Page 9

IN BRIEF Community raises $325,000 for scholarships at 95th Anniversary Illuminations Gala



In April, more than 300 guests attended the Illuminations Gala in celebration of the law school’s 95th anniversary. Co-chairs STCL Houston Professor Elaine Carlson ’79 and her daughter, alumna Courtney Carlson ’08, hosted the event at the Ballroom at Bayou Place. The evening was an opportunity for attendees to reconnect with classmates, honor the many individuals who were foundational to the school’s success, celebrate STCL Houston, and raise money for vital student scholarships. The evening included both a live auction and a “paddles up” fundraiser and raised $325,000. Check your mailbox in the next few weeks for a save the date for next year’s event, scheduled for May 4, 2019!



1. President and Dean Don Guter and Pat Guter 2. Kami ’10 and Eric D’Olive ’10 3. Gala Chairs Courtney Carlson ’08 and Professor Elaine Carlson ’79 4. Anthony Guzman and The Honorable Eva Guzman ’89 5. Dean Don Guter and Richard Anderson ’82 receiving the Dean’s Medal 6. STCL Houston board chairman, Ken Johnson ’86 7. Dean Emeritus James Alfini 8. Assistant Dean Elizabeth Dennis ’84, Professor Chris Kulander, Executive VP Emeritus Helen Jenkins, Professor Tobin Sparling, Sally J. Langston ’91 9. Richard Anderson ’82 and Larry Baillargeon ’74 10. Julie Blair ’03, Samantha Spencer ’15, Aimee Maldonado ’04 11. The Honorable Daniel Leedy ’83, Jacqueline Mann, Frank Mann ’83, Cleide Leedy 12. The Honorable E.J. Salcines ’63 and Elsa Salcines 13. The Honorable Debra Mayfield ’99 14. Associate Dean T. Gerald Treece and Sue Treece 15. Khary Alexcee and Camrii Hampton 3L 16. Sylvia Quan, Gordon Quan ’77, Annie Banerjee ’96

Radiant Sponsors

Susan Anderson and Richard H. Anderson ’82 Anonymous Jackson Walker LLP Peggy A. Matthews and David P. Matthews ’88 Vinson & Elkins LLP/Jim Thompson III ’86

Glimmering Sponsors

Abraham, Watkins, Nichols, Sorrels, Agosto & Aziz Bailey Peavy Bailey Cowan Heckaman PLLC Laurent A. Baillargeon ’74 Barnes & Noble Education Annie Beck ’11 and Debbie Beck ’92 Beck Redden LLP BoyarMiller Professor Elaine A. Carlson ’79 and Robert Carlson The Hon. Theresa W. Chang ’96 and Peter D. Chang, M.D., Ph.D. Patricia Kay Dube ’79 Fleming Nolen & Jez LLP Frost Bank Stewart W. Gagnon ’74 Gray Reed & McGraw, LLP Haynes & Boone, LLP Jane Hurst and Michael K. Hurst ’90 Jenkins & Kamin, LLP Barbara Jordan and Don D. Jordan ’69 Katine & Nechman LLP Sally J. Langston ’91 Lockton Companies MehaffyWeber Perdue & Kidd — Trial Lawyers Porter Hedges LLP/Porter Hedges STCL Houston Alumni Sharon M. Schweitzer ’89 Thompson & Knight LLP

Sparkling Couples

Council Member Dwight A. Boykins and Genora K. Boykins ’85 Professor Pamela E. George and Paul Easterwood Matthews & Forester LLP Imogen S. Papadopoulos ’84 Sylvia L. Quan and Gordon J. Quan ’77 The Hon. E.J. Salcines ’63 and Elsa Salcines Andrew B. Sommerman ’86 and Rachael Wang SJ Swanson ’02 and William Swanson/ Swanson Law Firm, PLLC Ruthie N. White ’96 and Keith R. White



Profile for South Texas College of Law Houston

InRe Magazine - Fall 2018  

InRe Magazine - Fall 2018