Page 33

SUSTAINABILTY Sustainability explained through animation (video) https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=B5NiTN0chj0 Steps to Sustainability (Fractured Iceberg) http://stepstosustainability. com/?p=1191 Can We Feed the World, Sustain the Planet? (Scientific American) http://www.geog.psu.edu/sites/ default/files/Scientific%20American%20Article.pdf

Working Person’s Store http://workingperson.com/workwear-1.html DIY Merit Badges https://blog.etsy.com/en/2013/ how-tuesday-make-a-meritbadge/ Boys Scouts of America Sustainability Merit Badge Workbook http://www.usscouts.org/usscouts/mb/worksheets/Sustainability.pdf

BICYCLE Bullitt by Larry vs. Harry http://www.larryvsharry.com/ Custom bicycle of Metrofiets http://www.metrofiets.com/ Yuba Bicycle http://yubabikes.com/ Madsen Bicycle http://www.madsencycles.com/ Bicycle Trailer at REI http://www.rei.com/

URBAN FARMER

How to Decode Egg Cartons http://www.motherearthnews. com/homesteading-and-livestock/how-to-decode-egg-cartons.aspx#axzz36ssRofYl The Lexicon of Sustainability | The Story of an Egg | PBS https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=v2vyU-hilrY Project Design - Chicken Coops http://www.projecthdesign.org/ toolbox/tool/chicken-coops/ SEED LIBRARY

HERBARIUM Food: An Atlas (collection of maps, by the Guerilla Cartography Community - Jan 2013) http://guerrillacartography.net/ Food%20%7BAn%20eAtlas%7D. pdf CERTIFICATIONS CSA Citizen Science Academy http://www.citizenscienceacademy.org/courses Ecology Center http://ecologycenter.org Occidental Art & Ecology Center http://www.oaec.org Daily Acts (Permaculture Design Certification) http://dailyacts.org/homegrown-guild Solar Living Institute (Courses in Sustainable Living) http://www.solarliving.org IDENTITY The Empathic Civilization https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=l7AWnfFRc7g Custom Patches http://www.custompatchesonline. com

Open Source Beehives http://www.opensourcebeehives. net/ Real Time Farms (crowd-source nationwide food guide) http://www.realtimefarms.com Farm Hack (Open Source Community for Resilient Agriculture) http://farmhack.net RAFT - Renewing Americas Food Traditions http://www.albc-usa.org/RAFT/ resources.html

How to make a plant press http://www.botany.unimelb.edu. au/herbarium/files/MakeHerbSpec.pdf

How To: Build a DIY, Pop-Up Seed Swapping Station http://magazine.good.is/articles/ how-to-build-a-diy-pop-up-seedswapping-station

DIY Herbarium part 1 https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=rhspYfnQM9M

Rio Salado Seedshed Library http://rsssl.org/whats-a-seedlibrary/

DIY Herbarium part 2 https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=GBgkLd5_GkQ

COMPOSTING

PAPER MAKING

Civil Eats (Daily News Source on American Food System) http://civileats.com

DIY recycle papermaking http://www.instructables.com/id/ How-to-Make-and-Recycle-Paper/

Just Food (Training community leaders in NYC city farming) http://justfood.org

BACKYARD CHICKENS

Greenhorns (supports alternative young American farmers) http://www.thegreenhorns.net Center for Nutrition Farm to School Toolkit http://toolkit.centerfornutrition. org Permaculture Institute http://www.permaculture.org/ permaculture-resources-2/

Vermicomposting http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vermicompost Build your own Compost Bin http://www.wikihow.com/Build-aCompost-Bin NUTRITION NUTRITION

The Chicken Chick http://www.the-chicken-chick. com/p/chicken-resources-directory.html

Nature Matching System a project by Tattfoo Tan http://issuu.com/tattfoo/docs/ nmscurriculum

Backyard Chicken Basics http://www.motherearthnews. com/homesteading-and-livestock/backyard-chickens-zm0z11zgri.aspx#axzz36ssRofYl How Do Your Eggs Stack Up? http://www.motherearthnews. com/real-food/best-eggs-comparison.aspx#axzz36ssRofYl

RESOURCES

33

S.O.S. Action Guide  

Tattfoo Tan has taken the role of artist to a new level with his invented boy scout personae. This "do-gooder" identity was incorporated int...

Advertisement