Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 10

July 28, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you.

Mountain View Celebrates 46th Annual Art & Wine Festival, Sept. 9-10

Page # 2 Miramar Events Fall Festivals

Page # 4 Hey Guys! Prostate Cancer IS Targeting YOU! TRUST ME……Part (2)

The vibrant, magnificent city of Mountain View has evolved in a big way over the last 46 years. A population boom. The arrival of Shoreline Amphitheater as a major concert venue. The amazing growth of Silicon Valley and Mountain View’s emergence as its epicenter. The transformation of a vibrant downtown district with restaurants, shops, cafes, bookstores and performing arts center. And, last but not least, the Art & Wine Festival’s

rise to become one of America’s premier art festivals. And it’s that time of year: it’s Mountain View’s time to get festive and this year we celebrate #46! Widely considered one of America’s top art festivals, an enormous throng of art lovers is expected to pour onto Castro Street in Silicon Valley’s epicenter for this “Cultural Community Celebration” presented by the Chamber of Commerce Mountain View. Hours are 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday and 10

a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday. Admission is free. The festival will feature an exceptional lineup of artists and craftmakers, many with fresh, new work and a variety of affordable price points. Buyers and browsers will find thousands of handcrafted items by America’s best artists while browsing among 600 well-stocked booths featuring original work in

Continued on Page 10 Y1Z

Page # 15 Our Corner of The Valley SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051


When...Where Miramar Events Fall Festivals

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Summer may be winding down, but festival season in the San Francisco Bay Area is just starting to hit its stride with many of the most popular events still to come. Miramar Events, producer of several popular, large-scale festivals, events and celebrations in the Bay Area, announced its 2017 fall calendar. For information and photos (many photos are attached below), visit http://www.miramarevents.com/

Half Moon Bay 47th Annual Art & Pumpkin Festival “World Pumpkin Capital Celebrates The Great Gourd” Half Moon Bay celebrates its worldfamous Art & Pumpkin Festival, October 14-15. The World Pumpkin Capital of Half Moon Bay celebrates its bountiful fall harvest and autumn splendor with a special display of gigantically enormous/heavyweight champion pumpkins, smashing entertainment with four stages of stellar live music, the homespun Great Pumpkin Parade, a bone-chilling Haunted House, bootiful harvest-inspired crafts, homestyle foods, expert pumpkin carver Farmer Mike sculpting monster pumpkins into amazing one-of-a-kind masterpieces, photos with the Goliath grand

on the Coast” local artists block with fine art and live music. There’s smashing entertainment on four stages – the diverse lineup includes contemporary country, Latin rock, salsa, blues, folk, and classic rock ‘n roll music by some of the Bay Area’s biggest name bands. Performing on the IDES Main Stage are The California Cowboys, The Megatones, Pamela Rose, Haulin Oats, Urban Outlaws, Apple Z and Jim Stevens & Friends. The Ritz-Carlton South Stage at the Gazebo will feature Bits & Pieces, The Swampers Credence Clearwater Revival Tribute, Coast Tribe, Business Casual, and Jazz Con Fusion. Street musicians include Emerson & The GroWiser Band, John Clarke, and Bob Culbertson. The Family Stage www.stacyseymour.com features the amazing, stacy.seymour@cbnorcal.com three-wheeling comic

champion mega-gourd, pie-eating and costume contests, pumpkin carving for fun, the world’s largest mosaic pumpkin sculpture that measures 12-feet long, 11-feet high and weighs 10,000 pounds by artist Peter Hazel, “Smashing Pumpkins: Battle of the Bands”, the Comcast Take 5 Lounge with giant screen TV, ultrathrilling zip-line, climbing wall, waterballerz, and bungee jump, tasty wines, pumpkin-infused ales, pumpkin-flavored artisanal cocktails, selfies and fun with the delightfully rotund, playful and mischievious Pumpkin Festival mascot “Gourdy”, and the Sunday-only “Made

STACY SEYMOUR

(408) 960-9416 Y2Z

explosion known as Bob at Large, award-winning electro-pop singer/ keyboardist/drummer original The Singing Lizard, sensational bluegrass band West Coast Ramblers, kid-friendly fun and games plus “Smashing Pumpkins: Battle of the Bands. Festival admission is free. Pets are not allowed. Presented by the nonprofit Half Moon Bay Beautification Committee which has raised several million dollars for community service organizations and civic improvements in its 47 year history. The festival will be held on Main Street, between Miramontes and Spruce St, Half Moon Bay CA. Info-Line: 650-7269652


Wellness Hey Guys! Prostate Cancer IS Targeting YOU! TRUST ME……Part (2) By Dave Faris

You can access part 1 on the South Valley Review website: http:// southvalleyreview.com About 3 years after my first prostate cancer battle, (they had the cancer in good control at the time), I got MYSELF in big trouble! I got sloppy with continuing to take the anti-testosterone meds and an all natural product that has had great success in helping the body fight off cancer. Both have been very successful at killing cancer cells. The Dr. reminded me that this will be an ongoing life time battle. So what happened? Well, I volunteered to help a guy at church to move into his new apartment. Almost as soon as I got started, I tried to wrench open a heavy door and heard a “pop”. Immediately I felt something was very “wrong” in the upper back between my shoulder

blades. It was the worst pain I had ever experienced. After weeks of various scans and tests the doctors found I had a compression fracture at the T 7 vertebrae. I lost about 40% of the space between T 7 and T 8 vertebra. The pain was incredible . But why did a normal strong back break? Prostate cancer had spread into my backbone, weakening the bone and it cracked under the stress of my stupid movement. So began the cancer killing again with 6 months of heavy duty, anti-testosterone (testosterone feeds this cancer). I also ramped up on my all natural, highly engineered, patented nutrition shake that uses ingredients from the FDA safe grocery list.

It’s cellular engineering is designed to help the body fight off the enemy without the negative side effects of many meds. Also my research got me to change my diet. Cancer grows best in an acidic environment and worst (or not at all) in an alkaline environment. So I switched over from the food I love (ie junk food and sodas) and ate alkaline foods at the core

of my diet. That translated to lots of vegetables, some of which I had to “learn to like”. But it all worked for my benefit. After about 2 months, my blood test showed the PSA count had dropped from 10 (caught early thankfully) to 6.45. By month 3 it dropped to 2.6, and at month 6 we were at 0.12. The doctors were so pleased with the results and that the back was healing so well they suggested we not do any re-structuring surgery on my back as originally was planned. So began a very focused radiation across my back in such a way as to avoid hitting my spinal cord (very bad) and other vital organs, to clean out the cancer from the backbone. After another couple months, blood tests

showed a PSA of .1. YEAH! Just 3 weeks ago, about a year since the break, tests show I am holding at .1. My doctor is extremely pleased and seemed surprised at the quality of my back’s healing and very low PSA count. My back is getting stronger each week allowing me to do more & more. I attribute my success to the continued use of my daily anti-testosterone pill coupled with my all natural, immune boosting nutritional supplement and God’s blessing. Each day is a gift. If you or someone you care about is going though cancer, I’d be happy to share more about what I have learned from this experience. I can be reached at dave@ bhprinting.com. I pray you never will have to go though this. Get checked early. Get checked regularly. Avoid the bad stuff. Dave.

Have a story you wish to tell? We would love to hear about it! Send to editor@southvalleyreview.com And look for it in our next issue! Y4Z


Adult Learner Orientation Improve Basic Reading and Writing Skills Partners in Reading offers FREE one-to-one tutoring, small group instruction, computer lessons, classes, workshops, family programs and more! Basic Requirements:  Must be at least 18 years old  Live or work in San José  English skills must be at a conversational level  Minimum commitment of 6 months at 3 hours per week with a tutor Contact Partners in Reading to register today! (408) 808-2361 par.sjpl@sjlibrary.org www.sjpl.org/par

MONDAY, AUGUST 28, 2017

6:00 p.m. — 8:30 p.m.

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library 150 E. San Fernando St. San José, CA 95112 (408) 808-2361

To arrange an accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act for library-sponsored events, please call 408-808-2361 or 408-808-2083 (TTY) at least three business days prior to the event.

sjpl.org/par


Santa Clara News A Homeless Decline a region, we are making significant progress. Providing permanent supportive housing for homeless residents reduces their use of government services and it saves lives. A true winwin. Learn more:www. sccgov.org/homelesscount

good news is that through our collective efforts, 3,000 people (including 510 veterans) were housed in the last two years. As a longtime advocate for housing the homeless, it is disheartening to know there is so much more to do to reduce the suffering of those living on the streets. But by working as

The homeless census released last week showed a decrease in homeless veterans and chronically homeless individuals in Santa Clara County, but it also revealed an increase in homeless families and youth. The census allows us to estimate the homeless population and link them to services. The

Coming soon to South County services. Construction will begin later this year with plans to open its doors in summer 2018. The project is estimated to cost $5 million and will be funded with existing 2012 Measure A revenue.

in urgent care including night and weekend hours and is expected to serve up to 20,000 patients annually. The Urgent Care Center will include exam rooms, care team work areas, and full support

A new Urgent Care Center will be built within recently-vacated space in the existing Gilroy Valley Health Center, located at 7475 Camino Arroyo in Gilroy. The 12,000 Center will offer walk-

O

RE

CT V

ari

b es ark

ym et.

50

$

00 MO.

Hayward $519,000

Pleasanton $295,000

4 bed 3 bath 1900 sq feet

4 bed 2 bath 1800 sq feet

3 bed 2 bath 1,296 sq feet

plus taxes for 24 months w/24-mo. TV agmt & qualifying AT&T Wireless*

INCLUDES: SELECT™ All-Included Package – Over 145 Channels Monthly fees for a Genie and 3 add’l receivers

®

footprint. PG&E is still an essential partner as they will continue to deliver electricity over existing power lines, maintain the lines, send bills and provide customer service. As energy consumers, enrollment for SVCE is automatic, but customers can opt out and remain with PG&Es bundled service. For more information, please visit SVCleanEnergy.org or call 1-844-474-SVCE (7823).

Morgan Hill $799,495

Switch to DIRECTV and lock in your TV price at $50/month for 2 years when you have AT&T Wireless! VE SA over 40%ˆ

Did you know that electricity used to power our homes and businesses creates about a quarter of our regions carbon emissions? Santa Clara County is now receiving cleaner, greener power from Silicon Valley Clean Energy (SVCE), a new community-owned agency that provides your home or business with 100% carbon-free electricity, reducing greenhouse gas emissions and lowering our carbon

Rainbow Funding and Realty

SU IN PE TE R RN FA ET ST

rv ide rov

tp rne nte dI

ee

Sp

h-

Hig

DI

BUUR NASK ND ATIOABOU LI NWI T NG DE !

Going Green in a Big Way

More than 35 years of experience.

HD DVR

Call the office that knows where the deals are.

PLUS: ‡

www.rainbowfunding.com

CALL NOW and ask about Next Day Installation.

IVS 844-360-9625 Reqs AT&T postpaid svc on elig. plan (excl. Lifeline & Residential Wireless) on a smartphone or phone (excl. Wireless Home Phone). Svcs: Svc addresses must match. To be elig. for 2nd-yr price guarantee both services must remain active & in good standing during 2nd year. Price Guarantee: TV pkg only. After 24 mos. Or loss of eligibility, then-prevailing monthly rate for All-Included TV Pkg applies, unless customer calls to cancel/change service prior to the end of 24 mos. Price excludes taxes, equipment upgrades/add-ons and other chrgs. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. See att.com/directv. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Add’l Fees & Terms: $19.95 Handling & Delivery fee may apply. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. PREMIUM MOVIES OFFER: After 3 mos., then-prevailing rate for all four (4) premium movie pkgs applies (currently $53.99/mo.) unless canceled or changed by customer prior to end of the promotional period. Expires 4/21/17.

1 (800) 782 - LOAN NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Y6Z


Santa Clara News The Drink and Alive Free Cab Ride Program

The Bay Area law firm GJEL is once again offering free cab fare this July 4th weekend! One of the most dangerous

times to be on the roads is during the holidays when people are out drinking. GJEL is doing their part to help people make the right

decision to NOT drink and drive. More information: https://www.gjel.com/ free-cab-ride-program.htm

Upcoming Local Events Los Gatos: National Night Out: Tuesday, August 1, 2017 5:30 pm - 7:30 pm Location: Oak Meadow Park, Los Gatos Join the Los Gatos-Monte Sereno Police Department to celebrate American’s night out against crime. Meet your neighbors and local police officers; enjoy free hot dogs and ice cream; picnic with your family, friends and community! More information: 408-354-6853 San Jose: Santa Clara County Fair: August 3 - 6, 2017 Thurs 1:00 – 10:00 pm; Fri-Sun 11:00 am – 11:00 pm Location: Santa Clara County Fairgrounds, 344 Tully Rd, San Jose The Fair makes its return to San Jose in a can’t-miss four-day event. Jump into the celebration by enjoying the rides, games, and animal encounters! Also don’t forget to rock out to the live entertainment and indulge in the local food! More information visit: www.thefair.org Gilroy: Party in the Park: Friday, August 11, 2017 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm Location: San Ysidro Park, 7700 Murray Avenue, Gilroy Annual “Party in the Park” and family fitness activities. Explore 5 Fabulous South Santa Clara County Parks! All activities are free and open to all fitness levels. Participate in the events that fit your schedule. No registration required. Exercising in your local parks reduces stress and helps prevent Type 2 Diabetes. Meet and walk with Community Leaders & Local Celebrities. More information: www.parkhere.org

Y7Z

Volunteer Advocates for Victims Needed Community Solutions is hosting a Volunteer Advocate Training for Sexual Assault, Intimate Partner Abuse, and Human Trafficking Advocates. The 9-day training runs every Friday and Saturday from July 14, 2017 to August 11, 2017 and provides community members with the knowledge and skills needed to become a Certified Sexual Assault, Human Trafficking, and Intimate Partner Abuse Advocate. Certified

Advocates will be able to provide prevention, education and outreach presentations; assist with legal advocacy and court accompaniment; provide peer support to survivors at Community Solutions confidential shelter; provide crisis-line support and provide in-person responses for survivors in crisis. Registration Deadline: June 30, 2017 More information: (408) 776-6204 or rosio.franco@ communitysolutions.org

Santa Cruz Mountain Road Closures Many Santa Cruz Mountain residents are still impacted by road closures due to massive road damage from the 2017 winter storms. Bear Creek, Gist, and Black roads are some of the numerous roads that will require an estimated $35 million in major repairs before they can be safely traveled again. I can assure residents that the 47 scheduled repairs are a priority for the County. I have asked the Roads Department to provide residents with an updated project schedule. This will be made available on the County Roads website later this week here: www. countyroads.org.

As always, you can reach my office at (408) 299-5010, or you can email me atdistrict1@ bos.sccgov.orgwith your comments and concerns. Mike Wasserman Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors, District 1


Gigantic Fun Safeway 44th Annual World Championship Pumpkin Weigh-Off “World Heavyweight Championship of Gargantuan Gourds” Bring it on burly, beefy, behemoths! No weigh. Weigh! The excitement is building in Pumpkintown as the World’s Greatest Gourd Growers and their astounding, mindboggling, Volkswagensized orange orbs hope to squash the world record on Monday, October 9 at the 44th Safeway World Championship Pumpkin Weigh-Off –– the “Super Bowl of Weigh-Offs” –– in the World Pumpkin Capital of Half Moon Bay, California. Organizers are offering a beefed up top prize of $7 per pound and $30,000 in total prize money for a new world record pumpkin entered at Half Moon Bay (the

current world record is 2,624-pounds set in 2016). A host of accomplished, grizzled veteran growers will contend for the coveted title, the $30,000 world record prize and thousands of dollars in additional prize money. In a pay-by-the-pound system, the winner is guaranteed a hefty $7 per pound for the champion mega-gourd plus a starring role in the worldfamous Half Moon Bay Art & Pumpkin Festival, Oct. 14-15 (including a free weekend at the posh, pumpkin-centric RitzCarlton on the stunningly beautiful Half Moon Bay coast). Defending Half Moon Bay champion

Cindy Tobeck’s ginormous 1,910-pound weigh-off champion mega-gourd obliterated a formidable field of heavyweight contenders in winning the 2016 Safeway World Championship Pumpkin Weigh-Off. Beauty will share center stage with beefy brawn with a $500 prize awarded to the “most beautiful pumpkin” as judged by the audience based on color, shape and

Blossom Hill

Printing Company BHPrinting.com

(408) 264 - 7500

Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Stationery • Folders Fliers • Catalogs • Mailing Pieces Product Sheets • Door Hangers Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More Y8Z

size. The grand champion mega-gourd (along with the top five overall) will be on display at the Half Moon Bay Art & Pumpkin Festival, October 14-15, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on

Main Street. The Festival will be held at IDES Grounds, 735 Main Street, Main St, Half Moon Bay CA Info-Line: 650-7269652

Become a CNA (Nursing Assistant) Contact: Linda Reyes

(408) 970-5025)

nursebuilders@sbcglobal.net

www.nursebuilderacademy.com 1825 De La Cruz Blvd., Suite 105 Santa Clara, CA 95050

GREAT CAREER GREAT INCOME


Words to Live By She Scales Opening Address: June 21 at Sophia University Good Afternoon, My name is Kimberly Anne Christensen and I am both the Marketing Manager and doctoral student at the Institute of Transpersonal Psychology at Sofia University. Welcome to She Scales Entrepreneurial Luncheon and Vision Pitch Competition. Sofia University is home to four schools of learning: the Institute of Transpersonal Psychology, the school of Technology and Engineering, the school of Business and Social Entrepreneurship, and the school of Transformative Education. You have entered a university with a strong 41 year history and legacy of transformation, especially for our women graduates. Our university has a rich heritage of empowering the divine feminine and we are very proud to say that of our 2500 plus graduates, 2/3 of them were women. It is with pride when we can share the successes of our women alumni and how they have taken their education and effected change. Take for example recent doctoral graduate Laura Bakosh who is now Co-Founder at Inner Explorer, a mindfulness education program. She recently received a $10,000 grant from AETNA which will support daily mindfulness training for over 12,000

students, helping them reduce stress and increase academic performance. But it’s not only our alumni who are making waves. In our audience today is one of our current doctoral students Shirin Nourmanesh who is working to effect change in the Persian community as Development Manager at Pars Equality Center in the Bay Area. She has also just authored her 4th book entitled “Chalice of My Imagination.” This book represents her first collection of poetry. These successes don’t stop there, although we don’t see the same kind of empowerment within our female student body when I speak of our computer science program. In just two days the university will be graduating our very first MSCS students. But as I look at the roster of graduates, the legacy of underrepresentation of women in STEM continues to rear its ugly head. as only 1 female out of 13 will receive her degree. Although we have seen an increase in female applicants in our current enrollment, as we all know it’s never enough. It’s one of the reasons my doctoral research at Sofia is focused on

helping children in elementary schools overcome the barriers that keep so many children from pursuing science in middle and high school. We must do more in the early stages of education to even the playing board for all children, but especially our girls. But there is one thing that Sofia has that other schools do not. The top 2 positions in our Computer Science department, specifically Program Chair and Dean and Director of Advanced Computational Technologies are held by women, Dr. Barbara Hecker and Donna Dulo, J.D. Powerful role models indeed for incoming graduate students. But it doesn’t stop there. I believe there can be no better example of female empowerment for both our STEM and business prospects than Sofia University President, Dr Liz Li. Our motto is Moving Humanity Forward and President Li did just that. Not only is her doctorate in computer

Y9Z

science, but she took our university, that was primarily a psychology school, to an entirely different level by adding a school of technology. What a radical idea! And although it seemed like a poor fit to many, she realized that we can no longer isolate technology education from the humanistic fields, as she watched many friends in her technology and engineering fields wither away in their spirits with unhappiness. She also understood from a business perspective the power of transpersonal principles, and whole person

education, and how badly what we teach here in our psychology school needed to stop being the hidden treasure of Palo Alto and be shared with the world. Today’s She Scales event is also extremely relevant to the work we are beginning in our business school and the support those students will receive with new incubator that is being established. I thank you for attending this wonderfully empowering event at our university. If you have any questions or would like to know how to become more involved you can speak to myself or Christopher Scott who would be happy to assist you.

A Help Button Should Go Where You Go! To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go. Traditional Help Buttons

At Home In the Car On a Walk On Vacation At the Park Shopping Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

1-888-358-6120 $

29lu95 e Va

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.


See You There Mountain View Celebrates 46th Annual Art & Wine Festival, Sept. 9-10

glass, ceramics, metals, fiber, leather, wood, jewelry, and fine art. Beautiful vases, clocks, dishes, wall and table decorations, paperweights, stained and beveled glass, etchings, sculptures, photography, oil and watercolor paintings, beadwork, gold and silver jewelry, vests, handbags, hats, wallets, footwear, and waterfalls will be among the thousands of one-of-a-kind items available. Get your groove on! Thirteen sensational bands will play a wide-ranging musical mix on the

Linked-In Headliner Stage in Civic Center Plaza and multiple street locations throughout downtown –– pulsating Salsa, Motown, rhythm and blues, contemporary country, classic rock ‘n roll, jazz, soul, world-beat, Americana, Latin rock, disco and party music. The lineup includes the big Saturday evening Sunset Soul Train Dance Party Concert featuring Pacific Soul Band (5-7 p.m.), the return of smashhit Salsa Sunday with Orquesta Borinquen and Ruckatan plus a stellar bill with Cisco Kid – War

Moreno Hauling

Same day Clean Up & Go Trash Hauling Residential/Commercial Trash Removal, Hauling, Garage, Hoarder Clean-outs, Home/Rentals Clean-ups, YARD SERVICE, Shed/Deck Removal. Fire safety! Moving Assistance In/Out. Senior/Military Discounts

(408) 729-0630

7 DAYS – RAIN OR SHINE!

We Take Everything! We Do All The Loading!

Tribute, the Johnny Neri Band, Blue House, The Element, Emerson & The Growiser Band, Bob Culbertson, HeartStrings Music, John Clarke, Chaz & Co., and Ancient Winds. Complementing the fabulous food will be premium wines, seasonal microbrews, sangria and mimosas plus signature cocktails – Honeycrisp Apple Mules (Skyy Honeycrisp Apple vodka, fresh squeezed lime juice and ginger beer), classic Bloody Mary’s and refreshing mango, strawberry, cucumber jalapeno and traditional lime margaritas made from fresh fruit purees at the Longboard Bar tent. World-class brews including Lagunitas IPA, Pacifico, Modelo Especial, and Sam Adams Octoberfest will also be served. Wine lovers will be tempted by

Y 10 Z

luscious vintages from from several outstanding winemakers. The wine list includes outstanding varietals from Columbia Crest Grand Estates Chardonnay, 14 Hands Cabernet Sauvignon, Two Vines Red Blend, Villa Maria Sauvignon Blanc, Chateau St. Michelle Riesling and Chateau St. Jean Pinot Noir. For foodies, it doesn’t get any better than the artisan-produced specialty food available at the festival. It’s a great

opportunity to sample and purchase these incredible edibles as well as chat with the actual producers. Action-packed Kids’ Park will keep youngsters plenty enthralled with ultra thrilling bungee jumping, wild and wacky waterballerz, Climb On’s gripping 24-foot climbing wall, ultra fun obstacle course and bouncers, super cool henna art, glitter tattoos, face painting, sand art creative cards, and party animal puppets.


See You There

The Mountain View’s Got Talent Community Stage is back! A dazzling array of gifted young performers will strut their showstopping stuff in front of a live audience

in this “Mountain View’s Got Talent” style showcase.  Sports fans will have a place to watch NFL and NCAA football and MLB games on a giant LED

screen in the Comcast Pigskin Party Lounge with plenty of seating, festive food and drink –– the perfect spot to kick back and take a break from the teeming crowds. Also on tap is the expanded Organic & Green Products Showcase –– see the latest and greatest exhibits featuring Organic, Natural, Healthy and EcoFriendly products. This year’s Zero Waste Initiative has been stepped up with the Chamber of Commerce, Recology Mountain View, and the City of Mountain View joining forces to maximize composting and recycling and minimize waste. Festival organizers are also encouraging the use of public transit, bicycles and car pools to cut down carbon emissions and vehicular traffic. Free secure bicycle parking will be available at Church and Castro.  The festival will be held on September 9-10 on Castro Street between El Camino

Y 11 Z

Real and Evelyn Avenue in Mountain View, California. Hours are 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Saturday and 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on

Sunday. Admission is free. For festival information, call 650-968-8378 or visit www.miramarevents.com


67TH ANNUAL

August 11-20 2017


Cool Cats San Jose Jazz Summer Fest By Renee Robinson

The hottest ticket this summer will be the San Jose Jazz Summer Fest being held at the Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park on August 11th through the 13th. To kick off the festival on August the 11th, the P-funk will fill the air with George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic. The funk superstars revolutionized R&B during the 70’s by combining soul music into funk by adding the influences of 60’s acid heroes Jimi Hendrix, Frank Zappa, and Sly Stone. With Parliament, which was his funk machine, he ruled black music, having recorded platinum albums and having over 40 R&B hits like the showstopper “ Knee Deep”. Also performing on the Sobrato Main Stage, on August 12th, will be world music star Angelique Kidio, an

African-influenced singer and performer. She performed in the documentary “Lightning in a bottle”, honoring blues music. Kidio alongside guitarist Buddy Guy sang a rendition of rock artist Jimi Hendrix’ “Voodoo Child”, which brought down the house. The great R&B group from Oakland, The Whispers will add soul to the mix with their array of hits from the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and beyond. They will be performing on Sunday August 13th. Also on Sunday, the jazz stylings of artists called Jazz By 5 which includes Javon Jackson, George Cables, Randy Brecker, Eddie Gomez, and Jimmy Cobb. Brendan Rawson, executive director of San Jose Jazz, comments about this year’s Summer Fest: “Summer Fest 2017 is gearing up to be an incredible weekend celebration of jazz in all its forms as well as jazz’s influence on so many contemporary styles of music including R&B, Latin, electronic, world and funk on

10 different stages. In addition to the outdoor Plaza Park setting for our Main Stage and the shady San Fernando and Post streets for our Salsa and Blues/Big Easy stages, we also have a couple of excellent new indoor venues involved this year including the newly revitalized Hammer Theatre. We’re also excited to welcome back the JazzWeek Summit conference (Aug 10-11) on the front end of Summer Fest that will bring broadcasters, artists, agents and label representatives together for two days of industry meetings before the Fest kicks off.” There will be an array of various stages through downtown San Jose including: Jade Leaf Stage, JMA Next Gen Stage, Swing Stage, Salsa Stage, and many more.

Kingdom Family Resources is a community based Mental Health service that is dedicated to the education, healing, growth and preservation of all families. “Our vision is to restore a heart, restore a family and transform lives for a lifetime. In order for families to be strong and healthy -- each member need to be strong and healthy.”

Rainbow Funding & Realty Best Mortgage Broker 2016

• 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

www.rainbowfunding.com

(800) 782 - LOAN Conditions apply

Y 13 Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Hot Topic Roadmap to Navigating Your Child’s Disability by Chrissie Kahan Recent tragic headlines of teen suicide heightened by the popularity of 13 Reasons Why shows there has been a significant rise in mental health concerns among our youth. Belle Papillon, a leading mental health site, states that 1 in 5 kids will struggle with a mental health disorder at some point and 50% of those mental illnesses begin by age 14 if not slightly younger. Alarmingly, suicide is the second leading cause of death between 15 and 24 year olds with 90% of those who died of suicide having an underlying mental illness. “Now is the time on summer hiatus to have meaningful and valuable conversations about your child’s adjustments at school,” says Kahan. She adds, “depression, anxiety, bullying and suicide are starting as soon as Kindergarten.”Kahan saved a child this year who was in second grade and having suicidal

thoughts. Chrissie Kahan, an award-winning educator, disability specialist and Assistant principal, just released Roadmap to Navigating Your Child’s Disability. Designed with the parent in mind, this comprehensive, easy to read resource provides parents and caregivers all the information they may be looking for on the quest to getting their child the strongest level of support in the public school system. • Warning signs in children that are not typically discussed that need to be shared • Partnerships between parents and the educational system in properly diagnosing their child’s disability and identifying appropriate accommodations • What teachers, counselors, school administrators need to do and must be reminded when they even hear of threatening language

• How she handles bullies in her school! • Recreational sports programs for disadvantage youth that she started in her school that work! • Understanding the SST and IEP processes

so that a parent can understand what to expect from interventions, the personnel attending the meetings and the type of information they will find on aligned documentation • Resources for parents

and families which make it easier to comprehend the extent of the child’s disability and how the public school can work better with them.

Chrissie Kahan is an advocate for equity and students with disabilities. As an educator for the past 15 years and an assistant principal for the past 8, she has experience working in partnership with parents, teachers, and related service providers. Chrissie has always had a heart for children, especially advocating for kids who have been labeled as “behavior problems.” She is special-education certified and serves as the Individualized Education Program (IEP)/Student Support Team Chair within her elementary school. She has authored the following books: Benny Gator and Angry Ana with the purpose of spreading awareness to kids and families in regards to the topics of anxiety and anger management. She has also co-authored the book Navigating the Road of Infertility with her husband. This book has been featured internationally, most recently on HLN for National Infertility week. She and her husband have founded the publishing company: King Kahan Publishing, LLC where their hope is to publish books that focus on spreading awareness to real world issues in a meaningful way. Learn more about Chrissie Kahanat www.kingkahan.com, and connect with her on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. Roadmap to Navigating Your Child’s Disability will be available on Amazon and Smashwords.

Place Your Ad Here! Email the South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y 14 Z


Valley Extra Ask about our 3.5% Total Commission!!!

Our Corner of The Valley By Scott Taper

We live in strange times. But are we stopping everything to stand and stare at the phenomenon of the weakest Oval Office in history. No, we are not. Business is booming even amid fears that Trump’s policies will decrease the flow of excellent foreign students and researchers to the US. His policies on foreign trade have driven the dollar from an all time high to a continuing trend of a lower valued dollar. So what does this mean to you and me in our corner of the valley? First, a weaker dollar means products imported will be more expensive since a dollar won’t buy what it used to. Interest rates may rise because investing in dollars will be less attractive. This, in turn, drives investment in our economy down. However, why is the Dow Index up so high? That’s because that’s where the investment money goes when Interest rates rise. This is why: Companies rise capital by selling corporate bonds or stock, so if the bond market has to pay higher returns, i.e., interest than the stock market gains. Companies are selling products and services at higher prices to foreign customers because they pay more dollars due to the exchange rate. However, that doesn’t translate to more

jobs because of automation and modernization of production requires fewer people than ever before. The US is a Tech Economy that relies on machines and software to increase our productivity. However, the Federal Reserve Bank (Fed) has been raised the bank interest rate index twice since Trump’s inauguration, another signal that the economy will be slowed down. The Guardian reported that Millennials are not buying houses and may never buy which may be a great concern to Home owners whose homes have reach record levels. Is there a bubble coming in a decade or so when these Millennials choose to continue to rent? Well, will the landlords keep raising rents to the point where Millennials are forced into the buyer’s market. However, it may take 10 years for Millennials to save the 20% down payment. In our corner of the valley, homes will continue to increase in value until it may take up 28 years before they will be able to save the 20% down payment. If you are a homeowner, and you love your where you live, stay. However, if you are looking to sell and retire, then you should keep a close eye on any rise in offering any type of two-tiered loans, or loans being made with floating interest such as variable rate loans.

JUST SOLD and we can Sell Yours Too!!

Excellent centrally located 4/2 home on quiet street! Curb and walkway areas just redone with stunning Brick Planters. New Lennox AC and Heater!! Copper repipe. New kitchen LOTS of Granite and SS Appliances. Beautiful backyard for entertaining!!

Scott Taper is a biweekly contributor who consults in the field of commercialization and licensing of patented technologies/consumer products. Send inquiries to staper@scitechcal.com with subject line “Our Corner of the Valley”

Tom Merigan Realtor/Altas Realty

Office: (408) 559 - 1069 Cell: (408) 329 - 3150 Email: tmerigan@yahoo.com BRE# 01319061

Tom is your 95123 Area Specialist!! Y 15 Z


THE

GOSS

REAL

E S TAT E

GROUP

FOR SALE

PRESENTS

43550 Puesta Del Sol, Fremont JUST LISTED! This beautifully updated home, located in the desirable Antelope Hills community and within the prestigious Mission San Jose school district, features 3 bedrooms; 2.5 baths; living room with fireplace, dining area with sliding glass door out to the expanded deck, gorgeous remodeled kitchen; separate family room; spacious master bedroom suite with retreat; upper level deck area; secondary bedrooms with mirrored closet doors & private deck; attached 2 car finished garage & more! Offered At $1,050,000

1915 Coastland Avenue, Willow Glen

FOR SALE

JUST LISTED! Gorgeous 3 bedroom/2 bath Willow Glen home with spacious living areas perfect inside and out for entertaining. Relax in your own private English garden or spend time with family or friends out on the deck. Features include remodeled kitchen with granite counters & stainless steel appliances, living room with vaulted ceiling &A Lfireplace, with French M A D E N dining N A T I Varea E B R O K Eside R Apatio, S S O C Ispacious A T E , M Bmaster A doors leading out to the private suite, 4 0 8 - 6 craft 85-59 90 parquet wood floors & separate room/office in the backyard B F B Y N U M @ G M A I L . C O M shade under a large magnolia tree.

BRETT YNUM BYNUMREALESTATE.COM

Offered At $1,195,000

CalBRE #01728689

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD, SUITE 205 LOS GATOS, CA 95032 CalBRE #01526679 EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

COMING SOON - 3 bedroom, 2 bath, 1,209 SF single story townhome in the popular Pepper Tree complex in the Cambrian area: $725,000! THINKING OF SELLING YOUR HOME? Call me today at (408) 234-0417 or go online to www.DougsHomeValues.com for a quick, no hassle online home valuation! SOLD!

PENDING

SOLD!

1118 Abbott Avenue, Campbell

495 Suisse Drive, Blossom Valley

1382 Pierce Ranch Road, Almaden Valley

4 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 3,826 SF | $2,500,000

4 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,826 SF | $930,000

4 Bedrooms | 2.5 Baths | 2,233 SF | $1,440,000

DOUG GOSS

BROKER ASSOCIATE CRS,CRP,GRI,ABR 408-267-4663 DGOSS@KW.COM CalBRE #01182111

LOS GATOS OFFICE

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD., SUITE 105 LOS GATOS, CA 95032

ALMADEN VALLEY OFFICE

5671 SANTA TERESA BLVD., SUITE 103 SAN JOSE, CA 95123

TheGossRealEstateGroup.com

CalBRE #01526679

July 28 17  
July 28 17