Page 12

N E W S TSA Announces 2006 Honor Awards The Texas Society of Architects has announced its annual Honor Awards to recognize significant contributions to the architectural profession and the quality of the built environment. The Honor Awards will be presented during the TSA annual convention scheduled Nov. 2-4 in Dallas. The TSA Medal for Lifetime Achievement in Honor of Llewellyn W. Pitts FAIA will be presented to Frank D. Welch, FAIA, of Frank Welch & Associates in Dallas. A native of Sherman, Welch earned his degree in architecture from Texas A&M University before spending a year in France on a Fulbright Scholarship. He worked for O’Neil Ford and Richard Colley prior to establishing his own one-man office in Odessa in July 1959. A year later he moved his office and family to Midland over the years where he mentored a stream of interns who later went on to establish their own exceptional design practices. Frank Welch & Associates relocated to Dallas in 1984. “For several decades Frank D. Welch, FAIA, has been the em bodiment of the highest achievements of Texas architecture and of architectural practice,” wrote W. Mark Gunderson, AIA, in a letter recommending Welch for the award. “His singular example is reassuring to architects across the state in the breadth of concerns which he brings to his practice.” “His works are handsome, intelligent, polite to the people they serve, rooted in place and history, and they visibly enjoy the passage of sunlight. The baton of regional modernism was passed to Frank Welch, and he has advanced it far down the track, setting the pace for the rest of us,” wrote Max Levy, FAIA, in a separate letter. Welch received TSA’s John Flowers Award in 2003 for his writing, and his architectural work has been recognized by numerous TSA Design Awards, including the 25 Year Award in 1997 for The Birthday, a small weekend retreat in Sterling County. Also, his firm was honored in 1998 with the TSA Firm Award. He has served as a contributing editor to Texas Architect since 1998. His book, Philip Johnson & Texas, was published in 2000 by the University of Texas Press. Oglesby • Greene was named as recipient of the 2006 TSA Firm Award. The firm’s origins date to 1950 when Enslie “Bud” Oglesby established his own architectural practice. The firm changed its name to the Oglesby Group in 1968 and set up new offices in downtown Dallas where

a u s t i n


t e x a s

a r c h i t e c t

Frank Welch, FAIA

Philip Henderson, FAIA

Oglesby • Greene

Barry Moore, FAIA

Lonnie Hoogeboom, AIA

Jason Puchot, Assoc. AIA

Paul Bielamowicz, Assoc. AIA

Tracy Lehmann

Mary ‘Cisi’ Canales Jary

South Texas Public Broadcasting

it continues operating in the same location. James “Jim” Wiley joined Oglesby in 1954 and retired as a senior partner in 1996. In 1995, the firm merged with the Office of Graham Greene and was renamed Oglesby • Greene. Today the firm is co-owned and led by Joe M. McCall, FAIA, and Graham Greene, AIA. Their projects are notably diverse in program and type, and have included schools, healthcare facilities, houses of worship, corporate headquarters, municipal buildings, as well as many residences. The firm has garnered more design awards from AIA components than any other firm in the Dallas/Fort Worth area, and prides itself for an ongoing history of incubating young talent. The many young architects who have worked there include Max Levy, Ron Wommack, Cliff Welch, Juris Laivins, Greg Ibañez, Kurt Goll, David Farrell, Frank Rayburn, Tuck Henry, Dick Clark, Jim Wright, Downing Thomas, and Dale Selzer. Among the firm’s recent work is Dallas Public Library’s, West Love Field Branch (under con-

struction); Texas Discovery Gardens (Phase II under construction); Dallas Police Memorial; and Anjuman-E-Najmi Islamic Mosque and School. Philip C. Henderson, FAIA, owner and principal of Philip C. Henderson Architect, will receive the TSA Award for Community Service in Honor of James D. Pfluger FAIA. Henderson has enhanced the community through projects focusing on the urban environment and social care efforts. The award recognizes a TSA member, firm, or chapter for extended commitment to community service or significant contribution evidenced in positive impact on urban, environmental, or neighborhood issues. Barry M. Moore, FAIA, with Gensler and the University of Houston, is the recipient of the TSA Award for Outstanding Educational Contributions in Honor of Edward J. Romieniec FAIA, which is awarded to an architectural educator for distinguished achievement. Moore “Honor Awards” continued on page 22

9 / 1 0

2 0 0 6

Texas Architect Sept/Oct 2006: Design Awards  
Texas Architect Sept/Oct 2006: Design Awards  

Texas Architect is the official publication of the Texas Society of Architects, each edition features recently completed projects and other...