Page 1

Sweeth eart stories Check out so of local me tales inside th love is editio n

Vol. 71 No. 7 | Feb. 14, 2018 | southphillyreview.com

WEBSTER RIDDICK

Above, Eagles quarterback Nick Foles addresses the crowd of Eagles fans assembled outside the Art Museum Thursday, Feb. 8, in celebration of the team winning Super Bowl LII earlier in the week. LOGAN KRUM/SPR

Huge crowds turned out to see the team and organization parade from the South Philly Sports Complex up Broad Street.

A (Philly) special day City marks historic Eagles Super Bowl LII win By Bill Gelman SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW

S

outh Philadelphia residents received an early wake-up call on Feb. 8, if they even went to sleep. Fans of all ages started lining up along both sides of South Broad Street – from the sports complex all the way up to the Benjamin Franklin

Parkway before 7 a.m. Schools were closed, and those who were supposed to be working had a legitimate reason to call out – in a few short hours the Philadelphia Eagles would be departing Lincoln Financial Field, 1 Lincoln Financial Field Way, for a celebration like no other – the Philadelphia Eagles Super Bowl LII championship parade and celebration. Those

Serving Philadelphia, Montgomery and Bucks

ZDW^ͻ>sdKZ^ͻ^d>/&d^ Etͻh^ͻZEd>^

We buy back new and used stairglides for 5 years

Ă ĂůůEŽǁ&Žƌ &Z, ,ŽŵĞǀĂ ĂůƵĂƟ ƟŽŶϮϭϱͲͲϴϬϴ ϴͲϯϮϵ ϵϴ

^ƚĂŝƌ>ŝŌ EĞǁƋƵŝƉŵĞŶƚ Not valid with any other discount or coupon.


2 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

*8=+788<37+%28:< 87<2 Look and Feel Your Best This February!

$

&+4/

New Patients

 " !8?!/@<

&+4/

$ =>F/:6 355/:;

"

8<8@E&:/+<6/7<

 -&!,%!&*!$$!&,!+,!&,!'&+%* * Must register at BrilliantDistinctionsProgram.com to receive discount pricing

FAMILY OWNED & OPERATED No Sales People - So No Commissions out of Your Pocket!

LEAKY ROOF? Weâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve Got You Covered!

Seal RooďŹ ng Complete Roofing Service

a Radiofrequency microneedling device

$'/'/&, !&(*'++*''-&$0 6abc.com/health/ ,0'-&*,! ,*"/$!&/!, '-, '!&-&*, #&!    See Mind Your Skin & ProfoundÂŽ on 6 ABC News â&#x20AC;&#x153;Whatâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s the Deal?â&#x20AC;?

Minimal to No Downtime! 1st device to create all 3 skin fundamentals: 1 Elastin, Collagen and Hyaluronic Acid 1 !&$,*,%&,(*'-* 1 *,+"/$!&+',&+/*!&#$+ 1 *%,!$$0!%(*'.!&+#!& 1 !,&'&,'-*+,*-,-*,'&#  !.-(,' %'$!,/!, '-,+-**0)

!87 37>+;3>/,8.A;-=59<371

Payment Plans Available

24-Hr Emergency Service

CERTIFIED 15% OFF

(/5+%2+9/E

IN ALL TYPES OF ROOFING

'MBU3VCCFS3PPGTt$PBUJOHTt4IJOHMFT.FUBM3PPGT

Get ride of that stubborn fatâ&#x20AC;Śfor good! '5<:+%2+9/ÂŽ #")$ is painless. Instead of unwanted side effects, all youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re left withare smooth, permanent results!

Payment Plan: 1/2 Down after completed, balance due after ďŹ rst rain.

/;<:8A=9<8 %80+</55;C&312</7%437C69:8>//55=53</

t Manufacturers Warranties t Licensed & Insured t Commercial & Residential t White Energy EfďŹ cient Coatings t Downspouts & Gutters t Roof Inspections t Leak Repairs t Siding Specialty rooďŹ ng that includes:

Norbertus C. Robben, M.D.

American Society for Laser Medicine & Surgery

36$8,,/7 Licensed Esthetician

+;/:+7./;<2/<3- /.3-37/

Call Today for a FREE Estimate

!87 %=:13-+5 3736+58?7<36/ 869536/7<+:A 87;=5<+<387; All offers exp. 2/28/18

 /.3-37/â&#x20AC;&#x2122;s F37/;< B&89#2A;3-3+7;37/;<2/<3- /.3-37/D - Suburban/Philadelphia Life For all appts. Also visit www.UltraShape.com for more info.

    C??? 37.*8=:%437 -86

) 2/;</:#34/C %=3</C+>/:<8?7#  

%//=;+</+.2=7</:;%+587   #+;;A=74>/7=/C % #2355A

Wood, Cedar Shake, Tile, Slate, Copper Metal, Green â&#x20AC;&#x153;Eco- Friendlyâ&#x20AC;? RooďŹ ng, Single Ply, PVC, Roof Coating, EPDM & TPO RooďŹ ng Systems

Any New Roof Installation (up to $300)

Must present & mention coupon to receive this offer. Cannot combine with any other offer.

10% OFF Any Roof or Gutter Repair (up to $300) Must present & mention coupon to receive this offer. Cannot combine with any other offer.

Contact us today for a Consultation and Free Estimate!

www.sealrooďŹ ng.net

215-533-4066


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 3

South Philly Review Chronicle

LOMBARDI’S PRIME MEATS

TM

BEST BUTCHER SHOP

Lombardi’s

Homemade Breaded Chicken Cutlets

s o u t h p h i l l y r e v i e w . c o m

more inside Calendar ..................................................... 16 Cardella .........................................................8 &ODVVL´HGV ................................................. 24 Crossword/Horoscope ........................ 17 Eagles Insider ..........................................20

Pet ...................................................................11 Readers’ Choice ...................................... 12 Real Estate ............................................... 22 Social/Obituaries.................................... 21 Sweetheart Stories ..................................4

SOUTH PHIL ADELPHIA’S COMMUNIT Y NE W SPAPER FOUNDED 1947 215-336-2500

2 Executive Campus, Suite 400 Cherry Hill, NJ 08002

59

3 lbs.

z. 1 1/2 lbs.

COO Perry Corsetti pcorsetti@bsmphilly.com

Editor-in-chief Tim Ronaldson WURQDOGVRQ#QHZVSDSHUPHGLDJURXSFRP

Publisher John Gallo MJDOOR#VRXWKSKLOO\UHYLHZFRP

Editor Bill Gelman QHZV#VRXWKSKLOO\UHYLHZFRP

1 1/2 lbs.

General Manager Brandon Chamberlain bchamberlain@bsmphilly.com

&LUFXODWLRQ'LUHFWRU Pearl Harta-215-354-3146 pharta@bsmphilly.com

1 1/2 lbs.

$GYHUWLVLQJ'LUHFWRU Dan Tangi GWDQJL#VRXWKSKLOO\UHYLHZFRP

6RFLDOVDQGRELWXDULHV VRFLDORELWV#VRXWKSKLOO\UHYLHZFRP

R.P.M. PHILLY, LLC

s GUARANTEED DELIVERY: If you live within our circulation area

and do not receive your South Philly Review by 6:00 p.m. Thursday the week of publication, call our circulation department at 215-354-3146 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Publisher reserves the right to accept or reject any advertising submitted. Publisher assumes no responsibility for errors made except to reprint that portion of any ad having an error. Display ad rates available upon request. Advertisers: Check your ads weekly. The Review can be responsible only the first time an ad appears. © 2015 R.P.M. Philly, LLC.

Bobby Chez’s CENTER CUT FILETS Crabcakes 6 oz. $7.00

$6.49 lb. $7.50 ea. 8 oz. $9.00 $ 99 MINI 99 FREEZER SPECIAL $ FREEZER SPECIAL $

3 lbs. Community Papers Circulation 9HUL¿FDWLRQ6HUYLFH

1801 Packer Avenue ‡

1 1/2 lbs.

MAY SUBSTITUTE 2 ITEMS Roast Beef USDA Prime and Choice (Rump or Sirloin) Boneless Seasoned Pork Roast Homemade 90% Fat Free Italian Sausage (Hot or Mild) Fresh Ground Sirloin or Mix 90% Fresh Thin Sliced Chicken Cutlets “The Best” Lean Beef Cubes

94

3 1/2 lbs. 3 1/2 lbs. 2 lbs. 2 lbs. 2 lbs. 2 lbs. 8

MAY SUBSTITUTE 2 ITEMS Roast Beef USDA Prime and Choice (Rump or Sirloin) Boneless Seasoned Pork Roast Fresh Thin Sliced Chicken Cutlets “The Best” Fresh Ground Beef or Mix 90% Lean Beef Cubes Homemade 90% Lean Italian Sausage (Hot or Mild) Center Cut Boneless Pork Chops

Free 1 Dozen Extra-Large Eggs Free 1 Dozen Extra-Large Eggs

Pork Tenderloin $3.99 lb. 99 SPECIAL

124

MAY SUBSTITUTE 2 ITEMS Roast Beef (Rump or Sirloin) Boneless Seasoned Pork Roast 3 lbs. Fresh Thin Sliced Chicken Cutlets “The Best” 10 Boneless Center Cut Pork Chops 2 lbs. Butter Steaks (for frying) 3 lbs. Homemade 90% Lean Italian Sausage (Hot or Mild) Fresh Ground Sirloin or 3 lbs. Mix 90% 2 lbs. Lean Beef Cubes 1 Bag of Bread Crumbs

4 lbs. 4 lbs.

Free 1 Dozen Extra-Large Eggs

Serving South Philly for over 40 Years We Pride Ourselves on Quality Products and Service. Stop in Today and Taste the Difference!

WE DELIVER!

Check us out on the web www.lombardimeats.com WE ACCEPT THE EBT QUEST FOOD STAMP PROGRAM ‡USDA CHOICE & USDA PRIME >œÀÊ Ài`ˆÌÊ >À`ÃÊVVi«Ìi`ÊUÊ >œÀÊ Ài`ˆÌÊ >À`ÃÊVVi«Ìi`ÊUÊ œÌÊ,i뜘ÈLiÊœÀÊ/Þ«œ}À>«…ˆV>Ê ÀÀœÀà œÌÊ,i뜘ÈLiÊœÀÊ/Þ«œ}À>«…ˆV>Ê ÀÀœÀÃ

Prudential Bank Platinum Money Market Account

1.00%

APY*

Guaranteed until 2019

+

Call Us: 215-755-1500 www.myprudentialbank.com +Rate guaranteed until 1/1/2019 *Annual Percentage Yield (APY) effective until 1/1/2019. Required minimum balance to open is $200,000.00. You must maintain a minimum daily balance of $200,000.00 in the account each day to obtain the disclosed annual percentage yield. If the minimum daily balance falls below $200,000.00, the APY is 0%. Rates subject to change as of 1/1/2019. Fees may reduce earnings. Please refer to www.fdic.gov for FDIC coverage limits.


4 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

Sweetheart stories

Couple’s 36-year marriage began with quick courtship With love in the air this Valentine’s Day, local residents share their tales By Tom Beck SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW

J

ohn and MaryAnn Mondello like to move quickly. In August of 1981, they went on a date. They got engaged on Christmas Day of that same year. The following February, they were married. “There was no reason,” said MaryAnn. “We just decided to get married and that was it.” John and MaryAnn’s marriage is the second marriage for both of them, so you could say they were used to the process. “We were able to get married in church, which was more important to me because he never got married in church,” MaryAnn said. “So we got married over here at St. Nick’s. And we’ve been here ever since.” John, 91, spent his entire working career as a shoe worker. He spent some time in the Army in the ’40s, and he’s even old enough to remember some of the Great Depression. “I was probably about 12, 13 years old,” he said. “My parents knew [better, but] I remember some of it. I can’t explain it. We were poor, let’s put it that way.” MaryAnn, 75, worked as a bank teller for 35 years before retiring when she was 62. She loves

to cook. “I like to make different stuff,” she said. “As long as I can follow the recipe, I’m good.” Both of them have lived their entire lives in Philadelphia, except for a brief five-year period in which MaryAnn lived in Horsham before the two got married. “I didn’t like Horsham,” she said. “I couldn’t wait until I got back here.” MaryAnn loves her home city of Philadelphia, particularly her neighborhood in Central South Philly – east of Broad Street. “I like it because it’s convenient. My mother and I always used to walk to Passyunk Avenue...We always walked to Broad Street or walked to Passyunk Avenue when we were young.” Nowadays, when John and MaryAnn get out of the house, they like to be active with other seniors. They play a lot of bingo and often spend time at the South Philadelphia Older Adult Center. Every year, they head up to a lodge in the Poconos with other local seniors. Later this month, on the 27th, the Mondellos will celebrate their 36th year of marriage. What’s the key to being together for so long? “Don’t go to bed mad at each other,” said MaryAnn. “Make up before you go to bed.” “We go everywhere together,” said John. “We’re never separate.”

Couple set to mark their anniversary on Feb. 27.

dinner at the Pub, a popular steakhouse in Pennsauken, N.J. “I wasn’t a cheap date,” Kathy says. “He worked at winning my heart.” Fast forward to present day, there is no doubt that Frank has won Kathy’s heart as the couple is now engaged. They share a home in South Philadelphia along with one other important family member, Max, their yorkie terrier. Neither expected this late life gift. Frank had been divorced for years while Kathy had never married. “You know that old saying, there’s a lid for every pot?” Franks asks. “Well I found my lid the moment I set eyes on Kathy.”

Waiting decades for true love

Ask Frank Buonadonna about Kathy Rohrer, and there is a good chance his face will light up. The Mercy LIFE Broad Street Adult Day Center, 1930 S. Broad St., is where they first met in 2013. When Frank arrived at the Mercy LIFE center one fateful day, there was only one seat left in the dining room — right next to Kathy. The two chatted. There were no awkward pauses. “I was smitten,” Frank recalls. “I knew she was the one then and there. I’d never met a warmer person.” But while Kathy felt comfortable with Frank from the start, initially she was only interested in friendship. “That’s how I believe all relationships should start,” she says. Over the course of three months, their friendship flourished — and Kathy was finally ready to meet Frank outside of the center. Their first date:

MARYANN and JOHN MONDELLO

It started with a ‘Friend’ request

FRANK BUONADONNA and KATHY ROHRER

This is the story of me and my fiance, Neil Mininger. Neil and I met in freshman year of high school. We were friendly, but hung out with two TOTALLY different

NEIL MININGER and STACEY McINTOSH groups of friends. I always thought he was cute, in a quiet, “adorkable” kind of way. I ended up changing schools after sophomore year, and we lost touch. In 2010, after 12 years with no contact, I was on Facebook one day, and a friend suggestion popped up. It was Neil. I sent him a friend request, and we started messaging each other. By this time, I

had two kids, and was going through a bad period. After talking for a couple of months, he asked me out, admitting that he had a crush on me back in school. I was surprised, and, being a single mom, a little hesitant. But I agreed, thinking that, if nothing else, it would be a bit of fun, which I desperately needed. The night we had set up to go out, he shows up at my house, and to my surprise, he has four friends with him. Now I’m like “OK, maybe this ISN’T a date, after all.” We give each other a hug, and he suggests we go to Mako’s on 4th and South. So, off we ALL go. We get to Mako’s and have a beer. I’m talking to Neil and his friends, and everything is going well. He and I start playing pool, and I was feeling a ton of chemistry between us, so I decide to test the waters. I said to him, “Let’s make a bet.” He looks at me and asks, “Well, See SWEETHEARTS, page 14>>


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 5

Ruby Buffet

Ă&#x20AC;Â&#x153;Â&#x2DC;Ă&#x152;Ă&#x160;EĂ&#x160; -Â&#x2DC;Ă&#x17E;`iĂ&#x20AC;Ă&#x160;UĂ&#x160;Ă&#x201C;ÂŁxÂ&#x2021;Ă&#x17D;nÂ&#x2122;Â&#x2021;xxxx W W W Throwback NOW NE â&#x20AC;&#x153;CITY OLD NE Taco Pizza NE Mozzarella, Cheddar, Lite Hots, Serving Fresh Mondays-Two STYLE PIZZAâ&#x20AC;? Breaded Flounder, Beef, Doritos, Lettuce & Tomatoes

16" Cheese Pizzas $

14.95

Thin crust square Pizza brushed with Olive Oil, Sliced Mozzarella, Crushed plum tomato & a handful of grated Romano cheese

11.75

NEW! Pepperoni and Cheese Bites with Marinara or your choice of sauce

$

5.25

MONDAY SPECIAL $

1.00 OFF any Pizza

Mozzarella, Provolone, Sauce & Diced Chicken Cutlets

$

14.75

Appetizer Party Tray

10 wings and choice of 4 of the following apps: Chicken Fingers, Mozzarella Sticks, Poppers, Broccoli Bites Fried Ravioli or Mac & Cheese Wedges

1/2$12.75ZKROH$14.75

$27.45

topping w/ your pizza

2.00 OFF SICILIAN PIZZA

& Lobster Seafood Buffet 3 - 10PM $16.99 per person

each

Smothered Fry Pizza Our fresh hand tossed pizza smothered with french fries, 3 cheeses, bacon & ranch dressing

1 FREE

11AM - 3PM $9.99 per person

Chicken Parm Pizza

sold separately or in platters

TUESDAY SPECIAL WEDNESDAY SPECIAL $

Today, Feb. 14th Bring Your Loved Ones to Brunch

$14.75

Shrimp & Fried Clam Strips

$

(Toppings Extra)

THURSDAY SPECIAL

$1.00 OFF

"CITY OLD STYLE PIZZA"

LG 16" PIZZA, 10 WINGS & 2 LTR. SODA

$18.45

ASK ABOUT OUR NEW SMOTHERED FRIES!!! LG. 16" PIZZA, 2 LG 16" PIZZAS, SPECIALTY PIZZA 20 WINGS & 20 WINGS & SPECIALTY STROMBOLI 2 LTR. SODA 2 LTR SODA 7INGSs&RIESs3IDESs"URGERS

$23.65 /NION2INGSs#HICKEN#UTLETS NEW (OMEMADE#HICKEN#UTLETS MADE IN HOUSE! HOURS 11am to 12mid. Mon-Thurs.; 11am-1am Fri.& Sat.; 12noon- 12 mid. Sun

bus Blv New Location

NOW OPEN!!

1100 S. Columbus Blvd. #18A, Phila.

$29.15

PICK-UP AND DELIVERY AVAILABLE LIMITED DELIVERY AREA $1.00 CHARGE WE ACCEPT VISA/MASTERCARD!

Show Your Love

LIKE US ON FACEBOOK

2100 Rt 38 Cherry Hill, NJ.

(Corner of Columbus & Washington) Take Bus Route 25 or 64

3 OFF

$

ANY CHECK OVER $30 Not Valid with any other offers or Valentineâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Day. Childrenâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s buffet excluded. (Valid thru 2/21/18 R.B.)

3VCZ#VGGFUt

TOTAL KNEE

5 OFF

$

ANY CHECK OVER $50 Not Valid with any other offers or Valentineâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Day. Childrenâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s buffet excluded. (Valid thru 2/21/18 R.B.)

10% OFF EACH ADULT BUFFET

Not Valid with any other offers or Valentineâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Day. Limit 6 guests per table, soda & coffeeexcluded, Childrenâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s buffet excluded (Valid thru 2/21/18 R.B.)

3VCZ#VGGFUt

3VCZ#VGGFUt

The physicians at 3B Orthopaedics at Jefferson Health are nationally-recognized leaders in knee replacement procedures. We offer: 5 Comprehensive knee care, from same-day surgeries to double knee replacements and revisions 5 One of the countryâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s most experienced knee surgery teams 5 Personalized care including private rooms

Jefferson Bucks Hospital  Langhorne, PA Curtis Center  Philadelphia, PA 1-877-808-2742 I JeffersonHealth.org/BucksOrtho

Wondering what to expect with knee replacement surgery? Register to learn more at one of our information sessions at 215-269-6797.

HOME OF SIDNEY KIMMEL MEDICAL COLLEGE


6 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

LOGAN KRUM/South Philly Review

A few Eagles fans take pictures with the ‘Rocky’ statue near the art museum while thousands more await the arrival of the Eagles on parade Thursday, Feb. 8, in celebration of their win in Super Bowl LII.

PARADE: Jason Kelce aptly the ‘center’ of attention with epic speech

<<Continued from page 1 who were still sleeping were likely awoken by the echoing “E-A-G-L-E-S Eagles!!!” chants. The Dallas Cowboy haters were out in full force, too, including one fan holding up a “Dallas Fans at Work” sign while another had one with the words “Dallas Sucks.” As expected, green and white were the popular colors of the day. Many of the players got a little creative with their attire, especially center Jason Kelce who dressed up in Mummers attire that was provided by the Avalon String Band, 1538-40 S. 2nd St. The organization was certainly pleased by the recognition. “These last 24 hours or so have been an absolute whirlwind! Jason Kelce donned one of our suits, and pretty much broke the internet in the process! Thank you, Jason! We hope we did you proud,” Avalon String Band posted on its Facebook page. Eagles defensive end Chris Long went retro by

wearing an Allen Iverson jersey while veteran tight end Brent Celek paid tribute to one of the Eagles all-time greats by wearing a No. 17 Harold Carmichael jersey. The fans patiently waiting around the parkway and in the Philadelphia Museum of Art had a longer wait to see the floats, but the replays of Super Bowl LII – the one in which the Eagles defeated the Patriots, 41-33, kept them entertained. Many of them were watching the game for the second, third or fourth time, but chanted and cheered as if it was unfolding live. Call it the pregame show to the big celebration that was about to take place on the art museum steps, complete with fireworks, green and white confetti and an F-bomb laced Kelce speech that Eagles fans will never forget. When it finally came time for the victory speeches, one by one Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf, Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney, Eagles radio play-by-play legend Merrill Reese, Eagles

chairman and CE0 Jeffrey Lurie, head coach Doug Pederson, Super Bowl MVP Nick Foles and others each stepped up to the mic, with many of them drawing a standing ovation. Kelce’s epic speech is the one people will remember for decades to come, even if the Eagles win another Super Bowl in the near future. All of those doubters were silenced by the underdogs who bonded together to give the City of Philadelphia the one thing it was missing from its championship collection – the Vince Lombardi Trophy. “…. This entire organization, with a bunch of driven men who accomplished something. We were a bunch of underdogs. And you know what an underdog is? It’s a hungry dog. ... Bottom line is, we wanted it more. All the players, All the coaches, The front office. Jeffrey Lurie. Everybody wanted it more. And that’s why we are here today. And that’s why we’re the first team in Eagles history to hold that freaking trophy. ...” Kelce said. But Pederson doesn’t plan on making the fans

wait another five-plus decades to see “that freaking trophy” up close again, as the new mentality around the NovaCare Complex, 2 Novacare Way, centers around playing in February. “ … We brought you guys a world championship, and just like Mr. Lurie said, we are not done yet. We have more to go, more to prove. This is our new new norm. To be playing football in February. I am so proud to represent this group, this city and this organization.” Even now, with that Super Bowl trophy firmly in hand, the Eagles will likely open the 2018 season as Super Bowl underdogs as analysts at mytopsportsbooks.com have listed the Eagles’ odds to win Super Bowl LIII at 10/1. The Patriots – the same Patriots the Eagles defeated earlier this month – are listed at 7/1. The Birds proved this year that the only number that matters is the final outcome on Super Bowl Sunday. Feb. 3, 2019, in Atlanta is the date and location for those who want to start making plans.


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 7

THE TABAS CENTER FOR ADVANCED DENTISTRY

Norman B. Tabas, D.D.S, M.A.G.D 2534 S. Broad Street (OUR%MERGENCYs6ISITUSATWWW$24!"!3COM

Holiday Special

New Patients: 215.271.7776 Have you been wishing for a comfortable dental ofďŹ ce that puts your needs ďŹ rst? A practice that treats you like a friend?

15 Month CD

1.75%

APY

Look No Further! Valentineâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Day Special

$25 OFF

*

Any Botox or Juvederm w/This Ad Expires 2/14/18

Call Us: 215-755-1500

Implant Dentistry

www.myprudentialbank.com *Annual Percentage Yield (APY) effective until March 1, 2018 and subject to change without notice. $500.00 minimum balance required to open and earn this APY. The annual percentage yield assumes interest will remain on deposit until maturity. Penalty for early withdrawal may result in a reduction of principal. Additional Certificate of Deposit rates and terms are available.

Member

Now Featuring InvisalignÂŽ Call for Details

From Start to Finish, All In One Location!

the art of organization

$400 Off any organization system

Plus Free Delivery & Installation Some restrictions apply.

3$ 1- &DOOIRUIUHHGHVLJQFRQVXOWDWLRQ RUYLVLWXVRQOLQHDWFORVHWIDFWRU\FRP

â&#x20AC;&#x153;I feel efďŹ cient and organized

â&#x20AC;?

My closet has helped bring order to my chaotic life

/LIHWLPH:DUUDQW\ PHY


8 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

L a w

O f f i c e s

o f

A ndrewRoseman Serving the legal needs of people And small businesses in Philadelphia and the surrounding counties since 1994.

t&45"5&130#"5& t8*--4-*7*/(8*--4 t108&30'"5503/&: t%*703$&

$100 SPECIAL $500 SPECIAL* Simple or Living Will

Simple Divorce

CALL US AT: 215-751-1181 *FILING FEE NOT INCLUDED.

andrewroseman.com

PENNSYLVANIA: 1528 WALNUT STREET, SUITE 1412, PHILADELPHIA, PA 19102 NEW JERSEY: 923 HADDONFIELD ROAD, SUITE 300, CHERRY HILL, NJ 08002

SUN  MAR 4 12PM & 5PM www. WellsFargoCenterPhilly.com

I

Relationship advice

am a man of limited experience with women. To illustrate my woeful lack of experience: My wife received her DNA results from ancestry.com. Turns out that though she is predominantly of Southern Italian extraction, she is also 14 percent middle eastern. The countries being Iraq, Iran, Syria and Yemen (please donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t tell President Trump or he might place her on a terror watch list). I begged her to let me claim that Iâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve slept with five women instead of only one, and out of pity I suppose, she agreed. So, who am I to hand out dating tips in 2018? That is a reasonable question, dear readers, but since it is Valentineâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Day, I felt as if I ought to write a topical column. You may take this entire column with a grain of sea salt. Kosher. Coarsely ground. I consider myself a neutral observer in the battle of the sexes. A sort of diplomat without striped pants. Some tips: 1) (For males) Do not reveal your private parts on the first date. In fact, you are better off if you never reveal your private parts to the opposite sex. No woman will swoon at the sight of your package (thatâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s why they call it â&#x20AC;&#x153;junkâ&#x20AC;?). Females have to love us to tolerate the sight of our nakedness. My 53-year-old marriage has endured, partly because I go to bed fully clothed with the lights out and the shades drawn. Sometimes I even don formal wear. 2) (For males) This tip is related to No. 1. Wearing a robe has become a no-no. Thank Harvey Weinstein for that. Never open your robe in front of a female, not even accidentally. If you must, super glue it shut. I recommend you burn every robe in your closet, even the white terry-cloth robe with the polo pony on it. Get this through your thick skull, man, only Bradley Cooper is an exception to this rule. 3) (For males) This tip is also connected to No. 1. Never ask a female to join you in the shower. Sounds sexy; is dumb. I once tried it with my wife and all I got for my trouble were suds in my eyes, and much later, a burnt meatloaf (no double-entendre intended). Women like to shower alone (see Bradley Cooper exception). 4) (For males) Again, refer back to No.1. Women do not want to watch porn movies with you. You may think that Flora Does Fishtown is hot. She thinks itâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s disgusting and perverted, though she has nothing against Fishtown. If you must watch porn, watch it alone. Hide the Stormy Daniels pics in your computer file titled Family Reunion Photos. Porn is not romantic or erotic to women. They think watching a Cary Grant movie on TCM is hot. 5) (For females) Donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t expect your man to be happy with just â&#x20AC;&#x153;cuddlingâ&#x20AC;? (unless youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re married for 53 years (â&#x20AC;&#x153;cuddlingâ&#x20AC;? is my idea of wild sex). Note: If your man is under 70 and is happy cuddling, he is not playing on your team. Youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re wast-

ing your time. You want to cuddle, buy yourself a stuffed toy. 6) (For females) If a casual male acquaintance wants to take you to a highpriced French restaurant, he is expecting a payoff. Unless he looks like Bradley Cooper either dump him (the honest approach) or after the meal, excuse yourself to go â&#x20AC;&#x153;powder your nose.â&#x20AC;? Skip out the side door (the approach I would take if I were a female. I would wait until I finished my crème brulee before I left, though). Youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re likely better educated than this dolt. You can buy your own meals at high-priced French restaurants. Bye-bye, Romeo. 7) (For females) If he insists that you wear an Eagles jersey to bed, dump him. He will become more interested in Carson Wentz than he is in you as soon as Wentzâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s injury heals. Soon, youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ll be waiting for him to be romantic while heâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s snoring on the couch with a Bud Light in his hand. In fact, just drop him if he drinks Bud Light. Even if he looks like Bradley Cooper. 8) (For males) Donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t be fooled if she seems to be a fanatical football fan while youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re dating. Women are great at faking an interest in football while dating. Chances are sheâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s also faking youknow-what. After marriage, sheâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ll forget how many points a touchdown is worth. And youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ll be watching QVC on your 60-inch TV. 9) (For males) Donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t ever pressure your date to have sex. You could wind up like Aziz Ansari (and I donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t mean youâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;re destined to become the star on â&#x20AC;&#x153;Master of Noneâ&#x20AC;?). Donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t look for subtle hints that she wants you. Chances are that recognizing subtlety is not your forte. â&#x20AC;&#x153;Noâ&#x20AC;? doesnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t mean â&#x20AC;&#x153;yes.â&#x20AC;? Not in any language. When she asks you if you want to watch football, you donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t reply â&#x20AC;&#x153;noâ&#x20AC;? when you mean â&#x20AC;&#x153;yes,â&#x20AC;? do you? 10) (For females) Bulletin: No, he doesnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t want to be your friend. Studies show that men on average, think of sex every seven seconds. Friendship with the opposite sex is not part of the other six seconds. Unless heâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s a big fan of the Bravo channel. Some things never change. Females still tend to like flowers. The way to a manâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s heart is still mainly through his stomach (which nowadays probably means a pre-cooked meal from Dadâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Stuffing). Respect for her avoids hurt feelings and these days, lawsuits, or maybe even worse, public shaming. Just ask Matt Lauer.

Tom

Cardella

Visit us online at news@southphillyreview.com


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 9

Dr. Adam W. Ellis Board CertiďŹ ed Family Medicine

All Patients Welcome                       



House Calls Available

New Patients Welcome

For an appointment call:

215-334-2550 1641 Jackson Street (CORNER OF 17TH & JACKSON) OPEN MONDAY THRU SATURDAY

CONFIDENT, RESPECTFUL, AND STRONG KIDS

GIVE YOUR CHILDREN THE ADVANTAGE OF MARTIAL ARTS TRAINING

After School Martial Arts Program Computers for Kids Home Work Stations School Vans after school Pick Up Service (age 6 and up) Little Dragons (age 3 and up)

2018 summer camp sessions June 4-29 July 9-August 3 August 6-31

Methodist Hospital Community Calendar

March 2018

Learning to Manage and Live with Diabetes

Bereavement Support Group Free

A complete diabetes education series offered in three weekly classes. Learn the facts about living with diabetes and how to control your blood sugar. Topics include monitoring blood sugar, medications, how to avoid the complications of diabetes and basic nutrition and meal planning tips. Dates: Wednesdays, March 7, 14, & 21 Time: 1 to 3 p.m. Place: Marie Kairys, MD and Kathryn McGrath, MD, Family Medicine 2422-24 South Broad St. Medical Office, 2nd Floor Or Time: 3 to 5 p.m. Place: Morgan Conference Center, Methodist Hospital Register: 1-800-JEFF-NOW

Colorectal Cancer Awareness

Free

Colorectal cancer affects men and women and every year more than 50,000 people die from the disease. Colorectal cancer is highly preventable by getting screened. Stop by our information table to consult with our experts and learn more about what you can do to prevent colorectal cancer. Date: Friday, March 16 Place: Hospital Lobby

Time: 9 to 11 a.m. Register: Walk-ins welcome

Jefferson Bariatric and Metabolic Surgery Seminars

Free

Since 2008, Jefferson has successfully treated thousands of patients who used to be morbidly obese, and has earned designation as a Center of Excellence from the American Society for Metabolic & Bariatric Surgery. Register to learn how our fully laparoscopic procedures can help you begin the journey to a healthier life. Speaker: Dr. Francesco Palazzo Date: Monday, March 19 Place: 1300 Wolf St., 1st Floor

Time: 5:30 to 7 p.m. Register: 1-800-JEFF-NOW

Date: Wednesdays, March 28 to May 23 (except April 18) Time: 2 to 3:30 p.m. or 6 to 7:30 p.m. Place: Conference Room One Register: 1-800-JEFF-NOW

JeffFIT Parkinsonâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Disease Exercise Program Donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t let Parkinsonâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s disease stop you from being â&#x20AC;&#x153;Strong and Steady.â&#x20AC;? Regular exercise can slow the progression of Parkinsonâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s disease and improve your overall level of fitness and well-being. Join our physical therapists in weekly exercise sessions and participate in seated aerobic exercises as well as balance and strengthening activities in a supportive group setting. Participants must be independently mobile or have an assistant (family member or caregiver) throughout the session. Physician approval is required. Eight (8) weekly sessions for a total cost of $40. Date: Every Friday Place: Morgan Conference Center

WWW.SAFESTREETDEFENSE.COM 267-592-9477

Free

Join us to learn more about â&#x20AC;&#x153;Centering Pregnancy,â&#x20AC;? an exciting new model of Prenatal Care. Centering Pregnancy focuses on wellness and education in a group setting which allows women to learn about healthy pregnancy, childbirth and post-partum with other women going through a similar experience. Light refreshments will be served. Speaker: Shannon A. Davids, MD, Clinical Instructor, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital Date: Wednesday, April 4 Time: 6 to 7:30 p.m. Place: Morgan Conference Center Register: 1-800-JEFF-NOW

DIAMOND MIXED MARTIAL ARTS

1- 800 -JEFF- NOW

Time: 1 to 2 p.m. Register: 215-952-9179

ADVANCED REGISTRATION â&#x20AC;&#x153;Centering Pregnancyâ&#x20AC;?

Birthday Parties 1714 WASHINGTON AVE. PHILADELPHIA, PA 19146

Free

For those who have experienced a significant loss in their life, this eight-week group session is facilitated by the Pastoral Care Department. Evening support group is based on sufficient enrollment. Registration closes March 27.

JeffersonHealth.org/Events

HOME OF SIDNEY KIMMEL MEDICAL COLLEGE


1 0 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

St. Simon the Cyrenian Church

NEWS

Fundraiser For Thanksgiving Dinner Friday, February 16, 2018 12 noon - 7 pm

$13.00 Fried Fish Platters

$8.00 Fish Sandwich

(with Baked Macaroni & Cheese and Greens)

(includes Cole Slaw)

$13.00 Shrimp Scampi Platters

$10.00 Mussels

(w/Rice or Spaghetti)

(Red or White)

$13.00 Fried Chicken Wing Platter $10.00 Spaghetti (with Macaroni and Cheese/Collard Greens or French Fries)

(w/Meatballs or Sausage)

$13.00 Chicken Marsala (with Spaghetti)

Join us in prayer, especially for our new neighbors Service: 9 am – 10 am | Bible Study | Morning Prayer: 9 am

St. Peter’s Food Truck and Fellowship Café 2nd and 4th Saturday of the month from 11 am to 2 pm

1401 S. 22nd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19146

For information Call: 215-468-1926 or 215-380-0572

S PR I N G GUIDE

Publishing March 7, 2018

Reaching Over 215,000 Readers! Featuring Music, Arts, Nightlife and Cultural events! All the things readers need to know and More! It’s all here in our essential guide to the spring arts & culture season in Philadelphia! Deadline to Reserve Space March 2nd, 2018 For more information, please contact your account representative or call 215-653-7400.

TOM BECK/South Philly Review

Crowds gathered along South Broad Street Thursday, Feb. 8, to celebrate the Eagles Super Bowl LII win as the team made its way aboard a fleet of buses through Center City to the steps of the art museum.

South Broad celebrates in style The atmosphere was festive at the start of the Eagles victory parade, complete with vendors selling T-shirts, fans celebrating in the streets By Tom Beck SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW

A

s the Eagles marched up Broad Street and the Ben Franklin Parkway Thursday, locals from all across the Philadelphia region and beyond – still reeling from the Super Bowl win just a few days earlier – took it all in. “It’s amazing,” said Jeannette Didio, who lives near Passyunk Square. “Surreal, I guess would be the best word. Honestly, I didn’t think it was happening. I really didn’t. I didn’t think it was going to happen in my lifetime, and I think the year that we had, I think it’s a great thing. It’s awesome.” Didio was one of the many people who made it out to Broad Street after the Eagles defeated the Patriots. “Everybody was elated, and it was fun,” said Didio. “The cops were still giving people highfives.” The atmosphere was festive along the entire South Broad portion of the parade, complete with vendors selling T-shirts and fans celebrating in the streets. “It’s been tough getting made fun of for so long and actually finally earning a ring,” said Emaneel

Johnson, a North Jersey resident who has family roots in South Philly. “My father’s side of the family is all from Philadelphia and they’re the ones who got me into football,” he said. “If we can do this with our backup quarterback, c’mon, once [Carson Wentz] gets healthy we can kind of trade in and trade out. We got a lot of opportunity and a lot of potential. I can’t wait for next season.” “People laughed at me because I said we were going to go 10-6,” said Mirley Adolphe. “It was really nice to see how far the city’s come and how much adversity they overcame to get to where they are now.” “It’s a good feeling,” said Meyer Goldsmith, who lives on the 1200 block of South Street. “It’s something that is way overdue. For all the years that I can remember of rooting for the Eagles, I’m really enjoying this and I’m determined to come out today and stand in this cold weather to see my Eagles parade down the street.” Goldsmith said that he could see a change in the city’s mood ever since the Eagles won the Super Bowl. “A lot of people got big ol’ smiles on their face,” he said. “We want to enjoy it. We felt something was about to happen and it’s what happened.”


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 1 1

ADOPT THIS PET

M

Happy days ahead eet Charlie! Sweet Charlie is a happy go

MOST UNION

PLANS ACCEPTED

Dr. Brian Kron South Philadelphia Optical Group

lucky snuggle bug! Heâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s about 3 years old and is a Yorkie mix. Charlie was

1414 S 5th St Philadelphia, PA 19147 | (215) 339-0991

found as a stray in Philadelphia, and is now safe with rescue. He is a sweet boy who loves to be held or on your lap. Charlie does well with other dogs and likes everyone he meets! Just like most of Philly, he got in the spirit this week and wore his Eagles jersey! To adopt Charlie, visit savedme.org. To see more adoptable pets, visit facebook. com/mumsandmutts.

".1-$1.%3'.1$&.-¸

3'1.6! "*,.-# 8236.Âś"'$$2$/(99 2$14.95 (TOPPINGS EXTRA) -.62$15(-&+.-&'.32%.1/(99  -#2 -#6("'$2

NEW! PEPPERONI

-#"'$$2$!(3$26(3' MARINARA OR YOUR CHOICE .%2 4"$$5.25 + 1&$Âś/(99 6(-&2 & 2 LITER SODA

$18.45 MONDAY SPECIAL

2$ %..#/+ 33$1$9.95

-$6/4++$#/.1*/(99

,QFOXGHV)UHVK%UHDGHG)ORXQGHU )ULHG&ODP6WULSV %UHDGHG6KULPS :KLWH3L]]DZLWK6PRNHG3XOOHG3RUN /LJKW3LQHDSSOHDQG5HG2QLRQ JJNPCN?PCBDPCQF?LBGLFMSQC

$14.95

+ 1&$Âś/(99 6(-&2 & 2 LITER SODA

+ 1&$Âś/(99 2 6(-&2 & 2 LITER SODA

NE6 - Homemade Jumbo Lump Crabcake

$23.65

-$6 ALMOND CHEESECAKE CONES

6$#-$2# 82/$"( + $1 OFF ANY PIZZA $2 OFF SICILIAN PIZZA $5.95 -$64/2(#$#.6-/(99 TUESDAY SPECIAL THURSDAY SPECIAL 2OG6W\OH&UXVWZLWKD/D\HURI6OLFHG0R] 1 FREE TOPPING ]DUHOODDQG3URYRORQH7RSSHGZLWK3L]]D $1 OFF CITY OLD STYLE PIZZA WITH YOUR PIZZA 6DXFHDQG*UDWHG&KHHVH

NEW!

$11.95

$29.15 NEW

APPETIZER PARTY TRAY

10 Wings, and choice of 4 of the following apps: Chicken Fingers, Mozzarella Sticks, Poppers, Broccoli Bites, Fried Ravioi or Mac & Cheese Wedges

NEW

318.41-$6!.-$+$226(-&2 24-1(2$61 / B. 1#6 +*238+$/(99 SPECIALTY PIZZA SPECIALTY STROMBOLI $5.95 $10.95

6XQGULHGWRPDWR EDVLOZUDSZLWK JULOOHGFKLFNHQVDXWHHGPXVKURRPV EURFFROLFKHGGDUFKHHVHVOLFHG WRPDWRHV UDQFKGUHVVLQJ

7KLQFUXVWOLJKWVDXFHDQGEOHQGRI FKHHVHV

:,1*6Â&#x2021;)5,(6Â&#x2021;6,'(6Â&#x2021;%85*(5621,215,1*6Â&#x2021;&+,&.(1&87/(76

'.412 ,,(#,.-3'412¸ , ,%1(2 3¸-..-,(#2 4-# 8 /("*4/#$+(5$18 5 (+ !+$+(,(3$##$+(5$18 1$ "' 1&$¸6$ ""$/35(2 , 23$1" 1#

Melt away your winter blues with these Hot Rates!

1.60%

APY*

13 Month CD

1.85%

APY*

39 Month CD

%

2.10

APY*

52 Month CD

2.35%

APY*

72 Month CD Also offering

1.25%

APY*

High Yield Money Market Account Guaranteed Rate For 6 Months

Darby- 610-586-4070 SpringďŹ eld 610-543-2886 Morton 610-544-0400 Aston 610 -485-3100 Philadelphia 215-731-0123 Personal Banking

Retail Lending

Business Banking Commercial Lending www.sharonbank.com

Construction Lending

*Annual Percentage Yield (APY) for all accounts listed is effective as of publication date and subject WRFKDQJHZLWKRXWQRWLFH&HUWĂ&#x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


1 2 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

Last chance to pick your favorites

A

nd the Readersâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; Choice winner for best cheesesteak is â&#x20AC;¦.. Well, that will once again be determined by you, our loyal readers. All you need to do is fill out the ballot below or submit an online ballot (visit southphillyreview. com). The polls will remain open through Monday, Feb. 19. The winners will be announced in our special March 14 Spring Guide. Here are a few simple rules: Â&#x2021;&DQGLGDWHVPXVWEHSHRSOHSODFHVDQGWKLQJVLQ6RXWK3KLOO\ Â&#x2021;3OHDVHSULQWDOOUHVSRQVHV Â&#x2021;6HOHFWLRQVPXVWEHLQGHSHQGHQWO\RZQHGDQGVSHFLILFWRWKHDUHD (no chains). Â&#x2021;,IIHZHUWKDQFDWHJRULHVDUHILOOHGRXWLWZLOOQRWEHFRXQWHGLQ the voting process. Â&#x2021;$QDPHDQGHPDLODGGUHVVDUHUHTXLUHGSKRQHQXPEHULVRSWLRQDO

Send your ballots to: The South Philly Review Attn: Bill Gelman 2 Executive Campus Suite 400 Cherry Hill, NJ 08002

or

news@southphillyreview.com

2018 Readersâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; Choice Awards ballot Auto Mechanic â&#x20AC;&#x201C; (please include business name, address) Bakery

Your name: __________________________________ Phone # (optional): ___________________________

Italian Hoagie Jeweler

Email: ______________________________________ Bank â&#x20AC;&#x201C; (please include address)

Dance Studio

Local Band

Bar Menu

Day Care

Pizza

Best New Restaurant â&#x20AC;&#x201C; (Jan. 2017 to present)

Diner

Real Estate Agent â&#x20AC;&#x201C; (please include company name)

Breakfast Spot â&#x20AC;&#x201C; (non-diner)

Florist

Specialty Sandwich

Butcher

Funeral Home

Specialty Shop

Catering Hall

Gym/Health Club

South Philly Restaurant

Cheesesteak

Hair Stylist â&#x20AC;&#x201C; (please include name of salon)

Supermarket â&#x20AC;&#x201C; (please include address)


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 1 7

FAMOUS BIRTHDAYS

HOROSCOPES

FEB. 14 Danai Gurira, Actress (40) John Marzano, Baseball Player (55) FEB. 15 Alex Borstein, Actress (45) Matt Groening, Cartoonist/Writer (64) FEB. 16 Elizabeth Olsen, Actress (29) John McEnroe, Tennis Player (59) FEB. 17 Michael Jordan, Basketball Player/Actor (55) Jim Brown, Football Player/Actor (82) FEB. 18 Molly Ringwald, Actress (50) Andre ‘Dr. Dre’ Young, Rapper/Actor (53) FEB. 19 Jeff Daniels, Actor (63) Smokey Robinson, Singer (78) FEB. 20 Cindy Crawford, Model/Actress (52) Charles Barkley, Basketball Player (55)

THE OSCARS 52. Rolodex abbr. seat!” ACROSS 53. Purple precipitation 25. *“The Florida Proj1. Can’t stomach 55. Before, old English ect” nominee 6. Styling goo 57. *Evacuation location 26. Mountaineer’s tool 9. Hightailed it 13. Ten million, in India 61. *Olympic hopeful’s 27. Comprehend story 14. “____ takers?” 29. *Best Animated Fea64. Deprive of weapons ture and Best Original 15. Like a girl 16. Spanish small plates 65. *Sarandon was nom- Song nominee 17. School of thought inated for “Lorenzo’s 31. Guesstimate phrase ____” in 1993 suffix 32. Apathetic 67. Unfit 18. Pay hike 33. Lay ____ to a castle 19. *Oscar nominated 69. Like anchor aweigh 34. *21-time nominee meet-the-parents thriller 70. Zilch 36. Albany-Buffalo canal 71. *Cathy Bates’ or Lou- 38. Opposite of talker? 21. *He played Getty 23. Right-angle building ise Fletcher’s role 42. Button on electrical 72. Google ____ extension outlet 73. Bro’s sibling 24. Splints site 45. Economize 25. Mammoth site, e.g. 74. Had supper 49. Feather glue 28. Write on a tomb51. Ray Charles’ “Mess DOWN stone ____” 30. Self-centeredness 1. *Do this and hope for 54. Paintings in an Oran Oscar? 35. Land measure thodox church 2. Toot one’s horn 37. Crucifix 39. “Sesame Street” 3. *18-time Oscar host 56. Boredom 4. Speak from a podium 57. Two of the same regular 58. “Do ____ others...” 40. *In 1992 De Niro was 5. Fix a shoe 59. Narcotics agent nominated for “Cape 6. Manner of walk 60. “Me and Bobby ____” 7. Ensign, for short McGee” singer-song41. *Best category 8. Bodily fluid writer 43. Tiresias in “Oedipus 9. Thailand, once Rex” 10. “____ and proper” 61. Ailments 62. Spinner’s product 44. Desert mirage 11. Additional 63. Altar location 46. S-shaped molding 12. Indigo user 66. *J. Paul Getty’s 47. Dionysus’ party 15. Nirvana genre grandson 48. “____ the unex- 20. Extremist 68. Ideas worth spreadpected” 22. Bald-faced ____ 50. Celestial bear 24. “I call passenger ing, acr.

Crossword solution on page 27 Sudoku solution on page 27

Follow us on social media today!


1 8 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

SPORTS

Eagles players, fans had each other’s backs all season

I

have been blessed to cover the Eagles for 28 seasons now. There have been some exciting seasons and some you wish you could forget. I have seen so many eras over that span including Randall Cunningham, Donovan McNabb, Brian Dawkins, Jon Runyan, Tra Thomas, Brian Westbrook, Eric Allen, William Thomas, Troy Vincent, David Akers and the late Reggie White. In all those years though, I have never seen a team so completely connected to its fans as this Philadelphia Eagles team was with its followers. You can talk about how the Birds improved the receiving corps or how well cornerbacks Jalen Mills and Patrick Robinson responded to the roles they were given by defensive coordinator Jim Schwartz and defensive backs coach Cory Undlin. One could look at the leap Carson Wentz took in his second year as the starting quarterback and that he was a MVP candidate until a knee injury sidelined him on Dec. 10 for the season. Where would this team be without the outstanding play of its offensive and defensive lines and how could the journey be completed without the spectacular play of backup quarterback Nick Foles or the creative play calling of second-year coach Doug Pederson? The Eagles would have been a very good football team no doubt. But would they have won Super Bowl LII and experienced the parade of parades last week without their fans? No, no way. Every player who donned an Eagles uniform this season will admit that. This team suffered an extraordinary number of critical injuries and kept going, kept winning games. This team was lifted by a rabid fan base that would not let them give up. And the Eagles didn’t. “The Philadelphia Eagles fan base has been amazing,” Foles said in the days leading up to the Super Bowl.

Al

Thompson

WEBSTER RIDDICK

Eagles fans flocked Thursday, Feb. 8, to the South Philly Sports Complex, Center City, the Art Museum and everywhere in between along Broad Street to witness the parade celebrating the team’s historic win in Super Bowl LII. “Each and every day, especially at the Linc. They’ve been loud on the road as well. When we went out to LA to play the Chargers earlier in the year, they had to go to a silent count because our fans were so loud in the stadium. That helps us, that helps us in so much and this week we know they will be here and loud … they have had a big impact with us this year.” Foles was right. Tens of thousands of Eagles fans, many without tickets, poured into Minneapolis during the week leading up to the Super Bowl to support their team. Eagles fans flooded Mall of America in Bloomington, Minn., all week chanting “E-A-G-L-E-S” up and down every concourse throughout the massive shopping and entertainment complex. At one point there were reports that mall security actually tried to stop Eagles fans from chanting … right. That idea disappeared quickly. Eagles faithful clearly outnumbered New England Patriots fans by at least a margin of three to one, on the streets and at U.S. Bank Stadium.

Why was the connection so much more intense this season than it has been in years past? Perhaps they see something in each other they can relate to. Since the 1960 Eagles NFL title, Philadelphia has had two World Series championships (1980 and 2008), the Flyers had the two Stanley Cups (1974, ‘75) and the Sixers lone title was in 1983. So over 57 years the Delaware Valley has had one parade every 10 or 11 years. In New York and Boston, it seems like there is a parade every other year. So the City of Brotherly Love has always felt left out. Look at some of the key players on the Eagles roster and you can see right away what the attraction was to their fans. Many players were basically unwanted and unclaimed before ending up in Philadelphia. The underdog theme created by offensive tackle Lane Johnson and defensive Chris Long wasn’t just a gimmick to sell dog masks to raise money for a good cause, it rang

true with most of the players. The three main running backs in the Super Bowl combined for 255 yards of offense and two touchdowns. Corey Clement was undrafted, as was LeGarrette Blount. Jay Ajayi was a fifthround pick. He was unwanted in Miami and traded to the Eagles for basically a bag of footballs. Last year, many fans and observers thought Jason Kelce was washed up and should be replaced. He ended the season first team All Pro. Mills was a seventh-round pick in 2016, started in the Super Bowl and finished leading the team with nine total tackles and two defended passes. Robinson was released by the Indianapolis Colts after the 2016 season. They gave up on him. The Eagles moved him to the slot and all he did was record an electric 50-yard interception return for a touchdown in the first quarter of the Eagles 38-7 win over the Minnesota Vikings, earning the Birds the NFC Championship. Kicker Jake Elliott was plucked off the Cincinnati Bengals practice squad

after starter Caleb Sturgis went down in the season opener. He was cut after the Bengals training camp. Elliott scored 11 points in the Super Bowl and throughout the season provided clutch kick after clutch kick to help the Birds earn their memorable season. Safety Rodney McLeod was undrafted. The five-year veteran recorded a monster sack against the Atlanta Falcons in the Divisional round playoff game and registered six total tackles and a defended pass against the Patriots in the Super Bowl. After the parade, McLeod could only shake his head when asked if it had sunk in about what impact this title has had with the Delaware Valley. “I know the Eagles were really big here, but I had no idea it could be this big,” McLeod said on the steps of the Philadelphia Art Museum where the formal ceremony and speeches took place at the end of the parade. “You just see all the smiles and happy faces with the millions of fans we saw today. It is overwhelming.” Foles, the Super Bowl MVP, was overwhelmed for a few seconds when I asked him shortly after the Super Bowl win if he understood the impact this win was going to have on the City of Philadelphia. He was released by the Kansas City Chiefs after the 2016 season. … another unwanted player the Eagles grabbed. Foles composed himself and spoke from the heart. “To be part of the Eagles’ first championship, we’ve all waited a long time to be in this position to be world champions,” Foles said. “The people who bleed green, the people of Philadelphia, the people all across the nation who have supported the Eagles, they’ve all waited a long time. Mr. (Jeffrey) Lurie’s waited a long time. Being part of this, being drafted by Philadelphia and to be fortunate enough to come back and be part of this...it’s been a long time coming.” The Eagles 2017 season started with question marks all over the roster. These Birds soared with their fans providing the wind for their wings and finished with a standard as a franchise that is now officially certified Gold.

Follow Al Thompson on Twitter @ thompsoniii


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 1 9

PRESIDENTSâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; DAY Window Spec ial!

Presidentsâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; Day Special ENDS Saturday, February 24th

Buy 1 window or patio door, get 1 window or patio door

40% OFF

1

PLUS

Take an additional

$200 OFF

&!" #!$$#   #%$$!!$" !"  !#"!! !!"!% ! & "$$  ! " "$$! "" !#% & !   ! %   !"% "%! "%" $ ! 

your project* PLUS

NO NO NO

Money Down

Payments

Interest

FOR 1 YEAR1 Call to schedule your appointment. Limited appointments are available.

609-920-5214 856-545-9140 1

215-307-4854 TheFibrexWindow.com

Renewal by Andersen of Greater Philadelphia is an independently owned and operated afďŹ liate operating in the Delaware Valley (PA, NJ, DE). Offer not available in all areas. Discount applied by retailer representative at time of contract execution and applies to purchase of 4 or more windows and/or patio doors. Buy two windows and/or patio doors, get the second two windows and/or patio doors, of equal or lesser value, 40% off. Discount applied to lowest priced window and/or door products in purchase. Cannot be combined with other offers. To qualify for discount offer, initial contact for a free Window and Patio Door Diagnosis must be made and documented on or before 2/24/18 with the appointment then occurring no more than 10 days after the initial contact. No payments and deferred interest for 12 months available to well qualiďŹ ed buyers on approved credit only. Not all customers may qualify. Higher rates apply for customer with lower credit ratings. Financing not valid with other offers or prior purchases. No Finance Charges will be assessed if promo balance is paid in full in 12 months. Renewal by Andersen retailers are independently owned and operated retailers, and are neither brokers nor lenders. Any ďŹ nance terms advertised are estimates only, and all ďŹ nancing is provided by third-party lenders unafďŹ liated with Renewal by Andersen retailers, under terms and conditions arranged directly between the customer and such lender, all subject to credit requirements. Renewal by Andersen retailers do not assist with, counsel or negotiate ďŹ nancing, other than providing customers an introduction to lenders interested in ďŹ nancing. PA Lic. # 001884. NJ Lic. # 13VH05055400. J&M Windows, Inc, d/b/a Renewal by Andersen of Greater Philadelphia. â&#x20AC;&#x153;Renewal by Andersenâ&#x20AC;? and all other marks where denoted are marks of Andersen Corporation. Š2018 Andersen Corporation. All rights reserved. Š2018 Lead Surge LLC. All rights reserved. *Special Presidentsâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; Day $200 discount valid during ďŹ rst appointment only.


2 0 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

EAGLES INSIDER

B

Home sweet home in the City of Champions

y every standard, it was an epic event. We knew it would be that way, right? The Eagles won their first Super Bowl on a Sunday night and on the following Thursday afternoon the city of Philadelphia bathed in Eagles green, shouted to the chorus of E-A-GL-E-S, EAGLES and gleefully rubbed shoulders with neighbors and strangers alike in the Parade of Champions. Here we are, a week later, and the vibrations from the world championship and the parade resonate. The air seems just a bit crisper in the region. The traffic jams are more palatable. The angst of life has lessened to a degree, all because the Eagles won the Super Bowl. It’s impossible to accurately quantify the social impact, the quality-of-life impact from such a historic sports achievement, but there is no doubt Eagles fans

‘There isn’t another fan base like this in the NFL.’ – Eagles safety Malcolm Jenkins

– who stretch the entire regional and socio-economic spectrum – are enjoying life more in the afterglow of the Super Bowl LII 41-33 victory over the New England Patriots. “These are the kinds of moments in sports that impact an entire city and then some in a very positive way,” Eagles head coach Doug Pederson said. “Sometimes you don’t take that into account

Dave

Spadaro

when you’re in the game, when you’re a player or a coach. But we’ve seen all season what kind of bond the fans and the team have had. It’s been pretty remarkable. “The fans had a big part in this. The way they responded when we played at Lincoln Financial Field definitely made a difference. And then when we played on the road, it always felt like a home game. Now that we’ve won the Super Bowl, I see it. I hear the stories from the fans about how much it meant to win it all. I feel it. It’s just different.”

There is no question the fans played their part in the Super Bowl season. The Eagles went 7-1 at Lincoln Financial Field during the regular season, losing only the end-of-the-year, didn’t-matterin-the-standings game against Dallas. Then in the postseason, the fans never took a seat, standing and shouting and providing a more significant home-field advantage than at any time in wins over Atlanta and Minnesota. The fans won this Super Bowl, too. “There isn’t another fan base like this in the NFL,” safety Malcolm Jenkins

said. “Every player hears it before they come to Philadelphia. The Eagles matter to these fans and the players, trust me, appreciate that. Football matters to the fans and you don’t find that in every city. In a lot of places, if a team is not playing well, the fans aren’t going to show up. Here, if we’re struggling, the fans are going to show up. They may not be in a good mood, but they’re going to show up and let you know how they feel. “Seeing what’s happened this season, it’s just very, very special. This is one of those seasons that you don’t want to forget. We, as players and on the team, we have to move forward and prepare for next year. I don’t think the fans want to do that quite so soon.” Why should they? Let the good times keep rolling, if only for a little longer. Winning feels good in the City of Champions.

SPORTS BRIEFS EOM spring basketball

EOM will be holding sign-ups for grade school and high school girls spring leagues. Registration will take place at EOM, 144 Moore St. on Tuesday, Feb. 20 and Thursday, Feb. 22, 6:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Registration is $50 per child. Contact Stephen Michielli at sdmichielli@ yahoo.com or eomgirlsbasketball@gmail.com.

SEYAA spring sports

Photo provided by DAVE SPADARO

Eagles Insider Dave Spadaro – who emceed the ceremony on Thursday, Feb. 8, honoring the Super Bowl LII Champion Philadelphia Eagles – hoists the Lombardi Trophy as the parade up Broad Street kicks off.

SEND US YOUR SPORTS BRIEFS

news@southphillyreview.com

The Southeast Youth Athletic Association, 7th and Bigler streets, is accepting registration for its baseball program, which begins April 7. All games are played at SEYAA. Divisions are coed for ages 4-6 (t-ball), 7-8 (pitching machine) 8-10 and 10-12 (live pitch), and 13-15 Babe Ruth Baseball. Girls softball divisions are 9-11 and 12-14. Register by sending your child’s info (name, date of birth, contact phone) and/or request info packet via email at seyaasports@aol.com. For more info, visit facebook.com/groups/103988571981, or call 215-4638802.


COMPREHENSIVE WELLNESS CARE STEEL DOORS, Inc.

For Dogs, Cats, Birds & Exotic Pets WWW3IMMONS!NIMAL(OSPITALCOM ,OOKFORUSON9ELPCOMFORMOREDISCOUNTS

ALLS (OUSE#ABLE IL !VA

Large Selection

Residential and Commercial

0!4)%.43 7%,#/-%

Â&#x2021;<OG@I<J SAVE$20 $20 SAVE Â&#x2021;Â&#x2021;*Â&#x2021;&(, WITH THIS AD, ON YOUR PETS EXAM.

Showroom 7th & Washington

#!,,&/2

WITH THIS AD, ON YOUR PETS EXAM.

!00/).4-%.4

EXP 4/30/18

SIMMONS ANIMAL HOSPITAL

,Q0HPRULDP

SOCIAL AND OBIT DEADLINE MONDAYS @ 3PM

PHOTO QUALITY NOTE: We cannot be held responsible for reproduction of poor quality photographs. This includes those with High percentage of red or orange, far away shots, poorly lit, low resolution or out of focus images. We will always try to get the best quality reproduction, but cannot guarantee. FOR MORE INFO EMAIL: socials.obits@bsmphilly.com or call 215.354.3070

STASKY

215-592-0202 FRANK

TH7OLF3TREETs3OUTH0HILADELPHIAss $)3#/5.4&/23%.)/23 0/,)#% &)2%-),)4!29

/RPEDUG6WUHHW :DVKLQJWRQ6TXDUH:HVW 3KLODGHOSKLD3$

S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 2 1

Valentineâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Day is Here! Show Your loved One How Much They Mean With Roses or a Floral Bouquet From Cedroneâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s!

Cedroneâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Flowers Any Occasion. Every Day. 3+Â&#x2021;&HOO

ZZZFHGURQHVĂ RZHUVFRP

age 95 on Feb 7, 2018 of South Philadelphia. Loving husband of Margaret (nee Pyfer). Father of Francine, Kathleen, Patricia, Francis and Michael, grandfather of 17 and great grandfather of 11. He was a member of the Civilian Conservation Corp., prior to WWII, Served in the US Navy during WWII as â&#x20AC;&#x153;Qualified in Submarinesâ&#x20AC;? on board the USS Mackerel. A machinist by trade and loved being surrounded by his family. Relatives and friends are invited to his viewing on Thursday 9-10 AM at St. Pius X Church, 220 Lawrence Rd., Broomall, PA, followed by his funeral Mass at 10AM. Int. Sts Peter & Paul Cemetery. Arrangements by Frank C. Videon Funeral Home, Broomall .

Doris J. Messick (nee Corrigan)

â&#x20AC;&#x153;A face you can recognize with a reputation for excellenceâ&#x20AC;? 2237-41 S 3rd St, Philadelphia, PA 19148 brianwdonnellyfuneralhome.com 215-334-1578

Brian W. Donnelly Supervisor

Winner of the â&#x20AC;&#x153;Civilian of the Yearâ&#x20AC;? by the Veterans Advisory Commission. Voted best of Philly 2015 and 2016.

Immediate cremation Starting at $995

February 10, 2018, age 80. Wife of the late George Messick. Loving mother to her children: Edward (Stacie) Braceland, Thomas Braceland, Donna (Anthony) Colavita, Nancy Cianfrani, Linda (Jack) Capers, George (Carol) Messick. Survived by her 13 grandchildren and great grandchildren. Relatives and friends are invited to the viewing on Thursday February 15th, 2018 8:30-9:30 am at Stolfo funeral home, 2536 S. Broad St. Philadelphia, PA 19145. Funeral mass 10:00 am St. Monicaâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s church, 17th and Ritner. Interment: Arlington Cemetery 2900 State Road Drexel Hill, PA 19026


2 2 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

215-463-0777

www.alpharealtygroup.com

If you’re thinking of buying or selling contact Alpha Realty Group.

We’re your Neighbors. We specialize in our neighborhood!!! FOR SALE

2040 REED ST. Two to choose from , Gorgeous

1921 S CAMAC ST. Prime East Passyunk location,

2318 S. 3RD ST. Rare opportunity to own a

brand new construction homes with custom features master suites and roof decks, $449,900

walking distance to all your favorite restaurants and cafes, move in ready !! Asking $349,900

beautiful 3 bedroom home located in a highly desirable area of Whitman. Asking $299,900

2417 S. LAWRENCE ST. A wonderful modern upgraded

1632 S. CAMAC ST. 3 Bed Home, located in the

3 bed home, with open porch, H/W flrs, upgraded kitchen and new heating system. Asking $199,900

heart of East Passyunk. Make this home your with some updating at an excellent value. Asking $279,900.

3172 HALSEY PL Packer Pack Cul De Sac, 3 bed

2214 S DARIEN ST Cozy 2 bed home ,with new

sunken liv rm style house with lg yard, needs work asking $309,900

carpeting, nice quiet side st, priced to sell at $154,900

227 FEDERAL Prime Pennsport location, are you looking for a project to handle? 3 bed home w/ large lot in need of renovation asking only $269,900

1508 N. 4TH ST. Olde Kensington, Huge 3 story home w/ 6 bedrooms, lg rear yd loads of potential, make this your dream home. Asking $299,900.

SOLD

SOLD

2423 S. PHILIP ST. Modern 3 bed home located

in the heart of Whitman, new C/A, lovely tree lined street, just bring your furniture. $239,900

359 TREE ST Beautiful brand new 2 bed totally renovated home w/quartz countertops, SS appliances and much more. $285,000

3Waterfront N COLUMBUS BLVD. living beautiful 2

2601 DICKINSON Commercial Property in Grays

bed 2 bath condo completely renovated, with parking and private outside deck asking $349,000.

Ferry, Laundromat and 2 bedroom apartment. Asking $299,900.

2600 S. SARTAIN ST. Spacious corner 3 bed property

SOLD

updated all T/O with central air, high ceilings plenty of closets , close to public transportation. Asking $259,900

942 SIGEL ST. Very affordable beautifully remodeled home located in the very desirable East Passyunk section of South Phila. H/W flrs, exposed brick, priced at $249,900.


CASH FOR YOUR HOME!!! 8%6+)86)%08=

 

WE HAVE CASH BUYERS WHO WANT YOUR PROPERTY, IN ANY CONDITION. CALL CARRIE TODAY FOR A FREE EVALUATION. 267-210-8523

17XX-17XX S. 2ND AND 21XX WATKINS ST., 4 PROPERTIES, A PACKAGE DEAL, OVER 9000 SQ. FT., BUILDING AND A VACANT LOT, $699K 11XX S. 8TH ST, TOTALLY NEW, STORE + APT., $499K 18XX S. 19TH ST, STORE + APT, $399K 11XX S. 9TH ST. , STORE FOR RENT, $1400/MONTH 34XX COTTMAN AVE., 2 APTS, $159K 8LMROMRKSJWIPPMRK 23XX GREENWICH ST., TOTALLY NEW, 3 BED, 1.5 BATH, $239K FY]MRKSVVIRXMRK# 29XX NEW HOPE ST., TOTALLY NEW, GARAGE, 3 BEDS, 1.5 BATH, $259K 'EPP'EVVMI>LES 24XX S. 12TH ST, 3 BEDS, 3.5 BATHS, ROOF DECK, $419K

SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM

$CASH$ For Your Home

No Commission. No Fees. For Immediate Sale, Call

Joe Catroppa

BHHS FOX & ROACH REALTORS

Cell: 215-432-6350

www.

southphillyreview.com

WEEKLY MORTGAGE RATES Presented by Prudential Bank

30YR Fixed Rate Mortgage

Rate 4.750% APR 4.785% Rates as of February 5, 2018 10:00 AM. *APR= Annual Percentage Rate. Rates subject to change daily (including same day). For real time rates, please call 215-755-1500. The rate you receive may be higher based on credit score, mortgage loan-to-value ratio and other loan factors. Please call for Jumbo Rates (above $453,100). Subject to credit approval. Property insurance required. Loan to values from 80% to 97% require PMI (Private Mortgage Insurance). Other costs and fees may apply. Monthly P&I payment of $1382.37 based on a $265,000.00 loan amount, 360-month term, assumed credit score of 740 & loan-to-value of 80%. *P&I= Principal and Interest. These payments do not include amounts for taxes and insurance premiums; actual payment will be greater. NMLS #518005

S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 2 3

Patrick Conway | 215-266-1537 patrick@conwayteam.com 90% OF OUR BUSINESS COMES FROM FRIENDS TELLING FRIENDS.

PERFORMANCE AWARD 2017 - 31st Place out of 68,000 Berkshire Hathaway Real Estate Professionals Nationwide. For all who have participated in helping us receive this award WE ARE GRATEFUL! NEW LISTING: 1622 S 2nd St - Gorgeous 4 BR, 2.5 BA Home w/ LR, DR, Hrwd Flrs, High Ceilings, Eat in Kitchen w/ SS, Finished Basement & New facade. $439,900 NEW LISTING: 908 S 11th St - Another Stunning Total Rehab by Olkowski Properties! Beautiful 4 BR, 2.5 BA Home w/ LR, DR, Hrwd Flts T/O, Cookâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Kitchen, Granite, SS, Finished Basement & Roof Deck. $699,900 617 Emily St - Unbelievable 3 Bedroom, 3 Full Bath New Construction Home w/ LR, DR, Hardwood Floors, Crown Molding, Full Kitchen, SS, Finished Basement & Roof Deck. $389,900 2708 S 16th St - A Large 4 Bedroom, 1.5 Ba Home with LR/DR combo, Hrwd Flrs, upgraded kitchen, SS, Spacious Deck & Finished Basement. $349,900 132 Hoffman St - A Gorgeous 3 Story, 3 Bedroom, 2 Full Bath Home w/ Hardwood Floors, Granite Kitchen, Deck w/ Center City Skyline Views. $379,900 348 Wharton St - A Corner Triplex! Three D Eat in Kitchens. SOL 1 Bedroom Apartments with Property needs updating. $349,900 922 S 2nd St - A Charming 2 BR, 1.5 BA Home on a Beautiful Tree Lined Block w/LR, Built in Bookshelves, Full Kit & Yard.$299,000

312 Gerritt St - A Cute 2 Story 2 Bedroom Home w/LR/DR, Hrwd Flrs, EIK, Yard & Basement $169,900 219-221 Earp St - A double wide property (24x55) with 2 car deeded parking. This G well kept Home has DIN ENFloor 2 BR, Hrwd Flrs,P Open Plan, EIK, Lg BA & Yard. Located in a Great Pennsport Location w/ incredible $320,000 southern exposure. 706-24 Latona St - Unbelievable Compound - 10 Full Lots w/ 2 Existing G Family Homes IN Single ENDGarden + a Private ZenP Sitting Space. Also could be an Outstanding Development Opportunity. $2,199,000 RENTAL SECTION 620 S Front St - A Great 1 Bedroom + Den Apartment w/ Fireplace, Washer, Dryer, Central Air &7 Deck with City Views. Without parking $1400 - with Parking $1600 766 S 2nd St - A Nice Bi Level 2 Bedroom Apartment with Eat in Kitchen, Deck, Central Air and Washer/Dryer. $1500 119 Ellsworth St - Great 3 Bedroom, 1 Bath Home w/ Hrwd Flrs, Gas Fp, CA & Fin Bsmt. $1500 623 S American St B - Charming Private Courtyard Trinity w/1 BR + Den, LR, DR, Exposed Brick & Meredith School District. $1550

A]QWSbg6WZZ=T¿QSÂ&#x2019; #$ %$#Â&#x2019;eeeQ]\eOgbSO[Q][Â&#x2019;D; # $$#!%

THE KEY TO YOUR NEW HOME

TO ADVERTISE IN THE SOUTH PHILLY REVIEW REAL ESTATE SECTION CALL 215.354.3070 SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM


2 4 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

EMPLOYMENT WEEKLY

facebook.com/employmentweeklymagazine EmploymentWeeklyMagazine.com TO PLACE A RECRUITMENT DISPLAY AD CALL

856-779-3873 EMPLOYMENT General Employment

EMPLOYMENT General Employment

*$62/,1('5,9(56 (;3(5,(1&('21/< /$5*(6-3(752/(80 75$163257(5+$6 ,00(',$7(23(1,1*6 )2((;321/< *$62/,1('5,9(56 &/($1&'/$:,7+ +$=0$77$1.(5 (1'256(0(176<56 9(5,),$%/((;3 0(',&$/'(17$/ 9,6,213/$16$9$,/ 527+,5$$9$,/$%/( &203(7,7,9(/2$'3$< 1,*+7',))(5(17,$/ 3$<9$&$7,213$< +2/,'$<3$< 3(5621$/6,&.3$< 6,*121%2186 6 3%21863$,' 48$57(5/< 0$1<27+(53(5.6 '(3276/2&$7(',1 (/0(53$8/6%252 6287+3+,/$'(/3+,$ &$//)5('# 237 0)$03025(0$,/ IUHG#OHHWUDQVSRUWFRP

LINE COOK Exp'd. 40 hr. shift avail. Apply in person: The Dining Car, 8826 Frankford Ave. Phila., PA 19136.

FLAGGERS ($12.50/hr)

Traffic Plan seeks Flaggers to set up & direct traffic around construction sites. A valid PA driver license & clean driving record a must, good pay & benefits. If interested please fill out an application at 510 Hertzog Blvd, King of Prussia, PA on Mondayâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s 10am-2pm or online at trafficplan.com.

TELLER POSITIONS P/T+F/T Local Community Bank has immediate P/T + F/T Teller Positions avail. in South Phila. Experience preferred. Pay commensurate w/experience level. Email resume to: jmellett@unitedsavingsbank. com or Fax to: 215-467-1149. EOE QC / BILLING CLERK NE Co seeks detail oriented person. Review materials for accuracy, processing. Invoice for reviewed materials. Will train. Benefits + perks. Send resume Fax 215-335-3272 or legal@medleg.com

7HDFKHU$VVLVWDQWV37)7 ([SSUHI G(PDLOUHVXPH DPDQGD#DOSKDEHWDFDGHP\ FRP %/22''21256 $OOGRQRUVSDLG 1RDSSRLQWPHQWQHFHVVDU\ :DONLQVZHOFRPH0XVWEH KHDOWK\DQGKDYHSURSHU,' 0XVWSURYLGH6RFLDO6HFXULW\ FDUG,QWHUVWDWH%ORRG%DQN 1%URDG6W 3KLOD3$  +UVDP

DAYCARE WORKER P/T. 11th & Tasker. Must have all clearances & have a lot of energy. Call 215-334-0175 '5,9(56 $OO7KUHH V/X[XU\6HGDQ 7D[LFDEORRNLQJIRUSURIHV VLRQDOGULYHUV+LJKLQFRPH 6HW\RXURZQKUV3OHDVHFDOO 0)DS

General Employment

F/T Entry Level Position in Medical Office Long term commitment Will train. Must have car. Spanish speaking a plus (215) 431-0452 *(1(5$/$1' 75($70(17)267(5 3$5(1761(('(' 2SHQ\RXUKHDUWDQGKRPH WRFKLOGUHQRIDOODJHV 1HZ)RXQGDWLRQV,QF  ZZZQILNLGVRUJ

Health Care

HHAs/CNAs

Salaried FT, Needs 1 yr exp, will pay mileage. hr@ marscare.com (215) 763-3992 Medical Assistant F/T or P/T for busy allergy practice. Seeking highly motivated professional, preferably with experience. Local paid travel req'd. Excellent comp package. Fax resume to Sandy 215-6776410.

To advertise in SPR call: LINERS: 215-355-1234

16319A>@1:/AA74732A47@AB4=@53<3@/:A3@D713AÂ&#x2019;/<2;=@3

SPR CLASSIFIEDS DISPLAY: 215.354.3070 | LINERS: 215.355.1234 | SOUTHPHILLYREVIEW.COM FOR RENT

GENERAL SERVICES

GENERAL SERVICES

One Bedroom for Rent

Appliance Repairs

Exterminating

11XX E. PASSYUNK AVE. 2nd. flr., hrdwd flrs., A/C, W/D $950/mo.+utils. 267-334-6111 Two Bedrooms for Rent

7+ 5,71(5 2 Bdrms., Kit, bath, LR, w/d incld. $1200/mo. Call 908-7253020 or 908-947-6395 Houses for Rent

12th & Jackson Beautiful home. 1-2 BR's $1300+ utils. Close to trans. Fully loaded. 215-718-4932 +286(6)255(17 6RXWK3KLOD6HFWLRQ DSSURYHG&DOO 7H[W JLQDUNLQYHVW#JPDLOFRP Room for Rent

23rd & WOLF AREA $450/month, utilities included, use of kitchen, no pets. Prefer retired male. Contact Mrs. Willis, 215-492-5242 COMMERCIAL INDUSTRIAL Garages for Rent/Sale

STORAGE/GARAGE-9th & Porter vic., $175 mo.+ last mo. & sec. 215-463-3987 AUTOS FOR SALE Junk Cars

SAME DAY SERVICE

APPLIANCE WIZARD Family Owned and Operated

iÂ&#x2DC;Â&#x201C;Â&#x153;Ă&#x20AC;iĂ&#x160;UĂ&#x160;7Â&#x2026;Â&#x2C6;Ă&#x20AC;Â?ÂŤÂ&#x153;Â&#x153;Â?Ă&#x160;UĂ&#x160; Ă&#x160;ÂłĂ&#x160;>Ă&#x17E;Ă&#x152;>}Ă&#x160;

>Â?Â&#x153;Ă&#x20AC;Â&#x2C6;iĂ&#x160;UĂ&#x160;Â&#x2C6;Ă&#x152;VÂ&#x2026;iÂ&#x2DC;>Â&#x2C6;`Ă&#x160;UĂ&#x160;/>ÂŤÂŤ>Â&#x2DC;Ă&#x160; >}Â&#x2C6;VĂ&#x160; Â&#x2026;ivĂ&#x160;UĂ&#x160;"Ă&#x152;Â&#x2026;iĂ&#x20AC;Ă&#x160; Ă&#x20AC;>Â&#x2DC;`Ă&#x192;

EXPERT REPAIRS ON 7ASHERSs$RYERSs2EFRIGERATORSs$ISHWASERS 'ARBAGE$ISPOSALSs-ICROWAVESs2ANGES/VENS

6(59,1*$// 6287+3+,/$'(/3+,$

ASK ABOUT OUR FIRST TIME CUSTOMER DISCOUNT

DOMINICâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S

APPLIANCE REPAIR SERVICE a All Major Appliances aCC0FIB L8I8EK<<; a $75,<IM@:<8GGC@<;KF repair or new appliance purchase.

267-314-5340 1749 W. Passyunk Ave.

 %%'#%%) +$ *"  !& %%'#%&  %*%& +#&%)%%$% +"#%'*"&#("'

  ''

   

NICKâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S APPLIANCE SERVICE EOaVS`aÂ&#x2019;2`gS`a Refrigerators

Gas & Electric Ranges

TOP $$$ PAID FOR JUNK CARS Free Pick Up 24 Hour Service /+t1"

ALL WORK GUARANTEED

215-923-1032 Appliance Sick Call Nick!

TO ADVERTISE

Paid Guaranteed!

CALL:

267-229-1970

DISPLAY:

WE BUY CARS & TRUCKS

$100 to $5000 Cash Any Condition Free Towing Same Day Service

$300 & UP For Running Vehicles Also Highest Cash For Junk Vehicles Same Day Services New and Used Parts Sold

215-203-0993 &$6+3$,')RU$Q\ &RPSOHWH-XQN&DUZLWKRU ZLWKRXWWLWOH

Family Owned Since 1958

1 0% Off with this ad Bed Bugs, Roaches & Mice

Police & FireďŹ ghter Discounts

Marc McGarrigle, Owner 215.431.3278

BOBâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S

EFJ<IM@:<:?8I>< N@K?I<G8@IJ

215.463.2241

McGarrigle Pest Control

215-354-3070 LINERS:

215-355-1234

EXTERMINATING Licensed by Dept of Agriculture, Health & Safety Division Established 1967 We Are State Certified For Bed Bugs. Pet Friendly & Child Safe.

/LFHQVHG ,QVXUHG

Lic # (BU7515)

+ + + + + THE NEW! + + + + + + + + + +

215-465-8023 BOBSEXTERMINATING.COM

LOOKING TO

<7+(;, @6<9 /64,& */,*2

:79 *3(::0-0,+:

-09:;


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 2 5

16319A>@1:/AA74732A47@AB4=@8=0AÂ&#x2019;53<3@/:A3@D713AÂ&#x2019;6=;37;>@=D3;3<BÂ&#x2019;>@=43AA7=</:A3@D713AÂ&#x2019;/<2;=@3

SPR CLASSIFIEDS

D I S P L AY : 2 1 5 . 3 5 4 . 3 0 7 0

|

L I N E R S : 2 1 5 . 3 5 5 .1 2 3 4

|

S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

GENERAL SERVICES

HOME IMPROVEMENT

HOME IMPROVEMENT

Moving & Hauling

Handyman

Ornamental Iron

NO JOB TOO BIG OR SMALL LIC. & INSURED

FREE ESTIMATES!

TRASH REMOVAL BASEMENT CLEANOUTS DEBRIS REMOVAL ESTATES DEMOLITION SCRAP METAL WHOLE HOUSE GUTS HAULING

215-500-3903 philipsmovingandremoval.com

HOME IMPROVEMENT

Specializing in your homeâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s exterior needs. SpeciďŹ cally POINTING, BRICK WORK, CAULKING, POWER WASHING AND LEAK CONTROL 1OZZT]`T`SS_c]bS4C::G:713<A32/<27<AC@32Â&#x2019;CALL 267-337-2393. Cement Work

HIGGINS CEMENT WORK All Types of Cement Work! Exposed Aggregated, Concrete, Stucco, Brick Pointing, Brick & Block Work, Glass Blocks & Steps, Basement Walls, Floors & Sump Pump Systems Discount Winter Rates FREE Quality & Dependable Work Basement ESTIMATE 215-739-4347 Walls & Floors

STEVEN J. LEUZZI â&#x20AC;&#x153;King of Sidewalksâ&#x20AC;?

Driveways, Basements, Brick, Block, Brick Pointing & Restorations

215.339.0298 Electrician

HANDYMAN

267-861-1122

Heating

CITY WIDE ELECTRIC

;GGDAF?%@=9LAF?%=D=;LJA;9D

215-500-9133

LIC. & INS PA 04729

->Â?iĂ&#x192;Ă&#x160;UĂ&#x160;-iĂ&#x20AC;Ă&#x203A;Â&#x2C6;ViĂ&#x160;UĂ&#x160;Â&#x2DC;Ă&#x192;Ă&#x152;>Â?Â?>Ă&#x152;Â&#x2C6;Â&#x153;Â&#x2DC;

215-336-6010

Lic & Ins. / Residential PA#117950

â&#x20AC;&#x153;ALWAYS AFFORDABLE ELECTRIC INC.â&#x20AC;&#x153;

RESIDENTIAL COMMERCIAL

-08&4513*$&4ti8&%0*5"--wt'"45&.&3(&/$:4&37*$&t10-*$& '*3&4&/*03%*4$06/54

".1t#SFBLFSTt-JHIUJOHt0VUMFUTt'VTF3FQBJS $FJMJOH'BOTt4XJUDIFTt%SZFS-JOFTt%PPSCFMM3FQBJST

10% OFF w/ this ad

SIMPSONâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;S HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING /6<9,4,9.,5*@:,9=0*,

215-732-5339

215-722-5993 856-728-3364

4UBUF-JDFOTF1"$JUZPG1IJMBEFMQIJB&MFDUSJDBM-JDFOTF8FXJMM#&"5"--&45*."5&4

ELECTRIC SANTO & SONS ELECTRIC R.E.M. Your Neighborhood Electrician FREE ESTIMATE ON ANY JOB No Job Too Small or Too Big

Sr. Citz Disc. PA 076214

A Family Business Since 1978

Licensed & Insured Lic. 37341

All Calls Will Be Answered Promptly

CALL

267-240-7396

NO JOB TOO SMALL! Same Day Service Licensed & Insured

All Work Guaranteed

Lic. # 000322

(267) 228-5160

LgY\n]jlak]afKHJ[Ydd2

LINERS: 215-355-1234

All Work Custom Made



Home Improvement Special

,THPS!ZPTWZVUZOLH[PUN'JVTJHZ[UL[ Lic. & Ins. (Owner) George Simpson III

***ALL MAJOR CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED***

LgY\n]jlak]afKHJ[Ydd2 DISPLAY:

215-354-3070 kgml`h`addqj]na]o&[ge

-9,,,:;04(;,:

Painting

Fornaretti & Son Construction

/ZZ6][S@S^OW`a(>Zc[PW\UÂ&#x2019;3ZSQb`WQOZ Your stress free contractor 1O`^S\b`g2`gEOZZBWZS@S^OW`a;]`S FOR ALL YOUR HOME IMPROVEMENT 2`OW\ASeS`1ZSO\W\U Bill Fornaretti 1SWZW\U4O\aÂ&#x2019;>]eS`EOaVW\U Resident of Philadelphia for 50 years Licensed & Insured AWRW\U/e\W\Ua4`]\ba For more info call: @S^OW`:SOYg4OcQSba2`OW\aB]WZSba AOdS;]\Sg 215-681-0838 4`SS0SOb/\gSabW[ObS "% EVObWag]c`X]P-7R]Wb

Electrician

"Free Estimates''100 & 200 AMP SERVICE A/C, Range & Dryer Lines, Panels & Panel Repairs

0U[LYPVY,_[LYPVY9HPSPUNZ >PUKV^ +VVY.\HYKZ *LSSHY+VVYZ:LJ\YP[`+VVYZ

FREE ESTIMATESs   /<=B63@8=02=<3

UNITED STATES RESTORATION, INC.

JIM J.M. Iron Works

From honey do list to repairs and home renovations, WE WILL DO IT. Serving the Philadelphia area for 20 years Handyman

Brick Work

CALL FOR FREE ESTIMATE

CALL

LOCAL HANDYMEN SERVICES

Sharp Edge Painting $BMM%BOOZGPSB'SFF&TUJNBUF

(215) 882-0704 t*OUFSJPS&YUFSJPS Painting t%FDL1BJOU4UBJOJOH t%SZXBMM3FQBJST t1PXFSXBTIJOH

t'MPPSJOHBOE4JEJOH t1PQDPSO$FJMJOH 3FQBJST t8BMM1BQFS3FNPWBM t"MM)BOEZNBO4FSWJDFT

Licensed & Insured #PA116166 | OSHA CERTIFIED | Accepting All Major Credit Cards

*/,*2

:79 *3(::0-0,+:

-09:; LgY\n]jlak]afKHJ[Ydd2 DISPLAY:

215-354-3070 LINERS:

215-355-1234 kgml`h`addqj]na]o&[ge


2 6 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

16319A>@1:/AA74732A47@AB4=@8=0A’53<3@/:A3@D713A’6=;37;>@=D3;3<B’>@=43AA7=</:A3@D713A’/<2;=@3

SPR CLASSIFIEDS |

L I N E R S : 2 1 5 . 3 5 5 .1 2 3 4

|

S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

HOME IMPROVEMENT

HOME IMPROVEMENT

Plumbing

5RR¿QJ

If You Have Water Damage Caused By:

A Plus

ÀiiÊœ“iʘëiV̈œ˜ œÊ,iVœÛiÀÞ]Ê œÊii

As a home owner you are entitled to compensation from water damage. We will review your Home Owners UÊ   Ê** - in Wall, Floor or Ceiling policy in the convenience of your home and answer all UÊ "ÛiÀœÜʜvÊ/œˆiÌ]Ê-ˆ˜ŽÊœÀÊ ˆÃ…Ü>ÅiÀ your questions. Representing home owners and business UÊ ,Õ«ÌÕÀi`ÊœÌÊ7>ÌiÀÊ/>˜Ž claims caused by FIRE, SMOKE, WATER, WIND, THEFT or UÊ   Ê,"", 7 -/", VANDALISM.

Funari Public Adjusters

,œœvˆ˜}ÊEÊ œ˜ÌÀ>V̈˜}]ʘV°

215-988-9004

Residential & Commercial

FREE ESTIMATES

CALL US IMMEDIATELY

œ˜`i`ÊUʈV°ÊLÞÊ*ÊEÊ ÊEÊ i°Ê˜Ã°Ê i«Ì° әx£Ê-°Ê£È̅Ê-ÌÀiiÌ]Ê*…ˆ>Ê*Ê£™£{x

®

$EALä$IRECTä7ITHä/WNERäsäSenior Citizen Discounts

215-271-9582

9,79,:,5;05.:6<;/7/03(/64,6>5,9:-696=,9@,(9:

SOUTH PHILA FINEST

5RR¿QJ

PETER CARLOMANGO &SONS The Hard To

Leak Experts ROOFING Find

$450.00*

®

NUNZIO FORTUNA

ROOFING

HOME: (215)463-4720 CELL: (267)252-4900 BORN, RAISED, & SERVING SOUTH PHILLY FOR OVER 30 YEARS

215-336-0969

FORTUNA HOME IMPROVEMENT, LLC

DENNIS PRATT AND SON REGISTERED PLUMBING/HEATING

ACCEPTING MOST MAJOR CC’S VIOLATIONS CORRECTED, SEWER LINES, COMPLETE BATHROOMS & KITCHENS, HOT WATER TANKS (Reg. #3948) NO JOB TOO SMALL

FORTUNA ROOFING       “The only family in the Review EVERY WEEK Since 1967”

WE BABY YOUR ROOF!!! ®

82 Years

& 4 Generations

FÀiiÊ Ã̈“>ÌiÃÊUÊÊÓ£x‡În™‡ÎÇ™Ç Plumbing

Family Plumber

For All Your Plumbing Needs, No Job Too Small or Too Big +Drain Cleaning + Free Estimates + Senior Citizen Discounts +EMEGENCY SERVICE

215-271-9945

DISPLAY:

215-354-3070 LINERS:

215-355-1234

5RR¿QJ

Talk of the Town 2013 Customer Satisfaction Award!

SOUTH PHILLY’S ROOFER OF THE YEAR 2012!

%!   

    

WWW.SOUTHPHILLYROOFING.COM

RUBBER ROOFS & REPAIRS

Call Steve J. Leuzzi, Sr. (215) 651-2009 3rd Genration in the Business

SERVING SOUTH PHILLY & THE TRI-STATE AREA

FREE

LICENSED & INSURED ROOFING CONTRACTORS SENIOR RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL DISCOUNTS ESTIMATES TOP QUALITY MATERIAL & CRAFTSMANSHIP USED ON EVERY JOB RUBBER ROOF ROOF REPAIRS WINDOW, DOOR & SIDING ASPHALT ROOF GUTTER & DOWN SPOUTS CUSTOM CAPPING SHINGLE ROOFS ALUMINUM COATING

SKYLIGHTS

ROOF CERTIFICATIONS

WE HONOR OTHER ROOFING CONTRACTS

NOT AFFILIATED WITH ANY OTHER FORTUNA ROOFING OR CONST. CO. LIC. # 22601

CALL TODAY

PA 090147

215.468.8396 NUNZIOFORTUNAROOFING@GMAIL.COM

SENIOR CITIZEN DISCOUNT

WE DID IT AGAIN! BOARD OF REVIEW

ROOFER OF THE YEAR 2014 - SOUTH PHILLY!

A RATED BY THE BBB

$!$(## ""!  !!!

 !! ' !& "!  WINTER !! SPECIAL ROOF SERVICE $"  STARTING AT ""!   $199! * SOME RESTRICTIONS APPLY

ROOFING COMPANY

215.468.8396

To advertise in SPR call:

DISPLAY: 215-354-3070 LINERS: 215-355-1234

+RUBBER ROOFS

+SHINGLES

+SIDING

+CAPPING

+SKYLIGHTS

+SILVER COATING

+REPAIRS

+CERTIFICATIONS

-FREE ESTIMATES

-LIC. & INSURED

Mention this ad for

10% Off Any Job

POLICE & FIRE DISCOUNT

LIC. # 26429

NO ONE INSTALLS A BETTER ROOF AT A BETTER PRICE THAN FORTUNA... NO ONE!

LgY\n]jlak]afKHJ[Ydd2

Marty the

Celebrating

NUNZIO SR. FOUNDER

INC.

SOUTH PHILLY’S MOST RECOMMENDED, RELIABLE & HONEST ROOFERS! ALL ROOFS PRICED INDIVIDUALLY...NO GIMMICKS STRUGGLING TO MAKE ENDS MEET? CALL FOR A FREE ESTIMATE WE CAN HELP! DEAL DIRECT PLUS OWNER ON EVERY JOB!

Lic. # 533066

GUARANTEED PLUMBING CO.

UÊ,1 ,Ê,""ˆVi˜Ãi`ÊEʘÃÕÀi`Ê ,1 , UÊ-*/Ê,""#26194 ,""UÊ-9/As Low As UÊ1// ,-ÊEÊ "7 -*"1/UÊ-  Ê,""UÊ, *,-ÊEÊ "/ £x‡9À°ÊÕ>À° U1«Ê̜Êxääõ°ÊvÌ° PA034244

R. RHOADS & SONS ROOFING INC. Over 20 Years Experience - Owner Operated

t3VCCFS3PPGT t4QPVUT t4IJOHMFT t$PBUJOHT t4JEJOH t3FQBJST t(VUUFST t4LZMJHIUT Insured & Lic #46941

215-888-2963 FREE ESTIMATES

LgY\n]jlak]afKHJ[Ydd2

LINERS: 215-355-1234

VETERAN’S DISCOUNT

D I S P L AY : 2 1 5 . 3 5 4 . 3 0 7 0


S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M 2 7

16319A>@1:/AA74732A47@AB4=@8=0AÂ&#x2019;53<3@/:A3@D713AÂ&#x2019;6=;37;>@=D3;3<BÂ&#x2019;>@=43AA7=</:A3@D713AÂ&#x2019;/<2;=@3

SPR CLASSIFIEDS

D I S P L AY : 2 1 5 . 3 5 4 . 3 0 7 0

|

L I N E R S : 2 1 5 . 3 5 5 .1 2 3 4

HOME IMPROVEMENT

NOTICES

Windows

Legal Notices

OREGON CO. KING OF WINDOWS

WINDOW REPAIR SPECIALISTS

215-336-3448 628 Oregon Ave.

All Types of Glass Installed

COLD WEATHER IS HERE! REPLACE OR REPAIR YOUR OLD DOORS & WINDOWS NOW AND SAVE $$$

MENTION THIS AD FOR A FREE GIFT!

Shutters, 2-Inch Wood, Pleated Shades, Roman Shades, Drapes, Verticals, Mini-Blinds Discount Price With Installation

Call Eileen

215-465-7525

S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

Pursuant to the PA Law PA-SB799 the following units will be sold at auction to satisfy lien on unit. 1014 James Lynch Jr 2063 Charles Accetura 2110 Justin Cartwright The units will be sold at auction at Philly Self Storage 1910 S. Christopher Columbus Blvd 19148 on Tuesday, February 27, 2018 at 11:00 am

Lic# 20283

www.oregonwindow.com

HAPPY WINDOWS

|

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES PennSCAN

Miscellaneous: SAWMILLS from only $4397.00 â&#x20AC;&#x201C; MAKE & SAVE MONEY with your own bandmill â&#x20AC;&#x201C; Cut lumber any dimension. In stock ready to ship! FREE Info/DVD: www.NorwoodSawmills.com 800-567-0404 Ext.300N

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES

PERSONALS

LOOKING TO

Prayer Thank You

PRAYER TO THE HOLY SPIRIT

Holy Spirit, You who make me see everything and who shows me the way to reach my ideals, You who give me the divine gift to forgive and forget the wrong that is done to me and You, who are in all the instances of my life with me, I, in this short dialogue want to thank you for everything and affirm once more that I never want to be separated from you no matter how great the material desires may be. I want to be with you and my loved ones in your perpetual glory. AMEN. Thank You for your love towards me and my loved ones. Pray this prayer three consecutive days straight without asking for your wish. After the third day your wish will be granted. Promise to publish your dialogue as soon as your favor has been granted. Thank You St Joseph for Favors Granted.

M.D.

PennSCAN ADULT SERVICES Adult Miscellaneous

Connect Instantly With sexy local singles. No paid operators, just real people like you. Call Now! 1-877-391-1010 livelinks.com 18+

<7+(;, @6<9 /64,& */,*2

:79 *3(::0-0,+:

-09:;

TO ADVERTISE PennSCAN

PennSCAN

Adoption: ADOPT: Nurturing couple will provide a stable, secure home, full of unconditional love for your baby. Expense paid. Call/Text 646-983-1623. Lisa and Brian

Wanted/Buy or Trade: FREON R12 WANTED: CERTIFIED BUYER will PAY CA$H for R12 cylinders or cases of cans. (312)291-9169; www.refrigerantfinders.com

Help Wanted Drivers: Driver Owner Operators CDL â&#x20AC;&#x153;Aâ&#x20AC;? HOME DAILY! Industry Leading Pay Structure! Harrisburg and Allentown, PA. All dispatched miles paid â&#x20AC;&#x201C; loaded and empty! Call 1-800-7567433 www.triplecrownsvc.com

LgY\n]jlak]afKHJ[Ydd2

LINERS: 215-355-1234

PROFESSIONAL SERVICES Professional Services

DIVORCE $155* NO FAULT UNCONTESTED

No Court Appearance Needed

5 Months=$155* 3 Months=$275* 6 Weeks =$355*

215-854-6340 Divorce Guides www.DIVORCEGUIDES.net

Aaron I. Rappeport, Esq. 1515 Market Street Ste 1200 Philadelphia PA

*Plus $100.00 Court Filing Fee

CALL: DISPLAY:

215-354-3070 LINERS:

215-355-1234

LgY\n]jlak]afKHJ[Ydd2 DISPLAY:

215-354-3070 LINERS:

215-355-1234 kgml`h`addqj]na]o&[ge


2 8 S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W I F E B R U A R Y 1 4 , 2 0 1 8 I S O U T H P H I L LY R E V I E W. C O M

r groceries Do you need you ad, and more milk, eggs, bre delivered right to your home? We can do it for you! Give us a call today

CONGRATS EAGLES!!

WORLD CHAMPIONS!!

HELP WANTED EXP

ERIENCE NECESSARY ALL POSITIONSINCLUDING DELIVERY. FULL & PART TIME APPLY WITHIN!

P 215.755.5159

THE ORIGINAL

SOUTH PHILLY - 11TH & WOLF STS.

:::127-8673,==$1(7‡OPEN 7 DAYS 9AM - 11PM

WACKY WING WEDNESDAY!

SPECIALS

HALF PRICE WINGS ALL DAY EVERY WEDNESDAY

2 16” PIZZAS ONLY $15.99

SIGN UP FOR NJP REWARDS

Scan me!

+ TAX

MUST PRESENT THIS COUPON. EXPIRES 3/14/18

3 CHEESESTEAKS OR 3 HOAGIES HAM, TURKEY OR ITALIAN

ONLY $16.99

+ TAX

MUST PRESENT THIS COUPON. EXPIRES 3/14/18

EVERYDAY SPECIAL 16” CHEESE PIZZA, 12 WINGS & A 2-LITER COKE FOR

ONLY $17.99

+ TAX

& EARN FREE STUFF!

1/2 PRICE APPETIZERS EVERY DAY AFTER 9PM

MUST PRESENT THIS COUPON. EXPIRES 3/14/18

THE ORIGINAL NOT JUST PIZZA NOTJUSTPIZZA SOUTHPHILLYNOTJUSTPIZZA

South Philly Review 2-14-2018  

A (Philly) special day; City marks historic Eagles Super Bowl LII win

South Philly Review 2-14-2018  

A (Philly) special day; City marks historic Eagles Super Bowl LII win

Advertisement