Issuu on Google+

SOUTHEASTERN UTAH

Energy Producers

Review 10th Annual

Banquet November 14, 2013 Carbon County Events Center

Supplement to the Sun Advocate and the Emery County Progress • November 2013


2 • SEUEPA • November 2013

“We’re serious about

DIESEL…”

| FFULL ULL LLINE INE OF OF D DIESEL IESEL ENGINE ENGINE R REPAIR EPAIR A AND ND S SERVICE ERVICE | TTRANSMISSION RANSMISSION A AND ND D DIFFERENTIAL IFFERENTIAL REBUILDS, S REBUILDS, SUSPENSION, USPENSION, E ENGINE NGINE O OV OVERHAULS, VERHAULS, R RV’S, V’S, P PICK-UPS, ICKK--U UPS, E EQUIPMENT, QUIPMENT, FFORKLIFTS, ORKLIFTS, ALL DIES ALL D DIESEL IESEL EL ENGINES ENGINES | A ALL LL MAKES LL MAKES AND AND MODELS MODELS | CU CUS CUSTOM STOM TO ALIGNMENTS | DPF D PF CLEANING CLLEA CLEANINGS LEANING EANINGS EA

When the trucks or equipment that move your business fail and you are losing money every minute they’re down, you need to call a professional, fair, and reliable team who’s serious about diesel. Whether you’re hauling coal from the mines, water from the rigs, freight from state to state or operating equipment, Landon’s Diesel Service will keep your business running at full speed. 24 Hours a day, 7 days a week. Our Technicians are armed with Caterpillar and Cummins Warranty and Engine Certifications, Years of experience, and all the tools for your job. From scheduled service to engine overhaul, any make or model, we’re the team that will keep your business running smoothly.

Diesel Service 435-613-1221 24 Hour Towing, Roadside Assistance and Service 540 SOUTH 300 WEST PRICE, UTAH (435).613.1221 Serving all of Eastern Utah


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 3

South Eastern Utah Energy Producers Association representing Utah’s Energy

Contents 13 .........................Photos from last year’s SEUEPA Banquet Page 21 .........................SEUEPA Members Page 23 .........................SEUEPA Board of Directors Page 29 .........................Who we are Page 30 .........................SEUEPA Supports.... Page 32 .........................2013 Lifetime Acheivement Award winner Page 35 .........................SEUEPA gives back Page 37 .........................SEUEPA Banquet Page 38-39 ..............Green River Refinery Page 40 .........................The Power of Coal Page


4 • SEUEPA • November 2013

***** Platinum Members ***** Before the company’s name was changed in 2006, Rocky Mountain Power served customers in Utah and Idaho as Utah Power. Wyoming customers were served by Pacific Power, though some had been served earlier under the Utah Power name. Utah Power dates back to 1881, when Salt Lake City became the fifth city in the world to have central station electricity. Known then as Utah Power & Light (UP&L), the company itself was formed in 1912 from several small electric companies in Utah, Idaho and western Colorado. In organizing dozens of small power companies, serving 130 small cities and towns, the new company supplied about 39,700 customers in 1912. In just 10 years, UP&L grew to serve 205 communities and 83,000 customers. PacifiCorp is one of the West’s leading utilities, serving approximately 1.7 million customers in six western states. PacifiCorp was formed in 1984, when its electric utility, natural resource development and telecommunications businesses grew into full-fledged enterprises. In 1989, it merged with Utah Power & Light, and continued doing business as Pacific Power and Utah Power. The company was acquired by MidAmerican Energy Holdings Company in 2006. Review MidAmerican Energy Holdings Company’s corporate brochure for more information. Today, PacifiCorp consists of three business units, aggregating up to PacifiCorp: PacifiCorp Energy, containing the electric generation, commercial and energy trading functions, and the coal-mining operations of the company, is headquartered in Salt Lake City, Utah; Pacific Power, which delivers electricity to customers in Oregon, Washington and California, is headquartered in Portland, Ore.; and Rocky Mountain Power, which delivers electricity to customers in Utah, Wyoming and Idaho, is headquartered in Salt Lake City, Utah. PacifiCorp is headquartered in Portland, Ore. View company fact sheet

20+ Years Experience

Price Mine Service has been supplying safe, efficient, and productive employees to the energy industry for 20+ years. We can supplement your existing workforce during peak work periods or act as your screening service allowing you to observe potential employee’s skills before you hire them full-time.

7 Locations

Specialization

With seven locations and hundreds of trained, drug-free, and experienced employees; we have a dedicated workforce who is ready and willing to work. Our managers have several years of experience and can lead a team of employees to help you got the job done right and on-time.

Our employees specialize in Surface and Underground Mining. In addition, we also have employees who specialize in Diesel Mechanics, Welding, Truck Driving, Electrical, Operating Equipment, Engineering, Labor, Supervising, Mechanics, Machinists, Masons, Surveying, Carpeting, Millwrights, and Janitorial. Many of our experienced employees are well-trained with years of experience who already know how to run mining equipment.

EASTERN UTAH BROADCASTING Eastern Utah Broadcasting Company, licensee of radio stations KOAL AM and KARB FM in Price, Utah is one of the oldest radio station operations under continuous family ownership. The history of it is the history of the people involved in it over the years since it went on the air in October, 1936. KOAL was founded as Radio Station KEUB by its three original owners, Jack Richards, Frank Carman and Sam Weis. It went on the air at the 1450 position on the dial. A couple of years after it began broadcasting Jack Richards bought out Carman and Weis. Frank Carman was a young electronic engineer who hand built the original 100 watt transmitter of KEUB. For the first couple of years he lived in the studio of the station. He subsequently returned to Salt Lake City where he founded and built radio station KUTA, later changed to KLUB 570. Sam Weis was a local businessman who later moved to southern California.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 5

WHO IS PRICE MINE SERVICE ‡ Permanent source for your temporary employees ‡ Screening service for your workforce ‡ Qualified and experienced managers ‡ Established in 1990 ‡ Drug-free, skilled and qualified workforce who is ready to work for you today ‡ Multiple locations to better serve you

PRICE MINE WO C Y W SERVICE ‡ Access to hundreds of temporary HAT

FFER

AN

E

OU

employees who are qualified and drug free ‡ Talented project teams ‡ Expertise in surface and underground mining ‡ Training: Annual 32 Hour Underground and 16 Hour Surface, 8 Hour Refresher and 10 Hour Electrical Recertification

Investing in Utah’s future Rocky Mountain Power is supporting economic growth in Utah by ensuring access to safe, reliable and affordable electricity – which provides businesses with a competitive advantage and assists in attracting new commerce and industry to the state. Our investments in Utah are creating the energy infrastructure that businesses and communities will need in the future while providing substantial employment opportunities for Utah today. Visit

© 2013 Rocky Mountain Power

rockymountainpower.net for more information.


6 • SEUEPA • November 2013

***** Gold Members *****

Since its inception in March 2002, Bill Barrett Corporation has assembled a portfolio of development and exploratory properties in the Rocky Mountain region of the United States. We began active natural gas and oil operations in March 2002 with the acquisition of properties in the Wind River Basin. Initially, we increased our activity level and the number of properties that we operate by acquiring a large inventory of undeveloped leasehold interests through federal and state sales as well as private purchases and trades. We also acquired producing properties that had large undeveloped acreage positions associated with them. For example, in 2002, we completed two additional acquisitions that included properties in the Uinta, Wind River, Powder River and Williston Basins; in early 2003, we completed an acquisition of largely undeveloped coalbed methane properties located in the Powder River Basin; in September 2004, we acquired interests in properties in the Piceance Basin in and around the Gibson Gulch field; and in May 2006, we added to our coalbed methane position in the Powder River Basin. In June 2007, we sold our Williston Basin properties. In June 2009, we acquired Cottonwood Gulch, an undeveloped property in the Piceance Basin. We expect to generate long-term reserve and production growth predominantly through our drilling activities. We believe our management team’s experience and expertise enable us to identify, evaluate and develop new natural gas and oil reservoirs. We have assembled several projects that we believe provide future longterm drilling inventories. In addition to our development areas, we are involved in multiple exploration projects. Past acquisitions have played an important role in establishing our asset base. We intend to use our experience and regional expertise to supplement our drill-bit growth strategy with complementary acquisitions. We actively review acquisition opportunities on an ongoing basis. Tram Electric, Inc. was established in 1981, and is rapidly building a tradition of quality and service in the electrical apparatus industry. A tradition built on a foundation of experienced people . . . People who take pride in doing the best work in the business . . . People who give individual attention to every order, never taking short cuts. Tram Electric, Inc. is a foundation of people using the highest quality “state of the art” equipment available. Our years of experience have enabled us to build a reputation of dependability. We are ready to meet your needs and deadlines.You will find that Tram Electric, Inc. believes in quality that lasts, and that we stand behind every item that leaves our facility. Our goal is to make our customer’s operation more reliable and profitable. We achieve that goal by working hard to stay the best in the industry. We strive to be the most customer service oriented and efficient supplier of electrical products and services. We want to become the unquestioned leader in meeting its customers’ needs by exceeding expectations and always delivering the highest quality products and services on time, without error. We will realize this by teaming with employees and suppliers who perform to the highest standards. At Tram Electric, Inc., we pride ourselves on the excellent word of mouth promotion that we receive. We have a large repeat customer base who know they receive prompt efficient service from our team of electric motor mechanics and winders. Tram Electric, Inc. only uses the best quality products and provides you with the back up and support service that you deserve.Our customers benefit from our superior service. We adhere to strict employment of our operating principles for system improvements, client satisfaction, cost controls and quality controls. Honesty, integrity, fairness, craftsmanship and loyalty influence our daily operations and long term strategies. Tram Electric, Inc. looks forward to the opportunity to earn your repeat business. Our roots are in truck transportation. The Savage family founded the company in 1946 with a single truck hauling coal and timber in Utah. The company has grown to handle and transport many different materials, including coal, ash, limestone, petroleum coke, water, petroleum products, chemicals and sulphur. Savage moves millions of tons of materials by truck every year. We tailor our fleet of late model, fuel efficient trucks and other specialty equipment to work either as your single mode of materials transportation or as a part of your intermodal transportation strategy. Our processes offer you the flexibility to meet your unique materials, scheduling, tonnage or delivery site needs and the agility to quickly scale up or down to accommodate swings in your production volumes. Inefficient trucking will drive up your costs. We replace our trucks on a regular schedule to take advantage of the latest technologies in safety, emissions, and fuel efficiency. We leverage behavior-based driver education, sophisticated route planning, and the best available technology to increase efficiency and minimize fuel consumption. We track each load that comes into our system, providing you with complete visibility of your material’s location in the supply chain at any time.

NRMSIR filing.

IPA is the owner of the Intermountain Power Project (IPP) located in the Great Basin region of western Utah. IPP generates an average of more than 13 million megawatt hours of energy each year from its two coal-fired units. The energy is delivered over the project’s AC and DC transmission systems to 36 participants in the project that principally serve Utah and Southern California. Additional generation capacity at the IPP site is now being studied. Please visit our web site at http://www.ipautah. com/ the web site contains information about IPA, its management, key contracts, financial statements, annual reports and

Everyone in our union is a plumber, or pipefitter, or HVAC & R Tech. We stand together and use our collective strength to make our jobs, pay, and industry better. When you become a member of Plumbers, Pipefitters, and HVAC & R Technicians Local 140 you are no longer alone. You will have the backing of your union and its members on jobsite safety, regular pay, overtime pay, and other worksite issues. Plus, you will have a say in how your union is run. In addition, you will enjoy the best wages in our market, annual pay raises, health insurance for your whole family, and two retirement pensions. If you are interested in finding out more about membership, see our web site at ua140.com/ click on our membership link.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 7

1556 East Airport Road • Price, Utah 84501 | 435-637-7291

TRAM ELECTRIC OFFERS A SERVICE EXCHANGE PROGRAM Our Tram Electric Service Exchange Program provides a fast, easy O w way to replace your motor with minimal downtime. We stock and service all types of MSHA Permissible Explosion Proof Electric Motors for underground mining equipment. We have specialized in these repairs for over 30 years. All of our test and measurement equipment and tools are routinely calibrated ensuring the most exacting permissible fit and surface tolerances.

JJust call our Answering Service at 435-637-7291 and a Tram Representative will contact you to get your motor nameplate information and check our inventory for what you need. Please be ready with the following information: HP, OEM PART #, RPM, FRAME & DESIGN. Our Tram Representative will give you a prompt estimated delivery time. Your cost will be based on the repair cost of the core we pickup from you. Pickup of the core can be arranged during delivery or at a later time at your convenience. Please call anytime. We deliver day or night 24/7/365.

YOU CALL - WE HAUL 24 HOUR EMERGENCY SERVICES Please Call 435-637-7291

Visit www.tramelectric.com


8 • SEUEPA • November 2013

***** Silver Members *****

Joy Global Inc. is a worldwide leader in high-productivity mining solutions. Through its market-leading Surface and Underground Business Units, Joy Global manufactures and markets original equipment and aftermarket parts and services for the mining industries. Joy Global’s products and related services are used extensively for the mining of coal, copper, iron ore, oil sands, gold and other mineral resources. Joy Global and its businesses pride themselves on providing a full range of value-added aftermarket services, and are committed to assisting our customer’s mine ores and minerals at the lowest possible cost. To achieve these objectives, we use a Life Cycle Management Strategies (LCMS) approach, which places the highest value on continuous and exceptional customer support. To assist our customers, facilities and equipment service centers span six continents and more than twenty distinct countries. 2011 was another year of exceptional performance and significant accomplishments for Joy Global. Our success is indicative of the fundamental improvements we are making to our business through the dedicated efforts of a very talented team. At Joy Global, we continually implement programs and initiatives that will make us a more efficient and effective business. These are not just programs, but are also part of our core values and therefore represent our focus on things that matter. Our highest priority is on safety. First and foremost, we consider it our responsibility to ensure that every member of our team returns home without injury or incident. It’s the responsible way to operate a business, and safety is correlated with higher levels of quality, efficiency and productivity — and therefore enhances overall performance. For the past nine years, our incident rate has been world class. In 2010, we achieved a lost time incident rate of 0.43, and many of our facilities operated the year without incidents. But we will not be satisfied until we achieve zero harm. When it comes to reliable, cost-effective engineering and construction services that span both new construction and maintenance projects, one company clearly stands out—Brahma Group, Inc. (BGI). Headquartered in Salt Lake City, Utah, Brahma Group provides industrial maintenance, capital project construction, structural steel fabrication and installation, project management, refractory engineering and construction, and a host of other services that will increase the effectiveness and success of our customers in their respective industrial and commercial markets. Our singular objective is to establish long-term relationships with you as valued business partners, differentiating our company through genuine concern for customer needs and project outcomes. We endeavor to achieve “win-win” solutions to all challenges, and we aim to grow our business year to year based on stellar work and subsequent word-of-mouth referrals. Rhino is a growing diversified natural resources company building a brighter future through partnership with its stakeholders. We are committed to safety and environmental responsibility, while enhancing maximum long-term value. Our vision is to be a leading supplier of natural resources; ever improving through teamwork and innovation, always committed to excel in safety, productivity, environmental excellence and stakeholder value. Our Core Values include: Safety… Our number One Priority is our Commitment to the Safety of our People Respect… For our Employees, our Community, and our Environment. Integrity… Doing the Right Things. Pride… Proud to be a Safe Producer of Natural Resources while Continuing to be a Good Neighbor in the Community. Communication… We achieve Success through Communication and Commitment to Teamwork Growth… We are diversifying our Asset Base and achieving Success where others have not. Formed in 1934, Mountain America was originally the Salt Lake Telephone Employees Credit Union. However, after merging with Postal Workers Credit Union in 1984, the credit union changed its name to Mountain America to better reflect the diversity of our membership. In 1988, Mountain America merged with Utah State Credit Union, becoming the second largest credit union in Utah and setting our course as a modern, full-service financial institution. Today, our extensive network of branches and ATMs spans much of the Intermountain West, including Utah, Idaho, Nevada, Arizona and New Mexico. We also belong to an extensive shared branching network as well as several ATM networks, including the CO-OP Network,which allows members to complete surcharge-free transactions at more than 28,000 ATMs nationwide. Mountain America Credit Union’s Mission Statement is: “We Are Quality People Providing Quality Products and Services Through Quality Delivery Systems” Our purpose is to help members enjoy a good life by providing them a positive incentive to save and manage their finances. We also give members easy access to their accounts and allow them to control their funds in a variety of ways, including ATMs, online home banking, mobile banking, direct deposit, Touch-Tone Teller, automatic payment options and access through a large branch network. When making decisions, we always put members’ needs first. It’s just the way we do business and a part of the “people helping people” philosophy of credit unions. Tony Basso GM is an Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, GMC Auto Dealer. Our goal is to make your car buying experience the best possible. Tony Basso GM's virtual dealership offers a wide variety of new and used cars, Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, GMC incentives, service specials, and Buick, Cadillac, Chevrolet, GMC parts savings. Conveniently located in Price, UT we are just a short drive from Spanish Fork, UT and Green River, UT. Bowie Resouce Partners LLC, a joint venture between Bowie Resources, LLC and the Galena Private Equity Resource Fund managed by Galena Asset Company Management completed the purchase of Canyon Fuel Company LLC from Arch Coal, Inc. for $423 million in cash. The new joint venture combines Bowie and Canyon Fuel mining assets to create a highly competitive coal producing company serving the Western US power generation industry and export markets via the US West Coast. Based in Louisville, Kentucky, with a regional office in Grand Junction, Colorado, Bowie Resource Partners will employ over 1,100 staff and have an annual production capacity of 15-17 million tons of thermal coal. “We’re delighted to have completed the purchase of Canyon Fuel Company and formed a significant new coal producer in a strategically advantageous location,” said John J. Siegel, Chairman of Bowie Resource Partners. “Even as our industry is faced with certain domestic consumptive challenges, we believe we have a niche opportunity to grow our business significantly over the long-term, and we are exited about those prospects.”


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 9

***** Silver Members ***** Caterpillar is the world’s leading manufacturer of construction and mining equipment, diesel and natural gas engines, industrial turbines and diesel-electric locomotives. We are also a leading financial services provider through Caterpillar Financial Services. We are in it for the long haul—for our customers and for our world. Our customers can be found in virtually every corner of the earth, and we realize our success comes directly from helping our customers be successful. We take seriously our responsibility to give back to the communities in which we work and live. The Caterpillar Foundation, founded in 1952, is helping to make sustainable progress possible around the world through support of environmental sustainability, access to education and fulfillment of basic human needs. We have a long history of innovation and using leading edge technology to provide customer solutions. Whether we’re researching ways to move more dirt with less fuel, developing products that generate fewer emissions or exploring autonomous vehicle solutions, our strength is integrating customer feedback with ideas and actions to ensure our customers’ success. Now and in the future. KUSA FM 100 and KSLL AM 1080 are owned by AJB Broadcasting, LLC. Since the ownership change in October of 2009 KUSA/KSLL have become the dominate stations in Eastern Utah. The secret…? We get out of the radio station and into the Community. Community involvement…. Nobody does it better! KUSA FM 100 Featuring The top rated morning show in Eastern Utah. Frank and Corina wake up Carbon and Emery Counties weekday mornings from 7 to 10am with lots of fun, prizes, information and the newest mix of music to get listeners up and moving. Loyal listeners tune in every day and lock in the dial. KUSA is rebroadcast in Emery County on 107.7 FM extending our coverage all across Castle Country. KSLL FM 105 and AM 1080 Classic Rock Hits. A successful combination on a 10,000 watt powerhouse that attracts listeners that love their Classic Rock! KSLL reaches South to Moab, North to Vernal, East to Grand Junction, Colorado and West to Provo. Because of Utah's mountain terrain blocking FM signals, AM is the only signal reaching the vacationers, sports enthusiasts, 4-wheelers, boaters, hunters and fisherman from Flaming Gorge to Lake Powell The Sun Advocate is the oldest home grown business in Carbon County, having been founded as the Eastern Utah Telegraph in 1891. The paper has grown over the years into the information news source for Carbon County. The Sun Advocate came to be the paper it is in late 1932 Sun Advocate when two papers (the News-Advocate and The Sun) that both descended from the earliest publication were merged together. Then in the mid-1970’s the Helper Journal also became part of the Sun Advocate. Despite the fact that the population of the county has shrunk over the years from its height in 1950, the Sun Advocate’s readership has continued to grow. With the advent of the internet the Sun Advocate was one of the first businesses in the county to jump on the band wagon with a web site. The paper has the most complete web presence in the county and has web archives that go back to 2000 that are free to those accessing the web site. The Sun Advocate’s web site is one of the busiest in eastern/southeastern Utah with upwards of 26,000 unique visitors per month (stats from compete.com). The paper also is available in an electronic form that is called the Electronic Newsboy. That version of the paper looks just like the printed copy and has flip page access. The Sun Advocate news team covers every aspect of news, sports and events in the county, with the paper version appearing on the newstands twice a week (Tuesday and Thursday). In 1996 the paper was purchased by Brehm Communications which owns 60 publications from southern Indiana all the way to Auburn, Calif. A community newspaper company, Brehm is committed to the communities they serve and over the years has donated hundreds of thousands of dollars to worthy causes in all their coverage areas. Our highly trained crew works to gets your job done on schedule without compromising safety. All employees are highly trained for the work they do, including EH&S programs, and daily/weekly/annual safety training/meetings. It is company policy that each employee reports any “near-miss” safety incident in written form, so that we can all learn form each others mistakes, to prevent repeats of incidents and ultimately to prevent injuries on the job-site. BODEC currently employees over 40 licensed electricians, 22 of which hold MSHA Part 77 Electrical certifications and all BODEC employees have completed the required MSHA Surface 24 Hour safety training. Located in the heart of the energy industry in Carbon County, Utah, Bruno Engineering, P.C. and BODEC Inc. Electrical Constructors, work together to get the job done. We do everything electrical from power studies, to final design and commissioning of power and control systems. Cache Valley Bank was organized in 1975. It has seven branches, which are located throughout the state of Utah. The main branch is located in Logan, with additional branches located in North Logan, Layton, and St. George. The bank’s mission since its inception has been to provide services to small businesses, farmers, and residents of Utah. The bank has experienced steady growth since the mid 1980’s and has now become the second- largest regulated institution in Cache County according to FDIC deposit surveys. We are excited to have expanded our services into Davis and Washington counties. Mission Statement: We exist to help our clients, employees, and owners achieve economic success and financial security through providing high quality financial services to the people and businesses of our local community

For more than 25 years we’ve served up the finest, freshest ice cream, cakes, smoothies and shakes using only the highest quality ingredients, and of course, our signature process of preparing your custom ice cream creation on a frozen granite stone. How good is our ice cream? Well, let’s just say that on a scale of 1 to 10, we’re somewhere around an 11.5. But we’re about more than just serving up amazing ice cream. We like to think we’re really in the business of making people happy. From our enthusiastic, singing crew members, to the shared laughter of a family enjoying a treat together — if it’s making you, your friends, or your loved ones happy, then we’re doing our jobs right!


10 • SEUEPA • November 2013

***** Bronze Members ***** serving you!

At Dinosaur Les Schwab Tire Center we believe in the importance of home-town values, quality products and delivering outstanding customer care. We’ve been part of the community and tire services industry for 66 years and we believe there are no substitutes for experience. We are your neighbors and your tire specialists. From the smallest cart tire to the largest earthmover tire, whether it’s passenger, light/commercial truck, farm, industrial or mining, Dinosaur Tire is your full service tire company. Stop in and see us…We look forward to the opportunity of

Boart Longyear is the leading provider of mineral exploration drilling services and drilling products in the world today. The Company is the only integrated drilling services and products provider, combining engineering excellence, global manufacturing facilities and the most experienced drilling services group in the business. With over 120 years of global mineral exploration expertise and the most innovative products in the market, Boart Longyear ultimately delivers unmatched reliability, productivity and safety to the worksite. Our values define what matters most in our continued success, and serve as a guide for our business operations. Our shareholders, customers and fellow employees expect each of us to demonstrate a commitment to our corporate values, and use them as guiding principles in our decision making and actions, each and every day. Our core competencies provide the link between what we value as an organization and how we live up to those values. They are set of nine key behaviors that describe the expectations of employee performance at Boart Longyear. Codale Electric Supply, Inc. was founded October 14, 1975, by Dale P. Holt, our company president. Our main markets were residential and commercial construction, with a large focus on the industrial marketplace.. On September 9, 1983, Codale Electric was appointed as the authorized Allen-Bradley distributor for Northern Utah. This appointment really put Codale “on the map” as the leader in the industrial marketplace. Between 1995 and 2008 the company continued to expand, adding nine more branches and several new markets served, including DataComm, Outside Plant (OSP) and Utility. Codale has become the largest electrical distributor—by an impressive lead—in the markets we cover, with sales of over $236,000,000 in 2008. In November 2011, we moved into another brand new 25,000-sf facility in Price, Utah, and a few weeks later, yet another 25,000-sf building in Elko, Nevada. Our Price and Elko branches were the third and fourth in Codale's history, respectively, Price opening in 1995 and Elko in 1997. It is with sincere gratitude that we wish to thank our customers, vendors, partners, families and friends for their continued association and support as we move into the next chapter of Codale's extraordinary story. Golden West Industries is a leader in delivering chemical solutions tailored for mining and material handling industry. Starting in South America, Europe, Asia and our home in the western United States, Golden West Industries is known for its ability to solve problems and maintain its current operation. If faced with challenges such as fugitive dust or freezing, we have the solution that meets your specific needs.

James Banasky Insurance has spent the last six decades providing insurance and services to Carbon, Emery County and the Western United States. JD and Scott Banasky are committed to treating their customers like family. Their offices employ a dozen agents who specialize in all types of insurance and financial planning. From commercial to home needs they are prepared to help you plan for the future and safeguard what matters most. James Banasky Insurance can provide coverage through many highly-rated insurance companies including the Worker’s Compensation Fund of Utah. Their company is proud to be members of SEUPA and cares about making the community a better place. They look forward to the next 60 years of doing business with their friends and neighbors. Castleview Hospital serves the communities in the Carbon and Emery Counties. Set in a rural area, surrounded by the Manti Lasal Mountain range, makes for a beautiful setting year round. Many opportunities for outdoor activities present themselves. Come visit our little piece of wonder and enjoy yourself. Our Administrative Team strives very hard to make Castleview Hospital the best hospital it can be. Through their continued efforts, Castleview has grown into a hospital that is on the cutting edge of technology and advanced treatments. If you have any issues you would like to bring up with them, please contact them, (435) 637-4800 ext. 4000. They are always willing to listen to those in the community and surrounding areas. Peczuh Printing was established December of 1962, in Price, Utah, by Frank J Peczuh. As a family owned company we pride ourselves in providing friendly, professional services. Built on the tradition of hard work and craftsmanship, we are committed to doing our best work for everyone we have the opportunity to do business with. Each day we strive to do whatever it takes to measure up to our customer's expectations. We like to think that's why we have grown to be one of the largest commercial printers in the Mountain West. We thrive on challenges, and have successfully delivered many unique solutions for our clients. We specialize in delivering high quality commercial, digital, and wide-format printing, along with, mail, distribution, and warehouse solutions. In addition to these print communication services, our team of in-house marketing professionals offer our clients a full range of customized strategic marketing solutions. 50 years strong, we are on a quest for continual improvement. Day in and day out we aim to provide our customers with the highest quality of services. Peczuh Printing is committed to helping our clients achieve the highest quality in printing and strategic communications. We provide each client with the highest levels of professionalism, industry experience, strong marketing presence, and customer satisfaction.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 11

Every day starts with an unparalleled commitment to mining. Our company is focused solely on serving the mining industry with equipment and services to achieve the greatest results. We will continue to lead the way, by challenging ourselves to consistently improve reliability, safety and productivity — all at the lowest cost per ton.

joyglobal.com


12 • SEUEPA • November 2013

***** Bronze Members ***** Founded in 1938, Snell & Wilmer is a full-service business law firm with more than 400 attorneys practicing in nine locations throughout the western United States and in Mexico, including Phoenix and Tucson, Arizona; Los Angeles and Orange County, California; Denver, Colorado; Las Vegas and Reno, Nevada; Salt Lake City, Utah; and Los Cabos, Mexico. As a large, full-service firm, Snell & Wilmer provides the competitive advantage of having the ability to call upon the diverse experience of our attorneys to address the particular and evolving legal issues of any engagement. A team of attorneys and support staff can be easily assembled for large scale projects or emergency situations. To maximize these advantages, Snell & Wilmer attorneys are organized into practice groups. This gives clients easy accessibility to the unique skills and knowledge of each attorney. For almost 75 years, Snell & Wilmer has been dedicated to providing superior client service. As a result, we have earned a reputation for providing our clients with what they value - exceptional legal skills, quick response and practical solutions delivered with the highest level of professional integrity. Snell & Wilmer’s attorneys and staff continue to be strongly committed to these objectives. Innovative. Reliable. Accurate. Impartial. Norwest’s rich tradition of providing our clients with unparalleled specialist consulting and engineering services is grounded in pride – the pride that stems from employee ownership. We take pride in ownership, and serving clients is not just our duty, it’s our privilege. That’s an advantage you’ll only get from Norwest. We take a realistic yet innovative approach to each project, carefully assembling a knowledge-based team of experts who have practical experience developing and operating similar ventures. Our extensive industry background enables us to balance requirements and constraints posed by complex situations, viewing each project with a fresh yet knowledgeable perspective that nets optimum results. Norwest is committed to excellence in Health, Safety and Environmental (HSE) performance in all operations and supports a comprehensive HSE Management System. The HSE Management System safeguards employees and the environment and strives for continuous improvement to reduce risk. We recognize that HSE performance is critical to the ongoing operations of both Norwest and our clients. In 1967 John C. Nielson created Nielson Construction with the same gritty resolve and hard work ethic he had developed while working on the family farm. A small company with few employees, John fostered the fledgling company through those early difficult years with a simple philosophy of getting the job done by dedicating himself to taking care of the customer and providing them quality work, no matter how big or small the project. Today, Nielson Construction is the largest locally-owned employer in the Emery and Carbon County area. Now managed by John’s son, Wayne L. Nielson and grandson, John W. Nielson, serving as President and Vice President, our versatility is our strength. Members of our team can be found working on projects throughout the Castle Country area and beyond. Our customers are varied and our capabilities are tremendous. The men and women of Team Nielson pride themselves in taking care of their customers wherever and whenever they are needed. We provide service in the fields of heavy excavation, road construction, asphalt paving, concrete operations, crane operations, the oil and gas field, certified welding services and certified poly pipe fusion, the mining industry, power plant operations and maintenance. Our trucking division provides coal service hauling for area coal mines and our fleet of heavy hauling transports provides oversize load transportation for a long list of customers who need material delivered safely and on time. Our four operating rock and gravel crushers provide gravel material for customers throughout the area, as well as for our own construction projects. Nielson Construction’s main office is located in Huntington, Utah, with branch offices in Price, Utah and Roosevelt, Utah. Our concrete and asphalt plants are located in Huntington and Price and we operate remote and temporary offices based on the needs of our clients. No matter the size of the project, Nielson Construction has the experience, equipment and manpower to get the job done. Phillips Machine Service has grown to be one of the largest full service companies of its type in the world. Since Phillips began operation in 1976, the company has set the pace for equipment service and support. Today Phillips is an OEM and is involved in almost all phases of mining equipment, including rebuilding continuous miners, roof bolters, scoops and feeder breakers; remanufacture of shuttle cars; repair and remanufacturing of cutter drums; as well as the sale of used equipment. The success of Phillips Machine is largely due to a philosophy that was initiated more than three decades ago: “To utilize the most skilled people in the industry; provide a safe working environment; and provide the best possible machine/components at the most cost efficient price.” Our customers rely on Phillips’ complete precision machine shop, our welding and fabrication facility and our component exchange program to keep their machinery operating cost effectively. On July 10, 1873, Zion's Savings Bank and Trust Company was incorporated under the laws of the Utah Territory under the direction of Brigham Young, becoming Utah's first chartered savings bank and trust company. The bank prospered and grew, surviving its only major threat - the depression caused by the stock market crash of 1929. A major event happened on Dec. 31, 1957. Zion's Savings Bank and Trust Company (1873), Utah Savings and Trust Company (1889) and First National Bank of Salt Lake City (1890) merged to form Zions First National Bank. The newly enlarged institution had a total of $109.5 million in deposits. At this time, the long-familiar apostrophe in Zion's was dropped. Today, Zions Bancorporation operates full-service banking offices in 10 Western and Southwestern states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Texas, Utah and Washington. Zions Bank operates locations in communities throughout Utah and Idaho, and more than 150 ATMs in the two states. In addition to a wide range of traditional banking services, Zions offers a comprehensive array of investment and mortgage services, and has a network of loan origination offices for small businesses nationwide. The company is also a leader in providing electronic banking services, including electronic municipal bond trading. Founded in 1873, Zions has been serving the communities of the Intermountain West for more than 130 years.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 13

Last Year’s SEUEPA Banquet

CASTLE VALLEY MINING LLC

WE AT RHINO RESOURCE PARTNERS PLAN TO BE HERE EVERY STEP OF THE WAY - BRINGING THE WORLDS ENERGY TO THE SURFACE. CASTLE VALLEY MINING LLC 5550 WEST BEAR CANYON RD. HUNTINGTON, UT 84528

PHONE: (435) 687-5454 FAX: (435) 687-5037


14 • SEUEPA • November 2013

***** Bronze Members *****

The Hinkins family has been involved in the Mining industry for generations. With family members who have worked in local coal mines we know the kind of conditions that our miners face every day, and we thank them for their dedicated service and hard work. The Mining industry has a proud heritage of hard working Americans who work from sun up to sun down, and love what they do. We here at Industrial Electric Motor Service have the same love and dedication to the work we perform every day. With more experience than any other competitor in the castle valley, Industrial Electric Motor Service has continued to serve its customers with timely, efficient and effective service. Our goal is to give our customers the highest degree of satisfaction, in our work and our customer service. We go above and beyond to make sure our customers receive the best work on their electrical equipment. We make all necessary improvements to our facility and our processes to make sure our customers receive the highest level of satisfaction. Industrial Electric Motor Service is a Certified Rebuilder of Electric Motors by SKF bearings and meets specified standards to stay on top of quality control requirements. At Industrial Electric Motor Service we believe that our best advertising is done on the job sites and facilities where our work is put to use. Our work will stand up to the harsh conditions it’s put through time and time again. Our large customer base shows that we provide the consistency in our work that is expected in our industry. Intrepid is the largest producer of muriate of potash (‘‘potassium chloride’’ or ‘‘potash’’) in the United States and is dedicated to the production and marketing of potash and langbeinite (‘‘sulfate of potash magnesia’’), another mineral containing potassium that is produced from langbeinite ore. Potassium is one of the three primary nutrients essential to plant formation and growth. Since 2005, Intrepid has supplied, on average, approximately 1.6 percent of annual world potassium consumption and 9.3 percent of annual U.S. consumption. Intrepid is one of two producers of sulfate of potash magnesia, a low-chloride potassium fertilizer with the additional benefits of sulfur and magnesium, providing a multi-nutrient product. Intrepid owns five active potash production facilities—three in New Mexico (referenced collectively below as ‘‘Carlsbad’’ or individually as ‘‘West,’’ ‘‘East,’’ and ‘‘North’’) and two in Utah (‘‘Moab’’ and ‘‘Wendover’’)—and has a current estimated productive capacity to produce approximately 870,000 tons of potash and approximately 200,000 tons of langbeinite annually. Potash is a critical fertilizer, providing one of eight essential nutrients and is vital to the creation of protein. It is necessary and widely used to grow corn, wheat, soybeans, potatoes, hay and numerous other crops. The United States currently imports almost 85% of its potash needs. Headquartered in Denver, Colorado, Intrepid Potash, Inc. has two production facilities in Utah and three in New Mexico. These subsidiaries are named: Intrepid Potash® - Moab, LLC, Intrepid Potash® - Wendover, LLC and Intrepid Potash® - New Mexico, LLC. With over sixty-five (65) years of continued internal growth and expansion, Trimac is the premier bulk transportation and logistics provider in North America. View the milestones in the history of our company. Trimac is in the business of providing truck transportation as well as related distribution and management services throughout North America. Learn how we plan to expand our leadership position. Trimac Transportation System consists of four operating divisions. Trimac is uniquely qualified to respond to most service demands in North America’s key bulk commodity shipping locations and traffic lanes. Trimac’s Canadian and U.S. operations are complemented by Inter-Mex and Jorge Ancer, adding full service capability, into and out of Mexico. Established in 1975, Labor Finders is the oldest and largest privately held industrial labor staffing company. Comprised of a focused network of over 200 offices throughout the nation, Labor Finders delivers a flexible, productive, dependable workforce to meet fluctuating workforce demands while eliminating payroll and administrative burdens for companies. With more than 200,000 customers, Labor Finders provides an average of 16,000 jobs each day, logging over 23 million hours of work annually for customers. This constitutes a 6% share of the day labor market, and 1.7% of the entire U.S. industrial staffing business. Labor Finders’ growth continues in dramatic style because of our dedication to fulfilling our customers’ needs for qualified temporary employees, and our ability to perform in skilled areas not normally addressed by our competitors. Labor Finders’ strength comes from the commitment of locally operated offices to consistently satisfy our customers, while demonstrating our core values everyday: Respect, Appreciation and Safety. The mission is simple: treat temporary employees and customers fairly. Filter Service & Testing Corp. (FST) is a privately held company located in Price, Utah, U.S.A. FST primarily manufactures specialty high temperature fiberglass filters and filter housings including a proprietary liquid cooled filter canister for equipment used in the mining industry. FST’s products meet 30CFR, Section 72.5-72.502 MSHA compliance regulations for certain applications with respect to diesel particulate removal. The company also provides filter cleaning service to the power generation industry throughout the Intermountain West. In addition, FST has an exclusive distributorship with Global Mining Supplies providing diesel exhaust filters to the Australian mining industry.

UA Local 140

Our goal is to improve the lives of our Members and all working families in Utah. To bring economic justice to the workplace and social justice to our state and the communities we all live in. We will do this by setting the standards for our industry and our community. We will combine the unique talents, skills, and experience of our Members, Union Affiliated Contractors and the Community to form a true strategic partnership. The Utah Pipe Trades Unions Membership is the catalyst for exceeding the needs of our employers, end users, customers, and the community through efficiency, equality, responsibility and value.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 15

Castle Country Hydraulic & Supply 1755 South Highway 10, Price, Utah

435-613-9030

• Hydraulic Hoses • Hand Tools • Lifting Slings • Black Pipe Fittings • Impact Tools • Transfer Pumps & Tanks • TRUCK & AUTO ACCESSORIES • SPRAY-IN BEDLINERS • LIFT KITS • LEVELING KITS

• And much, much more!

We have a full line of work boots, jackets, coats, coveralls, t-shirts, pants fire resistant workwear, and safety gear.

45 South 100 West Price, Utah 84501 637-5926 Open Monday 8:00a.m.-5:00p.m. Tuesday-Friday 9:00a.m. to 6:00p.m. and Saturday 9:00a.m. to 5:00p.m.


16 • Winter • November 2013

***** Bronze Members *****

For 60 + years, Robinson Transport Inc. has been hauling coal. While much of that coal fires power plants in Utah, it also helps keep the giant Kennecott mines operating near Salt Lake City, and has been know to end up as far away as Japan. Robinson's business has grown from a single truck in 1947 to 70 Kenworths pulling Rocky Mountain doubles today. The Sufco mine is 30 miles from Salina. The first 16 miles are on I70. Then there are 10 miles or so back to the mine over some very sharp turns and steep grades. We go from 5000 feet in elevation here in Salina, hit the summit at a little under 9000, then drop down to 7000 to the mine itself. The grades are nine percent, and the load is close to 130,000 pounds gross (about 43 tons of coal). Our coal hauls are all local Utah loads. These runs are typically from the SUFCO mine to Levan, Hunter Power, Huntington Power and Kennecott. Ferus is a North American based company recognized as a leader in oilfield cryogenics. We specialize in providing integrated solutions to the energy industry for well stimulation, well completions, and enhanced oil recovery applications. We provide a dedicated supply of cryogenic fluids, as well as the related logistical services to deliver those products where needed, when needed. Our primary product and service lines to the energy industry include liquid nitrogen (N2), liquid carbon dioxide (CO2), transportation, storage and on-site services. Being part of the communities we work in through sponsorships and support initiatives is a top priority at Ferus. Our focus is on building facilities and infrastructure that not only enhance the capabilities of our business partners, but also supports local economies.

Bookcliff Sales, Inc.

Bookcliff Sales in Price is proud to supply the local mining and industrial community with quality products. We offer a complete range of products for mining, industrial and construction. We have a full line of work boots, jackets, coats and coveralls. Our wide range of products include tools, paint, safety, adhesives, and much more. We have locations in Price, Utah, and Rock Springs, Wyoming.

Renegade Pipe Inc. is an oilfield construction & fabrication company dedicated to providing excellence in quality products and service. We are committed to being “The Company of your Choice”. No matter how big the project, or how small the request, we strive for excellence in all our projects. We offer quality service in a timely and productive manner while keeping our commitment to our clients. Renegade is also involved in Pipeline Construction of Poly and Steel Pipe, and Fabrication. We build Pyramid Containment sections in our shop. They are then taken to the job site to be installed and painted or coated. Tom Staniforth, Manager of Renegade Pipe Inc. has worked all over Wyoming, Utah, Montana, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico and Nevada on pipelines doing 2” to 36”, from running beads to doing tie-ins. He has also worked in production facilities; working with many alloy metals, and code vessel projects. Our Mission: With efficiency, innovation and excellence, USU Eastern prepares the people who create and sustain our region. Utah State University and the College of Eastern Utah have joined forces to provide increased opportunities and advance the missions of both institutions. The College of Eastern Utah is now known as Utah State University Eastern. USU Eastern is a comprehensive community college committed to the highest standards of instruction and learning. USU Eastern has the lowest tuition in the state. This helps make a higher education accessible to many in our community who thought they may not have the financial means to attend college. Our history illustrates a relentless commitment to safety, a passion for innovation and an ability to adapt to a dynamic marketplace. From the earliest discoveries of oil and the revolutionary improvements that followed to the technological advances that altered the course of history, ConocoPhillips has a long history of improving life for people and communities. We have a long and proud history of finding and producing oil and gas. Through that history we have become a technical company committed to innovation and the responsible development of energy. REI currently operates a fleet of ten (10) directional drilling units that include permissible long hole, high capacity drills, down hole steering tools, and water pumps. We offer a variety of drills for various mining conditions on surface or underground including thin and thick coal seams. The drills are matched to the project for long and short boreholes in rock or coal. REI is contracted an increasing amount to directionally drill for mine planning, particularly when moving to geologically complex un-mined, virgin districts, to enable strategic planning and layout of panels, maximize coal recovery near geologic anomalies (particularly near outcrops, clinker or active coal burn) and to control water and gas to improve the efficiency of mining. Now more than ever before, coal mine operators cannot afford unforeseen conditions ahead of mining. Changes to mine plans due to unexpected geologic anomalies have significant economic impact to mines and could be avoided by a comparatively small investment in pre-mining directional drilling for exploration. As profit margins decrease mines can no longer afford to explore with their continuous mining equipment.

It has always been a company policy at RACS, LLC to adapt to challenging conditions that often change dramatically throughout a project. Examples of this may include: Combining existing with new drilling technologies to over come down-hole conditions. Well completions that required cement to be thin enough to penetrate, thick enough to not be lost to holes in casing, withstand water cutting, quick setting and noncorrosive. Large borehole video logs, de-watering a ventilation shaft, providing air to an underground mine. Abandonment of an oil well in the middle of a river that had been welded shut. Such projects are non-conventional and require the ability of efficient problem solving; and finding solutions before and during the process. We specialize in assembling a plan that will provide a cost effective solution to accommodate most situations in the drilling, abandonment, cementing, and work over industries.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 17

For 60 + years, Robinson Transport Inc. has been hauling coal. Robinson's business has grown from a single truck in 1947 to 70 Kenworths pulling Rocky Mountain doubles today. We go from 5000 feet in elevaĆ&#x;on here in Salina, hit the summit at a liĆŠle under 9000, then drop down to 7000 to the mine itself. The grades are nine percent, and the load is close to 130,000 pounds gross (about 43 tons of coal). Our coal hauls are all local Utah loads. These runs are typically from the SUFCO mine to Levan, Hunter Power, HunĆ&#x;ngton Power and KennecoĆŠ.

(435) 529-7472 • Salina, Utah

Wherever there’s mining, We’re there.

(OOLV/3LHUFH - 3UHVLGHQW INDUSTRIES, INC.

ZZZ*ROGHQ:HVW,QGXVWULHVFRP 32%R[3ULFH87 :HVW5DLOURDG$YH3ULFH87

THE LEADER IN QUALITY MINING AND INDUSTRIAL CHEMICALS Specializing in: ‡'XVW&RQWURO ‡)UHH]H&RQGLWLRQLQJ ‡6RLO6WDELOL]DWLRQXVLQJ3HQQ]6XSSUHVV ‡%HOW'H,FHUV

Corp. Office: 1-800-845-5060 Fax: (435) 637-6628


18 • SEUEPA • November 2013

Has an astounding 400+ new & used vehicles on the lot for you to choose from. We won’t be undersold.

Certified

“everybody gets a great deal”

S ALES

/

SERVICE

/

PARTS

Everybody gets a Great Deal!

Your Fleet SPECIALIST We

1355 South Carbon Avenue Highway 10, Price

637-0110 • 637-4200

be

www.

tonybassogm .com


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 19

***** Bronze Members ***** Barry Esene, Managing Partner / Executive Vice President, has more than 25 years of technical and managerial experience working on environmental problems. The company is headed by a management which, with its chairman, has overall responsibility for the company. EISG’s small size lets us respond flexibly to clients and also helps us achieve the high technical quality, integrity and innovation that mark our work. Through our consulting practice and the professional activities, EISG, Inc. has earned a reputation as a leader in risk assessment and related disciplines. For public and private sector infrastructure service providers such as utilities, we provide a comprehensive interdisciplinary range of consultancy services. Landfill engineering is the primary business of EISG. We have conducted the full range of landfill and other solid waste facility-related study, design, and construction projects for county governments and private clients. Stockpiling waste is not a viable solution and destroying it is unsatisfactory due to the resulting emissions and highly concentrated, polluting residues. The best solution is, as always, to prevent the production of such waste, reintroducing it into the product cycle by recycling its components where there are ecologically and economically viable methods of doing so.

Van Cott, Bagley, Cornwall and McCarthy, P.C. is a nationally recognized law firm with a long history of excellence and professional leadership in the Intermountain West. Since 1874, the firm has provided a wide range of legal services to local, national and international clients. Van Cott, Bagley, Cornwall and McCarthy, P.C. maintains its long-standing tradition of excellence, balancing client expectations of cost effective practical advice, with quality representation and creative solutions. The firm represents clients ranging from large, publicly-traded corporations to small businesses, start-up companies and individuals. No one client or industry dominates our practice groups, and all clients receive the attention they deserve. The diversity of our clients also demonstrates our experience in a wide variety of corporate and industrial settings. Our attorneys are also a diverse group. We offer clients a variety of backgrounds, perspectives and personalities along with one important characteristic: exceptional legal talent.

The Magnum Project is a multi-purpose integrated energy storage and power generation project that is being developed to serve natural gas liquids (primarily propane and butane), natural gas and power markets in the Western United States. Located in Millard County, north of Delta, Utah, the 2,150-acre site is strategically located at the crossroads of existing and developing electric, natural gas, and petroleum liquids infrastructure. The first project to enter the construction phase, a Natural Gas Liquids (NGL) storage project, was funded and broke ground in April 2013 and will be in service by April, 2014. This initial project will involve leaching out two storage caverns for propane and butane storage. The company is also pursuing a combine-cycle power generation project as well as underground natural gas storage caverns. In 2011, the Company received a certificate of public convenience and necessity from the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) under section 7(c) of the Natural Gas Act and Part 157 of FERC's regulations, authorizing construction and operation of natural gas storage cavern at the site. A final project under consideration for the site is a Compressed Air Energy Storage (CAES) facility. Additional information can be found on the company’s website at http://www.westernenergyhub.com.


20 • SEUEPA • November 2013

Providing professional quality service totoall ofthethe energy ofessionaland quality and service all of energy industries industries. Service of our customers is our #1 priority at BODEC. Our specialty Service Crews are Providing professional quality and service to all of the energy industries staffed to do just this. Our service technicians have the training and the tools to arrive at each job ready to get you up and running. Providing professional quality and service to all of the energy industries We provide 24-hour electrical maintenance, repair and emergency support services while maintaining industry standards at a minimum response me. Not just in an emergency , but our Service Crews can handle day-to-day maintenance/repair issues, or the projects that come up. Being associated with Bruno Engineering, P.C. provides the benefit of an experienced professional engineering resource that offers ini al design, planning, and commissioning of your project. Bruno Engineering also offers trouble shoo ng services to help you maintain your opera ons and achieve your produc on goals.

* An oilfield construction & fabrication company dedicated to providing excellence in quality products & service. * We are committed to being “The company of your choice.” * No matter how big the project, or how small the request, we strive for excellence in all our projects. * We offer quality service in a timely and productive manner while keeping our commitment to our clients.

Markets Served: • Mining— Surface and Underground • Oil and Gas • Power Genera on • Industrial • Commercial / Manufacturing • U lity • Energy Services

2013 SEUEPA Review Published by the Sun Advocate

SERVICE CAPABILITIES • High-Medium– Low Voltage Distribu on • Substa ons • Power Factor Correc on—Capacitors • Transformers— Pad mount/Power/ Dry-Type • Underground & Overhead Power Distribu on • Switchgear Line-Ups and Panel boards • Industrial & Process Controls

• Fiber-Op c Repairs • Power Quality and Back-up Systems • Ligh ng Maintenance—Repair, Replace, Retro Fits • Energy Management—Reduc on Studies • Tes ng—Thermo Imaging • Motor Control Centers

435-613-0700 90 EAST 1300 SOUTH PRICE, UT

Rick Shaw .................................................................... Publisher John Serfustini ................................................. Associate Editor Kevin Scannell .............................................................. Reporter CJ McManus ................................................................. Reporter Jenni Fasselin .......................................................................Sales Lynna Tweddell....................................................................Sales Christa Kaminski .................................................................Sales Cheryl Young .......................................................................Sales Diana Root ..........................................................................Sales

Sun Advocate 845 East Main, Price, Utah 435-637-0732 435-637-2716 Fax www.sunad.com


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 21

***** Platinum Members *****

**** Gold Members ****

*** Silver Members ***

Sun Advocate

** Bronze Members **

UA Local 140 * Members * Accordia/Wells Fargo B. Hansen Construction Badlands Fab & Machine Banasky Insurance Carbon County Recreation/Transport Castle Hydraulics Casualty & Surety, Inc. Christine Watkins

Dept of Workforce Services Electrical Contractors, Inc. Fairmont Fenner Dunlop Conveyor Services Genco Mine Services Harrison Oilfield Services, Inc. Hydraulic Repairs Intermountain Electronics Jim Henry Heavy Hauling Kee Engineering

Key Bank Lemar Inc. Longwall West Mac’s Mine Repair Magnuson Lumber Market Express Mine Systems Co. Original Creations Petroleum Main & Equipment Praxair Distribution, Inc.

Price Metal Price Municipal Corp Starpoint Tri J Services United Way Waste & Water Logistics, LLC Wells Fargo Bank


22 • SEUEPA • November 2013

FUELING OUR FUTURE Blue Tip Energy is an experienced energy investing and operating group with a proven track record of successful upstream energy investing and operations.

ECHO INDUSTRIES ELECTRICAL CABLE REPAIR LOW & HIGH VOLTAGE CABLE PLM COUPLER DISTRIBUTOR & SERVICE

1422 West 1955 N0rth | Price, UT 84501

B lue T ip E nergy M a n a g e m e n t

435.637.9515

w w w. b l u e t i p e n e r g y. c o m

FRANK FERDERBER (OWNER)

S C AMP EX C AVATION INC.

“24 hours a day, 7 days a week”

435•636•8101

20+ Years of Mass Excavation Experience • Earth Moving • Road Grading • Underground Water & Sewer • Irrigation Installation • Snow Removal • Gas and Oil Well Sites • Emergency and Reserve Ponds • Gas Well Gathering • Building Footings • Site Preparation

Fax 435-637-5696 • PO Box 50, Wellington, Utah 84542

• Heavy Equipment Transport • Heavy Equipment Retrieval Systems • Poly Fusion Insurance:

• Workers Compensation • General Liability

Licenses

• Contractor #100 • Pilot Car • Business License: Utah & Colorado • Certified Blasting


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 23 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President David Palacios

Our Mission upport and assist the local energy industry in S providing quality education and factual information

R.W. Rick Olsen

for the general public ncourage and promote energy utilization, both at E home and abroad nify counties throughout western US emphasizing U the importance of energy in meeting today’s standard of living

Jerryy W. Carlson

Debra Dull

xpand knowledge about energy industry to state E and federal legislators Tony Martines

articipate in public awareness campaign to reform P public opinion about clean energy dvocate coal, oil and gas as affordable, clean, A dependable and reliable energy sources

Steve Hilliam

Who We Are

Southeastern Utah Energy Producers Association (SEUEPA) is comprised of a wide group of companies involved with coal, oil and gas, power generation, transportation, and energy industry support businesses as well as government, academia and private professional groups. Our board of directors includes key leaders from each facet of the major energy industries. We aggressively promote economic development in an effort to create well paying jobs in Southeastern Utah. When asked to participate, we assist our members in any way possible to in bring new projects to fruition.

Darrell Cunningham

Rick Shiner


24 • SEUEPA • November 2013

Ellis L. Pierce, Owner Kris Mele, President

P.O. 792 332 Railroad Ave. Price UT 84501 Phone: (435) 637-3211 Fax: (435) 637-6628 www.pierceoil.com

Proudly serving Eastern Utah’s Coal Industry since 1972


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 25

%X\LQJRUUHILQDQFLQJDKRPH GRHVQ¡WKDYHWREHGLIILFXOW

/HWXVVKRZ\RXZK\SHRSOHLQ(DVWHUQ8WDK WUXVWXVZLWKWKHLUILQDQFLQJQHHGV We’re Your Locally Owned, Locally Managed Financial Institution

Your savings federally insured to $250,000 by the National Credit Union Administration, a U.S. Government Ahency We do business in accordance with the Federal Fair Housing Law and the Equal Credit Opportunity Act.

 ‡ZZZHXFFXFRP Moab Branch 6RXWK0DLQ‡0RDE

East Carbon Branch :HVW*HQHYD‡(DVW&DUERQ

Main Office (DVW1RUWK‡3ULFH


&200,70(17‡(;3(5,(1&(‡7($0:25.

26 • SEUEPA • November 2013

/LFHQVHG &LYLO(QJLQHHUV /DQG6XUYH\RUV x x x x x x x

0LQHV :DWHU6XSSO\ 3LSHOLQHV 5RDGV 6DQLWDU\:RUNV 0DWHULDOV7HVWLQJ &RQVWUXFWLRQ ,QVSHFWLRQ

x 6XUYH\LQJ x %RXQGDU\ 6XUYH\V x &RQVWUXFWLRQ 6WDNLQJ x 6XEGLYLVLRQV

$/2&$/&203$1<,03529,1*285&20081,7,(6 )25$%(77(57202552: 6,1&(

MINE SYSTEMS COMPANY Electrical, Electronic Control, Instrumentation, Automation, Battery, Power, Parts & Systems

Since 1996 - â&#x20AC;&#x153;Weâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ll Do It Right For You!â&#x20AC;?

ď&#x20AC;ś REPAIRS ď&#x20AC;ś SALES ď&#x20AC;ś SERVICE ď&#x20AC;ś ď&#x20AC;ś MANUFACTURING ď&#x20AC;ś ď&#x20AC;ś ENVIRONMENTAL MONITORS ď&#x20AC;ś POWER DISTRIBUTION GEAR ď&#x20AC;ś GROUND FAULT MONITORS ď&#x20AC;ś MOTOR CONTROLS

ď&#x20AC;ś CIRCUIT BREAKERS ď&#x20AC;ś CALIBRATION GAS ď&#x20AC;ś BATTERY REPAIR ď&#x20AC;ś COMMUNICATIONS

MINE SYSTEMS COMPANY

Contact us: %R[Â&#x2021;&DVWOH'DOH8WDKÂ&#x2021;7HOHSKRQH  - ZZZMDQGWHQJLQHHULQJFRPÂ&#x2021;H-PDLOLQIR#MDQGWHQJLQHHULQJFRP

â&#x20AC;&#x153;A blend of oral history, natural history and travelogue that brings an oft-forgotten corner of the West to life.â&#x20AC;? - Kirkus Reviews

â&#x20AC;&#x153;For miners are persons who make light where once there was only darknessâ&#x20AC;? Castle Countryâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Craig Evan Royceâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Photo-essay tribute to the Last Miners of Temple Mountain, Emery County, Utah

Uranium Seekers Available at and through the USU Eastern Prehistoric Museum (Price), Western Mining and Railroad Museum (Helper), Museum of the San Rafael, John Wesley Powell River Museum, and Amazon

110 WEST 400 NORTH HELPER, UTAH 84526 PHONE: (435) 472-3700 FAX: (435) 472-3800


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 27

MEMBERS Accordia/Wells Fargo Electrical Contractors, Inc. B. Hansen Construction Fairmont Badlands Fab & Fenner Dunlop Machine Conveyor Services Banasky Insurance Genco Mine Services Carbon County Harrison Oilfield Recreation/Transport Services, Inc. Castle Hydraulics Hydraulic Repairs Intermountain Casualty & Surety, Inc. Electronics Christine Watkins Jim Henry Heavy Dept of Workforce Hauling Services

Kee Engineering Key Bank Lemar Inc. Longwall West Mac’s Mine Repair Magnuson Lumber Market Express Mine Systems Co. Original Creations Petroleum Main & Equipment

Praxair Distribution, Inc. Price Metal Price Municipal Corp Starpoint Tri J Services United Way Waste & Water Logistics, LLC Wells Fargo Bank


28 • SEUEPA • November 2013

www.swansonindustries.com

MORGANTOWN MACHINE & HYDRAULICS, INC.

* Exchange Exch hange and a Rental Units are readily available for your convenience*

Utah Office - 610 Industrial Rd., Helper, UT 84526 1109 W. Hwy. 123, East Carbon, UT 84520 435-472-3452 ph. 435-472-8779 fax

Wyoming Office - 38 Purple Sage Rd., Rock Springs, WY 82901 307-382-9787 ph. 435-362-7451 fax

WE HAVE RECENTLY EXPANDED TO BETTER SERVE YOU Supplier of Kamat – Tiefenbach – Seebach – Wagner – J.H. Fletcher Parts Distribution, Repair and Maintenance Cylinder Repair Hydraulic Replacements Repair of Scoops, Bolters, and Feeder Breakers Overhaul of Longwall Shields Pump, Motor, and Valve Repair Panline & Pump Stations Innovative Designing and Engineering

infrastructure professionals

Civil & Structural Engineering

Construction Management

Oil & Natural Gas Facilities

Portal Development

Reclamation & Monitoring

Coal & Uranium Facilities

Power Generation & Transmission Access Roads & Pad Design

GIS-Facility Management 2D & 3D Seismic Survey

1675 SOUTH HIGHWAY 10 ◆ PRICE, UT ◆ 435.637.8266 www.jonesanddemille.com


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 29

SEUEPA

Southeastern Utah Energy Producers Association (SEUEPA) is a non-profit organization, comprised of a wide group of companies involved with coal, oil and gas, power generation, transportation, and ener-gy industry support businesses as well as government, academia and private professional groups. Our board of directors includes key leaders from each facet of the major energy industries. We aggressively promote economic development in an effort to create well paying jobs in Southeastern Utah. When asked to participate, we assist our members in any way possible to in bring new projects to fruition. We have recently started a public awareness campaign by placing energy related billboards in high traffic areas throughout Utah. These billboards contain important messages regarding coal, oil & gas, power, transportation, mining equipment and more. We are committed to promoting and spreading the news about all the wonderful things happening with energy. We are partners with Utah’s Departments of Workforce Services and Vocational Rehabilitation. SEUEPA publishes quarterly newsletters for our members and has previously hosted the Energy Dayz Symposium. We hold an annual banquet with high profile government or industry leaders as keynote speakers for the banquet. At each banquet we present Lifetime Achievement Awards to well deserving individuals in our state that have significantly contributed in one way or another to energy devel-opment or production. The date for this year’s banquet is November 14, 2013, and will be featuring Jason Hewlett as our entertainment. The event will be held again at the Events Center adjacent to the Carbon County Fairgrounds in Price, Utah. If would like to join our association or have any questions please feel free to contact our office at 159 N 100 E in Price, or call (435) 650-5701. In addition, please note our website at www.seuepa.org.

Together, We Move Mountains For more than 40 years the men and women of Nielson Construction have operated with a simple philosophy of taking care of the customer by dedicating ourselves to going above and beyond to get the job done. That work ethic has resulted in a core of highly skilled, professional employees with a diverse range of capabilities that uniquely positions us to provide for our customers’ needs.

A sampling of some of our capabilities include:

825 North Loop Road Huntington, UT. 84528 435-687-2494

 Heavy Excavation  Road Construction  Asphalt Paving  Crane Service  Welding  Poly Pipe Fusion  Mine Construction  Mine Reclamation  Concrete Services

 Trucking  Heavy Hauling  Coal Hauling  Winch Truck Services  Oil & Gas Field Work  Water Hauling Services  Hydro Vac Sevices  Earthen Dam Construction  Roustabout Services

www.NielsonConstruction.com


30 • SEUEPA • November 2013

SEUEPA supports.... •Coal Mines •Oil & Gas •Power Generation •Tucking Industry

Quality work since 1981.

Industrial • Calibration Gases • Welding Gases • Welding Equipment • Welding Supplies • Welding Machine Rentals

We’re the Leader in:

Industrial, Calibration & Welding Gases Your Local Distributor for: • Miller • Lincoln • Hypertherm Plasmas • DeWalt • Makita • Prostar Welding Wire • Messer – Eutectic • Esab Welding Rod/ Wire • Sandvik Welding Rod/Wire • Tillman • Uvex and Many More! ECI’s oustanding safety record shows our committment to our employees, our customers and their families. ECI is a premier electrical contracting company in the Rocky Mountain region. Licensed in Utah, Wyoming, Idaho, and Colorado. Specializing in Sub-stations, Power Centers, Power Lines, Programming, Engineering and Automation with qualified and experienced employees. Accredited with the Better Business Bureau.

Price

Boe Jensen 435-637-4157 Price, UT • 435-630-4260 Cell boe@eciwest.com

Springville

Boyd Harder 801-491-9877 Springville, UT • 801-420-6869 Cell boyd@eciwest.com

Outside Sales

Troy Larsen 435-637-4157 Price, Utah • 435-636-5333 Cell 435-491-9877 Springville, Utah • troy@eciwest.com

With 25,000 employees and operations in 40 countries, Praxair is focused on helping our customers become more profitable, efficiently and environmentally friendly. With annual sales of $5.1 billion, Praxair, Inc. is a global, Fortune 500 company that supplies atmosphere, process and specialty gases, highperformance coatings, and related services and technologies. Praxair adopted its name in 1992, from Greek word “praxis,” or practical application, and “air”, our primary raw material. The company was originally founded in 1907 when it was the first company to commercialize cryogenically separated oxygen. Over the near century of its existence, Praxair has remained a leader in the development of processes and technologies that have revolutionized the industrial gases industry. The company introduced the first distribution system for liquid gas in 1917, and developed on-site gas supply by the end of WWII. In the 1960’s Praxair introduced no-cryogenic means of air separation, and since then has continued to introduce applications technologies for various industries. The company holds almost 3,000 patents. Praxair serves a wide range of industries including but not limited to: aerospace, aircraft, automotive, chemicals, electronics assembly, electronics/semiconductor, food and beverage, fuel cells, glass, healthcare/medical, metal fabrication and production, petroleum, pulp and paper, thermal spray, utilities, water and waste. Praxair’s vision is to be the best performing industrial cases company in the world as determined by our customers, employees, shareholders, suppliers and the communities in which we operate. Praxair’s values are: Total customer satisfaction • Results driven • Integrity • People excellence • Safety and environmental excellence • Increase shareholders wealth Praxair’s primary products are: Atmospheric gases – oxygen, nitrogen, argon and rare gases • Process and Specialty gases – carbon dioxide, helium, hydrogen, semiconductor • process gases, and acetylene. Whether its oxygen for chemical or pharmaceutical manufacturers, or a rare gas such as krypton, neon or xenon or lighting, lasers, or medical imaging, Praxair is a technology pioneer and a global leader in the industrial gases industry. Or whether your needs are for gaseous or liquid gases purchased in cylinders, delivered in bulk, prepared on site or carried through a pipeline, Praxair can deliver. Our systems can help you monitor critical equipment, predict future plant conditions, and integrate gas supply with your processes for optimum efficiency and reliability. Praxair’s Price, Utah facility deals in all gases from industrial, calibration, specialty gases and laser systems, and all types of welding equipment, filler metals, safety, and industrial supplies.

79 N. Carbon Ave., Price • 435/637-9650 Operating Hours: Monday-Friday 8-5 • 24-Hour Emergency Service


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 31

info@keeengineering.com 1.435.613.1220

Price, Utah 84501

KEE Engineering & Consulting ‡ Power System, VFD & Motor Control Design ‡ Generator & Backup System Design ‡ Load Flow, Coordination & Arc Flash Studies ‡ PLC, SCADA, Automation Project Design & Programming ‡ PLC & Automation Panel Construction ‡ Electrical Project Management, Inspections & Consulting

Specializing in industrial projects and working with the major playors in Oil, Gas & Mining

East Carbon City

Custom ATV trail linking Bruin Point with historic Nine Mile Canyon Local ammenities include •ATV friendly ordinances with access to city streets. •Full service shops with recreation opportunities open to the public. •New rails to trails camping facilities. •Paved city walking trails. •Snowmobiling on our mountain trails. Contact East Carbon City 435-888-6613


32 â&#x20AC;˘ SEUEPA â&#x20AC;˘ November 2013

Frank Markosek has been selected to receive the 2013 SEUEPA Lifetime Acheivement Award Presented during the SEUEPA Banquet

Frank Markosek, 2013 SEUEPA Lifetime Achievement Award winner My career in mining started when I would travel up to Kaiser Steel mine with my father when I was about 8 years old. He would take me into the mine with him usually on the weekends if he had to go in to check something. He would let me run the controls to operate the main line locomotive going into #2 mine so, I guess by the time I was around 12 years old I would have been qualified to be a mainline motorman. As I got older he would take me into the mine while production was going on and I got to observe the machinery operating in pillar sections as well as longwall mining, so when I graduated from high school in 1968 I started trying to get a job but my father, who was Superintendent at the time, wouldnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t hire me because I was his son. At that time, I started going over to the main office asking John Peperakis, who was the Mine Manager, to hire me. After about 4 months he told my dad to hire me because he was tired of looking at me every day outside of his office. In the fall of 1968 I began working in #1 mine for Joe Palacios on the afternoon shift because I was going to CEU during the daytime. I worked in the Union doing various jobs for approximately 3 and a half years. I then went and got my fireboss papers. I was firebossing in #3 mine and then was offered to go bossing. I got a temporary permit to boss until I got my mine foreman papers. I worked at Kaiser Steel for 20 years from 1968 to 1989 doing various management jobs from Section foreman, Longwall foreman, Mine foreman and Mine Superintendent. I then left Sunnyside mines because Kaiser Steel was filing for Bankruptcy and I was hired on at Deer Creek Mine in Huntington Canyon in 1989. I held various management positions during that time. I worked at Deer Creek Mine for 4 years. When I left there I went back to Sunnyside to work for Kaiser Coal Company in 1992. While I was there I held management positions. In 1994 I went to Cyprus Plateau Mining and there until 1997. I was then sent to Willow Creek Mine and started the portals for the new mine at that time. I was then offered a job for the Mine Safety and Health Administration as a Federal Mine Inspector in 1999. I was working at MSHA when I was severely injured at the Crandall Canyon Mine in 2007. I was part of the rescue operation that was taking place trying to get to the 6 miners that were buried further in the mine when a bounce hit us and killed three rescuers and injured 6 others. The incident pretty well ended my career in mining. The injuries that I received were severe enough that I could not continue to perform my job in the coal mines so I was retired in 2008.

Frank Markosek


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 33

Creative solutions. Done right every time.

:KLFK6DYDJHFDSDELOLWHVZLOOEHQHÀW\RX" KEY SERVICES ‡ Transportation Systems ‡ Materials Management ‡ Facility Operations

Coal Yard Management

Ash Management Services

Terminal Operations

Truck Transportation

Integrated Support Services

“Living and working in Energy Country since 1946”


34 â&#x20AC;˘ SEUEPA â&#x20AC;˘ November 2013

ONGWALL W WEST EST,, IINC NC.. LLONGWALL

Over 30 Years Experience Providing Excellent 24 Hour Customer Service and satisfaction.

Supplying the mining industry with quality products & service since 1995 Carbide Cutting Tools Drill Steel Systems Mine Pipe & Fittings Transportation services available 24/7 from full semi load to small hot shot loads Warehousing services available 401 N. Carbonville Rd., Price (435) 637-5002

D.C. Armature | 3 Phase Motor | Sales & Service | Repair

Founded in 1976

Industrial Electric Motor Service, Inc. 225 West 500 South uth Orangeville, UT 84537 P.O. Box #485 435-748-2828 899 Fax: 435-748-2089

Motor Repair is our Specialty. Baldor Motor & Drive

I Industrial Electric Motor Service, In Inc. provides electric motor rrepair and rewinding services. The ccompany was incorporated in 1976 aand is based in Orangeville, Utah.

David Hinkins is proud to be a part of the Energy Industry serving Carbon & Emery Counties.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 35

SEUEPA GIVES BACK

Energy Days 2013 2012

Mine West

2013 Apples for Teachers Award Carroll West

Mining & Industrial Products Sales & Repairs

Dust Suppression Equipment Valves & Fittings Conveyor Products Water Sprays (all types) Dust Control Pressure & Flow Monitoring Irrigation Products Lever and Chain Hoists

Miner & Equipment Tracking Monitoring Solutions Safety Equipment & Training Network Design & Counseling Communication Solutions Motor Controls Electrical & Electronics

~ In the race for Quality there is no finish line ~

1210 East Main, Wellington, Utah 84542 • (435) 637-4460 • (435) 637-4564 • (435) 636-0563


36 • SEUEPA • November 2013

WE’RE THERE WHEN YOU NEED US

COMMERCIAL CLEANING SUPPLIES JANITORIAL PRODUCTS AND EQUIPMENT Open to the Public since 1967 373 South 100 West, Price, UT 84501 435-637-3603 | 1-800-378-3603 petchem@emerytelcom.net

Hydraulic TRUCK & GIANT TIRES DEDICATED SERVICE TEAM RADIO DISPATCHED TRUCKS 24-HOUR EMERGENCY ASSISTANCE

200 E MAIN ST

435-637-2480

Your Energy Service Parnter Since 1947

Repairs Inc.

P.O. Box 577, Price, Utah 84501 Bus. (435) 637-6211

Serving Carbon and Emery Counties for over 30 Years!


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 37

SEUEPA BANQUET 10th Annual SEUEPA Banquet

SEUEPA proudly presents Jason Hewlett Jason Hewlett, The Entertainer... is a One-Man Show unlike any you’ve seen before. Jason Hewlett has thrilled audiences from Coast-to-Coast with his music, comedy, dancing and singing impressions.

he Save t Date!

Jason is regularly in Las Vegas entertaining at venues such as: The Venetian, Mandalay Bay, The Four Seasons, The Monte Carlo, The Rio, and many others. He has performed with the world-renowned “Legends In Concert” of Las Vegas, as well as on CBS’s Jerry Lewis MDA Telethon with an audience of over 20 Million Viewers

Thursday, November 14th, 2013 Carbon County Events Center

Reserve your table today! Call for details - 650-5701 COMPANY_________________________________________________________________________ COMPANY CONTACT_________________________________________________________________ PHONE __________________________________ FAX ____________________________________ TABLE(S) Number to reserve ___________________________________________________________ EMAIL____________________________________________________________________________ Payment Type ___________ Check _________ Credit ______________ Invoice Me Name on card ______________________________________________________________________ Credit Card # _________________________________________Exp. ___________ CVV __________ Cocktail hour begins at 6:00 p.m., Dinner served at 7:00 p.m.


38 • SEUEPA • November 2013

THE

GREEN RIVER REFINERY

Breaking on through to a new future Energy is getting a bit more refined in Utah. The Governor’s Office of Economic Development, Emery Refining, LLC announced that it will construct a facility in Emery County, Utah and will add 125 permanent new jobs to Utah’s refining industry within the energy economic sector over the next 3 years. “One of the key parts to keeping Utah’s business sector successful is fostering small businesses, so we are happy that the state is able to enter into an incentive agreement with Emery Refining,” GOED executive director Spencer Eccles said. Emery Refining, LLC has entered into a 12 year incentive agreement with the state during which they will pay over $99 million in new state wages to the 125 incented positions. These jobs will be at least 100 percent of Emery County’s average annual wage including benefits. “This project represents a substantial amount of investment into our state in support of energy development which is one of the governor’s four cornerstones of economic prosperity,” said Cody Stewart, Governor’s Energy (Continued on page 11)

This project represents a substantial amount of investment into our state in support of energy development which is one of the governor’s four cornerstones of economic prosperity. This will assist with rural job creation in both the Paradox and Uinta basins. Cody Stewart, Utah Governor’s Energy Advisor


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 39

THE GREEN RIVER REFINERY: (Continued from page 38)

Advisor. “This will assist with rural job creation in both the Paradox and Uinta basins.” Emery Refining, LLC was formed and funded by Bridgehouse Capital, the family office and advisor to a number of family funds with investments in a number of industries such as commercial and residential real estate, power generation, data centers, and natural resources. Rock River Resources, LLC, a division of Emery Refining, LLC will design, construct and operate a facility in Emery County that is ideally suited for processing regional crude oils. During the incentive’s 12 year lifetime, Emery Refining will make a capital investment of over $225 million. It is anticipated that the company will also pay over $60 million in new state tax revenue over the lifetime of the agreement. Mike McCandless, Emery County Economic Development Director, said “Emery County has been working for nearly a decade to bring industrial development into Green River. This project is the culmination of that effort. The county and city leaders have worked diligently to prepare the community for this project and now we are all ready to see it happen. This project is a game changer for Green River and will be

a positive influence in the community for decades. This will positively affect every aspect of the Green River community from tax base to employment to overall community pride.” The GOED Board of Directors has approved a $12,712,221 Economic Development Tax Increment Finance post-performance refundable tax credit, or 20 percent of the new taxes paid by the company over the lifetime of the project. The Governor’s Office of Economic Development charter is based on Governor Gary Herbert’s commitment to economic development statewide. Utah’s economic development vision is that Utah will lead the nation as the best performing economy and be recognized as a premier global business destination. The mandate for this office is to provide rich business resources for the creation, growth and recruitment of companies to Utah. GOED accomplishes this mission through the administration of programs that are based around targeted industries or “economic clusters” that demonstrate the best potential for development. GOED utilizes state resources and private sector contracts to fulfill its mission.


THE

40 • SEUEPA • November 2013

POWER OF COAL Today some people take affects of coal for granted. They flip on a light switch or turn on their television set and forget that much of the electricity to power these and many other home conveniences come of the production and burning of coal.

tinct supply advantages and enabling residents to enjoy low energy costs. In fact, coal constitutes the most widely distributed fossil fuel in the world, with 92 percent of it used to generate electrical power, providing approximately one-half of the electricity in the U.S. In Utah, coal alone generates about 90 percent of the state’s electricity. The Utah generates a significant amount of electricity from majority of Utah’s coal is found in the Wasatch Plateau, locally supplied coal, providing the power market with dis- Bookcliffs and Emery Fields.

COAL FACTS • • • •

More electricity in the U.S. is generated with coal than with than any other fuel. Coal is used to generate electricity in 48 states. Coal is mined in 25 states and is responsible for over 760,00 U.S. Jobs. The U.S. has more coal reserve than any other country in the world.


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 41

Only *

$

Meet the newest member of the Sun Advocate staff:

10 Digital Paper Boy 2.0

To learn more, visit

www.sunad.com and click on the Digital Paper Boy button

on * Sale price of $10 requires a current subscription to the print edition


42 • SEUEPA • November 2013

JOIN SEUEPA NOW SEUEPA is a non-profit organization made up of

Reliable Members • Supporting Businesses • Educators • And Local Officials working toward a common goal of maintaining and increasing energy production. This organization is essential to our communities energy future. Become a member today and join the hundreds who are helping to develop and bring awareness to this critical industry. COMPANY _______________________________________________________ MAIN CONTACTS ________________________________________________ ADDRESS _______________________________________________________ PHONE__________________________ FAX ___________________________ EMAIL ___________________________________________________________ TYPE OF INDUSTRY ______________________________________________

Call 435-650-5701 for Membership Fees and More Information


November 2013 • SEUEPA • 43

Just $CRAP It!!! Scrap Metal Aluminum Cans Cars Appliances

BUYING YOUR SCRAP FOR CASH Dumpsters Available 15 yd. & 30 yd. Containers

Oil & Gasfield Locations Commercial & Residential

1780 W. Ridge Rd. Wellington, Utah 435 636 0144


PRICE AUTO GROUP IS YOUR TRUCK HEADQUARTERS

We service all makes & models for large or small fleets

Your #1 choice for sales, service, and all your fleet needs The Price Auto Group , LLC

354 South Hwy 55, Price, Utah 84501 (435) 637-1972 • TOLL FREE 1-800-944-0219

www.thepriceautogroup.com

PROUDLY SERVING EASTERN UTAH’S ENERGY INDUSTRIES


Sa 24w special seuepa review