Issuu on Google+

FirstNews

Volume 4 Issue 12 December 2013

e s i ...W Men still seek

. . . m i H

Christmas Eve Lord’s Supper Candlelight Service 5:00 & 6:30 pm Worship Center


Pastor Mark Bryant

In the gospel of John there is a very familiar verse that reads, “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him, should not perish but have ever lasting life”. This is my favorite verse for the Christmas season because it defines the “Reason for the season”. Now I cannot deny that I enjoy receiving a gift now and then but I also enjoy giving gifts that make a difference. This year I hope we can all do just that by giving gifts that make a difference. One particular way we can do this is to pray and give to the Lottie Moon Christmas Offering. As you know, Southern Baptists support a majority of our missions work through this annual offering. The Lottie Moon offering is unique in the fact that every cent goes directly to the mission field. Every penny is used to further the cause of Christ by sending missionaries like Brian and Jeannie Brewer into the fields to work and share the good news.

Ministerial Staff Senior Pastor

Mark Bryant [markbryant@ssfbc.org]

Associate Pastor

Fred Lewis [fredlewis@ssfbc.org]

Worship Pastor

Neal Terwilliger [nealterwilliger@ssfbc.org)

Associate Worship Pastor

Darren Gray [darrengray@ssfbc.org]

Minister of Education

Bruce Welch [brucewelch@ssfbc.org]

Minister of Recreation & Outreach

Mike Armstrong [mikearmstrong@ssfbc.org]

High School Student Pastor

Heath Anderson [heathanderson@ssfbc.org]

Middle School Student Pastor

Michael Tollison [michaeltollison@ssfbc.org]

Minister to Children

Brit Fisher [britfisher@ssfbc.org]

Director of Preschool & Kindergarten Tracey Cody [traceycody@ssfbc.org]

I am asking you to spend a great deal of time this year praying about how you can give. I am unapologetic about asking because we know that the world around us has no hope without Jesus. The only way it will hear is if we send laborers into the field to tell the Good News. I know that the NAMB (North American Mission Board) has been struggling to place those that God is calling into the mission field because giving has been down. I am praying that we will work together, pray more, and give more so that we will be able to send more missionaries to go to the ends of the earth and declare the good news of Jesus Christ. On a final note, I want to encourage you to make plans to be at church the first Sunday of the New Year. I know that seems like a long time from today but it is just around the corner. I want you to be here so we can start the year together. Our focus for 2014 is HOPE. We are a people of HOPE and we serve a Savior of HOPE. The verse for the year is Jeremiah 6:16 and I pray that you will begin to get familiar with that verse. I am excited to see what God does in the midst of His people as we determine in our hearts to be a people that live with HOPE, and a people who declare and demonstrate HOPE. Have a wonderful Christmas season, Pastor Mark

ROC Note Original loan $ 2,250,000.00 Total paid $ 899,577.00 Principal pd $ 762,901.28 Int pd $ 137,118.15 Balance $ 1,487,098.72

End of Year Contribution In order to be counted as a 2013 tax deduction, contributions must be in the church office by noon on Tuesday, December 31st.

Business Administrator

Tommy Johnston [tommyjohnston@ssfbc.org]

Director of Technology Scott Singleton [scottsingleton@ssfbc.org]

The church office wil be closed December 25th & 26th

La Primera iglesia Mission Pastor Amadeo Miranda

FirstNews is a monthy publication of

First Baptist Church 116 Oak Avenue Sulphur Springs,Texas 75482 (903) 885-0646 www.ssfbc.org

Led by Brit Fisher

January 26, 2014 6:00 pm in Room 108 Children & Salvation

For parents, grandparents or anyone who like to know more about counseling children about their salvation.

The new deacons serving in 2014 are: Bobby Daniel, Rodney Harred & Phillip Therwhanger.

$50,000


...HIGH SCHOOL...

High School Man Up!, Radiant, & Monday Nights will conclude for the fall semester on December 16th Resumes January 13th.

End of Semester Celebration Ugly Sweater Pageant Wednesday, December 18th 7:00 pm Youth Building

Disciple Now Weekend January 24-26, 2014 Grades 7-12 Cost: $50 Register in the church office or on-line.

Lt. General Boykin & Jonathan Evans

2014 Offering Envelopes are available in the Welcome Center Adults 55+ Christmas Light Show in Grand Prarie Mondy, December 16th

Bus leaves at 2:30 pm, returns at 10:00 pm

Cost: $9 per person. Purchase your own meal. Sign up in the church office.

Copies of the 2014 Budget are placed in the Welcome Center & the church office. BUDGET FORUM- December 8th at 5:00 pm in the Conference Room BUDGET FORUM - December 8th in the evening service

Hope Car Care Ministry Saturday, December 7 9am to noon

Does your car need an oil change but you can't seem to find the funds to get it done? We'll perform the work for you.

Call the church office to reserve your time. Open to the first 15 to sign up. If you are interested in working on cars contact Toni Rissman in the church office or Bruce Welch at 903-243-3873.

Super Start February 14-15, 2014 PRICE: Grades 4 & 5 Early By: Bird Sign Up REGISTer by January 15, 2014 $60.00 After January 15th - $80.00 DATE:


This is Christmas Saturday and Sunday December 14th & 15th

6:00pm in the Worship Center A musical celebration for the whole family featuring all the choirs of FBC. Filled with inspiring music, special staging, narration and drama, this will be a night of music that is sure to make your Christmas season special. Admission is free and childcare is available for birth - 5 yrs.

Address service requested

116 Oak Avenue Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482

Non-Profit Organization U.S Postage Paid Permit No. 174 Sulphur Springs, Texas


Firstnews november 2013 echo pdf