Page 13





TSA Announces 2009 Honor Awards

in the Dallas community for decades to come. Reynolds leadership demonstrated that architects do more than simply design the arrangement of bricks and mortar; they enable their community to see a brighter future and empower them to ensure it for generations to come. Sue Ann Pemberton, AIA, of the University of Texas at San Antonio, was recognized with the Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward J. Romieniec FAIA, for positively influencing countless students in more than 16 different course titles at both undergraduate and graduate levels. Having taught at UTSA’s College of Architecture since 1984, one example of her passion for teaching is the legendary summer trips with students to Norogachi, Chihuahua. For more than six years, teams of students have traveled to the remote village to build an adobe boarding school for the Tarahumara Indians.

Through this opportunity, Pemberton inspires her students to excel on both professional and personal levels. Tiffany Robinson Long, AIA, of Marmon Mok in San Antonio, was named Associate Member of the Year for exemplifying the highest qualities of leadership and demonstrating unparalleled commitment to her local component. She currently serves on the board of AIA San Antonio and co-chair s the chapter’s Young Architects Forum. Her volunteer experience includes Habitat for Humanity, the local food bank fundraiser Canstruction, and AIA San Antonio’s Beaux Arts Ball that generates funds for local charities. Gary Dunn, Assoc. AIA, of Kirksey in Houston, received the TSA Associate Mentorship Award. Dunn has been an active member of AIA for four years and currently serves TSA as the Intern Development Program State Coordinator of Texas. He gives presentations to professional

Robinson Long


During its 70th annual convention in October, the Texas Society of Architects recognized the following as this year’s Honor Award recipients for significant contributions to the architectural profession and the quality of the built environment. Among the awards were the TSA Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts FAIA, presented to Carolyn S. Peterson, FAIA, and the TSA Firm Award, presented to PageSoutherlandPage. Both are profiled on the following pages.

h o u s t o n

The other Honor Awards recipients were: Paul A. Bielamowicz, AIA, of Austin, was recognized with the Award for Young Professional Achievement in Honor of William W. Caudill FAIA for exceptional achievement in his early professional years as well as for his grassroots community activism related to public architecture. Bielamowicz has been honored in the past with several awards, including the AIA Austin Young Architectural Professional Achievement Award. Currently a senior associate project architect at PageSoutherlandPage in Austin, he is most recently known for his work on the redevelopment of Gus Garcia Park in Austin. Craig Reynolds, FAIA, of Dallas, recognized with the Award for Community Service in Honor of James D. Pfluger FAIA for leadership that helped transform Dallas’ public schools from an aging example of neglect to a national example of learning environments for public school children. His masterful and civic-minded work was essential in winning landslide support for a large bond program in 2002 that will provide benefits

1 1 / 1 2

2 0 0 9

t e x a s

a r c h i t e c t


Texas Architect Nov/Dec 2009: Industrial  

This edition highlights industrial design throughout Texas, as well as the recipients of TSA's 2009 Studio Awards. Texas Architect, the offi...

Texas Architect Nov/Dec 2009: Industrial  

This edition highlights industrial design throughout Texas, as well as the recipients of TSA's 2009 Studio Awards. Texas Architect, the offi...