Page 1

Annual Review 2011-2012

Contents

2. A great year for SUSU | 3. About SUSU | 4. Voice | 6. Support 8. Communities | 10. Building an effective organistation


A great year for SUSU

I hope that after reading this review you will be able to see what a remarkable Students’ Union SUSU really is. It is a privilege to work with such engaged, creative and enthusiastic students and the achievements we have reported here have only been possible with strong partnerships that have been built up over the years. First and foremost we’d like to thank the thousands of students who work tirelessly to deliver an astonishing range of events and activities for their peers. We’ve had a hugely successful year working with our university colleagues and we’d like to thank them too for their continued commitment, support and encouragement. Finally, it’s been a pleasure this year to reach out further into the Southampton community and develop new and existing relationships, especially with local voluntary organisations, residents associations, and others who have sought to support our students during their time in the city. SUSU is confident of a strong future. We are flexible enough to take on the challenges created by the new funding regime in Higher Education and excited to continue our work to develop the potential and enrich the life of every student.

Sam Ling, Union President

2

|

| Annual Review


About SUSU The University of Southampton Students’ Union (SUSU) has over 22,000 members from all kinds of different backgrounds and represents the voice of students on issues at local, national and international levels. SUSU also provides important services for its members including great value amenities and facilities, free and confidential advice and support and a whole range of exciting opportunities to have fun and socialise.

22,269

589

283 103

elected student officers

support staff

core staff

students

Annual Review |

|

3


Voice

#votesusu hashtag on Twitter trending in Southampton throughout Elections 2012

Change

Represent

We’ve championed a range of initiatives and campaigns this year to help our students have their say on the things that are important to them.

This year SUSU has provided a strong and active voice on behalf of students to make sure the University continue to provide the best possible academic experience. We ensured every assessment deadline was extended by 4 days in January following a University wide IT outage and also pressed for better feedback and investment in new technologies for online assignment submission.

In November 2011 we supported students attending national protests against the rise in tuition fees and cuts to higher education funding.

We’re currently working with student groups on the ‘I’m Voting for Higher Education’ campaign.

Value We’ve worked closely with high quality external suppliers like Heineken, Pasta King, Southampton Football Club & the new SeaCity Museum this year to secure even better deals for SUSU. We’ve also reviewed our merchant banking systems to reduce transaction fees across our outlets. This has helped us to provide consistently great services and excellent value to our students while optimizing the way we operate as a business.

4

|

| Annual Review

Student Representatives have also secured improvements to the way courses are delivered and the resources available to students. Key achievements include Winchester School of Art extending their opening hours during assessment periods and Chemistry introducing curriculum review sessions to enable students to inform the content of their degree.

Reward “It’s always nice to know that hard work is being acknowledged and rewarded in whatever form. Union Council has helped expand my knowledge of how the Union works and how it interacts with different departments, people and the University. Council is helpful in the sense that it can help get your voice heard on issues.” Union Council Star, Natalie Ralph


Over

1,500,000

Page views on

www.susu.org 1 April 2011 to present (23 March 2012)

Communicate It has been a great year for democracy at SUSU, with at least 6 different sets of elections taking place so far and the overall number of votes increasing. We also have a new style for Union Council that encourages discussion of ideas and better reflects the cross section of students. SUSU Media have also had some great sucesses. Surge Radio won a bronze technical award from the Student Radio Association whilst Wessex Scene and SUSUtv were both shortlisted for Guardian Media Awards. SUSUtv also won two awards and one ‘highly commended’ at the National Student Television Association (NaSTA) awards.

In terms of collaboration, SUSUtv hosted a successful live broadcast of “Freshers TV” working with 20 other student stations across the UK. Our student run publications Wessex Scene and The Edge have been redesigned and separated into two compact magazines. On top of all this, all four media departments have seen an increase in both volunteer members and audience figures.

Huge increase in engagement via our Facebook page…

43,342

Weekly Total Reach

7,008 Likes (increasing every day)

1,301 Talking About This

13,927 Votes cast in Elections

1 April 2011 - 31 March 2012

Annual Review |

|

5


Support Athletic Union SUSU boasts one of the largest and most successful Athletic Unions in the country with over 75 clubs and 4,000 members and this year we’ve had some excellent results. The Ladies Hockey, Netball and Women’s Rugby teams have all been hugely successful with BUCS finals wins and our American Football and Women’s Rugby teams remain

4,000 members

75

clubs

undefeated. We also fought off Portsmouth to become Varsity Cup winners for the fourth year in a row. We’ve invested £226,500 this year to help our teams continue to develop and achieve such great results and secured almost £40,000 in additional funding to open a new, state-of-theart gym facility.

Southampton Uni 105 Portsmouth Uni 66

Photo by PhotoSoc

Student talent Over 300 students have been nominated for Union Council Star, Athletic Union and Excellence in Volunteering Awards in recognition of all manner of outstanding contributions to SUSU.

6

|

| Annual Review

Developing student talent has been high on the agenda with 91 Junior Common Room Officers, 200 Course Representatives, and a cross-section of over 30 Student Leaders and Union Councillors all receiving targeted training to help equip them with the right skills to excel in their roles.


180

new student staff joined in the last year

each receiving at least 3 hours of training to develop their skills.

Student life SUSU organises welfare events and initiatives throughout the year to ensure students get the most out of their time at university by staying safe, managing their money and settling in.

“The training I received was relevant to my job. It ensured that I knew what to do, and how to do it, without going overboard on things that weren’t necessary for the role. As well as the general skills you pick up from any specific role in a job (in my case, promotions/marketing and reception), I have also gained communication skills, learnt about the values of a Students’ Union, learnt how to time manage, and above all gained confidence in talking to ‘clients’.

We recently launched the Student Taxi Scheme to help make sure students can get home safely after nights out and the Ssh! (Southampton Street Harmony) campaign has continued to promote the importance of being a good neighbour. Housing Week events throughout the year gave students important tips, advice and guidance on how to get the most out of private rented accommodation.

7,051 April 2011 – March 2012

requests for advice

Designed by CMT at SUSU

Chloe Richardson, SUSU Promo Team & Reception

+

53 students attended 6 x day courses (Emergency First Aid at Work). 2 training sessions in completing Risk Assessments, with more planned.

Annual Review |

|

7


Community Student Engagement SUSU’s excellent delivery of events and award-winning activities provides students with all kinds of interesting ways to get involved and develop their interests and skills. It’s been an amazing year for our clubs and societies. Awards have been won by our members including Performing Arts Dance and Showstoppers and student trips have been organized around the globe from Windsurfing in Morocco to Freshers in Amsterdam. We provided a 54% increase in funding for societies and also hosted the National Marrow Conference, helping different bone marrow societies and organisations from around the country to understand how best to engage with students.

Spaces & places September 2011 saw the grand opening of our all new concourse and reception area. This exciting new space features adaptable exhibition pods and social areas; a huge video screen displaying news and information; and a giant feature wall designed to explain everything that we do. We have made huge strides towards creating a Master Plan for all of our spaces within the Union to ensure we continue to provide students with high quality, modern facilities.

Theatre Group won Best Original Student Production at Edinburgh Fringe

All New Concourse

8

|

| Annual Review


189 35 societies

societies

of students are satisfied with SUSU

In the last year have become affiliated with SUSU.

External interaction

G

The Community Volunteering scheme we run in partnership with the University has provided students with a great opportunity to work with local projects and community groups. Our ‘Recycling on your Doorstep’ project in June 2011 helped keep the local area tidy as students moved out of rented accommodation and SUSU representatives now regularly attend Local Residents’ Association meetings to discuss ways we can become better neighbours together.

46,293

*Statistics from iBarometer survey

96%

93%

NEW

of students are satisfied with clubs & societies

One resident group, the North East Bassett Residents’ Association (NEBRA) held a pizza evening for students from Bencraft Hall to meet their neighbours. “It was a great opportunity to meet the students living in our area, six of whom helped out at our Christmas Social and were invaluable. We hope to organise a quiz evening soon.” – Sharon Smith, Secretary of NEBRA

2,239

Number of tickets sold for SUSU events

students currently signed up to...

1 April 2011 to 31 March 2012

10,066

of those are for...

RAG Tot

£50,004 August 20

10 to Ju

al

.98

ly 2011

Annual Review |

|

9


Building an

Effective Organisation Governance Leadership at the highest level of SUSU has developed significantly during the year. The new Trustee Board has allowed a stronger focus on implementing the Union Plan to 2015 as well as managing and minimising risk. Six Sabbatical Officers are now joined by two Student Leader Trustees and four Student Trustees. We have also recruited two of our four external trustees who bring invaluable insight to the board. We have been preparing for our registration as a charity. Union Council approved new Memorandum and Articles of Association which will establish the Union as a company limited by guarantee, a common legal entity for large charities. Our charity registration will be submitted during the summer of 2012.

Staff talent This year we introduced termly reviews for all core staff to identify training needs and support our staff to become even better at their work. We also held two successful Sta Conferences to promote discussion and communication at all levels across the whole of SUSU. Training priorities for the next year include health and safety and customer service, communication and management skills; all of which will help to improve the services and opportunities that we offer to students.

10

|

| Annual Review


88%

94%

What our staff say...

of staff understand the impact their service has on SUSU members

Shop

Our Finances

£2,181,533

Income Food & Drink

£1,965,943

feel they make a difference to members

£6,845,209

Sponsorship, adverts & rents

£161,303

Grant

£2,536,430

Clubs & Socs

Wages

£263,899

£2,409,003

Campaigns

£112,022

Saving for future

£170,145 Training

£56,303

Expenditure

£6,845,209

Costs of shops & outlets

£3,101,372

Building

£562,838 Community

£169,627

August 2011 - July 2012 (Based on current budgets)

Annual Review |

|

11


Some of the people helping to make SUSU even better Union President Sam Ling VP Academic Affairs Sasha Watson VP Communications Joe McLoughlin VP Sports Development Jonny Brooks-Bartlett VP Student Engagement Shane Murphy VP Welfare & Communities Frankie Fry VP Winchester Laura Gardner Equality & Diversity Officer Chloe Green Ethical & Environmental Officer Joshua Davies Student Trustee Andreas Day Student Trustee Emily Sheldrake Student Trustee James Brant Student Trustee Alexander Houghton External Trustee Mike Snell External Trustee Mark Beattie External Trustee Nigel Coopey Faculty Officer Rachel Stockey Faculty Officer Maria Konstantinidou Faculty Officer Raminder Poonian Faculty Officer Sarah Marshall Faculty Officer Luke O’Brien Faculty Officer Natasha Van Oudgaarden Faculty Officer Ishani Bhatacharya Faculty Officer Christopher Hambley Postgraduate Officer (taught) Thomas McWhirter Postgraduate Officer (research) Joseph Tait International Students’ Officer Umair Siddiqui The Edge Editor Joe Hawkes Surge Radio Station Manager David Gilani Wessex Scene Editor Mike Fisher SUSUtv Station Manager Dom Kullander Athletic Union Officer James O’Mahony Sports & Health Officer Dean Jones

Community Volunteering Officer Kimberly Blewett Junior Common Room Officer Simon Eyles Performing Arts Officer Peter Ward Raise & Give (RAG) Officer Adam Moloney Societies Officer Alexander Taylor Student Enterprise Officer Vadims (Frank) Sondors Union Films Cinema Manager Natalie Ralph Southampton General Hospital (Site) Officer Brendan Westhoff Winchester (Site) Officer Peter Whiddon Union Councillor Sophie Bradfield Union Councillor Lydie-Agathe Maniema Union Councillor Yun Lin Union Councillor Andre Pusey Union Councillor Rob McGough Union Councillor Jack Hodgson Union Councillor Thomas Smith Union Councillor Meera Burgess Union Councillor Nadia Papasidero Union Councillor Chipo Mososo Union Councillor Laura Davies Union Councillor Alastair Mogford Union Councillor Alice North Union Councillor Husain Patel Union Councillor Bethany Matthews Union Councillor Reetam Singh Union Councillor Joshua Cox Union Councillor Harriet Dingle Union Councillor Kate Jowett Union Councillor Thomas Sander Union Councillor Jack Kanani Union Councillor Ioana Nicolescu Union Councillor Jamie Barker Union Councillor Fiona Cook Union Councillor Rupert Bailey Union Councillor Jade Head Union Councillor Adam Proudley

Students’ Union, University of Southampton, Southampton, SO17 1BJ Web: www.susu.org Email: contact@susu.org Tel: 023 8059 5200

This annual review is also available in other formats All papers in this booklet are printed from sustainable forests.

/susu-annual-review-2012  
/susu-annual-review-2012  

http://www.susu.org/downloads/susu-annual-review-2012.pdf

Advertisement