Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 16

October 6, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you.

Megan Medeiros Nature’s Inspiration 2017 speech

Page # 8 Rebuilding Together One Home at a Time

Page # 12 Do This Fall Yard Work and Reap Springtime Benefits

Page # 18 National Charity League Philanthropy Fair Megan welcoming everyone

There are 3 things you should know about us... 1. We believe that every child should be able to get in nature and feel a sense of awe no more than 10 minutes from home. 2. We believe that our leaders should be working

to restore nature and fight climate change with the same pride and fervor as building housing or reducing traffic. 3. We are fighting for a future where our organization is no longer needed and nature doesn’t

need to be saved. Hello wonderful people and welcome to our 14th annual Nature’s Inspiration!

Continued on Page 14 Y1Z

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051


When...Where Rocky Horror Show benefits St. Baldrick’s Foundation

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters.

The perfect show for the Halloween season, this year also pairs “Rocky” with the Famous Monsters Halloween Bash (Cosmic Con) a stunning threeday party at San Jose McEnery Convention Center featuring stars from HELLRAISER,

GREMLINS, REANIMATOR, and Richard Brake…the Night King from GAME OF THRONES. This LIVE PERFORMANCE of Rocky Horror Show features a unique use of back lighting and “Virtual Scenery”. The set is one giant television screen, and a LED stage floor. Strobe lighting and other effects are

TICKETS:

Convention Center performances: $19.75 - $39.75

San Jose Stage performances: $35 - $50 Halloween performance: $35 - $70

San Jose Convention Center, Hall 1, 150 W. San Carlos Street, San Jose, CA 95113 Friday, October 27 at 8pm and 11:30pm Saturday, October 28 at 8pm and 11:30pm

Phone: 818-206-0142 Hours M-F 10am-5pm PST.

Online: www.famousmonstershalloween.com

incorporated freely into the experience. Audience members are encouraged to come in costumes, and the Midnight shows and the special Halloween performance on Tuesday, October 31st will feature Rocky Horror Costume Contests. The Halloween performance will also have a Benefit Head Shaving event with St. Baldrick’s.

A portion of the proceeds benefits St. Baldrick’s Foundation and their fight to conquer childhood cancer. St. Baldrick’s Foundation is a registered 501(c) (3). Federal I.D. number 201173824

San Jose Stage Company, 490 South 1st Street, San Jose, CA 95113

HALLOWEEN, Tuesday, October 31 at 9pm Thursday, November 2 at 8pm Friday, November 3 at 8pm Saturday, November 4 at 8pm Saturday, November 4 at 11:30pm Phone: 844-OH-ROCKY (844-647-6259) Online: www.rockyhorrortickets.com Tickets are available at the door one hour before curtain.

Platinum Chiropractic Has a New Location!

Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Members of the Santa Clara Chamber welcome Platinum with a Ribbon Cutting

Y2Z

Dr. Karo Isajan and his capable team are ready to make any adjustments you might want to his new location in Santa Clara


WWW.MYACTIONSPOT.COM

OUR OCTOBER EVENTS October 14, 2017 - Designing for Hackathon Success. Are you a designer who wants to attend hackathons, but think they aren’t for you? Are you an engineer who wants to improve your design thinking? Join us from 10am – 12pm. This 2-hour workshop is for designers & engineers looking to attend (and win!) hackathons with better design & improved UX. We will focus on giving you a toolbox of skills and strategies to help you plan and design your project. October 18, 2017 - HTC Ventures - Fireside Chat with Praveen Gupta. At each Fireside Chat event, ActionSpot will offer you the opportunity to have access to a successful startup founder or investor in an intimate setting. You will be able to ask him or her your most burning questions about how to bring your idea to market and grow it into a large, successful venture. Join us from 6:30pm – 9:00pm. October 27, 2017 - ACTIONSPOT 1st Annual Halloween Bash. ACTIONPOT is turning 1! Help us celebrate at our 1st Annual Halloween Bash from 6:30 PM 9:30 PM! Free food, drinks & Beats!


Local Events A Help Button Should Go Where You Go!

Eat Drink Los Gatos Sat Sept 23

To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go. Traditional Help Buttons

At Home In the Car On a Walk On Vacation At the Park Shopping Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

1-888-358-6120 $

29lu95 e Va

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.

Willow Glen BBQ Festival Sat Sept 23

Taste of Morgan Hill Taste of Morgan Hill has enjoyed some interesting community members from the Wildlife Education Rehabilitation Center

Taste Crowds

Y4Z


Valley Extra Our Corner of the Valley By Scott Taper

When I first envisioned this column, it was to be a bi-weekly discussion of economic issues that affect all of us and provide resources that the reader could use. Well, let’s talk DACA, migratory workers, and the failure of Mexico. The Huffington Post says that there only 15 millionaires who hold over $158 Billion, or roughly all of the country’s wealth. Over 58 million of the 122 million citizens are below the poverty line. Many point to several European colonizations of Mexico that has led to a hapless state searching for a national identity. However, it is easy to see that there is more to it than that easy explanation. Mexico was corrupted early on by the European influences of Spanish and French rule that plundered the riches of the Mexican mineral resources. Tons of gold and silver, and other rare items were shipped to the European continent to enrich the treasuries of Spain and France. There as large scale corruption among the officials in

the governing body as all sought to retain some of the wealth for themselves. The corruption has continued to the present day where over 42% of the wealth resides with 10% of the population. However, Mexico is an enigma. The unemployment rate is only 3.5% and dropping. Sixteen percent of the unemployed didn’t finish high school, while 84% completed college. Mexico isn’t creating jobs for educated workers. So, why is there any migration to the US, risking so much to get here for the most menial jobs? Well, for one thing, the jobless rate is false. Mexico measure employment as anyone who works one hour a week, as employed. The tent cities surrounding Mexico City attests to that glaring fact. If people are unemployed, they will seek jobs in Mexico’s other economy: Drugs and Human Trafficking. What happens if the United States starts dumping 800,000 new people into the system who are bilingual, speaking perfect English, educated, and some may be skilled in warfare? Let’s take a

Scott Taper is a biweekly contributor who consults in the field of commercialization and licensing of patented technologies/consumer products. Send inquiries to staper@scitechcal.com with subject line ”Our Corner of the Valley”

look at Guatemala. The US started deporting gang members back to Guatemala for years, many under the Obama administration. They have literally taken over the country to the point where there are close to 500 murders a month! Currently, there is already negative migration to the US due to the clamp downs at the border, weeding out of corrupt border guards, illegal immigrants who are voluntarily leaving. DACA is good policy because it says that an illegal immigrant who was less than 15 when they arrived or under 31 as of September 12, 2012 may remain in the US BUT only if an illegal immigrant is productive, haven’t committed a serious misdemeanor or felony, and in school moving toward any type of degree or diploma. And you must have registered as such with US Immigration. No, who is going to help harvest the crops in California? Rebuild Southern Texas? Florida? The only way we can prevent the crime in Mexico from swallowing up our youth is have a sensible, benevolent immigration policy that includes guest workers. Sources: NY Times, Wharton School of Business, Trading Economics, KQED, Mexico: Crimes at the Border.

Y5Z

South Valley Review is on the hunt for sales staff! If you are interested, please contact Us at editor@ southvalleyreview.com!

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!! Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute


Happy Hour AFLIO in the Vineyards Recap AFLIO captivated audiences once again with powerful vocals combined with charming comedic banter at an outdoor concert at Guglielmo Winery in Morgan Hill, Sunday, September 24th.

Shots of the crowd

If you missed the concert, please visit our 92-year-old family winery on another day! We are in your local wine country and are open 7 days a week from 10am to 5pm, except for 5 major Holidays! Guglielmo Winery 1480 E. Main Ave, Morgan Hill, CA 95037

ALFIO in living color

ALFIO

George Guglielmo welcomes the crowd

Have a story you wish to tell? We would love to hear about it! Send to editor@southvalleyreview.com And look for it in our next issue! Y7Z


Helping Hands Rebuilding Together One Home at a Time

On Oct. 28, 2017, Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley will coordinate community volunteers to provide free home repairs and modifications for lowincome homeowners-seniors, veterans, and

people with disabilities. This work has an immediate and tangible impact on those served-providing housing that is safer and healthier. Silicon Valley will transform 38 homes and 2 nonprofits. Annually Rebuilding Together provides free safety repairs for over 360 homes. “We are committed to helping homeowners in need maintain their housing, ensuring not just housing but a safe and healthy

home”, said Beverley Jackson, Executive Director, Rebuilding Together Silicon Valley. “We do more than fix houses; with the help of our volunteers, we will rebuild lives.” Over 1000 volunteers, including teams from Advantest America, Adobe Foundation, Aedis Architects, Amazon, Asian Real Estate Association of America, Church on the Hill, DPR Construction, Cobham, First Congregational Church of San Jose, GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy, Google.org, Hitachi Data Systems, Los Altos United Methodist Church, Lynn Wedel Memorial Fund, Menlo Church Saratoga,

Y8Z

Mission Bell, Mountz Inc. NetApp, Rotary Club of Cupertino, Rotary Club of Los Gatos, Rotary Club of Morgan Hill, Silicon Valley Mechanical, Seagate, Sears Heroes at Home, Steinberg Architects/Flint Builders, Stone Presbyterian Church of Willow Glen, Valley Heating and Cooling, Waterhouse Management Corporation, Wells Fargo Housing Foundation. Among the homeowners to receive help, local recipients of service include:

1. Flood survivors in Golden Wheel Mobile Home Park will be receiving repairs.  Donna and Greg are both disabled and in their 60s.  He is a Vietnam Navy Vet who has a black lung and diabetes, and his wife has arthritis.  Both have to use a scooter to get around.  Valley Heating and Electrical will be painting the exterior of their home, replacing the furnace, fixing damaged skirting, debris removal, and clearing paths for their scooters to better access their home.  *900 Golden Wheel Park Dr. # 170 SJ, CA 95112, Golden Wheel Mobile Home Park                           2. Former Morgan Hill volunteer Fire Fighter, Ascencion (73) worked in the farms of Morgan Hill for many years.  He is now blind and in a wheel chair. Rotary Club of Morgan Hill will be painting the interior and


Helping Hands

exterior of his home, installing a new stove, and providing critical electrical repairs. *17245 Torrey Ct. Morgan Hill, CA  95037  

Together Silicon Valley volunteers will be working at 40 locations in San Jose, Morgan Hill, Milpitas, Los Gatos, Cupertino and Campbell.

3. Bill Wilson Center is committed to working with the community to ensure that every youth has access to the range of services needed to grow to be healthy and self- sufficient adults.  They have been providing services to run away and homeless youth since 1973.  Amazon will be painting 5 apartments, sprucing up their laundry area and playground, and repairing and painting fencing around the property. *1284 Jackson St. Santa Clara, CA 95050 Rebuilding

Y9Z


Local Heroes O

RE

CT V

t rne nte dI

ee

p h-S

Hig

DI

BUUR NASK N ATIOABOU DL N T IN WIDE G!

rv

e vid pro

SU IN PE TE R RN FA ET ST

ari

es by ma t.

rke

Switch to DIRECTV and lock in your TV price at $50/month for 2 years when you have AT&T Wireless! SAovVerE 40%ˆ

50

$

00 MO.

plus taxes for 24 months w/24-mo. TV agmt & qualifying AT&T Wireless*

INCLUDES: SELECT™ All-Included Package – Over 145 Channels Monthly fees for a Genie and 3 add’l receivers

®

HD DVR

Andy Nguyen Receives Local Hero Award “I am honored that I got recognized a true artist as one of the 'Local Hero Award' recipients by Senator Bob Wieckowski of the State of the 10th Senate District Address and Awards Ceremony held on Thursday, September 28, 2017 at UC Santa Cruz Silicon Valley Campus in Santa Clara, California. This award is everyone that I am working along with in Bay Area. Especially, I dedicated this award to my thoughtful brother-in-law, ‘May He Rest In Peace.’”

PLUS: ‡

CALL NOW and ask about Next Day Installation.

IVS 844-360-9625 Reqs AT&T postpaid svc on elig. plan (excl. Lifeline & Residential Wireless) on a smartphone or phone (excl. Wireless Home Phone). Svcs: Svc addresses must match. To be elig. for 2nd-yr price guarantee both services must remain active & in good standing during 2nd year. Price Guarantee: TV pkg only. After 24 mos. Or loss of eligibility, then-prevailing monthly rate for All-Included TV Pkg applies, unless customer calls to cancel/change service prior to the end of 24 mos. Price excludes taxes, equipment upgrades/add-ons and other chrgs. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. See att.com/directv. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Add’l Fees & Terms: $19.95 Handling & Delivery fee may apply. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. PREMIUM MOVIES OFFER: After 3 mos., then-prevailing rate for all four (4) premium movie pkgs applies (currently $53.99/mo.) unless canceled or changed by customer prior to end of the promotional period. Expires 4/21/17.

Finding Senior Housing can be complex, but it doesn’t have to be. Call A Place for Mom. Our Advisors are trusted, local experts who can help you understand your options. Since 2000, we’ve helped over one million families

“You can trust A Place for Mom to help you.” – Joan Lunden

find senior living solutions that

Congratulations, Andy!

meet their unique needs.

President of SJSU Mary Papazian and Andy Nguyen

FREMONT DERMATOLOGY

39210 State Street #218, Fremont CA 94538

David C. Gorsulowsky, M.D.

A Free Service for Families.

Call: (855) 407-7851

Certified American Board of Dermatology Assoc Cln Prof Univ California at San Francisco Cln Assoc Prof Standford Univ School of Medicine

A Place for Mom is the nation’s largest senior living referral information service. We do not own, operate, endorse or recommend any senior living community. We are paid by partner communities, so our services are completely free to families.

Phone: 510-790-0477 Fax: 510-790-1835 By Appointment Only Y 10 Z


D1 News Notes from Mike Wasserman, County Supervisor

I am proud to support the Gilroy Police Foundation’s annual “Tee Off For Youth” Golf Tournament. Kudos to the many dedicated volunteers who organized this successful event last month that raised $25,000! All of the proceeds will benefit at-risk youth programs in South County including The Late Night Gym; The Parent Project; Anti-Bullying Programs; Gilroy Unified School District’s Positive Behavioral Intervention and Support Program (PBIS); and Gilroy Youth Center (year round free programming). The Gilroy Police Foundation raises

awareness and community support for the department’s priorities that the regular city budget does not fund. It’s impressive how much a small group of Gilroy citizens has accomplished since forming the Gilroy Police Foundation in 2015. They prove that individuals can make a big difference in public safety by supporting the “proactive policing” initiatives of their Police Department. In case you missed it, the Mercury News recently featured a great article about a local family farming operation: LJB Farms in San Martin. Congratulations to the Bonino family for 100 years of farming in Santa Clara County! If your fall plans include exciting and fresh

adventures in locally grown food, then be sure to visit and support our farmers. The Country Crossroads map will lead you to more than 100 commodities you can purchase directly from local farms. And don’t forget to visit your community’s certified farmers’ markets. Please join me on Saturday, October 7 for the Annual Harvest Festival at Martial Cottle Park! Come celebrate the legacy and significance of our Valley’s rich agricultural heritage at this fun day on the farm. Visit www. parkhere.org for more information. Those who are 21 and over can support local agriculture

Y 11 Z

As always, you can reach my office at (408) 299-5010, or you can email me at district1@bos.sccgov.org and local businesses by planning a visit to the Wineries of Santa Clara Valley for their Fall Passport Weekend October 13, 14, and 15. www.santaclarawines. com. Mount Umunhum is now open to the public! Located within the 18,000 acre Sierra Azul Open Space Preserve in Santa Clara County, it is one of the highest peaks in the Mid-Peninsula Open Space District’s Santa Cruz mountain range at 3,486 feet. From its spectacular summit, visitors can experience 360-degree views from the Pacific to the Sierra Nevada. This new destination also offers a rich nature experience

that is accessible to visitors of all abilities, as well as unique opportunities to learn about Mount Umunhum’s significance to the Native American community, and the opportunity to connect to the mountain in your own way at the summit Ceremonial Space. It is also an opportunity to discover the Radar Tower (“the cube”), once a key part of the west coast’s missile defense system and experience the mountain’s incredible biodiversity. Learn more at: https:// www.openspace.org/ mount-umunhum-sierraazul Mike Wasserman Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors, District 1


Landscaping Kingdom Family Resources is a community based Mental Health service that is dedicated to the education, healing, growth and preservation of all families. “Our vision is to restore a heart, restore a family and transform lives for a lifetime. In order for families to be strong and healthy -- each member need to be strong and healthy.”

t n e m e v o Home Impr inting & Pa Handyman

Do This Fall Yard Work and Reap Springtime Benefits Lots of people think that their family yards need less attention in the fall, but autumn is no time to ignore your lawn and landscape. “What you do now will determine the quality of your family yard next spring and summer,” said Kris Kiser, president and CEO of the Outdoor Power Equipment Institute (OPEI), the international trade association representing more than 100 power equipment, engine and utility vehicle manufacturers and suppliers.   “Every gardener knows to plant bulbs in the fall, but autumn is also the time to mow, mulch, aerate, trim and patch your lawn,” said Kiser. He offers the following tips to help you get your yard into top shape this fall and ready for more

Free Estimates (408) 646 - 8907 • Dry Rot Wood Repairs • Carpentry & Stucco • Fence Repairs • Sheet Rock & Texture • Painting & Match Touch-ups • 25 Years Experience

Y 12 Z

relaxing and fun outdoor activities next year. • Keep mowing. Grass still needs regular care to stay healthy. Grass that is too high may attract lawndamaging field mice. Shorter grass is more resistant to diseases and traps fewer falling leaves. Cutting the grass low allows more sun to reach the crown of the grass, so less leaf will turn brown in the winter. However, cutting off too much at one time can be

damaging, so never trim more than a third of the grass blades off in a single cutting. Put mower blades on the lowest settings for the last two cuts of the season. • Aerate your lawn. Compressed soil hurts grass health. Aerating punches holes into the soil and lets oxygen, water and nutrients into a lawn. Use a walk-behind aerator or get an attachment to pull behind a riding mower.  • Mulch your leaves. Many mowers can mulch leaves with an attachment. Since mulching with a mower can mix grass clippings with leaf particles, these nitrogenrich grass particles and carbon-rich leaf particles will compost more quickly. Together, they return nutrients to the soil.  • Trim and shore up


trees and bushes. Use trimmers, chainsaws or pole pruners to cut back trees, shrubs and plants. Make sure branches are safely trimmed back from overhead lines, and not in danger of falling on a structure in winter weather. You may need to tie or brace limbs of upright evergreens or plants to prevent them from breaking in high winds or snow. Call a professional arborist for big trees or hard to reach spots.  • Repair bald spots. Fall is a great time to patch bald or thin spots in a lawn. The easiest way to do this is with an all-inone lawn repair mixture (found at most garden shops and home centers). Use a garden rake or dethatcher to scratch loose the soil on the spot.  Kiser also added it is important to follow safety procedures whenever using outdoor power equipment. Read your owner’s manual. It will describe the individual requirements for your particular machine, and will provide directions on which fuels may be appropriate for your product. Fuels containing more than ten percent ethanol should not be used unless directed in the owner’s manual.  He said, “You’ll also want to service and winterize your lawn mower, string trimmer, leaf blower, and other outdoor power equipment.”  And, remember, most gasfueled outdoor power

Landscaping NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Rainbow Funding and Realty www.rainbowfunding.com

8 Bedroom 6 Bath Magnificent newly refurbished home with hardwood floor and lots of natural lighting. $1,234, 492

More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

1 (800) 782 - LOAN equipment is warranted and designed to run on E10 (10% ethanol) fuel or less. There are fuel options available today that should not be used in your outdoor power equipment. Remember ‘look before you pump.’ And, make sure to drain the fuel tank before storing equipment for the winter. Dispose

safely of any fuel that is more than 30 days old. “Winterization is important for outdoor power equipment. When everything is growing again in the spring and you see how all of your hard fall lawn work has paid off, the last thing you want to deal with is a malfunctioning mower,” said Kiser.

For information on safe fueling go to

Our Best Deal Ever!

Free Streaming

Free Installation

Free HD-DVR

On Up to 6 Rooms

Record 16 Shows at once & 2000 Hrs of Storage

wwwLookBeforeYouPump.com Every Channel + Recorded Shows on all of your devices

For tips on outdoor power equipment safety, go to www.opei.org. Y 13 Z

Call 1-877-929-1748 All offers require credit qualification and 24-month commitment and early termination fee with eAutoPay

Offer for new and qualifying former customers only. Important Terms and Conditions: Qualification: Advertised price requires credit qualification and eAutoPay. Upfront activation and/or receiver upgrade fees may apply based on credit qualification. Offer ends 4/5/17. 2-Year Commitment: Early termination fee of $20/mo. remaining applies if you cancel early. Included in 2-year price guarantee at $39.99 advertised price: Flex Pack plus one add-on Pack, HD service fees, and equipment for 1 TV. Included in 2-year price guarantee at $54.99 advertised price: America's Top 120 Plus programming package, Local channels and Regional Sports Networks (where available), HD service fees, and equipment for 1 TV. Included in 2-year price guarantee for additional cost: Programming package upgrades ($54.99 for AT120+, $64.99 for AT200, $74.99 for AT250), monthly fees for additional receivers ($7 per additional TV, receivers with additional functionality may be $10-$15) and monthly DVR service fees ($10). NOT included in 2-year price guarantee or advertised price (and subject to change): Taxes & surcharges, add-on programming (including premium channels), Protection Plan, and transactional fees. Premium Channels: Subject to credit qualification. After 3 mos., you will be billed $60/mo. for HBO, Cinemax, Showtime, Starz and DISH Movie Pack unless you call to cancel. Other: All packages, programming, features, and functionality are subject to change without notice. After 6 mos., you will be billed $8/mo. for Protection Plan unless you call to cancel. After 2 years, then-current everyday prices for all services apply. For business customers, additional monthly fees may apply. Free standard professional installation only. © 2016 DISH Network L.L.C. All rights reserved. HBO®, Cinemax® and related channels and service marks are the property of Home Box Office, Inc. SHOWTIME is a registered trademark of Showtime Networks Inc., a CBS Company. STARZ and related channels and service marks are property of Starz Entertainment, LLC. With PrimeTime Anytime record ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC plus two channels. With addition of Super Joey record two additional channels. Commercial skip feature is available at varying times, starting the day after airing, for select primetime shows on ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC recorded with PrimeTime Anytime. Recording hours vary; 2000 hours based on SD programming. Equipment comparison based on equipment available from major TV providers as of 6/01/16. Watching live and recorded TV anywhere requires an Internet-connected, Sling-enabled DVR and compatible mobile device. All new customers are subject to a one time processing fee.


Community Thanks Cont’: Megan Medeiros Nature’s Inspiration 2017 speech Foothills community. No matter what is happening on the national front, locally energy is high and real progress is being made because of each of you. For the past 55 years, against all odds, together we have saved Mayor Sam Liccardo says “Hi” awe-inspiring local landscapes for future I’m Megan Medeiros, generations over and over Executive Director of and over again. What an Committee for Green inheritance we have given Foothills. to our children. We are here today Today we stand in to celebrate you, the Coyote Valley, one of Committee for Green

(408) 264 - 7500

the most at risk places in California. It is here that the Santa Cruz Mountains and the Diablo Range are so close to one another... they almost kiss. Because of this proximity, large mammals like bobcats and mountain lions still live here in the Silicon Valley. And we can thank these large mammals for keeping our region’s entire ecosystem in balance. To put it simply, there is no place like Coyote Valley. It is unique. And no matter where you live in the Bay Area… we all benefit from this place. For decades we and our partners have worked to permanently protected tens of thousands of

BHPrinting.com

Blossom Hill Printing Company

Joan humbled by the Award but encouraged to keep fighting for the environment

acres, spending billions of public and private dollars in these two mountain ranges. When. When we permanently protect and restore Coyote Valley, it will only enhance this investment. Today we have the great privilege to celebrate an exceptionally wonderful person -- the one and only Joan Baez. A legendary folk singer and activist, Ms. Baez has worked tirelessly to give a voice to advocates for peace, human rights, and the environment all over

the world. She marched with Martin Luther King Jr and Cesar Chavez. She performed at Standing Rock and the Women’s March. She has played for presidents and has recently been inducted into the Rock N’ Roll hall of fame. While many may associate Joan’s body of work - both musically and politically - with the tumultuous cultural upheaval of the late 1960’s, her message of peace and social

Quality • Service • Graphic Design Banners • Magnetics • Forms • Brochures Business Cards • Specialty Items • And More Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years. What can we deliver for you?

Y 14 Z

Crowds at Coyote Ranch


Community Thanks Awarded Best Mortgage Broker 2016

Rainbow Funding & Realty Joan enjoying the afternoon

transformation has persisted through the decades and is more relevant than ever. Today, I see so many folks who are struggling to breathe through each day’s news cycle. I struggle too. The challenges our planet faces are sobering: • We have glacial rivers flowing into our oceans • Species die off across the planet • And billions of people might not have access to water in a century. It’s enough to make anyone cry. But I choose to remain hopeful in this time of fear and uncertainty. Because, as Joan put, “Action is the antidote to despair.” “Action is the antidote to despair.” Every day, I have the great privilege of waking up and going to work with a group of people who are completely focused on taking positive action. And every action we take at Committee for Green Foothills is an antidote to despair -whether it is protecting

• 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

wildlife habitat, or each of you. preventing sprawl on our We all owe farmland, or ensuring kids it to your have access to nature, legacies and or training the next to future generation of advocates. generations It’s not that we are to continue just taking action. We to rise up are effective! Against all and live odds, when people tell us long lives to give up, when it seems steeped in Conditions apply Call today! NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215 like a win is impossible… positive we strategize and we win action. the antidote to so many you here with us today. almost every single time. You all do this Next I’m pleased to people’s despair. You We are a part of a every day as a part of continue to inspire welcome Mayor Sam larger global community Committee for Green multitudes with your Liccardo. Sam, you give working everyday to make Foothills. commitment to making me hope for the future. the world a better place Joan, your words Thank you for joining us the world a better place. for our kids tomorrow. and wisdom have been We are so honored to have today. I think about all of our speakers today, our mentors, Val Lopez... Lennie Roberts.. Mayor Sam Liccardo ...Congressman Pete McCloskey... and of course Joan Baez... - you have dedicated your lives to fighting for a better tomorrow. I am so inspired by Executive Director Megan Medeiros and all of your friends with Committee for Green Foothills

(800) 782 - LOAN www.rainbowfunding.com

Y 15 Z


Currents Making a Positive Difference in the Community The Fall entertainment season will kick off with a bang, with the benefit concert called the ‘end of an era’ farewell performance by the Bay Area’s own The Joe Sharino Band . The exciting wedding and special event band will rock the house at the City National Civic Center Friday, November 10 2017 from 5:30 to 11:00 starting at $175 per person in Downtown San Jose, benefitting the ‘little soup kitchen that could’ Martha’s Kitchen a non-profit soup kitchen serving 400,000 meals to homeless, low-income families, and seniors each

year. One of the Band’s fans in a Facebook post states, “The Joe Sharino Band is always our first choice…the best band in the Bay Area bar none. Four talented musicians that sound like twelve: A sure thing”. She goes on to post, “The Joe Sparino Band is the number one versatile entertainment choice for Corporate Events, Conventions, Fundraisers, Festivals, Wedding Receptions or any event. They are well known in Northern California”. Edita Cruz, Executive Director of Martha’s Kitchen states, “We are

partnering with Hungry at Home for this fundraiser and we are thrilled to have Joe Sharino Band perform at our first ever benefit concert. It is even more of a thrilled that our event will be one of the last opportunities to enjoy this legendary band before Joe Sharino retires.” In addition to feeding thousands of Santa Clara county’s neediest

residents MK also serves over 360,000 hot and cold meals to more than 40 other non-profits in several counties in Northern California. People are amazed at this little soup kitchen which accomplishes such

impressive feats serving so many over the years with a lean staff of 9 people. How do they do it? Their passion shines through and explains why their clients say ‘Martha’s Kitchen has the best grub in town.’

Tickets starting at $175 per person

To buy call 408-293-6111 or go to www.marthas-kitchen.org. Tickets are going fast so get your’s today!

Join the King Library (150 East San Fernando Street San Jose, CA 95112) in a screening of Ken Burn’s and Lynn Novick’s documentary, The Vietnam War. Deja Vu Tues. Oct. 17 (1-4 pm): (1858-1961) After a long and brutal war, Vietnamese revolutionaries led by Ho Chi Minh end nearly a century of French colonial occupation. With the Cold War intensifying, Vietnam is divided in two at Geneva. Communists in the north aim to reunify the country, while America supports Ngo Dinh Diem’s untested regime in the south. Rinding the Tiger Sat. Oct 21 (2-5:30 pm): (1961-1963) President Kennedy inspires idealistic young Americans to serve their country and wrestles with how deeply to get involved in South Vietnam. As the increasingly autocratic Diem regime faces a growing communist insurgency and widespread Buddhist protests, a grave political crisis unfolds. Y 16 Z


Extraordinary People Making a Positive Difference in the Community by Wm. Derek Grasty

Khalid A. White, Ed. D, is a businessman, entrepreneur, author, and has taught for ten years as a professor of Ethnic Studies, at San José City College. Dr. White comes from a family of educators, and he wants to make a positive difference in the larger society. His mission is to raise conscience thought, be uplifting, and empower the African-American community and diaspora world-wide. Dr. White was motivated, by the police involved killings of Michael Brown and Freddie Gray, to provide

a counter-narrative to the main-stream media’s negative portrayal of Black men. He wants to provide an inspirational message with positive images of AfricanAmerican history and culture to benefit all of society. His counternarrative is intended to present a realistic perception of Black men. The use of fashion, books, film, and speaking engagements, have enlarged Dr. White’s scope of people he can connect with, and to inspire others beyond the college classroom. Dr. White also

wants to have a positive impact on families. His book, Black Fatherhood: Trials, Tribulations, Testimony and Triumph, is available on Amazon and on his website: www.BLKMPWR.com.

CALL NOW 1-844-232-0636

Recruit RN provides licensed nurses for all of your short-term and longterm in-home care needs. Contact us today for a complimentary consultation! Private Care Services: • Alzheimer’s & Dementia • Pediatric Nursing • Palliative Care • Pain Management • Surgery Recovery Care • Mental Health • Diabetes Care • IV Therapy • Ventilator care Y 17 Z

800 W El Camino Real Suite 180-37 Mountain View, CA 94040 (650) 397-8017


Making A Difference National Charity League Philanthropy Fair

NCL Willow Rose Chapter moms and daughters gather with special guest speaker San Jose City Councilmember Dev Davis

NCL Willow Rose Ticktockers proudly show off the Holiday Toy Drive boxes that they created for Sunday Friends.

National Charity League (NCL) Willow Rose Chapter, a mother and daughter organization focused on fostering motherdaughter relationships in a philanthropic setting, held its annual Philanthropy Fair on Sunday, September 24th at Willow Glen High School. This annual event brought together its members to conduct philanthropy projects for local nonprofit organizations and was also highlighted by an inspirational talk from San Jose City

Councilmember Dev Davis. At the Philanthropy Fair, the NCL mothers and daughters made 120 dog chew toys for the Humane Society of Silicon Valley, 63 hygiene kits and notes of encouragement for Sacred Heart Community Service,  45 journals for JW House and 4 large toy boxes for Sunday Friends’ annual Holiday Toy Drive. “The theme for our Philanthropy Fair was Bee the Example, and our members were just that, serving as examples

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y 18 Z


Making A Difference Ask about our 3.5% Total Commission!!!

Joining in the philanthropy fun, NCL Willow Rose moms and daughters decorate Holiday Toy Drive boxes for Sunday Friends. 

of great community service by completing these meaningful projects for our philanthropy partners,” said Angel Badagliacco, President of NCL’s Willow Rose Chapter. “We were honored to have Dev Davis, a strong female community leader that exemplifies many of the traits that we promote in our leadership and philanthropic activities as our guest speaker.  She shared with our members how she came to be interested in community involvement, and how being persistent and open to new opportunities has made a difference in her journey to

political office.” Committed to community service, leadership development and cultural experiences, the National Charity League Willow Rose chapter supports nearly 20 local non-profit organizations and has conducted nearly 970 hours of community service since April of 2017.  NCL Willow Rose will host a New Member Information Meeting on November 2, 2017 at the Cambrian Branch Library in San Jose. For more information on this event and on membership in the organization, please contact VP of membership Tammy Bieter at dtbieter@sbcglobal.net.

Kids are back to school and it is a great time to list your home!!!

Tom Merigan Realtor/Altas Realty

Office: (408) 559 - 1069 Cell: (408) 329 - 3150 Email: tmerigan@yahoo.com BRE# 01319061

NCL Willow Rose moms and daughters come together to make dog chew toys for the Human Society of Silicon Valley.

Y 19 Z

Tom is your 95123 Area Specialist!!


THE

GOSS

REAL

SOLD $180,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

E S TAT E

GROUP

SOLD $156,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

PRESENTS

SOLD $150,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

1650 Trona Way, Willow Glen

2014 Admiral Way, North San Jose

1118 Abbott Avenue, Campbell

4 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,678 SF | $1,175,000

5 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 2,533 SF | $1,231,000

4 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 3,826 SF | $2,500,000

NOW IS THE RIGHT TIME TO SELL! Inventories are at historic lows! CALL ME TODAY to find out your home’s new value!

COMING SOON 16185 LOS GATOS BLVD, SUITE 205 LOS GATOS, CA 95032 CalBRE #01526679

3/2 1,209 SF Cambrian Townhome $725,000 4/2 1,127 SF Santa Clara Single Family $950,000

EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

THINKING OF SELLING YOUR HOME? Call me today at (408) 234-0417 or go online to www.DougsHomeValues.com for a quick, no hassle online home valuation!

SOLD $30,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

I Don’t Just List Homes...I Sell Them!

SOLD $63,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

SOLD $41,000 OVER LIST PRICE!

1915 Coastland Avenue, Willow Glen

495 Suisse Drive, Blossom Valley

1382 Pierce Ranch Road, Almaden Valley

3 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,641 SF | $1,225,000

4 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,826 SF | $993,000

4 Bedrooms | 2.5 Baths | 2,233 SF | $1,440,000

DOUG GOSS

BROKER ASSOCIATE CRS,CRP,GRI,ABR 408-267-4663 DGOSS@KW.COM CalBRE #01182111

LOS GATOS OFFICE

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD., SUITE 105 LOS GATOS, CA 95032

ALMADEN VALLEY OFFICE

5671 SANTA TERESA BLVD., SUITE 103 SAN JOSE, CA 95123

TheGossRealEstateGroup.com

CalBRE #01526679

South Valley Review October 6 17  
South Valley Review October 6 17