Page 1

5 1 0 2 h c r a M – 4 1 0 2 l i r p A NT

ME M O C AND S E T QUO F O R A YEA A

RE THEAT S ’ E L PEOP


k n a h t o t e k i l d r l i e u o h t w or f We g n i w o l l o f the T R O P SUP

S E T O U Q F O R A E Y TO A OMMENT C D N A

e m o c l e W

BUSINESS SUPPORTERS

4-5 6-9

MAJOR DONORS Scrutton Estates Ltd The Sahara Care Charitable Trust

PIONEERS Andrew Cowan Angela and Stephen Jordan Carol Lake Elizabeth and Derek Joseph Sabine Vinck THE VISION COLLECTIVE Amanda and James Hochman Andrew and Amanda Grenville Barbara Ferris Caroline and Charles Pridgeon Danielle Whitton Derek Paget Ed Ross Hazel Province Hedley G. Wright Jan and Bill Smith Jonathan Tyler Lady Stratford Mansell Bouquet Ltd Murray Melvin Nick and Wendy Jakob Rachel Potts for Jon Potts Sue Fletcher Toni Palmer

Altair Ltd Attic Storage and Removals Solutions Countryside Properties Plc Devonshires Solicitors English Cities Fund Get Living London Hotel Novotel London Excel HUB Group Tate & Lyle Sugars Plc TRUSTS AND FOUNDATIONS Esmée Fairbairn Foundation Garfield Weston Foundation Helen Hamlyn Trust Heritage Lottery Fund Jack Petchey Foundation Paul Hamlyn Foundation The Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation The Gibbs Charitable Trust The Mackintosh Foundation The Theatres Trust

Forewords Support Us

10-11 12-13 14-15 16-19 20-21 22-23 24-25 26-27 28-29 30-31 32-33 34-35 36-37

Apr 2014 May 2014 Jun 2014 Jul 2014 Aug 2014 Sep 2014 Oct 2014 Oct 2014 Nov 2014 Dec 2014 Jan 2015 Feb 2015 Mar 2015

38-42 43

People Bar Programme

Kingston 14 28 Mar – 26 Apr 2014 Fings Aint Wot They Used T’be 8 May – 8 Jun 2014 Angelic Tales 16 – 21 Jun 2014 Young People’s Studio Season 24 – 26 Jul 2014 Monologueslam Uk Spoiling 29 Aug – 13 Sep 2014 Rhetorical 14 – 18 Oct 2014 Joan Littlewood Centenary 6 Oct 2014 The Infidel – The Musical 3 Oct – 14 Nov 2014 Beauty and The Beast 29 Nov 2014 – 17 Jan 2015 Stratford East Singers 14 Jan 2015 Oh What a Lovely War 29 Jan – 7 Feb 2015 Antigone 19 Feb – 14 Mar 2015

Theatre Royal Stratford East, Gerry Raffles Square, London E15 1BN t: 020 8534 7374 f: 020 8534 8381 i: 020 8534 0310 e: theatreroyal@stratfordeast.com www.stratfordeast.com Artistic Director: Kerry Michael Executive Director: Mary Caws Deputy Artistic Director: Dawn Reid Board: Carol Lake (Chair), Andrew Cowan, Michael Eboda, Claire Evans, Derek Joseph, Jo Melville, Paul O’Leary (Vice-Chair), Mark Pritchard, Hazel Province, Lady Stratford, Sabine Vinck.

We would also like to acknowledge the generous support of the Monument Trust.

And all those who wish to remain anonymous

Pioneer Theatres Limited. Registered Office: Theatre Royal Stratford East, Gerry Raffles Square, London E15 1BN. Registration Number 556251. Charity Number 233801. VAT Number 248 9343 27.

2

3

Annual Review 2014/15 : Contents

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


D R O REW

FO

D R O REW

CTOR E R I D IC RTIST RD EAST A : L E O MICHAAL STRATF Y R R E BY K EATRE ROY OF TH

FO

The team here work with passion and purpose. They are intelligent, conscientious, hard-working and fun-loving. And I am extremely indebted to them. Our success is a collective one.    I hope you enjoy looking back over 2014-15. I’m particularly proud of how we’ve created new work that is important, political and urgent, as well as world-class and hugely entertaining for all our different audiences.    In this year we received an Arts Council uplift, one of only a handful to do so. For us, it was in recognition of our consistent track record in making quality work by, and for, our diverse community. We are immensely proud to have the most diverse and young audience of any London theatre. If you have been in our auditorium you have been part of a collective of people who aren’t traditional theatregoers. You have a desire to see new stories and probably identify yourself as not part of the

T R OF I A H C D EAS E: R O K F A T L ROL STRA BY CA RE ROYAL THEAT Over the last year we have been celebrating Joan Littlewood’s centenary and the contribution she made to British theatre and to the nation. The continued work of Theatre Royal Stratford East is a living legacy of all she achieved. In early summer Fings Ain’t Wot They Used T’be attracted big, enthusiastic audiences and our Olivier-nominated production of Oh What a Lovely War returned briefly before continuing on an extensive UK tour. We also celebrated Joan as part of the national Fun Palaces weekend in October and were delighted when the Royal Mail issued a stamp to commemorate her.

establishment. We played to 86% capacity in the year. In an area that has the lowest arts engagment in England. So there is still room to bring a friend and introduce them to our theatre.   Our Stratford East Singers made their Saturday night live TV debut; and our young people – 3000 of them last year – continue to grow as artists, producers and audiences. They inspire and challenge us. They are blood running through our veins.    If you like what you read please consider supporting us. We are a charity with an important civic mission. We have to look to a varied approach to income. Our strong box office receipts go some of the way. Our support from Arts Council England and our important partner the London Borough of Newham is vital to our success. And so is our growing portfolio of business and individual partnerships. Please think about how you, or the people you know, can work with us going forward.    We look forward to welcoming you to our theatre in 2015 and beyond.

As much as we have looked back to celebrate our heritage, we have very much retained an eye on the future. As East London continues to undergo rapid and significant change, we have continued to challenge ourselves to reflect this in our ambitions. Being in the midst of such a dynamic area gives us much to learn and much to share and we are delighted with the evolving relationship with the National Theatre which has seen us connecting on a range of topics including diversity, young people’s work and audience development. Partnerships are of growing importance to us and we deeply appreciate the recognition for our work with diverse audiences and artists by Arts Council England – and to be one of the few National Portfolio Organisations to receive an uplift for 2015-18. We are also extremely grateful to London Borough

Kerry Michael Artistic Director

4

5

Annual Review 2014/15 : Foreword

of Newham for their continued support in difficult economic times. Our fundraising team have gone from strength to strength generating vital support from a wide range of sources including generous individuals, businesses, Trusts and Foundations. Many thanks to all our supporters for their much needed contributions and for the confidence they show in our ability to deliver great work. Theatre Royal Stratford East is a truly remarkable and outstanding organisation, with great energy and vision. Thank you to everyone who helps to make this a very special place: the leadership team and staff, the actors, musicians and poets; the directors, technicians and visiting productions; the audiences who come to see us and the upcoming talent we work with who truly are our future. Joan would be proud.

Carol Lake Chair

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


INDIVIDUALS

‘We support Theatre Royal Stratford East because we have long established roots in the borough, we have enjoyed the performances we’ve seen and want to give back to the community.’ Barry Scrutton, Scrutton Estates Ltd.

We are always delighted to hear from individuals looking to join our growing family of supporters. Support from individuals is essential in delivering our programme of work on and off the stage, to the standard that our audiences have come to expect. There are many ways to show your support: join our Vision Collective and receive exclusive benefits each year; become a Pioneer and give directly to the project you are most passionate about; name a seat as a gift to, or in memory of a loved one; or leave a Legacy by remembering us in your will.

D E T I M I L N U T O S I N N IS O I S G I N V I OUR UR FUND O T U B N ITH A W ITY E R EAT MMUN E O H T C R G NIN IN OU E POSITIV D-WIN N, ROOTED H R E A W A IO D OF T AND TO TH T U N A O A T R U E P P R E S E A A E R R H V L I T T WE TIONA ARS. WE A PEOPLE’S L EW WORK A N R E O N SITY. YE INT AKE T RODUCING DIVER R 50 E M S V T E I O FOR R, P ION W N ALL RIBUT ATRE SECTO BRITAIN I T N O F C E NT TH E PEOPLE O H VIBRA T S TO WHY WE NEED YOUR SUPPORT SPEAK

‘We would like to say a big ‘thank you’ to the individuals, trusts and companies who have supported us to date and hope you may be inspired to join them.’

Above: A Theatre Royal Stratford East Audience Photo: Robert Day

We are a charitable organisation based in Newham that believes in the ability of theatre to achieve radical change. In recognition of the important and ground-breaking work we do with diverse audiences and artists, we were one of just a few of Arts Council England’s National Portfolio Organisations to be awarded an increase in funding for 2015 – 18. We also receive core funding from the London Borough of Newham. We are immensely grateful to them and their support is crucial to our work.

TRUSTS AND FOUNDATIONS

We are immensely appreciative of the support we receive from Trusts and Foundations. Much of our vision is underpinned with bringing to the fore future generations of artists and cultural leaders; and creating opportunities to engage new audiences with theatre – strategic work that is often difficult to fund through other sources. It is this behind-the-scenes work that allows us to deliver an exciting programme of theatre and we invite Trusts and Foundations who share our vision to join us in safeguarding the future of British theatre.

Musical Theatre Initiative workshop, supported by the Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation

ow you h t u o b ll to us a s, please ca t k l a t a u To ail us pport u m s e m r d l o cou ast.co 124 e 1 d r 9 o 7 f 2 t 0208 t@stra n e m p develo

In addition to our public funding, we also generate income from ticket sales and other retail. However, we still need to raise significant funding from other sources to continue our important work.

6

Barry Scrutton, Major Donor, with wife Ann Photo: Robert Day

7

Annual Review 2014/15 : Support Us

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


BUSINESS SUPPORT

Andrew Wiseman, Chairman of Telford Homes, and guests Photo: Robert Day

‘We pride ourselves on our commitment to understanding and meeting the business objectives of our corporate partners. Our approach is to work with you to develop innovative and tailored ways for you to support us that fulfil your needs.’ By working with us we can assist you in making deeper connections with the East London community as well as reaching our audiences from across the UK and abroad. We can also help you meet your CSR aims and can offer a wide range of benefits which include brand profile, naming opportunities, PR and press coverage, staff engagement, client hospitality and B2B networking.

Young People’s Studio Season

Sir Robin Wales, Mayor of Newham

Telford Homes Case Study

Telford Homes Plc is a successful property developer with major developments across London including their local apartment development, Stratford Plaza. We have been delighted to work with their team via our bespoke Business Partnership, offering engagement opportunities for their staff and clients. Telford Homes were also sponsors of ‘Beauty and the Beast’, which saw thousands of families and school children coming through our doors to enjoy our festive show.

‘Theatre Royal Stratford East is an award-winning theatre which has played an important role in opening up the arts to our residents. The theatre’s support of our Every Child a Theatregoer Programme has enabled a brand new audience to experience world-class productions on their door step and helped to spark the imaginations and creativity of our young people.’

ArcelorMittal Case Study

ArcelorMittal provide significant support for our weekly workshops with young people, including those who are not in full-time education or who are at risk of disengaging from formal learning. By supporting this vital work, together we have been able to bring our young people closer to the regeneration taking place on their doorstep. As a symbol of this regeneration in East London, the iconic ArcelorMittal Orbit serves as part of the daily landscape for our community.

‘Telford Homes are heavily involved in the regeneration of Stratford town centre and we are particularly excited to continue working with Theatre Royal Stratford East in the coming year. The engagement of our staff and clients with TRSE has been incredible and surpassed our expectations, particularly in bringing people together from across the business to enjoy an evening at the theatre. Theatre Royal Stratford East is a fantastic venue for those living in Stratford and further afield and I am sure our support will benefit both organisations in the future’.

‘ The aims of Theatre Royal Stratford East’s Young People’s Workshops – particularly those around improving self-confidence and communications skills, with the objective of helping participants to re-engage – are a natural fit with the overall re-generation effort, symbolised by the ArcelorMittal Orbit. In East London, Theatre Royal Stratford East continues to stand out for us, with its combination of community focus and high-quality theatre.’ Ian Louden, Head of Brand Worldwide, ArcelorMittal

Jon Di-Stefano, Chief Executive, Telford Homes

8

9

Annual Review 2014/15 : Support Us

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


4 1 0 2 l Apri

Credit Photo

rt : Robe

Day

4 1 N GSTO

KIN

‘Compelling... Pulverising.’

G NEWA N I P P I A GR AY JAMAIC N I S D R E STA MODERN I D L O S G ILLIAM SET IN ROY W DYER T WRITER PLAY IN L RC East ted by tford Presen Royal Stra re 4 Theat pr 201 A r – 26 28 Ma

THE GUARDIAN ‘Roy William’s spirited, raging drama.’ THE INDEPENDENT

ECTOR NT DIR A T IS S S A AULAY N MAC R STEPHE O T DIREC GH FIGHT R U B O E T D IAN DIREC TUME LISON S HIN, BR A C O C Y E L & H E S N G A N , STA CAST LES VE E ER ULTZ , CHAR L L A COL E B DESIGN TE DESIGNER V M BO Y, GA IA O Y R C L A , E O W D S AS EENA DEREK R LAIR SA GR TREVO SADEY GOLDIE BA O BAILEY IGNER TYSON MERARY G DES U N R E LIGHTIN ON P KOLO SU NWAO LS E O L J K R N IN E JO A N R F IG S DE N SOUND HAMMAR TO RD A H IC R

‘Brilliant writing.’ TWITTER ‘… a fierce, gripping, funny look at police corruption, machismo and moral compromise.’ TWITTER

‘Fantastic. Excellent plot and acting.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ‘I loved the interactions the audience had with characters in the play. Not something you see all the time!’ AUDIENCE MEMBER   ‘It was amazing, I felt transported to Jamaica. VERY talented actors in this place!’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

‘A comedic and thought-provoking drama. It’s a must see!’

3 1 0 2 r N e O b T m G e N I Dec T T I H EART

THE VOICE ‘Now gone, but #Kingston14 certainly not forgotten.’ TWITTER

W K C DI

H A BIG H T I W ANTO P L A MAGIC and

‘Kingston 14’ has guts, wit and vigourous performances... Williams’ script is racy, wry... painfully real.’ EVENING STANDARD

oke sh Co n. i r T y b a d t Hym ratfor Rober t S l a oy atre R ion. e h T A t roduc 2014 East P 11 Jan

Evening Standard The Times The Observer Financial Times Whatsonstage.com

2013 – 23 Nov

10

11

April 2014 : Kingston 14

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


‘Made me purr with pure pleasure.’ DAILY TELEGRAPH

‘Slick and stylish… they don’t make musicals like this anymore.’ EVENING STANDARD TOR L DIREC

SICA NT MU P, N ASSISTA RY KEM BINSO AN, GA , UIS RO Y O T R L R R E A E E O B J PH C NEL WALLA HRISTO N, ICS LIO CAST C TSON, JESSIE OHN OLOHA ND LYR A N A J A IC M , S W R D R Y O MU , R A N S A W K M G D A FRAN NSON A WOO LFIE AD ON, Y JOH BOOK JOANN DEN, RUTH A LET R TERR RIPT D O C T ID S / C R M R E A N, DIR SARAH IRECTO GEMENTS MARK , D Y HINSO L O C L T A L U O H M IE N V MUSIC ION/ARRAN E RYA , ST R, AT BOOTH CAR TE ADAPT VIS STEFAN VIVIEN Y , E A L D D R D T U A H N, ELLIO BILL D SUZIE C TON EWMA SIGNER JAKE N ARE ER BAR , H SET DE L H P IL IT A W M R L S EOG OM C BRYAN CHOR RIGHT SON, T MEROD BAND ROBIN N M W NER BEN OR EN A IS H U T O A N W IG JOE L G DES RETH O LIGHTIN ESIGNER GA DAM LENSON D A SOUND TE DIRECTOR IA ASSOC

‘Sharp fresh and surprising.’ WHATSONSTAGE.COM

‘It was excellent – all the cast were brilliant.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

‘Irresistible.’ DAILY MAIL

‘Fantastic, great fun, it’s what the theatre is all about.’

‘Terry Johnson’s witty and rollicking revival.’ THE INDEPENDENT

AUDIENCE MEMBER

‘I thought it was brilliant… a truly joyful experience.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

4 1 0 T 2 O y a W M T 3 N 1 I 0 A 2 r N S e E O G b B T ’ N m I G e T DeFc ED TIN USICAL

T S I U H Y W ITCHKE

D M LD OF RATRET A E E H H WOR G I R RM B E A D A W N H U D IT S ONW YTA T END ROSTITUTE TN S T I E A W P W A THEAL AND P S MAGSIECT WITHIN V I P ,nSd oLoEkReSa B C h M s i A r by TG an.

D

‘…one of the best shows we have seen for a long time, and we do go to the theatre quite a lot. Your staff were lovely...’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

East t Hym by rdrd RobePrresented oyyal SSttrraatftofo yrer reRRo Paul T ovey te a , r s e t i h a v e T a . t Dn A Th ithoE Ros P dlulicotilo , 0a1n4d r k w r P a t s C 2 Ltd Ea tions Jamie11 Jan & 2013 – Produc 23 Novfor Fings 2014 8 Jun – y a 8M

12

13

May 2014 : Fings aint wot they used t’be

The Times Daily Telegraph Evening Standard Daily Mail The Independent Time Out Sunday Times Sunday Express TheatreCat The Upcoming

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


‘I found the whole evening extremely inspiring. The actors were talented and very committed. The show was shocking and powerful. Rikki’s introduction was full of energy...’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ON ‘WILD NIGHTS! WILD NIGHTS!’

ID WN RE TOR DA AKIN, M DIREC IN F O , EMI L OLA E-BLAIR CAST K AYLE, MOJIS BEADL OR, I G K A A IK T N R R A YL S LO NICOL ENTOR , O -M Y O A C ON S!’ ADEB GORD NIGHT ALASE JOHN ’ S! WILD T TOYIN H IG IT OUT N E N, D M IL O S ATING ‘W N E ORDO AIR IR E W F A G L ‘S N B N BE ADLEAARO E-BL E L R B D E I WRITER D A IT K E E R J W KI B TOR RIK ATCHPOLE, TOR RIK RRISON R DIREC DIREC HA RRIET C LETON, OSCA A A L H RIS R T S A CA RSA, PA S CAST CAST C ST, JO M ICK KO REENA , N IA , D L E R IL G O FORRE W HOD ROSSBRENTF EY ELDRIDGE R M E T O T R , PO ANL ROBIN ARI, ST BOY’ GE’ LALBIH DAMA OO MAICA A E L ‘J B A W A PHEN H DLE-BLAIR PT L E E E T C S IT C H R E ‘A W A IT IR E R A B A N L I W FIO RIKK DLE-B N WRITER ECTOR KI BEA R, ELINOR K, JOH S, IR R IK R D O Y R L E TO IE H K C N R IT E F A A P IF IR D E D , CAST US GR AROLIN AVIN MARC TEPHEN HOO , E L CAST C -FOR TUNE, G ON, O M S , O S D T N E LIN IA HIN MACH YNETTE NATAL DEN USKY, L NE GID N MCCL N O O V Y Y R B N NATHA JOTOR -AKPO Y’ RORO A ‘SUNDA H G JOY WRITER

‘…an honest and political piece. It opened the audiences’ eyes to the ongoing prejudice that happens to people with invisible disabilities. Refreshing to see a piece about something so relevant today and that hasn’t been explored.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ON ‘ACCEPTABLE DAMAGE’

] 4 1 0 5 [ 2 0 S E L June A LIC T THEIR WAY ON

SEAS

‘Fantastic. It was strong and dealt with issues not normally spoken about in African culture. The cast were great. I felt proud of what Joy wrote, I loved her courage and sincerity.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ON ‘SUNDAY’

ANGE

WING FESTIVAL S Y A L G P NEW W WRITIN T O H E 5 OUR N INTO

‘The actors were fantastic and it was very well staged for a script-in-hand performance. The play has a unique angle – the Chinese – Jamaican experience.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ON ‘JAMAICA BOY’

East ted by tford ica Presen Royal Stra Angel m a e e r T t Thea n with ciatio o s s a in 014 2 1 Jun 16 – 2

‘Excellent – a very well-acted performance that really made you think about the issues of body image, the way we all view others, and the way many of us pretend to be someone we are not, in order to gain acceptance... it made you think about the issues raised, not just whilst watching the performance but once you were out of the theatre as well.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ON ‘SWEATING IT OUT’

14

15

June 2014 : Angelic Tales Season 5

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


‘Thank you for everything, for the opportunity and for opening doors for me, you’ve shown me what I want to do.’ PARTICIPANT ‘Thank you so much for the support, the advice, your belief and trust in me, you have helped me transform as an actor, performer and a person.’ PARTICIPANT

‘Thank you so much for everything you have done for us, you have been much more supportive than you could imagine.’ PARTICIPANT

: Sidey Photos

Clark

4 1 0 S 2 ’ E y l L u P J O E P G

YOUNIO SEASON STUD

‘It has been a profound pleasure working with you, I have learned so much and feel so grateful for everything you do to nurture and welcome young people who love theatre.’ PARTICIPANT

raphy

Photog

E’S PEOPL

‘Thanks again for giving the boys this opportunity.’ TEACHER

WORK

OUNG Y R U O ST OF E B E UR ING O F TH O E ON GIV TO SHINE S A M E S ’S SO ANCE EOPLE S A CH UNG P t ed by rd Eas t o f n t e a s r e t Pr al S re Roy Theat 014 6 Jul 2 24 – 2

‘Thank you so much for this amazing opportunity. You have helped me to achieve my dream.’ PARTICIPANT

‘Young people are at the heart of Theatre Royal Stratford East and have been since Joan Littlewood pioneered the modern concept of youth theatre. It is a constant pleasure and honour to see our young people grow as artists and find a voice in society.’

YO ANIE COMP YOUTH STAGE LS R & GYA ON OU EATRE BOYS Y A L P TH WORD YOUTH IVES TFORM L A T L A P L F S LAB POET ARTISTS YOUNG

KERRY MICHAEL, ARTISTIC DIRECTOR, THEATRE ROYAL STRATFORD EAST

16

17

July 2014 : Young People’s Studio Season

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


4 1 0 2 y Jul

G N U O Y E K R R O MO W S ’ E L P O E P YEAR E H T T GHOU U O R H T

ANTIGONE SCHOOLS FESTIVAL ‘Thanks for letting us be a part of the Newham Festival this year. My students really enjoyed it and came out begging to be a part of it next year. It was great to have the director of ‘Antigone’ come to praise us after the show. Thanks so much for all your work and support.’ TEACHER ‘Thank you for the super experience of the Schools Festival. I am so sorry that I had to rush off after our piece. I was very proud to be part of the whole experience and enjoyed watching all the variations on the theme. Well done for bringing everything together and for giving a platform to all these young creatives.’ SUZANN MCLEAN, DIRECTOR OF YOUNG AND TALENTED

Newham Sponsor: Schools and Youth Groups Festival

JUNIOR MONOLOGUE SLAM ‘Thank you for being so warm and encouraging over my time at Monologue Workshops. I’ve learnt a great deal from watching how you work and I feel even more determined to work in this field. You’ve made the last two months a truly exciting and inspirational experience so thank you!’ VOLUNTEER ‘Just want to say THANK YOU for being there and all. You guys are pretty awesome! I know you’ve heard all that **** before ‘you have potential’, ‘you can do it!’, I’ll be back I’lll be sure to come when the next one is up.’ PARTICIPANT ‘Just like to say a Big Thank you for seeing the young members of our youth club. The parents had a good feeling about the experience and want to submit their children again (to the Junior Slam). Once again I thank you and the judges.’ TEACHER ‘They get so excited before going on stage. It’s a unique experience for them – to be seen by professionals from the industry and share the Green Room with TV actors.’ JAN SHARKEY-DODDS, HEAD OF YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK, THEATRE ROYAL STRATFORD EAST

‘Thanks very much for the invite and ticket (and hospitality!) at Friday’s event. Congratulations to you all, I was really impressed with what I saw, the young people had clearly had a profound debate around some of the issues and their commitment and hard work really shone through. I was moved to tears a couple of times!’ GABRIELLE FORSTER-STILL, DEPUTY HEAD LEARNING AND PARTICIPATION, ROYAL OPERA HOUSE

18

19

July 2014 : More Young People’s Work

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


‘The MonologueSlam is an inspirational events for actors, audience and judges alike, which fully supports the talent involved and the atmosphere is fantastic!’ AGENT, HOXTON MANAGEMENT

‘Monologue Slam was an exciting, energetic night with unbelievable talent on show. It’s something that every actor should do, and I was humbled to take part.’ MONOLOGUESLAM PERFORMER ‘I can’t thank TriForce enough for the platform and the encouragement. It’s such an inspiring event and I’m sure it will continue to be!’ MONOLOGUESLAM PERFORMER

Judges have included: Independent (Agency), Amy Hubbard, Casting Director (The Hobbit) Daniel Edwards, Casting Director (Mr Selfridge) Williamson & Holmes (Agency)

4 K 1 U 0 2 M t s A u L g S u A OGUECASE

Stevenson Withers (Agency) Global Artists (Agency) Julia Crampsie, Head of Casting (BBC).

L O N O M E

T LTIMA U E H T

SHOW S ’ R O ACT

‘I’ve been to MonologueSlam twice and have been amazed by the level of talent I’ve seen. It’s a great evening and a chance to meet new actors. It’s led to actors coming to meet with us and even gaining roles in some of our projects. I can’t wait to go again.’ CASTING DIRECTOR, SHAHEEN BAIG CASTING

s and ted by Presen e Promotion rd East c tfo TriFor al Stra y o 8 Aug R re 14 / 1 2014 / 0 2 Theat n Ju c 2 De 2014 / 4 / 15 14 Apr/ 27 Oct 201 2014 2015 2 Mar

20

21

August 2014 : Monologueslam UK

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


‘Stunning performances in a timely play which asks pertinent questions about Scottish independence.’ THE STAGE

WINNER

‘FRINGE FIRST AWARD’ 2014 THE SCOTSMAN, EDINBURGH FESTIVAL FRINGE

‘Gabriel Quigley’s magnificent central performance… loud, complex, unlovely – yet completely truthful and finally alluring.’

‘Compelling and well-acted. Food for thought on the political system.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER           ‘Very well performed. Topical and thought provoking...’ AUDIENCE MEMBER            ‘Awesome. I thought the two actors resonated and interacted beautifully.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

UT

ELL-O THE S

: Credit Photo hams bra A y m re

verse he Tra with t y b ted ion Presen in associat ast re ford E t a r t S Theat al re Roy 14 Theat ept 20 – 13 S g u A 29

‘an absolute winner, filled with political zingers and a contagious kinetic energy from start to finish… terrific fun.’ ACROSS THE ARTS

‘a whirlwind of a performance by Gabriel Quigley.’ THE HERALD

Je

H HIT

URG EDINB

‘delivered in language worthy of ‘The Thick of It’… a salute to ballsy, principled independent women… Gabriel Quigley takes on that role with might.’ THE EDINBURGH GUIDE

‘a sharp and witty political satire… The power-play between the two strong characters is engrossing.’ TV BOMB

4 1 0 2 r e b m Septe G

N I L I O SP

THE SCOTSMAN

CANN HN MC O J R KRASS E WRIT ANNY D R E S GHLIN O O’LOU BLE COMP ORLA R M A O L L T C Y DIRE RENFEL THON ER AN OLIN G S N C R IG E S E N S D IG RA G DES NNY K MEE LIGHTIN ESIGNER DA MCNA EMENTS Y D D N A CL D R SOUND T DIRECTOR HA N EY, RIC ASSISTA BRIEL QUIGL A CAST G

‘the performances are class and it’s neatly directed by Orla O’Loughlin. McCann uses his own facility with words to lay bare the treachery of political language and suggest that it’s time to speak plainly and truthfully at last.’ THE GUARDIAN

22

23

September 2014 : Spoiling

The Telegraph The Times Arts Desk The Stage The Scotsman The Edinburgh Guide Across the Arts TV Bomb The Hearald

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


‘Rhetorical is a very relevant play because it speaks about our history in South Africa, the different flaws about our nation, and inner political clashes of the ANC. I think people will find the show interesting and entertaining – they will get to see a glimpse of South African history but most of the play’s themes are universal, so audiences will be able to relate to the story.’ PRESLEY CHWENEYAGAE ON ‘RHETORICAL’

‘It was brilliant, really superb acting!’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

zer (5)

Photo

Credit

:

Coudy Ruphin

4 1 0 2 r e b o t Oc ICAL WITH A

R O T E RH

S ETURNRICAL SHOW R L A FESTIV AND SATI S E B I Y MELELO AFROVEDLY FUNN RS MPU , E IT R CO-W OOM ROOTB I WICK PAUL G A H ast in K B E ted by tford cus, Presen Royal Stra ratford Cir St re by Theat ation with ented s e r P r o . collab ford Circus nment t ai a t r r t e at S Ent n w o T Space 2014 8 Oct 14 – 1

Y SE ELO AUBRE PUMEL TOR M C E M IR D OO ROOTB PAUL G NER IG S SET DE ERGEN M DISB WILHEL GRAPHER EO CHOR RAPOO ER O B THA IGN G DES LIGHTIN ANDALL NR DECLA

ATOR -ORDIN ME CO U T S O C N MATHE E TOW IRENE Y SPAC B D E T PRESEN NT AINME NS ENTER T ER RENDITIO C U D O R P S CTION PRODU SLEY I E R PULAN CAST P AGAE, Y E N E CHW ISSA IS, MEL TIRETSE JANTJE ON , A IZ IK ALALA MATSH A, SELLO ZIK S T E MANY

‘… based on the speeches of Thabo Mbeki, deputy to Nelson Mandela… and his successor as head of state. …this company performs with an intensity that demonstrates their commitment to this warts and all presentation of a figure overshadowed by his noble predecessor.’ BRITISH THEATRE GUIDE

‘I loved getting a window on a world and a story I don’t know much about.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ‘I thought the production was excellent and I liked the dancing especially.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER  

‘In a nutshell, I would say that Rhetorical is an engaging, humorous, fresh, black South African view of itself and the world. The thing about this play is that it is largely experimental, and the Brits know less about Mbeki than they do about Mandela, so I think it’ll certainly be of interest. They might not get every reference in the play, but let’s see!’ MPUMELELO PAUL GROOTBOOM ON ‘RHETORICAL’

24

25

October 2014 : Rhetorical

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


ON RADIO AND TV

4 1 0 2 D r e O b O o t W E Oc L T IT

L N A JO

ON THE SOUTH BANK ‘WE LOVE JOAN’ Jude Kelly in discussion with Murray Melvin, Erica Whyman, Paulette Randall and Caroline Bird at South Bank Centre. 4 Oct 2014

ARY

N CENTE

ts to f even of o r a e er le y A who te the moth a celebr atre n The 2014) Moder 6 Oct 1914 – (6 Oct

IN PRINT ‘REMEMBERING JOAN LITTLEWOOD’ Platform at National Theatre with Peter Rankin, Murray Melvin and Stella Duffy, chaired by Sue MacGregor. Followed by book-signing of ‘Joan Littlewood: Dreams and Realities’, the official biography by Peter Rankin. 30 Sep 2014

ON FIRST-CLASS POST Royal Mail First-class stamp and special postmark. March and 6-11 Oct 2014

Celebrating the life of Joan Littlewood Remarkable Lives Stamps 1914-2002

Joan Littlewood featured on Royal Mail’s ‘Remarkable Lives’ stamps set issued in March, honouring individuals who have made a significant contribution to UK life. Royal Mail issued a special postmark to commemorate the centenary of the birth of Joan Littlewood - the postmark appeared on mail delivered nationwide from Mon 6 Oct (the date she was born) to Sat 11 Oct 2014.

‘Joan Littlewood is the reason why London is still one of the most famous cities in the world for theatre. Along with the architect Cedric Price, who she developed the idea of the Fun Palace with, she has inspired me as both a theatre director and a creative artistic director. We have a lot to thank her for, I do particularly. She was an incredible woman – full of determination and commitment and great theatre artistry, and it’s extremely apt that we are creating a Fun Palace at Southbank Centre, one of Joan’s key inspirations, this weekend.’ JUDE KELLY, SOUTHBANK CENTRE’S ARTISTIC DIRECTOR

‘the most galvanising director in mid-20th century Britain.’ PETER BROOK

ON THE UNDERGROUND ‘The Palace That Joan Built’ by Mel Brimfield and Gwyneth Herbert Art on the Underground commission and performance at Stratford Station. 4 Oct 2014

‘one of two undoubted geniuses of the post-war British theatre, the other being Peter Brook.’ SIR PETER HALL ‘Joan Littlewood brought theatre to the people of east London and revolutionised the international theatre landscape with her bold and powerful productions. She was an inspiration to many and it’s important that we recognise the significance of her work...’ KERRY MICHAEL, ARTISTIC DIRECTOR, THEATRE ROYAL STRATFORD EAST

‘This was totally amazing. We transformed a dull concourse in to an Artists arena that allowed the station to ‘dance’ in a way never seen before. Seeing the smiles across the gathered customers was a pure joy.’ SIMON GROVE (POSTED ON ART ON THE UNDERGROUND WEBSITE) ‘Wow! Wow! Wow! Knocked out by it all... A joy to see the people’s faces as they came off of the trains and stopped to be entertained… I have paid a lot of money and not had the kind of experience I had on Saturday. Fun exciting, exhilarating… Makes you feel good to be alive doesn’t it?’ BERYL RICHES (POSTED ON ART ON THE UNDERGROUND WEBSITE)

26

27

October 2014 : Joan Littlewood Centenary

‘Archive on 4: Joan Littlewood and the People’s Theatre’ Sir Richard Eyre pays tribute (BBC Radio 4, 27 Sep 14). ‘Sunday Feature: The Gospel According to Joan’ Joan remembered by those who knew her (BBC Radio 3, 26 Oct 14). ‘The Mother of Modern Theatre’ hosted by Catherine Tate (BBC Radio 2, 10 Nov 14) ‘Oh What a Lovely War’ Recorded at Theatre Royal Stratford East (BBC Radio 2, 14 Nov 14). ‘Artsnight’ Maxine Peak on revolutionary voices (BBC TV, 6 Mar 15).

ACROSS THE UK FUN PALACES 138 Fun Palaces across the UK and beyond to mark Joan’s Centenary – free and fun! 4 & 5 OCT 2014. ‘Choose what you want to do... dance, talk or be lifted up to where you can see how other people make things work. Sit out over space with a drink and tune in to what’s happening elsewhere in the city. Try starting a riot or beginning a painting – or just lie back and stare at the sky.’ JOAN LITTLEWOOD AND CEDRIC PRICE (ON THEIR VISION FOR THE FUN PALACE) ‘Fun Palaces is more than just a celebration of an extraordinary individual. It’s a national campaign that shouts, sings, shimmies, stomps from the rooftops: arts and culture are a crucial part of human life, and they are truly, truly glorious. Let’s make sure they belong to everyone.’ STELLA DUFFY, FUN PALACES’ CO-DIRECTOR ‘We believe in the genius in everyone, that everyone is an artist and everyone a scientist, and that arts and sciences can change the world for the better. We believe we can do this together, locally, with radical fun – and that anyone, anywhere, can make a Fun Palace.’ THE FUN PALACES MANIFESTO (WWW.FUNPALACES.CO.UK) ‘Yesterday was a very silly day. I wore a cape in public, had a sing off… which I know my side won, walked around with a balloon on my head, told a story and received a cake as an award, talked about changing the world and plenty more silly things. I think we should do this fun palace thing every month…’ ANGELA FROST (ON THEATRE ROYAL STRATFORD EAST’S FUN PALACE)

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


rt : Robe Credit Photo

Day

L A 4 C 1 I 0 S 2 U r e N M b m FUSIO E N e O H v C E, T No L JUDIC LF E E R P D , CE SE FI N I E H T

A R OUT R TO BE YOU B A L A S MUSICALLY MEAN W E N EDGY HAT IT RE W AND LYRICS ast ted by Stratford E n e s e r P al re Roy avid Theat han D t E d n rvi and A v 2014 o – 14 N 3 Oct

IGNER G DES LIGHTIN DWELL E CLARK LA PHIL G NER ED D IG N S E A D K ER , BOO SOUND ION DESIGN WRITER DDIEL JECT A O B R HAI P ID DAV OJA G RAKER TOR PO OSSER ICK ST OSER N P C D E E H M IR O O D V C C NT NN BARON TERIAL ASSISTA DIRECTOR A EOU, ERRAN R G D L MA IN N A T A S N A R EV IO DAVID L C T ALEXANDE ADDIT E OOD, K N A W A H H Y T R IC E S A A M D G C Y , , IN R L L V L R KE AR L RSHA W PAU ECTOR BADDIE AR, ANDRE MELANIE MA DAVID CO-DIR A ANW , R N IN O T R M IA E C , K E N N R IR LIN O O IG R S S -D E S E S CO ED VEN IE MA OSTUM MELAN ATHWAL, STE PINELLI, SET & C NES L AN DA M STEE AR SIOBH AL, LIN NICK B GRAPHER LIA DAVE IT D N O A E R B R CHO ERVISO MAR TIN AL SUP RYAN H MUSIC ON IT M S ATT IX MIKE D DIRECTOR M AL IC S U M

‘One would have to have a humour bypass not to laugh.’ EVENING STANDARD

‘Witty, cheeky, hilarious… A MUST SEE SHOW.’

‘Great story, very funny and up-lifing. Superior production.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ‘It was very, very funny.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

PUBLIC REVIEWS ‘The Infidel, a brilliantly clever play, was brilliantly interpreted by Jacqui Beckford, my wonderful BSL interpreter…’ HERBERT KLEIN

‘So good I saw it twice in two weeks. Best show I’ve ever seen.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER

‘A FEEL-GOOD CRACKER. You’d have to be cynical to leave with anything less than a big grin.’ THE INDEPENDENT ‘Genuinely first-class, risqué, laugh-a-minute theatre at its best.’ DIGITAL SPY

‘This is the sort of show only Stratford East can do and it’s what they’ve always done. It’s in the spirit of Joan Littlewood – populist, irreverent, a little bit shocking with an important message.’ TWITTER The Sunday Express The Observer The Jewish Chronicle Public Reviews

28

29

November 2014 : The Infidel

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


Sponsored by

‘full of fun and invention… a riotous musical pageant.’ THE TELEGRAPH ‘a romantic magical musical whirlwind. I loved it.’ AFRIDIZIAK

‘this classic story is one to watch this Christmastime, oh yes it is.’

‘Our whole party of 14 thoroughly enjoyed it and we liked the alternative take on the character of the beast...’ AUDIENCE MEMBER  

Credit Photo

rt : Robe

Day

East ted by tford a r t S Presen l a re Roy 5 Theat an 201 – 17 J 2014 29 Nov

‘I loved it….brilliant for children of all ages and adults too.’

ECTOR NT DIR ASSISTA E KLUDJE EIN T MADEL ULTAN RICS Y L CONS D N IC A G K A O M E O S , ,B PENRO ROWN WRITER TT I SCOTT YSON AVA-B S IRE IA KEM N L O L T A N PAUL S MUSIC/LYRIC ELIUS T A S , A O C L L L L M S, CAVA , JORE WRITER UNES, PERRY AMELIA ELEN ALUKO N ID NCE E E H R R , U R N WAYNE E A W LL, L COK HAW, TOR DA TOR -KAMA ER TENS IC B F DIREC L C IF E E A O IR H C D, AL D GE, MIC OGAR MUSIC EGOR ALDRID TEL, RALPH B SIGNER E ACGR D M A E P N IA TUM MINAL SHTON TTE & COS I A HARLO STAGE MAN VLACH MERARIES C R A E IR N T Y IG L S L N E E U N B D N E J E CAMP SUPER OSTUM IS IRIS R, SET & C RSBY PLATER W, PAR A GREGO NES L ID C V A A A B M D IE U R N T T E N IA A N E H IG BAND WAYN G DES ELIUS, M LIGHTIN GRAPHER Y R D R PE SOUN EO CHOR MJANI, A KHA H E S K A R T NA CLA ER, ED DESIGN

30

THE WHARF ‘Stratford East’s annual panto feast is as delicious as ever.’ A YOUNGER THEATRE

‘The magic of Christmas at its best.’

IC

LASS C S S E IMEL

THE T F O N RSIO

W VE E N G NTIN ENCHA

‘Paul Sirett’s quirky, clever version of the much-loved classic is fantastic.’

AUDIENCE MEMBER

T S A E B E H T D Dec N A Y T U BEA 4 1 0 2 r embe

WHATSONSTAGE.COM

‘The Theatre Royal team has done it again! Bravo!’ BRITISH THEATRE GUIDE

LONDON THEATRE ‘An inventive adaptation with a great original score.’ THE STAGE

‘I’m in my fifties and have seen dozens of pantomimes over the years and this was easily the best. My 11 – and 16 – year old children loved it too. The panto is quirky, pacy, very funny and has lots of modern touches…’ TIME OUT

31

December 2014 : Beauty and The Beast

London Theatre Afridiziak The Telegraph Whatsonstage.com The Wharf

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


An Evening with Stratford East Singers Sponsored by

5 1 0 2 y H r a T I u n W Ja G N I N

AS SEEN ON

‘X FACTOR’!

E T V S E A E AN TFORD A R T S S R E SING

‘Stratford East Singers - the official singing group of Theatre Royal Stratford East - have had a fantastic and busy year. In April, they performed some of their amazing repertoire at the opening of Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park and were part of the Southbank Choir Festival on the same day (!); they were invited to support Fleur East and Ben Haenow on The X-Factor in November; and they produced and performed in their own concert, An Evening with Stratford East Singers, on our main stage in January.

CHOIR Y T I N U COMMGE. N W STA ERY O OUR V THE MAIN ECTOR VE DIR TAKES CREATI st ted by ord Ea f n t e a s r e t r P al S re Roy Theat

BYRON

GOLD

2015 14 Jan

The Stratford East Singers have regularly performed at Theatre Royal Stratford East’s Annual Briefings and were also invited to perform at East London Dance’s production of The River, held over a weekend at Canary Wharf (also part of the Big Dance Week). As well as all this, they also gave up their time to take part in a local charity event that was raising money for the completion of a Health Centre in Tanzania.

Stratford East Singers are made up of all ages and abilities. Led by recording artist Byron Gold, the group meets every Wednesday 7pm – 9.30pm at Theatre Royal Stratford East. If you know anyone who would like to join, please do pass on our email address: ses@stratfordeast.com. A big thank you to Byron Gold, our Creative Director for the Choir, all the Singers for their continued commitment, to our Project Assistants Abena Adofo and Wenona Ellie and to everyone at the Theatre for their continued support.’ Dawn Reid, Deputy Artistic Director, Theatre Royal Stratford East

‘It is not how we sing that is the primary concentration, it is WHY we sing!’ BYRON GOLD, CREATIVE DIRECTOR

32

33

January 2015 : An evening with Stratford East Singers

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


NOLD JIM AR CTOR E STING IR A D G ILION C A CASTIN A P OR PIP AN CDG F TE DIRECTOR ERS JO IA IS C V E O S D L / AS MAN HER WRITER OD’S MUSICA T IE LARS OREOGRAP H A P H O O S W W H H C O E T LITTLE T N IA TRE AINME ASSOC INS-PROWSE Y THEA ENTER T SIGNER WAR B ES CHILTON, Y EW L Y L L E E EO DE K V ID L V R E A A LO T S H R IA C IZA EMBE ARCUS SHOP, ASSOC ELLA R ON, M B AND M ITLE S WORK S T, N E H L IN F L O F RA ST. T LEO F LEY J ARD GERRY RIGINAL CA ICE BA I, RICH W O AST AL EX GIANNIN LEN L E C HE T A H T T D A F E T O OD, M RD, AL ED BY O A T H L S L E E N ROW, E G R SUG S, LAUR LIAM OXBO E DVISER V A A AST, Y L R G HER NDERG SE, WIL MILITA D FLETC OHNSON LTHOU RK PRE PHER N A A O M M , M S RAY ISTO RRY J PETER N, CHR D TOR TE ERSTON AL WENDI INGTO DIREC BROTH D AR IC S S D E W E U L D R M R E D IAN U WOO SLEY, E L DESIGN RATIONS AN N B , S ROS O ILLIER EST IKE DIX MMA C WAR T ORCH ITE V INGS E TE ISION M OR PETER WH S W V S IL R E E P N SU HAM EILLY, PAGE IRECT R E D N N L E, GRA AH BOWLER, A N A IT D Y H W T R R E N MUSIC GRAPHER L T PE L PYA TIN, SA EO BAND ER PAU N MAR N R A CHOR E Y IG K R S L , E A GD EW JUSTIN COTT LIGHTIN ESIGNER MIK RRIET S D A D H N U O S ER DESIGN LLOWAY VIDEO GA M IA L IL W N IA

‘Johnson’s production has heart and soul and rightly restores a classic for a new generation.’

NOMINEE

‘OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN AN AFFILIATE THEATRE’ LAURENCE OLIVIER AWARDS 2014

THE GUARDIAN ‘A classic for a new generation.’ GUARDIAN

OH WHAT A LOVELY WAR NATIONAL TOUR:

‘Arguably the greatest achievement of Joan Littlewood’s Stratford Eastbased Theatre Workshop... ‘Oh What a Lovely War’ amuses, inspires, entertains and enflames.’ MUSICAL THEATRE REVIEW

MALVERN THEATRES 16 – 21 FEBRUARY 2015 OPERA HOUSE MANCHESTER 24 – 28 FEBRUARY 2015 CAMBRIDGE ARTS THEATRE 2 – 7 MARCH 2015 THEATRE ROYAL, BATH 9 – 14 MARCH 2015 PRINCESS THEATRE, TORQUAY 17 – 21 MARCH 2015 YVONNE ARNAUD THEATRE, GUILDFORD 23 – 28 MARCH 2015

R 5 A 1 0 W 2 Y y L RIOR r P E a E M V u O O L RNS H U Febr T E A R AT USICAL H W H O

RICHMOND THEATRE 10 – 14 FEBRUARY 2015

BELGRADE THEATRE, COVENTRY 30 MARCH – 4 APRIL 2015 THEATRE ROYAL, BRIGHTON 7 – 11 APRIL 2015 LEICESTER CURVE 13 – 18 APRIL 2015 AYLESBURY WATERSIDE THEATRE 28 APRIL – 2 MAY 2015 BIRMINGHAM REP THEATRE 5 – 9 MAY 2015

CM

NI ’S ICO D O O R ITTLEW L N A L TOU A JO N O I T TO NA hew

Daily Telegraph The Times Evening Standard Financial Times Whatsonstage.com The Guardian Musical Theatre Review

att and M ion with d y o l L at Judy associ rk and n i l l e a Mitch irvish & M he M sent t st e d r i p n Dav a Ea l Norm l Stratford y r e h C a re Roy Theat ion ct Produ 2015 b – 7 Fe 29 Jan

34

35

February 2015 : Oh What a Lovely War

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


‘Mark Monero is absolutely exceptional.’ THE INDEPENDENT

: Credit Photo Day Robert

5 1 0 2 March NE

O G I T AN

D AN ANSION B R U VER LING THRIL EMPORARY CCLAIMED CONT PHOCLES’ A OF SO CLASSIC GREEK eatre,

‘Fast, racy… the play lives, disturbs and moves audiences.’ WHATSONSTAGE

S ILLIAM Y NUTTGENS ROY W D R N E A IT S R W SIC AL MU ROMER R S U C ORIGIN R E A COTCH RA STAFFORD TOR M DIREC NNA S D A N O A J ER LEX DESIGN DESIGNER A Y NUTTGENS D G N Y LIGHTIN ESIGNER SA ELLERB L, D TOM B DA THIE S, IE SOUND TE DIRECTOR R F , K E C M O A T IA J S , LUKE ASSOC REEN BLACK OMAS NNAH H A O T V D D A T Y S S CA ON, E, LLO R WILS A COL , OLIVE AGAR GAMB O R E N S MO EAN MARK URD, S ON-LIB GORD

ANTIGONE

‘An epic Greek tragedy given an accessible urban treatment that loses none of its original power.’

LIVE-STREAMED ONLINE AT FINAL PERFORMANCE!

t Th y Pilo b d e t Presen heatre and East T tford a r t S Derby l a re Roy Theat 15

THE STAGE

‘A powerful synthesis between a great, ancient work and a very contemporary problem.’ FINANCIAL TIMES

ar 20 – 14 M b e F 19

‘This is the theatre that should be being made – telling important, timeless stories in new ways, to appeal to new audiences, but also helping old audiences discover something different in a two thousand year old story, on a Tuesday night in a beautiful theatre in Stratford.’ THEATREFULLSTOP

‘Thrilling... direct, of the street, dangerous at times poetic.’ THE BIG ISSUE ‘Really impressed… the performance captured the sense of the original whilst making it meaningful for a modern audience.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER ‘Funny, gritty and moving. An excellent modern twist on a Greek classic.’ AUDIENCE MEMBER   ‘Fantastic – great acting from a stellar cast!’ AUDIENCE MEMBER    

‘A great cast keep up the pace and humour, especially Mark Monero as a cockerel-like Creo and Gamba Cole as his wretched son, fiercely in love with Savannah GordonLiburd’s fine Antigone. Doreene Blackstock is excellent as Creo’s wife Eunice.’ TIME OUT

36

37

March 2015 : Antigone

The Big Issue Theatrefullstop The Stage Whatsonstage The Independent

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


E L P O PE

EN

M

P IT HAP G N I AK

Joanna Woodward (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) John Olohan (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) ACTORS John Omole Alex Giannini (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) (Angelic Tales: ‘Jamaica Boy’) Alexander Andreou (‘The Infidel’) Jorell Coiffic-Kamall (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Alice Bailey Johnson (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Kemi Lofinmakin (Angelic Tales: ‘Sunday’) Allyson Ava-Brown (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Kev Orkian (‘The Infidel’) Amelia Cavallo Lauren Hood (‘Beauty and the Beast’) (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Andrew Paul (‘The Infidel’) Laurence Aldridge (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Antonia Kemi Coker (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Lloyd Thomas (‘Antigone’) Ashley Chin (‘Kingston 14’) Lorna Gayle ( Angelic Tales: ‘Sunday’) Bleu Woodward (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Luke James (‘Antigone’) Brian Bovell (‘Kingston 14’) Lynette Linton (Angelic Tales: ‘Acceptable Damage’) Carla Harrison Hodge (Angelic Tales: ‘Sweatin’it Out’)     Marcus Ellard (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Caroline Parker (Angelic Tales: Marcus Griffiths ‘Acceptable Damage’) (Angelic Tales: ‘Jamaica Boy’) Charles Venn (‘Kingston 14’) Mark Arden Charlotte Law (Supernumerary, (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Mark Monero (‘Antigone’) Christopher Ryan (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Mark Prendergast (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Christopher Villiers (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Matthew Malthouse (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Dan Reilly (Swing, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Melanie Marshall (‘The Infidel’) Daniel York Melanie Masson (‘The Infidel’) (Angelic Tales: ‘Jamaica Boy’) Michael Bertenshaw Derek Elroy (‘Kingston 14’) (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Mina Anwar (‘The Infidel’) Doreen Blackstock (‘Antigone’) Minal Patel Elinor Machen-Fortune (Angelic Tales: ‘Acceptable Damage’) (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Emma Crossley Mojisola Adebayo (Swing, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) (Angelic Tales: ‘Sunday’) Franklin Nwaokolo Natalia Hinds (Angelic Tales: ‘Jamaica Boy’) (Supernumerary, ‘Kingston 14’) Nathan Bryon Frieda Thiel (‘Antigone’) (Angelic Tales: ‘Acceptable Damage’) Gabriel Quigley (‘Spoiling’) Richard Clements (‘Spoiling’) Neil Stewart (Swing, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Gamba Cole (‘Antigone’, ‘Kingston 14’) Nick Korsa (Angelic Tales: ‘Sweatin’it Out’) Gary Kemp (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Nicola Taylor |(Angelic Tales: Gary Watson ‘Sunday’) (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Oliver Wilson (‘Antigone’) Gary Wood (‘The Infidel’) Oscar Porter Brentford (Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! Gavin McClusky (Angelic Tales: ‘Acceptable Damage’) Wild Nights!’) Goldie (‘Kingston 14’) Paris Iris Campbell (Supernumerary, Harriet Catchpole (Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! ‘‘Beauty and the Beast’) Wild Nights!’) Paris Robin (Angelic Tales: ‘Sweatin’it Out’) Helen Aluko (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Presley Chweneyagae (‘Rhetorical’) Ian Reddington (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Pulani Jantjeis (‘Rhetorical’) Melissa Matshikiza (‘Rhetorical’) Jed Forrest (Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! Ontiretse Manyetsa (‘Rhetorical’) Wild Nights!’) Sello Zikalala (‘Rhetorical’) Jessie Wallace Ralph Bogard ( (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Jo Castleton Reena Lalbihari (Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! (Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! Wild Nights!’) Wild Nights!’)

Richard Glaves (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Ruth Alfie Adams (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Ryan Molloy (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Sarah Middleton (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Savannah Gordon-Liburd (‘Antigone’) Sean Sagar (‘Antigone’) Siobhan Athwal (‘The Infidel’) Stanley Eldridge (Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! Wild Nights!’) Stefan Booth (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Stephen Hoo (Angelic Tales: ‘Jamaica Boy’) Steven Serlin (‘The Infidel’) Stevie Hutchinson (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Suzie Chard (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Tom Ross-Williams (Angelic Tales: ‘Sweatin’it Out’) Toyin Alase (Angelic Tales: ‘Sunday’) Trevor Laird (‘Kingston 14’) Tyson Oba (‘Kingston 14’) Vivien Carter (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Vlach Ashton (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Wendi Peters (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Will Barton (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) William Oxborrow (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Yvonne Gidden (Angelic Tales: ‘Jamaica Boy’) ARTISTIC ASSOCIATES Fred Carl (US) John Gordon (Team Angelica) Matthew Xia Rikki Beadle-Blair (Team Angelica) Robert Lee (US) ULTZ BAR PERFORMERS Alan Weekes Allyson Ava Brown Andy Mitchell Best of Newham Byron Gold Claire Woods Clarity Vocals Darren Hart/Hartman’s House Deborah Carew DJ Funky Dee DJ Gilly DJ Hughie DJ Joe Grimes DJ Lok DJ Sparky B DJ T-Spark Esta B Daley Gemma Salter Kat Francois/Word4word Lauren Dalrymple Lex Cameron Trio Limelight Sessions

Michelle Augustin Trio Mighty Dukes Mister J Red Carpet Rivershaw Sheryl Mehmet Tina T & Simply Smooth Wayne & Perry Wayne Hernandez Will Morgan BAR PRODUCERS Abena Adofo Clarity Vocals Darren Hart Kat Francois Sharleen Fulgence BOARD OF DIRECTORS Andrew Cowan Carol Lake (Chair) Clare Evans Derek Joseph Hazel Province Jane Storie Jo Melville Lady Stratford Mark Pritchard Michael Eboda Paul O’Leary (Vice Chair) Sabine Vinck CASTING Ann Vosser (‘The Infidel’) Jim Arnold CDG for Pippa Ailion Casting (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) CHOREOGRAPHERS Kelly Ewins-Prowse (Associate Choreographer, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Liam Steel (‘The Infidel’) Lynne Page (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Natasha Khamjani (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Nathan M Wright (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Thabo Rapoo (‘Rhetorical’) COMPOSERS/LYRICISTS Danny Krass (Composer, ‘Spoiling’) David Baddiel (Lyrics, ‘The Infidel’) Erran Baron Cohen (Composer, ‘The Infidel’) Lionel Bart (Music and Lyrics, ‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Perry Melius (Music/Lyrics, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Sandy Nuttgens (Original Music, ‘Antigone’) Wayne Nunes (Music/Lyrics, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) DESIGNERS Alexandra Stafford (Lighting Designer, ‘Antigone’) Anthony Lamble (Designer, ‘Spoiling’) Colin Grenfell (Lighting Designer, ‘Spoiling’)

38

Danny Krass (Sound Designer, ‘Spoiling’) Bella Riza (Associate Video Designer, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Ben Ormerod (Lighting Designer, ‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Bill Dudley (Set Designer, ‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) David Plater (Lighting Designer, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Declan Randall (Lighting Designer, ‘Rhetorical’) Dick Straker (Projection Designer, ‘The Infidel’) Ed Clarke (Sound Designer, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Ed Clarke (Sound Designer, ‘The Infidel’) Gareth Owen (Sound Designer, ‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Hattie Barsby (Set & Costume Designer, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Ian William Galloway (Video Designer, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Irene Mathe (Costume Co-ordinator, Rhetorical’) Jenny Tiramani (Stage & Costume Designer, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Jo Joelson (Lighting Designer, ‘Kingston 14’) Joanna Scotcher (Designer, ‘Antigone’) Leo Flint (Associate Video Designer, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Les Brotherston (Designer, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Mike Walker (Sound Designer, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Nick Barnes (Set & Costume Designer, ‘The Infidel’) Paul Pyant (Lighting Designer, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Phil Gladwell (Lighting Designer, ‘The Infidel’) Richard Hammarton (Sound Designer, ‘Kingston 14’) Sadeysa Greenaway-Bailey (Associate Designer, ‘Kingston 14’) Sandy Nuttgens (Sound Designer, ‘Antigone’) ULTZ (Stage & Costume Designer, ‘Kingston 14’) Wilhelm Disbergen (Set Designer, ‘Rhetorical’) DIRECTORS Adam Lenson (Associate Director, ‘Fings Aint Wot The Used T’Be’) Andy McNamee (Assistant Director, ‘Spoiling’) Clint Dyer (Director, ‘Kingston 14’) David Baddiel (Co-Director, ‘The Infidel’)

39

Dawn Reid (Director, Angelic Tales: ‘Sunday’, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Kerry Michael (Co-Director, ‘The Infidel’) Madeleine Kludje (Assistant Director, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Marcus Romer (Director, ‘Antigone’) Mpumelelo Paul Grootboom (Director, ‘Rhetorical’) Orla O’Loughlin (Director, ‘Spoiling’) Pooja Ghai (Assistant Director, ‘The Infidel’) Rikki Beadle-Blair (Director, Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! Wild Nights!’, ‘Acceptable Damage’, ‘Sweating it Out’, ‘Jamaica Boy’) Sophie Larsman (Associate Director, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Stephen Macaulay (Assistant Director, ‘Kingston 14’) Terry Johnson (Director, ‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Tom Bellerby (Associate Director, ‘Antigone’) FIGHT DIRECTOR Alison de Burgh (‘Kingston 14’) INTERNATIONAL CONNECTIONS Festival Internacional de Cenas em Casa, Brazil Tisch School, New York MAGIC CONSULTANT Scott Penrose (‘Beauty and the Beast’) MUSICAL DIRECTORS Barney Ashworth (Associate Musical Director, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Byron Gold (Stratford East Singers) Elliot Davis (Musical Director/ Script Adaptation/Arrangements, ‘Fings Aint Wot Theu Used T’Be’) Ian MacGregor (Musical Director, ‘Beauty and the Beast’) Joe Louis Robinson (Assistant Musical Director, ‘Fings Aint Wot Theu Used T’Be’) Matt Smith (Musical Director, ‘The Infidel’) Mike Dixon (Musical Supervisor, ‘The Infidel’) Mike Dixon (Orchestrations and Musical Supervision, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Peter White (Musical Director, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) MUSICIANS Bryan Smith (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Dave Ital (‘The Infidel’) Graham Justin (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Harriet Scott (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Ian MacGregor (‘Beauty and the Beast’)

Annual Review 2014/15 : People making it happen

Jake Newman (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Joe Louis Robinson (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Linda Pinelli (‘The Infidel’) Perry Melius (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Peter White (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Ryan Martin (‘The Infidel’, ‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Sarah Bowler (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) Tom Clare (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Wayne Nunes (‘Beauty and the Beast’) PARTNERS Art on the Underground Arts Council England Arvind Ethan David Audiences London Barbican Birkbeck, University of London Create Derby Theatre Elliot Davis, Paul Tyler & Jamie Clark and Rose Povey Fun Palaces Garrick Club Judy Lloyd and Matthew Mitchell, David Mirvisch & Mark and Cheryl Norman Ken Hill Trust London Borough of Newham Lyric Hammersmith National Theatre of Scotland Newham Chamber of Commerce Pachamama Productions Pilot Theatre Playful Productions Reading University Space Town Entertainment Stratford Circus Stratford Renaissance Partnership Stratford Rising Team Angelica Traverse Theatre Triforce Promotions Zupakat Productions PHOTOGRAPHERS Jane Hobson John Hyam Johnny Munday Nobby Clark Robert Day Sharron Wallace PROFESSIONAL ADVISORS Kingston Smith (Auditors) Linda Potter at Wrightsure Services Ltd Maria Maltby at Wilkins Kennedy LLP Neil Adleman at Harbottle & Lewis LLP SIGN LANGUAGE INTERPRETERS Ali Pottinger Sula Gleeson Vikki Gee Dare STAFF Aaron Dinnall Front of House Aaron James Bar Staff Adam Llyod Bar Staff

Alexander Livermore-Marshall Front of House Ali Fellows General Manager Alison Pottinger Deputy Stage Manager Altan Reyman Deputy Stage Manager Amaryllis Courtney Box Office Assistant Amber O’Brien Front of House Amy Bridges Front of House Ana Gizelda Burke Box Office Assistant Andrew Gene Front of House Andrew Gene Front of House Angela Frost Box Office Manager Anushka Tay Wardrobe Manager   Asha Bhatti Box Office Assistant Asma Hussain Development Manager Bérengère Ariaudo De Castelli Box Office Assistant Beryl Warner Box Office Supervisor Bridget Dube Front of House Carolina Artegiani Development Administrator Caroline Wilson Front of House Charles Leanson Front of House Charlotte Mayhew Follow-spot Operator Chris Murray Deputy Head of Electrics, Senior Technician(sound) Chris Musgrave Production Manager Christine Matando Front of House CJ Mitchell Deputy Stage Manager Cleo Maynard Assistant Stage Manager Corinne Linton Front of House Darren Spencer Building Maintenance Technician Dawn Reid Deputy Artistic Director Declan Pollock (Interim) Head of Finance Ed Parry Costume Supervisor Edoardo Mulato Bar Staff, Kitchen Staff Elinor Jones Finance Officer (maternity leave) Elizabeth Acquah Domestic Assistant Emily Samways Front of House Emmanuel Akwafo Front of House Eyesha Mingo Box Office Assistant Fabian Spencer Front of House Manager Felix Mussell Press and Marketing Manager Genevieve Smithson Front of House Glen Edwards Bar Staff, Kitchen Staff Grace Hall Front of House Graeme Bright, MBII Building and Facilities Manager/DPS Haarus Shah Front of House Hannah Pharoah Bar Staff Hassan Efoloko Bar Staff Heather Walker Front of House Holly Cooper Front of House Holly Mallett Bar Staff Holly Owst Wardrobe Manager Itoya Osagiede Front of House Iuliana Toma Bar Staff, Domestic Assistant

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


Jake Orr Freelance Digital Communications Officer Jamaal Norman (maternity cover for Iuliana Toma) Domestic Assistant Jan Sharkey-Dodds Head of Young People’s Work Jen Davey Deputy Stage Manager Jenna Theodore Community Arts Apprentice Jess Glaisher Lighting Programmer/Op Jessica Carroll Front of House Jordanna Phillips Front of House Julie Lee Box Office Assistant Karen Fisher Associate Producer Karen Taylor Bar Staff Karlos Coleman Project Manager Katie Aldous Wardrobe Manager, Dresser Kemisha Plummer Box Office Assistant Kerry Michael Artistic Director Krystal Popo Front of House Kyle MacPherson Head of Electrics Lara Perez Urriza Bar Staff Laure Liarcou Bar Staff Laurie Ann Anderson Bar Staff Leanda Linton Bar and Front of House Manager Lee Henderson General Manager Leeam Francis Front of House Leighton Lewis Bar and Catering Manager Lenox Kambaba Front of House Leonard Headlam Bar Staff, Kitchen Staff Liyah Summers Front of House Lizzie Chapman Stage Manager Lois-Ann Messiah Kitchen Staff Luke Derbyshire Front of House Luke Elmes Bar Staff Luke Simpson Bar Staff Lynsey Murdoch Digital Officer and Admin Assistant (Oh What A Lovely War National Schools’ Programme) Manjit Kaur Babbra Domestic Assistant Marcin Zawistowski Bar Supervisor Marie Costa Prop Buyer, Stage Manager Marius Rønning Production Manager Marjorie Walcott Domestic Assistant Marta Noguera-Cuevas Front of House Mary Caws Executive Director Mary Ling Assistant Archivist Matt Fletcher Community Arts Apprentice Matt Fletcher Technical Apprentice Maya Crute-jones Front of House Michael Salami Front of House Miguel Figueiredo Lighting Technician Monique Springer Marketing Assistant Murray Melvin Theatre Archivist Dawn Reid Deputy Artistic Director Mutsa Mandeya Bar Staff Natasha Freeman Costume Supervisor Natasha Gooden Deputy Stage Manager Oyin Balogun Front of House Paul Canova Head of Finance Peter Rodriguez Bar Staff Phil Smith Head of Finance Pravie Maharaj Bar Team leader

Rachael Pierre Front of House Renu Mehto Bar Staff, Front of House, Kitchen Staff, Development Administrator (Interim) Richard Bullimore Production Manager Richard Parr Head of Stage, Production Manager, technical Manager Rickie Leyton Front of House Rita Mishra Assistant to Artistic Director Robert Eames Front of House Rose-Marie Christian Front of House Rupert Drew Bar Staff Russeni Fisher Front of House Ryan Bradley Bar Staff Sally Goldsmith Director of Development & Communications Sally Medcalf Development Administrator Shawab Iqbal Producer Sarah Buik Company & Stage Manager Saunvedan Aparanti Freelance Digital Officer Serena B. Robins Project Manager, Schools and Colleges; Schools’ Partnership Manager Sherain Watson Community Arts Apprentice Shreya Ukil Front of House Sibhatlab Kesete (maternity cover for Elinor Jones) Finance Officer Simon Sturgess Production Manager Stuart Saunders IT Systems Manager Surenee Chan Somchit Assistant Stage Manager Sydney Weise Bar Staff, Kitchen Staff Tamimma Kirk Dresser Tanoh Danso Front of House Thalia Remy Administration Assistant Tim Trotman Stage Technician Titilayo Onanuga Finance Officer Tosin Alabi Front of House Tre Ramos Front of House Trina Keane Head of Marketing Unique Spencer Bar Staff Vee Kim Front of House Velma Fontaine Operations Coordinator William Humphrey Chef STRATFORD EAST SINGERS Abena Adofo Abigail Asante Anna Anderson Anne McCarthy Amanda Murphy Amer Saad Angel Morrison Angela Tuliyama Ann Pe-Win Anne McCarthy Annica Babla Anita Ranieri Antoinette Brown Ashley Moise Asmita Naik Beatrice Owusu-Ansah Bernadette Lewin Beulah Edwards

Brain O’Flynn Barbara Phillips Bunmi Ayeni Carla Lowe Carmel Lewin Carol Ann White Chantal Lane Cindy Dawkins Danielle Inkster Debra Wallace David Cunningham Deborah Joesph Elieen Newman Ellie Cowan Ella Dove Emma Baker Emma Quinn Emmanuel Osunsanya Esme Clemo Falon Paris-Caines Fay Minty Frances De Azenedo Geoff Archer Gloria Bujak Hannah Smith Hellen Ecock Jacqui Adeniji-Williams Jennifer Davidson Karene Wallace Kate Fallan Katy Arnell Kathy Boone Kay Tapper Kirsty Meehan Laura Purling Lauren Haidar Lisa Taylor Maudie Wyatt Maureen Stevenson Maria Peters Mary Jones Michelle Lowe Naomi Blanche Nalika Gunarantne Nazma Chowdhury Noel Dumont Opal Bartley Patrick Mahbeer Paddy Salter Paulette Maxwell Phyllis Grant Preth Rao Radhika Bynon Rafe Smallman Rene Akinson River Shaws Robert Beber Rosemarie Collins Rosemarie Sutherland Samantha Clarke Selma Piro Sharnie Kayode Siobhan Larmond Sterre Ploeger Sue Cay Suzanne Widdup Sue Ellery Tam’ra Lee Tanya Edwards Teresa Carpenter Tom Moore Tricia Paton Wenona Elie Yvonne Wade Zhenreenah Muhxinga SUPPORTERS: Business Supporters ArcelorMittal Bloomberg

Telford Homes Altair Ltd. Attic Storage and Removals Solutions Countryside Properties Plc Devonshires Solicitors English Cities Fund Get Living London Hotel Novotel London Excel HUB Group Tate & Lyle Sugars Plc SUPPORTERS: Major Donors Scrutton Estates Ltd. The Sahara Care Charitable Trust SUPPORTERS: Pioneers Andrew Cowan Angela and Stephen Jordan Carol Lake Elizabeth and Derek Joseph Sabine Vinck And all those who wish to remain anonymous SUPPORTERS: Trusts and Foundations Esmée Fairbairn Foundation Garfield Weston Foundation Helen Hamlyn Trust Heritage Lottery Fund Jack Petchey Foundation Paul Hamlyn Foundation The Andrew Lloyd Webber Foundation The Gibbs Charitable Trust The Mackintosh Foundation The Theatres Trust We would also like to acknowledge the generous support of the Monument Trust. SUPPORTERS: The Vision Collective Amanda and James Hochman Andrew and Amanda Grenville Barbara Ferris Caroline and Charles Pridgeon Danielle Whitton Derek Paget Ed Ross Hazel Province Hedley G. Wright Jan and Bill Smith Jonathan Tyler Lady Stratford Mansell Bouquet Ltd. Murray Melvin Nick and Wendy Jakob Rachel Potts for Jon Potts Sue Fletcher Toni Palmer And all those who wish to remain anonymous WRITERS Aaron Gordon (Angelic Tales: ‘Sweating it Out’) Arvind Ethan David (Additional Material, ‘The Infidel’) Aubrey Sekhabi (Co-writer, ‘Rhetorical’) Ben Fensome (Angelic Tales: ‘Wild Nights! Wild Nights!’) David Baddiel (‘The Infidel’) Fiona Whitelaw (Angelic Tales: ‘Acceptable Damage’)

40

Frank Norman (‘Fings Aint Wot They Used T’Be’) Joan Littlewood, Theatre Workshop, Charles Chilton, Gerry Raffles and Members of the Original Cast (‘Oh What a Lovely War’) John McCann (‘Spoiling’) Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor (Angelic Tales: ‘Sunday’) Mpumelelo Paul Grootboom (Co-writer, ‘Rhetorical’) Paul Sirett (‘Beauty and the Beast’) Perry Melius (Co-writer, Beauty and the Beast’) Roy Williams (‘Kingston 14’, ‘Antigone’) Stephen Hoo (Angelic Tales: ‘Jamaica Boy’) Wayne Nunes (Co-writer, Beauty and the Beast’) YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: 5B Festival Charlie Sharpe George Hastrup Jaydee Hervey Zafran Ahmed YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Afrovibes Curtain Raiser Company Aisha Maclom Alex Jarrett Alex Uzoka Cameron Mutale Eboni Taylor Ella Catterick George Hastrup Isabel Cromwell Jamie Halliwell Jaydee Hervey Kiara Watson Kyron Marie-Freeman Marijana Lucic Otis Meyer-Romane Ryell Williams Seetal Kaur Tianna Mullings Xavier Baptise Xsara Baptise YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Antigone Festival Buxton School Adrian Sobiech Alessia Anton Avais Aziz Dante Walters Denas Kalandinas Faisal Ezat Hesham Rajeb India Odey Jada Johnson Jassira Domingo Pinto Jaychelle Smith Lauren French Lia Beg Liberty Aigbedion Lyone Ferreira De Almeida Matas Rainys Miguel Marques Natasha Moreland Priscilla Adebisi Reece Cochrane Roxana Filisan Sagal Hashi Sherlei Fernandez Sonny Krishna

41

Susan Alebiosu Victoria Rockaite Zech Lovell Lister Community School Aaliyah Amin Fowzia Ahmed Halima Hashim Kangana Parmar Parnika Digpal Tahmid Khan Umar Zainab Namatovu Zaynab Yessuff Zubayer Uddin Plashet School Group 1 Afsana Yasmin Ameerah Dalal Amira Moller Arij Khan Arooj Nasir Aysha Shahid Ayswariya Balachandran Hibo Abukar Laila Ali Leanne James Manjot Sangha Manujaa Vasikaran Mariam Malik Maryam Mohamed Mooskan Gul Nahida Khoshal Nazmin Islam Neha Rasool Rabia Qaadri Rihana Mohamed Saba Mahmood Safa Butt Shaheen Hifzulrehman Shani Douglas Sumaya Shafiq Sumayyah Islam Tasneem Ali Umma Hussain Urooj Rafiq Zaina Quadir Plashet School Group 2 Britney Tetteh Haleema Sharief Leili Azizi Mariam Shaikh Mehzabeen Hairsoo Saira Bano Sundus Ishfaq Zainab Hussain Young and Talented Ayanna Christie-Brown Bethany Knight Daniel Read Ellis George Ellis Sanderson Georgia Murphy Hannah Akhula Ignaus Smitrus Jordan Benjamin Joseph Houshah-Whitby Joseph Robinson Libby Memet Lucy Tapson Marin Distafa Nadia Elalfi Pagan Magherini Ramis Walfa Samir Sookham Sebastian Jackson Stephanie Mpiana Tracey Bello Antigone Festival Volunteers Frederick Mensah Renu Mehto Sherain Watson

Annual Review 2014/15 : People making it happen

Soraya Laville Tiana Gravillis YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Creatives and Facilitators Chairs Agbo, LAB Director Dawn Reid, NT Connections Director Erica Jeffrey, LAB Director Jan Sharkey-Dodds, LAB facilitator Karlos Coleman, Youth Theatre Director Kat Francois, Director and Mentor, Poets Platform Lynette Linton, LAB Director Serena B Robins: Antigone Festival, Producer/Dramaturg, LAB Director Suzann McLean, Youth Theatre facilitator YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Education Partners 0-19 Achievement Partner, Early Intervention and Progression, London Borough of Newham Behaviour Support & Attendance, Children & Young People’s Services, London Borough of Newham Birkbeck University of London Brampton Academy Buxton School Chobham Academy City University Cumberland School East 15 Acting School Forest Gate Community School Kingsford Community School LAMDA Langdon Academy Lister Community School Liverpool University London College of Fashion Plashet School RADA Rokeby School Rose Bruford College of Speech and Drama Royal Central School of Speech and Drama School 21 St Bonaventure’s UEL University College London University of East London Walthamstow School for Girls Wanstead High School YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: HE and FE Placements Ben Carter, LAMDA Caroline Murray, Rose Bruford College of Speech and Drama Caroline Murray, Rose Bruford College of Speech and Drama Celine Ducret, London College of Fashion Hannah Ballard, East 15 Acting School Hannah Strudwick, LAMDA Jake Mawhinney, LAMDA James Parker, East 15 Acting School James Parker, RADA Jordan Richardson, LAMDA Lola Olasimbo, Liverpool University Myles Cameron, East 15 Acting School Pete Lambie, Royal Central School

of Speech and Drama Rianna Shanice Charles, Rose Bruford College of Speech and Drama Soraya Laville, UEL YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Monologue Workshops Ahmah Johnson Alex Uzoka Andrew Keeshan Brenock O’Connor Calum Carr Edy Maniata Elin Alexander Elise-Aimee Van Den Hoek George Hastrup Ife Oyerinde William Jaydee Hervey Lamarr Nembhard Levi Low Malachi Blake Michael Bunani Owen Edmonds Peri Mcdonald-Baptiste Tiana Gravillis YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Newham Mayors Show Company Anna Johnson Ife Oyerinde William Joshua Burton Joshua Burton Olivia Ndila Olivia Ndila Sam Dunstan Stephen Teelan YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: NT Connections Youth Companies Theatre Royal Stratford East Alex Jarrett Cameron Mutale Elijah Walker Ella Catterick George Hastrup Jamie Halliwell Jaydee Hervey Johnson Faniyan Kiara Watson Kyron Marie-Freeman Marijana Lucic Marijana Lucic Munotida Chaya Otis Meyer-Romane Otis Meyer-Romane Seetal Kaur Tianna Mullings Xavier Baptise JADA Young Company Callum Popham Danny Whitelaw Elliot Stavrinou Emmanuel Olusanya Jacob Davies-Giles Maddie Stavrinou Mari Beaseley Megan Walker Sarita Aggarwal Will Causton Chobham Academy Asad Zafar Christine Bukasa Connor Ifrim James Thompson Jasmine Daoud Katie George Kevin Gropasi Lami Rosain

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


BAR AL Y O E R GS YS A ATR TIN THERIL LIS OND

f atee

T OP BA H S K R O W PUB WEDNESDAYS C I COM YS

joy.

Love

eL per com . and agar lenu ste. Sod Kugb e Bapti e Jay ena Dan comper Ath e g, per a ain and p cl com ie L an to d an m ph n an her with Ste nS arti nd os, eM rou , Gle son Rosi awner ns a id T ek, h enu edia eC , Dav ia Mal ial m com Dav han spec , Dal est ona ncis, our eb kM Shaw att Fra th m ic y t o n u fr atr Gar ,M ko atio two d, P cy, za r ar ir in form Chec fo u ny W lor, Q ia M re in rink mo Dan haz ft d Tay for ith d, S a so lF site 7 W woo Pau and web eal Year Apr 1 With our ico am 2 it N es r is h .V Ap Wit clud 5pm 28 ! In ks Apr £10 from

cts ss a

from

S DAY W UES T US ER TH I N N W TE INE AYS ED RSD M U O H C YT RST AYS THI RID YF K FUN als

e 2m

t

jus

for

ing

ew

rn

r ou

Join

us fo

din cial

so

sa hu

d

ten

e ex

sw

ith dw

ntil

ur u

y ho

app

h our

t wit

g ou

Han

nce

erie

exp

our

DJ

ve . Sa

10%

on

9pm

from Sets

| gae

. Reg

9pm

e, egga

Love

r’s

Ro

op

ip H

t|H

men

Bash

k Fun ck,

ou &S

st’s

you

get

and rtain

nk | Fu

l. in

mo the

in dy deal m 8pm st come The be nday fro on a Mo London

h, Theat act com ure wit the fut ly new ne Month stars of lton, Tri ose the and cho sey, Dylan Wa am,Dariush Isla Ca Patrick ffe lton, Jay Go Hy x Ale , Tom Munk, Moran oy. David eef Lovej Rashidi, pere Lat and com David , with: e comedy pleton, fre of line-up Tom Ap pere A great Ward, and com , David sie Martin Tsonos alo, Ro rof Ga Giada Booker. Junior

oul

&S

R en with eek ente ew end s to r th eek nre ew oul. f ge dy fo K r th &S ge o nk PAR set fo ran YS u , Fu ga nin MM ts yo n Rock O a ge T im, sp r’s DJ park ove sic Job ae. L u S gg m om 4 re DJ gae, of LY s fr Apr and Reg GIL ic mix dard ith n RnB ct DJ bee eat stan dw ul, ecle & 1 en o ve gr 1 k a n S k A s oo ay. wee ts h e late Apr K , 80 ngb w len S LO the 9pm l ta RK to th DJ groove for ic so bluesy an ck from sica SPA set ass 18 Rare eric mu wn ba l cl ellow, MY ts you usic Am le Apr tifu ro OM ho’s the ing Co eau eet, m ve m r w elyn B J T ark ge b m li D ye g o sw la fr ith at K 25 DJ Sp rmin her Joyc g rd p ys w Jazz tra, N Apr erfo ng in boa n and udin a rda ate ep incl tim nk Sin r key a Kha Satu ill b cock su in ts n ge w o u is n si Fra Jazz yo art us hak an rah ith m a r to C ngs ced by om etting ebo bie H o w ri fr D t fr b a | rg er c en ics es l ou usi m Om EW er to H ass , not fo . eek , influ m R cl Chil l W o A ld r fr n ls a lfu la ambo ort HC Ala voca sou eryone zger opu RA Cole P n ly | ive BO of p n Adeb Ella Fit Kel Kelly o | L by ev DE gton, on rge ON e fusi s, Jea oved 5 Ellin AMER utlised Geo Georg th da bel Apr ng C e an Griffi d our and . turi nes of ed LEX egga rcia Fea an an 12 endors lackm UO ulful to zz R ls, Ma rong tful a r D J p st S B s A even good yta KE the so Don form he Ma uis Arm EE in an uizzes, h per t! o N W , wit . q Gold sta ts & T ole, L e firs ALA ook on also be ore |E C oo her Byr 19 Songb any m Y DUO wd, T t King tor e will t of tists. them m a ec ro E es Apr w N ir d er L C B t sa of an Th lD DA , In ng ar sen you rs. sica A B rown e likes pre emergi Mu g singe Say B th ast EST ing. d re. oin rd E cal an 26 Dennis s from | J comin mo form , atfo nd p per lo ic ion pm Apr etit so be l Str ic for | 7 l as u rd a p class o ya Y m el o m -w w R co DA ill al tre n, ken UN ed as open lam ah w o ea S S h p an S a s T ily fu aw E blish . and well as with sabi H edy, f fam TIM h esta t host o ss ay m t D A d re as O co nigh Sun riter t wit l gues GO e Act am, sic, ra gw ter D - ainmen specia a th Newh t fo Mu Eas d son OL ben Har tes an | A across N G entert , and a ren RO lebra Singer 7pm om BY t of live people , Dar . D ce M | lent fr OR money host 6 ta HA nigh , good 4W Apr urite EW erging RD prize vo N O fa food W 0 ’s | OF ee em , £5 ford ST able 6pm inner BE am. S vail llect w Strat D| . da 13 Newh oin s, 1 OR | J more foo and co 161 4W round . Apr d ay pm RD le | 6 es an WO ets, 3 ailab eaw - order 279 1 m SE Tak 20 10 po mic av 08 OU ble ga 2 H Apr 0 ta Open MAN’S mic, Call RT g open HA in 27 includ Apr

Get

rea

D ERE COV S I D UN

are

ct at

corre

time

ing

of go

chan

ge.

ly Month

st’s MARre16Royal Stratford- 8Eaacts battle it outns! decisio Theat tition king the compe . new act h audience ma of the future wit stars to win, ose the and cho Come

F

with ekend | the we Reggae dy for Soul. Get rea m 8pm. Sets fro Funk & Hop | our DJ | Hip nt me Bash

.

A great

. MAR 30e-up of free comedy lin

ER TTUEENSN DAYS

A great

/ DJ LOSoKul, RnB and MAR 6 ove , 80s Rare gro IE funk, step & / DJ HUGH ove, two sa. MAR 13 Y DEE B, DJ FUNK Rn Reggae, AR 20 /

M

s, ul, e Choon ssics, So p, Boogi Club Cla two ste 1980s, 1970s, & Funk. Disco k, p & fun , two ste e groove & salsa. soul, rar in, jazz, funk Classic of lat splash with a

PUB

QUIZ

WEDNESDAYS

our r menta MAR 25 pson for and test you ke Sim ht m.

MAR 27

FREE

Join Lu ay quiz nig From 7:45p ! Wednesd win prizes and ability

INNING AWARD-W ANailFabOle.OD E B IB R A C keaway food av Ta

Order

9 1161 l 020 827 lect Cal and col

l

IE

/ DJ HUGH

ns d en al Wome along an Come ernation rate Int to celeb

ast atforde eroyalstr /theatr

43

2015 : Bar Programme

ARKS / DJ T SP

ED

, Theat tition Odewale compe l Michael new act X, Danie Lillis, Haran James edley Russo, Elliot, Sam Sm ay, Sonya wsky and out to Ridgew hn Chyri tle it Jo bat ns! y, ), ner Whyle decisio nth’s win making the ure. fut ce (last mo the h audien the stars of win, wit ose and cho Come

sen along Abena . Come East pre with artists n’s Day Stratford emerging onal Wome ng, Fun local and ernati tworki ate Int rd, Ne we celebr , Spoken wo sic Live mu s. me Ga and 7pm Kat mpion slam cha nd of open poetry rou -winning for another gers, Award s ets, sin x of po is return Day ther’s iting mi Franco Mo exc an for h st ams. mic, wit Inua Ell ecial gue ans. Sp talented poet comedi very es the lud inc 6pm D E RE wn TH ht of h us do … A nig comedian walk wit , London Take a s, poets ed of East m singer to be entertain CARPET ment fro ng entertain s… Come alo per rap and ! e FUN!! m and hav

ORD /

ORD 4 W

/W MAR 15

MAR 22

RPET /

/ RED CA

E FUNKReYggaDEe, RnB, oons, / DJ So ul, FEB 14 ogie Ch Classics, step, Bo two Club 1980s, 1970s, Funk. & Disco

two ste

DULGENCE

, LEY swinging ESTA B DA ping, hip ection gs a sel FEB 21pa/red for a toeastap Esta sin tin Jazz Be pre a, La night pping , Samb head bo Swing, Bossa of Jazz, als. gin and ori

ON keyboard X CAfroMmER a singer been 28 / lLE sic FEB sou s have lfu mu from al talent Live music by everyone whose player utilised ed and . endors Chaka Khan to Omar

ED U N D IS C O V E RY S SUNDA

Radio ulge Come here, ind rtesy of Stomp atmosp eras cou from all xander Ale Chris

nu ial me r spec from ou 2 meals for just £10!

/ NEWHAMyal BEST OF eatre Rowh for MAR 8the/ Actress andtTh Ne am as Best of

jaz sou Classic ash of latin, spl with a

IN night in a lively nds / SOUL y sou r Frida FEB 13 l with ’s, enjoy you your sou

TUES

K B and reggae. / DJ LO Rn s Soul, FEB 20 ove, 80 Rare gro GHIE step & funk, DJ HUgro / 27 B FE c soul, rare ove, z,twofunk & salsa.

& much en-word dy, spok m here first! , come Music y you saw the Sa more. URING

FEAT ZARENE / 6pm FEB 1 / NA TARINA ON KEl,YS ique KA of Mosaic sou an,undis co,

jaz Classi of latin, splash with a

DNESDAYS VALENTINES QUIZ WE S SPECIAL

PUB

EE l our FR r menta pson for and test you ke Sim ht Join Lu ay quiz nig From 7:45pm. ! Wednesd d win prizes an Feb lity 24 abi & 11 z night No qui

INNING AWARD-W ANailFabOle.OD E B IB R A C od av fo 020 8279 1161 awaylect Call Takeand col Order

m from 8p

k, HUGHIE two step & fun FEB 7 / DJl, rare groove, z, funk & salsa.

E FUNKY DEe, RnB, FEB 6Cla/ssiDJcs, Soul, Rep,ggaBoogie Choons,

ER TENN DAYS

, Music , comedy -word spoken more. & much saw Say you e first! them her

ht away e the nig & danc Come

with ekend | the we Reggae dy for m 8pm. & Soul. Get rea Sets fro Hop | Funk p our DJ nt | Hi Bashme

with:

D AY

NGE NIGHT LOU

FUN

Club 1980s, 1970s, & Funk. Disco

Y ENTR

S AT U R

YS KY FRIDA

A great han, Jo ughty and oshsok Sian Do Amir Kh Duwell, s, Matt Perkin Lovejoy. Lateef

of Mo cialise d singer sic as Soul spe Naz lea 90s mu Mosaic s, jazz, band. covers 70s, 80 ssics. n, disco, p/rnb cla Motow n day po moder 7pm well as

S DAY OTHER’Di nner MAR /enM a Roast SUN 15 d joy y. Da along an

INGS

r end ou as we ext t with us 9pm. Hang ou til hour un happy

edy , Robyn FEB 23line-up of free com hn Howie

/ 6pm NAZA e MAR 1 / TARINA ON KEl, YS a uniqu KA saic sou in

DAY OMEN’S SUN IONALjoyWsome CocktaiDals y. INTERNAT

Come rate Mothers to celeb

IE

niel East’s ett, Da FEB 9re Royal Stratford- Su zy Benn Paul

SUNDAREYNESFEATURING

HIG8 MAR /

Singin

IST ary L

ly Month

/ DJ HUGH

UN DI SC OV ER

CH MAHR LIGHTS

ET / 6pm

YL MclaEHssiM cs / SHzER pop DEC 28 jaz and g soul,

Monda bar to ma Call the

in dy deal m 8pm st come The be nday fro on a Mo London

ARKS / DJ T SP

MAR 28

Award s for ano of poets, singer is return . Franco an exciting mix welcome h mic, wit more. All ans and comedi

INGS BOOK rses NCH4.9 5 - 3 cou MAS12-LU 4pm £1 ervation. CHRIST r res y-Friday ke you

MONDAY

ryo mu Liv whose utilised by eve player ed and endors Chaka Khan. to Omar Rock, Lovers Reggae, you ngs ark bri DJ Sp Soul. Funk & funk, & p sa. , two ste e groove z, funk & sal jaz soul, rar Classic ash of latin, spl with a s Rock, ver Lo Reggae, ngs you bri ark DJ Sp Soul. Funk &

e gro & sal soul, rar in, jazz, funk Classic of lat splash with a

nu ial me r spec from ou 2 meals for just £10!

D AY

X CAfrom a singer key e been 7 / LE MAR l music al talents havne from sic e soulfu

MAR 21

DEC 31 & DJ HUGHhIEus/for our Panto LOK the New Year wit DJebr ate Cel party NIGHT themed AS QUIZ CHRISTM zes to be won. DEC 24 / ry. Great pri

/

NEWHAM

D / 6:3Kat D 4 WmOR mpion / WOR sla cha nd of open DEC 21 poetry ther rou s, -winning

Save 10% on all ! drinks

m from 8p ht away e the nig & danc Come board MERON

. reggae

comedy MAR 23 of free line-up

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Workshop Assistants Charlotte Law Darnell Shakespeare James Cull Sherelle Jones

AYS UNKY FRID

TS Y, MAS EV’SEN PART CHRIST AR EVE m till late 9p / NEW YE

BEST OF

FREE

NGE NIGHT LOU MAR 14

DEC 14 /

Soul, co & Fun ssics, oons, Dis Club Cla gie Ch p, Boo two ste

ATRE THE THSEHOP BAR WORK TDYAYS S R I H T C I M S O R C S THU

ct to

in dy deal m 8pm st come The be nday fro on a Mo London

A night d up in ich of Poe r sandw wrappe for you edy all offer! A kaged and pac g and Com bread Singin portive FREE! most sup Best bit? It’s ent! 6pm enjoym rd Stratfo Royal Theatre and ress and ham for local the Act ht t of New Abena oy a nig sent Bes and enj rking, East pre . Come Netwo artists word, ken emerging Spo music, of Live Games. 0pm Fun and

u Febr

subje

S MONDAY

r end ou as we ext t with us 9pm. Hang ou til hour un happy

m has to RPETtale/nt6p the UK sic, / REDhCA t rd, Mu the bes DEC 7 fille ken Wo d wit try, Spo the

IVE of Pop! se / DJopELinUS the hou DEC 12Hip &H RnB and LOK B and reggae. DJ / 19 DEC ove, 80s Soul, Rn gro e Rar E 1970s, 1980s, B, FUNKYRegDE gae, Rn k. DEC 26 /

ast atforde eroyalstr /theatr ar #TRSEB deast @stratfor

Y ENTR

S AT U R

Club Cla gie Choon p, Boo two ste

, Music , comedy-word spoken more. & much saw Say you re them he first!

UNDISCOVERESD SUNDAY

se. e, Throu lled win de in hou in for muas treats ma Christm

y be

t ma

nt bu

to pri

Save 10% on all ! drinks

Classi of lat splash with a

EATS why not come er son STMASfesTR tive sea pies and oth CHRIgho ut the mince

INGS

FREE

k, IE , two step & fun / HUGH ove salsa. DEC 27 rare gro jazz, funk & c soul, in,

- £2 ent 7.15pm

T h LIS

ATRE THE THSEHOP BAR WORK IRSTY COMIC TTHHURSDAYS

tsid tfu ather ou quite deligh Co. The we l be sic wil with Esta and the mu ristmas into Ch

E B, 1970s, 1980s, NKY DEgae , Rn l, Reg DEC 5 /ssicFU & Funk. s, Sou s, Disco

9 1161 l 020 827 lect Cal and col

G NIN ! WIN OD RD-EAN FO A AWRIBB CA

Marc

TO THE SWING IN DEC 20 / RISTMAS WITH CH O but LEY DU htful ESTA BeDA be frig swing might l so

with ekend | the we Reggae dy for m 8pm. & Soul. Get rea Sets fro Hop | Funk p our DJ nt | Hi Bashme

INNING AWARD-W ANailFabOle.OD E B IB R A C keaway food av Order

Live music by everyone Brown whose ycelyn utilised player and Jo ed and ckman. endors Chaka Khan Don Bla to e great Omar the lat back to

FUN

for menu

Ta

EEKEsinSger keyboard AN W ma been 13 / lAL sic fro DEC sou s have lfu mu from al talent

YS KY FRIDA

DA ial ElsS r spec TU from ou £10! 2 mea just

S DAY SUN

ste Club 0s, two 1970s/8 Funk. & Disco

our extend us as we t with Hang ou ur until 9pm. ho happy

TENNEYRS

AYS URD T A ES NG LOU E LIV

along Come e the & danc ay night aw m from 8p

T Reggae, RnB, s, DEC 6Cla/ssiDJ cs, Soul, Boogie Choon p,

TTHHIURRSSTDYAYS

DEC 8

od.

D AY

GE NIGHT LOUSPNARKS

Save 10% on all ! drinks

Ea DEC 1re Royal Stratforpedtition - come

drin

all

S AT U R

Jo iz nig day qu prizes! Dec Wednes y and win Night Wed 10 l abilit Quiz menta m. No 7:15p From

MONDA

AYS ESD EDN

Y ENTR

FREE

EE Z Simpson for ouanr FR r QUI test you ht d in Luke

8pm

IC M COM

AP

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Year 10 Work Experience Abedel Mindia, Kingsford Community School Beamari Alarva Suerte, St. Angela’s RC School Elijah Giraudel, Rokeby School Emmaliane Akua Nyarko, Kingsford Community School Georgia Jefferson, Brampton Manor Academy Grace Jamieson, Little Ilford School Hristo Solakov, Royal Docks School Jada King, Lister Community School Joanna Gomes Cumberland School Johnson Faniyan, Rokeby School Kriselle Basilio, St. Angela’s RC School Madeeha Sharief, Plashet School Maria Badmus, St Edwards C of E Comprehensive Secondary School Maya Ochieng, Forest Gate School Nadia Hamani, Forest Gate School Peri Mcdonald-Baptiste, St Bernards High School Sangwani Harawa, St Matthew Academy

42

INGS

T r LIS

mbe

Dece

tings

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Volunteer Placements Dan Macor Delvina Mckinson Joshua Burton Mackenzie Teague Phiip Morgan

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Young Leaders Adem Holness Angelina Chudi Anna Johnson Brenda Kaitesi Caroline Wilson Ceylan Yorganci Darien Charles Deborah Oyelade Dilip Bansal Ella Harget-Dash Frank Atoro Georgia Stableford Grace Radford Holly Cooper Humaira Wadiwala Ife Oyerinde William Indra Van Der Ploeg Jack Mathews Jacqui Adeniji-Willams Joana Nastari Jordan Ramsey Katherine Glyde Kylie Slevin Lauren La Rocque-Simpson Mark Ramsey Marvolous Fayose Maya Crute Jones Naomi Money Nicole Abraham Olivia Murray Peri Mcdonald-Baptiste Rae Levine Shreya Ukil Teniola Ashini Zafran Ahmed

R A B P O H S K R O W TRE HE THEA R

e r t a e h T

te: lis

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Summer School 2014 Abigail Jankoic Alex Jarrett Alex Uzoka Alexandra Sitaru Cameron Mutale Charlie Sharpe Elijah Walker George Hastrup Isabel Cromwell Jake Swan-Walters Jaydee Hervey Johnson Faniyan Karimah Khanum Kaylen Newell Kyron Marie-Freeman Marijana Lucic Michael Elcock Munotida Chaya Olivia Ndila Ryell Williams Tiana Gravillis Tiana Gravillis Tianna Mullings Zafran Ahmed

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Young Artists LAB Anna Johnson Anyebe Anteyi Aude Konan Frank Atoro Franziska Haberlach Fredrick Mensah Holly Cooper India Crawford Indra Van Derploeg Jamaal Norman Jasmin Anderson Jennifier Lee Jerome Boothe Jonathan Luwagga Kemi Lofinmakin Kitt Barrie Kwaku Kyei Manu Latanya peterkin Lauren King Lenox Kambamba Leo Akuwdike Lhasa Summers Marilyn Friday Michael Amodu Mohammad Baseer Nicky Nweze Ray Dunbar Robbie Shaw Sandra Wilson Sarah Yesufu Sheila Acayo Shivon Watson Tegan Imbert Tonje Olawssen Urbain Hayo Zoe Hunter-Gordon

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Youth Theatre Members Abigail Jankoic Alex Jarrett Alex Uzoka Alexandra Sitaru Blair Gyabaah Brianne Herbert Cameron Mutale Charlie Sharpe Eboni Taylor Elijah Walker Elizabeth Cromwell Ella Catterick George Hastrup Isabel Cromwell Jake Swan-Walters Johnson Faniyan Karima Khanum Kaylen Newell Kyron Marie-Freeman Luke Kiraya Marijana Lucic Munotida Chaya Otis Meyer-Romane Rihad Uddin Ahmad Ryell Williams Sasha Bonner Seetal Kaur Tia Dunworth Tiana Gravillis Tianna Mullings Torrelle Standford Zafran Ahmed

e no

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Plashet Enrichment Programme Afsana Yasmin Ameerah Dalal Amira Moller Arij Khan Arooj Nasir Aysha Shahid Ayswariya Balachandran Britney Tetteh Haleema Sharief Hibo Abukar

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Poets Platform Company Angelina Chudi Brianne Herbert Charles Locker Christian Smith Elise Joseph Honesty Haynes - Williams Isiah Prescod Jacqui Adeniji - Williams Marvellous Fayose Michael Elcock Mohammad Baseer Omar Bynon Russeni Fisher

Philip Morgan Renu Mehto Soraya Laville Thalia Remy Tiana Gravillis

Pleas

YOUNG PEOPLE’S WORK: Partners Afrovibes Arts Award Catalyst in Communities Frantic Assembly Jack Petchey Foundation London Borough of Newham: Every Child a Theatre Goer London Theatre Consortium: Young People’s Forum Mousetrap Foundation National Theatre Newham Education Business Partnership Open Minds Participatory Arts London (PAL) Pilot Theatre Company Stage Studio Stratford Circus Stratford Rising The Challenge The Globe Tri Force Promotions Workplace, Newham Young and Talented

Kiara Watson Laila Ali Leanne James Leili Azizi Manjot Sangha Manujaa Vasikaran Mariam Malik Mariam Shaikh Maryam Mohamed Mehzabeen Hairsoo Mooskan Gul Nahida Khoshal Nazmin Islam Neha Rasool Neha Rasool Rabia Qaadir Rihana Mohamed Saba Mahmood Safa Butt Saira Bano Shaheen Hifzulrehman Shani Moller Sumaya Shafiq Sumayyah Islam Sundus Ishfaq Tasneem Ali Tasneem Ali Umma Hussain Urooj Rafiq Zaina Quadir Zainab Hussain

YS 7 DA EK TRY A WE E EN FRE

Salman Rafiq Zafran Ahmed Rokeby School Aaron Thomas Gordon Abdirahman Ismail Abdullah Bhaijee Abid Khan Andre Veira Anjos Medeiros Cabral Arafat Uddin Bilal Khan Daud Yusuf Emil Poltorak Emmanuel Fashiku Hamze Mohamed Joselino Pereira Juned Ahmed Leef Vickery Lukas Sakalauskas Marian Hristov Mohammad Wadud Muhibur Rahman Musawar Ziai Rajul Choudhury Silent Muz Silvio Roberto Silva Oliveira Kamosso Zahidullah Shukrolah Zayd Kouira Tomorrow’s Talent Alexander Bloom Amy Trigg Anna Maria Acevedo Christopher Tierney Danny McNamara Erin Jacobs Gavin Wilkinson Hazel Ellender Holly Hosler White Jasmine Leanne Gaterell Jessica Moore Joseph Bennett Mark Ellis Scott Olley

B od g of go SAT 14 FE . evenin mpany for an

food,

co Join us ic and good us tines good m ial Valen cocktails d tra spec With ex urse meals an night. co your three ignite re ll that wi ast atforde eroyalstr /theatr

n Motow d singer moder lise in Naz, lea specia well as band, sic as covers 90s mu s, jazz, 70s, 80 ssics. p/rnb cla day po

/ 6pm NEWHAM Royal / BEST sOFand Theatre Ne wham FEB 8the Actres Best of

and sent Abena . Come East pre artists word, Stratford emerging sic, Spoken al and for loc Live mu mes. night of and Ga enjoy a Fun ng, Networki 6:30pm Kat mpion slam cha of open poetry round -winning for another gers, Award s ets, sin x of po is return . Franco iting mi welcome h an exc re. All mic, wit mo ans and comedi

FEB 15 /

WORD 4

WORD /

ar #TRSEB deast @stratfor

E / 6p AN’S HOUS n Hart c, / HARTM host, Darre open mi MAR 29atford’s favourite, inc luding Join Str of family fun ht more. for a nig es and table gam

ar #TRSEB deast @stratfor

www.stratfordeast.com

A PEOPLE’S THEATRE


Designe

ign

ime des

y bluel

uced b

rod d and p

k

.co.u design

e

luelim www.b

TRE

.com rdeast

A

A ’S THE E L P O PE

ratfo

t www.s

t e prin s g r a l A ni versioe on bl availa quest re

Annual Review 2014 - 2015  

See what we've been up to over the last 12 months.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you