Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 15

September 22, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you. Santa Clara Valley Wine Trail

Page 8 RSO Cured My Pancreatic Cancer

Page 13 sjDANCEco Presents ROOTS & WINGS

September is Wine Month in California, and what better way to celebrate than a tour of the local Santa Clara Valley Wine Trail? Christened in 2014, the Wine Trail is a 28-mile loop showcasing 25+ wineries throughout Morgan Hill, San Martin and Gilroy marked with brown and purple directional signs to help drivers locate wineries. Don’t Drink and Drive signs can also be found along the route. Until several years ago, the Santa Clara Valley Wine Region had been the “undiscovered wine country” of the Bay Area. Promoting our County’s assets, including our agricultural heritage, is important to me as a County Supervisor. In fact, when I first took office in 2010, I pledged to help our agricultural industry remain viable in Santa Clara County and this is just one of the ways that we have made headway on this.

Continued on Page 12 Y1Z

Page 18 Valley Speak: Deciphering the Jargon of Silicon Valley

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051


When...Where Symphony silicon Valley Opens 2017-2018 Season

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters.

In a dramatic season opening program, the orchestra conjures up two dark operatic heroes: a Dutchman under a terrible curse, and an Englishman fighting demons. The third character is the sea, and this thrilling ‘salt-water music’ (London Times) captures all the ocean’s power and ferocity. After the tumultuous first half, Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony provides sunny relief. The clouds vanish and give way to exhilarating celebration.   Conductor Paul Polivnick has been one of the most consistent guests on the SSV podium due, in large

Program:

• Richard Wagner: The Flying Dutchman Overture • Benjamin Britten: Four Sea Interludes and Passacaglia, from “Peter Grimes” • Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92

part, to the wide range of materials at which he excels. He has brought four world premieres to our audiences, including SCENES by John Magnussen, a pair of David Amram premieres, Symphonic Variations on a Song by Woody Guthrie and “Three Songs,” a concerto for Piano and Orchestra commissioned for Jon Nakamatsu; and Gordon Lee’s “Young Impressions of the Old City”. Photo courtesy of Symphony Silicon Valley.

Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Y2Z

Tickets: 408.286.2600 or www.symphonysiliconvalley.org  

Single Tickets: $45 - $90 Discounts available for seniors and students  

Season Subscriptions also available Seven Programs: $287-$602  Four Programs: $164-$344 Saturday, September 30th at 8:00pm Sunday, October 1st at 2:30pm California Theatre, 345 South First Street, San Jose, CA 95113


WWW.MYACTIONSPOT.COM

OUR SEPTEMBER EVENTS September 29, 2017 - Friday Nights @ ACTIONSPOT. Join us Friday Night for drinks, food, and meet new friends, expand your network, and connect with entrepreneurs and professionals from around Silicon Valley. This open-house event is all about unwinding at the end of your week and making great connections along the way. October 3, 2017 - Beyond the Build: a Workshop for Non-Tech Founders. This workshop is for women, trans and nonbinary folks only! Do you have a world-changing idea but lack the tech skills to bring it to life? Would you like to attend your first hackathon but aren’t sure what you would do there? Are you a programmer who would like to learn how to better work with non-tech teammates? This workshop will be your how-to guide for being the best teammate possible even if you can’t code! October 21, 2017 - Hack The Patriarchy Hackathon. Check http://www.hackthepatriarchy.com/ for more information about this hackathon and application process.


Hut Hut Hike Community Quarterback The San Francisco 49er’s and Martha’s Kitchen, a non-profit soup kitchen in the heart of San Jose, are proud to announce that Mary Pat Lass is the winner of the 2017 49er’s Community Quarterback Award. The award is given out each year to recognize individuals who are dedicated to making a difference in the community. The 49er’s Community Quarterback Award Program recognizes volunteers who demonstrate leadership, dedication and commitment to bettering the San Francisco Bay Area. The award ceremony was held at the Bourbon Pub at Levi Stadium. Edita Cruz, Executive Director of Martha’s Kitchen

introduced her winning nominee at the event. Cruz stated, “It was more difficult to convince Mary Pat to be our nominee for the award, than for me to write the grant application”. Cruz continued, “In Mary Pat’s usual humble way she simply said ‘Me? Why me? Cruz explained to her how the small soup kitchen would also benefit from the award. On a lighter note, Cruz joked, about how apparently Mary Pat has too much time on her hands because she also volunteers at The Oakland Zoo with the giraffes. Cruz quipped, “Mary Par had a short neck…but after working with the giraffes…” Mary Pat earned the award because she has volunteered at Martha’s

(408) 264 - 7500

Kitchen since 1995 and has been on the board as secretary since 2005. She volunteered for over 20 years, as a telephone counselor logging 2,000 hours and served 2 terms on the board of the crisis line Contact Cares, which joined forces with The Bill Wilson Center, for homeless youth. Cruz says of Mary Pat that she has a spirit of total giving, and does not volunteer for personal gain but for the “feeling of satisfaction of helping her fellow man”. Martha’s Kitchen has been assisting their fellow men for 35 years. Dubbed

BHPrinting.com

Blossom Hill Printing Company

Quality • Service • Graphic Design Banners • Magnetics • Forms • Brochures Business Cards • Specialty Items • And More Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years. What can we deliver for you?

Y4Z

Mary Pat Lass receiving her trophy from former Quarterback Steve Bono

the ‘little soup kitchen that could’, Martha’s Kitchen has done the impossible and feed over 400,000 meals each year to the Bay Area’s neediest hungry clients. With a lean budget and volunteers like Mary Pat, MK has helped over 40 non-profits in various

counties in Northern California. The grand total of meals MK has served over the years are 4,000,000. Their goal is to serve one million meals every two years. To be a volunteer like Mary Pat or to donate call 408-293-6111 or go to marthas-kitchen.org

Kingdom Family Resources is a community based Mental Health service that is dedicated to the education, healing, growth and preservation of all families. “Our vision is to restore a heart, restore a family and transform lives for a lifetime. In order for families to be strong and healthy -- each member need to be strong and healthy.”


Development Bridging the Gab One Book at a Time Research has shown that children can lose up to 2 months of learning if they do not participate in a reading program over the summer months. More importantly, third grade reading skills predict high school competency and graduation. South Valley Family Y’s Summer Learning Program is closing the academic achievement gap with a curriculum that improves students’ educational readiness, while helping them grow emotionally and build confidence.

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute Y5Z


IN THE VINEYARDS GUGLIELMO WINERY

Sunday Sept 24th

Captivating audiences around the world with powerful vocals combined with charming comedic banter, ALFIO effortlessly brings all generations of music lovers together. Internationally renowned star ALFIO successfully debuted ‘ALFIO In Concert’ nationally on Public Television PBS and is bringing his world class Outdoor Concert to the wonderful Guglielmo Winery in Morgan Hill. An Australian native of Italian descent, tenor-trained ALFIO brings passion to his performances and draws constant comparisons to superstars Andrea Bocelli, Frank Sinatra and Elvis Presley to which he pays tribute to in his show. This charismatic singer/songwriter/musician takes you on a sentimental journey with much loved classics, pop standards and his acclaimed award winning original compositions... this is truly a show not to be missed!

Wine & Light Fare by Aldo’s 5:00 | Concert 6:00

VIP $75.00 | Regular $65.00 Discounts for “Guglielmo Wine Group” Members

Tickets: 408-779-2145 or www.guglielmowinery.com Guglielmo Winery -1480 E. Main Ave, Morgan Hill, CA 95037 But if you have to miss this concert, please visit our 92-year-old family | www.alfiomusic.com winerywww.guglielmowinery.com on another day! We are in your local wine country and are open 7 days a week from 10am to 5pm, except for 5 major Holidays! Guglielmo Winery - 1480 E. Main Ave, Morgan Hill, CA 95037 www.guglielmowinery.com www.alfiomusic.com


Balcony Seats Mission Chamber Orchestra presents “British Connections” performing the Mollicone Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, she will perform Fritz Kreisler’s Praeludium and Allegro. About Mission Chamber Orchestra of San Jose: Founded by conductor and musical director Emily Ray in 1996, Mission Chamber Orchestra of San Jose (MCOSJ) is a volunteer orchestra performing professional quality concerts in the South Bay. The 35- to 50-piece orchestra is known for its innovative programming that surprises and delights PROGRAM its listeners. Henry Mollicone -------------- Concerto for Violin and In May 2011, Orchestra Fritz Kreisler ------------------ Praeludium and Allegro F.J. Haydn --------------------- Symphony no. 104, “London” Richard Arnell ----------------- Sonata for Chamber Orchestra R. Vaughan Williams -------- Concerto Grosso for String Orchestra

When local composer Henry Mollicone asked Emily Ray, conductor of the Mission Chamber Orchestra of San Jose (MCOSJ) to include his new violin concerto in the orchestra’s 2017-18 season, Maestra Ray was happy to oblige. The work has lush passages, typical of the type of writing British-born violinist Pip Clarke loves to play, so Ms. Ray suggested Ms. Clarke as the soloist for Mollicone’s work.  With a resounding, “Yes!” from

Ms. Clarke, the idea for a program with British connections was born. On Saturday, September 30th the MCOSJ kicks off its 22nd season with a program including Haydn’s “London” Symphony alongside works by British composers Ralph Vaughan Williams and Richard Arnell. Ms. Clarke, praised for her “vitality and technical precision” (Cincinatti Enquirer), has frequently collaborated with Emily Ray and MCOSJ.  In addition to

the San Francisco Classical Voice praised MCOSJ’s performance of Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony, calling it “thrilling to hear.” MCOSJ features world class artists as well as emerging professional soloists. MCOSJ has given the world premieres of more than twenty works and the West Coast or South Bay premieres of many others. Brilliant Classics recently released a disc of A.J. Fernandes’ Violin Concerto featuring violinist Carlos Damas accompanied by the orchestra.

MCOSJ caters to a broad audience, featuring classical repertoire and modern works by composers from around the world. Select high school musicians are invited to join the orchestra in many of its concerts. Students from Prospect High School will join the orchestra for Vaughan Williams’ Concerto Grosso.

Rainbow Funding & Realty

Saturday, Sept. 30, 2017 at 7:30pm Trianon Theatre 72 N. 5th St., San Jose

Best Mortgage Broker 2016

TICKETS Available at www.missionchamber.org and at the door  

General - $25 Senior -  $20 Student under 25 with ID -  $12 Child under 12 -  $10 Free parking is available in city-owned garage directly across the street.

• 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

www.rainbowfunding.com

(800) 782 - LOAN Conditions apply

Y7Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Wellness RSO Cured My Pancreatic Cancer By Albert D. Brett

My first sign was an inflated blood vessel near my pancreas; an indication of possible issues, but nothing definite. (8/13) CT and biopsy (12/13) yielded results: positive for Pancreatic Cancer Stage 2B - borderline retractable.  Being asymptomatic, had I not read Steve Jobs Biography I would not have acted….but based on his experience, I dove into treatment with the Huntsman Cancer Institute and the Salt Lake City VA Hospital.  Three months of intense chemo ensued, to clear off any unseen cells; hopefully the tumor would still be retractable.  The medical techs and the Oncologist were brutally honest.   The odds were 6% for survival…. so…..”Get your affairs in order.” As an act of desperation, I was fortunate to have tried medical cannabis. At the time, I believed that only

6% survived this type of cancer and after much research, thought, soul searching, and prayer decided to enter cannabis into the fight as another medicine, to combat the cancer. By my second chemo regimen I started a cancer fighting dose of the oil. I took one gram of extracted oil by capsule each night at bedtime. On June 2, 2014, 2/3 of my pancreas and spleen were removed. In the pathology report the tumor was identified, and 45 lymph nodes were also removed which were cancer free. The tumor shrunk 40% and, along with the surgery, I believe that the cannabis and the cannabinoids compounds, in the oil, were attracted to the cancer and stopped the genome sequencing of the self replicating cancer

cells. The cancer was one of the most pernicious types of pancreatic cancers and I turned down the prophylactic radiation of my brain and liver and instead took a prophylactic dose of the cannabis 500 mg a day. It is obvious to my health advisers that it has made a dramatic difference for me; it has very likely saved my life, for chemotherapy alone is usually inadequate. I received two citations issued by Idaho State Police in the spring of 2015 based on my use of the oils. In court, the Judge told me that I was in the wrong zip code to use this medicine to aid the fight for my life. At the time I was my 89 year old mother’s care provider. My only sister lives in Michigan unable to help me in Idaho. I managed to get my mother

admitted to the Gables in Ammon, a senior care facility. That act fired me from my job as her sole caretaker.  I was in a dilemma. Stay in Idaho, get a job, pay my fine, and save my mother’s house but not be able to take the prophylactic cannabis to fight the cancer. Or go to California. I decided to go to California to hopefully get a job with Pancreatic Cancer Action Awareness Network, take my medicine as an upright citizen and, hopefully, save the ranch in Idaho. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the job, my car had a major breakdown and I found myself homeless in October of 2015. Over the next year I was in a Veteran Affairs (VA) housing program known as Hud-Vash. I am housed in Santa Cruz, with my disability from the VA being now adjusted to a permanent 100% disability. Today I am housed and funded through my service connected disability. I would like to return to Idaho as an upstanding citizen. I don’t believe

I did anything wrong in fighting my cancer with cannabis and to date I am cancer free. At this point I would like to seek a resolution, in order for me to go home. A deadly disease - and Idaho’s refusal to allow treatments that saved my life - forced me to leave my home, family and friends, to seek legal treatment here in California. I would like to work with the Huntsman Institute and the Stanford medical researchers to chronicle the success of my treatment against all odds, but because of the restrictive Federal Laws, the medical community cannot even discuss my case or review my charts to evaluate my use of RSO cannabis.  For them, an honest inquiry might jeopardize their federal research money. I don’t expect a ticker tape parade because we might have uncovered a possible cure for pancreatic cancer, but I will do everything I can to encourage an honest and empirical dialogue about the scientific facts.

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y8Z


OPEN HOUSE SAT/SUN 1 – 4

3152 Bimber Court, San Jose 95148

$998,999

Move in ready! Lovely Evergreen single story 3bd 2 ba, a large upstairs loft, detached 1605 SF family home on a large 7957 SF lot. Sits on a quiet cul-de-sac secluded from the neighboring homes. Master suite has doors opening to the luxurious patio of beautiful gardens with multiple established fruit trees. Stately gazebo, stone walkways and decorative fountain. The expansive master bath has all new tile and double sink. The second bath has all new tile floor. Kitchen is freshly renovated with new appliances. Inside laundry room with all new front-load washer/dryer. Home has been lovingly maintained and recently upgraded for family living. Within walking distance to the most sought after schools; Norwood Creek, Quimby Oaks, Evergreen Valley. Sold As-Is.

Contact the Owner Today! 650-380-5686


For​ ​Immediate​ ​Release

Cityteam​ ​Commemorates​ ​60​ ​Years​ ​of​ ​Serving​ ​the​ ​Homeless 

Cityteam​ ​began​ ​in​ ​1957​ ​when​ ​Lester​ ​and​ ​Pauline​ ​Meyers​ ​gathered​ ​up​ ​$467​ ​to​ ​start​ ​feeding​ ​the poor​ ​in​ ​downtown​ ​San​ ​Jose,​ ​CA​.​ ​ ​Under​ ​the​ ​leadership​ ​of​ ​Pat​ ​Robertson,​ ​Cityteam​ ​grew​ ​to serve​ ​500,000​ ​people​ ​in​ ​five​ ​cities​ ​(San​ ​Jose,​ ​San​ ​Francisco,​ ​Oakland,​ ​Portland,​ ​and Philadelphia)​ ​across​ ​the​ ​United​ ​States​ ​each​ ​year.​ ​Today,​ ​Cityteam’s​ ​new​ ​president​ ​Glen Peterson,​ ​a​ ​former​ ​Executive​ ​VP​ ​of​ ​Seagate​ ​has​ ​committed​ ​himself​ ​to​ ​develop​ ​innovative​ ​and collaborative​ ​solutions​ ​to​ ​poverty,​ ​homelessness​ ​and​ ​addiction.​ ​Cityteam​ ​compassionately meets​ ​the​ ​immediate​ ​needs​ ​of​ ​men,​ ​women​ ​and​ ​children​ ​and​ ​empowers​ ​them​ ​to​ ​embrace lasting​ ​solutions.​ ​To​ ​commemorate​ ​this​ ​milestone,​ ​dinner​ ​will​ ​be​ ​served​ ​to​ ​our​ ​300+​ ​homeless guests​ ​as​ ​if​ ​they​ ​were​ ​dining​ ​at​ ​a​ ​5-star​ ​restaurant​ ​on​ ​Saturday,​ ​September​ ​23​ ​at​ ​5:00pm. Cityteam​ ​San​ ​Jose​ ​Celebration Saturday,​ ​September​ ​23 1:00​ ​PM​ ​–​ ​6:00​ ​PM 580​ ​Charles​ ​Street San​ ​Jose,​ ​CA​ ​95110 AGENDA 1:00pm​ ​-​ ​5:00pm Cooking​ ​&​ ​Set-up 5:00pm Dinner​ ​will​ ​be​ ​Served​ ​to​ ​our​ ​Homeless​ ​Guests as​ ​if​ ​they​ ​are​ ​Dining​ ​at​ ​a​ ​Five-Star​ ​Restaurant 5:30pm Remarks​ ​by Glen​ ​Peterson,​ ​Cityteam​ ​President John​ ​Scott,​ ​Cityteam​ ​City​ ​Director Cake​ ​Cutting _____________________________ About​ ​Cityteam: Cityteam​ ​is​ ​a​ ​non-profit​ ​organization​ ​serving​ ​the​ ​poor​ ​and​ ​homeless​ ​in​ ​San​ ​Jose​ ​since​ ​1957. Cityteam​ ​has​ ​provided​ ​life-saving​ ​hot​ ​meals,​ ​emergency​ ​food​ ​boxes,​ ​safe​ ​shelter,​ ​clothing, showers,​ ​long-term​ ​recovery​ ​programs,​ ​learning​ ​&​ ​career​ ​skills,​ ​counseling​ ​and​ ​other​ ​essential care​ ​365​ ​days​ ​a​ ​year​ ​for​ ​men,​ ​women​ ​and​ ​children​ ​who​ ​are​ ​in​ ​desperate​ ​need​ ​to​ ​find​ ​ways​ ​to survive​ ​and​ ​make​ ​real​ ​life​ ​changes​ ​while​ ​they​ ​find​ ​real​ ​hope.​ ​For​ ​more​ ​information,​ ​visit www.cityteam.org Cityteam​ ​Media​ ​Contacts: Carol​ ​Patterson 408-316-6892 cpatterson@cityteam.org

Darlene​ ​Tenes 408-888-8414 darlene@casaq.com


Valley Extra Our Corner of the Valley By Scott Taper

The weather will determine who can govern: During major disasters our governments from local to national will bring the best and worst behaviors of politicians. The social model is that we have evolved from a ragtag group of cavemen recognizing the leader as the physically strongest to electing leaders and acquiescing the the power of many and giving it to a few. Those few have a purpose. They serve at the pleasure of the people. How these leaders act in times of crisis signals a lot about their character. John F. Kenney had a

colossal failure with the Bay of Pigs invasion of Cuba, which was a bunch of expatriated Cubans and US military advisors who were caught on a Cuban Beach and torn to pieces by Castro. But during the Cuban Missile Crisis, his stare down Crisis the Russian ships carrying Nukes to Cuba literally made him an American Icon. His total reluctance to offend the southern Democrats (who later became Republicans) was not his shining hour. It was Lyndon Johnson who passed the Civil Rights Act, enacted the War on Poverty, and stared down the Southern Democrats who bolted the party for

Republican. It can be said he accomplished far more than Kennedy. Now we have a President who is faced with two devastating weather crises in Texas and Florida, a nuclear rogue nation that is threatening to attack us, and organizational chaos in his administration while facing potential impeachment charges. So far he seems to be lacking in managing any crisis. He’s baited the unstable North Korean dictator in acting even more quickly. He traveled to Houston and spoke about how “great” everyone there was doing in assisting and helping the people

and never said anything about those people nor met with any of them. He said that “FEMA is doing such a great job” and was very “efficient” . FEMA was greatly improved by President Obama, who made all the necessary agencies integrate their services. And this current President has continued to be as unpresidential as any past president in US History. But today he made a temporary concession to the

Democrats by postponing for 6 months any actions regarding Dreamers. Six Months and we get to do it all over again. But the Republicans wanted to attach it to the temporary or even the full authorization of the debt ceiling that would authorize the payments of the US debt. Republicans wanted to gamble with the Lives of US citizens and immigrants. See you at the polls.

Scott Taper is a biweekly contributor who consults in the field of commercialization and licensing of patented technologies/consumer products. Send inquiries to staper@scitechcal.com with subject line ”Our Corner of the Valley”

Chefs for Christ Banquet & Concert

SATURDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2017 DINNER @ 5:00PM CONCERT @ 7:30 P.M.

TICKETS: ADULTS: $45.00 CHILDREN 12 AND UNDER: $15.00 VIP TABLE: $200 (SEATING FOR 8) AMERICAN

ALL YOU CAN EAT INTERNATIONAL CUISINES ITALIAN

MEXICAN

HOPE FOR HOUSTON

INDIAN

SOUTHERN

VEGETARIAN

LIGHT OF THE WORLD CHURCH A PORTION OF THE PROCEEDS WILL GO 3777 QUIMBY ROAD SAN JOSE, CA 95148 (408) 238-9145 WWW.LOTW-SJ.COM TO THOSE AFFECTED BY HARVEY Y 11 Z


Happy Hour Santa Clara Valley Wine Trail Cont’ With so many award-winning wineries right here in our backyard, its time for Santa Clara County residents to stop spending hours driving to and from Napa Valley when they can enjoy a much better experience right here in the Santa Clara Valley. Choosing to spend money locally not only supports local businesses, but it also means that those tax dollars are used locally too. I hope that you will join me in supporting local agriculture and local businesses by planning a visit to the Wineries of Santa Clara Valley.

STACY SEYMOUR (408) 960-9416 www.stacyseymour.com

stacy.seymour@cbnorcal.com

South Valley Review is on the hunt for sales staff! If you are interested, please contact Us at editor@southvalleyreview.com! Y 12 Z

Learn more about September Wine Month, Fall Passport Weekend and other South County wine events here:

www.santaclarawines.com

t n e m e v o r p m I e m o H inting a P & n a m y d Han

Free Estimates (408) 646 - 8907 • Dry Rot Wood Repairs • Carpentry & Stucco • Fence Repairs • Sheet Rock & Texture • Painting & Match Touch-ups • 25 Years Experience


Bust a Move sjDANCEco Presents ROOTS & WINGS sjDANCEco, San Jose’s contemporary dance company, celebrates its 15th Anniversary Season with multiple world premieres and expanded venues including the Hammer Theatre Center in downtown San Jose (October 12 and 14), and ODC Theater in San Francisco (November 3 and 4). According to Artistic Director Gary Masters, “this is only the second time in our fifteen years, that we have brought our company to these two marvelous venues. We are so very excited to be back. Our Season-Opening program, entitled Roots & Wings, will explore the diverse inspirations and contributions that have been the foundation… the roots of creativity… for our resident choreographers and which have made and continued to make sjDANCEco’s repertory so distinctive.” sjDANCEco’s 20172018 season-opening program will feature four World Premiers by; sjDANCEco Artistic Director Maria Basile, sjDANCEco Choreographic Advisor & Professor of Dance at San Jose State University, Fred Mathews, Company Choreographer and dance Hsiang Hsiu Lin, and b former company dancer Nhan Ho. Each new work will expire the choreographer’s Roots

and the inspirations that give them Wings to excite and motivate their creativity. Also on the program will be a revival of Journey Through the Labyrinth originally created in 1994 for the Limon West Dance Project/San Jose and Idance of Independence High, with choreography by Artistic Director Gary Masters and set to a new commissioned score by Michael Touchi, Creative Consultant for the San Jose Chamber Orchestra. The revival will include a new section with choreography by Los Lupeños de San Jose Artists Director Sam Cortez. (Note: The San Francisco program will include the last section only… Limon Rhapsody… which in a compilation of thematic movements from 10 different works creating a “Limon Tapestry.”) The “Classic Offering” for both the SJ and SF

performances will be the Company Premiere of Doris Humphrey’s masterpiece, Day on Earth (1947) set to Aaron Copland’s “Sonata for Piano.” Collaboration with the San Jose Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Barbara Day Turner continues to highlight the company’s signature brand of contemporary dance and classic works of the American Modern Dance Repertory. About us: sjDANCEco is a year-round contemporary dance company based in San Jose, California that produces world premiere dances by its core and guest choreographers, and presents the very best of Contemporary and Classic Modern Dance as well as Masterpieces of the American Modern Dance Repertory. In addition to a full season of dance concerts, each sprint sjDANCEco produces a free outdoor Dance Festival at Santana Row in celebration of National Dance Week. Twice a year, sjDANCEco’s ChoreoProject offers emerging and professional choreographers in all dance disciplines (modern, ballet, hip hop, jazz, ethnic dance, etc.) a cost-free opportunity to present their work. sjDANCEco ignites the spirit of dance.

Y 13 Z

The Hammer Theatre Center 101 Paseo de San Antonio San Jose, CA 95113

Thurs, October 12, 2017 at 8:00pm

Sat, October 14, 2017 at 2:30pm and 8:00pm Tickets Available August 1st Single Tickets: $25    Student $35    Senior $40    General $60    VIP Thursday evening & Saturday matinee includes best seats in the house and reception with the dancers in the lobby following performances. $90    VIP Saturday evening includes best seats in the house and Gala Reception with dancers on Theatre Roof Top Garden  

ODC Theater

3153 17th Street San Francisco, CA 94110 Fri, November 3, 2017 at 8:00pm Sat, November 4, 2017 at 8:00pm Tickets Available August 1st Single Tickets: $25  Student $35    Senior $40    General   Box Office: 408.520.9854   www.sjDANCEco.org

Moreno Hauling Same day Clean Up & Go Trash Hauling

Residential/Commercial Trash Removal, Hauling, Garage, Hoarder Cleanouts, Home/Rentals Clean-ups, YARD SERVICE, Shed/Deck Removal. Fire safety! Moving Assistance In/Out. Senior/Military Discounts

(408) 729-0630

7 DAYS – RAIN OR SHINE!

We Take Everything! We Do All The Loading!


A Groovy Future San Jose Jazz Presents Progressions: New for the 2017-2018 School Year Developed in 2009 and tested in spring 2011 as a pilot program in the Franklin-McKinley School District (San Jose, CA), Progressions is now a flourishing year-round program. With a grant from the California Arts Council and matching support from Franklin-McKinley School District, this year’s Progressions program is for the first time offering a daytime General Music class during school hours in addition to its afterschool and weekend classes. This increases the number of students served from 200 to 1,000. “While many districts have had to do away

with music programs, our parents, teachers and staff continued to express their desire for this type of education to continue in our schools. The SJZ Progressions program not only inspires children to develop a passion for music, but also improved memorization skills, language and reasoning, and increased coordination,” says Juan Cruz, Superintendent of O

ed pe

h-S Hig

DI

BUUR NASK N ATIOABOU DL N T IN WIDE G!

RE

CT V

Int et ern

v er

vid pro

SU IN PE TE R RN FA ET ST

ari

b es ark

ym et.

Switch to DIRECTV and lock in your TV price at $50/month for 2 years when you have AT&T Wireless! SAovVerE 40%ˆ

50

$

00 MO.

plus taxes for 24 months w/24-mo. TV agmt & qualifying AT&T Wireless*

INCLUDES: SELECT™ All-Included Package – Over 145 Channels Monthly fees for a Genie and 3 add’l receivers

®

HD DVR

PLUS: ‡

CALL NOW and ask about Next Day Installation.

IVS 844-360-9625 Reqs AT&T postpaid svc on elig. plan (excl. Lifeline & Residential Wireless) on a smartphone or phone (excl. Wireless Home Phone). Svcs: Svc addresses must match. To be elig. for 2nd-yr price guarantee both services must remain active & in good standing during 2nd year. Price Guarantee: TV pkg only. After 24 mos. Or loss of eligibility, then-prevailing monthly rate for All-Included TV Pkg applies, unless customer calls to cancel/change service prior to the end of 24 mos. Price excludes taxes, equipment upgrades/add-ons and other chrgs. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. See att.com/directv. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Add’l Fees & Terms: $19.95 Handling & Delivery fee may apply. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. PREMIUM MOVIES OFFER: After 3 mos., then-prevailing rate for all four (4) premium movie pkgs applies (currently $53.99/mo.) unless canceled or changed by customer prior to end of the promotional period. Expires 4/21/17.

Franklin-McKinley School District. Once a week, 2nd and 3rd Graders learn the fundamentals of music through singing, movement, and activities in General Music class for 30 minutes. 4th - 6th Graders have access to twice-aweek after-school classes for 45 minutes with homework support and a nutritious daily supper provided. Available instruments include trumpet, trombone, flute, and clarinet (in the near future, students will also have access to drums, saxophone and keyboard). Two days a week, 7th and 8th Graders have afterschool intermediate and advanced classes with access to saxophone, baritone saxophone, and French horn in addition to other wind instruments (percussion and rhythm sections are anticipated to be added in 20172018). These students regularly perform at school events, and will soon participate in music competitions and honor bands throughout the region. A central feature of Progressions is The Nucleo, monthly Saturday events where Progressions students from all schools meet, share ideas and build community

Y 14 Z

of students and their families. The Nucleo also serves as “spaces of care,” providing students with a safe and structured environment. The Nucleo includes a staff and/or guest musical performance; a telling of a staff member’s personal musical experience; a student teambuilding exercise; a student performance or demonstration; and, a shared meal provided by volunteer families. San Jose Jazz welcomes violinist/ composer/conductor Marcos Zambrano from the El Sistema program in Venezuela to Progressions who will serve as the Advanced Band Conductor and Music Coordinator. Raised where the El Sistema education program was developed, Zambrano will ensure that as students advance through school they’ll be at the level of competing for merit-based scholarships and performance opportunities. Juan

Cruz and the FranklinMcKinley School District are also providing funding for Progressions’ homework center, which is staffed with certified teachers from the students’ own school. Intermediate and Advanced Bands will now meet at a single school site, Bridges Academy. Progressions currently is offered at five schools in the Franklin-McKinley School District in East San Jose: Santee Elementary School, Jeanne R. Meadows Elementary School, Robert F. Kennedy Elementary School, Stonegate School, and Bridges Academy. In July, a Progressions Summer Camp commences with daily instruction, music theory, group ensemble, academic enrichment, and community-building through music -- all of which fosters students to move seamlessly into an accelerated musical sequence during the academic year.


Rainbow Funding and Realty Morgan Hill $799,495

Hayward $519,000

Finding Senior Housing can be complex, but it doesn’t have to be. Call A Place for Mom. Our Pleasanton $295,000

Advisors are trusted, local experts who can help you understand your options. Since 2000, we’ve helped over one million families

“You can trust A Place for Mom to help you.” – Joan Lunden

find senior living solutions that meet their unique needs. 4 bed 3 bath 1900 sq feet

4 bed 2 bath 1800 sq feet

3 bed 2 bath 1,296 sq feet

More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

www.rainbowfunding.com

1 (800) 782 - LOAN NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

A Free Service for Families.

Call: (855) 407-7851 A Place for Mom is the nation’s largest senior living referral information service. We do not own, operate, endorse or recommend any senior living community. We are paid by partner communities, so our services are completely free to families.


Summer Vacation

Mount Rushmore, South Dakota (Top) Grand Canyon, Yellowstone (Left) By Shirley Photos by Monique

Take a Gamble - support a great charitable organization: “Serving the Children of the World” Kiwanis Club of Almaden Valley

At Nordahl Hall - 580 W. Parr Avenue - Los Gatos, CA Cocktails/Hors d oeuvres at 5:00; Casino from 6:00-9:00 Raffle at 9:15 (Great prizes - exchange your winnings for tickets) Please register online at: www.kiwanisclubofalmadenvalley.com Tickets $75 on line; $95 at the door

Re-ups available during play (if you’re having fun) Come have a great time - Dress casual or to the 9s

Y 16 Z


Open House Sunday 9/24 4:30 to 7:30pm Sunset Showing

LOOKING FOR A 12 CAR GARAGE?


Bookshelf Valley Speak: Deciphering the Jargon of Silicon Valley Why Silicon Valley Needs a Dictionary Silicon Valley prides itself on being an open meritocracy, but to those new here, it often just seems opaque. There are various reasons why people feel that way, but it all begins with the language. Silicon Valley language may not seem so strange to you. You may not even realize that you speak in a way that those from other regions and ways of life may find impenetrable. But there is a good chance that you do. Might you utter something like “My synthetic biology startup realized during its last sprint that it had better pivot or it would be facing a down round”? If so, then you’re part of the problem. But don’t worry, there’s still hope. Are you trying to change the world through one or more startups? You can’t do it by yourself. Even Silicon Valley can’t

do it by itself. You know that things will be much easier if you get all the stakeholders on board. You may not realize that they don’t all speak “Silicon Valley.” The answer isn’t to change how you speak. It’s to help bring everybody else up to speed. If Silicon Valley is serious about being open to the best and the brightest from anywhere (for more than just cheaper programming labor for startups) it ought to do what it can to make it easier for them to participate. The Diversity of Ideas in Silicon Valley Newcomers to Silicon Valley are often taken aback by the strange advice they get about how to do business here. Although those differences with “normal” business practice are real, they are far from the whole story, as there is no one Silicon Valley way of

doing things. The region is full of diverse ideas and perspectives. Here is a sampling of those we discuss in Valley Speak. Does anybody sign NDAs? “Official” answer: Nobody would ask unless they’re pathetically defensive and untrusting. Another widely held perspective (AWHP): Certainly, but not until there’s a firm basis of interest on both sides (and generally not investors).

Related, should a startup be in stealth mode? “Official” answer: You should talk about what you’re doing to win people over. AWHP: Know what it makes sense to say to whom. To sum up, “officially,” ideas are worth nothing, it’s all in the implementation. AWHP: Once an area is “hot,” there will likely be a proliferation of VCbacked startups working

on related ideas. What if it turns out that what I’m doing isn’t working? “Official” answer: The path to success is a sequence of pivots until you find the right direction. AWHP: Some serious thought early on can lead to a much straighter path. Is it good to fail? “Official” answer: Yes, you learn by failing. AWHP: Fail with somebody else’s money.

Join the King Library (150 East San Fernando Street San Jose, CA 95112) in a screening of Ken Burn’s and Lynn Novick’s documentary, The Vietnam War. Deja Vu Tues. Oct. 17 (1-4 pm): (1858-1961) After a long and brutal war, Vietnamese revolutionaries led by Ho Chi Minh end nearly a century of French colonial occupation. With the Cold War intensifying, Vietnam is divided in two at Geneva. Communists in the north aim to reunify the country, while America supports Ngo Dinh Diem’s untested regime in the south. Rinding the Tiger Sat. Oct 21 (2-5:30 pm): (1961-1963) President Kennedy inspires idealistic young Americans to serve their country and wrestles with how deeply to get involved in South Vietnam. As the increasingly autocratic Diem regime faces a growing communist insurgency and widespread Buddhist protests, a grave political crisis unfolds. Y 18 Z


News What it Took to Write Valley Speak To write a book like this, you obviously don’t want to be too “green,” i.e., new to the area. Less obviously, you don’t want to have it be too secondnature, such that you lose the perspective of a newcomer. As we pointed out in installment #1, once you become involved in life here, you stop noticing the jargon. We found it helpful to maintain lists of words that were (1) broadly relevant to Silicon Valley culture; and (2) unlikely to be known by an outsider (if the words were especially colorful, that also helped). We’d make a conscious effort when conversing to notice words that fit that description. In putting the book together, we first identified the broad topics that we wanted to cover, and then selected words in each of those areas. Finally, we organized the words into the

hundred or so 2-page chapters, and selected example sentences and quotes for each to illustrate how those terms are actually used in the Valley. But Valley Speak only scratches the surface of Silicon Valley culture. There are lots of ways to go deeper and learn more. These begin with the many web-based resources. But the most effective way is to just jump in: create or join a startup, participate in hackathons, etc. There are numerous programs for new entrepreneurs in any demographic or industry to learn hands-on.

Ask about our 3.5% Total Commission!!! Kids are back to school and it is a great time to list your home!!!

About the authors: Rochelle Kopp and Steven Ganz are the authors of Valley Speak: Deciphering the Jargon of Silicon Valley. Rochelle is an intercultural and management consultant. Steve is a technology consultant and is the founder of Teamifier.

Author Appearance October 3, 2017, 7PM at Books Inc., Palo Alto. 74 Town & Country Village Palo Alto, CA

Tom Merigan Realtor/Altas Realty

Office: (408) 559 - 1069 Cell: (408) 329 - 3150 Email: tmerigan@yahoo.com BRE# 01319061

https://www.booksinc. net/event/rochelle-koppsteven-ganz-books-incpalo-alto

Tom is your 95123 Area Specialist!! Y 19 Z


THE

GOSS

REAL

SOLD $180,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

E S TAT E

GROUP

SOLD $156,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

PRESENTS

SOLD $150,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

1650 Trona Way, Willow Glen

2014 Admiral Way, North San Jose

1118 Abbott Avenue, Campbell

4 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,678 SF | $1,175,000

5 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 2,533 SF | $1,231,000

4 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 3,826 SF | $2,500,000

NOW IS THE RIGHT TIME TO SELL! Inventories are at historic lows! CALL ME TODAY to find out your home’s new value!

COMING SOON 16185 LOS GATOS BLVD, SUITE 205 LOS GATOS, CA 95032 CalBRE #01526679

3/2 1,209 SF Cambrian Townhome $725,000 4/2 1,127 SF Santa Clara Single Family $950,000

EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

THINKING OF SELLING YOUR HOME? Call me today at (408) 234-0417 or go online to www.DougsHomeValues.com for a quick, no hassle online home valuation!

SOLD $30,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

I Don’t Just List Homes...I Sell Them!

SOLD $63,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

SOLD $41,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

1915 Coastland Avenue, Willow Glen

495 Suisse Drive, Blossom Valley

1382 Pierce Ranch Road, Almaden Valley

3 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,641 SF | $1,225,000

4 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,826 SF | $993,000

4 Bedrooms | 2.5 Baths | 2,233 SF | $1,440,000

DOUG GOSS

BROKER ASSOCIATE CRS,CRP,GRI,ABR 408-267-4663 DGOSS@KW.COM CalBRE #01182111

LOS GATOS OFFICE

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD., SUITE 105 LOS GATOS, CA 95032

ALMADEN VALLEY OFFICE

5671 SANTA TERESA BLVD., SUITE 103 SAN JOSE, CA 95123

TheGossRealEstateGroup.com

CalBRE #01526679

September 22 17  
September 22 17