Issuu on Google+

Volume 5 Edition 1

12 January 2013

FROM OUR COMMANDER Greetings! Another year, 2012, the second year of the 150th Anniversary of the Civil War, has passed. Fourth Military District Units have taken part in various projects, re-enactments, living history presentations, etc. Since my last report I have taken part in the following activities. November 20th-Billy Yank Civil War Soldier, school program at Jefferson Barracks County Park, St. Louis, Missouri. Photo, Brevet-Private Jack Grothe placing flower at grave of Unknown Soldier 1 December 2012 November 21st-Installation of new flagpole at General William T. Sherman’s Grave site, Calvary Cemetery, St. Louis, Missouri December 1st-Decorating graves of Unknowns at Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery, St. Louis, Missouri December 15th-Wreaths Across America, Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery, St. Louis, MO December 31st-First Night Grand Center-Freedom’s Eve 1862. 150th Anniversary of slaves looking forward to the hope of freedom, the Emancipation Proclamation, at Scottish Rite Temple, St. Louis, Missouri. January 12th, 2013-Removal of the decorations from the Graves of the Unknowns at Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery, St. Louis, Missouri which were then cleaned and repaired for storage to be used next year. The following were awarded under General Order 2012-20 through 22, Sons of Veterans Reserve for the 4th Military District. 1. Corporal Ricky L. Stewart of Company A, 49th Regt. IA Vol. Inf. SVR. Distinguished Service Medal (Gold Star) 2. Private (no 2nd Lt.) Russell F. Devenney, Jr. of 1st Missouri State Militia, Columbia Tigers SVR, Meritorious Service Medal (Silver Star) 3. 1st Lt. David Christopher Warren Commander of Company E, 47th Missouri Vol. Inf. SVR-Meritorious Service Medal (Silver Star). I was proud to request the awards for these men for their outstanding service to the 4th Military District. To all district units I look forward to a good year in 2013.

In F. C. & L., Lt. Colonel Jack G. Grothe Cmdg 4th Military District SVR


Wreaths Across America 15 Dec 2012 4th Military District SVR Units The 49th Iowa participated for the fourth year in a row in the annual Wreaths Across America Program at the Iowa Veterans Cemetery in Van Meter, Iowa on Saturday, 15th December, 2012. We were honored to have been chosen to be the official Honor Guard for the ceremonies and to post and retire the National Colors at the beginning and ending of the official program. The Color Guard then stacked arms and furled colors and participated in the placing of several hundred wreaths on one entire section of the cemetery Members of the SUVCW and DUVCW participated in the Wreaths Across America ceremony on December 15, 2012 at the John M. Thayer monument at Soldier's Circle at the Wyuka Cemetery in Lincoln, Nebraska. This was the 3rd year for the Wreaths Across America remembrance. Pictured are left to right: Arlene Rudebusch DUVCW, Captain Marc Witkovski NE Rangers SVR Commander and VIfquain Camp Commander, Sgt. Bill Dean Shiloh Camp Commander,1st Sgt. Gage Stermensky Vifquain Camp Sec/Treas, Nebraska State Department Commander Michael Ponte, Sergeant Paul Hadley Wellstedt Camp Sec/Treas.,Vifquain Camp Junior Vice Commander Ron Rockenbach and Shiloh Camp member Shawn Stoner. This is the 3rd year of the Wreaths Across America observance in Lincoln, NE Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery in St. Louis on December 15, 2012 five members of local SVR units met to participate in the ceremonies for Wreaths Across America. This is the first year we participated in uniform. Present for the activities were L-R 1st Sergeant Tom Farlow, 78th Enrolled Missouri Militia, 1st Lieutenant Gary Scheel 4th Military District, Brevet-Private Jack Grothe, 34th Illinois Infantry, Corporal Noel Stasiack 34th Illinois Infantry, Private Martin Aubuchon 1st Missouri Engineers. We are at the Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War monument.


Headquarters Company Franklin, WI

Union Officer Honored The 4th Military District’s Headquarters Company assisted MOLLUS’s Wisconsin Commandery in honoring a Union officer on October 27th. Members met at Milwaukee’s Forest Home Cemetery to honor 1st Lieutenant. Florian J. Reis. Reis, a German immigrant, lost both of his parents a young age. He was conducting his father’s cooperage business when the Civil War broke out. He enlisted in Co. C, 1st Wis. Inf. (3mos.), participating in the battle of Falling Waters, Va. He enlisted in Co. D, 17th Wis. Inf., was promoted to sergeant and took part in the battle of Corinth and the siege of Vicksburg. After his reenlistment, he fought in the Atlanta Campaign, at the Battle of Kennesaw Mountain, and in the Campaign of the Carolinas. He was eventually was promoted to 1st Lieutenant. After the war, Reis became an original companion of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion, and a charter member of E.B. Wolcott GAR Post #1. He ran a saloon and joined the National Guard, rising to the rank of lieutenant colonel. In 1877, he was elected to the state legislature. He served as superintendent of the House of Correction and as Inspector of Prisons. He was appointed Milwaukee’s Police Chief (1883-1886). In 1890, he was appointed deputy collector of customs and in 1895, was elected justice of the peace. He was a member of the Masons, Oddfellows, Knights of Pythias, and the Turnverein—Milwaukee. Headquarters Company members participating in the procession and ceremony included 1Sgt. Tom Brown, Pvts. Dean Collins, Joseph and Patrick Fallon, Alan Hembel, Kim Heltemes, Brian McManus and Alan Petit. Photos by Paul Johnson.


Company B, 10th Iowa Volunteer Infantry Council Bluffs, IA Our unit had a very busy and productive fall season. On Sept. 15-16 several members of the unit attended the re-enactment at Lenox, IA. Those in attendance were 1 LT Carr, 2 LT Kelley, Corporals A. Braden & Damgaard, and Privates Lewis & McAlpine. We had a recruitment stand and passed out a lot of information On Sept. 28, Five members of our unit held a school program for about 150 students from Woodbine, IA. Those in attendance were 1 LT Carr, 2 LT Kelley, and Privates Cleaver, Kirshen & McAlpine. The next day, Sept. 29, the unit had to split as we had two events to cover. 2 LT Kelley, Corp. Damgaard and Privates Cleaver & McAlpine hosted a living history at Woodbine during their Applefest celebration. 1 LT Carr and Private Kirshen did likewise at Lake Anita, assisted by Auxiliary members Bev Carr and Jeanie Kirshen. The next Saturday, Oct. 6, was blustery and cold. Nevertheless the unit was once again in action. In conjunction with the Dept. of Iowa’s Sesquicentennial Committee, eight members of the unit re-dedicated the Civil War Monument in the Oakland Cemetery near Corning Iowa. We were assisted by the American Legion posts from Corning and Nevinville. The following Saturday, Oct. 13, seven members of the unit, assisted 2 ASUVCW members, and 2 LT Steve Bauermeister from the Nebraska Rangers, carried out 3 monument rededication ceremonies. At 11 AM, we re-dedicated the monument in the Onawa Cemetery in Monona County; at 1 PM, we did the same on a very windy and cold hilltop cemetery at Dunlap in Harrison County. We finished the day with a 3 PM ceremony, which was very well attended, on the courthouse square in Denison, Crawford County. Those attending were 1st LT Carr, 2nd Sgt. Krecklow, Corporals Braden and Damgaard and Privates Linn and McAlpine and Boeck. On Dec. 8, we were saddened by the loss of Pvt. Robert Pauls, one of the first members of our unit. He passed away in Des Moines aged 84. -1 LT Michael Carr

Company E, 47th Missouri Infantry Park Hills, Missouri Since the last issue of “Past in Review” the 47th Missouri Infantry, Company E – SVR, has been very active. The Month of August continued to get busy after our special encampment/living history at the Gen. James R. McCormick house in Farmington, Missouri (where we had over 162 people touring the home, and many more coming through our Civil War encampment) on August 11th. Then, on August 14th, our unit privileged to attend a special program on Civil War artist, William Hinchey (portrayed by Corporal Paul Cameron) at the Hinchey House in DeSoto, MO. The home is owned by an advertising corporation, and is usually not open to the public, but they made an exception and allowed us this unique opportunity. Next, on August 14th, we were asked to be present, in uniform (along with the Volker Auxiliary in period attire) for the opening of the DeSoto, MO Historical Society museum. Concluding the month of August, our unit commander, presented a special program on “The Civil War in St. Francois County, Missouri” to the local Rotary Club in Farmington, MO.


September, October, and November seemed to keep us hopping, and we were involved in several activities. First, on September 13th, we decided to relax before getting too busy, and a bonfire/potluck was held at Doug & Kathie Roussin’s home in DeSoto, MO. This was soon followed by two back-to-back weekends full of events. On September 22nd, our unit was asked to present a living history at the DeSoto, MO Farmer’s Market. We set up a camp, did Civil War demonstrations (including the arrest of a rebel deserter), explained what the SVR & SUVCW was all about (including having a special GAR display). The next weekend, September 29th & 30th, we were also asked to present a living history in Dittmer, MO at a local pumpkin farm. Here we set up a camp, did skirmishes, had another GAR display, and demonstrated the daily life of the union soldiers from our area of Missouri. October did not slow down either. On October 12th, we were asked to present Civil War demonstrations of soldiers and ladies at Fort Davidson State Historic Site in Pilot Knob, MO for a field trip of third graders. Then, we once again presented our Bushwhacked program for the campers (in the amphitheater) at St. Francois State Park, near Bonne Terre, MO. Earlier that day, we also presented two deserving Eagle Scouts, with the SUVCW Eagle Scout Awards at their Court of Honor. Next, on October 21st, we were once again asked to present Civil War drills, demonstrations, and an encampment at the Civil War themed Mountain Music Festival in Ironton, MO. This was a special privilege as it was held on the courthouse grounds; a location that the actual 47th Missouri Infantry, Co. E fought on and in during the Civil War. Finally, we wrapped up the month of October by doing Civil War demonstrations at the Thomas C. Fletcher house in DeSoto, MO on the 26th during their annual “Ghost Walk” (which was Civil War themed this year). It was Fletcher that recruited the original 47th MO INF, and served as its Colonel. November was also a busy month for us, as we participated (along with members of the 2nd MO INF, Co. A & the 78th EMM, Co. F) in rededicating the graves of two GAR veterans on the 3rd. This was held in Wildwood, MO, with many of the descendants in attendance. The next weekend saw us marching in the Veterans’ Day parade in DeSoto, MO on the 10th. The next day, we traveled to Perryville, MO to participate in the dedication/grand opening of the Perry County Military History Museum. This event gave us the opportunity of the newspaper reporters and a television crew, as well as the possibility of presenting a living history next year on the museum grounds. We then held a get-together at the Warren household in Park Hills, MO, on the 17th, for a time of food and games, before the holiday season keeps us too busy and apart. That same day, Brig. Gen. Robert Grim issued an order for our unit commander, D. Christopher Warren, awarding him a Meritorious Service Award with a Silver Star for, “For exceptionally meritorious service and sustained outstanding performance of duty while serving as Commander of Company E, 47th Missouri Volunteer Infantry, 4th Military District, Sons of Veterans Reserve…” Finally, we ended the year with a couple of activities in December. On the 1st, we once again were honored to be able to ring the bell for the St. Francois County United Way at Farmington, MO Wal-Mart (which helped them to break their record goal again this year). Then, on December 9th, some members also rang the bell at the DeSoto, MO Wal-Mart for the local Salvation Army. This is just our way of helping out our local communities in need during the holidays. We began to end the season by holding our annual holiday get-together at the cabin of Keith & Norma Coplin, near Bonne Terre, MO. Keith is our unit’s 2nd Lieut., but has been serving a tour of duty in Afghanistan as a Chief Warrant Officer. We were glad to welcome him back home for the holidays. To finally finish off our busy year, members participated in the annual candle-light Civil War tours at Hunter-Dawson State Historic Site, in New Madrid, MO as well as attending the annual Christmas Ball at the Old Courthouse National Historic Site (where the Dred Scott case was first tried) in St. Louis, MO on the 22nd.


49th Iowa Infantry Regiment Iowa Putting the “Wrap” on a Very Good Year

“The Governor’s Own Forty-Ninth Iowa” was afforded the very great honor of being named as the personal Honor Guard to PCinC Donald D. Palmer for his term in office the commenced in August of 2011 at the National Encampment in Reston, Virginia and ended with his turning over command to CinC Mellor at Los Angeles just this past August. In that capacity, we carried the Commander-in-Chief’s personal colors at each of the major National Events in which Dr. Palmer participated; Remembrance Day at Gettysburg in November; the Lincoln Tomb Observances in April at Springfield, Illinois; and were also present to escort the Color Guard of the 6th Military District at their posting of the colors at the National Encampment in Los Angeles, California. Concurrently, Lt/Col. Grothe had further honored the Regiment by affording us the honor of carrying the guidon of the 4 th Military District for the calendar year of 2012. We are proud to announce that we carried the ensign of this district at more than sixty events from Pennsylvania and Virginia, to Illinois, Iowa, and beyond. We have now returned the colors of the District to his care so that he might award the honor to another unit in his command. During 2012, members of the 49th Iowa visited battlefields where our ancestors struggled in Missouri, Arkansas, Illinois, Tennessee, and Virginia. At each of these sites, we honored own fallen ancestors by the placing of wreaths in the National Cemeteries that lay within but short distances of the places where they struggled and fell. We escorted the Governor of Iowa as his personal Honor Guard as he opened the Civil War exhibit at the Iowa State Historical Museum in Des Moines; and continued to work on the Battle Flags carried by Iowa troops during the Civil War. We also worked with members of the Iowa Legislature to secure more than $300,000.00 in funding for the complete restoration of the major Iowa monument at Vicksburg National Battlefield Memorial Park. That work is on-going at the time of this writing and is scheduled to be completed in late January of 2013. We will then travel to Vicksburg over the coming Memorial Day weekend in 2013 to accompany Governor Branstad as his Official Honor Guard for the re-dedication of the monument originally erected in 1906. On December 15th, 2012, the regiment provided the official Honor Guard for the Posting of the Colors at the annual Wreaths Across America Project at the Iowa Veterans Cemetery in Van Meter, Iowa. In addition to these endeavors, we remain completely dedicated to the restoration of Civil War monuments here in Iowa as well, and our own Corporal Ricky Stewart (Newton, Iowa) is in the midst of a major overhaul of the Clayton County Civil War Monument at Elkader. At least two more projects await his steady hand and consummate artistic skills. We are exceedingly proud to announce that Corporal Stewart was recently (at Remembrance Day in Gettysburg) awarded the Distinguished Service Medal with Gold Star for his outstanding efforts and contribution to the causes for which this Regiment exists. Corporal Stahr joins three other members of the 49th Iowa who have earned either Distinguished or Meritorious Service Medals for their individual actions in the discharge of their duties over the past four years of the regiment’s existence.


In the coming year, we intend to work on further legislation to benefit the grave-sites of our Civil War ancestors; to continue to register the final resting places of our noble dead; to repair and replace degraded gravestones when and where we find them, and to provide Honor Guard functions to both the Governor of Iowa and the Iowa National Guard, and will be participating at National events at Springfield in April, and Gettysburg in November. We hope to see every unit in the Fourth Military District at Springfield. On behalf of the Command as a whole, I express our sincere wishes for a Happy Holiday Season and wish all of our brethren in the District a Happy, Healthy, and prosperous 2013! Respectfully Submitted, 1/Lt. David M. Lamb Commanding (From the editor. To read about the participation of the 49th Iowa in saving a window with the GAR as the center piece located in a church go to the 49th Iowa website at http://www.iowavalor.com)

Company F, 78th Enrolled Missouri Militia Ste. Genevieve, MO SUVCW approved Sesquicentennial Event on 29 September 2012 to commemorate the Civil War events in Ste. Genevieve. Provost Marshal Gustavus St. Gem (Bob Mueller in civilian dress) giving drunken 1st Sergeant Tom Farlow, what for. The troops had to drag him out of the bar. Oh the shame of it. (Editorial note: My favorite line was when Tom Farlow was being hauled in front of the Provost Marshal. In response to a statement Tom Farlow, in reference to Bob Mueller’s character adlibbed, “He likes to drink too.”) 23 October 2012 Private Gary Scheel gave a presentation on the life of Major General John A. Logan at the Chester Library in Chester, IL. 27 October 2012 we had an informational booth and drill area at the Rural Heritage Days in Ste. Genevieve. Corporal Tom Greminger, Corporal Paul Cameron and Private Jerry Kasten are in the photo to the right. 1st Sergeant Tom Farlow set up his tent and drilled those who wanted to learn Civil War drill. 27 October 2012 Spirit Reunion at Memorial Cemetery in Ste. Genevieve. Private William Zoughaib portrayed Private Jacob Zimmer a musician in 30th Missouri Infantry who died in December 1862. Private Gary Scheel portrayed Lt. Col. J. Felix St. James who died on 8 April 1862 from wounds received at the Battle of Shiloh, TN. He was buried in the cemetery on 15 April 1862. 3 November 2012, Private Larry McDowell and Private Gary Scheel were attendance at the ceremonies in Wildwood, MO sponsored by Company A, 2nd Missouri Infantry SVR for Private Julius Hardt and Private Henry Dreinhoefer who are both buried in Wildwood, MO. Both men were in the D.N. Keeler G.A.R. Post #152.


11 November 2012 Private Gary Scheel laid a floral display at the American Legion Memorial during the ceremonies on Memorial Day. 17 November Corporal Thomas Greminger gave a presentation for a Boy Scout troop north of Bloomsdale, MO. 27 October 1 December 2012 1st Sergeant Tom Farlow, Corporal Paul Cameron, Private Joseph Williams, Private Calvin Colvis, and Private Jerry Kasten participated in the Holiday Christmas Festival Parade. Private William Zoughaib, Private Bob Mueller and Private Gary Scheel also participated in the parade but they represented the French Colonial Militia. 1st Sergeant Thomas Farlow and Private Gary Scheel attended the ceremonies at Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery on 15 December 2012. It was Wreaths Across America day. They lay a wreath at the grave site of Private Benedict Steele who died 20 Sept 1864 in Ironton, MO. He was a native of Ste. Genevieve, MO and was 43 years old when he enlisted in Company K, 47th Missouri ďƒ&#x; Infantry Regiment. 1st Sergeant Farlow lays a wreath at the site of an Unknown Soldier. ďƒ  Both of these wreaths were placed in Section 26 at Jefferson Barracks National Cemetery. We have recently enlisted three new members into Company F

NEBRASKA RANGERS Victor Vifquain Gravestone Wreath Dedication Members of the Department of Nebraska Rangers SVR,Shiloh Camp, Victor Vifquain Camp and Wellstedt Camp laid a wreath at the gravestone of Victor Vifquain, Medal of Honor recipient during the Civil War during the 2012 Wreaths Across America ceremonies at Calvary Cemetery in Lincoln, Nebraska. Pictured from left to right are: Victor Vifquain Camp Junior Vice Commander Ron Rockenbach, Wellstedt Camp Secretary/Treasurer and PDC Sgt. Paul Hadley, Shiloh Camp Commander Sgt. Bill Dean, Nebraska SVR and Vifquain Camp Commander Marc Witkovski, and Vifquain Camp Secretary/Treasurer 1st Sgt. Gage Stermensky. This is the 3rd year of the Wreaths Across America observance in Lincoln, NE


Rockford Zouaves Rockford, Illinois Activities of John A. Logan Camp #26 & Mary Logan Women’s Auxiliary #20 and the Rockford Zouaves, SVR This fall has been a busy time for member of our Camp and Auxiliary. On Saturday, Nov. 3, we rededicated a Civil War memorial in Lena, Ill. It consists of a 30 #Parrot Rifle which we restored the previous month. Members of the Lena American Legion Post #577 provided a firing squad for the ceremony, which was also attended by other Lena residents. That same afternoon, both the Logan Camp and the Auxiliary presented a dedication ceremony at Greenwood Cemetery in Rockford, Ill. The ceremony commemorated the installation of a new flag pole and solar lighting system at the Civil War plot. Funds for the purchase and installation were raised by Mary Logan Women’s Auxiliary #20, the only active women’s auxiliary in the Department of Illinois. The original pole and monument was installed and dedicated by the Women’s Relief Corps of Nevius Post #1 in 1916. On Veteran’s Day, November 11, the Logan Camp and Women’s Auxiliary sponsored a splendid concert by the award-winning 1st Brigade Band of Watertown, Wis. The event took place in Rockford’s Memorial Hall, also a sponsor. The program, entitled “The soldiers, Remembered through Their Music,” was attended by over 150 people, and included music and dramatizations from 1862, such as the taking of Forts Henry and Donelson. More than a dozen members of the Camp and Auxiliary portrayed Civil War soldiers and civilians to the delight of the audience. A surprise visit by President and Mrs. Lincoln (AKA Max and Donna Daniels of Wheaton, Ill.) capped the performances. A numbered print of Abraham Lincoln was raffled off to a thrilled member of the audience. In Fraternity, Charity and Loyalty, Jon McGinty, Camp Patriotic Instructor/Historian John A. Logan Camp #26 SUVCW

New Flagpole at General Sherman’s Grave Site 4th Military District SVR took on the project of replacing the flagpole at General William T. Sherman’s grave site. The old one had rusted through and finally fell after many years. A committee was formed of the following local SVR members. They included Lt. Col. Jack Grothe, Commander, 1st Lieutenant Joseph Difani, Jr., Commander 34th Illinois Infantry, 1st Sergeant Martin Aubuchon, Commander 1st Missouri Engineers, Sergeant John Avery, 2nd Missouri Infantry, and Private Paul Winslow, 34th Illinois Infantry.


Money was contributed for this project. The Civil War Roundtable of St. Louis and the Ladies Union Aid Society (LUAS) were the major contributors. The 4th Military District SVR thanks them for their generous donations. There will be a dedication later as further improvements are being planned for the site. We also would like to thank the staf and workers of Calvary Cemetery who gave permission, suggestions and labor for the project. The 24th Annual Sherman Day is on February 24th and will be your first opportunity to see it at an official function of the SVR.

Member of Missouri SVR Unit Receives Gold Star On November 17, 2012 Colonel Robert Petrovic received the Distinguished Service Medal Gold Star at the SVR Breakfast in Gettysburg. That is the highest award that the SVR has. His wife, Cher, also received a certificate. Colonel Petrovic is a member of the 2nd Missouri Infantry Regiment SVR.

Reconnaissance January 15, SVR Form 3 Due. Annual Unit Application. Please mail to 4th Military District Adjutant, Major Robert D. Champlin, 2327 Wincanton Road, St. Louis, MO 63129-2872 He can be reached by e-mail at bvtmajor@yahoo.com February 23, Sherman Day at Calvary Cemetery, St. Louis. Ceremony starts at 2 p.m. SVR members are to report no later than 1:30 p.m. at the main gate. April 1, SVR Form 19 Due Date, Annual Unit Strength Report are due at the 4th Military District Adjutant’s office. Mail to Major Robert D. Champlin, 2327 Wincanton Road, St. Louis, MO 631292872. He can be reached by e-mail at bvtmajor@yahoo.com April 13, The 57th Annual Lincoln Tomb Ceremony, 148th Anniversary of President Lincoln’s death. At the Lincoln Tomb in Oak Ridge Cemetery in Springfield, IL. To get the registration form go to http://suvcw.org/svr/oldsave/2013Lincolntomb.pdf For more information contact Brother Robert Petrovic at rpetro7776@aol.com or 636-274-4367 May 3, 4, & 5, Ste. Genevieve Civil War Camp, A re-enactment at Moses Austin Park in Ste. Genevieve, MO Sponsered by members of Company F, 78th Enrolled Missouri Militia SVR. School day on Friday. We are expecting around 150 children. On Saturday we are expecting at least 300 Girl Scouts. Contact information is Adjutant Gary Scheel, somewhere1@sbcglobal.net and 314623-2062. There will be a re-enactment of the Bank Raid both days. May 18 & 19. NCWAA School of the Piece Jefferson Barracks County Park. Interested individuals and units contact Lt. Col. Jack Grothe SVR 314-631-7492 or Capt Randy Baehr 314-962-4690 for registration materials http://turnerbrigade.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/2013registration.pdf for registration. http://turnerbrigade.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/schoolflyer2013.pdf for event flyer Registration closes April 27. Checks for $20.00 registration fee should be made payable to “HQ 4th Military District SVR” and should be submitted with registration forms by the close of registrations. Event will take place at the Lee Shelter, signs will be posted with directions. Water, straw, firewood and indoor sanitary facilities will be provided free.


Past in Review - April 2013 Edition