Page 1

a year in review 2013

St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School


From the Principal Highlights of 2013 included our Year 10 Debating Team winning the Queensland Debating Union State title, our Open and Year 9 Tennis teams and our Senior A Hockey Team who took out undefeated premierships, our Junior School was announced the Best School at the Brisbane Exhibition for the fourth year in a row, and St Aidan’s recognised as one of only two schools to win the Peter Doherty Award for Excellence in Science and Science Education. Academic results continue to be the best or among the best in the state and our students individually and in teams have again achieved Honours in all fields of endeavour. A constant that continues to remain is our continued commitment to community service, living out the expression of our Sisters’ faith and philosophy daily. Girls continue to give of their time and treasures to support local and international agencies across a variety of service activities. Our Prefects raised $5,482 for Second Chance while through Years 9 and 10 Religious and Values Education, girls completed 3,000 hours of community service in a variety of community agencies. I commend all girls and staff for their leadership of these important activities. What continues to be pervasive in our School are the authentic relationships characterising St Aidan’s since 1929. I am always delighted to observe the natural and vital way in which past students connect with each other at reunions and other events. Girls from the 1930s and 2000s still have plenty to discuss at these functions, and so it will continue into the future. Our graduating Year 12 girls, who have led the School so energetically and enthusiastically under the exceptional leadership of Sophie Dunn and Claudia Leggett, will join the ranks of thousands of past students and in turn and time will reach back and pass their leadership, knowledge of and commitment to St Aidan’s to our younger years. I acknowledge and thank our Year 12 girls for their leadership and wish them all the very best for their future. Thank you also to the parents of Year 12 students who are completing their educational journey with St Aidan’s this year. I value your past, current and ongoing support. As the year closes I congratulate Ms Wendy Lauman on her appointment as Deputy Principal to St Hilda’s School, Southport. Wendy has been an excellent Dean of Students since we introduced the role in 2006 and I thank her for her professionalism, diligence and absolute commitment to our girls and students. Ms Lauman has committed herself totally to our school and in all her endeavours has exemplified the philosophy of our Sisters. We wish her and the St Hilda’s community all the very best for the future and will miss her.

Karen Spiller Principal

2013 was another eventful and successful year for St Aidan’s. Our Seniors embraced the theme of St Aidan’s Survivors and led the student body admirably throughout the year.

I also thank Father Paul Bland who has been our Chaplain for three years. Father Paul has brought a great gift of warmth, sensitivity and humour to our school in his time with us. He has led dance lessons with our Year 11s at their Leadership Conference, invigilated behaviour and manner at our term dances as well as tripped the light fantastic at the Year 12 Formal and Year 11 Dinner Dance. Much more importantly, Father Paul has provided wise counsel and has been a steady rock for students and staff alike. We wish him, and his wife Chris, all the very best for their retirement. Thank you also to our Council Chair Professor Neil Dempster and all Members of Council for their support and work this year. Together, with our volunteers on the Foundation Board, Parents and Friends’ Association and all its support groups and businesses – your assistance is vital and valued. I wish all members of our school community the very best for the summer break and thank them for their contribution to another action-packed and successful year. Karen Spiller - Principal MBA, MEdAdmin, BA, BEdSt, FACE, FAIM, FACEL, FAHRI, FAICD, FCEOI

a year in review I

2013 1


2 a year in review I

2013


The Sisters have maintained their close contact with St Aidan’s throughout the year attending services and other important events at the School. One of the strongest links with St Aidan’s continues to be student visits to the Sisters as a part of regular Quiet Days and leadership formation. Year 12 student leaders began their year with the celebration of Evensong with the Sisters and enjoyed the opportunity to discuss the Sisters’ views on their perception of leadership.

a year in review I

2013 3


For more than 84 years St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School has enjoyed a rich

The Sisters of the Society of the Sacred Advent, are committed to nurturing and teaching young women.

history of consistent academic and extra-curricular success. Our Founders, the Sisters of the Society of the Sacred Advent, were committed to nurturing and teaching young women; this premise remains as our cornerstone. Today our Mission is simple – we promote and empower our girls through education and opportunity. We do this by giving them support, excellent female role models, confidence to thrive, and a belief that they can achieve anything. Each year we celebrate our graduates who have truly excelled … our Senior girls who achieved above and beyond. Our list of Honours recipients is an example of the St Aidan’s girls who have put in the hard work and have been rewarded at the end of their school life by being accepted into their tertiary course of choice. They truly are an inspiration to their peers and younger students and we are proud to have played a part in the lives of these remarkable young women; I know they will go on to do truly great things. I look forward to celebrating their achievements in future editions of Born to Fly – our award-winning Alumni publication that celebrates our girls’ successes.

I in 3 achieved an OP 1-5 St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School students have again achieved outstanding OP results with over 97% of the 2012 Senior students gaining an OP between 1 and 15 with 6% achieving an OP of 1. These consistent outcomes (over 93% OP 1-15 each year since 2010) point to the high quality education the School delivers year after year. The results show St Aidan’s is well above the State average in all OP categories and is one of the top performing independent schools in Queensland. One hundred per cent of our students also attained their Queensland Certificate of

97%

of the 2012 Senior students obtained an OP between 1 and 15 with 6% achieving an OP of 1.

4 a year in review I

2013

Education. These results reflected the hard work and diligence of the 2012 cohort and the quality and professionalism of the teaching staff and educational experience offered at our School. This is enhanced by focused academic management on every student’s performance.


OP Results (2012)

OP 1

6% (State 2.68%)

OP 1 – 3

22% (State 10.24%)

OP 1 – 5

36% (State 19.69%)

OP 1 – 10

73% (State 48.90%)

OP 1 – 15

97% (State 78.89%)

These results are particularly noteworthy as the vast majority of the total St Aidan’s 2012 cohort were OP eligible.

St Aidan’s vs State OP Data (2012) 100 95 90 85 80 75 70 65 60 55 50 45 40 35 30 25 20 15 10 5 0

St Aidan's State Average

OP 1

OP 1-2

OP 1-3

OP 1-5

Queensland Core Skills Test Results (2012) A

31% (State 16.9%)

B

40% (State 30.09%)

C

23% (State 35.66%)

D

6% (State 17.03%)

E

0% (State 0.33%)

OP 1-7 OP 1-10 OP 1-15

IT/Business/ Creative Arts/Music

Society and Culture (Arts, Psych, etc)

25

29%

% Area of Study 2013

Law

Tertiary Institution Destinations Institutions

2013

The University of Queensland

38%

Queensland University of Technology

38%

Griffith University

14%

TAFE Qld

4%

Australian Catholic University

3%

University of Southern Queensland

2%

James Cook University

1%

12%

Education

8%

Health

13% Science, Engineering, Architecture

13%

I00% attained their Queensland Certificate of Education a year in review I

2013 5


N o .1

QLD NAPLAN results*

NAPLAN Results We were again delighted with student results in the 2013 NAPLAN testing program. Year three topped the state, year five came second and year nine seventh!

Reading Average

Year 3 2013

Year 5 2013

Year 7 2013

Year 9 2013

St Aidan’s

531

574

592

633

State

408

497

533

572

National

419

502

540

580

Writing Average

Year 3 2013

Year 5 2013

Year 7 2013

Year 9 2013

St Aidan’s

500

545

548

622

State

407

470

515

548

National

416

478

517

554

Spelling Average

Year 3 2013

Year 5 2013

Year 7 2013

Year 9 2013

St Aidan’s

471

538

573

615

State

396

485

542

578

National

411

494

549

583

Grammar and Punctuation Average

Year 3 2013

Year 5 2013

Year 7 2013

Year 9 2013

St Aidan’s

590

579

577

655

State

419

495

532

568

National

428

501

535

573

Numeracy Average

Year 3 2008

Year 5 2008

Year 7 2008

Year 9 2008

St Aidan’s

530

545

556

648

State

386

481

539

573

National

397

486

542

584

6 a year in review I

2013


Congratulations to our Junior School who topped the state in the 2013 NAPLAN testing. • Highest in the state for Year 3 • Second highest in the state for Year 5

a year in review I

2013 7


8


Academics Creative Arts & Design Studies Awards in high profile competitions such as Write About Art, Creative Generation and The QIEU Art Awards. Ruby Turner (Year 8) placed first in the National Computer Science School Challenge Year 12 students undertook an art exhibition supporting the Aspiring Women in Science Conference drawing on the concept of “Artsci” - a fusion of Art and Science. Year 12 Art students, Kate Rush, Alexandra Thompson and Jane Jaffe were shortlisted in the Creative Generation Art and Design Awards. Junior School students painted a life-size fiberglass horse as part of a competition run by Queensland Racing with the project raising $500 for The McIntyre Centre. The unique Classroom Music Program at St Aidan’s offered the Every Day Music Program to all students from Kindergarten to Year 3, and in 2013 we had Every Day Music as an optional subject for students in Years 7, 8 and 9.

English Heather Burridge, Madelyn Kilkenny and India Oswin won the State Finals of the Queensland Youth Shakespeare Festival, for their performance of a scene from Richard III. Bronte Scott won the photography section State Final of the Queensland Youth Shakespeare Festival, for her series of photographs based on Othello. Many of our aspiring writers successfully tested their talents in competitions such as the Dorothea Mackellar Poetry award, the ETAQ literary competition, the Griffith University Journalism Competition, as well as in our own St Aidan’s Literary Awards.

Sciences and Mathematics St Aidan’s was awarded the Peter Doherty Award for Science Education ($5,000 prize for science education) - one only two schools in Queensland. This recognises the School’s initiatives in place for Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths. The inaugural Aspiring Women in Science Conference held in May, attended by 115 students from 28 schools around Queensland. In collaboration with The University of Queensland (UQ), students had the opportunity to hear the inspirational stories of 20 female scientists working in a variety of fields including 2013 Queensland Australian of the Year, Professor Adele Green OAM. More than 40 per cent of students achieved a Credit, Distinction or High Distinction in the ICAS Science Competition A High Distinction and Bronze medal was achieved in the Australian Science Olympiads by Victoria Poon.

a year in review I

2013 9


Academics Several students had the opportunity to submit their research tasks into the annual Queensland Science Teachers’ Association Science Competition with Louisa MacDonald (Year 12) receiving a bursary from the Acoustics Society and Julika Goetz (Year 10) placing third. Students worked alongside researchers in the SPARQ-ed immersion program at UQ’s Diamantina Institute and the Translational Research Institute (TRI) and had the opportunities to work with the National Research Centre for Environmental Toxicology (UQ) and Queensland University of Technology Vice-Chancellor’s interactive STEM camp. Sophie Lim (Year 10) competed at the 20th annual International Space Settlement Design Competition, held at NASA’s Johnson Space Centre in Houston. St Aidan’s has had much success in this competition over the years and Sophie’s team placed a highly commendable second. The Year 11 Biology classes have continued their success in the Royal Queensland Show entry for the Student-made Cheese category. With more than 20 schools in the competition, St Aidan’s placed third in the Blue Mould Cheese category. Since the inception of the competition, St Aidan’s has consistently placed in the top three. Chelsea Ho was chosen for the 37th Professor Harry Messel ISS2013 (International Science School) at the Univeristy of Sydney. Philip Pollett, Mathematics Professor at The University of Queensland, mentored Mathematics C students as they explored applications of matrices in fields as diverse as Economics, Ecology and Physics.

Socio Cultural Studies Three films were finalists in the Goethe-Institut Schools’ Short-Film Competition with St Aidan’s placing first and second in the Primary School Division. St Aidan’s was chosen as one of 28 Australian schools chosen to pilot the Bill Gates-supported Big History Project, which sees students use historical methodology to investigate how scientific understanding has emerged through the millennia. Chinese was introduced to the Kindergarten class as a part of the Every Day Languages Program.

  10

Photograph courtesy of Quest Newspapers


a year in review I

2013 11


Global Links This year saw the expansion of the exchange program to include St Edmund’s Preparatory High School in Brooklyn, New York. This year’s program included: •

St Mary’s DSG, Pretoria, South Africa - Carolyn Cormack and Bronte Scott

St Mary’s School, Johannesburg, South Africa - Gabrielle Jarrett and Georgina

St Edmund Preparatory High School, Brooklyn, New York Rebecca Black, Laura McBurnie, Makenzie Wilde and Ryley Wilson

Perth College, Perth - Paris Irwin, Millicent Morrison-Davies

Seymour College, Adelaide - Isabella Bassili, Susanna Hutchinson, Remy Tucker

Camberwell Girls’ Grammar School, Melbourne - Kate Dodgson, Claire Hood, Meghan Hood, Kathleen Kendall, Jasmine McGuire, Eliza Sherington, Alexandra Smith

St Michael’s Collegiate, Hobart - Lauren Baillie, Isabella Bourke, Charlotte Carthew de Looze, Gabrielle Lacaze, Momoka Nogita

St Aidan’s also undertook tours to Germany (November 2012), Japan (December 2012) and New Zealand. December (2102) also saw students embarking to Nepal completing a trek, a community project and experiencing Nepalese culture. Community projects undertaken included the construction of a new school building; painting classroom walls; constructing an outdoor sitting area; and teaching English.

12 a year in review I

2013


a year in review I

2013 13


Senior Extra - Curricular 72 per cent in the Junior School and 30 per cent in the Senior School participated in at least one of the musical ensembles while a further 70 per cent of students represented the school in at least one sporting team. Extra-Curricular Music The 17 won a gold medal at the Queensland Youth Music Awards. Jenny Gunnarsson (Year 9) and Madeline Nugent (Year 9) received first place for the U16s duet at the Silkstone Eisteddfod.

A Midwinter’s Night Dream Year 11 students joined with BBC students for A Midwinter Night’s Dream. This Senior School Drama Production involved more than three months of intense rehearsals and character workshops as the actors and actresses interpreted and brought to life the language of Shakespeare and developed the meanings behind their scenes.

STAGE Dance Boogie Babes and Marilyn were awarded first and second places throughout the season of four eisteddfods. Second for Marilyn at the Brisbane Eisteddfod. Miss Saigon achieved multiple Highly Commended awards.

Debating Year 10.1 team won their Grand Final against Churchie. This is the first time in many years a team from St Aidan’s has been champion of their age group. Year 9.2 and 9.1 teams were undefeated in the preliminary rounds and made it to the Quarter Finals Five teams advanced to the finals. Four Year 12 debaters were accepted into the prestigious Senior A competition for the second year in a row. St Aidan’s again won the The Great Debate (a comedic debate between the senior debaters of St Aidan’s and Brisbane Boys’ College)

Readers’ Cup Our Year 9 students won their competition. The Year 7 Readers’ Cup team placed second place in the CBCA inter school competition

14 a year in review I

2013


a year in review I

2013 15


Extra - Curricular Sport AUSTRALIAN REPRESENTATIVES Heather Burridge

Orienteering

Jordyn Clarke

Rhythmic Gymnastics

Alicia Kwag

Fencing

Morgan Gallagher

Hockey

Lyann Hoang

Tennis

Elizabeth Jacques

Cross Country

Rosanna Relton

Equestrian

QUEENSLAND REPRESENTATIVES Caitlyn Bowell

Gymnastics

Katie Colebourne

Athletics

Jade Dowling

Athletics

Elizabeth Jacques

Athletics

Rachel Mills

Swimming

Millicent Morrison-Davies Hockey Victoria Poon

Kung Fu

Abbey Scott

Gymnastics

Rhoda Thornton

Athletics and Cross Country

Melissa Watkin

Gymnastics

Isabella Wilkinson-McIntyre Equestrian

16 a year in review I

2013


Athletics 28 ‘top three’ placings in the QGSSSA competition. Third in the Percentage Cup. Elizabeth Jacques broke the 16 years 1500m QGSSSA record by four seconds. Jade Dowling took out the 17 years 1500m for the fifth year in a row. Madeleine Attlee (Year 9) won the 400m and Elizabeth Jacques (Year 11) won the 1500m at the Queensland School’s State Athletics Titles. Badminton The Year 10A team won the QGSSSA premiership. Cross Country Second in the QGSSSA Cross Country Percentage Cup. Jade Dowling won the 17 years and over race with the win marking a clean sweep of QGSSSA Cross Country victories dating back to 2009. Equestrian Isabella Wilkinson McIntyre (Year 10) competed in the Australian National Interschool 2013 Championships and the Australian National Pony Club Championships securing the titles of Australian National Senior Novice Champion and Australian National Freestyle Champion. Gymnastics The Year 8 team won the QGSSSA competition - the first in St Aidan’s history. Jordyn Clarke (Year 8) was selected as part of the Australian Gymnastic Team to compete in New Zealand and placed first overall in the Rhythmic Gymnastic Individual. Hockey The Senior A Hockey team took out the QGSSSA Premiership for the first time in the School’s history and remained undefeated throughout the season. Rowing The First VIII secured a third and the Second VIII second at the Head of the River. Our First VIII crews have now finished on the podium seven times in the last 10 years. Senior rower, Rebecca Fletcher, took out third in the Year 12 Scull. St Aidan’s won the Year 11 Pair and placed in the Open Four races at the Queensland School Girls Rowing Championships. Tennis The Open Tennis team remained undefeated Premiers in the QGSSSA competition for the third year in a row. The Open ‘A’ Tennis team also were undefeated in the Knowles Cup Competition going into the Grand Final. The Year 9 team took out the Premiership in their division in the QGSSSA competition.

a year in review I

2013 17


Winners of the Team of the Year at the Annual Sports Awards. 18 a year in review I

2013


The Senior A Hockey team took out the QGSSSA Premiership for the first time in the School’s history and remained undefeated throughout the season.

a year in review I

2013 19


Community Community Service - More than 3,000 hours of service learning projects was undertaken by our Years 9 and 10 students in a variety of community based organisations. Fundraising - students have continued their commitment to provide service to others with more than $22,000 raised for a variety of charities and organisations including: •

$5,690 for Second Chance (an agency that supports homeless women) through the Prefect led Talent Quest;

$12,007 for Anglican Mission and Caring Organisations, including the Archbishop’s Flood Appeal, Bush Ministry Fund, Montrose Access, Bodhgaya Development Assn, Cancer Council, Samaritan’s Shoe Boxes; and

$6,000 by Interact for Breast Cancer Research.

Collections - Prefects, House Leaders, Interact and other service groups reflected our school’s concern to assist others through a variety of collections and donations including: •

Soles 4 Souls

Toiletry Care Packages

Interact Christmas Wishing Tree

Samaritan’s Purse Operation Christmas Child Shoe Box

Inala Pantry

Clean Teeth for Christmas

More than 130 St Aidan’s community members also put their best foot forward to raise money for the Mater Chicks in Pink, as part of the annual International Women’s Day Fun Run/Walk with the team walking away with the School Team Challenge trophy. Year levels, forms and house groups continue to raise additional monies to sponsor World Vision Children and to support specific charities. 20 a year in review I

2013


a year in review I

2013 21


22


a year in review I

2013 23


Junior Extra - Curricular •

The Junior School was awarded the Golden Boot trophy (from Brisbane City Council) recognising our Active Travel Program. This was awarded for the highest number of students catching public transport to school;

Our Earth Angels were recognised with an award for ‘Excellence in Resource Management’ in the ‘Keep Queensland Beautiful’ Awards

Recognised as Champion School of the EKKA RNA Show for the fourth year in a row

The Year 7 Readers’ Cup team placed second place in the CBCA inter school competition

Sport Regional & State Representatives •

Torwen Eerkens

Yinte Eerkens

Ruby Fraser

Elizabeth Gralton

Ruby Harris

Taylah Tyerman-Webster

Samantha Watkin

• Haley Webster Ruby Harris was a member of the successful winning U12 Queensland Hockey Representative Team at the National Championships. Athletics Our Athletics team won the Inala District Division B Championship shield. Cross Country In Cross Country, St Aidan’s retained the Karen Struther’s Cross Country trophy for the Highest Scores and the Inala District RC Bell trophy. Equestrian Junior School riders won the Overall Primary School Champion trophy at the South East Queensland Regional Championships. Other top team results included Champions Junior Showman Team, Champion Primary Showjumping Team, Champion Primary Show Horse Team, Reserve Champion Primary Dressage Team. Netball Walter Taylor Bridge District Competition Premiership wins by Year 7 Brown and Year 5 Blue teams in Netball. Touch Football Touch Football C Grade team achieved third in the Andrews Cup competition. Softball Year 5 Softballers placed third in the Andrews Cup competition. Swimming We secured second in the Aggregate Shield at the Inala District Carnival. Third in the Percentage Cup trophy for Swimming. 24 a year in review I

2013


a year in review I

2013 25


Mrs Karen Spiller was awarded a National Fellowship by the Australian Council of Educators and completed her Churchill Fellowship, awarded in 2011. Mrs Spiller was a co-presenter at The Association of Independent Schools of NSW Women in Leadership Masterclass in Sydney. She also presented at the National Coalition of Girls’ Schools, Boston on “The Role of Networking in Girls’ School and the Role of Alumnae play in preparing Girls for the World of Work”. In the second half of the year, Mrs Spiller presented on the Daily Music and Daily Language Instruction for Early Childhood Students and co-presented on Pedagogical Rounds, “The School Improvement Journey” at the 20th International Conference on Learning, Rhodes.

26 a year in review I

2013


Staff Achievements Deb Koh Year 3 teacher, Ms Deb Koh, was awarded the prestigious Queensland College of Teachers - Dr. Alan Druery OAM Excellence in Teaching Award for 2013 at a World Teachers’ Day ceremony held at Queensland Parliament House. Mrs Koh was nominated for the award by a past parent whose child she had taught several years ago. Next year will mark Mrs Koh’s tenth year at St Aidan’s. James Cuskelly Dr James Cuskelly, St Aidan’s Head of Creative Arts and Design Studies was recognised as one of Art Queensland’s Culture Champions. This Wall of Fame recognises Queensland’s arts and culture “heroes”. Dr Cuskelly was nominated anonymously for his extensive contribution to the state’s art and culture sector. Dr Cuskelly has also appointed as an Adjunct Senior Lecturer in the School of Education at the University of New England and is Vice-President, Achievements from our staff also include: •

Ms Kerstin Liebchen-Meades presented at the South Australian German Languages Conference held in Adelaide and was also awarded a Masters degree in the Master of Development Practice (UQ);

Mrs Anne Page was invited to attend a workshop on Climate Change led by the Global Change Institute at the University of Queensland;

Ms Karen Gorrie was selected as one of the seven Queensland Representatives for Leading Language Teachers in the Mentoring and Reflecting: Languages Educators and Professional Standards (MoRe LEAPS) Project through NALSSP in Adelaide. Ms Gorrie also presented and was asked to be part of a plenary panel session at the Modern Language Teachers Association of Queensland (MLTAQ) Conference;

Ms Sue Burvill-Shaw was invited to be on the evaluation committee for the Premier’s ANZAC Spirit School Prize and has also been accepted to commence her Doctoral studies in 2014;

Mrs Megan Daly completed her Masters in Innovative Teaching and Learning (Librarianship) at QUT; and

Mrs Karen Spiller was awarded a National Fellowship by the Australian Council of Educators and completed her Churchill Fellowship, awarded in 2011.

a year in review I

2013 27


28 a year in review I

2013


St Aidan’s Anglican Girls’ School 11 Ruthven Street Corinda Qld 4075 T: 61 7 3373 5999 www.staidans.qld.edu.au A School of the Society of the Sacred Advent


Year in Review 2013  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you