Joseph Arokia and Sujan Kumar Nag (Team Imbibe MSc ) who won the Dragon's Den final of Citi's upStart Student Entrepreneurship Programme • Alice O’Sullivan, this year’s winner of the Kenneth Mulkearns Memorial Medal. • MSISS students Jamie Boylan and Owen Cassidy who were jointly awarded the IBM DAVID DIER MEMORIAL PRIZE. • Emma Louise Ruane (MSISS) who was this year's winner of the research scholarship in memory of Franz Fasenfeld


Congratulations to our new Scholars • Shaun Jose: Computer Science • Michael McAndrew: Computer Science • Abraham Odukoya: Computer Science • Cătălina Rete: Computer Science • EdvinasTeiserskis: Computer Science • Neimhin Robinson Gunning: Computer Science and Language • Portia Healy O'Connor: Management Science and Information Systems Studies

Congratulations to our new Fellows • Marco Ruffini was elected to Fellowship and Aljoša Smolić was elected to Professorial Fellowship.

School signs collaboration Memo of Understanding with National Institute of Informatics NII, Japan This MoU originates from our longterm collaboration with the NII and outlines a partnership between TCD/SCSS/ADAPT and the NII. Successful completion of the MoU was facilitated through Prof. Joeran Beel who was recently appointed a Visiting Professor at NII, effective from April 2018.

Profile for TCD Alumni

School of Computer Science and Statistics Newsletter 2017/18  

School of Computer Science and Statistics Newsletter, Trinity College Dublin, Alumni Newsletter 2017/18

School of Computer Science and Statistics Newsletter 2017/18  

School of Computer Science and Statistics Newsletter, Trinity College Dublin, Alumni Newsletter 2017/18