Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 3, NO. 3

February 11, 2019

Better at knowing what matters to you San Jose Native Named Navy Medicine West Regional 2018 Senior Sailor of the Year

Navy Medicine West (NMW) named Hospital Corpsman 1st Class (HM1) Beatriz Solorio, (second from left) from Naval Health Clinic Hawaii (NHCH), the regional 2018 Senior Sailor of the Year during a ceremony, Jan. 24. The announcement came during NMW’s annual board of governor’s meeting, a gathering of all the region’s commanding officers and command master chiefs. “We selected an outstanding Sailor to represent the enlisted personnel of Navy Medicine West,” said Command Master Chief Loren Rucker. “The caliber of Sailors we have in the Navy now rivals that of any generation and I’m incredibly proud to serve with them. The 15 Sailors that represented their commands in both the active and reserve force are all top notch and should be proud of their accomplishments.” Solorio, a native of San Jose, California, is the public health directorate leading petty officer (LPO) for NHCH, Solorio she mentors over 80 active duty and civilian public health technicians.

HM1 Beatriz Solorio receives a commemorative clock from Rear Adm. Paul Pearigen, second from right, Navy Medicine West (NMW) commander, during a ceremony at which she was named the NMW 2018 Senior Sailor of the  Year. Solorio poses with Pearigen the NMW Command Master Chief Loren Rucker, right, and NHCH Command Master Chief Michael B. Gutierrez, left.

Music Lessons Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com

$1

5

Piano, Guitar, Drums, Bass & Flute

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 95126 95128 *COMING SOON* 95037 95051 Y1Z

Continued on Page 6


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Photographer Andy Nguyen Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni Editor, Public Affairs Liaison: Pamela Gustava Curry

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2019 Embarking on the 30th Anniversary of their signature Summer Fest, the iconic Bay Area institution San Jose Jazz kicks off 2019 with dynamic arts programming honoring the jazz tradition and everexpanding definitions of the genre with singular concerts curated for audiences within the heart of Silicon Valley. San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2019 features some of today’s most distinguished artists alongside leading edge emerging musicians with an ambitious lineup of more than 20 concerts from February 14 - 27, 2019. The Jazz Beyond series, co-curated in partnership with San Jose Jazz and local production house Universal Grammar, presents buzzy young stars pushing the boundaries of jazz, soul and hip-hop and the Next Gen performances showcase top regional student jazz ensembles. Tickets to San Jose Jazz Winter Fest 2019 are now on sale ranging in price from $15 - $38; a Fest Pass is available for $260, and an array of shows at Cafe Stritch are free admission. For detailed ticket information as well as updates on the artists and performance schedule, please visit: sanjosejazz.org/winterfest. About San Jose Jazz Founded in 1986, San Jose Jazz is a public

"Winter Fest has turned into an opportunity to reprise the summer's most exciting acts, while reaching out to new audiences with a jazz-and-beyond sensibility." -KQED Arts benefit corporation celebrating jazz as a dynamic, evolving art form and is producer of the annual San Jose Jazz Summer Fest and Winter

Fest. With its singular music programming and innovative educational offerings, San Jose Jazz preserves the jazz tradition while actively supporting

the next generation of performers within the genre and beyond. For more information, please visit sanjosejazz.org.

Thursday, February 14 - Wednesday, February 27, 2019 Downtown San Jose, CA @ The Hammer Theatre, Cafe Stritch, The Continental, and Art Boutiki Tickets: $15(Advance)/$18(Door) - $35(Advance)/$38 (Door); All Concert Fest Pass: $260; Next Gen student ensemble shows are free. sanjosejazz.org/winterfest (408) 288-7557 Cash and credit accepted at door National Headliners:

Gilles Peterson (DJ Set) Catherine Russell With the SJSU Jazz Orchestra Charles McPherson Anton Schwartz and Kenny Washington Aaron Diehl Bells Atlas La Dame Blanche Tiffany Austin with Leon Joyce, Marcus Shelby and Adam Shulman JC Smith Band All-Star Blues Blowout Featuring Fillmore Slim, Kid Anderson and Rick Estrin The Rad Trads Kathy Kosins SJZ Collective plays Mingus ChĂŠjere Richie Goods

"Next Gen" Bay Area Student Ensembles: San Jose Jazz U19s Kuumbwa Jazz Honor Band Folsom High School Jazz Band Berkeley High School Jazz Combo Rio Americano The Inner Circle

Y2Z


Worship Directory First Congregational Church of San Jose United Church of Christ 1980 Hamilton Ave., San Jose, CA 95125 (At the corner of Hamilton and Leigh) (408) 377-7121 www.firstccsj.org

We are a progressive, Open and Affirming, welcoming congregation of faithful people who seek to wrestle with scripture, and live out our faith, in the real world. We are far from perfect, but we try to offer as wide a welcome as possible, and invite you to join us on the community path, wherever it takes us. We offer lively, multi-generational worship on Sunday mornings at 10:00 AM (nursery care provided). We have regular educational programs for all ages, children through adults, and a variety of groups and offerings for spiritual development and service. Come check us out and find a community for the journey.

Santa Teresa Hills Presbyterian Church 5370 Snell Ave, San Jose, CA 95123 (2 blocks north of Blossom Hill Rd on Snell) (408) 629-5906 Email: santateresahills@gmail.com

We are a friendly, progressive, multicultural church striving to understand and apply the teachings of Jesus Christ. All are welcome!! Come visit us and participate in opportunities for spiritual growth, fellowship, and community outreach. We can pursue our faith journeys together! Sunday services are at 10:00AM with children’s Sunday school and nursery care available on site. Handicapped and hearing impaired services available. Visit our website for sample sermons, photos and a lot more information www.sthpc.org We look forward to meeting you!!

Hillside Church San Jose 545 Hillsdale Avenue San Jose, CA 95136 (408) 269-4782 www.hillside.org

At Hillside Church, we take God and His Word seriously. We are a growing congregation of friendly people who are taking the hope of the Gospel to a world that desperately needs it. Join us in our mission to change this world one soul at a time. Our Sunday services are at 9:00 AM (acoustic/quiet) and 10:45 AM (more high energy). Make a difference in the live of people in our community. Help us as we point others to Jesus Christ, teaching them to live for Him. Visit our website, listen online, or join us this Sunday!

Sunrise Valley Baptist Church

5860 Blossom Avenue (at Blossom & Calero) San Jose, CA 95123 (408) 225 - 0200 www.sunrisevbc.org “Rejoice in the Lord always! And again I say rejoice!” Come join us in a traditional worship service that is steeped in the old hymns of our faith and rooted in expository Bible preaching. A friendly congregation will encourage your heart. Our Wonderful Savior, Jesus Christ, offers peace, love & joy. On Sunday we have Sunday School at 9:30 am; Sunday Morning Worship at 10:45 am; and Sunday Evening Worship at 6:00 pm. On Wednesday Evening we have Awana at 7:00 pm (Children’s Bible Clubs K-6; Sept May) and Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting at 7:00 pm.

Advertise Your place of Worship with the South Valley Review! Contact us at advertising@southvalleyreveiw.com.


The County of Santa Clara Department of Tax and Collections (DTAC) has identified approximately 4,900 taxpayers who are potential owners of $3.5M in unclaimed property tax. DTAC issues more than 500,000 property tax bills and collects over $6 billion on an annual basis. The unclaimed property tax monies come from a variety of sources including, but not limited to: reduced assessments (re-evaluation of assessed values), overpayments, and duplicate payments. DTAC makes every attempt to refund the rightful owners. DTAC has made attempts to contact taxpayers by phone and skip tracing in pursuit of refunding the rightful owners, but these channels are not always successful.

obtained on the DTAC web site. To learn more and claim your property tax refund, go to https://www. sccgov.org/sites/dtac/tax/Pages/ unclaimed-property-tax-refunds. aspx. As always, you can reach my office at (408) 299-5010, or you can email me at mike.wasserman@ bos.sccgov.org with your comments and concerns. Mike Wasserman Santa Clara County Supervisor, District 1

Join us for our February Luncheon with main speaker Jason Trimiew, Head of Supplier Diversity for Facebook February 20, 2019 11:00 am - 1:00 pm Biltmore Hotel and Suites 2151 Laurelwood Road, Santa Clara, CA 95054 Go to eventbrite.com and search Jason Trimiew to register today!

Publishing the list on the County web site is another attempt to reach the rightful owners. This new online search will provide eligible property tax claimants with the tools to search for property tax refunds where applicable.

$35 for members, $45 for non-members, $50 for walk-ins

www.icsbd.org For two decades, Jason has worked at the intersection of the marketplace and social impact in international microfinance, community and economic development, and venture philanthropy. In 2016, Jason joined Facebook to launch and lead the company's supplier diversity program and create more opportunity for diverse-owned firms to do business with Facebook and the people and communities that Facebook connects. Prior to joining Facebook, he designed and delivered the community impact initiatives for Super Bowl 50, resulting in more than $20 million in grants for Bay Area nonprofits and contracts for local, diverse-owned businesses. Jason was formerly a Managing Director at REDF, a venture philanthropy founded by KKR Co-Chairman George R. Roberts, and is the founder of Trimiew Strategy Group, a consultancy that helps clients develop, implement, measure, and scale products and programs that produce results for good. Jason earned a bachelor's degree from Covenant College (GA), a master's degree from the University of San Francisco, and has completed the Executive Program in Nonprofit Leadership from Stanford University's Graduate School of Business. Jason will discuss "The Power of the Platform: Facebook's approach to supplier diversity". Don't miss this event, sign up now to reserve your spot.

Potential owners qualifying for refunds must file their claims by February 28, 2019. The list of names and claim forms can be

Y4Z


Local Heroes San Jose Native Named Navy Medicine West Regional 2018 Senior Sailor of the Year Cont’

She is also responsible for operating six geographically dispersed locations that provide immunizations, health education, and services that include industrial hygiene, environmental health, and undersea medicine. “I’m very proud to be part of an organization that recognizes and promotes its Sailors based on merit,” said Solorio. “I don’t think I’ve done anything special. I’ve just tried to be a better person—I volunteer, I

stay fit, I take care of our Sailors, and I make sure that our mission is being met. When you do these things, it’s going to show in your work and hard work does pay off.” Solorio also deployed in support of Pacific Partnership 2018, serving aboard both USNH Mercy (T-AH 19) and USNS Brunswick (T-EPF 6). As a preventive medicine technician (PMT), she participated in three week-long subject matter expert exchanges and cooperative health

engagements, working with public health workers and industrial hygienists in host nations to provide guidance for food, health, and habitability inspections, food safety program development, and control of communicable diseases. “HM1 Solorio was selected as Naval Health Clinic Hawaii’s 2018 Senior Sailor of the Year due to her consistent leadership, being a wellrounded subject matter expert, her humble confidence but mostly because she makes all Sailors up and down the chain of command better,” said Command Master Chief Michael B. Gutierrez. “She is one of the best Sailors I have seen in my 26 years of service.” Gutierrez added that Solorio exemplifies the Navy’s core value and lives the Navy Ethos daily. Capt. Kimberly Zuzelski, commanding officer of NHCH, echoed those sentiments saying Solorio is an exceptional PMT and leader as well as someone who genuinely cares about others. “I, and the entire Naval Health Clinic Ohana, are ecstatic that HM1 Solorio was selected as Navy Medicine West’s Senior Sailor of the Year and we are extremely proud of

Y6Z

her,” said Capt. Kimberly Zuzelski, commanding officer of NHCH. “Whether she’s deployed, volunteering in the community, developing junior Sailors, or supporting the warfighter, she’s one-hundred percent committed to service.” The Sailor of the Year program was established in 1972 by Former Chief of Naval Operations Adm. Elmo Zumwalt and former Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy John Whittet to recognize an individual Sailor who best represents the group of dedicated professional Sailors at each command and, ultimately, in the Navy. Navy Medicine West leads (NMW) Navy Medicine’s Western Pacific health care system and global research and development enterprise. Throughout the region, NMW provides medical

care to nearly 700,000 beneficiaries across 10 naval hospitals, two dental battalions, and 51 branch clinics located throughout the West Coast of the U.S., Asia, and the Pacific. Globally, NMW also has oversight of eight research laboratories across the U.S. and overseas that deliver high-value, high-impact research products to support and protect the health and readiness of service members.


Boyd’s Tree Service Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984 www.Boydstreeservice.com Michael W. Boyd – Owner

Fully Insured PL & PD and Worker’s Compensation Second Generation Experience Contractor License #665121

Structural Pruning Tree trimming Stump removal

boydstslm@gmail.com

408-371-5040


For the Soul Stanford University announces Stanford Live partnerships with Goldenvoice and the San Francisco Symphony The partnerships at Frost Amphitheater will include rock, pop and classical concerts, as well as spoken word performances in the inaugural season of this newly renovated venue in the university’s arts district. Stanford University is excited to announce two musical partnerships. Stanford Live, the university’s primary performing arts organization, is copresenting a series of concerts in Frost Amphitheater with Goldenvoice, creators of Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival and local promoter of over 600 Bay Area concerts annually. Stanford Live is also co-presenting a summer series in Frost with the San Francisco Symphony (SFS), widely considered to be among the most artistically adventurous and innovative arts institutions in the U.S. The Stanford Live-SFS series will take place in July 2019 and will be the first classical music concerts in the newly renovated amphitheater. “We have found two wonderful collaborators in Goldenvoice and the San Francisco Symphony,” said Chris Lorway, executive director of Stanford Live/Bing Concert Hall. “Both are committed to bringing the highest level of musical experiences to audiences which aligns beautifully with our mandate at Stanford Live. These annual concerts and

events will also provide Stanford an opportunity to engage further with the local community as we collectively build Frost into the preeminent outdoor music venue on the peninsula.” Frost Amphitheater, the legendary 82-yearold venue, is located at 351 Lasuen St. in the university’s arts district that includes Bing Concert Hall, the Cantor Arts Center, the Anderson Collection at Stanford University and the McMurtry Building for the Department of Art and Art History. Frost will reopen this spring after an extensive renovation project that includes the addition of a state-ofthe-art stage and other front- and back-of-house amenities that improve conditions for audience members and performers. The Stanford LiveGoldenvoice concert series will begin in the summer and continue through October each year. The 2019 shows will be announced in the coming months. “Goldenvoice is honored to be tasked with programing contemporary music at Frost Amphitheater,” said Rick Mueller, North American president of AEG

Frost Amphitheater will reopen this spring after an extensive renovation project that includes the addition of a state-of-the-art stage and other front- and back-ofhouse amenities that improve conditions for audience members and performers. (Image credit: Joel Simon)

Presents, Goldenvoice’s parent company. “From Miles Davis to Ella Fitzgerald, and Carlos Santana to the Grateful Dead, Frost has hosted the best artists of its time, and the venue’s history serves as a musical blueprint that is hard to match anywhere in the world. We look forward to continuing this great tradition and bringing the best artists of today to Frost with our partners at Stanford Live.” The Stanford LiveSFS concert series will take place each summer. Tickets for the following performances

Y8Z

go on presale to Stanford Live members and San Francisco Symphony donors and subscribers starting Feb. 19 at 10 a.m. and to the general public starting Feb. 26 at 10 a.m.: • Wednesday, July 10, 2019 – Music Director Michael Tilson Thomas leads the SFS in an allTchaikovsky concert featuring the composer’s Symphony No. 4 and Violin Concerto, performed by American violinist Gil Shaham. • Saturday, July 13, 2019 – New Zealand-born conductor Gemma New

leads the SFS in a concert featuring Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9. • Sunday, July 14, 2019 – Same program as July 13. “The San Francisco Symphony is thrilled to strengthen our relationship with Stanford University as we begin our first season in the beautiful and beloved Frost Amphitheater,” said symphony president and Stanford alumna Sakurako Fisher. “Our orchestra has a great history at Frost and this series serves as a wonderful opportunity for the broader Bay Area


For the Soul community to, once again, enjoy our music under the sun and stars in this historic tree-lined bowl. We also hope our unique partnership will allow an even greater exchange of musical ideas through new creative and academic partnerships with Stanford as it continues to carry and lead in the balancing of the arts with the sciences.” Tickets for Stanford Live-Goldenvoice performances For all performances co-presented by Stanford Live and Goldenvoice, tickets will be available for purchase through the AXS ticketing system. Presale access will be available to select Stanford Live members. For more information, visit www. frostamphitheater.com. Tickets for Stanford Live-San Francisco Symphony performances Tickets for the 2019 Stanford Live-SFS performances will be available on presale to Stanford Live members and SFS donors and subscribers starting Feb. 19 at 10 a.m. and to the general public starting Feb. 26 at 10 a.m. via www.

sfsymphony.org/frost, (415) 864-6000 and the Davies Symphony Hall Box Office, located on Grove Street between Franklin and Van Ness, San Francisco. About Stanford Live Stanford Live presents a wide range of the finest performances from around the world fostering a vibrant learning community and providing distinctive experiences through the performing arts. With its home at Bing Concert Hall, Stanford Live is simultaneously a public square, a sanctuary and a lab, drawing on the breadth and depth of Stanford University to connect performance to the significant issues, ideas and discoveries of our time. About Goldenvoice Goldenvoice, creators of Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival and Stagecoach: California’s Country Music Festival, also produces Arroyo Seco Weekend, Camp

Flog Gnaw Carnival and operates Los Angeles and San Francisco Bay Area music venues including El Rey Theatre, The Fonda Theatre, The Novo, Shrine Auditorium, Mountain Winery, The Regency Ballroom and The Warfield. Beginning as an independent punk rock promoter in 1981, Goldenvoice now promotes over 1,800 shows a year in California, Nevada, Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii and Canada. About San Francisco Symphony Under the artistic direction of Michael Tilson Thomas since 1995, the orchestra is a leading presence among American orchestras at home and around the world, celebrated for its artistic excellence, creative performance concepts, active touring, award-winning recordings and standard-setting education programs. SFS presents more than 220 concerts and presentations annually for an audience of nearly 450,000 in its home of Davies Symphony Hall and through its active national and international touring.

BOOK YOUR VACATION NOW – CALL FOR LIMITED TIME SAVINGS

Grand Alaskan Cruise & Tour

12 days from 1,849 $

*

Save

500

$

per couple

1,599

$

Ultimate Hawaii Save$900upto Tour with Pearl Harbor per couple

Experience

*

13 days from $2,249* $1,799*

Departs June - September, 2019

Departs year-round

Enjoy a spectacular cruise & tour between Seattle and Alaska including 7 nights aboard Holland America Line’s ms Westerdam and 4 nights on land. You’ll cruise the Gulf of Alaska and the Inside Passage—a breathtaking sea lane teeming with marine wildlife, where you’ll pass glaciers, towering mountains, and lush forests, with stops in Ketchikan, historic Skagway and magnificent Glacier Bay. On land, you’ll go deep into Denali National Park, tour Anchorage, and see the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center.

Enjoy a fully-escorted 4-island Hawaiian vacation with beachfront lodging on Kauai, Maui, and the “Big Island” of Hawaii, and a centrally-located hotel in gorgeous Waikiki on Oahu. Includes a Pearl Harbor experience where you will see the USS Arizona Memorial and Battleship Missouri. Visit historic Lahaina, enjoy a boat cruise on the Wailua River and authentic Hawaiian entertainment and food at our Farewell Feast. Escorted throughout by our friendly Tour Directors—your local experts. Price includes 3 inter-island flights.

FREE ONBOARD CREDIT The escorted tour experts since 1967! All tours include hotels, sightseeing and baggage handling. TM

Promo code N7017

1-877-818-2936

*Prices are per person based on double occupancy plus $299 taxes & fees. Cruise pricing based on lowest cabin category after savings; upgrades available. Single supplement and seasonal surcharges may apply. Add-on airfare available. Onboard Credit requires purchase of Ocean View or Balcony Cabin. For full Set Sail terms and conditions ask your Travel Consultant. Offers apply to new bookings only, made by 2/28/19. Other terms and conditions may apply. Ask your Travel Consultant for details.

Out-of-market games only. Select int’l games excluded.

AT NO Y TICKET INCLUDED GET 2018 NFL SUNDA TV. DIREC ITCH TO SW U within two YO cancel EN to call ST you WH ly $293.94/season) unless EXTRA CO season at then-prevailing rate (current each Subscription renews automatically weeks after the start of the season.*

Choose any live game you want to watch on Sunday, all in HD. Only DIRECTV lets you watch every Sunday NFL game live, from start to finish – no matter where you live. (Out-of-market games only. Select int’l games excluded.)

CHOICE

All-Included Package

MO.

$105/mo. in months 13-24 (subject to change). Regional Sports fee up to $7.49/mo. is extra and applies.**

Includes: ■ Over 185 Channels ■ Monthly fees for HD DVR

WATCH LIVE GAMES WHEREVER YOU GO

DIRECTV FANTASY ZONE® CHANNEL†^

This exclusive channel lets you watch your favorite fantasy Stream every live out-of-market game, every players live from game to game with real-time analysis from our fantasy experts. Sunday afternoon, from virtually anywhere ■ WATCH up to 8 GAMES AT ONCE OR with a tablet, device or computer.

Plus taxes and Regional Sports fee. For 12 months w/ 24-mo. TV agmt. Autopay & paperless bill req’d. ■

RED ZONE CHANNEL®†^ Never miss a play inside the 20, all on one channel, all in HD.

PICK ONE†

Game Mix Channel lets you watch up to 4 or 8 games live on one screen.

†Only available in HD. ^With NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX.

ALL OFFERS REQUIRE 24-MO. AGREEMENT. **$35 ACTIVATION FEE, EARLY TERMINATION FEE OF $20/MO. FOR EACH MONTH REMAINING ON AGMT, EQUIPMENT NON-RETURN & ADD’L FEES APPLY. Price incl. CHOICE All-Included Pkg & is after $5/mo. autopay & paperless bill discount for 12 mos. Pay $50/mo. + taxes until discount starts w/in 3 bills. New approved residential customers only (equipment lease req’d). Credit card req’d (except MA & PA). Restr’s apply.

Ask me how to Bundle and save. CALL TODAY! Iv Support Holdings

1-855-532-1951 CHOICE ALL-INCLUDED PACKAGE OFFER: Ends 11/30/18. Available only in the U.S. (excludes Puerto Rico and U.S.V.I.). 1st & 2nd Year Pricing $45 for first 12 mos. only. After 12 mos. or loss of eligibility, then-prevailing rate applies (currently $105/mo. for CHOICE All-Included) unless canceled or changed prior to end of the promo period. Pricing subject to change. $5/Mo. Discount: Must enroll in autopay and paperless bill within 30 days of TV activation to receive bill credit starting in 1-3 bill cycles. First-time credit will include all credits earned since meeting offer requirements. Must maintain autopay/paperless bill and valid email address to continue credits. No credits in 2nd year for autopay/paperless bill. Includes: CHOICE All-Included TV Pkg, monthly service & equipment fees for one Genie HD DVR, and standard pro installation. Exclusions: Price excludes Regional Sports fee of up to $7.49/mo. (which is extra & applies to CHOICE and/or MÁS ULTRA and higher pkgs), applicable use tax expense surcharge on retail value of installation, custom installation, equipment upgrades/add-ons (min. $99 one-time fee & $7/mo. fee for each extra receiver/DIRECTV Ready TV/Device), and certain other add’l fees & charges. Different offers may apply for eligible multi-dwelling-unit and telco customers. DIRECTV SVC TERMS: Subject to Equipment Lease & Customer Agreements. Must maintain a min. base TV pkg of $29.99/mo. Programming, pricing, terms and conditions subject to change at any time. Some offers may not be available through all channels and in select areas. Visit directv.com/legal or call for details. Offers may not be combined with other promotional offers on the same services and may be modified or discontinued at any time without notice. Other conditions apply to all offers. *2018 NFL SUNDAY TICKET OFFER: Package consists of all live out-of-market NFL games (based on customer’s service address) broadcast on FOX and CBS. However, games broadcast by your local FOX or CBS affiliate, and select international games, will not be available in NFL SUNDAY TICKET. Games available via remote viewing based on device location. Other conditions apply. 2018 NFL SUNDAY TICKET regular full-season retail price is $293.94. 2018 NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX regular full-season retail price is $395.94. Customers activating CHOICE Package or above or MÁS ULTRA Package or above will be eligible to receive the 2018 season of NFL SUNDAY TICKET at no additional cost and will receive a free upgrade to NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX for the 2018 season. NFL SUNDAY TICKET subscription will renew automatically in 2019 and each season thereafter at the then-prevailing rate (currently $293.94/season) unless you call to change or cancel by the date specified in your renewal notice. Up until two weeks after the 2019 season starts, you can cancel anytime and receive any applicable refund. To renew NFL SUNDAY TICKET MAX, customer must call to upgrade after the 2018 season. Subscription cannot be canceled (in part or in whole) after the first two weeks of the season and subscription fee cannot be refunded. Only one game may be accessed remotely at any given time. Compatible device/operating system required for online/mobile access. Additional data charges may apply. Visit directv.com/nfl for a list of compatible devices/system requirements. For full Mix Channel and interactive functionality, HD equipment model H/HR 21 or later is required. NFL, the NFL Shield design and the NFL SUNDAY TICKET name and logo are registered trademarks of the NFL and its affiliates. ©2018 AT&T Intellectual Property. All Rights Reserved. AT&T, Globe logo, DIRECTV, and all other DIRECTV marks contained herein are trademarks of AT&T Intellectual Property and/or AT&T affiliated companies. All other marks are the property of their respective owners.

Y9Z


Great Achievments 2nd Annual RCCSV Celebrating Success Awards

Hanh Mo, Community & Government Relations Manager, Kaiser Permanente; Jonathan Von Etten, Executive Director of National Provider Contracting, Kaiser Permanente; and Jose Gabriel Espinoza, Supplier Diversity Program Manager at California Water Service Company

Vikki Brown with Eileen Hamper, Secretary of Rainbow Women’s Chorus

Robert Peabody III, Chief Financial Officer, Silicon Valley Pride; Nicole Altamirano, Chief Operations Officer, Silicon Valley Pride; Saldy Suriben, Chief Marketing Officer, Silicon Valley Pride; and Candelario Franco, Project Manager for The Health Trust Getting To Zero, Rainbow Chamber Silicon Valley.

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ken Yeager Volunteer of the Year Award: Vikki Brown

Small Business of the Year Award: Scott’s Seafood San Jose Non-Profit of the Year Award: Silicon Valley Pride Ken Yeager and Michael Lo Monaco, Realtor Coldwell Banker Los Gatos

Corporation of the Year Award: Kaiser Permanente

Y 10 Z

Andrew Palmyra, Scott’s Seafood San Jose and Michelle Matson, Event Specialist at Catered Too!


Making a Difference $

GET A SMART PHONE FOR

0 DOWN

*

with AT&T Next Every YearSM and AT&T Next® *Req’s well-qualified credit & elig. svc. Tax due at sale. Limits & restr's apply.

HOW IT WORKS 1. Choose your new smartphone. (Tax due at time of sale.) 2. Choose your installment and AT&T wireless plans.1 (The retail price of your new smartphone is divided into installment payments and added to your wireless bill.)

AT&T Next Every Year Pay 24 installment payments to fulfill the agreement. Upgrade every year.2

AT&T Next

Pay 30 installment payments to fulfill the agreement. Upgrade every two years.2

The Los Gatos Rotary: Crab Feed on Saturday, January 26 Because of the generosity of our local businesses who sponsor the event, as well as the many auction items given by our wonderful Rotarians, The Los Gatos Rotary is so pleased and grateful to have given out - so far - over $100,000 to local and international charities - that also includes scholarship money and various opportunities. It is so exciting to give out those checks. We are proud to also serve monthly by feeding the local homeless and do many acts of service with our local vendors, like SV Pet Project. And our work with international organizations like Rise Against Hunger. The event was billed as GOOD FOOD, GOOD COMPANY ... FOR A GOOD CAUSE. Absolutely!

3. Make an optional down payment at the time of purchase to lower your installment payments. If you cancel your wireless service plan, your remaining installment balance becomes due. 2 Upgrade eligible once 50% of device cost is paid on AT&T Next Every Year and 80% with AT&T Next. Requires trade-in of financed smartphone or one of the same make/model in fully functional/good physical condition. 1

888-598-1837

AT&T Business Customers: Please contact your AT&T sales representative for more information or call 866.9att.b2b (866.928.8222). AT&T NEXT OR AT&T NEXT EVERY YEAR: Credit approval required. For smartphones only. Tax on sales price due at sale. Requires 0% APR monthly installment agreement and eligible service. Divides sales price into monthly installments. AT&T Next: 30-month agreement with trade-in to upgrade when 80% of sales price is paid off. AT&T Next Every Year: 24-month agreement with trade-in to upgrade when 50% of sales price is paid off. $0 down: Requires well-qualified credit. Limit as low as 2 smartphones at $0 down. Down payment: May be required and depends on a variety of factors. Down payment if required will be either 30% of sales price or a dollar amount ranging from currently $0 to $600 (amount subject to change, and may be higher). You may choose to pay more upfront. Remainder of sales price is divided into 30 or 24 monthly installments. Service: Eligible postpaid voice and data service (minimum $45 per month after AutoPay and Paperless billing discount for new customers. Pay $55 per month until discount starts within 2 bills. Existing customers can add to eligible current plans which may be less) is required and extra. If service is canceled, remaining installment agreement balance is due. Examples: $749.99 sales price on AT&T Next (30-month) with $0 down is $25 per month, with $225 down (30%) is $17.50 per month, or with $600 down is $5 per month. On AT&T Next Every Year (24-month) with $0 down is $31.25 per month, with $225 down (30%) is $21.88 per month, or with $600 down is $6.25 per month. Activation or upgrade fee: Up to $45/line. Waiver of fee subject to change. Restocking Fee: Up to $45. Limits: Purchase limit applies. Eligibility,device, line and financing limits & other restr’s apply. Upgrade with eligible trade-in: Requires payment of percentage of sales price (50% or 80%), account in good standing, trade-in of financed device (or one of the same make and model) in good physical and fully functional condition through the AT&T Next or AT&T Next Every Year trade-in program (excludes AT&T trade-in program where you receive an instant credit or AT&T promotion card), and purchase of new eligible smartphone with qualified wireless service. After upgrade, unbilled installments are waived. See att.com/next and your Retail Installment Agreement for full details. GENERAL WIRELESS SERVICE: Subject to wireless customer agreement (att.com/wca). Services are not for resale. Deposit: May be required. Limits: Purchase and line limits apply. Prices vary by location. Credit approval, fees, monthly and other charges, usage, eligibility and other restrictions per line may apply. See att.com/additional charges for more details on other charges. Pricing and terms are subject to change and may be modified or terminated at any time without notice. Coverage and service are not available everywhere. You get an off -net (roaming) usage allowance for each service. If you exceed the allowance, your services may be restricted or terminated. Other restrictions apply and may result in service termination. For info on AT&T network management policies see att.com/broadbandinfo. © 2018 AT&T Intellectual Property. All rights reserved. Owners of all marks retain their rights. RTP SF T 0218 5181 D-Sa

Your Home Owners Insurance Is Not Complete A Home Warranty Is the Perfect Complement to Your Home Owners Insurance. Home appliances and systems break down, that’s when you need a home warranty from American Residential Warranty to help with the repair or replacement cost.

LIMITED TIME OF FER:

20

$

Amy Potts, volunteer extraordinaire and next Vice President with Martin Fishman MD, next President Los Gatos Rotary, Sponsor/Volunteer for annual Guatemala cataract surgery trip

OFF *

All our plans can be tailored to fit your needs. ARW’s Most Popular Plans: Platinum Premier Our best, most popular and comprehensive warranty plan that covers home appliances, air conditioning, plumbing and more.

$54.99 per month

The Ultimate Electronics Protection Covers your new and used electronics, from laptops to TVs and Tablets plus more. No proof of purchase required... Ever!

$24.99 per month

Kitchen Plus Covers all your major kitchen appliances, electrical and water heater.

$29.99 per month 3-in-1 Bundle Stay worry-free knowing your home is pro-

tected all-around, our bundle plan includes 3 of our best coverages in one bundle plan: Platinum Premier, Deluxe Advantage (extends coverages) and The Ultimate Electronics Protection. Promotional Price:

$89.99 per month

CALL NOW: 855-901-7381 One-Time Discount

*

Y 11 Z


City Notes

Coming Soon! A New ‘Digital Front Door’ to the City - Our new City website a new ‘digital front door’ - is now in the beta testing phase, the final weeks when we gather feedback from the community before we go live. We want to hear from you! Please take our new customer-centric, service-focused website for a test drive, then let us know what you think by taking a brief survey (http://bit.ly/2MQ2yyH) by March 1. Your feedback is invaluable and will help us continue improving the website. Feel free to share this information widely with your networks. For more information, contact Rosario Neaves, City Manager’s Director of Communications, at rosario.neaves@ sanjoseca.gov. E-Scooters: New Regulation Reigns in Riders - A new permitting program for shared micro-mobility devices, such as e-scooters, took off this week. The Department of Transportation (DOT) established the program following 10 months of research, discussions with the public and micro-mobility companies, approval from City Council, outreach to other cities. A corresponding webpage, www.sanjoseca,gov/micro-mobility, provides general information and safety tips for device users and the public. The page also links to a section for vendors, where the steps required to obtain a permit are clearly defined and applicants can find links to the micro-mobility ordinance, administrative regulations, and other relevant documents.in addition to the new online resources, shared e-scooter users can also expect to see two new eye-catching flyers that feature safety and etiquette tips, attached to the devices over the next several weeks. To learn more about applying for a permit, visit the website above orcontact micro.mobility@sanjoseca.gov. For general information inquiries, contact Colin Heyne, DOT Public Information Manager at colin.heyne@sanjoseca.gov. Protect your family from fires and hazards- Smoke detectors can more than double you chances of surviving a fire in your home, and carbon monoxide alarms are proven to save lives. “Home Safety: Protect your family from fires and hazards,” is a new brochure produced By the Code Enforcement Division that explains the requirements and proper placement for these alarms, as well as information on avoiding other home hazards in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Enforcement inspectors are sharing the new handout in the community. The brochure can be downloaded at www.sanjoseca.gov/codeenforcementhandouts. For more information, contact Rachel Roberts, Acting code enforcement, Deputy Director, at 408-535-7719.

Save the Date! Spring Wine Walk Saturday, May 4 Y 12 Z


Night Out We're adding to our 2018-19 season with more cabaret nights and a special theater event at the Coupa Cafe at Stanford's Golf Course! Emmet Cohen Trio with Sheila Jordan

Emmet Cohen Trio with Tootie Heath

Fri, Apr 12 at 7:00 PM Sat, Apr 13 at 9:00 PM Bing Studio

Fri, Apr 12 at 9:00 PM Sat, Apr 13 at 7:00 PM Bing Studio

Comedy Night Adam CaytonHolland

Two Pints Abbey Theater on Tour

Sat, May 4 at 7:00 PM & 9:00 PM Bing Studio

Wed-Sat, May 15-18 Coupa Cafe at the Stanford Golf Course

Bing Fling The History of Frost

Comedy Night Gina Brillon

Sat, May 11 at 8:00 PM Bing Concert Hall

Fri, Jun 7 at 7:00 PM & 9:00 PM Bing Studio

Donny McCaslin Sat, Jun 8 at 7:00 PM & 9:00 PM Bing Studio

Y 13 Z

https://live.stanford.edu


Dear neighbors,

District 2 News

Together, we have accomplished a lot in the two years that I have been in office. I am fiercely committed to advocating for a better, more equitable San José for all our residents each and every day. Let’s reflect on some of our most monumental victories in 2018: • 52 grants to community organizations that benefit D2 residents • 40 memoranda, including my policy proposals, stances on crucial issues & other recommendations • 40 D2-hosted meetings & events to educate, unite & engage the community • 24 clean up events, beautification days & #D2CleanStreets Initiative projects • 15 successful initiatives completed in our community, thanks to our strong partnership with our residents & other City departments • 10 commendations, invocations & proclamations in which I invited influential community members to present at City Council meetings • 5 approved Budget Documents that secured money for District 2 community programs & capital improvements • 1 more remarkably productive year in the books! I take pride in being able to use my platforms -- including my website, Facebook, Twitter, Nextdoor, and this monthly newsletter -- to share with you both our office and community’s hard-earned successes. With every post I publish, it is my goal to provide transparency and invite you to see behind the scenes of everything my team and I do. From community events that bring people together to neighborhood discussions that move policies forward, thank you for being part of what makes District 2 a safe and thriving community. I appreciate you taking time out of your day to read about our work in our District, San José, and beyond. You can find more details, photos, and resources for our efforts and accomplishments -- including my 2017 year in review -- on my website in my newsletter archive at http://www.sanjoseca.gov/index.aspx?NID=5389. I have big plans for 2019, including strengthening community outreach and establishing new projects for my #D2CleanStreets Initiative, my ongoing multi-faceted approach to combating the trash and blight plaguing our streets. I hope you will join me in moving our City forward as we work together to make our neighborhoods a more inclusive place for people like you who call San José home. In community, Sergio Jimenez, San Jose Councilmember District 2

Y 14 Z


Shark Bite Nearly 1,500 New San Jose Sharks Library Cards Are Issued in the First 72 Hours

San José Public Library and San Jose Sharks partner to introduce firstever Sharks library card San José, Calif., February 7, 2019 – The San José Public Library (SJPL) and the San Jose Sharks have partnered to introduce the first-ever San Jose Sharks library card. The library card was made available to the public on Monday, Feb. 4, and within the first 72-hours of its release, a total of 1,458 new cards were issued to community members. As of today, there are 533,299 SJPL members. This limited edition card was designed to include the Sharks’ current Stealth color scheme and theme, and will be available while supplies last at all of SJPL’s 24-locations. The public is invited to pick up a FREE Sharks card by becoming a member of their San José Public Library, or replacing their current card with the new design. To celebrate the partnership, SJPL hosted a press conference on

Friday, Feb. 1 at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library where the new library card was unveiled. City Librarian, Jill Bourne, was joined by Mayor Sam Liccardo, President of Sharks Sports and Entertainment, John Tortora, President of the Library Foundation, Jason Papier, and over 100 community members. “The San Jose Sharks are thrilled to partner with the San José Public Library on the Stealth Sharks library card,” said Sharks President John Tortora. “It’s our hope that all Sharks fans – young and old – will take advantage of the opportunity to show that they are a proud member of Sharks Territory and to share the gift of reading with their family members and friends.” In addition to the new Sharks library card, SJPL will give fans an opportunity to win autographed hockey pucks donated by the Sharks, and a variety of events will be presented by the Sharks at several branch libraries, starting this

summer. Partnering with organizations such as the San Jose Sharks allows the San José Public Library to further boost awareness, connect and engage with community members to ensure library programs, services and resources are being accessed by people of all ages and backgrounds. “These past few years, library staff has been working rigorously to implement a number of significant changes to our services, from expanding hours to introducing fine forgiveness programs, and most recently, eliminating fines on all youth materials,” says City Librarian, Jill Bourne. She adds, “One of our goals this year is to increase the number of library cardholders in our city, with the hope of one day having every resident become an active user of their library.” For more information and to become a member of the San José Public Library, visit: sjpl.org/ sjsharks

Y 15 Z

All Star Dental Office Mohsena Ahmad D.D.S., FICOI, DICOI Family, Cosmetic & Implant Dentistry

3540 Union Ave. San Jose, CA 95124

Telephone: (408) 275 - 0768 Fax: (408) 275 - 0838 dentist@allstardentaloffice.com

A Healthy 2019


Profile for South Valley Review

South Valley Review February 11 19  

South Valley Review February 11 19