Issuu on Google+

What’s the penalty for a first offense?


WILSONS LIQUOR STORE The Largest Selection of Liquor Around!

N.Main St.

901 E.11 Mile Rd. Royal Oak, MI 48067 Tel: (248) 398-4676 Fax: (248) 398-4820

E. 11 Mile Rd.

Campbell Rd.

FINE WINES • IMPORTED BEER • LOTTO KEGS IN STOCK


Drunk Driving - Other Vehicles Drunk driving laws don't just apply to cars on the highway. You can also be arrested for operating a boat, jet ski, snowmobile, four wheeler, other off-road vehicle (ORV) or watercraft while intoxicated. For these vehicles, unlike cars, the legal limit is .10 instead of .08. Operating a snowmobile or ORV while under the influence of liquor or drugs • Up to 93 days in jail and/or $500 • 12-45 days community service • May not operate a snowmobile or ORV for 6 to 24 months • 6 points on driver record • $1,000 a year for two years driver responsibility fee Operating a watercraft while under the influence of liquor or drugs • Up to 93 days in jail and/or $500 • May not operate a watercraft for 6 to 12 months • No points, and it's not abstracted (not shown) on your driving record • These offenses do not suspend or restrict your driver's license and cannot be used to enhance a subsequent drunk driving offense • The exception to the above rule is if you are arrested driving a snowmobile or ORV on a road while drunk, which is treated the same as a regular drunk driving


FREE DONUT

with purchase of any large coffee, iced coffee or coolatta". Exp:

m

er

ce

Waldon Rd.

HIghland Rd.

Teggerdine Rd.

10580 Highland Rd. White Lake., MI (M-59 & Teggerdine Rd. Inside the BP Gas Station)

om

Sashabaw Rd.

6365 Sashabaw Rd. Clarkston, MI (I-75 & Sashabaw Rd).

C

Union Lake Rd.

3050 Union Lk Rd. Commerce Twp, MI (Corner of Union Lake & Commerce Rd).

R

d.


CAN YOU PASS

1. What should I do if I have been drinking and run out of gas, get a flat tire, or get stuck in a ditch? a. call a tow truck and wait. b. call 911 to make a report. c. call a friend/spouse and wait with my vehicle. d. run! 2. If the police come to my home looking for me after I have left the scene of an accident, what should I do? a. answer the door. b. have my spouse answer the door. c. have my son answer the door, and tell them I am not home. d. close the blinds, turn off the lights, and pretend no one is home. 3. You are driving after leaving Ronin in Royal Oak. The alcohol “hits you” and you are starting to feel drunk, so you decide to pull over to call for a ride. Unfortunately you are on 696 and have to stay in your car. You activate your emergency flashers, turn off the car, put the key in your pocket, and then get into the passenger seat to wait for your ride. Trooper Huggybear of the Michigan State Police approaches you and asks you “where are you coming from?” What should you do? a. b. c. d. e.

answer him truthfully and tell him you were at Ronin. lie to him and tell him “a friends house” ignore him and pretend you are sleeping. pretend you can’t speak English and start rambling in a foreign language. accuse him of being a lying sociopath.

-


Michigan's Finest BODY ART STUDIO

What You Want Where You Want It 820 S. Washington Royal Oak, MI 48067 (248) 398-0052 www.royaloaktattoo.com S.Washington

E.Lincoln


CAN YOU PASS

1. The correct answer is d. a, b, and c are all likely to lead to police contact. You should lock your car, get off the road, hide, and call for a ride so that you can avoid police contact. This is perfectly legal unless you were in an accident. Then you must immediately call the police and make a report, even if it is only your car that is damaged. Your failure to do so can result in you getting a misdemeanor for leaving the scene of a property damage accident. If you choose not to make a police report, the police must prove you were the driver. It is advisable to immediately hire a lawyer and let him talk to the police. It will be the best money you ever spent. 2. It is a very bad idea to have police contact, if you have broken the law. It is always a bad idea to speak to the police without your lawyer present. The correct answer is d. then contact your attorney immediately. 3. C and D are both correct, if you can keep your act going. E will probably get you arrested. No good deed goes unpunished. Most cops will ask you three questions in this situation: 1.   Where are you coming from? 2.      How long have you been here? 3.      Is anybody else with you? Most unsuspecting citizens will answer truthfully, not knowing that they have just given the cop evidence to convict them because they have just admitted that they drove after drinking.  Your best option is to simply invoke your right to remain silent. 4. D, Paris and Nicole were using the car as a shelter. The state would have to prove that she actually moved the car or put it in gear while she was drunk. It does not matter if the keys were in the ignition and the car was running. Although Casey’s parking lot is private property it is open to the public. -


Drivers’ License

Restoration Which of the following will cause your drivers’ license to be suspended for 6 months? a. Fleeing and eluding a police officer b. Operating While Impaired c. Possession of marijuana d. Reckless Driving e. Operating While Intoxicated, Second Offense Fleeing and Eluding would get you a one-year suspension. Reckless Driving would cause your license to be suspended for 90 days. Operating while Impaired will get your license restricted for 90 days. If you’re caught drunk driving for the second time within a 7 year period, your license will be revoked for one year. C is the correct answer. The possession of marijuana, or any illegal narcotic, whether or not you’re in a car, requires the Court to suspend your drivers’ license for 6 months, and you’re eligible for a restricted license after 30 days.

Suspension vs. Revocation What’s the Difference?

If your license is suspended, it means that there is a set period of time that you’re not allowed to drive. At the end of that time, you simply pay the $125 license reinstatement fee and you get your license back. If your license is revoked, it’s more serious. At the end of your revocation period, you have to apply to get your license back. You will have to attend a hearing and argue that you deserve to have your drivers’ license restored. You will have to attend a hearing and argue that you deserve to have your drivers’ license restored.

-


Free Oatmeal or Bagel

or $1.00 off Any Breakfast Sandwich offer available before 10am

Old

o Wo

Birmingham 101 N. Old Woodward Ave. Birmingham, MI 48009 Phone: (248) 203-9200

dw

ard

dw

oo W

d

.

e Av

ar W.Maple Rd.

Catering Available

Assorted Sandwich Baskets, Signature Salads and Breakfast Platters

Always a Slice and a Smile !!! . Haggerty Rd

Great Harvest Bread Co. 3376 E. Malpe Rd. Commerce Twp. 248.962.9848 www.greatharvest.com

W. M ap le R

d.

Hours: Tues 10a.m-6p.m Wed thru Sat 7a.m-6p.m

Mention you’ve seen this ad in Street Smart Law and receive a

Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Offer expires :


What are the consequences if you refuse to take the roadside preliminary breath test (PBT)? a. You are guilty of a 93-day misdemeanor b. You will lose your license for 30 days c. You have committed a civil infraction and will pay a fine d. You will lose your license for one year and have 6 points put on your driving record If you refuse the breathalyzer at the police station, then you will get a one-year suspension and 6 points on your driving record. The fine in most cities for refusing a PBT is approximately $150.00. Therefore, C is the correct answer. The fine in most cities is approximately $150.00. If your license is suspended for refusing the station breathalyzer, you can request a hearing to avoid the suspension within 14 days, but you will only win if you weren’t read your rights, you didn’t really refuse, or if the officer didn’t have a good reason to pull you over in the first place. Whether or not you were actually drunk driving at the time is meaningless. Even if you prove in Court that you weren’t, the suspension for refusal would still stand. If the suspension does stand, you can go to the Circuit Court and request a restricted license within 63 days.

Southern Flair Soul Food Restaurant Mouth watering food prepared with that Southern Flair

Dine In or Carry Out Monday - Sunday 11 AM - 9 PM

16

Cooliage Hwy.

9 Mile & Coolidge 13500 W. Nine Mile Rd Oak Park, Mi 48237 Ph: 248.414.5380

W. 9 Mile Rd.


Street Smart Law