Page 15

TSA Announces 2007 Honor Awards







AIA Dallas Associates Committee

Gideon Toal

9 / 1 0

2 0 0 7

a u s t i n The Texas Society of Architects has announced its annual Honor Awards to recognize significant contributions to the architectural profession and the quality of the built environment. The Honor Awards will be presented during the TSA annual convention to be held Oct. 18-20 in Austin. The TSA Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts FAIA will be presented to Ronald L. Skaggs, FAIA, of HKS in Dallas. This honor recognizes a lifetime of distinguished leadership and dedication in architecture and community. Skaggs earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in architecture from Texas A&M University and a diploma in health care administration from U.S. Army/Baylor University Academy of Health Sciences. After service in the U.S. Army, Skaggs made his way back to Texas in 1970 to work as an architect with CRS Design Associates in Houston. In 1973 He joined HKS in 1973, now a 900-person firm based in Dallas with offices in 11 other U.S. cities. Skaggs currently serves as the firm’s chairman. “Ronald Skaggs’ long listing of accomplishments could fill several lifetimes. We are fortunate that his lifetime has intersected with our own,” wrote Bryce A. Weigand, FAIA, in a letter recommending Skaggs for the award. In a separate letter Ken L. Ross Jr., FAIA, wrote, “His engagement, example, encouragement, and mentorship of countless young professionals, reaching well beyond the boundaries and interest of his firm, could be where his greatest legacy and contributions thrive. Ronald Skaggs has done more than support emerging professionals; he has recruited, nurtured, and motivated the current and future leaders of our profession.” Skaggs served as president of the American Institute of Architects in 2000. He currently sits on the TSA Board of Directors representing the Texas Architectural Foundation. Gideon Toal of Fort Worth was named as recipient of the 2007 TSA Firm Award. The firm began as Don W. Kirk, Consulting Engineer in 1965. Michael Voich joined the firm in 1957, followed by Cecil Smith in 1959 and Jack Gist in 1963, to respond to the growing client base. In 1965, the firm went through the first of many name changes. Randy Gideon joined the firm in 1989 and urban planner James Toal followed in 1993. In 1997, the firm was renamed Gideon Toal.

Today, Gideon Toal is located in downtown Fort Worth with a staff of 50. The firm focuses on architecture, planning, landscape architecture, interior design, and economic development. The firm takes an active role in the community and is committed to serving the city of Fort Worth with personal involvement in nonprofit organizations that benefit urban renewal and environmental protection. In addition, the firm volunteers with other community-based organizations, such as the Boys and Girls Club. One long-standing example of the firm’s direct community involvement is their own program, “Paint the Town,” initiated by Randy Gideon in 1996 to help bring public art into the community. The firm has garnered numerous design awards over its 50-year history. Gideon Toal’s significant projects include Tarrant County Community College Downtown Campus in Fort Worth (in design), Ericsson Village in Plano, and the Trinity River Vision Master Plan in Fort Worth. Laurie E. Limbacher, AIA, co-founder and president of Limbacher & Godfrey Architects, will receive the TSA Award for Community Service in Honor of James D. Pfluger FAIA. She has given her time and talent to numerous ventures benefiting the Austin community for 30 years and exemplifies the stewardship required to guide the growth of a community. The award recognizes a TSA member, firm, or chapter for extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced in positive impact on urban, environmental, or neighborhood issues. Dr. Ikhlas Sabouni, Assoc. AIA, dean of the School of Architecture at Prairie View A&M University, is the recipient of the TSA Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward J. Romieniec FAIA, which is awarded to an architectural educator for distinguished achievement. Sabouni’s efforts brought the Prairie View A&M School of Architecture into accreditation. Through her teaching, research, and service, she leads and inspires her students. The TSA Award for Young Professional Achievement in Honor of William W. Caudill, FAIA will go to Michael D. Morton, AIA, principal of m Architects in Houston. In 2001, Morton founded m Architects. As an active member of AIA Houston, he has revived two programs, the continued on page 116

t e x a s

a r c h i t e c t


Texas Architect Sept/Oct 2007: Design Awards  

Texas Architect is the official publication of the Texas Society of Architects, each edition features recently completed projects and other...

Texas Architect Sept/Oct 2007: Design Awards  

Texas Architect is the official publication of the Texas Society of Architects, each edition features recently completed projects and other...