Page 167


Development of an Advanced Photovoltaic Materials Research Cluster in South Dakota South Dakota School of Mines and Technology/NASA Glenn Research Center, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Langley Research Center, Human Exploration & Operations Mission Directorate

Surface topography images of PCBM-Nb2O5 layers and their interface in (a) 2D, and (b) 3D view; contact potential difference images of PCBM-Nb2O5 layers and their interface in (c) 2D and in (d) 3D view.

Science PI Smith giving invited lecture on photovoltaic materials during the South Dakota/ University of California, Santa Barbara IGERT student-organized energy forum at the 2013 Spring meeting of the Materials Research Society.

The overarching goal of the project is to enhance existing photovoltaic materials research infrastructure in the State of South Dakota through a coordinated, statewide effort, and further expand this infrastructure relating to solar energy technologies by forming, and supporting, a photovoltaic materials research cluster. The two main objectives of the project are 1) development of improved organic and inorganic photovoltaic compounds and device structures, and 2) improving photovoltaic materials research infrastructure. The project is shared between two regional institutions, the South Dakota State University (SDSU) and the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology (SDSMT). The project provides funding for faculty and students to address several parallel challenges in photovoltaic materials development: developing inorganic photovoltaic materials based on epitaxial crystal growth, such as high-efficiency multi-junction solar cells typically used in space, developing organic photovoltaic materials based on organic polymers and composites, with typically lower efficiency but significantly reduced costs, and organic/inorganic composite materials for novel solar cell designs, such as dye-sensitized solar cells utilizing nano-structured electrodes. The work is being conducted through a collaboration involving Department of Energy CINT (Sandia & Los Alamos National laboratory), Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM) at Argonne National Laboratory, Zyvex Corporation, MicroLink Devices, IPG Photonics Corporation, NASA JPL, and Langley Research Center.

Dr. Steve Smith, Science PI, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Dr. Eric Clark, NASA Technical Monitor, Glenn Research Center

NASA EPSCoR Stimuli 2014-15



EPSCoR Stimuli 2014-15  

NASA Office of Education’s Aerospace Research & Career Development (ARCD) is pleased to release NASA EPSCoR Stimuli, a collection of univers...

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you