Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 2, NO. 4

March 9, 2018

Better at knowing what matters to you.

25th Annual Watermark Conference For Women Silicon Valley

Page # 4 Los Gatos Events

Page # 7 District 2 News

Page # 14 NPR host Kelly McEvers (L) and International human rights attorney Amal Clooney speaks onstage

CEO, Watermark, Marlene Williamson speaking onstage

Continued on Page 12 Y1Z

Campbell’s Heritage Theatre Presents LOS LOBOS

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051

When...Where North Berkeley’s Gourmet Ghetto Wine Walk - Wildfire Relief Benefit!


Sip, stroll and nosh on small bites at the 5th Annual Wine Walk in North Berkeley’s Gourmet Ghetto on Weds. March 14th, 5pm to 8pm. This year we feature Sonoma and Napa wines and the event will benefit North Bay Wildfire Relief through Habitat for Humanity Sonoma County. Taste from local and regional wineries, including Sebastiani, Kendall Jackson, La Crema, Deerfield Ranch, Fenestra, Stomping Girl, Rock Wall, R&B Cellars, Lynda Tranel, and Fat Grape (sulfite-free!) and Berkeley’s own Covenant (kosher!) at participating shops along Shattuck & Vine Street  - Vintage Berkeley Wines, Agrodolce, Nico’s 1508, Saul’s, and Tiger Lily will pour from their own selections. Tickets available online https://gourmetghettowinewalk2018. and at these neighborhood shops:  ACCI Gallery at 1652 Shattuck Ave. and M. Lowe Jewelry at 1519 Shattuck Ave. Tickets are $25 in advance – (buy 2 for $20 each) -  or $30 day of the event. Check in starting at 4:30pm on the day of the event for your map of participating shops and visit in any order you wish! Price includes a commemorative Gourmet Ghetto tasting glass and entry into a raffle for fun wine country tastings and gift certificates from Buena Vista, Cline, and Larson Family Wines.

South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Publisher: Brigitte Jones Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

A Help Button Should Go Where You Go!

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor -

To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go.

Please limit content to 200 words or less.

Medicare Supplement Insurance Are you taking advantage of all the discounts and benefits* available to you?

Traditional Help Buttons

Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters.

At Home In the Car On a Walk

They include:

On Vacation

u Early enrollment discount

At the Park

u Direct deposit discount


Anonymous letters will not be printed.

u Household discount

Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

You may qualify for discounts on...


1-888-358-6120 $

29lu95 e Va

u Dental and vision care discounts u Free gym or health club memberships

Find a low-premium Medicare Supplement plan from a top-rated company.

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

u Multi-policy discount

Plus discounts and benefits you may be missing! Call today.

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.


*Discounts and benefits vary by plan and by state. Call for details on plans/discounts available in your area. Not connected with or endorsed by the U.S. Government or the federal Medicare program. Insurance advertisement. Insuractive, Inc. Insurance licensed in all 50 states & DC. CA license #0167772. AW18-1003

Live Oak Senior Nutrition Centerin Los Gatos provides hot lunches, fellowship, referral and support services in a social setting to adults over the age of 60. Executive Director Mary Goulart and a dedicated team of employees and volunteers join forces to serve weekly lunches. Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays: Los Gatos United Methodist Church – 111 Church St, Los Gatos Wednesdays: Adult Recreation Center – 208 East Main St, Los Gatos. Daily choices of food include a hot entrée, salad or sandwich. A $3.00 donation is suggested. Established in 1974 as a ministry of the church, LOSNSC is an important service to the seniors in our community. More information: Senior Volunteers Wanted The California Highway Patrol’s Hollister-Gilroy Area Office, is looking for motivated Senior citizens who want to give something back to their community. Senior Volunteers are CHP employees who assist in both administrative and field capacities. The objectives of the CHP Senior Volunteer Program are: To assist the CHP in providing enhanced public service to the community, to provide an opportunity for senior citizens to make a definitive contribution toward improving public safety and service, and to instill among participating volunteers an understanding and appreciation of the justice system, human relations, and ethics in the field of law enforcement. More information: Officer Chris Miceli (408) 848-2324 or

Citizen Oversight Opportunity Available The Superior Court of California, County of Santa Clara is currently recruiting volunteers for the 2018 – 2019 Civil Grand Jury. The Civil Grand Jury, an arm of the Superior Court, is a part of the Judicial Branch of government. Candidates must be willing to dedicate this year of service to keep careful watch over various aspects of County government, and the one-year term of the 2018-19 panel will begin on June 21, 2018. Application deadline: Thursday, March 29, 2018. More information:  (408) 882-2721.

Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

(800) 782 - LOAN Conditions apply


Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Los Gatos Events

Community Vitality Meeting Tuesday, March 20 at 9:30am Loma Brewing Company, 1 30 N. Santa Cruz Ave.

Join us for our second Community Vitality meeting to discuss ways to invigorate downtown Los Gatos. Our goal is to identify our top priorities necessary for revitalization of our downtown. For more information call 408-354-9300


From the left; Regina Zaliznyak, Jessica Olivas, Sushanta Bhandarkar, Nick Lampkin, Zaid Hanna, Shilpa Muthye, Ashourina Hanna, Shaan Rashid and Denise Lamirato

Almaden Intero is Proud to Honor The Hanna Group!! Congratulations to Zaid Hanna & The Hanna Group on an Incredible 2017! The ones just keep on coming! #1 Agent in San Jose volume #1 Agent in San Jose in Units Closed Top 1% Nation Wide and #2 at Intero with Closed Units

I would like to personally Congratulate The Hanna Group for reaching the stratosphere. It has been both an honor and a pleasure to know and work with such a hard working man and his team. When they say it takes a village, it really does. Congrats The Hanna Group on a job well done. - Brian McDermott

What are people saying about Zaid and his amazing Team? Take a look for yourself! “Zaid and his team are hands down the best that you can get! He has laid an extremely assisting, detail oriented yet simple process that helps and empowers you in getting what you are looking for. He is honest, very friendly and a joy to work with. From start to closing, everything was proactively taken care of me…”- Shankar S. “I typically don’t care for realtors. I have had bad luck with realtors’ over the last 28 years selling and buying homes. However, I was really impressed with Zaid and his staff. I found Zaid to be smart. His experienced really shined. Zaid sold our home in one day with 12 offers for $131,000 more than going neighborhood comps. It took me awhile to comprehend what had happened. I just could not believe what I was hearing...” - Bert D. “It was a seemingly daunting task to fix up my place, organize 9 years’ worth of stuff and most importantly pick the right realtor. Choosing my realtor meant a world of difference in sales price, ease of the selling process, online & in person exposure, negotiating skills, repairs, staging, honest terms, professionalism and almost above all that the friendly bond I formed with my realtor. That’s why with full weight I’m recommending that you get a sit down with Zaid Hanna of Almaden Interro Group...” - Sean I. “Zaid and his group were indispensable in our search for a new home while also selling our old house in a single weekend showing. Without their help we would have missed out on our dream home. Not only did we achieve the dream house but also at a great price negotiated by Zaid...” - Mazen L. “To be completely honest, I am one of those people that rarely trust realtors! Zaid and his team changed my perspective! From the moment I decided to sell my condo, it all went by so smooth and fast that at the end I could not believe it was all done! Zaid pays extreme attention to your specific needs and tries his best to achieve what is best for you, honestly and actively!” - Yasaman A.

“We have helped 133 families just in 2017 alone, and 437 since 2004.” -Hanna Group

Helping Hands Piedmont Hills High School Music Department and Insane Ink Presents Rising from the Ashes concert to benefit North Bay fire victims

The Piedmont Hills High School Music Department and Insane Ink, a student run business, are sponsoring a concert to benefit the victims of the devastating fires in northern

California last October. The concert will be held in the high school’s main gym at 7:00PM on March 27, 2018. “The Piedmont Hills High School community is known for its spirit of giving and

service, but this is the first time the school is holding a benefit concert. The fact that one of our teachers who lives in the North Bay had to evacuate his house last October brings the plight of the fire victims closer to home for us,” says music instructor Emily Ray. All proceeds from the concert will go to Community Foundation Sonoma County. The event will begin with a social hour, starting at 5:45PM in the gym. Insane Ink will provide food, music, and sponsor booths until 6:45. T-shirts with a “rising from the ashes” logo designed by Andy Do will be sold for $15 each. At 7:00, a concert of music will be performed by Piedmont Hills’ Concert Choir, Percussion Ensemble, Music Honor Society, Wind Ensemble,

and Symphony Orchestra. Myles Ellis and Emily Ray will conduct the ensembles. About the Piedmont Hills High School Music Department Piedmont Hills High School in northern San Jose boasts a diverse music department that includes award winning choirs, bands and orchestras. Recent accolades include unanimous superior ratings at regional music festivals, multiple first place awards at a national level music festival held in Anaheim, CA, and an invitation to perform as a featured ensemble at the California All State Music Educators Conference in San Jose. About Insane Ink Insane Ink is an

entrepreneurial course at Piedmont Hills High School that runs an apparel customization company. This class is designed to give students hands-on experience running a business and to teach them the fundamentals of economics. Students are responsible for running the company while a student based Executive Board advises and oversees the company. Insane Ink offers a variety of custom apparel for clubs, organizations, school classes, events, and other local businesses. Insane Ink also allocates 50% of their profit towards philanthropy with the aim of giving back to the community. Please visit

March 27, 2018 @ 7:00pm PHHS Main Gym 1377 Piedmont Rd San Jose, CA 95132 Tickets will be sold at the door: Adults: $10 Students: $5 On-campus parking is free. For more information about the concert, please visit


Dear District 2 Neighbors,

District 2 News

The Bridge Housing Community (BHC) candidate site in District 2 on Hellyer Ave. and Silicon Valley Rd. is NO LONGER UNDER CONSIDERATION. This is because the property is in negotiations for a land trade with the County of Santa Clara. The City has recently learned that the County will not be able to accommodate the request to use the Hellyer Ave. and Silicon Valley Rd. site for a BHC. Additionally, the specific County funding restrictions require the site be used for park purposes only. Therefore, there are currently NO BHC candidate sites in District 2. The Housing Department will continue to evaluate the remaining two candidate sites in District 3 and District 7 to determine the most viable and development-ready site to host a BHC pilot project. For more information on this decision, please view the memorandum from the Housing Department: Elimination of Council District 2 Bridge Housing Community Candidate Site. The decision to eliminate the District 2 site is consistent with my first assessment of the location. After visiting each of the three proposed BHC candidate sites, it was clear that this property was NOT an appropriate location for such a development. The site is problematic because it is isolated. It has no access to food, retail, or other basic necessities; it lacks public transportation service; and it is too close to Coyote Creek, which creates environmental concerns that may be too costly to mitigate.  I remain fully committed to exploring and implementing a multitude of programs and resources to address our City’s homeless crisis. As a City and as a community, we have a long way to go to fully eliminate homelessness. We will go much further and see greater success if we address homelessness as a united front. It is evident that we care about the plight of our neighbors living on the streets. The main thought of divergence is HOW we solve homelessness -- not whether it is worth solving. It is natural to disagree. If we start from a place of compassion and sincerely recognize the deep need, we can find a solution that works for all. Fearmongering, stereotyping the unhoused, or opposing housing developments simply because they are in our backyard does not solve the problem. It exacerbates it. In District 2, we are not immune to the consequences of our housing crisis. Therefore, we cannot expect to be exempt from participating in a solution. More importantly, now is the time to have the courage to implement solutions that are as vast and diverse as our community. I encourage you to stay engaged in the BHC process. This is a Citywide project. Its success is imperative to all San Jose residents -- not just those in the District where it is ultimately built. If you have questions or concerns about Bridge Housing Communities or homelessness in general, please contact my Chief of Staff Vanessa Sandoval at, or at 408-535-4925. In community, Councilmember Sergio Jimenez

Place Your Ad Here! Email South Valley Review at Promote Your business with Us! Y7Z

Sponsorships still available for the ALL STAR/WORLD GAMES 2018! Go to to join the games!

20% Blossom Hill First Your Ord Printing Company er!

For more information visit or email Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Folders • Fliers Catalogs • Product Sheets Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More

Denied Benefits? Unable To Work?

We Can Help!

Helping Helping 1000’s Get 1000’s Get The Benefits Benefits The They They Deserve Deserve

Fighting For Your



Do You Qualify For Disability Benefits? Call For A FREE Evaluation


Assisting With: - Initial Applications - Denied Claims - Hearings


We Simplify The Process & Strive For Quick Claim Approval.*

You Could Be Eligible To Receive: • Steady Monthly Income Depending On Your Paid In Amount • A Lump Sum Payment Of Benefits Owed From Back-pay • Health Insurance (Medicare, Medicaid Or Both) • Annual Cost Of Living Increases

Call Now For A FREE Evaluation

(855) 454-9395 Bill Gordon & Associates, a nationwide practice, represents clients before the Social Security Administration. Member of the TX & NM Bar Associations. Mail: 1420 NW St Washington D.C. Office: Broward County, FL. Services may be provided by associated attorneys licensed in other states. * The process for determining each applicant’s disability benefits varies greatly, and can take upwards of two years.

Which of these five candidates will take Santa Clara County Supervisor Ken Yeager’s seat next year?

You are invited to this free BAYMEC forum to meet the candidates It has been a heated race to replace our beloved BAYMEC co-founder Ken Yeager as Santa Clara County Supervisor for District 4. The five candidates have agreed to attend a forum to discuss their stance on many issues facing our County as well as those facing the LGBTQ Community. Come learn more about the candidates at this free forum hosted by BAYMEC in preparation for the June 5th primary election.

Moderated by Terry Christensen

Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 7 p.m. 7-7:30 p.m. Networking 7:30-9 p.m. Forum Location:

Billy DeFrank LGBTQ Community Center Ballroom 938 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126 NOTE: Limited parking. Consider taking public transit, carpooling etc. Light refreshments will be served courtesy of Rainbow Chamber of Commerce. RSVP on Facebook

Worship Directory Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church

Hillside Church San Jose

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information We look forward to meeting you!!

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email:

545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782

First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at

District 15 News Beall Honors Senate District 15’s Women of the Year In recognition of Women’s History Month, Sen. Jim Beall will honor six dedicated women who have made Silicon Valley a better place through their work and civic leadership. Celebrating the Women of Silicon Valley Friday, March 9; 4:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. 2105 S. Bascom Ave., Campbell Light refreshments will be served. To RSVP, call the District Office staff, (408) 558-1295 Being honored are Lifetime Achievement: The Reverend Sharon Hare As the pastor of First Presbyterian Church San Jose, her leadership led the church to start the Bag Lunch Program, which feeds people who are homeless, and Lifted Spirits, a drop-in center for at-risk women. Community Service: Laurel Perusa Her community service in Saratoga is focused on increasing awareness about human trafficking in Santa Clara County. Persua, a retired teacher, is also active in several local organizations, including the Village Gardeners, a group of volunteers who maintain Big Basin Way’s flower pots, urns, and street tree wells that

line downtown Saratoga’s business district. Mentorship: Maria Marcelo She has been instrumental in her downtown San Jose neighborhood, working to unify the community and divert children from violence and crime. Through her volunteerism, Marcelo resurrected the Guadalupe Washington Neighborhood Association and worked to establish Madre a Madre to bring the mothers of Washington Elementary School students together to discuss how they can relieve their children’s stress and raise their selfesteem.

worked at restaurant across the globe, Carriera returned to San Jose, where she grew up, to become the co-head chef of Adega, the city’s only Michelin-rated restaurant.

Trailblazer: Deb Kramer Kramer’s devotion to environmentalism led her to found Keep Coyote Creek Beautiful. In the wake of the Coyote Creek flood last year, she recruited 1.200 volunteers over eight days to assist residents who were affected.   Business Leader: Jessica Carriera An accomplished chef who was

Y 11 Z

Rising Star: Erin Salazar The San Jose State arts degree graduate’s audacious idea to turn blank downtown walls into canvases for colorful murals of public art has

become a vibrant reality. In 2014, Salazar started the Exhibition District by cobbling together various grants to keep local artists employed by creating murals that brighten downtown.

Mayor of San Jose, Sam Liccardo speaking

Anchor, NBC Bay Area, Laura Garcia speaking

The mission of the Conference for Women is to promote, communicate, and amplify the influence of women in the workplace and beyond. At our annual nonpartisan, nonprofit conferences, we bring together thousands of active professionals to connect, renew, and find inspiration in community We are committed to helping close the pay gap, eliminate gender discrimination and achieve parity in company leadership and on corporate boards. We inspire the next generation through our Young Women’s program and we support local nonprofit organizations. The Conference for Women harnesses the collective wisdom, experience, and energy of inspirational women and men of all ages and backgrounds in service of our values: supporting and giving back to our growing nationwide community. Comedian/actor/disability advocate Mason Zayid speaking

Photos courtesy of Marla Aufmuth/Getty Images for Watermark Conference for Women 2018

(L-R) Author Kim Azzarelli, former CEO Oakland Raiders, and Author Amy Trask CEO and founder, Copia, Komal Ahmad, and vice president, global diversity, Dell EMC, Jacki Glen

Actor/producer/activist Reese Witherspoon speaking

(L-R) Merchandising manager, zulily, Lorraine Beltran, chief merchant, zulily, Lori Twomey, program host, QVC, Rachel Boesing, director of apparel merchandising, QVC Bridget Love, and director of global merchandising strategy and category development QVC, Anna Baker

Journalist Elaine Welteroth (C) and guests

Center Stage Campbell’s Heritage Theatre Presents LOS LOBOS Campbell’s historic Heritage Theatre continues its 20172018 Season with the indefatigable LOS LOBOS on Saturday, March 24, at 8:00pm. The evening will feature special guests KANEKOA performing the opening set. In 2003, while celebrating the 30th Anniversary of LOS LOBOS’ humble beginnings as a garage band in East L.A., Rolling Stone magazine summed up their distinctive, diverse, freewheeling fusion of Rock, Blues, Soul, and Mexican folk music: “This is what happens when five guys create a magical sound, then stick together… to see how far it can take them.” After celebrating their 40th anniversary with the 2013 live album Disconnected In New York City, the hard working, constantly touring band leapt headfirst into their fifth decade with Gates of Gold, their first full length studio album since 2010’s Tin Can Trust (a Grammy nominee for Best Americana Album). Their 1984 major label breakthrough album, How Will The Wolf Survive?, still ranks #30 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 100 greatest albums of the 1980s. Three decades, three Grammy

Awards, and thousands of rollicking performances across the globe later, LOS LOBOS is still jamming with the same raw intensity they had when they began in that garage in 1973. KANEKOA describes its music as ukulele powered Hawaiian reggae folk rock. The band has been playing together since 1999, melding elements of Hawaiian, Rock, Folk, Blues, Reggae, and improvisation into a truly unique sound. Bill Kreutzman, drummer for the Grateful Dead and the 7 Walkers, called KANEKOA “The Hawaiian Grateful Dead. “ “The band is amazing,” says Mick Fleetwood (Fleetwood Mac), who also plays uke and travels with one when he’s on tour. James “Hutch” Hutchinson, bassist for Bonnie Raitt, says, “Kanekoa takes the ukulele and uke-related music to another place.” KANEKOA has toured and played festivals in Hawaii, California, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, North Dakota, and Colorado. The band’s 2007 CD Under the Coconut Sky is distributed worldwide courtesy of Fontana/ Universal. About Campbell’s Heritage Theatre The Heritage Theatre has long been viewed

as a significant architectural and historical resource for the West Santa Clara Valley. The facility that is now known as the Heritage Theatre was originally built in 1938 as the Campbell Union High School Auditorium with Work Project Administration funds. Campbell Union High School served the community for over 40 years with more than 20,000 students performing on the stage. When the Campbell Union High School District closed the school in 1980, the City and Campbell residents stepped in to save the recreation and open space resources. In 1985, the site’s ownership was turned over to the City of Campbell, and the Campbell Community Center was born. In 1998, the City and a group of committed community volunteers formed the Friends of the Heritage Theatre, a non-profit organization dedicated to the restoration and preservation of the Theatre. Designed to maintain the historic integrity and architecture of the original building, the Theatre was reopened in 2004 Y 14 Z


Opening set by KANEKOA

The mid-size venue (capacity 802) is available for both rentals and in-house productions. Schools, regional arts organizations, community

non-profit groups, government agencies, individuals, and privatesector businesses are all welcome.

Tickets $55 at the box office, by phone (408) 866-2700, or online at Heritage Theatre 1 W. Campbell Avenue, Campbell, California, 95008.

EARLY BIRD SPECIAL DEADLINE APPROACHING Wednesday, April 25 5:30 - 8 PM Santa Clara Convention Center Promote your business to a captive audience in our own backyard at the 2018 Silicon Valley Business Expo. An Early Bird Special is being offered at a reduce rate for members of participating chambers and is only available until March 9. This fantastic experience is expected to feature over 200 exhibitors and over a thousand attendees. Visit and take advantage of this opportunity before it’s too late!

DENTAL Insurance Physicians Mutual Insurance Company

A less expensive way to help get the dental care you deserve If you’re over 50, you can get coverage for about $1 a day* Keep your own dentist! NO networks to worry about No wait for preventive care and no deductibles –

ADULT LEARNER ORIENTATION Improve Basic Reading and Writing Skills Partners in Reading offers FREE one-to-one tutoring, small group instruction, computer lessons, classes, workshops, family programs and more! Basic Requirements:  Must be at least 18 years old  Live or work in San José  English skills must be at a conversational level  Minimum commitment of 6 months at 3 hours per week with a tutor

MONDAY, MARCH 26, 2018

6:00 p.m. — 8:30 p.m. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library 150 E. San Fernando St. San José, CA 95112 (408) 808-2361

Contact Partners in Reading to register today! (408) 808-2361 To arrange an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act for library-sponsored events, please call 408-808-2361 at least three business days prior to the event.



you could get a checkup tomorrow

Coverage for over 350 procedures – including cleanings, exams, fillings, crowns…even dentures NO annual or lifetime cap on the cash benefits you can receive

FREE Information Kit


*Individual plan. Product not available in MN, MT, NH, RI, VT, WA. Acceptance guaranteed for one insurance policy/certificate of this type. Contact us for complete details about this insurance solicitation. This specific offer is not available in CO, NY; call 1-800-969-4781 or respond for similar offer. Certificate C250A (ID: C250E; PA: C250Q); Insurance Policy P150 (GA: P150GA; NY: P150NY; OK: P150OK; TN: P150TN) 6096C MB16-NM001Cc

March 9  
March 9