Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 12

August 31, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you. Library Graduation Ceremony

Page # 4 “Three Open Doors” Exhibition - Andy Nugyen

Page # 9 Shop With a Cop

Page # 11

Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance Recap A very Proud Graduating Class of 2017

More than 120,000 adults in San Jose do not have a high school diploma or GED. Half of these adults have less than a 9th grade education. You can help improve their

lives, literacy skills, and employment opportunities by volunteering as a tutor in the Partners in Reading adult literacy program of the San Jose Public Library. Share the

gift of reading, writing, and critical thinking with another adult.

Continued on Page 10 Y1Z

SVR Home Delivers Papers To These ZIP CODES 95119 95123 95124 95125 95032 95008 *Coming Soon* 95037 + 95051


When...Where SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 219 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less.

A Benefit for the Berkeley Food & Housing Project Join us for a spectacular fashion show on Fourth Street! We are so excited to introduce this new event where clothing and accessory shops on Fourth Street get a chance to show you their hottest fall and winter looks. Models will strut a 75-foot catwalk down the middle of Fourth Street beginning at 5PM and 7PM, each show kicking off with fanciful Venetian masks and costumes from Castle in the Air.    After each show, one-hour popup sales take place in participating shops. All hair, make-up, and accessories will be created by Fourth Street talent. Donated gift bags will be raffled off prior to show with the proceeds going to the Berkeley Food & Housing Project.  Beer and wine, food booths, and a DJ round out this exciting evening event on Fourth Street.

Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Y2Z


WWW.MYACTIONSPOT.COM

OUR SEPTEMBER EVENTS September 20, 2017 - Ventrock Ventures: Fireside Chat with Steve Goldberg. Do you have a great idea? Do you want to be an entrepreneur? What it takes to get funded? What investors are looking for? If you are looking for answers to your questions, please come and join us! September 23, 2017 - Integrating With Social ABIs - Slack, Twitter & Facebook. This workshop is for women, trans and nonbinary folks only! Join Bear Douglas for a 3 hour interactive workshop to learn how to incorporate Twitter, Facebook and Slack into your hackathon project. September 29, 2017 - Friday Nights @ ACTIONSPOT. Join us Friday Night for drinks, food, and meet new friends, expand your network, and connect with entrepreneurs and professionals from around Silicon Valley. This open-house event is all about unwinding at the end of your week and making great connections along the way.


Making A Difference Andy Nugyen’s Speech at the Reception of “Three Open Doors” Exhibition

our works, I am proud to work with Ms. Jenny Do, Photographer Duc Le and Photographer KimLien Dang in this event to fund raise for abused and neglected children in Vietnam. The funds will directly benefit to the Friends of Hue Foundation, which houses a Children Shelter and supports many kids and families facing hardship in Hue City. They take in kids that face trafficking or serious abuse from the community and transform them into young leaders. Please sponsors a child or a meal and make a difference. Please connect with Jenny if you wish to learn more about the organization. Last but not least, I would like to express my deep gratitude and appreciation to those who support our exhibitions. Vice Mayor Magdalena Carrasco and Andy Thank you, Vice Nguyen “Welcome to our “Three Open Doors” Exhibition. I am Andy Nguyen, a senior at San Jose State University majoring in Art and Photography. It’s an honor for me to take part in this exhibition. My passion is to create photographs that reflect and communicate the human spirit by capturing the ordinary moments in the city life or in nature, both in Vietnam and America. In this exhibition, I share photos showing the beauty of Vietnam, Nature, and spirit of people in Santa Clara County. Beside showcasing

Mayor City of San Jose Magdalena Carrasco, the Office of Cultural Affairs of San Jose City, Ms. Thuy Viviane Phan, Keith Nguyen, Ms. Dan Thanh, Mr. Trong Khoi, Victoria Thuy Vi and many gave us a hand. It is an honor to all of us that the Assemblyman Kansen Chu and Mrs. Daisy Chu, Assemblyman Ash Kalra, Mayor of Cupertino Savita Vaidhyanathan, Councilman Tam Nguyen and Councilman Jones Chappie and other leaders in our community have attend our reception. Also many thanks to those who support my work. Please consider to purchase the photo showcased here. Proceeds will go to benefit the Children Shelter of Friends of Hue. Because of you, I will continue my passion in photography and help others. My goal is to play a small part in further generating resources to help special needs children around the world. All children need our love and support. Thank you in advance for the gift of sharing my work and being part of this humanitarian effort. Please enjoy the reception and support the children through our photography sale today.” The “Three Open Doors” photography exhibition opened its doors at the Trianon Theatre Art Gallery

Y4Z

on Friday August 25, 2017. It will run through Friday, September 22, 2017 until 12:30pm. This event will directly benefit children in Vietnam by providing resources for their education through the Friends of Hue Foundation.

Photographers featured are DucTe Le, KimLien Dang, and Andy Nguyen. The Trianon Theater Art Gallery is located at 72 North 5th Street, San Jose, CA, 95112. For more information visit http://www. friendsofhue.org/

Moreno Hauling Same day Clean Up & Go Trash Hauling

Residential/Commercial Trash Removal, Hauling, Garage, Hoarder Cleanouts, Home/Rentals Clean-ups, YARD SERVICE, Shed/Deck Removal. Fire safety! Moving Assistance In/Out. Senior/Military Discounts

(408) 729-0630

7 DAYS – RAIN OR SHINE!

We Take Everything! We Do All The Loading!


D2 News Trash Punx: Beautify San Jose

Music Lessons Only $15 per lesson!!

Trash Punx aims to rally the community to help clean up trash along Monterey Road. Sign up to help target and clean this area invaded by litter. Park inside the Monterey Plaza parking lot and make sure to wear closedtoed shoes, bring lots of water, sunscreen, sunglasses, smiles, and friends! Don’t forget to follow

Trash Punx on Facebook! This event will be held on Saturday, September 2 from 9 AM to 11 PM at 5510 Monterey Rd, Sn Jose, CA 95138. Look for the Raiders Tent on the Grass along Monterey Road. For tickets visit http://www. thetrashpunx.org/events.

City Dance San Jose On September 7, 2017 dancers of all abilities are invited to enjoy a complete evening downtown of socializing, music and dancing to a variety of music genres. The events begin each week as food trucks, beer garden and dance floor open at 5:30 p.m.

Lessons from professional instructors teaching dance steps for that night’s theme are at 6 p.m. and live music gets underway at 7 p.m. for open dancing. Join us at the Plaza de Cesar Chavez for a night of movement and fun. Admission is free for all ages.

Come have a conversation with your Councilmember! September 30, 2017 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM Study Room A Santa Teresa Library 290 International Circle San Jose, CA 95119

A time where we get to meet and talk, face-to-face, IN our community. Anyone in D2 is welcome! Sergio Jimenez, your District 2 council member, welcomes you to ask questions, share concerns or simply have a conversation.

Y5Z

Call (408)268-6703 dmusic123@aol.com • Piano • Guitar • Drums • Bass • Flute


News Cambrian Festival

The 12th Annual District 9 Cambrian Festival was Sunday, August 27th at the Camden Community Center.

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Rainbow Funding and Realty www.rainbowfunding.com

8 Bedroom 6 Bath Magnificent newly refurbished home with hardwood floor and lots of natural lighting. $1,234, 492

More than 35 years of experience. Call the office that knows where the deals are.

1 (800) 782 - LOAN Y7Z


Heritage Preservation Tour The Wolfe & Higgins Home tour showcases just a few of the many historic structures that call San Jose home. This tour highlights the importance of historic preservation to a community by showing how much it adds to the city’s character and charm. This is why our organization continues to advocate to preserve our architectural heritage. - Brian, Executive Director

Si l i c on Va l l e y Prop e r t y Manage me nt Group 53 Ye ars of C ombined Prop er ty Management & O wnership Exp er ience Sp ecializing in Palo Alto & Sur rounding C ommunities 8 sq.ince 199ey E , S n on s or

SVPMG provides exceptional commercial and residential property management services with a unique advantage - There are no property managers with more knowledge or more experience to keep your risk as low as feasible and your return on investment as high as possible.

on rs Att rtie obent Propel Estatep An Eyeay! R a d e d e e i

o e Davd Investlmifornia Red To K David T

n ll wne sed Ca ositio y - Ca sO P n rt • Ha A Lice Better Prope • Is ne is tment O es • No ur Inv Yo

We offer 6 guarantees. Contact to learn more! 1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6.

siliconvalleypropertymanagementgoup.com

FEE GUARANTEE RESPONSE GUARANTEE TRANSPARENCY GUARANTEE SERVICE GUARANTEE PAYMENT GUARANTEE SATISFACTION GUARANTEE

408.838.5113

david@svpmg.net

We’re Keeping Your Rental Property... Safe. Secure. Profitable. So you don’t have to. And with a real estate attorney and a Silicon Valley real estate developer on staff to guide and protect you and your property, we maximize your ROI (return on investment).

Y8Z


Community Shop With A Cop

On Saturday, Aug. 26th , the Shop with a Cop Foundation of Silicon Valley hosted it’s “Fiesta with a Purpose” fundraiser at the Scottish Rite Center, San Jose.  The Foundation was celebrating  10th years of giving back to the community and

supporting education programs  for underserved youth. The foundation was recognized by local elected officials who presented the Executive Dir. with commendations from  the Co. Board of supervisors and a  CA State Assembly resolution for their volunteer  work in the community   on the behalf of  law enforcement. Over 400 guests enjoyed, premium tequila tastings,dancing to live salsa music margaritas and a delicious Mexican buffet.The

Jorge Sanchez and Proud Mom

foundation recognized their corp. sponsors like Google, Chevron, Knight Foundation, Target and Bank of America. Honoree of the evening and receiving  the Community Impact Award  was Former SF 49er, Dennis Brown for his involvement with the foundation and youth.  Over $40,00 was raised from the silent and live auction and corp. sponsorship.  The mission of the Shop with the  Cop Foundation is dedicated to enhancing the lives of under-served youth

Jorge Sanchez award of thanks

and families in the community with an emphasis in the areas of education, character development, and rebuilding trust between the community and the police.  For more information

on how you can support the Shop with a Cop Foundation of Silicon Valley, you may go to their website at , www. shopwithacopsv.org or by calling (669) 2262663. Shop with Cop is a registered 501 C -3.  

Denis Brown and Darrell Cortez

Place Your Ad Here! Email the South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y9Z


One Step Closer Library Graduation Ceremony

“It’s amazing to see adults in San José succeed through our Career Online High School program,” said Jill Bourne, City Librarian for the San José Public Library. “The impact this program has made to the students and their families is one that we know will open so many doors. We’re excited to have our staff work closely with the students and mentor them through the process.”

“We cannot under estimate the value of a high school diploma. It may mean an extra $200,000 in lifetime earnings, but it also leads to a sense of personal achievement and the desire to do more like go to college or run a business” - Mayor Liccardo

Y 10 Z


Need for Speed Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance Presented by Rolex Recap 2017 Charitable Donations topped $1.6 Million

Above: 1929 Mercedes-Benz S Barker Tourer Named Best of Show at the 67th Pebble Beach Councours d’Elegance

t n e m e v o r Home Imp Painting & Handyman

Free Estimates (408) 646 - 8907 • • • • • •

Y 11 Z

Dry Rot Wood Repairs Carpentry & Stucco Fence Repairs Sheet Rock & Texture Painting & Match Touch-ups 25 Years Experience


Valley Extra Our Corner of The Valley By Scott Taper

A friend once said, when Lockheed was in a severe downturn (during an extended period of peace), “What we need is a good old-fashioned enemy”. It surprised me to him say it, but it didn’t surprise me that it was true. I was well aware of Dwight Eisenhower’s warning when he left office: “Beware the military-industrial complex!”. Other leaders of foreign governments have also acknowledged that the United States “needs a war every four years to grow its economy”. And it certainly does appear that way. Since WWII, when the US emerged virtually unscathed by the conflict during the war, with all of its factories still working and the dollar was stable, the economy of the US has thrived during and immediately after wartime. Now we are engaged in several wars. The War in Afghanistan

and Iraq solidified George Bush’s presidential second term as he proclaimed “You don’t change horse’s…”. Now besides fighting those two wars, we are now engaged in fighting terrorism. The war on Terrorism has spawned new efforts in cyber warfare to prevent the spread of misinformation and radicalization of people throughout the world, but especially here in the US. The tech industry has been buoyed by such an infusion of investment. Lastly, we have experienced a significant increase in xenophobia, fear of strangers and immigrants, and racism that has pushed the sales of guns to a new level of ridiculousness, aided by the propaganda by the NRA that has gone far beyond protection of the right to bear arms. In fact, the NRA has even suggested war against the US government. The US has been turned against itself. For instance, our president has

said “why hasn’t any tried to remove confederate monuments before”. Well, Mr. President, I offer the following essay penned by W.E.B. DuBois in 1928 regarding monuments to Robert E. Lee: “Each year on the 19th of January there is renewed effort to canonize Robert E. Lee, the greatest confederate general. His personal comeliness, his aristocratic birth and his military prowess all call for the verdict of greatness and genius. But one thing–one terrible fact–militates against this and that is the inescapable truth that Robert E. Lee led a bloody war to perpetuate slavery. Copperheads like the New York Times may magisterially declare: “of course, he never fought for slavery.” Well, for what did he fight? State rights? Nonsense. The South cared only for State Rights as a weapon to defend slavery. If nationalism had been a stronger defense of the slave system than particularism, the South would have been as nationalistic in 1861 as it had been in 1812. No. People do not go to war for abstract theories of government. They fight

Y 13 Z

Scott Taper is a biweekly contributor who consults in the field of commercialization and licensing of patented technologies/consumer products. Send inquiries to staper@scitechcal.com with subject line ”Our Corner of the Valley” for property and privilege and that was what Virginia fought for in the Civil War. And Lee followed Virginia. He followed Virginia not because he particularly loved slavery (although he certainly did not hate it), but because he did not have the moral courage to stand against his family and his clan. Lee hesitated and hung his head in shame because he was asked to lead armies against human progress and Christian decency and did not dare refuse. He surrendered not to Grant, but to Negro Emancipation. Today we can best perpetuate his memory and his nobler traits not by falsifying his moral debacle, but by explaining it to the young white south. What Lee did in 1861, other Lees are doing in 1928. They lack the moral courage to stand up for justice to the Negro because of the overwhelming public opinion of their social environment. Their fathers in the past have condoned lynching and mob violence, just as today they acquiesce in the disfranchisement of educated and worthy

black citizens, provide wretchedly inadequate public schools for Negro children and endorse a public treatment of sickness, poverty and crime which disgraces civilization. It is the punishment of the South that its Robert Lees and Jefferson Davises will always be tall, handsome and wellborn. That their courage will be physical and not moral. That their leadership will be weak compliance with public opinion and never costly and unswerving revolt for justice and right. it is ridiculous to seek to excuse Robert Lee as the most formidable agency this nation ever raised to make 4 million human beings goods instead of men. Either he knew what slavery meant when he helped maim and murder thousands in its defense, or he did not. If he did not he was a fool. If he did, Robert Lee was a traitor and a rebel–not indeed to his country, but to humanity and humanity’s God.” Let’s stop lining the pockets of corporations with blood money.


San Jose Jazz

The Whispers, Man Stage

Alan Harris Quartet At Jade Leaf Lounge

Awarded Best Mortgage Broker 2016

Rainbow Funding & Realty • 1% Down * • Conventional Financing 30 year, 20 year, & 10 year • Reverse Mortgage • Cash out refinance • FHA, VA, USDA, ARM • Investments, multi-unit loans

Main Stage in Plaza de Cesar Chavez

(800) 782 - LOAN www.rainbowfunding.com Conditions apply

Call today!

Jazz by 5 at the Hammer Theatre

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215

Y 14 Z


San Jose Jazz Ask about our 3.5% Total Commission!!! Kids are back to school and it is a great time to list your home!!!

SJZ Boombox Stage

Crowd Groovin’

Tom Merigan Realtor/Altas Realty

Office: (408) 559 - 1069 Cell: (408) 329 - 3150 Email: tmerigan@yahoo.com BRE# 01319061

Tom is your 95123 Area Specialist!!

Alan Harris Quartet at Jade leaf Lounge

Y 15 Z


South Valley Review August 31 17  
South Valley Review August 31 17