Page 36

2011 Studio Awards This year’s jury met on June 29 in the studio of Marlon Blackwell Architect in Fayetteville, Ark., to assay 50 entries in the Texas Society of Architects’ Studio Awards program. Comprising the jury were Marlon Blackwell, FAIA, head of the Department of Architecture at the University of Arkansas Fay Jones School of Architecture; Santiago R. Perez, director of the digital fabrication studio at the University of Arkansas; and Chris M. Baribeau, AIA, a principal of Modus Studio in Fayetteville. The jury selected the following four projects for Studio Awards: •  Bat House Visitor Center by Matt Fajkus, AIA, Jesse Rodriguez, and Bo Yoon; •  Living Module Deployable Housing by Andrew Bell and Noah Marciniak (undergraduates at the University of Texas at Austin’s School of Architecture) •  OutHouse by Andrew Daley, Jason Fleming, and Peter Muessig (graduate students at Rice University’s School of Architecture); and •  SEEPZ Mumbai by William Truitt, assistant professor in the University of Houston’s Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture and a principal of Truitt Foug Architects. S t e ph e n

S harp e ,

h o n .


I love the idea and the fact that it’s more than just a structure, that embedded in the structure is a series of intervals and units and multiples that creates a system that allows for variation and a way to respond to how bats might live. It’s creating a dynamic system. I think it would be a huge success in the park.

Marlon Blackwell, FAIA


t e x a s

a r c h i t e c t

1 1 / 1 2

2 0 1 1

Texas Architect Nov/Dec 2011: Arts & Science  

Built around the theme of “Arts & Science,” the November/December 2011 edition of Texas Architect profiles the Botanical Research Institute...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you