Page 25





AIA Dallas 2013 Firm of the Year

gesture, using modern design to create a unique outdoor structure. By inverting the traditional assembly of a clad frame, the pavilion’s structural system becomes the exterior detail. The acid green color of the interior references the vibrant greens of the park in early spring. The perforations of the wall panels evoke the shadows of the surrounding trees while increasing visibility into the pavilion at night, adding to site security. Built Design Awards: Jury Commendation 8 sustainABLEhouse buildingcommunityWORKSHOP

This initiative showcases how architects can invest in the inner city and make a difference. This particular project is an effort to design a new program model to increase economic, social, and environmental sustainability of affordable housing developments in Dallas. Unbuilt Awards Legacy ER Allen 5G Studio One-Forty: Retail Center Perkins + Will Straits Forum Convention Center HKS Dalian Planning Bureau Laguarda.Low Architects Preston Royal Branch Library

Michael Malone Architects has been selected by AIA Dallas as the recipient of its 2013 Firm Award. The firm is being recognized for fostering a culture of commitment to the design community through its practice, publication, and professional involvement. AIA Dallas’ 2013 President Kirk Teske, AIA, noted among the firm’s many accomplishments its history of leadership with the local chapter as well as with the Texas Society of Architects. Michael Malone, AIA, was Texas Architects’ vice president of outreach for 2013 and is serving as president-elect for 2014. He is also organizing our upcoming Design Conference, which will take place in Austin on Jan. 31–Feb. 2. Bob Borson, AIA, is currently chair of the Society’s Digital Communications Committee. Audrey Maxwell, AIA, serves on the magazine’s Publications Committee. The firm will be presented with the Firm Award on January 29, during AIA Dallas’ “Celebrate Architecture 2014” Awards & Honors Reception.

AIA Brazos 2013 Design Awards

AIA Brazos honored two projects with Design Awards in 2013. Jurors for the program were Nancy McCoy, FAIA, of McCoy Quimby Architects in Dallas; Al York, AIA, of McKinney York Architects in Austin; and Lilia Gonzalez, AIA, the University Architect for Texas A&M University in College Station.

In announcing the award,

Certificate of Merit 1 Bluebonnet Electric Cooperative Employee Service Center BBA Architects

The jury was impressed with this Brenham building’s geometry and form, as well as its ability to smoothly integrate both active and passive sustainable design features, such as an orientation favoring breezes for workers on the loading dock, and a rainwater collection system for irrigating landscaped areas. Citation of Honor 2 The South Padre Island Fire Station #1 BRW Architects

This three-story, 19,400-sf fire station sits on an urban site blocks from the Gulf of Mexico. The massing is broken down to relate to the scale of the surrounding residential structures, and bright exterior finishes and colors distinguish interior spaces.

Perkins + Will

1/2 2014

Texas Architect 23

Texas Architect January/February 2014: Ecologies  

This issue on “Ecologies” explores urban design across Texas and focuses on the increasing importance of green infrastructure for our cities...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you