Page 1

FirstNews

Volume 4 Issue 8 AUGUST 2013

Seeds, FirstKids, Undignified & En-Fue-GO Ministries Present

Back to School Bash 2013

Preschool : Playground FirstKids : KidZone Middle School : 3rd Floor High School : Youth Building Wednesday night, August 28th 6:00 - 8:00 pm Food - Fun - Games - Fellowship Bring as many friends as you can! Wednesday Choir Sign ups in each area 6:00-6:30 pm

#ssFBCb2sb13


Pastor Mark Bryant It is almost impossible to fathom that we are almost through the summer break and getting ready to kick off the Fall. I fully understand why God reminds us that we are to make the most of our time. It is precious and it is fleeting. As we look ahead to the Fall I want to ask you to begin to pray about an event that I believe can change not only our city, but our nation. Dr. Billy Graham and his evangelistic association are planning an event in November that gives us a chance to reach out to our friends and neighbors. I am not going into all the details this month, but I do want to ask you to begin to pray. Pray for the Holy Spirit to begin to prepare your heart and the hearts of people in our city and our nation to hear and respond to the good news of Jesus. Ministerial Staff Senior Pastor

Mark Bryant [markbryant@ssfbc.org]

Associate Pastor

Fred Lewis [fredlewis@ssfbc.org]

Worship Pastor

Neal Terwilliger [nealterwilliger@ssfbc.org)

Associate Worship Pastor

Darren Gray [darrengray@ssfbc.org]

Minister of Education

Bruce Welch [brucewelch@ssfbc.org]

Minister of Recreation & Outreach

Mike Armstrong [mikearmstrong@ssfbc.org]

High School Student Pastor

Heath Anderson [heathanderson@ssfbc.org]

Middle School Student Pastor

Michael Tollison [michaeltollison@ssfbc.org]

I am not a doomsday kind of guy, but I can tell you that we are in a dark spiritual hole in this nation. There is no answer for our struggles outside of a move of the Spirit among God’s people. We must reach out to those who do not know Jesus and will spend eternity separated from Him in hell. Because we are the salt and light of the world, I am praying that God will use every single member of FBCSS to make a difference in the eternal destiny of our family, friends and neighbors. Please make this a matter of daily prayer. Start praying for people you know and those you do not know to come to a saving relationship with Jesus. Looking back over the summer, I need to say thanks to so many people who have worked diligently to make a difference in the lives of others. I want you to be sure and say thank you to Brit and Tracey. They did a wonderful job getting us ready for VBS. The attendance was great and the preparation was excellent. I also want to thank Jamie Young for the work she has done for Back Yard Bible Club. This is a mission field for us. I am thankful for the hard work and commitment she has for this ministry. There are also all the volunteers. You are priceless! There is no way we can do what we do without you. Thank You! You bless me and you bless those to whom you minister. The seeds that have been planted will continue to grow and God will bring the increase. Praise the Lord for giving us the privilege to be a part of His eternal plan. Looking forward to what God is going to do this Fall,

Pastor Mark

Minister to Children

Brit Fisher [britfisher@ssfbc.org]

Director of Preschool & Kindergarten Tracey Cody [traceycody@ssfbc.org]

Business Administrator

Tommy Johnston [tommyjohnston@ssfbc.org]

Director of Technology Scott Singleton [scottsingleton@ssfbc.org] La Primera iglesia Mission Pastor Amadeo Miranda

FirstNews is a monthy publication of

First Baptist Church 116 Oak Avenue Sulphur Springs,Texas 75482 (903) 885-0646 www.ssfbc.org

Pre-prayer-ation Fall 2013 Join us in the evening service on September 8th for a special time of worship & prayer for the upcoming school year and for our church.


Disaster Relief Yellow Cap Orientation Training Saturday, August 10 9:00 am - noon at The ROC Cost:$10 check or credit card only (To cover the cost of a background check) This training is for anyone interested in Texas Baptist Men Disaster Relief Ministry, and is open to men and women. To reserve a spot, email Mike Armstrong at mikearmstrong@ssfbc.org. For more information about TBM and Disaster Relief go to www.texasbaptistmen.org.

Saturday, September 28 Fellowship Hall @ 8:00 am

Family Night at the ROC Volleyball Grande August 9

Movie night-Soul Surfer August 23

Practical Self-Defense Monday, August 19 6:30-8:30 pm at the ROC High school age and older, male and female. No cost.

All ages invited!

Cost: $3.00

Volunteers are needed at the ROC... if you are interested in volunteering your time, please contact Mike Armstrong!


Save the Date!

Wednesday, October 9 Middle School & HIgh School

PARENTS! Children of every age, gender, income group and race are affected by bullying... and most of what you think about it is wrong! Learn what to do! Kidz’n Power Bullying Prevention Open House Monday, August 12 6:30 - 8:30 pm At the ROC No cost!

f All Ages!

Middle School & High School

Mark your calendar!

SYATP

(See You At The Pole!) Wednesday, September 25

PROMO SUNDAY is August 25th!

f Be here!


Adults 55+ 2013 Tennessee County Christmas Tour November 18-24 Pigeon Forge, Memphis & Gatlinburg, Tennessee Asheville & Charlotte, North Carolina

Tour Biltmore Estates, Tour Billy Graham Museum & Library, Tour Graceland & Mansion, and Smoky Mountains. Opry Shows: Blackwood Brothers & Dixie Stampede. Shop in Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge. Eat at the Old Mill Apple Barn.

Informational brochures available in the church office.

Adults 55+ Diamond Set Lunch resumes Tuesday, September 24 ROC LOAN BALANCE Total note--$2,250,000. Total paid--$657,077.54 Total Int.---$110,580.32 Total Principal- $546,939.11 Loan Balance---$1,703,060.89

www.facebook.com/ssfirstbaptist

August 25th is Promotion Sunday... We have a Sunday School Class for

YOU! Looking for a new class? lists of classes are available in the Welcome Center

Choir Retreat

August 9th 6 - 8 pm and August 10th 9am - noon Includes dinner & private concert on Friday evening (spouses welcome) as well as our Christmas preview Saturday morning in the choir room. (Refreshments provided) At the ROC & Music Suite For more info call Neal at 903-885-0646 New members and returning members are welcome! Please sign up in the choir suite or call the church office to make your reservation.


116 Oak Avenue Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482

Non-Profit Organization U.S Postage Paid Permit No. 174 Sulphur Springs, Texas

Address service requested


Firstnews august 2013  
Advertisement
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you