Page 1

South Valley Review

VOL. 1, NO. 2

April 7, 2017

Better at knowing what matters to you.

27th Annual Pacific Coast Dream Machines

Page 3 Logan Johnson’s Move to South Florida

Page 4 Story Time: Lived To Write About It By Terry Denevan

Page 7 Local Photography

Page 9 Ready. Set. GO! Pacific Coast Dream Machines It’s quite simply the “Coolest Show on Earth”. This year’s spectacular 27th annual show will be held on Sunday, April 30, a one-day mega-show, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. at Half Moon Bay Airport, located in the picturesque seaside town of Half Moon Bay, CA about 20 miles south of San Francisco. Get ready for a world of wonder at the Pacific Coast Dream Machines Show, a uniquely spectacular showcase of motorized mechanical marvels from throughout the 20th and 21st centuries.

Y1Z

Page 11 National Dance Week at Santana Row


When... Where Symphony Silicon Valley Presents Program Number Six of 2016-2017 Season

SVR South Valley Review 2059 Camden Avenue Suite 299 San Jose, CA, 95124 (408) 898 - 7534 Minority Owned Business President: Richard Pugh Richard@southvalleyreview.com Publisher: Brigitte Jones Brigitte@southvalleyreview.com Executive Editor: Sonya Ruffin Editor@southvalleyreview.com Operations/Accounting: Dorothy Pugh Accounting@southvalleyreview.com Graphic Design Director: Amanda Faris Graphics@southvalleyreview.com Assistant to Publisher: Kal-el R. Pugh Editor at Large: Pearl Baeni

SVR welcomes letters to the Editor Please limit content to 200 words or less. Submissions are subject to scrutiny for content and grammar but all effort will be made to retain intended meaning of such letters. Anonymous letters will not be printed. Articles so published reflect the views of the authors - not necessarily those of South Valley Review. All submissions become the property of B & R Media Group, Inc. and cannot be acknowledged.

Symphony Silicon Valley presents Bach & Mahler Saturday May 6 at 8pm and Sunday May 7 at 2:30pm at The California Theater 45 So. First Street in downtown San Jose Mahler’s Fifth is an epic journey that begins with a funeral march, endures turmoil, dances with abandon, confesses deep love, and ends finally in glory. It is a great testament to adversity surmounted, expressed in luxuriant orchestral colors and unforgettable melodies. The stage is set with an orchestral version of Bach’s Chaconne (originally for solo violin), in which a brief musical idea undergoes a series of transformations to become a statement of monumental proportion. Conductor Tatsuya Shimono Born in Kagoshima in 1969, Tatsuya Shimono cemented his international reputation as a conductor by winning First Prize at the 47th Besançon International Competition

* Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 5

Tatsuya Shimono Photo courtesy of Symphony Silicon Valley

in 2001. Since then he has guest conducted major orchestras in Japan and abroad. He received great acclaim for his debuts in subscription concerts with the Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia and the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra in 2009, and then in March 2010, made his debut with the Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra.

About Symphony Silicon Valley Founded in 2002, Symphony Silicon Valley has progressed from daring idea to exciting reality, rapidly becoming the greater South Bay’s premiere orchestra and a notable community success story. The Symphony’s artists, nationally recruited, locally

A Help Button Should Go Where You Go! To be truly independent your personal emergency device needs to work on the go. Traditional Help Buttons

At Home In the Car On a Walk

The Program * J.S. Bach: Partita No.2 in D minor, BWV 1004: Chaconne.    Arrangement for orchestra by Hideo Saito

Tickets: $45-$90 408.286.2600 www.symphonysiliconvalley.org

resident, with an average performance tenure in San Jose of over 20 years, are recognized as among the best in the greater Bay Area. Led by an exciting roster of distinguished guest conductors on the European model, the Symphony is an anchor tenant of San Jose’s magnificently restored downtown California Theatre, one of Northern California’s most outstanding music halls. There, audiences and critics alike greet its concerts with enthusiasm.

On Vacation At the Park Shopping Stop paying for a help button that ONLY works at home!

Call today and set yourself FREE!

1-888-358-6120 $

29lu95 e Va

No Contracts, No Hidden Fees, No Risk Nationwide GPS Location Detection 24/7/365 Emergency Response Center

Order Now & Receive a FREE Lockbox!

Place your door key in this box so that emergency FDA Registered personnel can get help to you even faster.

Optional Fall Button™

*Service availability and access/coverage on the AT&T network is not available everywhere and at all times. Fall Button™ does not detect 100% of falls. If able, users should always push their help button when they need assistance. Current GPS location may not always be available in every situation. MobileHelp is a registered trademark and Fall Button is a trademark of MobileHelp. Patented technology. MobileHelp is a FDA registered Medical Device Manufacturer.

Y2Z


Sports Brief Logan Johnson’s Move to South Florida

Boyd’s Tree Service

“We’re in the moving About the Author: Nihal H. Mareedu Landscaping Maintenance Since 1984 process now,” Age: 11 Years www.Boydstreeservice.com said Senior St. Grade: 5th Grade Francis point School: Delaine Eastin Elementary, Union City guard Logan Michael W. Boyd – Owner Why do you like to write about sports: “I feel as if I am with the Johnson. Fully Insured PL & PD and Worker’s Compensation players and playing the game with them when I write articles “It’s official.” Second Generation Experience about sports and sports personalities. It also encourages me to Contractor License #665121 The Johnsons play sports”. are planning to move to Florida feel” in the Sunshine too. “It’s sad because this summer State. There, Logan you’re with them where Logan’s older Structural Pruning hopes to find a school every day for 200 brother Tyler plays Tree trimming similar to St. Francis. “St. days and you end up not shooting guard for the Stump removal Francis not only has a graduating with them.” Miami Heat. great basketball Hope still lies ahead Last season, in the team, but is a school in Florida, though, where West Catholic Athletic where students can Logan will be destined to High School Basketball develop academic skills,” play in League, Logan he says. “And that’s the NBA. “I am excited boydstslm@gmail.com finished his junior what matters.” because it’s a new journey year as a co-player of the “The hardest part and it feels as if your life year and made it to the was telling Mike,” the has started Northern California senior said. Mike Motil, a over. We never know Division II WCAL player of what’s going championship where St. the year and one of his to happen Francis fell in overtime to coaches helped Logan and tomorrow. Moreau Catholic. This his siblings in their early Still, we year, his senior season stages. always have will be much different. Saying goodbye will be to keep “We’re worried about arduous because they’ve our heads Gabe’s future,” Logan known each other for up and hope says. The Johnsons want Best about 8 years. for the best.” Gabe, his • 1% Down * Saying goodbye to his Mortgage younger brother, to • Conventional Financing friends will be difficult get more of a “basketball

408-371-5040

Rainbow Funding & Realty Broker 2016

• • • •

30 year, 20 year, & 10 year Reverse Mortgage Cash out refinance FHA, VA, USDA, ARM Investments, multi-unit loans

www.rainbowfunding.com

(800) 782 - LOAN Conditions apply

Y3Z

Call today!

NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215


Story Time Lived to Write About It By Terry Denevan Whenever I see a eucalyptus tree, I think back to my happy childhood summers in Long Beach, California. Atlantic Avenue, with two northbound and two southbound lanes, was a block away from our home. A stately grove of mature eucalyptus, fifty feet in height, lined the top of the fifteen-foot bluff paralleling the roadway. Those trees, unlike some eucalyptus, had smooth white trunks. Their gray slender leaves were five or six inches long. Seed pods, abundant and distinctive, littered the ground. My brother Dave and I, along

with neighborhood acquaintances, often sought out challenging thrills. One summer, in the mid-1950s, Dave suggested that we and neighbor Slim McCracket, climb a massive eucalyptus and attach a rope so that we might leap off the bluff and swing over Atlantic Avenue. At the time there wasn’t a second thought about wrapping our arms and legs around a tree and heading for the sky. A possibility of falling never entered our minds. The unwritten rule was hold on tight. Slim, a Morgan Hill $799,495 Hayward $519,000 Pleasanton $295,000 daredevil-of-akid, volunteered to climb the tree and attach the rope. Dave provided a 4 bed 3 bath 4 bed 2 bath 3 bed 2 bath 1900 sq feet 1800 sq feet 1,296 sq feet foot hold with interlaced More than 35 years of experience. fingers and I lent my Call the office that knows where the deals are. shoulder for Slim to start www.rainbowfunding.com his assent. The smooth-sided tree had few branches in its NMLS 340458 BRE 206510215 lower reaches,

Rainbow Funding and Realty

1 (800) 782 - LOAN

Y4Z

but with ease, the kid scrambled upward like Tarzan. Eventually he stopped and then looked down. “A little higher!” Dave yelled. Slim, a one-time Boy Scout never progressed beyond Tenderfoot, but he so securely tied the rope that an Eagle Scout would have given his approval. High in the eucalyptus, Slim whooped, “Up here, the cars look small!” Then, our friend put his face to the limb that held him, and added, “I think I’m going to stay up here for a while and take a nap.” He closed his eyes and gave a fake snore. With a passing glance and a perfunctory pull, Slim gave the knotted-rope one last bit of inspection. In less than a minute he started his descent. Hugging the tree, he quickly shimmied down. At the ground-end of the rope, we looped it around a sixinch piece of wood securing it with several well tied knots. We now

Story Time Continued on Page 10


Valley Extra Our Corner of the Valley By Scott Taper CORRECTION: In my last article, my inaugural article, I wrote that June Riley, CEO and founder of VCTaskforce graduated from Boston University. It was Northeastern University. Also, the meetings in San Francisco take place in 4 Embarcadero, not 1 Embarcadero. Now on to new business. Back in 1980 Dr. William D. Bradford, a young assistant professor at Stanford Business School wrote a monogram, a book on one subject that explored the effects of the newly granted variable rate mortgages that could be offered by savings and loans and banks. That monogram was written by Dr. Bradford as part of a summer project he performed as Summer Scholar for the San Francisco office of the Federal Home Loan Bank Board. It was entitled

“Mortgage-Backed Bonds for Savings and Loan Associations: Management and Public Policy Issues” (Bradford, W. D., 1980). His findings were profoundly predictive of the later turmoil in the real estate housing markets slowdowns in 1989 and predicting housing market crash. In Dr. Bradford’s writings, there were predictions that that mortgaged backed bonds could be severely affected because of the use of variable rate mortgages to attract buyers into home markets when there were shortages of qualified buyers. He correctly predicted that abuse of variable rate mortgages would eventually lead to a catastrophic collapse of the real estate market in the late 1990s or early 2000s. I know these facts because he entrusted his only copy to me when I was preparing my capstone team marketing

paper for my MBA at Santa Clara University. I, unfortunately, never returned it to Dr. Bradford and later I found that it was indeed out of print. This brings me to my point, which is avoiding variable rate mortgages, when possible. They are great for some home buyers in an undervalued market with expected future growth. Past experience has proven that variable rate mortgages are abused instruments

Scott Taper VP, Business Development, VCTaskforce SciTech Commercialization and Licensing Consultants www.scitechcal.com and must be used cautiously and only in a rapidly growing real estate market. Today’s fixed interest rates are historically low, enabling very low payments for higher value properties. When you buy, think long term. NOTE: After not receiving tenure at Stanford, Dr. Bradford went on be associate Dean

of the Business School at University of Maryland and later Dean at the University of Washington, where he now enjoys the status of dean emeritus, still teaching and writing. Reference: Bradford, W. D., 1980, “MortgageBacked Bonds for Savings and Loan Associations: Management and Public Policy Issues”

Place Your Ad Here! Email the South Valley Review at advertising@southvalleyreview.com Promote Your business with Us! Y5Z


Reader’s Nook BEDTIME BOOK’S ADVENTURES MAKE GOING TO SLEEP EASY AND FUN Local Author’s New Book Sparks Children’s Imaginations

Many parents struggle with getting their children to sleep, but one method is always a good go-to: reading a story before bed. With so many children’s books out there, it can be tough to pick the best one to say goodnight with. Author Ursula Taylor makes this decision easy with her

new book, DreamO-Doodle, which is designed to help children activate their imaginations so they might experience more colorful and creative dreams, and a happier sleep. Ursula Taylor’s DreamO-Doodle helps children get excited about going to bed. Encouraging youngsters to explore the wonderful, imagine the impossible, and dive into fantasy, DreamO-Doodle creates a nighttime atmosphere that holds children’s interest while setting the perfect mood to ease into sleep. The book invites children to become explorers,

heroes, princesses, astronauts, and more, while encountering magical creatures, dinosaurs, robots, and a variety of other characters, before finally returning to the familiar faces of their loved ones. My 2yr old son loves this book, he loves picking out all the different animals, robots etc on each page & says the rhymes along with me. The books illustration is so colorful it keeps him engaged the whole time. Every night when he goes to bed I ask ‘what story do you want’ and his reply is always Dream o Doodle. - Pamela Maguire, Amazon Customer An enchanting book! The rhymes and images

Blossom Hill

Printing Company BHPrinting.com

(408) 264 - 7500

Blossom Hill Printing Company is all about creating exactly what you want, customized to fit your needs, at really low prices. We pride ourselves on our commitment to quality and the best service anywhere. We are a full service commercial print design & brokerage serving South Bay Area businesses for over 42 years.

Business Cards • Stationery • Folders Fliers • Catalogs • Mailing Pieces Product Sheets • Door Hangers Brochures • Forms • Labels Specialty Items • And More Y6Z

If you would like a signed copy, her next book

signing and reading is on 4/29/2017

@ 11am at Barnes and Noble, 5353 Almaden Expressway, San Jose, CA 95118 ursulataylor.author@gmail.com www.ursulataylorauthor.com

captivate the imagination of our daughter. Every page is a different dream, on themes such as magic, space, dinosaurs and cars, providing plenty of opportunity to explore a topic. The rhymes are fun and it is colorfully illustrated. I bought them for my daughter’s friends at her birthday party and they all loved them! - Paula Novio Mallon, Amazon Customer  We just love this book! (… ) My boys choose it out of the entire library. Thanks so much! - Kristen Wallace, Amazon Customer “(…)Roberts’ vivid illustrations provide engaging details without becoming too busy. Taylor’s choice of dream subjects covers many areas of perennial interest to children. (…) And the idea of sending children off to sleep with an upbeat

suggestion of the vast possibilities of the dream world is original and empowering (…). Most of the dreams give both boys and girls active roles, and the overall effect remains captivating and fun. A short, charming bedtime book for children that stresses the positive power of dreams”. - Kirkus Review Dream-O-Doodle by Ursula Taylor is available for order from most major online book retailers, including Barnes and Noble and Amazon. The eBook is available for Amazon Kindle, iTunes Bookstore, Chapters/ Indigo Kobo, Barnes and Noble’s Nook, and GooglePlay Ursula Taylor lives in San Jose, California with her family. This is her first book. She is currently working on more books for the younger audience.

Let’s Clean Those Gutters! Storm Preparation / Cleaning Front / Backyard Clean ups Shed / Deck Removal

7 Days (408) 849-3134


Local Photography Wish to contribute to the South Valley Review Photography Page in our next issue? Send an email with your photo of choice, your name, and the title of your photo for a chance to be featured! Space is limited! Send all submissions to graphics@southvalleyreview.com

Moreno Hauling

Same day Clean Up & Go Trash Hauling Residential/Commercial Trash Removal, Hauling, Garage, Hoarder Clean-outs, Home/Rentals Clean-ups, YARD SERVICE, Shed/Deck Removal. Fire safety! Moving Assistance In/Out. Senior/Military Discounts

(408) 729-0630

7 DAYS – RAIN OR SHINE!

We Take Everything! We Do All The Loading!

Morality By Amanda Faris

#USSRANCH Motor Through The Grill By Mike Afshari

Saturday Morning By Dimitri Miller Y7Z

Sadly Beautiful By Vicky Manibusan

A New Purr-spective By Amanda Faris


RESENTS P N IO T A D N U O F THE OMEGA

5K

E S O J N SA

L A U N 2ND AN

K 5 P I H S D 7 1 0 N 2 3 E 2 FRSAITURDAY, SEPTEMBER :00 AM 1 1 | K R A P E ALMADEN

@LAK

TILL

M O C . S N U R .OMEGA

WWW

0

ION $4 T A R T S I G E R END |


Ready. Set. GO! Spectator admission is $25 for adults (age 18-69), $15 for ages 11-17 and 70+, Free for kids age 10 and under. Tickets are available at the gate only. There is a separate $10 per vehicle spectator parking fee.

Vrooooom!!!

We invite you to visit Holy Spirit School where our students, teachers, parents and staff discover faith, seek knowledge and experience community.

Their Price

CrestorTM

870.10

$

Typical US Brand Price

for 40mg x 100

Our Price

Rosuvastatin* $

141

Generic equivalent of CrestorTM Generic price for for 40mg x 100

Call Now: 855-999-1022 Are You Still Paying Too Much For Your Medications? You can save up to 97% when you fill your prescriptions with our Canadian and International prescription service. OUR PRICE

THEIR PRICE

ViagraTM

$

2011.91 vs Sildenafil*

Typical US Brand Price for 100mg x 40

NexiumTM

$

$

Last Open House of the Y ear for PK - 5th Grade: 8FEOFTEBZ "QSJM tQN

Classroom Observation:

'SJEBZ "QSJM tBN

AbilifyTM

$

Generic Price for 40mg x 100

448 vs Conj. Estrogen* $48.00

Typical US Brand Price for 0.625mg x 84

Generic Price for 0.625mg x 84

2964.49 vs Aripiprazole*

Typical US Brand Price for 15mg x 112

Get an extra

$15 off

plus FREE SHIPPING

$

88.00

Generic Price for 15mg x 112

CelebrexTM $1087.96 vs Celecoxib*

Typical US Brand Price for 100mg x 100

Generic price for 100mg x 100

CialisTM

$

AdvairTM

$

1105.23 vs

$

$

Typical US Brand Price for 250-50mcg x 180

EvistaTM

$

$

79.00

Salmeterol & Fluticasone Propionate*

152.00

Generic Price for 250-50mcg x 180

$

817.24 vs Ezetimibe*

$

Typical US Brand Price for 10mg x 100

$

Generic Price for 20mg x 40

772.37 vs Raloxifene*

Typical US Brand Price for 60mg x 100

ZetiaTM

186.00

2148.19 vs Tadalafil*

Typical US Brand Price for 20mg x 40

826.49 vs Esomeprazole* $89.00

Typical US Brand Price for 40mg x 100

PremarinTM

139.00

$

Generic Price for 100mg x 40

OUR PRICE

THEIR PRICE

83.00

Generic Price for 10mg x 100

JanuviaTM $1144.84 vs Sitagliptin * Phosphate

Typical US Brand Price for 100mg x 84

84.00

Generic Price for 60mg x 100

$

139.00

Generic Price for 100mg x 84

Get an Extra $15 Off & Free Shipping On Your 1st Order! Call the number below and save an additional $15 plus get free shipping on your first prescription order with Canada Drug Center. Expires June 30, 2017. Offer is valid for prescription orders only and can not be used in conjunction with any other offers. Valid for new customers only. One time use per household. Use code 15FREE to receive this special offer.

Call toll-free: 855-999-1022 www.canadadrug.us/svalley

Pre-K to 8th Grade 1198 Redmond Avenue, San Jose, CA 95120 tXXXIPMZTQJSJUTDIPPMPSH 'JOEVTPO'BDFCPPL!IPMZTQJSJUTDIPPMTBOKPTF

Please note that we do not carry controlled substances and a valid prescription is required for all prescription medication orders.

Prescription price comparison above is valid as of December 9, 2016. All trade-mark (TM) rights associated with the brand name products in this ad belong to their respective owners. *Generic drugs are carefully regulated medications that have the same active ingredients as the original brand name drug, but are generally cheaper in price.

Y9Z


Story Time Cont... had a secure handhold. Those misguided, Nathan Flynn Dave and Slim were younger daredevil exploits Local Scout than me. I informed them that usually lasted until Philanthropist as the eldest I would be the sunset. The warm first to test our swing. With my summers never Due to overwhelming community interest, we at hands tightly clenched above seemed long enough. the South Valley Review just the knots, I picked up speed as I School resumed and had to put a name to the ran in a 180-degree arc around fall soon followed. face! the eucalyptus and launched Chilly weather kept myself from the bluff. Grinning us inside as the days and yelling, I hung on for dear shortened. The rope, According to neighborhood life. Almost instantly, as my body almost forgotten, stayed bunched gossip, the injuries to the ropeswung outward in the circling arc, up, tied high in the eucalyptus. swinger were minor. We were my momentum thrust my legs high Winter took its toll on the rope’s sobered by the story and by the over the highway. The view was integrity. The following spring the fact that our exciting summer majestic. Filled with glee, I rapidly rope, our rope, was nowhere to be activity was really dangerous. sailed back to my starting point. seen. Nearly 60 years have passed. We took turns. Laughing, A story circulated that someone The eucalyptus still stands on the we gave scant thought to the unknown to our group had found bluff. Today Dave and I, older and perspective of the motorists the rope and like us, swung out perhaps a little wiser, smile at below, as our shoe bottoms came over the highway. The weathered the memory of swinging out over into view above the windshields rope had given up and abruptly Atlantic Avenue, glad that we did it of passing cars. Only in my separated from the tree. before we learned to know better. imagination can I now envision the Finding Senior Housing can be occupants, eyes complex, but it doesn’t have to be. bulging and maybe thinking, Holy #*^! Call A Place for Mom. Our But we always Advisors are trusted, local experts “You can trust circled safely back A Place for Mom who can help you understand to help you.” to our edge of the your options. Since 2000, we’ve – Joan Lunden helped over one million families bluff. find senior living solutions that Unsupervised meet their unique needs. and tempting fate, we found swinging wildly through the air to be the next best thing A Free Service for Families. to flying. For us, Call: (855) 407-7851 the activity had no down side. As youngsters, we CALL NOW 1-844-232-0636 A Place for Mom is the nation’s largest senior living referral information service. had no concept We do not own, operate, endorse or recommend any senior living community. We are paid by partner communities, so our services are completely free to families. of pain or death. Y 10 Z


Shake It Up National Dance Week at Santana Row

sjDANCEco presents sjDANCEco Festival Sunday, April 23, 2017 from 10:00am to 5:00pm (non-stop performances). The event will be held at Santana Row Park, 368 Santana Row, Stevens Creek Boulevard, San Jose, CA 95128. The outdoor festival stage is located on the main street of Santana Row in front of Lark Creek Kitchen between the wine bar and tequila bar. Celebrating National Dance Week - a cornerstone Bay Area Dance Week event - this free festival is also the kickoff to sjDANCEco’s 15th Season. Admission and parking is FREE The Coalition for

National Dance Week was formed in 1981 by a group of dance related organizations to bring greater recognition to dance as an art form. NDW volunteers host more than a thousand events nationwide during the observation. Sixty Bay Area dance organizations (from young children to professional companies and everything in between) present many styles of dance on Santana Row’s outdoor festival stage during a 7-hour program. The professional dance portion of the show is from 12:00 noon to 1:00pm. The celebration is part of National Dance Week and showcases the diversity of the Bay Area dance community. sjDANCEco is a yearround contemporary dance company based in San Jose, California that produces world

premieres by its core and guest choreographers, and presents the very best of Contemporary and Classic Modern Dance and Masterpieces of the American Modern Dance Repertory. In addition to a full season of dance concerts, sjDANCEco also is a major participant each Spring in free outdoor dance presentations during National Dance Week, international dance festivals, and has a full schedule of contemporary dance classes for the

Our Best Deal Ever!

Free Streaming

Every Channel + Recorded Shows on all of your devices

Free Installation

Free HD-DVR

On Up to 6 Rooms

Record 16 Shows at once & 2000 Hrs of Storage

Call 1-877-929-1748 All offers require credit qualification and 24-month commitment and early termination fee with eAutoPay

Offer for new and qualifying former customers only. Important Terms and Conditions: Qualification: Advertised price requires credit qualification and eAutoPay. Upfront activation and/or receiver upgrade fees may apply based on credit qualification. Offer ends 4/5/17. 2-Year Commitment: Early termination fee of $20/mo. remaining applies if you cancel early. Included in 2-year price guarantee at $39.99 advertised price: Flex Pack plus one add-on Pack, HD service fees, and equipment for 1 TV. Included in 2-year price guarantee at $54.99 advertised price: America's Top 120 Plus programming package, Local channels and Regional Sports Networks (where available), HD service fees, and equipment for 1 TV. Included in 2-year price guarantee for additional cost: Programming package upgrades ($54.99 for AT120+, $64.99 for AT200, $74.99 for AT250), monthly fees for additional receivers ($7 per additional TV, receivers with additional functionality may be $10-$15) and monthly DVR service fees ($10). NOT included in 2-year price guarantee or advertised price (and subject to change): Taxes & surcharges, add-on programming (including premium channels), Protection Plan, and transactional fees. Premium Channels: Subject to credit qualification. After 3 mos., you will be billed $60/mo. for HBO, Cinemax, Showtime, Starz and DISH Movie Pack unless you call to cancel. Other: All packages, programming, features, and functionality are subject to change without notice. After 6 mos., you will be billed $8/mo. for Protection Plan unless you call to cancel. After 2 years, then-current everyday prices for all services apply. For business customers, additional monthly fees may apply. Free standard professional installation only. © 2016 DISH Network L.L.C. All rights reserved. HBO®, Cinemax® and related channels and service marks are the property of Home Box Office, Inc. SHOWTIME is a registered trademark of Showtime Networks Inc., a CBS Company. STARZ and related channels and service marks are property of Starz Entertainment, LLC. With PrimeTime Anytime record ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC plus two channels. With addition of Super Joey record two additional channels. Commercial skip feature is available at varying times, starting the day after airing, for select primetime shows on ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC recorded with PrimeTime Anytime. Recording hours vary; 2000 hours based on SD programming. Equipment comparison based on equipment available from major TV providers as of 6/01/16. Watching live and recorded TV anywhere requires an Internet-connected, Sling-enabled DVR and compatible mobile device. All new customers are subject to a one time processing fee.

advanced and professional dancer. sjDANCEco ignites the spirit of dance. sjDANCEco is a registered 501c3. Fed ID 61- 1446985. Photos by Fred Corpuz, courtesy of sjDANCEco.

STACY SEYMOUR (408) 960-9416 www.stacyseymour.com

stacy.seymour@cbnorcal.com Y 11 Z


THE

GOSS

REAL

E S TAT E

GROUP

PRESENTS

6167 Heathercreek Way, Blossom Valley

PENDING SALE

This fabulous Blossom Valley home is located close to the Santa Teresa foothills and features 4 bedrooms; 2.5 baths; 1,937 SF of living space; remodeled kitchen with granite counters, tile backsplash, breakfast bar & stainless steel appliances; living room/dining room combo; separate family room with fireplace; upstairs master suite with double door entry & dual closets; hardwood flooring; double pane windows; central forced air heating & A/C; ceiling fans; recessed lighting; 2 car garage; nicely landscaped with built-in pool & hot tub. Offered At $975,000

9620 Blue Heron Court, Gilroy

PENDING SALE

Located on a large cul-de-sac lot, features of this fabulous Gilroy home include 6 bedrooms; 3.5 baths; 2,562 Square feet of living space; beautiful kitchen with granite counters, glass tile backsplash, loads of cabinets, breakfast bar, stainless steel appliances & recessed lighting; living room/dining room combo; separate family room withAfireplace; L M A D E N upstairs N A T I V Emaster suite with B R O K Edownstairs R A S S O C I Abedroom T E , M B Asuite with walk-in closet & vaulted ceiling; 4 0 8 6 8 5 5 9 9 0 full bath; hardwood flooring; double pane windows; central BFBYNUM@GMAIL.COM forced air heating & air conditioning; ceiling fans; recessed BYNUMREALESTATE.COM lighting; 2 car garage; nicely landscaped with huge rear yard. C aAt l B$779,900 RE #01728689 Offered

BRETT YNUM

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD, SUITE 205 LOS GATOS, CA 95032 CalBRE #01526679 EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

THINKING OF SELLING? The inventory of homes available are low and the real estate market is RED HOT! Call Doug today at 408-267-4663 to see what your home would sell for in today’s market! PENDING SALE

Selling Silicon Valley Homes Successfully For Over 22 Years!

FOR SALE

COMING SOON

2352 La Terrace Circle, Blossom Valley

21292 Bertram Road, Almaden Valley

2014 Admiral Place, San Jose

2 Bedrooms | 2 Baths | 1,138 SF | $525,000

Beautiful 2.02 Acre Lot | $699,000

5 Bedrooms | 3 Baths | 2,533 SF | $1,075,000

DOUG GOSS

BROKER ASSOCIATE CRS,CRP,GRI,ABR 408-267-4663 DGOSS@KW.COM CalBRE #01182111

LOS GATOS OFFICE

16185 LOS GATOS BLVD., SUITE 105 LOS GATOS, CA 95120

ALMADEN VALLEY OFFICE

5671 SANTA TERESA BLVD., SUITE 103 SAN JOSE, CA 95123

TheGossRealEstateGroup.com

CalBRE #01526679 EACH OFFICE IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED

South Valley Review April 7 17  
South Valley Review April 7 17