Page 1

First News April 2014

April 13th

“Nothing Compares to the Glory” Spring Musical

Featuring the Sanctuary choir, soloists, and orchestra of FBC

6:00 pm Worship Center

April 16th

“Come to the Table” Churchwide Fellowship Meal followed by the Lord’s Supper 6:00 pm ROC ($12 per family OR $4 per adult & $3 children)

There is a seat at the table for YOU! Please RSVP by noon on Sunday, April 13th. Sign up in the office or in the Welcome Center

April 18th

“Secret Church” 6:00 pm - midnight Adults - Fellowship Hall (Cost: $5) High School - Youth Building

April 20th

Easter Sunday

Worship with us - 8:30 am & 11:00 am Bible Study for all ages - 9:45 am


As I was sitting at my desk thinking about this article I noticed a business card that reads, “All It Takes Is….” and on the other side it reads, “ONE”. The idea is that one person being directed and empowered by the Spirit of God can accomplish some really incredible things. Pastor Mark Bryant Ministerial Staff Senior Pastor

Mark Bryant [markbryant@ssfbc.org]

Associate Pastor

Fred Lewis [fredlewis@ssfbc.org]

Worship Pastor

Neal Terwilliger [nealterwilliger@ssfbc.org)

Associate Worship Pastor

Darren Gray [darrengray@ssfbc.org]

Minister of Education

Bruce Welch [brucewelch@ssfbc.org]

Minister of Recreation & Outreach

Mike Armstrong [mikearmstrong@ssfbc.org]

High School Student Pastor

Heath Anderson [heathanderson@ssfbc.org]

Middle School Student Pastor

Michael Tollison [michaeltollison@ssfbc.org]

Minister to Children

Brit Fisher [britfisher@ssfbc.org]

Director of Preschool & Kindergarten Tracey Cody [traceycody@ssfbc.org]

Business Administrator

Tommy Johnston [tommyjohnston@ssfbc.org]

Director of Technology Scott Singleton [scottsingleton@ssfbc.org]

La Primera iglesia Mission Pastor

Amadeo Miranda [amadeomiranda12@ yahoo.com]

FirstNews is a monthy publication of First Baptist Church 116 Oak Avenue Sulphur Springs,Texas 75482 (903) 885-0646 www.ssfbc.org

I am thankful for the individuals who are willing to step up, even when they are the only “ONE”. On the other hand, I notice that there are numerous examples in the word of God where we read about people working together. David had Jonathan. Moses had Aaron. Paul had Barnabas and a number of others who served alongside him as the Lord used him to accomplish great things. Even Jesus called out the 12 to serve with Him. In the first letter to the church in Corinth, under the leadership of the Holy Spirit Paul penned these words, “For the body (the church) is not one member, but many”. (I Corinthians 12:14a) He then goes on to address the fact that every member plays an important role in the overall success of the body of Christ. As we continue to develop the ministries of HOPE, this truth will become more and more important. The work of the ministry depends on Spirit led, group participation. Every member is gifted by the Spirit with specific gifts that will enable this body of believers to accomplish our God given ministry. As we all follow the Spirit’s leadership in our lives He will use us to extend HOPE to the hopeless and our Father will be glorified in our obedience. So we are graced with the opportunity to serve, to give and to live out the good news. Imagine what will happen when we go to work in HOPE’s garden and 10 or 15 people show up to work together. Just think of how God can use you to help distribute food to the hungry, or clothes to those who are in need. Imagine being able to give from your abundance so that a child in Guatemala can take their first trip outside in a wheelchair made to fit their crippled body, or a village in South America can drink clean water from a well that was drilled in HOPE. The opportunities are endless and the results are eternal because with every bag of groceries, every meal that is prepared, every car that is repaired, every act of service offered through Mercy Ministries or HOPE’s helpers, the name of Jesus will be declared in word and deed. These and many more opportunities are waiting for us as we realize what we “get to do” as the sons and daughters of the God who loves us. Please consider this your personal invitation to be a part of offering HOPE. Do not wait for someone to recruit you, step up in faith and see what the Lord has in store for you and for those you will minister to in the name of Jesus. In 1 Corinthians 2:9 Paul writes, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love Him.” Never forget, we can do great things alone, yet we serve together as a people of HOPE. May God use you for His glory, Pastor Mark


n m Hy Sing

Tuesday, April 8

10:30 am- Light refreshments in 108 11:00 - SING YOUR FAVORITE HYMNS IN THE CHAPEL

Call the church office to reserve a seat on the bus

8:00 am Fellowship Hall

Tuesday, April 22 10:30 am - Games dominoes & blood pressure checks 11:30 am - Lunch Church will provide entire meal at $4/person 12:00 pm - Special Music Program

55+ Dinner Out Thursday, April 24 A.J.’s Fish Restaurant Bus leaves at 5:00 pm

Saturday, April 26 All ages welcome! Cost: $3

SSFBC Church Goal: $18,000

Please pray for this group the week of APRIL 6-11

It is not too late to sign up for a Mission Trip June 8-14 Endeavor Mission Trip to Chicago. June 22-28 Austin Mission Trip June 22-28 Rio Grande Mission Trip July 4-11 Rise Youth Choir Jamaica Trip July 5-12 Nicaragua Mission Trip July 27 - Aug 1 Milwaukee Mission Trip

ate! D e h t nd Saveis right arro!u VBS

e

orn the c

0th 2 h 12t June


High School

Radiant

and MAN UP continue... 6:00 pm...Girls at Youth Building, Guys at Heath’s house 8:00 pm....Meet at Heath & karen’s for MONDAY NIGHT! High School Save the Dates... Wednesday, May 7 - HCYA Spring Awakening Wednesday, May 14 - OMOD Celebration

HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS Sign up with Heath by April 16


Susan Fisher is organizing a group to enhance Hope's Pantry by using grocery coupons to purchase needed items for the pantry. We are also going to start offering personal toiletries, diapers, disposable razors, soap, shampoo, etc… to the ministry. If you would be interested in learning more about couponing, contact Susan at sfisher864@yahoo.com or call her at 903-243-8343 and see how you can help others as well as your family. -

HOPE Ministry Workday

Saturday, April 26 9am - ? In order to create new space for HOPE ministries, we are cleaning out and reaaranging the back storage areas of the youth building. Bring trailers, tools and helpers!

Summer League 4 on 4 Basketball If you are interested in forming a team to enter a church league at the ROC, please contact Mike Armstrong in the church office.

New or used eyeglasses are needed for Nicaragua Mission Trip. Please bring to the church office.

Couple’s Bible Study Led by Pastor Mark and Tonda “It Starts at Home” Wednesdays 6:45 pm at the ROC


116 Oak Avenue Sulphur Springs, Texas 75482

Non-Profit Organization U.S Postage Paid Permit No. 174 Sulphur Springs, Texas

Address service requested

There is a seat for YOU!

Firstnews april 2014  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you